In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Honeystones in the last 24 hours

1 of 29 View Image Gallery
  • Honeystones - Cotswolds - 1091255 - photo 1







(Ref. 1091255)

Bourton-on-the-Water, Gloucestershire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 9 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (21)
  • location (15)
  • great (14)
  • our (12)
  • perfect (11)
  • no (11)

34 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely house in a great location to get around the Cotswolds."

    I would stay here again if the following things were looked at. The property itself was fairly dirty, cobwebs, dirty carpets, shower cubicles were mouldy, tiles in the bathroom were filthy, some radiators were turned off and we had no tools to turn them back on. The WiFi to the TVs never worked so we had no access to Netflix, Prime etc.

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Sorry to hear of the issues you experienced. These have now been investigated. Photographs of the bathrooms, do not show any mould. The radiators are operated by thermostatic knobs and have been checked to be operating correctly. The WiFi service in the area can be variable and is beyond the owner's control. We hope you were still able to enjoy your stay. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian3.1Nov 2023

  • "The house was generally as detailed by youselves."

    However my party did experience some minor problems. As far as we could tell all of the uphostery snd soft furnishings on the ground floor living areas were feather filled. Unfortunately one of our party is allergic to feathers, that is why I always request non allergenic soft furnishing and bedding. All members of the party found the dining atea chairs very uncomfortable and not condusive to staying at the table after eating a meal. The storage cupboards in the kitchen area are located too high so no female member of the party were able to reach inside. Cleaniness was generally good however we found the coffee machine still had old water within it along with residue of coffee grounds.

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are always happy to ask about feather furnishings on behalf of guests. Unfortunately, we do not have a record of such a request for your booking. We have passed on your comments to the owner and housekeeper. Sorry, some of your group had problems reaching the kitchen wall cupboards, our photographs do clearly show the height of them. Apologies the coffee machine was missed on this occasion. We hope you still were able to enjoy your stay. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham4.1Oct 2023

  • "This house was perfect for our group celebrating my husband's 60th."

    A walk of about 10 minutes into Boughton on the water and a perfect morning walk into Lower Slaughter and then into Upper Slaughter. I do think that a check out time of 10am is a bit unfair.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your lovely feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time away at Honeystones, and appreciate your comments regarding the 10am check-out time. The reason for this time is due to the level of properties that need to be cleaned, in order to match our standards. We hope to welcome you again one day in the future. Best wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Oct 2023

  • "Had a fantastic family holiday at Honeystones and would definitely stay again."

    Only small criticisms are that for 9 adults there were not enough garden chairs or seats at the dining table and the games room didn’t have any games! A long handled brush would also be useful for sweeping the kitchen floor. Property was extremely clean and well maintained.

    Reviewed by David4.1Aug 2023

  • "This property was perfect for our family!"

    We loved that it was within walking distance to the store, shops and restaurants in Bourton-on-the-Water. It was a great central location to explore other villages in the Cotswolds. It was nicely decorated and the beds were comfortable! And it had everything we needed. As an American family coming to visit, it would have been nice to have more detail about how to work some of the appliances. The refrigerator was off when we arrived. We thought it was broken, but learned a switch was left off. The dryer did not dry our clothes. We left a message with the caretaker that it needed service. We would definitely consider staying here again if we had the opportunity!

    Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments which we have passed on to the property manager. We look forward to welcome you back! Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Donna4.7Jun 2023

  • "Great place for a family holiday."

    Convenient for the village and play park. A stair gate would have been useful. Also more garden chairs, and a way to clean the bbq. The 5pm entry seemed very late as other properties we have stayed in have been from 2pm. Overall would recommend Honeystones.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Honeystones and appreciate you bringing some issues to our attention which have been passed on to the Property Manager. We hope to welcome you again. Best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ruth5.0May 2023

  • "Had a lovely stay."

    Everything we needed was in the house. 8 of us stayed and there was plenty of room. 10 minutes walk into the centre, footpath the whole way and nice and flat. Very convenient. Plenty of parking available at the house. Co-op supermarket halfway into the town. Had a great time.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Honeystones. It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the house and we hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards Character Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cathryn5.0May 2023

  • "Property was just perfect for my husbands 60th birthday."

    ..enjoyed the house immensely. Just a couple of things, the duvets felt more of a winter duvet and were very hot ,a few of us commented on this. Also you ask for shoes to be taken off which is fine,but a bigger mat is required to stand on to take of shoes..a long runner maybe better...thanks

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your recommendations which we have passed on to the owner. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0May 2023

  • "We found this to be a well presented, spacious house with lovely clean bedding and towels."

    The location is great for walking into the village and although a fairly main road (for the Cotswolds) is close to the house it did not disturb us. The only improvements would be that a few items in the kitchen need replacing: pans and holey oven gloves.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Honeystones Cottage. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your suggestions for improvement. We hope to welcome you again one day soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alexandra5.0Feb 2023

  • "Just returned from a wonderful long weekend at Honeystones."

    The house exceeded our expectations - perfect location, plenty of space and all the facilities we needed. The house is on the outskirts of Bourton a short walk into town and on the walking routes we wanted to take. The house was clean, warm and comfortable and had parking for five cars. Will definitely consider staying again.

    Reviewed by Matthew5.0Nov 2022

  • "The property is very well placed for Bourton on the Water - handy for all the attractions and there is a good COOP down the road."

    A couple of little improvements would help to make a perfect stay - the garden table was very small and there were only 4 garden chairs - the table was also very rusty. For a house which accommodates 9 people, it was not adequate. The dryer seemed to leak water at the front whenever it was used - the filter light was on to indicate that it needed changing. I don't think the fridge is working properly as our milk went off before its use by date and I had set it to be 8 degrees (the lowest)..

    Thank you for providing this feedback and also for your helpful comments regarding small improvements. Please be assured that we are addressing the issue of the garden table and chairs and also will look at the fridge at the next opportunity between bookings. We will always try to resolve any problems if possible during your stay if we are notified and hope that these didn't impact your stay at Honeystones. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Enid4.7Aug 2022

  • "Honeystones is a lovely big house."

    The layout is perfect for a bigger group with spacious downstairs rooms, big bedrooms and three good bathrooms. Parking is excellent. It is conveniently situated for travelling around most of the Cotswolds. It does need a big clean, eg windows, skirtings etc. The biggest downside is significant traffic noise, night and day, from the adjacent main road.

    Amazing you enjoyed the space Honeystones has to offer and the location to visit The Cotswolds. Sorry to hear the property requires a big clean, this of course will be addressed. With regards to traffic noise, apologies if this caused a problem. The property is shown on the map next to the A429. Hopefully the noise was enhanced due to windows open in the hot weather. Thank you for leaving feedback. Best Wishes, Character Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robin3.4Aug 2022

  • "Overall we were disappointed by the quality of the decor having invested significantly to hire the property."

    Whilst clean throughout it appeared that little work has been done to keep the property to the standard of the initial build, which must have been excellent. Our view is that it requires some TLC to bring it back to the original level. Specifics which we noticed include: Very poor quality and unsafe garden furniture and not enough for us all to sit out Bigger patio area would help Broken coat stand hooks Lack of standard equipment in the kitchen eg potato peeler, cheese grater, wooden spoons - helpful for non stick pans. Non slip mats required in the kitchen and hallway. Carpets in dining room, stairwell and landing would benefit from being cleaned. Hand shower in the bathroom not working correctly. Right hand side window frame in the games room is split. Headboard in the double bedroom on the left is wobbly. The location was great for visiting the area. The weather was good and enabled us to visit many attractions that the area has to offer. It was sufficiently near to the village centre to be able to walk in and our grandson enjoyed the playground just down the road. By no means was this a bad rental, but all of the above did cause us to be disappointed.

    Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We are so sorry to hear that you were somewhat disappointed but pleased that you were happy with the property and its location overall. Good to hear that you took advantage of the location to explore the area. We will address the maintenance issues raised as soon as is possible and your comments re the amenities are noted. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet3.8Jul 2022

  • "Good location."

    Fine for 5 adults but shortage of crockery and and glasses if we had been 8. The chairs at the dining table were rather second rate and the tablewould have been too small for any more than 6. There were no side tables to put a drink on in the main sitting room. The garden furniture wants consigning to the scrap heap and was totally unsuitable for a house this size and price. Otherwise it was generally ok as we were only 5 and staying for 2 nights.

    Reviewed by Graham3.8Jul 2022

  • "Overall a lovely property very clean and comfortable."

    My only criticism would be of the garden the grass needed cutting, the furniture needs replacing and the bbq was very dirty. Also the proximity to the busy road meant we couldn’t have the bedroom windows open at night due to the noise.

    Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne4.4Jun 2022

  • "Beautiful big spacious house , lovely decor , two things I would suggest is more ..."

    Beautiful big spacious house , lovely decor , two things I would suggest is more garden furniture with bigger patio area and bathroom having a more powerful shower but definitely would recommend staying here lovely area

    Fabulous you had a lovely stay. Your comments are appreciated. Thank you for the recommendation. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jayne4.7May 2022

  • "This was a fabulous weekend and the house was part of this."

    Perfect for our needs and very comfortable. A great location for the town and surrounding area. Booking was very easy.

    Lovely to hear you had a fabulous stay and enjoyed the location. Thank you for leaving feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony4.4Apr 2022

  • "A beautiful house for a family break in a great location, we had a wonderful time thank you"

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it's lovely to hear you enjoyed the stay so much, it's a fabulous spot to base yourself. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynda5.0Feb 2022

  • "The kitchen could do with some more crockery/pans."

    .only 1 small frying pan (that was very old& worn) to cook breakfast for 7 people was a a struggle! Some dishes for salad bread etc & more champagne flutes. Only 4/5 again not enough for all 7 of us. Bathrooms could do with a deep clean, tiles, shower trays etc, and PLEASE put clean toilet brushes in bathrooms...slightly revolting looking at dirty toilet brushes! Apart from that a fabulous spacious house

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Honeystones. We value all feedback provided by our guests and will get the Housekeeper to replace items where needed and review other issues. We are glad you enjoyed the stay otherwise and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ella3.4Feb 2022

  • "Beautiful house in a lovely part of the country."

    Really close to Bourton-on-the-water and Cirencester, perfect for exploring the Cotswolds villages.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Isabelle5.0Dec 2021

  • "A spacious and beautifully decorated cottage in a peaceful village."


    NeilJul 2020

  • "Enjoyed our stay in this well located house."

    Tastefully appointed and had plenty of space for the 6 of us. The downstairs kitchen / family space was great.

    GarethJun 2020

  • "Outstanding property, immaculately clean, superb decor and brilliant location."

    MattMar 2020

  • "We loved our stay, the house is beautiful and there has clearly been a lot of thought that has gone into the house, along with all the additional touches."

    It is in a great location and easy to find, the communication has been great. We thoroughly enjoyed our time and the place was spotless! Thank you.

    SarahMar 2020

  • "A very comfortable house located close to the centre of Bourton on the Water."

    It had all amenities you would need.

    AlwenJul 2019

  • "A great house in a great location."

    Would def go back again.

    NazilaJun 2019

  • "Perfect house for a great together with friends."

    Great location and very close to lovely pubs and restaurants. Would recommend.

    EmmaMar 2019

  • "We had a fantastic stay!"

    The communication from Character Cottages was excellent and they made every effort to accommodate our requests and offer family friendly touches. Thanks again!

    RakhiMar 2019

  • "Wonderful cottage in a fantastic location."

    Cottage set up as we had asked for and was of the highest quality.

    MichaelMar 2019

  • "We had a fantastic time at this property."

    There was plenty of space for our party and just a short walk to the town centre. We had a great time at the property, thank you very much.

    AndrewNov 2018

  • "Me and my family enjoyed our 4 day stay at the cottage ."

    ..amazing place and very nice location !!! Will surely come back

    KaranJul 2018

  • "Fabulous house!"

    Just perfect for a group. Clean and with all mod cons.

    SuzieSep 2017

  • "Great location, 2 minutes drive to Bourton, 10 minutes to superstore, everything ready in kitchen."

    It's perfect for a group or a family. Great experience! Thank you.

    XiaoyuSep 2017

  • "Gorgeous cottage would definitely recommend."

    DebbieJun 2017

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Four bedrooms: 1 x king-size with en-suite shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x super-king-size (zip/link, can be twin on request) with an en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin, 1 x double
  • Bathroom with bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen, sitting area and dining area
  • Sitting room
  • First floor games room with single sofa bed
  • Gas central heating
  • Gas hob and 2 x electric ovens and grills, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, coffee maker, cafetiere, kettle, toaster, blender, 2 x hairdryers
  • 2 x Smart TVs, Bluetooth speaker, WiFi, children's games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • 2 x cots and 2 x highchairs available
  • Garage with space for 2 cars additional off-road parking for 3 cars and designated parking place for 1 car
  • Any additional cars can use the public car park nearby, on street parking is not permitted
  • Enclosed lawn and patio garden with seating for 4 and barbecue
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 0.5 miles, pub 0.8 miles
  • Quiet residential area, please respect other residents and keep noise to a minimum.

The property

Honeystones is a substantial, well-designed, contemporary and stylish holiday home, set a stone's throw from heart of the village of Bourton-on-the-Water, which is possibly the most popular destination for visitors in the Cotswolds.

The property sleeps up to nine guests in four bedrooms and is located on a quiet no-through-road, perfect for a large family or group of friends seeking a relaxing break in the Cotswolds.

A double garage at the side of the house, with additional parking for three cars on the drive and additional designated space in front of the property welcomes you on arrival, as you walk up the path leading to the front door and open into the spacious hallway, providing a space for you to keep coats and shoes, before entering the stylish sitting room which is decorated with calming muted tones and features French doors leading out to the garden.

Moving through the property, you will find the open-plan living room complete with kitchen, sitting area and dining area; it is a wonderfully open and spacious area containing a dining table and additional seating at the island and the breakfast bar, and is well-equipped for home-cooking and entertaining your guests.

Double doors open directly out onto the patio area in the garden.

A convenient utility room give access to the garden and contains useful amenities for you to use during your stay, as well as a cloakroom containing a basin and WC.

Once you’ve familiarised yourself with the ground floor, head up the stairs to the first floor, where you will find the four welcoming bedrooms and a games room stocked with games with additional sleeping option for one guest.

The master bedroom is a large, polished room containing a king-size bed and boasting an en-suite shower room, the second bedroom houses a super-king-size bed (which can be set up as twin on request) and also benefits from an en-suite shower room, the third is a twin room and the fourth is a double room.

The bathroom completes the floor and has an inviting bath for you to relax in after a long day, before heading to bed for the night.

Enjoy your morning cuppa in the enclosed rear garden which has a large lawn area and a patio area home to a table with four chairs and a barbecue.

Regularly voted one of the prettiest villages in England and known as the ‘Venice of the Cotswolds", Bourton-on-the-Water has a unique appeal to visitors and residents alike; with plenty to see and do, Bourton-on-the-Water offers a wealth of attractions and shops, restaurants and tea rooms, such as Cotswolds Antiques and Tea Room and The Rose Tree Restaurant, or enjoy some tranquil time by the River Windrush with its beautiful bridges throughout.

Surround yourself by wildlife at Birdland Park and Gardens or have some fun at the miniature replica of the Cotswold stone village at The Model Village.

Greystones Farm & Nature Reserve is home to wildflower meadows, working organic farm, Iron Age ramparts, a replica Iron Age roundhouse and an interactive Discovery Barn; offering time out from the hustle and bustle of the village centre, this reserve is open to public all year round and is not to be missed.

Nearby Lower Slaughter is widely regarded as one of England's most beautiful villages with picturesque cottages lining the banks of the River Eye which flows from Upper Slaughter through Lower Slaughter, home to The Slaughters Country Inn which is a well-regarded, quintessential country inn, offering lovely food and drinks.

Stow-on-the-Wold is the highest of the Cotswold villages, and is a small market town with an array of boutique shops, tea rooms, pubs and restaurants; you can visit the Fosse Gallery to admire an array of contemporary British art, indulge in a bite to eat and drinks at The Stag at Stow, or revel in the scrumptious tea and cakes at The Old Bakery Tea Room.

Burford, known as Southern “gateway to the Cotswolds” is perched upon a hill and the high street is lined with charming antique shops, boutique stores, and cafés, here you can visit Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens where you will find over 250 species of animals and be inspired by the beautiful landscaping and seasonal displays throughout the park.

Whatever the weather or time of year, Honeystones is a great choice for you and your loved ones to have a memorable holiday in the Cotswolds.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Stow-on-the-Wold 4 miles; Moreton-in-Marsh 8 miles; Chipping Norton 13 miles; Cheltenham 15.5 miles.

Located in the Cotswold Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, the historic village of Bourton-on-the-Water dates back to Neolithic times with over 100 buildings being Grade II listed or higher. The picturesque high street nestles alongside the River Windrush over which several low stone bridges span, which is why Bourton-on-the-Water is known as the Venice in the Cotswolds. Tradition states that an annual football match is played in the summer, in the River Windrush with the banks lined with spectators, with the aim to score as many goals as possible and get as wet as possible! The village has an eclectic range of visitor attractions, including The Model Village, Cotswold Motor Museum, Birdland Park and Gardens as well as a Dragonfly Maze, monthly farmers’ market as well as many tea rooms, an artisan bakery, antiques and craft markets, traditional sweet shop, cycle hire and its very own perfumery. Nearby, Stow-on-the-Wold, originally an Iron Age Fort, epitomises traditional England. This ancient market town has played host to many fairs since the 12th century and today holds a biannual Gypsy Horse Fair, craft fairs and monthly farmers' market. The vast market square boasts an ancient cross at one end and the village stocks at the other, surrounded by an elegant array of Cotswold stone townhouses, antiques shops, tea rooms, traditional pubs, award-winning restaurants and its very own cricket museum. Also take a visit to the medieval town of Burford for a great day out where you can enjoy a trip to the Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens. The Saxon market town of Moreton-in-Marsh and the quintessential English village of Broadway are both within easy reach and make a great day out. The spa town of Cheltenham is, architecturally, the most complete Regency town in England with an incredible range of shops, cinemas, theatres, restaurants and pubs, it is famous for its horse racing festival in March, culminating in the Gold Cup steeplechase. Oxford, the oldest university city in England and sometimes called The City of Dreaming Spires has an abundance of prestigious attractions, including the 38 colleges of the university (half of which date back before 1600), the oldest university teaching room, the Bodleian Library, Ashmolean and Pitt Rivers Museums, and Botanic Gardens. Stratford-upon-Avon, Bath, Worcester and the waterfront city of Gloucester are also all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Bourton-on-the-water




Note: The super-king-size bed is zip/link and can be set up as twin beds on request.

Note: There is a single sofa bed in the games room.

Note: No Saturday or Sunday turnaround.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas