In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Miles Retreat - Cornwall - 1062360 - photo 1

Miles Retreat

(Ref. 1062360)

Hayle, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • good (8)
  • clean (7)
  • some (7)
  • bed (7)
  • out (6)
  • holiday (6)

18 Customer Reviews

  • "Nice little break, obviously out of season so nothing open, would think in ..."

    Nice little break, obviously out of season so nothing open, would think in season a lovely place with all amenities at hand

    Thank you for your feedback, please to hear you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the park closes for winter, but still a great location & peaceful out of season. Thank you for choosing Miles Retreat, we hope you visit us again. Regards Joanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynn4.7Dec 2023

  • "We had a lovely little holiday here the only thing that needs looking at is the plug in the bathroom sink."

    If you tried to empty the basin then your finger got stuck in the plug hole. The other thing that needed mentioning was that none of the on site facilities would be available to us as out of season. The cottage is positioned in a very good location ideal for exploring the area.

    Thank you for the feedback. And bring our attention to the park facilities, i was sure for years it was marked as facilities closed end of Oct to March.. I will double check. Pleased you had a lovely stay. Many thanks Joanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon4.1Oct 2023

  • "Thank you for a lovely stay ,the property was well maintained and clean, it had everything you needed for a stay, on site facilities were good , and not over priced like some places , and the staff were lovely and friendly ."

    And by the way the beds were just fine thanks again for a lovely stay

    So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your lovely feedback. We hope you stay with us again. Many thanks Joanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Sep 2023

  • "Positives: the chalet was clean and tidy, laundry was provided for the two week stay and it was as described in the advert."

    Negatives: the mattress on the double bed was thin and when you lie on it, it felt like you were sleeping on the bed base. We even placed the double quilt on the bed to sleep on and it was still too uncomfortable. We purposely booked and paid over £450 more through Sykes Cottage for the chalet on the Tolroy Manor site as we wanted assurance that the bed was comfortable which it wasn't. We could have booked through John Fowler itself and saved money. The facilities for the site are included in the price but the first week we were there, the club house was closed due to lack of staff and activities.

    Thank you for your feedback. comments related to our home will be looked into. Best wishes Joanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Belle3.8Sep 2023

  • "The accommodation was in good condition and exactly as described."

    Very comfortable and homely. Well positioned for access to the local town and some great beaches. The site is very family friendly with fantastic staff, and a simple resturant onsite when you don't fancy going out or cooking yourself.

    Thank you for your positive feedback. Hope you had a relaxing holiday. Thank you for choosing our home. Best Wishes Joanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Jul 2023

  • "This place took some finder has we didn't know it was John Fowler's."

    If i would have known this, I wouldn't have booked this holiday because we had problems last year with John fowler's so wasn't happy at all and the pictures are nothing like. It was very small the bed was uncomfortable and hard. The sofa wasn't much better. I couldn't believe there was no wardrobe in the main bedroom so had no way to hang all my clothes. For some reason we had a really bad smell in the bathroom and took time to source out what the smell was and it was actually coming from the bathroom sink smell like sewage so had to buy some bleach. The property was under a Lord of Trees this is the problems with John fowler's you are surrounded by trees you do not get so sun at all. The only good thing i can say it was clean. You should be told which holiday park you are stopping in. The food wasn't that good apart from the chips one night I got charged £2.50 a few nights later I got some chips but this time I got charged £3.00 and I ask why and just got told I don't know. I will never go again or book with the company I used. I couldn't wait to get home. Very disappointed with all.

    Thank you for your feedback. comments related to our home will be looked into. Best wishes Joanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha3.4Jul 2023

  • "The cottage was clean and it had everything you’d need for a short stay."

    The double bed was a bit lumpy and seemed like it had seen better days. Also the bedside light in both the double and twin rooms were broken. Chest of draws in twin was also broken. Contacted Sykes and they said they would send someone in to fix it but this didn’t happen when we were there. Microwave was very confusing to use. Also, the next door neighbour was very unfriendly and aggressive to me on the first morning which made me anxious walking my dogs the rest of the holiday. Really handy to have parking near the accommodation and lots of green areas to walk the dogs. Nice and quiet too.

    Thank you for your feedback, I’m slightly confused as there are only bed lights in the double room(which are working). We have many children staying and having one in the twin would be a hazard. The microwave only has 2 dials.. also I’ve just visited the property myself and the drawers aren’t broken, so this has left me a bit confused really. But hope you had a lovely stay. Thank you for choosing our home. Many thanks Joanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Aisling3.8Jun 2023

  • "The property is lovely, very clean, with everything needed."

    It was exactly what we were looking for, being central for all our needs visiting Cornwall. We used the train station at Hayle with it's free parking for a few visits to St Ives and Penzance. The holiday let itself is in a holiday park. It has a shop, bar and restaurant, which is great for convenience. The people who work in the park are lovely.

    Thank you for your feedback, Pleased to hear the property was ideal for your holiday. Thank you for choosing our home. Best wishes Joanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah4.1Jun 2023

  • "Miles retreat was extremely comfortable, clean, well equipped and very quiet."

    We had a wonderful time. It is a mile from hayle which we enjoyed walking to but there is a shop on site which is very handy. The train from st erth to st Ives, is a wonderful short ride , good value at £4 return with the bonus dogs go free. Miles retreat was ideal for visiting our favourite haunts of marazion, newlyn and mousehole. It was good to stay somewhere so comfortable and pleasant. Would recommend it .

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing about the train to St Ives too, i hope that helps some future guests. (i'm going to try it next time!) Best wishes Joanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Arthur5.0Mar 2023

  • "Very muddy and not very good lighting microwave needs renewing and some of the ..."

    Very muddy and not very good lighting microwave needs renewing and some of the cooking tray not ideal for the time of year we came down

    Thank you for alerting us about the microwave and we will look at the backing trays. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and hope you enjoyed your time there. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gina3.8Dec 2022

  • "This was a very nice, compact little bungalow."

    It was equipped with everything we needed. The location was quiet, it was towards the end of the season, but I would think would still be quiet with many more people there. We especially appreciated being able to take our dog with us. We enjoyed our holiday and would certainly recommend this little bungalow and it's location.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. Welcome back anytime with your dogs. Best wishes Joanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Oct 2022

  • "We had some problems when we arrived."

    The bed linen on the double bed was dirty, this was rectified after I complained. Someone came on Sunday evening with a new set of linen. The kitchen blind was broken, the bathroom door handle was broken and the fridge ice box would not open. There was no wardrobe in the double bedroom or hooks on the back of the door, so nowhere to hang up clothes or coats.

    Thank you for alerting us about the housekeeping & maintenance issues. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and hope you enjoyed your time there. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carolyn2.5Sep 2022

  • "A lovely little bungalow, we had a fantastic holiday and would love to return soon."

    Thank you for your lovely positive feedback. Very pleased you had a great holiday. Thank you for booking Miles Retreat, we hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes Joanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vicky4.4Apr 2022

  • "Very pleasant place, very close to places, it did state enclosed patio area, this was not enclosed and a little awkward when you have 2 dogs and can't let them out on there own, need to put leads on at night to go out with them."

    Everything else was all fine and a nice place to stay.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth3.8Sep 2021

  • "1: Booking couldn't be easier 2: Be aware Google maps will take you to a farm next to it and not the actual place, same with the car nav 3: Upon arrival around 3 pm and entering the cottage we found out it stinks inside, looks like they use the same mop since 1980 to clean the place."

    So we opened all the windows and the smell went away after 48h. 4: The bathroom was full of long hair in the bath and on the glass shower panel 5: we had something planned already after arrival so when we come back in the evening it turned out the boiler was turned off - so we couldn't shower till the morning. The information about the boiler was in the welcome book we discovered in the evening, but it looks it was too late to turn it on - as there was no warm water even after 2h. Tried to contact SkyCottages and the owner - but no response. 6: Wifi, the password is in the book and on some stickers around the cottage, but it's the wrong password. The right one is on the back of the router. Again, no response about that. 7: As those are rented through SkyCottages, the reception won't be able to help you with anything 8: Besides that, it's a nice and quiet place but I wouldn't go again. 9: Be aware that if you want to get to the bus station or the city centre on foot, you have to use a bit of a busy route without a sidewalk.

    Reviewed by Monika4.1Aug 2021



    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback, we are really sorry to hear the property was not as clean as it should have been and that you have been waiting a while for a resolution. We have spoken with the owner who has confirmed that due to covid a temporary cleaner carried out the changeover ready for your arrival who may not have been as familiar with the property as the regular cleaner and the owner will be discussing this further with the cleaning company. Unfortunately, with the volume of seagulls in this area, mess on the garden furniture is unavoidable. We do hope that despite the points raised you enjoyed your visit to The Westcountry. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel1.9Aug 2021

  • "Very homely accommodation with surprise welcome pack."

    Tolroy Manor was a beautiful environment and dog friendly. The local area had good facilities and the Beaches were stunning. We left some expensive shampoos and having left a message with the cleaning company, we got an immediate call back saying the items would be sent to us. Exceptional!!

    Reviewed by Stephen4.7May 2021

  • "Although there was a very good laundry we would prefer to have our own facilities."

    Again the storage in the main bedroom was good but there wasn't any wardrobe hanging space. The kitchen was small it is excellently equipped.

    Reviewed by T3.1Apr 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • All-ground-floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x 2'6" twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking available for one car
  • Private patio with outdoor seating area
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • On-site shop and pub within 0.1 mile

The property

Nestled amidst a cluster of idyllic holiday homes on the superb Tolroy Manor Holiday Park, is this attractive ground-floor cottage, 'Miles Retreat'.

Resting just a short walk away from the centre of Hayle, this property is the perfect base from which a family or group of four can discover the true delights of the Cornish coast.

Spend your evenings relaxing in the open-plan living space, as you kick back on brown leather sofa and watch movies on the impressive flat-screen TV, or curl up in the inviting armchair as you lose yourself in a gripping book.

Cross on over to the quaint yet well-equipped kitchen and grab ingredients from your well-stocked fridge as you begin to prepare a delicious feast with the help of the handy electrical appliances, before serving up at the dining table and raising a glass of bubbly to making new and wonderful memories with loved ones.

Moving through the property, you will find a bright and tranquil bathroom where you can draw yourself a long afternoon bath as you enjoy a moment of peace and quiet, before retreating to one of the two well-appointed bedrooms comprised of a double and a twin.

Bask in the sunshine on warm summer days as you indulge in a refreshing glass of lemonade out on the patio, or gather your swimwear and head for The Towans.

Wander the striking RSPB Hayle Estuary or embark on an exciting expedition along the South West Coast Path towards Carbis Bay and the vibrant town of St Ives, home to sandy beaches and well-established eateries serving up mouth-watering local catches.

Hike to St Ives Head to see St Nicholas Chapel or wander the halls of The St Ives Museum and Tate St Ives, as you admire exciting exhibitions and breath-taking artwork.

Learn to surf with the Roam Surf and Adventure Guiding or head to Paradise Park and Jungle Barn Cornwall to meet the friendly and exotic residents.

See popular landmarks such as Old Tin Mine, Bowl Rock and Chysauster Ancient Village, or explore the rugged clifftops of the National Trust owned Godrevy.

With all this adventure and so much more awaiting your arrival, be sure to book a stay at Miles Retreat.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


St Ives 6.3 miles; Penzance 7.4 miles.

Hayle is in the far-flung south western corner of Cornwall and sits on an important RSPB wildlife estuary flowing out to the beautiful St Ives Bay, where visitors can enjoy three miles of golden sandy beaches, walks, history and wildlife. Hayle has plenty of activities out of the water too; Paradise Park is a wildlife park, home to some spectacular parrots, otters, and red pandas. Hayle has a range of shops, restaurants and bars scattered around the estuary and harbour area. There are skittles and karting for the family, and for golfers, one of the best links golf courses in Cornwall is at Lelant, a mile out of Hayle. But the jewel of Hayle is the three miles of golden sandy beach, with fantastic surfing at Gwithian where there is a surf shop, lessons and hire of equipment. For the less energetic there are beach cafés where you can take in the views and watch the children play. As Hayle is centrally located you can easily access many other places by either public transport (there is a train station at Hayle) or driving. St. Ives is a short drive away where you can wander through the narrow streets, visit the art galleries, or admire the colourful sub-tropical gardens. St Ives harbour has its own small fishing fleet and there are plentiful boat trips skippered by locals keen to showcase the best that Cornwall has to offer, whether it be seal watching at Seal Island, a couple of hours' mackerel fishing or a relaxing trip to Godrevy Lighthouse. Within easy reach of Hayle is the Minack Theatre, Falmouth Maritime Museum, Eden Project, St. Michael’s Mount and many other fantastic tourist attractions for dry or wet days.

View more holiday cottages in Hayle

Note: Site facilities closed for winter from Oct 31st to 1 March.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season