Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

19 Bolt Head

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 994830)

3.7

Good

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

24 Customer Reviews

  • "Picking up the keys was a problem as the information given by Sykes was incorrect."

    Coast and Country shut up shop at 4 pm on Saturdays and not 5.30 pm as stated in the instruction email from Sykes. We arrived just after 4 pm; there was literally nowhere to park, the apartment parking was a mile walk from the key pick up office, and there was nobody available to give us our keys. Luckily for us, there was a Coast and Country client who had made arrangements for a late arrival, and she found our keys with hers.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We can only apologise that you were given the wrong time for key collection. We call and email all guests who have not arrived by 4pm with the out of hours key collection information. Had there been a problem we also have a 24hr emergency line. We hope you had a great holiday and look forward to welcoming you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DawnOct 2021

  • "No. I think it was great and all very efficient."

    Thank you!

    Reviewed by CharlieSep 2021

  • "Sykes have totally ignored my complaints re the problems at 19 Bolt Head they ..."

    Sykes have totally ignored my complaints re the problems at 19 Bolt Head they are not reacting to any things I’ve raised

    Reviewed by Lester CharlesSep 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay at 19 Bolt Head which had everything needed and more for a really comfortable and enjoyable stay."

    My only negative would be the constant damp smell downstairs that lingered all week despite opening windows and the pillows probably need renewing. Other than that a really lovely place to stay that I would definitely recommend and return to !

    Reviewed by LouiseSep 2021

  • "Clean modern spacious accomodation and very well equiped."

    Good location with well maintained grounds.

    Reviewed by PaulJun 2021

  • "The property is in a good location with a parking space."

    The facilities in the house itself are a little dated and could do with some TLC. For example, only one wardrobe door (not two) in one bedroom. The bathrooms were fine but the shower cubicles are of their time and a little on the small side. Our main gripe was with the crockery/glasses/cutlery as none of it was very clean (old food/lipstick etc) and we had to wash it all before use.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are please you liked the location of the property. We are sorry that you felt the property was not presented to our usually high standard, we have passed all your comments on to the cleaner. Please know if you had made us aware of the situation whilst you were at the property, we would have done our best to rectify any issues you had during your stay. Regrettably the one wardrobe sliding door was damaged by a previous guest. It could not be repaired or replaced and therefore the one side has a row of very usable shelves and three drawers, this is pictured on our website. We do hope that in spite of these issues you had a pleasant holiday and enjoyed all the area has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BenJun 2021

  • "Comfortable accommodation, great location for the beach and access via the ferry to Salcombe."

    Wonderful walking routes close by. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by JeanApr 2021

  • "Unfortunately, we found the accommodation rather disappointing for the rental cost."

    There was no light bulb in one of the lamps in the lounge area. No bath mat in the en-suite double bedroom. Dust and dirt was present inside the en-suite door. Only one towel rail was provided for the four towels. Furthermore, the towel hooks on the door were very slack. The double bedroom curtains barely covered the windows, when drawn. Subsequently, daylight was visible around the edges in the early morning. We could not find spare toilet rolls. No cling film or kitchen foil. The ice cube tray was cracked. All together, we thought the apartment was poor value for money, considering the cost of £854.00 for a three night stay.

    Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at 19 Bolt Head. I’m sorry to hear that there was a bulb missing in the lamp, the owners are coming down and will replenish the drawer will spare bulbs in it. The curtains are being replaced at the next available opportunity and the ice tray will also be replaced. Please note that whilst a few toilet rolls will be provided for your arrival, it is a self-catering property and these items should be brought with you. I’m sorry you encountered a couple of cleanliness issues; these have been passed to the housekeeping team but please be assured that this property is cleaned thoroughly and fogged in between each booking. We hope that you were able to enjoy your stay in Salcombe and we hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SusanOct 2020

  • "This property has been renovated very cheaply."

    One wardrobe sliding door was missing completely in one bedroom, curtain hooks broke when drawing the curtains in the same bedroom and both bathrooms need to be replaced completely, The bathroom suites are old, the taps are hard to turn, grouting and sealants are mouldy and both bathrooms are extremely cold.

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at 19 Bolt Head. The curtain hooks have all been replaced with metal hooks replacing the plastic curtain hooks (as these can break at any time).We have arranged for any discolouration of the sealants to be cleaned. The owners have replaced the basins and taps in each bathroom and also replaced the bath taps. There are fan heaters now supplied in each bedroom (in addition to the radiators) and there are radiators in the bathrooms if it does get chilly. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Salcombe in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BeverleyAug 2019

  • "Can i please extend my thanks for such a lovely place to spend a week with the family!"

    I can not fault the accommodation, i can see some previous reviews seem quite shallow and pedantic, i have nothing but super memories and we are seriously thinking about rebooking for next year! It was beautifully quiet, with some lovely views from the bench overlooking south sands, and within a stones throw of overbecks gorgeous gardens and coastal scenery. The bottle of wine awaiting us as we walked in was a welcome surprise! Make it a nice single malt next time!! ●giggles● Thank you coast and country, and thank you to the owners for letting us share the enjoyment of Salcombe from the comfort of a home away from home.

    Reviewed by NoelJul 2019

  • "We were very pleased with the contact we had with your offices both when we booked and when we were on our holiday."

    Everyone we spoke to was very helpful. Thank you.

    Reviewed by RichardJun 2019

  • "At £100 a night in March, more during school holidays, this expensive modern apartment should have 100% cotton bed linen like the South Sands Hotel."

    We had to bring our own bed linen which is a pain tbh. The apartment provided lovely large shower towels with smaller hand towels so surely 100% cotton bed linen isn't a big ask? The front bedroom appears only ventilated by the sliding glass doors but I couldn't see any way to secure the glass doors so there is no security if you need them open, particularly at night time. This is not a safe apartment unless you keep these doors shut but how is this possible during the warmer months of the year? I couldn't find an instruction manual for the heating system and it switched itself off randomly and I didn't want to fiddle around with it during a four night stay. Sykes Cottages should provide this manual, there are very clear instructions about how to deal with any rubbish.

    Thank you for your feedback. 19 Bolt Head is the least expensive of our properties on this development . We are sorry you had to bring your own linen but we cannot guarantee the linen provided by our owners will be 100% cotton. We are grateful for the comment in respect of glass door. The owner is looking into installing a safety chain, enabling the door to be securely open to vent the bedroom. The manual for the heating was in the property in the white chest of drawers, we will now put this in a more prominent position for future guests. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. We do hope that you had an enjoyable holiday in Salcombe and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CharlieMar 2019

  • "This is a clean, well-presented, fairly modern apartment, conveniently located very close to South Sands beach and the National Trust property, Overbeck's."

    However, we were disappointed that there was no local-food and milk welcome pack when we arrived, as we have become used to this nice touch at other holiday properties. Also, neither of the bathroom extractor fans were working; although we eventually traced the problem to both the isolator switches (located high-up on the walls outside each bathroom) being set in the "off" position. The ground floor master bedroom also felt slightly damp throughout our stay, despite opening the windows regularly. The road to the property is incredibly narrow and steep; meeting cars coming the other way was like playing Russian roulette and not recommended for a nervous driver! The first floor, containing the lounge, kitchen and dining area, is within the roof section, so was always very hot and more difficult to ventilate with the Velux windows.

    Mr Tim MeadowsAug 2018

  • "The standard and location of this property was perfect for us."

    ..

    Mrs SpeedAug 2018

  • "Excellent location appropriately furnished, however I consider it generally over priced."

    Jul 2018

  • "Excellent"

    JAug 2016

  • "Excellent location, parking and facilities."

    Highly recommend.

    Aug 2016

  • "Apartment light, spacious, extremely clean, as expected."

    Jun 2016

  • "Good"

    Aug 2015

  • "Impressed that apartment seemed to have been newly decorated throughout."

    May 2015

  • "Beautiful flat, well equipped, great location."

    Aug 2014

  • "The apartment is very comfortable for our needs."

    I meant to leave feedback that the hook on the bathroom door had fallen off and the outside light hasn't got a bulb. As ever, it would be good if there was some wi-fi!

    Jul 2014

  • "Location excellent."

    Was everything we needed. Very light, comfortable apartment.

    Jul 2014

  • "Not visiting until Sept"

    Apr 2014

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

The property

Situated in an elevated position above the beautiful sandy beach of South Sands, 19 Bolt head is a reverse level property on two levels.

The entrance leads from the external spiral stairs directly into the open plan living area.

The lounge area has two comfortable sofas, coffee table and other occasional furniture.

The kitchen is light and sunny with a range of units, appliances and a large circular dining table with four chairs.

Two bedrooms, both with en suite facilities.

The front bedroom has a King-size bed that can be split into two 2'6" single beds (this must be requested at time of booking) fitted wardrobes and French doors.

The en suite bathroom comprises of a bath, shower cubicle, wash hand basin and w.c.

The second bedroom at the rear offers views across the estuary towards East Portlemouth, and also has a King-size bed, fitted wardrobes and an en suite with shower cubicle, wash hand basin and w.c.

(This bathroom also has a door out in to the corridor between the bedrooms).

Two small open terrace areas, one at first floor entrance level (with table and two chairs) and the other at ground floor level (accessed from front bedroom) with garden sofa and table, plus allocated parking for one car.

This apartment is in an ideal location for enjoying the beach at South Sands, or to catch the passenger ferry across to the harbour town of Salcombe.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 2 x King-size with en suites (one can be split into twin beds on request)
  • Open plan sitting/kitchen/dining room
  • First floor terrace with table and chairs
  • Ground floor terrace with garden sofa.
  • 4-ring gas hob, double electric oven, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge and microwave
  • TV with DVD player and Chromecast. Master bedroom: TV with DVD player for watching DVDs only
  • Allocated parking space for one large car, please note that the main allocated car park has a 1.9m height restriction
  • All duvets, pillows, bed linen and towels provided - guests will need to bring their own beach towels.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

The front bedroom has a King-size bed that can be split into two 2'6" single beds. This must be requested at time of booking.

Please note that the main allocated car park has a 1.9m height restriction.

No pets allowed.

“Please be aware, due to the nature of the town, several of our properties are situated up hills. Please contact our reservations team if you would like more information about the location of this property.”

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it