Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 55 View Larger Image
  • Court House Farmhouse - Dorset - 983622 - photo 1

Court House Farmhouse

Charmouth, Dorset (Ref. 983622)


Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 11

  • Bedrooms 5

  • Bathrooms 3

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

25 Customer Reviews

  • "As a three generation family holiday venue, we could not have chosen much better."

    The layout of the house suited us perfectly and the big kitchen/dining room have us lots of space at breakfast time. We were lucky to have fantastic weather so the big garden with all the tables and chairs gave us an alternative seating space for evenings. Would happily stay here again.

    Reviewed by KimAug 2022

  • "We all had a very enjoyable time at Court House Farmhouse."

    The facilities were adequate and true to their description. Beds very comfortable and so quiet at night with no traffic noise.The views were amazing and we spent every evening playing games in the garden. The hot tub was made use of and enjoyed by all. Lovely walks through the village and interesting church to look round. The dog enjoyed it too. Would recommend this property.

    Reviewed by ChristineJul 2022

  • "Had a lovely week at Court House Farmhouse, Garden was beautiful with amazing views, my grandchildren loved seeing the sheep in the next field to us."

    House was great & games barn was brilliant but both were a little tired & needed updating. Saying that would definitely stay there again in the future. My only downside was the very narrow road getting to & from the property.

    Reviewed by RaymondJun 2022

  • "I was assured the hot tub was cleaned, and it wasn't."

    It had a lot of grit in it. And the sides were very built up dirt. The fridges and freezers were off. Previous visitors underwhere behind the sofa and previous rubbish also left behind and under many of the furniture.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback, which we have discussed with the owner, who disputes that the hot tub was dirty and had grit in it upon your arrival. The hot tub is emptied and refilled between bookings. There is a pump that sucks out any bits in the bottom of the hot tub. You need to use a hot tub when you are clean as the information at the house states. If you have make up, face creams, sun cream etc, it reacts with the chemicals and then causes a build up on the sides. This is also made worse when the jets are left going after use and not turned off. When the jets are left going the hot tub pumps away to maintain its heat and the bubbles generate froth which sticks to the side of the tub. The owners daughter was due to turn the fridge and freezers on in preparation for your arrival, however as you arrived earlier than the stipulated arrival time she did not manage to do this for you. A full and thorough check is done during each and every changeover including behind and under furniture. Had you notified the owners daughter of these issues during the conversation you had with her, she would have been more than happy to attend to the points you raised. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SarahMar 2022

  • "Don't know about most."

    When I arrived I was pleasantly surprised. It felt very welcoming. Lovely kitchen. Lounge ok conservatory chairs a bit hard. Thicker cushions would be nice. But lovely little room to sit in and watch the lovely view. Bedrooms fine.and the barn was great with all its games. Lovely setting and we are likely to book in next year. So thank you for giving us a very happy stay. Bente Gregory

    Reviewed by BenteOct 2021

  • "Courthouse Farm was a lovely home from home and was a super space to meet up with the whole family and two dogs."

    It was a treat to be on the farm and seeing the cows and sheep from the windows and garden . Beautiful, breathtaking views from every window. Garden itself (conveniently for us )divided in two was fenced and safe for our dogs. Facilities were generous, peaceful and close to great places to visit. Good parking, loved the jacuzzi and games barn. Host was lovely. We had a perfect week.

    Reviewed by SallyOct 2021

  • "Teacosy would be useful."

    Cleanliness generally could be better, particularly of kitchen shelves, cupboards and bathrooms. Otherwise just as we remembered from our last visit, 3 years ago. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by NickySep 2021

  • "Nice, if basic, cottage."

    Ideal for a young family. The play barn was useful as was the hot tub. The Garden, however, is stunning and worth the price by itself.

    Reviewed by PatrickAug 2021

  • "Whilst the cottage itself was a really good size and location for our family, sadly a lot of the facilities were not up to scratch - none of us slept as the beds were really uncomfortable and 2 of the 3 showers were useless- they literally dripped so slowly it took 20 mins to wash your hair and kept running hot and cold the whole time."

    We had a power cut during our stay which was fixed within a few hours but then it left us with no hot water for the last day so couldn’t do any washing etc before we left. Lovely location and friendly hosts but the cottage and facilities really need some TLC, certainly didn’t look like it had been cleaned before we went in.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback, we have spoken with the owner regarding the issues you mention, she has confirmed that the showers were checked upon your departure and are all working fine and wonders if maybe the dials were not set at the correct setting for a faster flow of water? Following the power cut a part was required for the boiler which unfortunately did not arrive until after you left. We have arranged for a quality assurance team to visit this property to carry out their annual inspection and any upgrades will be suggested to the owner if needed then. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MelanieAug 2021

  • "Everything about the holiday was brilliant ,no problem at all ."

    Will use sykes holidays again.

    Reviewed by MargaretAug 2021

  • "The whole cottage needs refurbishing."

    The lounge furniture has seen better days, the main kitchen units some doors are loose.The main door lock does not work correctly. some of the double glazing in the sun lounge has blown and the roof is filthy (outside) There just seemed a lack of attention to detail. I have never had a request to check the bin day, and put the bins out, especially when the owner lives next door, and the list of do's and don'ts well, you have to sign a disclaimer before you use the hot tub that is a page long (what happens if you don't sign). Overall the whole place is tired, and may be just covers the basics.

    Reviewed by ChrisJun 2021

  • "The accommodation was perfect for our three generation family."

    Reviewed by JaneMay 2021

  • "Location is beautiful, the property has loads of space and great facilities."

    Really enjoyed this place

    Reviewed by JasmineMay 2021

  • "Such a lovely cottage with the added bonus of being on a farm."

    The children loved the cows on the field. Great location for the Jurassic coast. Charmouth just a short drive away. Lovely owners. We had the perfect weekend and we Definitely be back.

    Reviewed by SarahApr 2021

  • "The place where it was was beautiful, the grounds are fantastic , excellent parking , ideal !"

    The overall house is good but needs some upgrading , the front door lock is very tricky and anyone with arthritis wouldn’t be able to open it . I had great difficulties.The three beds we used were uncomfortable, but ok . The washing up bowl was dirty , old and split the sharp plastic cut my 86 year old mothers finger badly , another oldish was left by the front door but no apology from the owner just that she had forgotten about it . I also found the side of a cabinet by the bed was filthy and covered in looked like drink spilt down it . I raised the cleaning in an appropriate way , and provided a picture and no come back , the hot tub was on a large shed and the straps were broken on the lid and it looked very old , and grubby , we didn’t use it . The owners have clearly had real problems at this property from people disrespecting it . Very sadly this was evident in the rule book , “ DO NOT TRASH “ do not , do not etc followed by exclamation marks . It doesn’t feel friendly or welcoming and with the lack of care from the owners eg legitimate concerns , I would not return here . There were old balloons and sweet wrappers down the side of the sofa , my concerns are that during this time cleanliness has to be 110% . The stock of equipment was excellent, the kitchens were excellent for large parties . Double glazing is in need of some attention . If you are wanting to escape to nowhere , this is lovely but don’t behave “!!!!!! “And don’t expect excellent customer service “!!!!!!! “

    Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are glad that you found the area beautiful and overall, the house to be good. We are however, disappointed you had some issues during your stay. If you mentioned these at the time most of your issues could have been dealt with as necessary. The hot tub water is changed for each booking and the whole barn is cleaned and sanitised during every changeover. There are safety notes on the hot tub lid about conditions of use and a copy is also kept in the information folder. We have spoken to our cleaning team with regards to your comments. Once again thank you for your comments, Please be assured we take all comments very seriously and follow up where necessary. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DerekSep 2020

  • "A lovely family holiday in (Covid) safe and secure surroundings."

    Well designed house and garden with plenty of space for relaxation and for meals. The games room and hot tub where there when the beach or surrounding countryside where too much effort! Ideal for the extended family to be together after an isolated spring.

    Reviewed by RuthAug 2020

  • "The property's accommodation was as described, very well appointed and comfortable."

    The owner was lovely, turned the heating on in the morning so the property was warm upon our arrival, met us in the early evening to check there were no issues and brief us on the locality. Overall an excellent find and a lovely holiday in beautiful Dorset. I am happy for you to publish our feedback but not with my e mail attached etc.

    Reviewed by PeterFeb 2020

  • "A lovely quiet holiday rental in a beautiful, peaceful location."

    The barn with table tennis, pool, snooker and skittles was a great success, as was the hot tub, with the three generations who stayed there. The large garden would have been a bonus had the weather been better. Easy access to many of Dorset's lovely beaches. Thank you.

    Reviewed by JacquelineOct 2019

  • "An excellent property for a multi generational holiday near the coast."

    There was plenty of room and an excellent garden. The house was well equipped, lots of fridges, washing machine and tumble drier. The beaches of Charmouth, Seatown and Lyme Regis are all very close by. We also loved our trip around the farm.

    Reviewed by LeonoraAug 2019

  • "The Cottage live exactly upto expectations as shown in photo's."

    This is located on a working farm, which we invited to go around, and the whole family enjoyed it and found it really intresting. For the week we stayed the weather was good and allowed us to make the most of all the facilites provided, as well allowing the dog to safely run in the secure garden with the kids. An ideal place to have a vacation with the whole family including granparents,with plenty of room to spare.

    Reviewed by BrianAug 2019

  • "Beautiful place to stay for our weeks holiday, everything we needed and more."

    Adored seeing the cows in the field at the bottom of the garden every day and so did our border collie ! The configuration of the cottage was perfect for our large family, no one felt on top of each other. The beds were very comfy and the family said they hadn’t slept so well in ages. Everything you need is a very short drive away down scenic country roads which was great. The games room is something else ! The kids loved it and were entertained the whole time, including us adults. Would love to stay again and have more time to explore and couldn’t recommend highly enough.

    Reviewed by ClaireJul 2019

  • "Really good location close to lots of lovely seaside towns very quiet peaceful setting"

    Reviewed by LesleyJun 2019

  • "Excellent accommodation, plenty of room for all eleven of us."

    The garden benches were a great place to gather for a BBQ. The sports barn was really useful in the evening for family entertainment and competition. Good places to visit too - West Bay, Lyme Regis, Seaton Tramway.

    Reviewed by StephenMay 2019

  • "Lovely spacious accommodation in a quiet location but within reach of some lovely beaches."

    Having taken dogs it was brilliant to have a secure garden which they could go in. Sue came and welcomed us and couldn't of been more helpful we would definitely come back.

    Reviewed by RosalynApr 2019

  • "We’ve had an amazing time in Dorset our accommodation was just perfect ."

    We really didn’t want to leave

    Reviewed by PennyOct 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday


  • Five bedrooms: 1 x double with child's single and en-suite shower, basin and WC, 2 x ground floor double, 1 x twin, 1 x ground floor twin
  • Ground floor bathroom with a shower over bath, basin and WC, ground floor shower room with basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with electric fire
  • Conservatory
  • External games room.
  • Oil central heating, electric fire
  • 2 x electric oven and hob, 2 x microwave, 2 x fridge, freezer, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV with FreeSat, WiFi, table tennis, pool table, alley skittles, dart board (darts not provided)
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and cot available on request
  • Ample off-road parking.Enclosed lawn garden with furniture and BBQ
  • Hot tub in a private enclosed area within the games barn
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome, £20 per pet
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2.5 miles, pub 10 minute walk
  • Note: No stag/hen, parties or similar permitted.

The property

Court House Farmhouse has been restored to provide spacious and homely accommodation amidst the gorgeous Dorset AONB, on the edge of the picturesque village of Whitchurch Canonicorum.

Surrounded by scenery, walking and cycling opportunities, and a famous coastline with wonderful attractions at your fingertips, this is a superb place to base a fun-packed outdoor break with friends and family.

The ground floor plays host to a large kitchen/diner, equipped amply and enhanced by the facilities of an extra kitchen along the hallway, assuring ample space to prepare family meals and picnics for days out in the Dorset coast and countryside.

To relax, take yourself into the welcoming sitting room which provides a TV and an electric fire for the cooler months.

Adjacent to this, you will find a glorious conservatory uplifted by full-length windows displaying superb views of grounds of the working farm that the property sits on.

Also on this level, find three pleasant bedrooms made up of two doubles and a twin, there is also a bathroom and a shower room for your convenience.

Upstairs, find two further bedrooms, one of which benefits from an extra child's bed and handy en-suite facilities, perfect for families coming to stay.

Head outside and find the tranquil lawned garden, a spacious area hosting a BBQ A private hot tub situated next to the games barn a is the perfect way to top off your day on the beach.

On rainy days the barn (unheated) provides plenty of games and activities for all the family to take part in, including table tennis, pool, darts and skittles.

Avid walkers and cyclists will adore this Dorset AONB location, with a wealth of picturesque trails and miles of coastal path at your disposal.

The village famous for its ancient church of St. Candida and the Holy Cross is unique in being the only parish church in England to contain the remains of an ancient saint, and well worth a visit.

The famous Jurassic Coast lies within a stone's throw with many popular spots such as Charmouth, West Bay, Lyme Regis, Eype, Bridport all well worth a visit.

To explore this breath-taking location, bring your loved ones along to Court House Farmhouse.

Court House Farm

Court House Farm rests within the serenity of the Dorset AONB, just three miles from the lovely coastal town of Charmouth along the South West Coast Path. This spacious, yet inviting farmhouse will sleep up to 11 people, boasting its own private hot tub and a superb games barn which make this the perfect spot to bring your friends and family together for those special occasions. Enthusiasts of the outdoors can make this location their own, a myriad of idyllic paths and trails can be enjoyed right from the doorstep, while the renowned South West Coast Path runs close by. This stretch of picturesque coastline plays host to a range of popular spots, including Lyme Regis and Charmouth.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Lyme Regis 2.5 miles; Axminster 5.5 miles; Bridport 6.5 miles

Charmouth is an unspoilt seaside village, set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with a fantastic beach world renowned for its fossils on the famous Jurassic Coast. Explore the South West Coastal path with beautiful countryside and coastal views. Lots of great walks around Golden Cap, Langdon Hill and Stonebarrow Hill. Lyme Regis has breath taking scenery, beautiful gardens and cobb wall around the harbour. Plenty to do and see with the beach, fishing, sailing, shops, restaurants, pubs, tea rooms , museums, theatre and a fossil hunters paradise.

Region Information

Note: No stag/hen, parties or similar permitted.

Note: Changeover are available only on Friday and Monday

Note: Owner will consider more than 2 pets. Call to discuss

Note: Games barn is not heated

Please Note: New Year week special offer. 5 nights from the 29th of December till the 3rd of January, for a rent of £2,117.00 - please enquire

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas