In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 34 View Image Gallery
  • Anchors Away - Dorset - 1096129 - photo 1

Anchors Away

(Ref. 1096129)

Weymouth, Dorset Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (13)
  • house (12)
  • holiday (12)
  • beach (9)
  • well (9)
  • home (8)

25 Customer Reviews

  • "A lovely holiday home."

    Conveniently situated. Lots to do in and around Weymouth. Would highly recommend. Stayed there three times.

    Reviewed by Mandy5.0Jun 2024

  • "We had a lovely stay at Anchors Away."

    The house is very nicely decorated and well equipped with everything that you would need for a family holiday. Very well placed too, just a short walk to the Main Street and beach

    Reviewed by Mije4.1Apr 2024

  • "This holiday accommodation is well equiped and comfortable and is ideally situated for access to the beach and town."

    It is also in a quiet residential setting. The listing does not mention the tv in the master bedroom but it did not work anyway as the airial connection is poor.The fridge door shelves are broken and the carbon monoxide alarm was faulty.All items were reported to the agent and the alarm was replaced within hours. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we would recommend the property.

    Reviewed by John4.4Dec 2023

  • "It would have been nice to have 2 front door keys and also, although this may be difficult, the freezer needed defrosting."

    It was difficult to open the draws but I do appreciate that is a difficult job when you have continual bookings. Apart from just a couple of small gripes we really had a lovely holiday in your beautiful house. Home from home and a lovely little garden to enjoy in the evening and also hang the washing. Being able to park 2 cars was an added bonus. Loved all your wall hangings. V nicely furnished.

    Reviewed by Pam4.1Aug 2023

  • "The property is lovely home from home it was just the fridge was filthy and had to be stripped out and washed and there was stains on the cupboards which was a bit off putting but once we’d sorted that out we soon settled in."

    Saying that we would definitely go back and recommend to friends and family. The quality of the furniture and fitting provision of utensils was brilliant. We didn’t leave a comment as our grandson said it all in his comment sorry he took the whole page!

    Reviewed by Cheryl4.4Aug 2023

  • "Great holiday house!"

    I am glad you had a wonderful time! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Leanne5.0Jul 2023

  • "From the moment we arrived at Anchors Away, we were delighted with the accommodation."

    Set in a quiet location, with its own private parking, a short 10 minute walk from town, the house is perfect for visitors to use as a base. The house is three stories with the main bedroom and ensuite on the top floor. Two twin bedrooms and main bathroom are on the middle floor, and the lounge, kitchen, dining room and downstairs loo are located on the ground floor. There is even a courtyard garden laid out with a garden table and chairs. We really enjoyed staying in this very clean and beautifully presented house. If we return to Weymouth we will certainly try to get this house, and would recommend it to others.

    What a lovely response. So glad you enjoyed your stay. It warms our hearts knowing others enjoy it as much as us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roy5.0Jul 2023

  • "Anchors away was a perfect holiday home to stay in, easy reach for the town and beach."

    Perfect for a dog to stay, really really enjoyed staying there.

    Reviewed by Bridget4.7Jul 2023

  • "Loved our stay , and will book again."

    Clean, modern with good facilities

    Reviewed by Steve4.7Jun 2023

  • "We had a fabulous holiday in this beautiful well kept house,it housed everything you needed."

    It was situated near shops beach only a short walk. Would certainly recommend this house and sykescottages.

    Reviewed by Kathleen5.0Jun 2023

  • "Comfortable beds Needs bathrooms updating newer showers If your tall you’ll ..."

    Comfortable beds Needs bathrooms updating newer showers If your tall you’ll bang your head in the roof in the en-suite Both doors into en-suite and down stairs toilet a pain Could do with redecorating Thank you

    Reviewed by Simon3.4May 2023

  • "Very convenient central and quiet location."

    Well appointed clean and comfortable accommodation. The kitchen was well equipped. If using the second floor bedroom, please be aware that the plumbing of the tap in the washbasin is incorrect, lovely hot water being available when the tap is set at 'C' and cold water when the tap is set to 'H'. More hooks and/or rings to accommodate towels in that bathroom would be of benefit.

    Thank you for the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our home and its lovely surroundings. We will take your feedback on board and will get it sorted when we are next at the property. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan4.7May 2023

  • "Great location for all local amenities."

    Well equipped house but unfortunately the property was extremely dirty and dusty on our arrival. Dirty towels and dog faeces had also been left at the property. We contacted Dream Cottages over the weekend but received a reply from Sykes Cottages asking if we would like a cleaner sent in. Not sure who the owner is. Sykes also said as we had been given the keys early the supervisor had not had a chance to check the cleanliness but no supervisor arrived to check in the time frame up to our hand over time. Given we were on holiday with a party member with a dust mite allergy we had to undertake the cleaning immediately to ensure their safety. We therefore declined the cleaner a couple of days later. This level of cleanliness did not instill any confidence with regards to thorough covid cleaning. Would not stay here again. Spoilt our arrival having to do a couple of hours cleaning. Disappointing but the area was lovely.

    I am the owner of the property and we use Dream cottages to manage it for us. Dreams are part of the Skyes Cottages group. I am very sorry you feel this way and i have chased up Dreams about this. Because you let yourself in 3hrs before check in the checks had not been completed by the cleaning manager. We came ourselves the following week and everything was fine. If you ever find something you are unhappy with please check immediately with Dreams so it can be rectified immediately. We appreciate the feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Terasa3.1Apr 2023

  • "Excellent property."

    Very clean, tidy, well presented and well equipped. All very comfortable. Great position to access town & beach only shirt walk. Good parking, could benefit from number re painting as a little hard to see.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Mar 2023

  • "Only a couple of things but they weren't an issue just feedback."

    Radiator in en-suite bathroom wouldn't come on. Light on front of the property did not work. The property was lovely and comfortable, a great size for us and a lovely garden out back for our dog. Kitchen so we'll equipped and great to be able to sit round the table together. We took games but didn't need too as there was a whole chest full. We also found a box of DVD's which was great. The location is brilliant everything you need in walking distance. Really smashing break and a great property, wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

    What a wonderful response thank you. I will talk to the Dreams team about getting those issues fixed. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards Jolene Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Jan 2023

  • "Lovely holiday home"

    Reviewed by Mandy5.0Sep 2022

  • "Excellent accommodation"

    I'm glad you enjoyed it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Scott5.0Sep 2022

  • "The house was in a prime location ."

    The house was spotless, beds comfy Well equiped kitchen We had a fantastic time with family at your propety and will book it again

    I am so glad your enjoyed yourself.This is our first year as owners and we want it to be perfect for everyone. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jul 2022

  • "A lovely example of a holiday let."

    Comfy beds and plenty of kitchenware. The information pack provided by the owners was extensive and very helpful and no long list of do''s and don'ts that we often see ( which can be quite intimidating). The house was a short walk to the town and beach so, no parking charges. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Glad you had a fab time! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.4Jul 2022

  • "All comforts of home and more."

    Position to beach and entertainment excellent. Description of property really good. Just one thing missing is the fact it was on an estate. But our holiday was a great success and we would choose that house again. There was always a car parked outside the property so the only space available was the numbered one at the side. Found 2 chipped glasses at back of cupboard and we replaced a colander as handle broke off as we touched it! Thank you for letting us use your home.

    Hi, Thank you so much for your great feedback. I'm glad you had a great time. Our numbered space is the official space but should you go again you can also park a second car on the gravel next to the numbered space as that is also our land. Many thanks for choosing our home. We look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marion5.0May 2022

  • "We chose this house as the position is excellent for the seafront and town."

    The kitchen is very well equipped and the beds really comfortable. Just two things that bothered us. The main bedroom has fancy white slated blinds which do not cut out light so from sunrise (which was 4am when we were there) you are in complete daylight - take an eye mask if you're planning to sleep in there! There is no where to put your towels apart from one hand towel in each bathroom except to hang them over the bannisters to dry. Otherwise a really lovely property.

    Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your comments on board and will take a look when we are next there ourselves. There is a clothes airer in the cupboard see the stairs should you need extra drying space. Eye masks are a great idea. We shall leave some when we next go for guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane4.7May 2022

  • "A really lovely comfortable holiday home."

    Couldn’t fault a thing and a great location. We all thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Weymouth and would go again

    Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed it so much and we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards Jolene (owner) Property Owner

    Reviewed by M5.0May 2022

  • "A lovely house, well equipped, position perfect for reaching the beach & town, a credit to the owners."

    Hi, Thank you so much for that feedback. We are glad you had a great time. This is our first time with a holiday home and we want it to be great for everyone. We home to welcome you back soon . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Apr 2022

  • "Lovely stay, great location with an easy walk to the beach."

    Everything we needed. Thought of everything within the kitchen and games, books and DVDs for the kids. Very comfortable stay. Master bedroom bed was so comfortable. It was like a home from home. Not mentioned in the details but a little playground seconds away was perfect for my youngest. Would book again

    Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you had a lovely time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Apr 2022

  • "All good, just one thing door locks front and back need to maybe be have some wd40 oil sprayed on them as we found them stiff to lock and unlock."

    And possibly a shower screen for the first floor bathroom. Also, there was no mention of there being a downstairs toilet, but there was one this nearly put us of going to house as my wife has a broken foot. Thanks.

    Thank you so much for you feedback. . I am glad you enjoyed it. This is our first time renting a holiday let so appreciate your comments and the locks have already been oiled since your visit. We would like it to be perfect for everyone. We hope to welcome youback soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Doug4.1Mar 2022

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Dream Cottages collection.
Over 350 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Over three floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x second-floor king size bed with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 2 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, handheld shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room
  • Central heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed rear patio garden
  • One well-behaved pet welcome, charge of £21 per pet per week
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.1 mile, pub 0.3 miles, beach 0.8 miles.

The property

Settled within a desirable residential area of Weymouth, a stone's throw away from the glistening waters of the bay, rests this spectacular three-storey holiday cottage, Anchors Away.

Boasting a spacious and contemporary interior whilst enjoying close proximity to a wealth of must-visit sights and attractions, there’s no better place to enjoy a break to Dorset than with a stay at Anchors Away.

Be charmed by the bright and airy décor as you step inside your new home-from-home, dusting off your sandy toes in the handy hallway space before making your way through to the sitting room to unwind following a day of adventure with a moment of peace in front of the television.

Moving through the property, the contemporary kitchen/diner is well-designed with gleaming white fixtures and is equipped with a fabulous range of amenities to help prepare delicious dishes to be enjoyed with your loved ones at the nearby dining table.

The enclosed patio settled at the rear of the property provides a handy space to store bikes and beach gear for the outdoor adventurers of the group.

Climbing the stairs to the first floor you'll discover two well-presented twin bedrooms, ideal for sleepovers for the little ones, both serviced by a stylish family bathroom, where guests can choose to indulge in a blissful soak or a quick morning rinse.

The master bedroom can be found on the second floor, fit with a sumptuous king size bed and benefiting from access to it's own en-suite, so there's no time wasted queuing for the bathroom in the morning!

A short walk from your doorstep will bring you to the glorious sands of Weymouth Beach, providing an idyllic spot to soak in the sunshine with a good book in hand, feel the sand between your toes with a stroll along the coast to Bowleaze Cove, or try your hand at something new aboard a jet ski.

For those that would prefer to stay on land, there's the marine life waiting to be discovered at SEA LIFE Centre Weymouth, the quirky sand sculptures at Sandworld, and the thrilling amusement park of Alexandra Gardens.

Budding historians will delight with a tour through the Victorian labyrinth tunnels at Nothe Fort and the Iron Age hillfort of Maiden Castle, set further inland.

The spectacular cliffs of West Bay are within easy reach, famed as the backdrop behind television who-dunnit drama, Broadchurch, whilst the picture-perfect harbour provides the perfect setting to watch the world go by.

Whilst you're in the area, be sure to lace up your walking boots and embark on a two-footed adventure along the South West Coast Path, framing unspoilt coastal views like no other en-route.

Anchors Away is an excellent base from which to explore the delights of Dorset.

View on map

About the location


Dorchester 7 miles; Bridport 17 miles.

The popular resort of Weymouth makes an outstanding year-round holiday destination, with a wide variety of attractions on offer, appealing to all tastes and ages. The glorious golden sandy beaches have excellent facilities for all kinds of watersports, whilst from the picturesque, bustling harbour you can take regular fishing trips. A short drive takes you to Portland Harbour, and the rugged “Isle” of Portland, linked to Weymouth by the dramatic Chesil Beach. Visit Dorchester, Thomas Hardy’s “Casterbridge”, only 7 miles away, or take a journey along the scenic coastal road and call in at Abbotsbury Swannery and Subtropical Gardens. Alternatively, just head down to West Bay - the views of the stunning Dorset Heritage Coastline are not to be missed!

View more holiday cottages in Weymouth

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas