Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cotswolds 29 minutes ago

12 people have recently viewed this property

Gardeners Cottage

Fifield near Burford, Oxfordshire (Ref. 1051595)

4.2

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

7 Customer Reviews

  • "Gardners Cottage is absolutely beautiful inside & out."

    It is extremely well equipped & comfortable (especially the beds). The garden is amazing with wonderful views over the rolling cotswolds countryside. Fifield is an idyllic & extremely peaceful village. Our only (small) criticism would be that we only lit the fire once as it was too smokey within the house to light again. Maybe consider fitting a log burner in future & that would make the cottage perfect. But we loved our stay & will hopefully return.

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay at Gardeners Cottage. It's lovely to hear you had a wonderful stay and had everything you needed in the property. We will look into the issue you had with the fire and possible alternative options. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KeithOct 2021

  • "I requested addition of high chair and cot which was not listed at this property and you said that it wasnt available ."

    Imagine my surprise and delight when on arrival both were in place. While I appreciated this very much, it was too late to stop my son purchasing a travel cot and a portable high chair. Communication that you had been able to provide this would have been great. We had to assume it had not been possible. Maybe Manor got them for us, but we were most grateful. Other than no salt or pepper, oil or vinegar, everything was super. Comfortable beds and pillows, spotless linens and bathrooms and kitchen, exceptional views of glorious countryside and we discovered a playground for the toddler just behind the back hedge. Some information on the walking trails in the area from the back door would have been wonderful, but we hiked blindly to enjoy the great late summer weather and returned safely.

    Thank you for your feedback. We're so sorry for the communication error with regard to the cot and highchair. We at Manor Cottages wanted to make sure that you did not go without so ensured there was a highchair and cot placed in the property prior to your arrival. We will ensure cupboards are stocked with the basics for future guests and would like to apologise that this was missed on this occasion. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the property and had the chance to explore the wonderful Cotswolds on foot! Property Owner

    Reviewed by JaneSep 2021

  • "No microwave."

    No freeview tv. Need adjustable electric shower. Shower screen leaking down the side. Deep cleaning to me would also mean cobwebs on lamps would be removed! Windows were scarmy....washed with dirty water. I hope the dvd player was not stolen by any previous residents. After saying all that. It was lovely cottage, peaceful and set in lovely village. Would stay there again.

    Many thanks for taking the time to feedback on your stay at Gardeners Cottage. We're very sorry that you encountered these issues during your stay and will investigate to ensure future guests do not have the same problems. We're pleased to know that you enjoyed your time at the cottage and would love to welcome you back again in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChristineSep 2021

  • "No tv unless you are with Amazon or Netflix."

    Reviewed by NeilSep 2021

  • "Gardner's Cottage has a lovely relaxing feel to it."

    The beds were comfortable and overall it was a nice stay. I think some extra thought could be given to the property, the one sofa isn't very comfortable and small things could be added such as a laundry basket and additional kitchen items. It's a shame we couldn't use the lovely upstairs bathroom.

    Thank you for your feedback. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate your points for improvement. We're very sorry for the issue you had with the upstairs bathroom - this has now been rectified so will not be an issue for future guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KayteAug 2021

  • "The main bathroom shower is very difficult to control pressure and temperature."

    We're sorry that you had difficulty operating the shower. Your feedback will be passed promptly onto the owner. Thank you for your feedback and we would like to welcome you back anytime. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JulieJul 2021

  • "We had a fantastic time."

    In particular we were impressed by no extra charge for providing a cot and high chair, and the speed with which you provided a parasol for the outside table and chairs. The house is brilliantly set up and the garden is wonderful. A couple of minor things that could be improved are that the wifi only really works in the sitting room and bedroom above it - it would be great if it could be extended to cover the kitchen and master bedroom; there were no cereal bowls and no vegetable peeler, so it would be good if those were provided; lastly, the mattress provided with the cot was the very basic one and from our experience isn’t really okay for a baby to sleep on for a week. Fortunately we had brought our own mattress as we knew there was a chance this might be the case, but it would be good if you could provide a better mattress with the cot. These were all minor things though, the house was fantastic, and we had a wonderful time.

    Reviewed by AnnabelJun 2021

Show more

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size (zip/link, twin on request), 1 x super-king-size, 1 x ground-floor adult bunk beds
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, double basin, 2 x heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with open fire
  • Snug with TV
  • ..
  • central heating and open fire
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge, 2 x TV, WiFi and a selection of books
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Parking available
  • Private lawn and patio garden with furniture
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2.7 miles, pub 1 mile
  • Note: There are two steps down into the shower, please take care

The property

Milton-under-Wychwood 2.6 miles.

Located in the pretty village of Fifield, mid-way between two of the Cotswolds' most popular destinations, Burford and Stow-on-the-Wold, rests Gardener's Cottage.

A picture-perfect cottage which has undergone...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £400.

View on map

About the location

MILTON-UNDER-WYCHWOOD

Burford 4 miles; Chipping Norton 7 miles.

Milton-Under-Wychwood is a village and civil parish in West Oxfordshire. The village has one pub called The Hare which is a gastropub. Wychwood public library is located in a converted shop. Local attractions are Foxholes Nature Reserve, Wychwood Wild Garden park and for those interested in outdoor activities The Wychwood Golf Club, all within a few miles of the village. For the art enthusiasts look to Tosley Museum housed in the early Tudor market building, famous for its doll’s houses and large photographic collections. Also nearby is the St Nicholas Church, which is the resting place of the designer of the Forth Rail Bridge, Sir Benjamin Baker. Little has survived of the Norman church except its ornate north doorway. Milton-Under-Wychwood is 4 miles north of Burford and 7 miles south of Chipping Norton.

Region Information

Please Note: whilst the cottage has ground floor accommodation the bedroom has bunk beds (suitable for adults if required) and the shower on the ground floor shower room has 2 steps down.
There is a £400.00 Good House Keeping Bond at this property.

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it