In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 23 View Image Gallery
  • Levante - Isle of Wight & Hampshire - 961837 - photo 1
  • Levante - (Ref. 961837)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.






(Ref. 961837)

Cowes, Isle of Wight Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 7 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (12)
  • location (12)
  • all (12)
  • people (11)
  • night (11)
  • bed (11)

29 Customer Reviews

  • "Perfect location, shower in en-suite broken which was a bit of a pain, had to bend down to wash my hair!"

    Thank you so much for your feedback and I’m so very sorry the en-suite shower was broken - that is definitely a new issue and we will send the maintenance team in immediately. We hope to welcome you back in the future with a fixed en-suite shower!!! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracy3.8Jun 2024

  • "Cottage is very convenient for stay in Cowes, close to all shops/pubs/restaurant's."

    The cottage itself is starting to look a little tiered in our opinion and could do with a few things looking at, such as - 1. Sofa's could do with good clean or replacing/throws over maybe? 2. flooring in places could do with looking at. 3. Oven was filthy, which we would not use as a result (cleaning contractors should be noting this and previous occupants possibly billed for cleaning accordingly) 4. Dishwasher does not clean too well and many dirty plates found as a result 5. Still only one teaspoon lol? 6. Dirty washing left in washing machine and smelt awful (put these in black plastic bag and left in utility cupboard) 7. Shelf in kitchen loose and looks like could fall at any time 8. Damp smell on arrival, could be due to what looks like damp on wall between lounge and dining area 9. Shower temps not great 10. Bath would benefit from non slip mat 11. Bedding and linen nice and cottage on the whole very cosy. 12. Broken mirror in down stair bathroom 13. Only 1 bulb working in dining room light fitting. I hope this is taken as constructive and not meant as a moan and groan. We did enjoy our stay and feel the little details would make everyone's experience much better as as result... We found Cowes to be very friendly with many great pubs and restaurants to choose from. Maybe the owner of this property would benefit from looking at who they use for getting the property ready between lets?

    Thank you so much for your constructive feedback and I can assure you that we have addressed all of the issues you have mentioned for the upcoming 2024 season. As you can imagine, every year, we refresh and replenish the property, but after a busy summer season, if your booking falls towards the end of the season which yours sadly did, the property is about to undergo its refresh. Thank you for your booking and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul2.5Oct 2023

  • "Met by dreadful smell in en-suite shower room."

    It took 10 minutes of running shower to clear this. 4 bulbs missing from 5 bulb ceiling light. Mirror broken. Kitchen tap dripping so wasting water. Only 2 milk pans so insufficient cooking material for 7 people. Insufficient cutlery only 1 teaspoon. Living room too small a seating area for a family of 7. Property in a good area for the town which has nice restaurants and good access to the island but it needs some tlc.

    Thank you for your comments. We have replaced all of the items that have sadly been depleted over the summer season. Thank you for bringing the kitchen tap to our attention - it wasn’t turned off correctly, which was why it had been dripping. Apologies that you were greeted with an ensuite shower room smell, unfortunately when the property is empty for a few weeks, water collects in the pipes and so running the shower is the perfect way to clear it. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan2.8Oct 2023

  • "This was our first time in the IoW, so we were really looking forward to our visit."

    This being our only holiday this year. On arrival at the cottage I was surprised at the location being tucked behind two big walls. The closeness to the local vicinity granted is good, but I'm really not sure who you can market this property to?! There literally is no way of getting a decent night's sleep. Being located RIGHT next to a bus stop, taxi rank; and food store allows noise from buses right through the night, delivery vans from 5 am, people drunk waiting for taxis until at least 2/3 am. We were unable to open the windows due to this, and with the weather being stifling and no fans whatsoever, this simply was untenable. We chose the property mainly because it allowed pets, but with the hard flooring, this meant our elderly dog was slipping all over the place. There was a dirty towel, which had been left on the flat roof looking from the bedroom window, and the downstairs toilet seat STILL broken from, which looked like still hadnt been fixed noted from a review back in July!! Things simply aren't acceptable for paying guests in my opinion. Overall absolutely disastrous and have come back exhausted. What was even worse was having spoken to Sykes helpline whilst at the property, who assured me that the maintenance team would be out the next morning, failed to do anything without any communication whatsoever.

    Hi there, I’m so sorry you didn’t have an enjoyable stay. We clearly state that we are in the centre of Cowes - it’s a busy town centre, so it will be noisy. We accept pets (many places don’t) but we decided to put hard floors down so that any pet accidents could be dealt with swiftly and not affect the comfort of future guests, There will be fans throughout the property for the next season, and all of the minor issues like the toilet seat will be addressed. Thank you for your booking Property Owner

    Reviewed by Phil1.3Sep 2023

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Levante and whilst a little noisy on the Friday night/Saturday morning (early) this did not stop us enjoying ourselves (we were young ourselves once)."

    The only issue we experienced was with the parking where the allocated parking spot outside No. 32 on Cross Street was already taken by another vehicle for the duration of our stay and had to park it away from the property at a cost of £35. All in all a fabulous weekend away made by the lovely weather.

    Thank you for your feedback! The central location sadly does mean it’s noisy but glad it didn’t upset your stay. I’m so so sorry you didn’t find the car park space - it wasn’t at number 32. If you book with us again, it is Number 1 - against the house on cross street - not on the road. We really hope to welcome you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Craig3.8Sep 2023

  • "Nice place, good location."

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We hope you had a lovely holiday and hope to welcome you back to Levante in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bernadette5.0Aug 2023

  • "The listing doesn’t claim any outside space but I think making it explicit that there is none ( to hang up wet gear) would be helpful The downstairs toilet seat remains broken from last year."

    Thank you so much for your feedback - we will add the “no outside space” to the listing as a separate note. I’m sorry there has been an issue with the downstairs loo seat - we shall make sure that is fixed. We will also make a drying line in the downstairs loo for next season. Thank you for your repeat booking! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nick3.8Jul 2023

  • "The property was very clean and comfortable."

    There were little details such as cloths and dishwasher tabs when we arrived which made settling in so easy. The beds were super comfortable. Other visitors said it was damp and noisy - we didn't find this to be the case at all. It was very quiet. We are early risers so we're not disturbed by the sounds of a town centre. The location was perfect. We loved being in the centre of the town (Cowes is lush!) And found it so accessable for trips out. We did park in the main long stay car park, but that's because our cars were too big and bulky for the space. We had a lovely stay. :)

    Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you had a great stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.7Jul 2023

  • "Really lovely clean property and very homely."

    This was based in the centre of Cowes and it was hard to get any sleep because of the noise from People leaving the pubs and clubs. The noise went on til 4-5 am in the morning so hardly got any sleep. This is perfect for anyone wanting to enjoy the nightlife but not so much for a family as the noise will keep your family awake. But beds were comfy and it was a beautiful property.

    Thank you so much for your review. Sadly, our central location means that it can be noisy (which any central location would be as it’s a busy town) but we are really glad you enjoyed the property and felt at home! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Melissa4.1Apr 2023

  • "Lovely house in great location but can get very noisy being next to the taxi and bus stop."

    Car parking is around the block not outside. House is quite damp because of location. It’s does not get much sun. Good for transport links ferry/bus/taxi and close to high street.

    Thank you so much for your booking. Sadly due to its location, the parking isn’t directly outside and we are sorry our central location was noisy for you but we are glad you enjoyed the house. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amanda3.4Jan 2023

  • "We arrived at 5pm, the cottage had not been cleaned, the beds were unmade the floors dirty and the towels from the previous people were left on the floor."

    This was resolved by cleaners arriving at 6.10, but I had to leave as I am allergic to scented cleaning products, not a good start to our mini break. The dishwasher was not emptied, so it was not immediately apparent where the crockery etc was. One of our party poured a drink , and luckily we noticed before she drank from the glass the it was completely chipped on the edge. ( general housekeeping all of these things should be checked prior to new holiday makers) The cottage smells damp, the downstairs shower door trim is falling off and a brown colour. The sofas are comfortable, but stained and dirty on the arms and the coffee table has mug stains all over it, the cottage is tired and for our party didn’t feel like a pleasant place to stay. Due to its position it is very noisy at night, as there is a bus stop and taxi rank outside and what appears to be a cut through at the side of the house, so lots of noise after midnight. The front of the house looks tired and the front door and surround is dirty. For being close to shops, restaurants and in easy walking distance of the esplanade it’s is perfect.

    Thank you for your feedback - we will endeavour to make all the changes for the upcoming season. “The car park mentioned in the promotion of the property is only for 2 hours, as is the street parking up until 6pm. ( there is a long stay car park up the hill)” The information provided to you explains where our free parking is and we are sorry you didn’t find it during your stay. Thank you for your booking. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kenneth2.2Sep 2022

  • "The property if full to capacity would be way too small."

    The lights on the upper bedroom didn’t work and light pours in from the edges of a boarded up window, so if you like complete darkness at night, you won’t get it in that room. When we arrived there was a very damp smell in the property, possibly from being locked up for a while and there were spots of cobwebs around and toothpaste on the bathroom cupboard. We loved all the super soft towels, lovely white bed linen and welcome pack we received. It’s situated in a fabulous spot right in the middle of town near everything you need for your stay. We would recommend but not for 7 people.

    Thank you so much for your feedback and I apologise there was a damp smell. This isn’t usual, so it may have been due to all the rain and no heating on. In terms of cobwebs, thank you, I shall feed that back to the cleaning team and I apologise for that. I will get the cleaning team to check the lights upstairs- there are switches on the actual lights, and so if these were at the off position, they wouldn’t have turned on. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dee3.4Sep 2022

  • "Lovely cottage; clean and with all the right facilities."

    Couldnt be closer to the high street. However, the downside of this is that it is immedialtely next to the bus / taxi rank - and the noise late at night and early (witht the street cleaners) is extremely loud (especially during regatta weeks in Cowes). Be aware - take good ear plugs

    Thank you for your feedback - sadly the noise is beyond our control but as you say, you can’t be more central! Thank you for your bookings next year and we look forward to welcoming you back! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nick4.4Jul 2022

  • "We had a great stay at your home and in Cowes."

    The location is really perfect for joining a regatta (marina and shops very nearby). Levante had everything we needed, but for 7 big people it was a little small, specially 2 of the double beds. Nevertheless, we enjoyed staying en probably come back.

    We are really glad you enjoyed our central location and we hope to welcome you back soon!! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Arjen Van3.4Jun 2022

  • "Excellent location for couples - wouldn’t recommend for families due to noise late at night and no garden"

    Thank you so very much for your feedback. As we are a very central location (also with a parking space which is unusual) sadly noise is beyond our control. Also, we do not advertise a garden in the particulars due to our very central location, however there is a beautiful park only 5 minutes walk from the property. We hope to welcome you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine3.8Nov 2021

  • "Thank you so much for letting us drop our bags early, it really helped!"

    It was the perfect house for us and made our trip perfect! Thank you again x

    You are most welcome! We look forward to seeing you again hopefully! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Aby5.0Sep 2021

  • "It's not suitable for 6 people the room on top floor has no storage at all."

    With 3 people living out of suitcase for 6 nights was not good at all. Location was brilliant For family of 4 this would be perfect Will defo return to Cowes as family of 4 but the cost of house for 4 people would be too expensive

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We have done an update for the new season and included more storage. We hope to welcome you back! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare3.8Aug 2021

  • "We made the most of Levante cottage but unfortunately we would NOT be returning, anyone looking to rent this place as a family make sure you read the reviews and seriously consider what’s being said."

    The cleanliness was very poor, the place felt and in many places was visibly dirty. The en-suit shower was disgusting, main bathroom the bath had mould round it and felt unclean. The paint was flaking off the walls in multiple places, unfortunately the cottage it’s self didn’t come anywhere near expectations and nowhere near value for money! Nowhere to hang or store clothes, this we expected as we had seen this in other reviews - but really wouldn’t take much to put up some hooks or hanging solutions for hanging clothes. The cottage isn’t very big so suitcase storage is a problem. The location was as described and great to be in the middle of Cowes with lovely bars and restaurants. But this also comes at some major disadvantages, EVERY morning at 5am delivery lorry arrives at local shop right outside the cottage banging and crashing around with engine running. You also get people standing at taxi rank and walking back from bars normally at the end of the night shouting and swearing - not the cottages fault but families should be aware. So I’m summary.. location was lovely but cottage didn’t come anywhere near expectations and VERY over priced for what is being offered.

    Reviewed by David1.9Aug 2021

  • "Levante is a lovely cottage that is well decorated and ideally located."

    It was very clean and the kitchen is well equipped. We loved the lounge, and the sofas are very comfy, but if there were 7 people staying, it’d be a bit of a squeeze. Other reviews have commented on noise problems from the taxi rank just outside, buses and M&S delivery vans. We didn’t experience any of this, and also didn’t hear any noise from the high street. However we do agree with all the other comments re lack of storage. There is 1 chest of drawers in the smaller of the 2 bedrooms on the first floor, and a couple of wall hooks in the en-suite room but that is all! There was only 2 of us staying and we used the other bedrooms to keep our clothes in and provide a bit more space for changing. If you had more than 2 staying you’d probably have to keep your clothes in your case under the beds. Of the 2 bedrooms on the first floor the double bed In the smaller of the two rooms is pushed up against the wall and has a raised bedstead, so if 2 of you were sleeping in it and you needed to get up in the night, the person nearest the wall would have a real job getting out. We had 2 dogs with us and whilst there isn’t a garden or private outdoor space, there is a lovely park just a few minutes walk from the cottage so we didn’t find it a problem. We loved the cottage and it’s location but personally feel it would be better if they removed a couple of beds and increased the storage. We would recommend this place but only for 2 adults and a couple of kids.

    Reviewed by Stephanie4.4Jun 2021

  • "Extremely noisy location delivery lorries arriving every morning at 5am to M"

    Reviewed by Debbie3.4Sep 2020

  • "The accommodation was not sufficient for 7 people neither was there sufficient hanging space and space in the kitchen and downstairs areas."

    The accommodation was nicely decorated and the host very helpful, it was nice to be close to town but was far too small.

    Reviewed by Nick3.1Aug 2020

  • "We arrived on the Friday and found that there were some good and bad points about the accommodation."

    Good Points 1. Really central for all shops/pubs/restaurants 2. Good to have parking included 3. Good Facilities for three people, but not sure how you would seat 7 people comfortably in the lounge Bad Points 1. No Hanging space for clothes/no clothes hangers ( only 3 clothes hangers for three people, only wall hooks in one bedroom, which were so close to cupboard that once you hang clothes up you cannot open cupboards 2. Stairs very steep which was not stated in accommodation description, and we had a 84 year old with us and it was difficult getting up and down. 3. Very noisy in the evenings (taxi rank right outside) and mornings (delivery lorries unloading for shops) There were other small items that could be improved and we think that the owner should try staying there for a couple of weeks and they would see where the accommodation could be improved.

    Reviewed by Susan3.1Sep 2019

  • "Whilst central and comfortable noise of the town prevents sleep!"

    · A lovely cottage, very clean and quite well appointed and very central · BUT This house is situated within a few feet of the taxi rank, main bus stop and only parking place for all the delivery lorries for Cowes High Street so it is extremely noisy throughout the night. When you add up the constant noise of taxi customers, bus passengers and deliveries and then put on top of that the nightly (and very loud) dustbin collections and street sweeping machines it is IMPOSSIBLE for anyone to get a nights sleep. Even with the windows closed (and then the rooms become like heat boxes) the noise is intolerable (and that is with half of us wearing earplugs we bought after the first night. I am quiet amazed that the owners do not disclose this in the property description. .It is also somewhat surprising that with sleeping for 7 in the house there is only seating for 4 in the sitting room!

    Reviewed by Quentin2.8Aug 2019

  • "Lovely clean cottage, be wary can be noisy at night by virtue of being central ..."

    Lovely clean cottage, be wary can be noisy at night by virtue of being central and sadly I had issue parking, space tight easy to be crowded out by adjacent parking

    Reviewed by Lisa4.1Aug 2019

  • "The property was advertised as dog friendly however, there is no garden and downstairs the door into the bathroom doesn’t close so we were constantly getting the dogs out."


    Reviewed by Charlotte2.5Jun 2019

  • "The house is lovely but it’s super noisy outside at night."

    There is a taxi tank right under the bedroom window which makes for very loud late night conversations and also made it impossible to leave the bedroom window open. This really effected how much we enjoyed the house.

    Reviewed by Breege4.1May 2019

  • "Excellent location everything we needed within walking distance, buses, shops, ..."

    Excellent location everything we needed within walking distance, buses, shops, pubs Plenty of hot water, really lovely property

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0May 2019

  • "We were a party of three adults and a dog."

    An extra key would have been helpful, it's not always possible to use the key-safe as one (or more) may be still inside and locked in.

    Reviewed by Roy5.0Sep 2018

  • "If you want a holiday destination with access to all town facilities, Levantine is the place for you."

    M & S food store (open for breakfast) 50m, High Street 50m. Importantly it has its own reserved parking space, but it's not adjacent to the house. Tip: for loading/unloading use one of the 2 bays next to the M & S taxi rank, where you can stop for 45 minutes. In that do not drive down Cross Street. The house has been refurbished to a very high standard and is a very comfortable base for an IOW holiday.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2018

Show more Hide all


  • Over three floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x second floor triple room with double and single, 1 x king-size with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x double
  • Ground floor bathroom with shower over bath, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room (seats 6)
  • Sitting room (seats 6).
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • As this is a town location, off road parking is available for 1 small to medium car at Cross Street car park - full details will be provided with your welcome pack
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1 minute walk, pub 3 minute walk
  • Note: Washer/dryer in bathroom cupboard
  • Note: Second floor bedroom has direct access to the staircase.

The property

This modern terraced cottage sits overlooking the wonderful seaport of Cowes on the Isle of Wight.

Set over three floors and with everything you need just a stone's throw away, this is the ideal place to stay for an unforgettable holiday with your family or friends.

Step off of West Cowes bustling town centre and into your welcoming home for the week, be greeted by the contemporary sitting room, here you can put your feet up on the snug sofa with the Smart TV to watch at your leisure.

The kitchen is immaculately furnished, with claytone furnishings and metro tiles adding a touch of class to the place, enjoy family mealtimes in the quirky dining room with features reminding you of your wonderful coastal location.

The ground floor also occupies a stylish, grey tiled family bathroom for your convenience.

The tastefully decorated bedrooms come set on the first and second floors, the second floor bedroom is thoughtfully designed to host sleeping accommodation for three people, perfect for bringing your little one along.

The master bedroom on the first floor benefits from a lovely en-suite shower room.

Cowes provides you with everything that you could wish for and more, with an abundance of places to shop, eat and drink, along with fascinating museums and a glorious sandy beach, there is something to do for everybody.

The whole of the Isle of Wight is easily accessible, from the delightful towns and villages to the rural Isle of Wight AONB and the Hamstead Heritage Coast for you outdoor lovers.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area surrounding the high-quality Levante.

View on map

About the location


Newport 5 miles; Ryde 12 miles; Shanklin 14.5 miles; Ventnor 15.4 miles; Freshwater 13 miles.

The bustling port of Cowes is situated by the mouth of the river Medina, and is divided into two distinct towns, linked by the regular floating bridge chain ferry. Both communities have much to offer visitors, with West Cowes known as a world famous yachting centre, with superb facilities for all kinds of watersports, as well as being considered the cycling gateway to the island with the National Cycle Route 23 running through it. It also has a beach and a wealth of excellent restaurants, inns, and plenty of interesting niche shops; there is something for everyone with a fabulous vibe. East Cowes is best known for Osborne House, Queen Victoria’s Italian style country retreat - a tour of the sumptuous royal apartments and magnificent gardens is a must. Cowes is an ideal base for exploring the rest of the island, such as sandy beaches, lovely walking country, picturesque chines and many family attractions such as the The Needles and the Isle of Wight music festival.

View more holiday cottages in Cowes

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas