In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

11 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 34 View Image Gallery
  • The Clock Tower - Cotswolds - 999129 - photo 1

The Clock Tower

(Ref. 999129)

South Cerney, Gloucestershire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (18)
  • cottage (17)
  • stay (15)
  • good (9)
  • kitchen (9)
  • comfortable (9)

31 Customer Reviews

  • "There were only 4 knifes for 4 people so if you use the dishwasser you havent got enough."

    The fridge was missing a glass plate so we had to put everything on top of eachother and the little freezer was full of ice so limitied space.There were also a lot of spiders and cobwebs so not thoroughly cleaned before our arrival. We couln't not find the Bbq.These are just some small remarks but generally we had a very nice stay at the cottage it was a very cosy cottage good beds and very nice furnished in a very quiet and beautiful area.Just a walk away from the pubs Family from Belgium

    I am so surprised to read this but I had no idea there were only 4 knives perhaps you could have mentioned this when i saw you and I could have rectified this immediately. I remember we talked about the freezer being full of ice and the shelf which is totally unacceptable. I reported this to Manor Cottages who look after the property and I also offered you the use of another fridge adjacent to the cottage. I have also talked about the standard of cleaning to Manor Cottages and hope that this will not happen in the future. I am glad that you had a good stay in the cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Piet3.1May 2024

  • "Had a nice couple of weeks staying at the clock house."

    Only issues were one shower so small we didn't use it after the first day we used the bath . Surprised to receive a email saying I'd broken the key fob , and will be charged for it .when I arrived the first week the key fob was already broken and was in the key safe separate to the key .so whoever put the key and fob there would have known was already broken. I didn't get a reply to this issue either. On hearing this shocking news I looked around the cottage because I didn't wish to be charged for other things that had nothing to do with me . So I noted some things and sent an email back to Sykes cottages. There is a water stain on the kitchen ceiling,the kitchen light doesn't work and whoever was in the weekend between my stay left a note about a broken shower part .

    Thank you for your feedback. We can confirm the shower issue has now been rectified. Apologies for the breakdown in communication regarding the key fob, unfortunately housekeeping did not make us aware previously of the broken fob which caused the situation. We apologise for any stress or inconvenience this caused and accept we made an error on this occasion. Best wishes Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon3.4Mar 2024

  • "The cottage was very cosy & well equipt and very convenient for lots of places to visit."

    The only downside was the shower which was extremely small to say the least & the shower door not closing properly in the centre made it even smaller. Wonder why the main bathroom only had a hand held shower in the bath as loads of room to put a shower cubicle. We would have rated with 5 stars but lost one because of the shower. Also would be slighly hesitant to recommend to friends because of the shower. That all being said we loved the cottage & village.

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We have passed your comments onto the owner about the shower and would have tired to rectify the problem with the door if you had contacted us during your stay. Unfortunately there is insufficient head height in the main bathroom for a stand alone shower. However, we are pleased that you had a cosy stay and liked the location. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Les3.4Mar 2024

  • "We had a lovely 3-night stay at the Clock Tower and found everything to be perfect."

    The cottage was spotless, and it is a great base to explore the Cotswolds. Hope to return again soon.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at The Clock Tower. It's amazing to hear how much you loved the cottage, thank you for the lovely comments. We hope to welcome you back again for a second stay. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Oct 2023

  • "The only real comment is regarding the key collection."

    In the information given it states that the key safe is below the gate control. When we arrived it was pouring with rain and this may have contributed, but it was not clear to me how to open the gates. There is no reference that there is a fob with the key to open the gates. Maybe a small point, but I got soaked! Overall a lovely property in a lovely location with easy access to two pubs that had excellent food. We will be back

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at The Clock Tower. We appreciate the feedback and will review the key information, so thank you. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chris4.7Oct 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay, it was peaceful and the location was very good."

    It was a good place to visit the surrounding area and visit relatives further up in the county.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. The Clock Tower really is lovely! We hope we can welcome you again soon. Best wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diana3.8Sep 2023

  • "We had a lovely time."

    The cottage served as home base for many day trips, it is perfectly centrally located. We even managed to walk down to The George Inn a few nights and enjoyed the food and drinks. We will definitely stay at the Clock Tower again.

    Thank you for this lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Clock Tower and made the most of the surrounding amenities. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jun 2023

  • "We had a lovely week at The Clocktower."

    The skylight in our bedroom meant i could lie back and look at the stars. The walk into South Cerney, along the Bow Wow lane was idyllic, with the river and weeping Willows. We had good meals at The Eliot Arms in South Cerney and the Greyhound in Siddington. Lovely walks from the cottage especially the footpath to Siddington. A great week and we hope to revisit.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. How wonderful to have the opportunity of stargazing from the comfort of your bed! Thank you for the recommendations of the local eateries and walks. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by June4.7Apr 2023

  • "Warm and comfortable, especially the bed."

    Couldn’t fault the privacy of the setting. A cafetière would be a welcome addition to the kitchen. Loved exploring nearby Cirencester with its markets and hidden courtyards.

    Thank you for this lovely review. We're delighted you found The Clock Tower to be so comfortable and enjoyed the local area so much. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Mar 2023

  • "Had a great time, the property was really nicely decorated for Christmas the area was lovely and the property lovely and warm without even putting the fire on."

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at The Clock Tower. It's great to hear that you had a lovely stay and Christmas! We hope to welcome you again soon. Best wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rezaul5.0Dec 2022

  • "Lovely place to stay with walks from the doorstep."

    Shops and pub within walking distance. Have been here for the last 2 years being in a secluded/private area where you can relax and wind down.

    Thank you for this lovely feedback. We're delighted that you managed to have a relaxing, enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you again. Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley4.7Sep 2022

  • "A lovely, private and quiet property in a great location."

    The only very minor issues were that the parking instructions emailed were misleading resulting in being asked to move the car (very politely) by another resident, and coffee pods, dishwasher tabs and washing machine pods were not supplied as stated in the in property paperwork. Overall a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and apologise for the lack of instructions for parking, as well as amenities such as coffee pods and dishwasher tablets not being provided. We hope that these issues did not leave a lasting impact on your stay, and we would love to welcome you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon4.7Jul 2022

  • "You need some sort of shelf to put all your bathroom accessories on"

    Thank you for the constructive feedback. I will follow this up and see if this is something we can put in place. We hope you had a lovely stay. Best wishes, Manor cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carole4.4Jul 2022

  • "The cottage has a nice kitchen and living room."

    However, it is let down by the bathroom facilities. The shower is tiny. If you are 5.10 like me, or 6.2 like my husband, then you are really going to struggle. You can’t turn sideways, you bump your elbows, there’s nowhere to put your shampoo/ shower gel other than in the shower tray and there’s no room to bend down and pick them up. It’s really claustrophobic. Unfortunately the bath in the other bathroom has a shower head for washing your hair, but no shower curtain so you can’t use that as a shower.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a nice feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed the kitchen and living room, and we apologies for not feeling the same with the bathrooms, there was a note in the property description that says: hand-held shower and that There is some restricted head height in the en-suite shower room. We look forward to welcoming you again soon Manor cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ann2.5Jun 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay and thought the cottage was great."

    Re the "Facilities" section this is just a niggle - there was no shaver socket in either of the bathrooms which we would have like to use for recharging electric toothbrushes. We were OK as we got hold of a 2-pin to 3-pin adaptor plug. The kitchen was well supplied and the beds were very comfortable. It was very good having so many footpaths nearby especially ones that led to pubs!

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay and we're delighted that you enjoyed the cottage and the surrounding area. Thank you for your suggestions which we will take on board. We hope to welcome you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julia4.7May 2022

  • "The property was just what we wanted for a week in February in the South Cotswolds ."

    A lovely cosy cottage to return to after a day exploring / walking in the Cotswolds

    Thank you for such lovely feedback. It's great to hear that the property was everything you needed and we cannot wait to welcome you back any time in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Terry5.0Feb 2022

  • "We loved our Christmas at Clock Tower, it was beautiful, atmospheric and cosy - a really special place."

    It was very comfortable and clean and plenty of space for the four of us. (I'd ensure getting accurate instructions for getting the key from the key safe as it was a little unclear, and for the name on the external gate / wall to look out for.)

    Thank you for you feedback. We will look into your suggestions for future guests. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely Christmas! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma4.7Dec 2021

  • "The Clock Tower is a lovely place to stay - very comfortable and set in a beautiful area with walks on your doorstep and well-placed to explore the Cotswolds."

    I would recommend it as a place to stay and return again.

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back to The Clock Tower any time in the future . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geraldine5.0Nov 2021

  • "This was a great place to stay."

    Very private and loved the garden to sit in. We will be visiting again in the future. Plenty of walks from the front door. Only one small thing for me it needed a better vacuum, maybe a good quality cordless would be good, the one supplied had no suction and it wouldn’t pick up fluff on the carpet.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your suggestions for improvement will taken into full consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back any time in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley4.7Sep 2021

  • "The Clock Tower is a very lovely cottage located in heart of the village of South Cerney."

    We were very comfortable and the few problems of things listed being missing or broken that arose were quickly dealt with by the owner. The beds and sitting room furniture were all comfortable, the kitchen equipped for simple cooking and the washing machine and drier were easy to use. The fridge/freezer was very small for storing food and cooling drinks for four adults - COVID is still impacting on eating out so it would be good to see this facility improved. There are lovely walks from the house, a good choice of small shops in the village, an excellent Indian takeaway and fish and chip shop and several pubs. It is a cottage we would both return to and recommend for its comfort and location.

    Many thanks for your feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your points for improvement. You're always welcome to return again in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Suzanne4.7Sep 2021

  • "Overall, a fabulous property in a lovely village."

    Just a few minor niggles: no keys in key safe on arrival; unable to get through to Sykes as significantly high number of callers that Fri evening; had to ring the property owner in the end to request access; very unsatisfactory and not fair on the owner; luckily they lived locally and we only had a few minutes to wait; even more unacceptable given check-in time is now 6pm (even with the Covid context, this is very late) No coffee machine or washing machine capsules even thought the information in the cottage stated these would be provided A grater would have been useful in the kitchen A welcome pack (only 1/2 pint of milk in the fridge) would have been appreciated The kitchen knives either need sharpening or renewing The key fob didn't work throughout our stay Property clean, well stocked with kitchen and other items, good quality furnishings

    We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your time at The Clock Tower. We're very sorry for the difficulty you had with gaining access to the property on arrival - luckily the owner does indeed live next door! The welcome pack is a pint of milk and a small packet of biscuits left as a sweet treat for you to enjoy with a cuppa after a long journey. Your concern about the knives has been noted - thank you for bringing this to our attention. Presumably, the battery had gone in the key fob - if this happens again in future, please do make Manor Cottages aware and we will endeavour to rectify the issue as soon as possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marcus5.0Sep 2021

  • "This property was located in a lovely peaceful part of the village."

    Plenty of cutlery and crockery and cooking pans etc for home cooking a meal during these COVID times. We took the opportunity to walk from the property all around the area which was delightful as well as driving to a few other villages. A very pleasant stay all round

    Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and had all you need to make it perfect! We'd love to welcome you back to The Clock Tower in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by David J F4.4Jun 2021

  • "The Clock Tower is a delightful cottage in a lovely part of England."

    It is well-appointed, with a good kitchen, a comfortable living room, and relaxing ensuite bedrooms. The surrounding area is quiet and the garden a lovely, private suntrap. The owners were very helpful and friendly. We had a lovely stay and hope to revisit sometime.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay at The Clock Tower. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard5.0May 2021

  • "The most comfortable beds we have ever slept in and the house is well furnished."

    No coffee pods supplied for the nespresso machine so be sure to take your own, otherwise the kitchen is well equipped. Had a bit of a hiccup when we arrived but this was soon sorted with the owners to whom we thank enormously. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

    Thank you for recommending The Clock Tower! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Malcolm4.4May 2021

  • "Lovely location, quiet yet a charming short walk to the village centre."

    The owner was welcoming and helpful and the cottage well-presented and clean. Kitchen was well-equipped and the cottage very warm (didn't use the wood-burner). One big improvement would be to put up hooks for coats and further hooks in the utility room for wet coats etc. The village was friendly with local shops, post office and fish and chip shop. Pubs within walking distance.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments of your recent stay at The Clock Tower. We will pass the improvement suggestions to the owner and we are glad you got to explore the local village. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Fiona3.8Oct 2020

  • "Beautifully finished property in a peaceful tranquil locations within a short stroll of the village centre , pubs, river walks."

    Cirencester is a 10 min drive and it was the perfect base to explore the Cotswolds. We had such a lovely time staying here with our two children age 4 and 6.

    Many thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and hope you be able to welcome you back in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin4.7Aug 2020

  • "The Clocktower is a wonderful cottage in a beautiful location."

    It was absolutely perfect for our holiday and severed as a fantastic base to explore the beautiful Cotswolds. Thank you

    Thank you for your lovely comments on The Clock Tower. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan5.0Aug 2020

  • "We couldn’t of asked for a better cottage to stay in."

    It’s was so clean and tidy. The beds were very comfortable and lovely grounds. We will definitely return.

    Reviewed by Phoebe4.7Dec 2019

  • "A charming spacious cottage in a fabulous private setting."

    Very comfortable & warm. We did have to ask for kindling & logs to light the fire but this came almost straight away. Would have no hesitation in re booking this cottage again if returning to this area.

    Reviewed by Kathryn4.7Dec 2019

  • "Despite the weather we had a lovely break."

    The owners were very welcoming and sorted out the gate code problem when we arrived (we were given wrong code) very quickly. A very peaceful location in a nice village with a very good pub - The Eliot Arms and a useful local Co-op.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Jun 2019

  • "Delightful cottage in lovely situation with lots to see and do in the surrounding areas."

    Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Apr 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size double (zip/link can be twins on request) with en-suite bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC, 1 x king-size double (zip/link can be twins on request) with en-suite shower, separate basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove. Cot and high chair available at request, prior to arrival please.
  • Central heating with woodburning stove
  • hob, oven, dishwasher, fridge with small freezer compartment, washing machine, tumble dryer, Nespresso coffee machine (pods not provided - small pods) TV, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and logs for fire inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed garden at rear with chairs and table
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1 mile
  • Note: There is some restricted head height in the en-suite shower room.

The property

Approached via a narrow lane from the village of South Cerney, with stunning walks on the doorstep, is this beautiful cottage enjoying a peaceful location.

The Clock Tower is ideal for those looking to explore a beautiful region of the Cotswolds, with The Cotswolds Way and Cotswolds Water Park close by.

Filled with character, this quality accommodation welcomes you with a well-presented kitchen/diner, catering to your needs throughout your stay, with glossy units and a modern finish.

The lounge boasts dual aspect, filling the room with natural light, where you can curl up with a book or see what's on TV.

A foodie feast can be enjoyed around the dining table in the kitchen with your loved ones, on return from a bracing walk.

Climb the staircase to find two king-size double rooms offering zip/link beds, so you can choose from a double or twin arrangement.

They each have en-suite facilities, however the second bedroom makes the most of the eaves, with the shower cubicle tucked behind an unusual shaped door frame, separate from the basin and WC.

Enjoy a peaceful spot outside your own enclosed garden, complete with a lovely seating area and barbecue, perfect for relaxed alfresco dining.

Just a stroll away are a selection of handy amenities in the village of South Cerney, including a pharmacy, hairdressers and three pubs.

The Cotswolds Water Park offers a fantastic day out for those who fancy trying water skiiing, sailing or kayaking.

There are also some fabulous walking trails and abundant wildlife to discover.

There are further attractions and places of interest in the city of Gloucester, and you also have Oxford and Swindon further afield.

Choose to stay at this charming homestay, for that much-awaited getaway.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Cirencester 5.1 miles; Swindon 13.8 miles

This quaint, stone-built village rests peacefully among the eastern fringes of the Cotswolds, in the district of Gloucestershire. Positioned just a stone's throw away from the market town of Circencester, South Cerney offers an array of local amenities including a shop, Post Office, hairdressers, pharmacy and takeaway/restaurant, as well as three public houses. Enjoy a round of golf at the 18-hole golf course on the edge of the village and sail or fish on the lakes of the Cotswolds Water Park. This renowned conservation area is a popular spot for anglers, water skiers and sailors, and walkers can enjoy the miles of countryside scenery. Nearby, Cirencester boasts a stunning church and rows of quirky cottages, along with a number of fine shops and eateries connected by a network of attractive streets. The Corinium Museum showcases a collection of Roman remains found locally, and you have a choice of immaculate parks offering memorable summertime strolls. Stroud is another market town worth a visit, offering bags of character, a choice of cosy pubs and plenty of walking, whilst the city of Gloucester is dominated by its medieval cathedral. The Cotswold Way is not to be missed during your stay; it winds itself through rolling countryside and past an array of timeless villages. Choose this lovely village for your next holiday destination in Gloucestershire.

Please note:- this property has a good house keeping bond of £200, this will be shadowed at the time of making the booking.

Cot and high chair available at request, prior to arrival please.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Last minute
  • Christmas