In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Honeysuckle Cottage - Cotswolds - 988991 - photo 1
  • Honeysuckle Cottage - (Ref. 988991)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.





Honeysuckle Cottage

(Ref. 988991)

Condicote, Gloucestershire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (18)
  • stay (11)
  • kitchen (9)
  • again (8)
  • lovely (7)
  • all (7)

22 Customer Reviews

  • "Unfortunately we were mostly disappointed with this property."

    Location: The pictures suggest that this property is in a village, sadly this is not the case as it is indeed on a 60mph road, this means that traffic can be heard at night in the front bedroom. Cleanliness: Lots of cobwebs in the cottage and also plenty of dust on the skirting boards. Maintenance: Large cracks in some of the walls, along with staining on the front bedroom blind. Bathroom: The shower is very good, however the carpet is threadbare in a few places and there are few places to hang wet towels. Living room: Comfortable sofas and a tv, however the advertised DVD player doesn't work. Kitchen: Induction hob and oven work well, however note that some of the pans offered are not suitable for the hob! Would we stay here again? No. Would we recommend this property to other families? No

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed. It is a shame that you did not contact us during your stay, as we could have rectified many of the points raised in order to make your stay more comfortable, such as a further clean, providing a new DVD player and extra pans. Our maintenance team will investigate the remaining points. We have updated the location details for the benefit of future guests. We hope that you were able to enjoy exploring the local area. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria1.9Jul 2023

  • "Wouldn't visit again."

    The property is ok-ish. It was spacious and had enough kitchen equipment. But, as other reviews mention, it needs some basic fixes. * There are no instructions present. You're left on your own to figure out how everything works. * We had to figure out ourselves that there is a hidden switch in the closet behind the shower that turns on the pump at the bottom of that closet. Without switching it on, there's barely water coming out of the shower. * The heating was off on arrival and due to the rainy weather it was getting cold inside. It took some time to figure out where the heating was and how to turn it on (switch with a red light beside it in the kitchen) * We received an email while we were there to turn of the light on the parking because it was burning all week. It turned out we inadvertently turned it on by switching on a switch in the closet behind the shower while searching how to get the water running. * The twin beds are missing slats. This was noted in other reviews but they are still missing. * The curtain in the bedroom with the twin beds don't darken the room at all. Our kids couldn't sleep because of that. We eventually had to put blankets in front of the window. * The curtain in the main bedroom is old and worn. The sides curl, giving the same issue as the twin bedroom. * There is no vacuum cleaner or other cleaning equipment available. Only a broken broom and dustpan. Cleaning up dirty shoe prints, spilled food, etc when going on holiday with kids is nearly impossible. * There's a sign saying paper and cardboard go in a white bag. But there wasn't any white bag to be seen. Hence no sorting possible.

    Reviewed by Sofie2.8Jul 2023

  • "The property was not clean cobwebs every where."

    The mattress was badly stained. Table lamp in living room has bare wires to switch on cable. Wifi did not work at anytime just flashing amber all the time. Unhygienic kitchen had to antibacterial wipe all worktops and cloth was black when done.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave some constructive feedback. I'm so sorry for these issues. This is not what we expect from our housekeeping team and will address this immediately and make sure the property gets a deep cleaned and that this is maintained. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul1.9Jul 2022

  • "We saw a lot of negative reviews about the house after we had booked and were concerned about staying there however the house was large, clean and bright upon arrival."

    The road outside did not disturb us at all for the whole stay. The building itself is beautiful! The house needs a lick of paint here and there as there are areas where the paint does not match. The WiFi is next to none existent with a download speed of 0.15mbps and needs improved as this is worse than dial up however we did manage to use our own 4g on the phones during the stay. The bathroom needs a new carpet or rug to cover up the melted mark by the bath and maybe a new shower screen seal. In the second bedroom one of the beds has a broken slat. Luckily there were only 3 of us staying so this did not impact us but would affect a party of four. We loved the fact there was wood left for the open fire, me and the boy loved playing in the yard and the care package consisting of biscuits etc in the kitchen was a lovely touch thank you. The house was warm but not too hot which again was perfect and the location of the cottage was brilliant with good easy access to the local town stow and other attractions. I would suggest a welcome leaflet would be helpful to some explaining how to use the boiler and immersion heater, and perhaps some suggestions of what is good in the area to do. We could also not find the container for plastic recycling? We had a lovely stay at the cottage and would recommend to others. It is a proper small slice of rural life and it wasn't exactly difficult figuring out how to work the hot water and heating system. It's worth a stay.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely constructive feedback, I am personally delighted you enjoyed your stay and it was better than you thought, we did speak before your arrival and assured you that its gone through a make over and is much better than the reviews and i am glad you still went, we will definitely take all your comments into consideration and work on them. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dan3.4Apr 2022

  • "All upstairs thermostat valves do not work and with heating on radiators were extremely hot."

    I had to turn them down using the lockshield valves as thermostat dials were loose. Water is immersion heated and scalding hot. I also tightened the toilet seat that had been reported as an issue in previous property was close to becoming detached. Cottage decoration is very tired, disappointingly so and given its rating I had expected better. WiFi is poor. Best speed I could get from it was 1.5 mb/s, not great for almost everything. Traffic noise is bad but many reviews say this...just didn't realise how bad. Rooms need better curtains or blinds especially for those staying in lighter months. In general nice cottage but it is tatty and needs a good deal of TLC for a much better guest experience and to present the cottage as it deserves to be.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of the issues that you encountered during your stay and want to assure you that we have rectified the radiator problem with new thermostats dials replaced. WiFi is sketchy in this area due to the rural location. The property is located on a B road and as such, cars can travel quite quickly outside the house. We are working with the owner to look at improvements at the property to ensure a better guest experience. We would love to welcome you back to Honeysuckle Cottage in the future and thank you once again for providing us with your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martyn3.1Oct 2021

  • "This cottage is in serious need of a makeover, considering the price."

    Carpets are dirty, the kitchen sink was dirty, no extra pedal bin liners, no freezer, no hand sanitizer or wipes, no window to open in main bedroom and a tv in there would be nice, only 2 toilet rolls, toilet seat loose and the carpet was dirty in the bathroom. An outside bike shed would be nice as we had to keep putting ours in the kitchen at night. No windows to open, we had such a hot week that we had to leave both doors open for some air. Plenty of cutlery and utensils but it was the lack of cleanliness that let it down, nice location, plenty of walking and cycling was done.

    Reviewed by Barbara2.2Sep 2021

  • "Really enjoyed our stay at honeysuckle cottage."

    The cotswolds is such a beautiful place and the cottage was just perfect. Lovely size, great facilities, Netflix was a lovely addition for nights in. Would recommend and thank you very much for a lovely stay.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. It's fantastic to hear that the cottage exceeded your expectations! We'd love to welcome you back again in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0Jul 2021

  • "Very dirty ,carpet out of order,no cafetiere(i had to buy one),garden equipment completly out of order cannot use the table outside,only 3 dinner chairs for 4 people cottage,kitchen equipment out of order."

    only thing nice was The TV and a lot of cutlery,and i am afraid that's all

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm very sorry to hear that the cottage was not up to the standards that you expected and that you were missing some key items during your stay. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the property owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephane1.3Jun 2021

  • "I loved the added touches of the biscuits and the fully stocked kitchen with a dishwasher."

    The hot water/water pump was confusing at first and trying to figure it out late on a friday night was not the relaxing experience I was hoping for. A carpeted bathroom feels unhygienic, and coupled with only a low window to air it out will lead to damp problems. The house is decorated to a high standard, and the sofas are comfortable for a short stay. Overall I would not stay here again as it is not the "luxurious" cottage holiday I want, but if you are looking for a place to stay in the heart of the Cotswolds you could do a lot worse.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Apr 2021

  • "My family and I had a wonderful stay at Honeysuckle cottage."

    The cottage was tastefully done, with all the necessary amenities available. On arrival, we soon realized there were only 2 bath towels and 2 hand towels (for a group of 4 people) and 1 toilet paper (for 4 nights / 5 day stay). This was soon rectified by Manor Cottages. The one aspect which was a bit disappointing was the boiler not working the first night. A boiler service person had to come in twice (across 2 different days) to fix the boiler - this left us with no central heating (only electrical heaters) for the 1st night (during which the temperature dropped below zero). We were informed that the boiler issue was previously known to the owners, which of course wasn't what one would expect when booking a holiday cottage. Overall good stay, other than the above.

    Many thanks for your feedback and happy to hear you had a wonderful stay. We do apologise that maintenance couldn’t get the boiler up and running and for the inconvenience of people having to attend the property. We are in discussion with the owners regarding the boiler. Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nikhil3.4Apr 2021

  • "Awful weather but the cottage was mostly warm and comfortable Window frames ..."

    Awful weather but the cottage was mostly warm and comfortable Window frames leaked badly in the wind and rain, resulting in puddles on the window sills No freezer, or freezer box in the fridge Kitchen sink had a bowl under to catch a leak; bowl was overflowed - pipes were loose - we reconnected Two radiators upstairs were cold - bleeding would probably cure the problem Instructions for heating were not accurate and the WiFi password in the information pack was wrong Despite above Sykes responded well, the owner not so impressive We thoroughly enjoyed our week and would be glad to use Sykes again

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you experienced problems during your stay and are happy we could help. We will pass your comments on to the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marion4.4Feb 2020

  • "Cleanliness could be better: cobwebs."

    As it was a hot week, it was a shame that we couldn't open a window in the double bedroom. The table on the terrace was rather small, so eating outside wasn't possible. The cottage was very cosy and the bathroom had an excellent shower! We also appreciated the tv with Netflix account. We had a wonderful holiday.

    Reviewed by Hilde3.4Jul 2019

  • "We all had a lovely weekend!"

    Very impressed, everything was clean, generally a great little cottage. Guide book really helful. A perfect place for us old Uni pals to get together and have a weekend to remember.\ Will, Lucy, Francesca and Carmilla, Feb 2016

  • "Lovely cottage."

    definity come again!\ Debbie Robinson, May 2016

  • "Thanks for a lovely stay."

    Very well presented and cosy. Didn't want to leave! Definitely come again to stay. \ Guy & Kiri, Feb 2016

  • "Cottage very well decorated and had a very cosy feel."

    Freezing cold weekend so log fire was a must!! A pleasant stay and would recommend to others. Our toddler loved The Cotswolds Farm Park, which was just 6 mins drive away\ The Sharma Family March 2016

    Sharma Family

  • "A nice, cosy cottage, lovely and warm on a cold autumn evening, with a fantastic shower, thank you for a lovely stay."

    \ Mr Thompson, Nov 2016


  • "V nice cottage and clean/ well equipped - we had a v good break"


  • "Neither of us has been to the Cotswolds before and the area exceeded my expectations - even in early November."

    Such friendly people and the variety of places to visit and walk were stunning. We'll definitely be back.


  • "Thank you for a wonderful stay and we really enjoyed ourselves ."

    I am very sorry I was too enthusiastic when washing up and I cracked up one of your champagne glasses. I have safely disposed of the glass. Many apologies. Thank you again for a lovey stay in your wonderful cottage.”

    Paul, Clare And Matilda

  • "We had a lovely stay and enjoyed the peace and quiet of this cosy cottage!"

    The cottage had a well-equipped kitchen so we were able to cook good meals here. Really enjoyed our stay + would definitely recommend!

    Rachael And Robert

  • "We had A nice stay at your little cottage in the middle of the Cotswolds."

    ! Our son did enjoy his big bed/room and the fluffy bear. Thank you!

    Family De Pruyssenaere

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, power shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Sitting room with open fire.
  • Central heating with open fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Netflix, DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for open fire inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available (please note that cot linen is not supplies)
  • Ample off road parking
  • Enclosed lawned front garden and rear patio area with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 2 miles
  • Note: This property is located off a local B road; while the road is not particularly busy, cars can travel quickly past the property, children should be supervised and there is a gate which can be closed for safety.

The property

Honeysuckle Cottage is a classic Cotswolds Cottage, set overlooking local countryside, and a short distance from Stow on the Wold.

The property is presented in an attractive, fresh style yet with a cosy, homely feel that we feel is as suited to families as it is to couples.

Downstairs is an open plan space with open fire and large sofas plus a well equipped kitchen, while upstairs are two good sized bedrooms both with views across the Cotswolds' countryside.

With Stow on the Wold a few minutes up the road you have an excellent selection of pubs, cafes and antique shops and art galleries close by (for the grown ups!) while for the children, Adam Henson's (of BBC Countryfile) Cotswolds Farm Park is only a few minutes away - there's plenty to keep everyone happy!

There are some quite amazing walks taking you into arguably the most attractive part of the Cotswolds countryside.

This is a sweet cottage, absolutely perfect for couples or families wishing to enjoy an exceptional area of the Cotswolds.

View on map

About the location


Stow on the Wold 3 miles; Moreton in Marsh 4 miles.

Longborough is a small village in the delightful Cotswold Hills, boasting a 12th Century church, a village shop and post office, and two excellent pubs. Now famous for the Longborough Festival Opera which runs throughout the early Summer, the village is also set amidst beautiful natural scenery, and is situated close to the thriving market town of Moreton in Marsh and the delightful Stow on the Wold. Renowned for its fine antiques, Stow on the Wold hosts the Stow Horse Fair each February in the town square, attracting buyers from all over the world, while Morton in Marsh, located at the head of the beautiful Evenlode Valley, dates back 1000 years to the Saxon era and provides a wide range of facilities. Both Stow on the Wold and Moreton in Marsh offer intimate restaurants, an abundance of tea rooms and pubs serving local beers.

Note: This property is located off a local B road; while the road is not particularly busy, cars can travel quickly past the property, children should be supervised and there is a gate which can be closed for safety.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas