In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 24 View Image Gallery
  • Needles Cottage - Isle of Wight & Hampshire - 942245 - photo 1
  • Needles Cottage - (Ref. 942245)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.





Needles Cottage

(Ref. 942245)

Totland Bay near Totland, Isle of Wight Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (21)
  • views (17)
  • clean (14)
  • our (13)
  • out (12)
  • lovely (12)

34 Customer Reviews

  • "Immaculately clean and tidy."

    Warm throughout even though weather outside was dreadful. Very comfortable beds, excellent en-suite facilities. Wonderful views from the kitchen and especially from the living room. Superbly appointed - everything and more that we could need. Tasty cake and coffee pods waiting for us! Can't wait to return.

    Thank you for your very positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our cottage. We have recently taken on a new cleaner and it is clear, from your kind feedback, that this is working well. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ken5.0Oct 2023

  • "After having called you several times prior to paying for our holiday about previous cleaning issues mentioned and being assured all would be fine we were extremely unhappy to find the cottage disgusting."

    Cobwebs everywhere, the ceiling had to be swept off, windows, that also had cobwebs all over them. My husband and myself both in our 70s and Tony with asthma then spent 14 hours between us cleaning it to make it habitable. The dust on all skirtings and boarded doors thick, Bathrooms with previous guests hairs in, drawers with muck in. We could not do anything about the windows but sweep them off inside, the lawn to our garden had not seen a mower in many months and the cooker….a professional cleaner would be required to get it usable. So in all we will not be using Sykes again, I feel you have let us down. NEVER before we we arrived to give our home for the next 3 weeks a blitz. Even the hoover was throwing out more rubbish than it was picking up. The iron was broken, difficult when you are holidaying for 3 weeks. Junk left in and on wardrobe in back bedroom. I am sure you don’t want me to go on but I could easily.

    Reviewed by Wendy1.6Sep 2023

  • "Beautiful, comfortable cottage with the most stunning view of The Needles & wildlife bunnies, kestrel, partridges & even spotted Basil the local fox!"

    ! Would love to return & definitely recommend!!

    Thank you for your positive feedback.We are delighted that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the amazing local wildlife and the iconic views. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louisa5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in a great location - it must be the best view on the island."

    The cottage was comfortable and very well equipped with good parking. Thank you for a lovely holiday - we had a great time.

    We are delighted that you had a lovely holiday. Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debbie4.7Jun 2023

  • "Booked cottage as it had a 5 ticks / stars which according to Sykes Cottages web site is ' Exceptional standard with a degree of luxury."

    ' The place was dirty and grimy . Cobwebs everywhere, debris in the fridge and microwave and most services was a thick layer of dust especially on the inner widow frames But worse was the bathroom with shower attachment hanging off and grim and dirt in the shower area and behind the toilet seat ........not pleasant to see If this is Sykes Cottages idea of 'Exceptional standard with a degree of luxury' I hate to think what a 2-3 tick accomodation is like I would never book though this company again as they cannot be trusted with their rating of a property

    We are disappointed to receive this feedback. The cleaner's contact details are left in the cottage with a note to contact should there be any issues with the cleaning. Had you contacted them the issues that you cite here would have been put right for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roy2.2Jun 2023

  • "This has to be one of the best views, from the cottage, on the Isle of Wight."

    The cottage is very comfortable & well equipped . It was lovely to sit outside & enjoy the view, food & nature . We will be definitely be coming back .

    Thank you for taking the time to review Needles Cottage. We are truly delighted that you have had a good time and look forward to seeing you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Jun 2023

  • "Amazing views."

    Wonderful to sit with a glass of wine and book, looking out at the sunset. Lots of homely touches which were useful- games, cookbooks, blankets etc. Good pub nearby and others at the end of costal walks. On the negative side, I'm sorry but I must repeat other reviews that the cleaning was not up to scratch. I see a previous comment from the owner re periodic deep cleans, but it is more that all surfaces need a weekly dust and wipe. Other Sykes 5 star places have had a higher standard of furniture and fitting.

    Reviewed by Karen3.1Mar 2023

  • "Absolutely filthy."

    Even came back to clean and still dirty. Needs a deep clean. Dirty showers & sink TV stopped working, Fridge wobbly. Underfloor heating in Kitchen never worked. Went in March and were freezing cold. Heating everywhere inadequate, doesn't heat the room. Water leaks in window in porch.

    We are disappointed to receive this feedback. To describe the cottage as 'absolutely filthy' is nether fair nor accurate. As you said, the cleaners willingly returned to address your concerns regarding the cleaning and would have resolved any cleaning issues pointed out to them. The TV connection to the satellite dish was damaged whilst you were staying due to the high winds. It could have been repaired next day had you allowed access to the repair company, it was repaired during the changeover day ready for the next guests. The heating system was professionally installed in 2017 to meet the heating needs according to the room sizes. You chose not to make use of the wood-burner which makes the cottage lovely and cosy when used. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pamela1.9Mar 2023

  • "We all enjoyed our stay at the Needles."

    The only thing I would change would be the TV access due to lack of signal. We got Netflix and the BBC iPlayer but an easier TV would be good.

    We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. We are sorry that you had difficulty with the TV signal. We have checked the TV signal and can confirm that it works perfectly well via the Freesat Box with all of the usual channels available. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin4.7Oct 2022

  • "We loved the property, especially the location; those views of the Needles are amazing."

    The kitchen and equipment levels were good. We really enjoyed our stay. Only slight criticism would be that it could have had a deeper clean around the edges of rooms and in the nooks and crannies. But we definitely thinking of booking it again, such a peaceful spot with breathtaking views and sunsets.

    We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would love for you to revisit . We have taken note of the feedback on the cleanliness and have revised cleaning protocols in place including more regular deep cleans to get into those nooks and crannies, the next deep clean will be in February 2023. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andy4.7Sep 2022

  • "There is significant building work in the property next door with drilling, banging and other intrusive noises, which made it difficult to sit in peace and quiet outside."

    There is a significant amount of dust under the furniture and cobwebs indoors. Having been told to vacate by 9, there is more than enough time for a decent clean before the next guest arrives at 4pm. Inside the drawers of the twin room chest if drawers there are bolts poking through which ripped a jumper. There is a tear on one of the sofa seats - it looks old and should have been replaced. Lovely location but just spoiled by the above. We should have been told about the builders in advance- the building work has been ongoing for some time. We would love to come back but wouldn’t unless these issues had been corrected.

    Thank you for your feedback. we are sorry that you were disturbed by the building noise from next door, this building work has finished. We have rectified the issue with the drawers and also now have a lovely new leather sofa.. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane3.1Sep 2022

  • "We had a lovely week’s stay at Needles Cottage & hope to return in the future."

    However, we were really disappointed on arriving to discover that the cottage needed a thorough clean & headed straight out to buy j cloths & a bottle of bleach. I understood from previous reviews that cleanliness had been an issue in the past but naively assumed this must have been resolved! There were crumbs on the kitchen worktop, salt on the dining table & the toilets & showers needed a clean. Other than spending the first hour of our holiday cleaning we had a lovely time with amazing views & walks from the door!

    We are delighted that you have a lovely time. Thank you for your feedback regarding the cleaning, we now have revised cleaning protocols in place including more regular deep cleans. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew3.1Jul 2022

  • "The cottage is a beautiful, very well equipped property in a fantastic location."

    The view from the cottage is incredible. The owner was very easy to communicate with and quickly sorted out a problem with the WIFI. We loved our stay and would definitely love another holiday here.

    Reviewed by Michelle4.7Jul 2022

  • "Idyllic position with lovely views."

    A stylish and well equipped cottage. Good parking, quiet, and well located for walks. Comfy king sized bed. Nice power showers. However, improvements in the cleaning regime are needed.

    Thank you for your feedback, we have taken account of the reviews regarding cleaning and have improved the cleaning regime - including more regular deep cleans. Property Owner

    Reviewed by and Mrs3.4May 2022

  • "Well located in a quiet plot away from any main roads, lots of parking, and with great views across the see to the The Needles."

    The Needles Attraction Centre is close by and some noise can be heard from it when it is open. Pro's:- Location, Views, Parking, Spacious, Well equipped kitchen, great walks from the doorstep Con's:- Needed a better clean with obvious dust and cobwebs noted, the electric heating was confusing and we never really got it going when it was needed, Builders waste materials just plonked on the terrace at No 4 next t us, The builders for No.4 turning up one morning when we were sat out having breakfast in the sun and with no warning. To be fair the builders, although were making a fair bit of noise and had a radio on, did ask when we were going out and waited to work on the property after we had gone (others have mentioned that there is ongoing building work but we were not made aware of this or was it reflected in the price). The warning siren blasting all night from the lighthouse when it was foggy was not fun and again not mentioned as a possibility. Overall the rating was held up by the views from the property and it's location and if more effort went into some of the cons would rate higher .

    Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are sorry that you were disturbed by the building work next door, this was beyond our control , however, this is now complete. We have updated the heating settings so that the heating is now completely automated and, hopefully, now much more straightforward. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil3.4Apr 2022

  • "Great location with lovely views."

    Cottage well equipped, but chilly for a February stay with little space to dry jackets etc. It was great to see the badgers, however my husband spent the next morning in the wind and rain collecting all the rubbish (including nappies) they had rifled through that was left out in a black sack by No 2 Cottage on their departure. Not something you expect to be doing on a holiday. Also the builders at No.4 were ripping plaster off at 8.15am so the stay was not as relaxing as we'd hoped.

    We are pleased that you were able to see some of the amazing local wildlife. Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that rubbish left out by one of the neighbours proved problematic. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Zoe3.1Feb 2022

  • "Location, location, location."

    A really lovely spot if you like peace and quiet and the views are simply amazing. There are a lot of places to visit on the island and lots of good eateries - whether you want to eat out or take things back to cook yourself. There are lots of good walks too. I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Oct 2021

  • "The house and location was absolutely lovely, we will be back!"

    Reviewed by Megan5.0Aug 2021

  • "We had a super week in this excellent cottage."

    First and foremost is its location: not only is it a ten minute walk down to Alum Bay; not only does it have amazing views of the Needles, but you can walk in several directions directly from the door. I would recommend the stroll up Headon Heath behind the cottage for the sunsets and, if you feel up to it, along the ridge to the coastguard house or to the Tennyson Monument. We also loved the wildlife nearby, watching young foxes in their vain attempts to chase magpies and large rabbits unconcerned by them too. Skylarks and kittiwakes were plentiful also. In the cottage was everything we needed and we were grateful for the welcome pack of milk, wine etc. Super showers, efficient dishwasher … and many more features made our stay comfortable and pleasant. Yes, it could have done with more thorough cleaning in places and the lack of recycling collection was a pity, but these were minor quibbles in an otherwise wonderful cottage.

    Reviewed by Ron4.7Jun 2021

  • "We have stayed here before so knew mostly what to expect."

    A few issues. We couldn't work the TV out at all. People next door came in and helped us otherwise we would have been instructions available. We couldn't work out the heating. It was a bit cold at times and without instructions we were shower mat but I took the one I bought the last time we stayed. Those flimsy perspex chairs are a mistake. Cheap and uncomfortable. Gadgets in kitchen unnecessary. One was some sort of coffee machine and the other a radio thingy. No re cycling facility. We brought ours home. But everything else fine.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0May 2021

  • "A very pleasant spot."

    The accommodation was was very comfortable. The log fire was an added bonus on the chilly evenings. Excellent views of the Needles. A must do is a walk behind the cottage up the hill especially around sunset. The cottage is well placed for visiting other places of interest on the Island. A lovely peaceful setting.

    Reviewed by Adrian4.7Apr 2021

  • "Just had the cosiest week in Needles Cottage."

    We were slightly worried after booking as there are some earlier reviews questioning the cleanliness - please note these are from a while ago. I think they said there is a new management company (and has been for some time) and the cottage was absolutely spotless, so we needn't have worried - it felt very safe in these covid times. The property has amazing views over the Needles and we enjoyed every meal sitting in the lovely window seat. It's close to the Needles visitor attraction but you are unable to see it directly because of the trees. The weather was very wet with gales whilst we were there and we could not have been cosier as the wind howled outside - there is lovely woodburner & cottage is warm & brilliant for lounging about. It's excellently equipped with everything we needed & there are lovely comfy beds. We did two lovely National Trust walks straight from the door & there is a good pub 20 min or so walk which we would have walked to if not so wet! Freshwater is a short drive away or a bracing walk along the coast path. We hope to return.

    Reviewed by emma5.0Oct 2020

  • "The cottage was very very clean, tidy and fully equipped, plus in a fantastic location with stunning views over the Needles rocks and lighthouse."

    We would highly recommend it for anyone wanting a peaceful rural stay on the Isle of Wight. 10 out of 10..........!

    Reviewed by Roger5.0Sep 2020

  • "The cottage was a really great place to stay for a family of four."

    The view was really impressive. Outside the cottage is the perfect place to sit and relax, read, eat, drink etc. It is a good base to explore the island. We liked Mottistone Gardens for a picnic and a walk, they have a big natural play area in the shade that occupied our children for a long time. Sandown Beach and Ryde are lovely big sandy beaches. Kids loved the pirate themed crazy golf by Ryde beach. Freshwater is a nice pebble beach for evening walks and watching the sunset (there is a bar too - The waterfront). The accommodation is decorated and maintained to a high standard but the basins in the bathrooms need replacing, one is missing it’s door and is water damaged. The sinks are too small. The kitchen is well equipped (useful as eating out isn’t as desirable at the moment). Sinks aside, the cottage is lovely. We normally go to Cornwall but the Isle of Wight is a much easier journey from the West Midlands and is a really beautiful place. I can imagine we will return at some point.

    Reviewed by Vicky5.0Jul 2020

  • "I started our holiday by having to clean the huge amount of dust from the skirting boards , light and socket switches , this to prevent my allergy from being started."

    The cottage cleaner really does need telling as under the beds etc has not been cleaned for months. The vacuum cleaner had a packed dustbag which we changed as the floors needed attention too. The front bedroom bathroom sink smelt awful , an obvious blockage which was reported to the owner, but he stated they were going to change the sinks in the winter. So hard luck for the current occupant then who had to put up with the ghastly smell all the holiday. The twin bedded room has a musty smell which is because of the lack of air in there. I would expect Sykes management to have a word as this lets the company down badly. But as usual nothing will be done , as I notice from previous reviews the Dust has been mentioned before. Other than that, the cottage is ideal, great views and so peaceful.

    Reviewed by Christine2.2Nov 2019

  • "The cottage facilities had just about everything."

    I suppose, to be really picky, a hot water bottle might be a welcome addition for some. However, our biggest gripe (and the reason for not rating the facilities as perfect) is the very small basins in both en-suites. They are so small as to be of very little use. It is virtually impossible to use them without slopping water over the edge - witness the water damage to the cabinets below. It would obviously be difficult to install a larger basin in one of the en-suites because the area is just too small. However, the en-suite to the front bedroom could easily accommodate a larger basin. Having said all that, the inconvenience was not great because of the excellent shower cabinets and the wonderful supply of hot water. Finally, the view from the front of the cottage was just about the best we have ever enjoyed in a self-catering rental.

    Reviewed by Anthony4.4Aug 2019

  • "Although the property was generally clean, it was quite dusty in places."

    It would benefit from a thorough clean. However, overall it was a lovely cottage.

    Reviewed by David4.4Aug 2019

  • "Having read previous reviews on the cleanliness of the property , I will be honest, I was a little apprehensive about our holiday."

    Wow! What can I say. The property was clean, comfortable and as described on the website. The views........they took our breath way. A true hidden gem.

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0Aug 2019

  • "We very much enjoyed this beautiful cottage in the best location I have ever seen ."

    We would definitely book this cottage again . However I was not impressed with the cleaning and maintenance of the place. Quite a few issues to address with this , basic clean only and all the soft furnishings , cushions , throws etc were not clean and either need a deep clean or throwing out and fresh things bought . We felt this let the place down a little . Maintenance team need to address both toilets and also buy some new accessories for the bathrooms .. Most things about this cottage exceeeded our expectations , a five minute leafy stroll down to the beach and local Cliff top walks . Could not have been in a better location , the views outside the cottage was breathtaking . Little or no Wi-fi reception which was a real plus for us , a completely remote place and the beauty of nature at its finest . Our children did not want to come home . Would and have highly recommended the property to friends .

    Reviewed by Charlotte4.4May 2019

  • "This is the first time we have used sykes cottages and have been impressed with the experience."

    We had a good range of options and the website was very easy to use. We were kept informed of all progress and will certainly use Sykes again.

    Reviewed by Shirley4.7Feb 2019

  • "The venue was fantastic overlooking the Needle’s and very comfortable."

    Unfortunately when we arrived it was far from clean thick layer of dust everywhere cobwebs at the windows and cleaning material left on lounge table. Have used Sykes meny times so I know this is not how there properties are normally presented. I would still use Sykes cottages.

    Reviewed by Richard3.8Dec 2018

  • "One of the best holiday cottages we have ever rented."

    The view was just amazing. In the evening we had Alum Bay and surroundings on our own. The cottage was clean and well equipped. We want to come back one day.

    Reviewed by Daniela4.4Aug 2018

  • "Generally nice cottage."

    Probably the best view on the Island. Would have been nice to have had a toilet roll in each toilet when we arrived, and a slightly better welcome pack on arrival. The sinks in the ensuite are far to small. you could definitely get a larger one in the double bedroom. My husband struggled to shave, and clean our teeth. The key safe needs changing, we struggled to get in or out. It would have been nice to have some garden chairs to sit on at the front, the wonky picnic bench was ok but not comfortable.. directions for using the hob were not to clear, took a while to manage to use.

    Reviewed by Lynda3.8Jul 2018

  • "The views from the cottage were amazing and the interior was beautiful."

    Reviewed by Joanne4.8Aug 2017

Show more Hide all


  • All ground floor with two bedrooms and two bathrooms
  • 1 x king-size double with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • 1 x twin (zip/link, can be super king-size double on request) with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • Electric central heating with woodburner and underfloor heating in the kitchen
  • Kitchen has Electric oven and hob, combi microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburner inc. in rent
  • Sitting room with dining area and woodburner
  • 32 inch Smart TV with FreeSat, Blu-ray and WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Ample off road parking in private car park roughly 100 metres away
  • Guests can load and offload luggage on grass by cottage
  • Enclosed rear patio with furniture and a large garden to the front with picnic table and patio seating with extensive views of The Needles
  • The Needles landmark has miniature golf, a sweet manufactory and childrens rides
  • 10 min walk to beach or via a chairlift
  • The property also backs on to The Warren, a National Trust site, with Tennyson Down only 2.5 miles away
  • The property is also at the start of The Needles to Yarmouth Castle walk
  • Osbourne House and Carisbrooke Castle are within easy reach
  • Fishing and kayak hire are available at Freshwater Bay 20 minutes away, with sailing available at Yarmouth
  • Tatnell's Park water park is approx 20 minutes away
  • Please note that the above attractions may be seasonal
  • Family friendly property but golf/ hiking/cycling/walking guests are also all welcome
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1 mile
  • Note: Check-in 4pm
  • Please note there are 8 to 10 steps at front to access property with a hand rail to one side
  • No disabled access

The property

A character well-presented, recently modernised coastal cottage in overlooking The Needles and Alum Bay the location of Totland Bay near Totland on the Isle of Wight, within a 15 minute drive from Yarmouth Ferry.

Situated on the private, Headon Hall estate, within easy access to the beaches and with fantastic stunning sea and surrounding views, making this a wonderful place for a family beach seaside getaway. All accommodation is on the ground floor.

On entry to the property you will notice the original character features of the high ceilings and the feature fireplace.

There is a well-equipped fitted kitchen with everything needed to prepare some lovely home-cooked meals.

This then leads into the spacious sitting room with plenty of comfy seating in front of a welcoming woodburner together with FreeSat TV and Blu-ray player. There is a dining table and chairs which are set in the bay window with beautiful far-reaching coastal views of The Needles.

There are two en-suite bedrooms, one with a king size bed, the other can be either twin or super king-size with each having its own bathroom, giving extra flexibility.To the outside is a good-sized patio garden to the front with a fully enclosed rear patio, together with access to private communal grounds which is fully enclosed giving a good place for the kids to explore and let off some steam.

There is some garden furniture and a picnic bench to relax with a glass of something chilled whilst enjoying the views.

Within a short walk are the beaches to enjoy with plenty of attractions including boat charters, kayaking, sailing, sea fishing and scuba diving to name a few, as well as stunning walks, cycling and golf.

Freshwater is not too far away, with many local shops, restaurants and cafés to explore.

Further inland, there is horse riding, golf, stunning walks on adjacent National Trust land and mountain biking, making sure there is something for everyone.

A lovely cottage, in a wonderfully convenient coastal location that can be enjoyed all year round

View on map

About the location


Freshwater 1 mile; Yarmouth 3 miles.

The village of Totland rests in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty on the west side of the Isle of Wight's beautiful coast, offering visitors local shops and pubs and spectacular unspoilt coastal scenery. The award-winning beaches of both Totland and Colwell Bay offer a range of activities, whilst a pretty footpath will take you to Freshwater in ten minutes where you will find its golf course and public swimming pool. It is also an excellent starting point for walks along the Tennyson Trail. Take a chair lift from Alum Bay and enjoy some of the wonderful views across the sand cliffs to the famous 'Needles' chalk stacks and lighthouse beyond, or explore the quaint narrow streets, ancient castle and busy harbour at Yarmouth. A great destination with plenty to see and do!

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter