In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 34 View Image Gallery
  • The Cottage and The Studio - Cotswolds - 1098012 - photo 1

The Cottage and The Studio

(Ref. 1098012)

South Cerney, Cotswolds, Gloucestershire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • great (4)
  • cottage (4)
  • property (4)
  • garden (3)
  • bed (3)
  • all (3)

6 Customer Reviews

  • "Hi I have left this feedback for a couple of weeks to put together a listing: 1."

    No heating in the studio for many days and many visits by maintenance and plumber. The boiler needs replacing as you cannot control the heat once you have got it. It seems the boiler has not been maintained. 2. Beds in Studio and upstairs double bed extremely uncomfortable in fact the one in the Studio is not fit for purpose, too low and hard and dangerous as too large for the room. 3. No rails in shower in studio or slip mat very dangerous!! 4. The glass around the studio should have markings in case someone walks into it. Health and Safety!!!! 5. Cutlery in the Cottage is dangerous one of the spoons broke and nearly cut the users hand. 6. Its not pet friendly but could be........ The garden is not dog friendly but it could be made so very easily. 7. I spent three days in The Great South Western Hospital, Swindon with my Mum who had a stroke on Boxing Day evening their 65th Wedding Anniversary. She got so wound up..... with everything. I am so grateful to the quick response by Paramedics and the Stroke Team at the Hospital. 8. Also it could have been left a little cleaner bit dirty, glasses left in dishwasher and the bathroom had a lot of items after maintenance left by the bath. If you need photo evidence we have it all. 9. I would like to pass on my thanks to Helen (Manor Cottages), The maintenance guy I think his name is Stuart and also the Plumber Lewis at one time who helped us so much. 10. The window in the bunk beds room you cannot open. Not very Health and Safety. 11. On the other hand with a few alterations it could be made such a lovely property. Thank you and God Bless You.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this comprehensive feedback. We're sorry to hear that you encountered some issues at the property but glad that we could provide help during your stay. We wish your mum a speedy recovery. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sally1.6Dec 2023

  • "The property is in need of some decoration and improvements to make it comfortable and a more pleasant experience."

    There are a number of issues that need to be addressed. COTTAGE Bed very uncomfortable and needs replacing Seating in the cottage very uncomfortable STUDIO Heated floors not functioning properly There’s a lot of dead wood lice throughout the property. Cooking facilities insufficient Extractor fan in shower not working Light over sink not working Would be useful if there was a bedside lamp Outside door won’t catch and has to be locked to stay shut The property is in a great location and village has excellent facilities.

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We welcome all comments and our maintenance team are investigating the items you have mentioned. We hope these did not impact your stay and you were able to enjoy exploring the beautiful Cotswolds. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by David2.5Oct 2023

  • "Overall we enjoyed our holiday."

    The space is great, and the two properties worked really well for our family. And the location is superb. A couple of observations – the wifi in the stable didn't work. We raised this with the agent, but they never came back with an update. Also the side access was not secure for our dog – not great given the road can be a little busy. However we found an old door at the end of the garden which we used as a barrier. Final point was the houses hadn't had a particularly thorough clean. But overall we would stay again.

    We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at this beautiful property. We did check the wifi both before and after your booking and no issues have been found so our apologies if this wasn't the case during your stay. The property is dog friendly at no extra cost however, the garden isn't stated as completely secure. Overall, we are glad you had a lovely stay and hope these small issues didn't deter from your stay. Best wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip3.4Jul 2023

  • "Property is situated in an Great location."

    5min walk to large Co-op, Indian Restaurant , 2 Pubs (Recommend Eliot Arms food), Deli (Great homemade cakes), Chip shop (only opens Fri/Sat) 15min walk to Lakeside (Nice drinks location) 20 min walk to South Cerney Outdoor (Great coffee) 25min walk to Cotswold Outdoor (Fantastic pizza) All very dog friendly. The cottage itself is ok, I appreciate it’s an old cottage however no excuse for basic cleaning dusty/cobwebs and garden/courtyard area not maintained. Dogs are not allowed in the annex/studio which is a shame because the sofa (wooden chairs) in the cottage are uncomfortable.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you liked the location. We are sorry that the cleanliness of the cottage was not up to your expectations. We have passed your comments onto our housekeeping team to investigate. Thank you for your recommendations of the local eateries. Best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by David2.5Jul 2023

  • "Very disappointed!"

    Only book to stay here if you don’t mind vermin! Upon arrival we were very pleased with the property and excited for our short stay there. Sadly our first evening, we returned after a meal out to find wood lice everywhere in the main cottage including upstairs in the bedrooms, have honestly never seen so many in one place! That night we went to bed in the annex to be disturbed by the sound of an animal scurrying above our heads and after investigating we found mouse faeces along the ledge above the bed! My husband lifted the mattress corner and was met by the strong smell of animal urine too. 1am we had no choice but to move into the living area in the annex and attempt to sleep on the sofa, we didn’t have much more than 2hours broken sleep! We decided there was little point calling Sykes as we had a very tight schedule and figured they weren’t going to be able to catch a mouse in one day! We spent our second and final night on the sofa again, with very little sleep again. Sadly, when contacting Sykes on our return they did not want to know because we hadn’t called whilst staying there to give the own chance to rectify issues. We are very disappointed in this response, the wood lice came out at night and so did the mouse how on earth would they have dealt with that in one day?! No consideration at all. We would recommend NO-ONE books a stay at this property and suggest you look at booking a stay through another firm than Sykes! What a shame this trip turned out how it did.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are terribly sorry to read about your issues you experienced at the property during your stay. The property was thoroughly checked and cleaned before your arrival and we have since done multiple inspections and there are no traces of excess woodlice or mice faeces anywhere in either property. We have put traps down and 2 weeks later has still remained untouched. We are sincerely sorry if this was the case for you, however we have no images from yourselves nor can we now find any traces since your departure. We are always here to help and can get teams sent out promptly to investigate and are disappointed we weren’t notified and given the opportunity to rectify. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah1.9Jun 2023

  • "Definitively not child proof"

    Thank you for your feedback following your stay. We try to give an accurate representation of the property with our photographs and apologise if you felt this wasn't accurate in any way. Best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin2.5Sep 2022

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • The Studio: One king-size bedroom with TV
  • Bathroom with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area. The Cottage: Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x bunk bed
  • Bathroom with bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room
  • The Studio: Ground floor property: Central heating
  • Combi microwave/oven, gas hob, fridge and espresso machine
  • 2 x TV's, wine chiller, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car and ample roadside parking on first-come, first-served basis
  • Rear garden terrace with furniture
  • Sorry no smoking
  • The Cottage: Central heating
  • Double electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher and espresso machine
  • TV, selection of DVDs, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car and ample roadside parking on first-come, first-served basis
  • Rear garden terrace
  • One well-behaved dog welcome, free of charge
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.5 miles, pub 0.5 miles, beach 2.7 miles. Please note that due to the layout of the property, it is not suitable for people with limited mobility.

The property

Tucked away in the peaceful village of South Cerney on the fringes of the Cotswolds, are these two stone-fronted cottages.

Enjoying characterful interiors with a blend of feature beams and contemporary décor, these two cottages make an idyllic escape for a family of six.

Park up in an off-road space before exploring the one-bedroom cottage, which hosts a king-size bedroom with a TV for a film night beneath the covers.

Moving through the home, discover the stylish shower room for your morning rinse before stepping into the bright and airy living and dining space.

Unwind on the sofa with a cup of coffee, courtesy of the espresso machine, as the floor to ceiling windows allow natural light flood in.

Access the sun trapped garden by the patio doors after an action filled day.

The two-bedroom home rest next door; enter a hallway before discovering the sitting room where you can curl up and escape with a good book.

Locate the white-glossed kitchen to make use of the double oven and gas hob; when meals are piping hot, gather in the dining room and toast to your special getaway.

Venture upstairs to choose between two lovely bedrooms, a double and a bunk bedroom and before climbing into bed why not indulge in a soak in the bathroom.

Awaken with a cup of tea enjoyed in the rear garden before planning the adventures for the day ahead.

For the thrill seekers, there is the Cotswold Water Park Hire for paddle boarding, Cotswold Country Park & Beach for water sports activities or a picnic on the sand, and if that's not to your taste explore Cotswold and all it has to offer.

Visit the hidden gem of Cirencester to inspect the Amphitheatre, unveil the town's rich past at Corinium Museum; afterwards dine out with a selection of delicious eateries to choose from!

The Cottage and The Studio are also within easy reach of the city of Gloucester, home to a Romanesque cathedral and a prehistoric museum, as well as the town of Cheltenham, hosting a race course, so you can dress up to the nines!

For a blissful escape to the Cotswolds, secure a stay at the Cottage & Studio.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Cirencester 5.1 miles; Swindon 13.8 miles

This quaint, stone-built village rests peacefully among the eastern fringes of the Cotswolds, in the district of Gloucestershire. Positioned just a stone's throw away from the market town of Circencester, South Cerney offers an array of local amenities including a shop, Post Office, hairdressers, pharmacy and takeaway/restaurant, as well as three public houses. Enjoy a round of golf at the 18-hole golf course on the edge of the village and sail or fish on the lakes of the Cotswolds Water Park. This renowned conservation area is a popular spot for anglers, water skiers and sailors, and walkers can enjoy the miles of countryside scenery. Nearby, Cirencester boasts a stunning church and rows of quirky cottages, along with a number of fine shops and eateries connected by a network of attractive streets. The Corinium Museum showcases a collection of Roman remains found locally, and you have a choice of immaculate parks offering memorable summertime strolls. Stroud is another market town worth a visit, offering bags of character, a choice of cosy pubs and plenty of walking, whilst the city of Gloucester is dominated by its medieval cathedral. The Cotswold Way is not to be missed during your stay; it winds itself through rolling countryside and past an array of timeless villages. Choose this lovely village for your next holiday destination in Gloucestershire.

Please note: This property is 2 separate self contained properties, 1 being located in front of the other. 1 is a 2 bed cottage with both bedrooms and bath room located upstairs and the other is all ground floor accomodatiion.
Please note: 1 dog allowed in the 2 bed cottage only, not in the 1 bedroom flat. If the dog is left unaccompanied in the cottage, it will have to be kept in a crate. Please note this is a not a secure garden.
Please note: Dogs go free of charge. The garden isn't fully secure.
Please note: Due to the layout of the property, it is not suitable for people with limited mobility.
Please note: There is a refundable Good Housekeeping Bond on this property of £250.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas