Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Dorset 28 minutes ago

1 customer booked Willows in the last 24 hours

1 of 14 View Image Gallery
  • Willows - Dorset - 1106354 - photo 1
close

Willows

(Ref. 1106354)

Charmouth, Dorset Show on map

4.0

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (12)
  • location (10)
  • our (10)
  • beach (9)
  • garden (8)
  • lovely (8)

17 Customer Reviews

  • "This was our second stay at The Willows and again it did not disappoint."

    Richard & Jan are the perfect hosts and their friendly helpful nature made us feel very welcome. We love the cosy, quirky nature of this property, not to mention the lovely outside seating area and the stunning views! Anyone concerned about the security of the property for their beloved pooch in the garden need not fret as the gates are perfectly secure now for any size dog. I love the fact that the electric meter is cash, cash is readily available and not everyone wants to pay for everything by card. Thanks Richard & Jan, we will be back!

    Reviewed by Marie4.4Oct 2023

  • "The property was in a fantastic location and ideal for dogs, the property could do with updating as there is no shower and the kitchen is very dark, be aware that it has a coin operated electric, £1 & £2 coins although it wasn't too bad."

    will definitely look at booking this again

    We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The property does not have a shower, but has a bath as noted on the marketing. The Lyme Bay Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Antony3.4Oct 2023

  • "The location is fantastic a few minutes walk to the sea, the accommodation a little less so."

    The main issue is the lack of shower facility, a hand held shower over the bath is really not satisfactory for four adults. The second bedroom with twin beds was again not great for 2 adults. it would be good for two children. The accommodation did smell a little damp when we arrived but it was well equipped, everything worked. The garden was advertised as secure but the gate had a gap underneath when closed that a small dog could escape from. The driveway was very narrow with a wall one side and bushes the other. I would suggest cutting back the bushes to the fence to allow easy access. Overall the accommodation was reasonable value for money but could be improved in my opinion. Alan Smith

    Reviewed by Alan3.1Sep 2023

  • "The property is damp and musty, very strong smell of mold in the kitchen cupboards and bathroom."

    The diffusers used can not mask the smell of damp and mold and is insulting to use them to cover up the smell of mustiness all over the property. The place was filthy and quite frankly a health hazard especially for the members of our party who have asthma. We stayed two nights and after finding our clothes to be damp in the morning we left despite having booked for 4 nights. It was an awful experience and we will not recommend that anyone stays there. For health reasons the company should remove the property from their listings. I also have to question the health and safety implications of the washing machine and dryer in a cupboard in the bathroom. It was listed as dog friendly and is nothing of the sort as there is a grape vine growing up the wall with grapes falling on the floor which are highly poisonous to dogs. Shocked that Lyme Bay described the property as charming - feel misled and will not recommend Lyme bay holidays as a result. Having logged concerns on the blog no-one as yet has come back to me. Terrible service and terrible accommodation - complete waste of money.

    Thank you for your comments. We did not hear from you during your stay to state any concerns, as we would happily have attended. The owners live next door and are also accessible to you during your stay if you need to raise any concerns. We will do a property check to investigate your comments. The Lyne Bay Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Heather1.3Sep 2023

  • "The location was excellent with close proximity to beach, river and fossil heritage centre with local shops being a 5 minute walk away."

    The accommodation was fine but for taller people, 6' plus, may find the head height of the doorway to the main bedroom an issue as it's quite low, as is the light fitting in the bathroom. The bath also being on a plynth means head room is an issue when using the bath. If you enjoy your showers then this won't be for you as the shower attachment isn't great for bathing with either. The beds were really comfortable but we didn't find the sofa/armchairs as comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and adequate for cooking, however the dark pine meant we needed the lights on when it was overcast which then used up electricity which is on a slot meter. Painting the pine a nice light country cottage colour would make a huge difference. The covered outside dining area was a great addition as it meant we could sit outside even if it was raining or if you want some shade, however this added to the low light level in the kitchen. The garden was lovely but if you have a smaller dog it is not completely secure so we secured it at the bottom of the sloping drive with a windbreaker. The main gates to the driveway have a gap underneath so our smaller dog would have escaped. Richard the owner was very friendly and came to say hello on our first day and the deluxe welcome pack was a lovely surprise. Overall we had a great holiday. Charmouth is a lovely place.

    Reviewed by Ian3.8Aug 2023

  • "Richard and Jan were perfect hosts, friendly and welcoming, on hand to help, but also left us to enjoy our holiday."

    The property is in a wonderful location, so close to the beach, yet peaceful. The apartment was spacious and had everything we needed and the garden and terrace was like Mediterranean oasis with lovely views!

    Reviewed by Vanessa4.1Aug 2023

  • "We had a really pleasant stay here, seeing feedback from others about the meter we were prepared with coins but actually only used £25 for 4 of us for a 10 day stay."

    Beds were really comfy, welcome pack was a lovely surprise. The accommodation had everything we needed for our holiday and in an ideal location for the beach.

    Reviewed by Samantha5.0Jul 2023

  • "I have already submitted a complaint!"

    !

    We were sorry to hear that you experienced an issue during your stay, and hope your complaint has been dealt with to your satisfaction. The Lyme Bay Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan4.1Jun 2023

  • "Excellent welcome pack, very thoughtful, when we stayed the weather was not great, and was cold and very wet, there was a lot of very nice throws and seemed very strange to have to pay for electricity which you have to with £1 & £2."

    Coins, make sure you have taken enough with you, otherwise very nice.

    Reviewed by Lorraine4.4May 2023

  • "Really enjoyed our short stay - a lovely position for the coast and exploring."

    We were made most welcome and found the accommodation to be very clean and comfortable. Not a complaint, but the bathroom would benefit from updating.

    Reviewed by Catherine4.7May 2023

  • "This property is all about the location really close to Charmouth beach and close to the town."

    The accommodation is lovely especially the garden etc. I was surprised that electricity meter required coins which seems a bit odd in this day and age. We knew about it and took coins but not something that is normally associated with a holiday cottage. The parking at the side of the house is very tricky. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and found the owners to be friendly.

    Reviewed by Sharon4.1Apr 2023

  • "Despite the bad weather we enjoyed our stay at Willows, and loved the walks along the beach."

    The apartment is very comfortable, my only minor thought is that everything being on an electricity meter you do need to take plenty of £1 & £2 coins (the village store won’t give you any, you will need to go to a bank in Bridport). Being the end of March when we stayed it was costing approximately £9 a day for heating, lighting, immersion heater etc. Richard (the owner) was very friendly and helpful, we’d certainly return in perhaps better weather! It’s a fantastic location and we loved exploring the coastline.

    It's great to hear that you had such a lovely stay in Charmouth. I will pass on your comments about the electric meter to the owners for consideration as a future improvement. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lindsay4.4Mar 2023

  • "We have been regular visitors to Charmouth for over 10 years."

    The location of the house is superb. We could hear the sea in the garden, and yet it felt very private with mature trees and hedge. What an amazing location! Waking up early in the morning and strolling the beach before any visitors , was great. The house itself was cozy, apart from the kitchen/ dinning area, which we felt squeezed and squashed into, but it was very clean and very well equipped. Very much enjoyed proper woolly throws in each room- lovely touch and made us feel super cozy. The welcome pack was extra generous, totally unexpected, but truly appreciated. We liked the place a lot, especially the location and would highly recommend. Thank you.

    Thank you for such lovely feedback. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Olga4.7Feb 2023

  • "Lovely holiday… I wanted to see Charmouth in the winter."

    Ideally situated being a few minutes from the sea and good walking for the dog. Essential repairs to the bridge meant reduced access to the East Beach but it meant exploring differently.

    Reviewed by Annette5.0Jan 2023

  • "Great property with great location so close to beach and very well equipped flat which is large enough for four people and two dogs."

    Perfect for our two small dogs - private garden is enclosed to rear but it is possible for dogs to escape up driveway. Owners friendly and available if needed but we were left alone to enjoy our holiday. We had a great holiday and would recommend this flat.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Sep 2022

  • "Fantastic location for the beach on private road, with no through traffic."

    Good sized garden for our Golden Retriever and very friendly - and helpful with nothing being too much - owners. Well equipped kitchen and our girls and us thought the beds were comfortable. Change of laundry after 1st week was easy to arrange, as was the original booking and subsequent updates. Would recommend Willows and Lyme Bay Holidays.

    Reviewed by Brian4.4Aug 2022

  • "We were there in a week which was perfect weather all week so it was a perfect holiday , but if it was not so good weather We think it would be very dark inside with all the dark wood inside etc."

    Generally it could do with upgrading a bit and little things like more newer cutlery and glasses. But brilliant holiday loved Dorset and into Devon. Richard

    We are so pleased to hear you have had a wonderful week, helped by the weather. Thank you for you for taking the time to leave a review, I am pleased to say following your feedback we have bought more cutlery and glasses and added a swing seat too! This week we are doing some pruning of the trees and shrubs to let the light in after the summer growth spurt. We work very hard to keep our customers happy; as such we welcome and appreciate your feedback as it enables us to improve the service, we offer guests and the standard of properties we let. Team LBH Property Owner

    Reviewed by R3.1Jun 2022

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lyme Bay Holidays collection.
Lyme Bay Holidays are a large, friendly, local agency established for over 40 years. Specialising in the area surrounding Lyme Regis on the Dorset and Devon border, they cover much of the World Heritage Coast as well as some stunning countryside and attractive market towns and villages.

Summary

  • Ground-floor apartment
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room
  • Electric convector heating
  • Electric oven, grill and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
  • Two TVs, DVD player, WiFi
  • Fuel inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Parking for 2 cars
  • garden, terrace, furniture
  • Two well-behaved dogs are welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.3 miles, pub 0.3 miles
  • Note: Electricity is not included in the rent
  • Payment is by £1 or £2 coins into a meter

The property

Situated just a few minutes walk from Charmouth beach, on a private road with no passing traffic overlooking open countryside is this truly special apartment, Willows.

The ideal location for a family or couples travelling together, the apartment is as special on the inside as it is on the outside with a warm and welcoming sitting room greeting the visitor as they arrive.

Elegantly furnished, the room has wooden beams and stunning patio doors opening onto a Mediterranean-style terrace.

Step into the fully equipped kitchen which is the perfect place for preparing delicious food for the whole family.

Choose from informal dining around the rustic dining area or open the doors from the sitting room onto the terrace.

The views from the covered terrace are simply mesmerising and you can imagine spending hours here soaking up the amazing views and truly immersing yourself in the holiday spirit.

If the weather allows then you can enjoy long, languid meals out here indulging in some delicious local produce and quaffing a favourite tipple while enjoying time with family and friends.

The gardens are perfect for children (and dogs!) to run around in while the grown-ups can relax.

After all that fresh air, you’ll be ready for your beds and guests can choose from a well-presented king-size and an inviting twin, both of which offer fabulous views over the gardens and beyond.

Willows truly offers an idyllic setting just 200 yards from the beach with beautiful rural views of Stonebarrow and within walking distance of the village shops and amenities.

For the whole family pay a visit to Dinosaurland Fossil Museum, Lyme Regis Marine Aquarium, Axe Valley Wildlife Park and Seaton Tramway.

For some historical insights check out Lyme Regis Museum and Charmouth Heritage Coast Centre or to make the most of the coastal location why not book a boat or fishing trip?

For the adrenaline rush of a lifetime try Lyme Rib Rides!

Whatever you are looking to do during your stay in Dorset, Willows is the perfect destination.

View on map

About the location

Charmouth

Charmouth is an unspoilt seaside village, set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with a fantastic beach world renowned for its fossils on the famous Jurassic Coast.

Note: Electricity is not included in the rent. Payment is by £1 or £2 coins into a meter.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas