In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 28 View Image Gallery
  • 5 Fairhaven - Devon - 997461 - photo 1

5 Fairhaven

(Ref. 997461)

Salcombe, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (9)
  • location (8)
  • balcony (8)
  • our (8)
  • stay (8)
  • property (7)

20 Customer Reviews

  • "The interior is old fashioned and dated."

    We would stay again if the price reflects this. There is a damp problem which we reported. With water stains and paint flaking off the walls, this suggests routine maintenance has been neglected. Grass growing on the balcony gives the impression the property is not being checked properly between lettings. We think it would be helpful to send the plan of the site and parking location to guests before arrival. The spaces for Flat 5 can be awkward to access when other residents are using their spaces. There are niggles, but we had a great view of the sea and easy access to the beach. This property could be great if reconfigured and refurbished.

    Reviewed by Geoff3.8Oct 2023

  • "It was lovely and clean, and plenty of cleaning products around to do any cleaning if and when required."

    Sorry to say the beds were uncomfortable for us,didn't sleep well. The property was great, views amazing, parking for no 5 was tight ,couldn't get out because of some bad parking by other residents of the property .Also in the bathroom s would be very helpful to have a grab rail to get in and out of bath/ shower. It looked like some in the past had used the towel rail to steady themselves and pulled it away from the wall, in main bathroom. Other than that great holiday ,great property ,and plenty of great big spiders that come out at night,they can run fast ,but a size 10 works wonders.

    Reviewed by John4.7Sep 2023

  • "Enjoyed our stay at Fairhaven."

    The view from the balcony was stunning. The flat was very comfortable, spacious, well equipped and clean. Would definitely think about staying there again

    Reviewed by Gill5.0Jul 2023

  • "Really enjoyed our second stay here -very comfortable, great location"

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0Jul 2023

  • "A delightful place to stay and certainly would like to go back."

    We had a lovely stay and was comfortable.

    Thank you so much for your lovely review. We do hope to welcome you back another time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian5.0Jun 2023

  • "We had a problem with the washing machine - we contacted Skye’s and the issue was dealt with promptly."

    Thank you.

    Reviewed by Jean Margaret5.0May 2023

  • "We absolutelyt loved our stay."

    The property is very spacious, comfortable and has eeverything you will possibly need for your stay. The terrace is magnificent, the views are gorgeous and it is so peaceful. We had never stayed at North Sands before, but we will definitely come again. Our dog (Charlie) also had so much fun on the beach and walks. Thank you for the wine, we really appreciated it. Sorry if we forgot to sign the guest book, the week went by so quicly and we ended up leaving without doing it. Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful flat - Sara, Simon and Charlie from London

    Thank you so much for your lovely review. We will be delighted to welcome you back on your next visit in September. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sara5.0May 2023

  • "We had a wonderful stay at the property."

    It was so peaceful and calm. Loved every second of it. The dogs settled really well as well. We will be booking it again.

    Thanks for your lovely review. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the dogs settled in so well, We’d be delighted for you to return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eleanor5.0Apr 2023

  • "Everything you needed was available to you for use."

    Wonderful views and location. Thank you the break was just what we needed.

    Thank you for such a lovely review. I’m so glad you enjoyed staying at our flat and appreciated the beautiful views and special location. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jean Margaret5.0Oct 2022

  • "Lovely location and view from balcony."

    A spacious property with great bathrooms. Bottle of wine was appreciated. We would just like to say that there was no information / instruction booklet for the property which most of the properties we have been to have provided and is very useful. The settee could have been a bit firmer. Having said that we enjoyed our stay and loved Salcombe. Thank you.

    Thank you for your excellent review. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay at our flat and liked the beautiful view from the balcony and appreciated the bathrooms. I’ll ensure there is more information available for future guests’ use. So pleased you had a good time in Salcombe. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Czesiawa3.8Jun 2022

  • "Enjoyed a lovely week of sunshine with some glorious balcony lunches and sunsets."

    Lots of trips to the beach, a day in Dartmouth and a trip on the South Sands ferry. Thank you! Thanks for the wine!

    Jun 2022

  • "The property was as described."

    The parking has been mentioned before, and yes it is tight for a large car, but at least the property has parking, so that is a bonus, plus there is nothing the owner can possibly do about that. The property could do with having the sofas both replaced as they are both INCREDIBLY uncomfortable, this has been a problem that has been mentioned before, but obviously nothing has been done about it, I would highly recommend the owner looks into that as the only comfortable seating in the lounge is the recliner seat. The apartment was clean apart from the towel radiators in both bathrooms, which had definitely not had any attention for quite sometime, but I did mention this to Mark when he had to come up to replace the fire alarm battery on our second day, so hopefully this has now been rectified. Basically the apartment is clean although could do with some tlc, and some storage space in the kitchen as we had to keep all of our food etc on the kitchen counter, which for 2 people is doable, but not for a family. The real feather in this apartment's cap is the wonderful views from the balcony, they are beautiful, and Salcombe is any easy walk on the Cliff Road.

    Reviewed by Lani2.5Mar 2022

  • "Beautiful location with stunning views and good access to Salcombe."

    The actual apartment was a very dated and the settee/chairs weren’t comfortable, plus the description wasn’t accurate, eg no smart TV and no TV on the bedroom. The parking was very very tight at the back of the house, all most impossible to get round past the other cars. Also, there were 3 flights of stairs up to the apartment which hadn’t been made clear in the description. Overall, acceptable but definitely not worth the money we paid, which was disappointing.

    Thank you for you feedback on your stay at 5 Fairhaven, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the fabulous location and views this property has to offer. We’re pleased to inform you that the owner is replacing the sofa and updating other furniture within the apartment, to improve the overall comfort of the property. The TV has also been replaced with a new Smart TV, but we do apologise that this was not working during your visit. We’re sorry that you had issues whilst parking, the owner is hoping to discuss this with the rest of the apartment owners at their annual AGM. The apartment is listed as a Penthouse apartment on the website, however we have amended the website to include that it’s on the second floor, which will hopefully make this clearer to future guests. The plus side is that you get the beautiful views once at the top. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you enjoyed your time in Salcombe. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah2.5Oct 2021

  • "Worst cottage we’ve stayed at with Sykes."

    Furniture was collapsed and uncomfortable, carpet had multiple yellow/orange stains, room was not clean - currents/droppings on the furniture and carpet when we arrived. Poor visibility of key box, awful car parking position constantly blocked in by another occupant.

    Thank you for your feedback following your stay at 5 Fairhaven. We’re sorry you found some of the furniture uncomfortable, please be assured that the owner is taking measures to improve this by replacing the sofa and dining table and chairs. We can only apologise that there were stains on the carpet, these marks were unfortunately made shortly before your arrival but have now been professionally cleaned. We’re sorry that you had issues whilst parking, the owner is hoping to discuss this with the rest of the apartment owners at their annual AGM. We feel that the key safe is accessible and clear instructions are given to all our guests, but we do apologise if you struggled to locate this. We hope that despite the issues raised, you were able to enjoy your time in Salcombe. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gary1.6Oct 2021

  • "This property is in a good location for both North Sands and Salcombe."

    However the building's communal areas are shabby and in need of decorating and refurbishment. The allocated car parking spaces are only suitable for 2 very small cars eg Mini and are extremely difficult to manoeuvre in and out of, between the house and garden wall. Our car, an estate, filled the space. Inside the flat is a good size and the balcony has lovely sea and country views which enjoy the sun all day and evening. The furniture in the flat is extremely dated and not very comfortable.The sun loungers for the balcony were missing. The gas hob would not ignite, but this was repaired during our stay. on arrival the patio door glass windows and the balcony glass were covered in hand prints so they had not been cleaned during the changeover period. We would not return.

    Reviewed by Beverley2.5Aug 2021

  • "Cafetière was broken, flat was a great location and amazing balcony."

    Rooms are huge. Tiny bit dated but bathrooms are excellent.

    Reviewed by Andrew4.4Aug 2021

  • "Very nice apartment with stunning views and in the main good facilities."

    Could do with 2 new sofas and an upgrade on pots and pans. Also all pillows are feather, some hypoallergenic made available would be nice.

    Reviewed by Stephen4.4Oct 2020

  • "Apartment was superficially clean but attention was needed to sliding window and wardrobe runners where there was mould and dirt affecting their operation."

    There were some dogs' hairs on the carpet and settee which stuck to our clothes. Overall the apartment was good and in an excellent location. We would certainly consider re-booking. A couple of maintenance issues: The cooker ignition does not work and required matches to light. The key box was difficult to access in the wet - although this is a problem with all of that style of key box! Inside the apartment there was a plan showing parking and access to the apartments in the block. It would be helpful if you forwarded this to your guests prior to them arriving as the entrance was difficult to locate in the rain and dark. Finally, the card and wine were appreciated but there was no 'Welcome Pack' detailing the surrounding area, facilities and particularly re-cycling requirements for rubbish. Hope that the above is helpful.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay at 5 Fairhaven. We work very hard with our owners and individual cleaners/caretakers to ensure all properties are clean, tidy and well presented before the arrival of holiday guests and we are sorry that these checks did not highlight the issues you have raised. It is a shame you did not contact us during your stay as we most certainly would have been able to rectify most issues immediately. All you comments have been passed on to the owner and relevant departments for attention. We hope we can welcome you back to Salcombe again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Russell4.4Jan 2020

  • "Apart from the beautiful flat the view from the balcony was just amazing."

    The short walk to the beach was great and we found a lovely circular walk from the flat to take our little dog each day. We will definitely be back next summer.

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Sep 2019



    Thank you for your feedback regarding the key safe at 5 Fairhaven. This has now been looked at and is now user friendly. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Oct 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x King-size with en suite with shower over bath, w.c
  • and basin
  • 1 x twin room
  • Family bathroom with shower over bath, basin and w.c
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room/sitting room
  • Utility cupboard.
  • One dog permitted (£25 per dog, per week). Electricity and gas central heating. Large Fridge/freezer, washing machine, electric oven, gas hob, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, kettle. LG smart TV, DVD, Gas Fire
  • Wifi available
  • South West facing balcony with table and chairs, sun loungers
  • Shared gardens
  • There is designated parking for two cars (end to end) just outside the entrance to the building. Bed linen and towels supplied. Travel Cot and High Chair available. Strictly No Smoking.

The property

Situated in a peaceful hillside position within walking distance of beautiful sandy North Sands beach with its popular beachside restaurant, and just 3/4 of a mile from Salcombe's shops, restaurants and stunning waterfront, Fairhaven is a large traditional property converted into five well-presented apartments.

5 Fairhaven is a spacious penthouse apartment with a large south facing balcony overlooking the beach and sea in one direction and the picturesque valley in the other.

For those wishing to explore the area on foot, the South West Coast Path is on the doorstep.

Steps from the entrance ascend to the front door and the hallway leads into the living room with sofa, four armchairs, Smart TV, DVD, gas fire, dining table to seat six and patio doors to balcony.

There is a well equipped kitchen.

Master bedroom with King-size bed, built-in wardrobe, TV/DVD, access to balcony and en suite with bath with rainfall shower, basin and WC.

Bedroom two with twin beds.

Family bathroom with bath with rainfall shower, basin and WC.

Utility cupboard off hall with washing machine.

Large south west facing balcony accessed off both lounge and master bedroom with table and chairs, two sun loungers and stunning views over North Sands and the sea.

Shared gardens which guests are welcome to use.

There is designated parking for two cars (end to end) just outside the entrance to the building.

There are 37 steps leading from the front door to the apartment.

One well behaved dog is permitted.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

£25 per pet per week supplement

Strictly No Smoking

There are 37 steps leading from the front door to the apartment

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas