Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

  • 1 Tower House - (Ref. 940193)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.


1 of 17 Artboard Created with Sketch. View Larger Image
  • 1 Tower House - Lake District - 940193 - photo 1

1 Tower House

Cartmel, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 940193)

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes


  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi


24 Customer Reviews

  • "Really enjoyed our stay here, lovely, comfortable accommodation."

    Bathroom a little bit on the small side but still lovely. Location ideal. We paid £35 for weeks parking on the race course which is just a two minute walk away. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

    Reviewed by GerardSep 2021

  • "Parking was a problem."

    I saw 3 cars with penalty notices on the windscreens. You can only park for one or two hours in the village There was nothing provided in the flat, not a toilet roll or a teabag ( I'm not aware of anyone catching covid from either of these items) There was no outside space not even a back door and the front door and step went straight onto the street, no pavement, not ideal, cars passing most of the time There was quite a lot of noise in the mornings from lorries, roadworks and even hammering from the upstairs flat Despite considerable fees it really did seem very mean and unwelcoming to have no toiletries or a few teabags. I have never had this happen before, nor have family who have recently been on cottage holidays- they did get the usual type of welcome provisions

    We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the property. We do feel that the photos on the website clearly show the front door of the property opening onto street, there is no garden/patio advertised and roadside parking is available on a first come, first serve basis. It is up to each individual owner whether they leave a welcome pack for guests, and your comments have been passed on. Once again, we thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JaneJul 2021

  • "Very good location , excellent king size bed."

    Reviewed by MarkJul 2021

  • "I would like to say that the flat was in a brilliant location in Cartmel but I was so disappointed in the flat."

    Firstly it is a sin such a beautiful building was split into flats!!! Now to the flat, which was cold and dark, it is in a narrow street and doesn't get the sun so rooms were cold. Living room and bedroom were comfy enough but definitely not luxurious. The main problem was the tiny bathroom. After 2 people had showers everything was running with condensation, the toilet rolls were permanently damp the floor wet it was horrible. The shower hose was disgusting all the grooves were filled with dirt and grouting wasn't great. The light turned on extractor fan but it did nothing. I had to stand on toilet to open window before we had our showers, but it was alarming if someone walked past the window to get to upstairs flat The towels were thin and tiny and until someone came to put heating on were permanently damp. The kitchen was okay but breakfast bar a joke. Sooo sad as love Cartmel but please do not advertise this property as luxurious. IT CERTAINLY WAS NOT !!!!!

    Many thanks for your feedback. As we spoke to you twice during your stay, and we called at the property to show you how to turn the heating on, it is a shame that you didn't mention any other issues that you had, as we are very keen to ensure all of our guests have a great stay. The photos of the property on the website are accurate, clearly displaying the property for 2 people and the property is in a street close to the centre of Cartmel. We would not recommend anybody stands on a toilet seat to open the bathroom window, as it is easily accessible, it is a 5ft to the handle. I am surprised at your comments about towels etc as the property is beautifully furnished from John Lewis. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AliceJun 2021

  • "It wasnt stated in the description that there is no outside space."

    We live in an apartment with limited outside space so we were looking forward to relaxing outside, we took our sunloungers. There is also an interco necting door between apartment and another 1. The fridge/freezer is the smallest ive ever seen. Also although there is a dishwasher it is only a slimline 1 but the owners dont supply enough plates and dishes to fill it. Only a Premier convenience shop in the village. The pub, the Cavendish Arms, 12 steps away, tge prices are extortionate, £32.00 for 2 sandwiches and 2 lagers. We are in our 60's and 70's but the village was still too quiet for us. Wont b returning.

    Thank you for staying at 1 Tower House and providing feedback. Sykes Cottages will list what is available at the property, as there is no garden/patio advertised it is not something that is available at the property. The door mentioned is not interconnecting to the next apartment, and leads to a hallway. We are sorry that you was not happy with what the surrounding area offers and the local prices as we do not have control over this. Once again, thank you for staying with us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChrisJun 2021

  • "The cottage was very comfy."

    Like a lot of cottages they don,t check utensils etc. The tin opener didn,t work. No bin in bathroom. No wooden spoon or spatula. No washing up liquid which they normally supply today. No toilet roll which they usually supply at least one to tied you over. Luckily I put one in at last minute. We have been renting cottages for over40 years now and we expect small thingsnot 100%. But we feel if we don,t mention it how does the owner about these things unless someone tells them. The furniture plus bed was very high standard along with all decor.

    Thank you for your feedback, we will obviously replace the items mentioned. We apologise for the lack of toilet roll and washing up liquid, we were unaware that our new cleaning company had locked their keys in the property when they went to replace these items, we have ensured that this won't happen again. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BarbaraJun 2021

  • "Just back from a super weeks self catering in Cartmel."

    The Tower House apartment was the perfect base, very comfortable, extremely spacious for 2 people and a wee dog and we’d happily book again!!!

    Reviewed by LorraineApr 2021

  • "The accommodation was fantastic."

    We will definitely be booking again once this pandemic is over.

    Reviewed by NicholasOct 2020

  • "We thought there would be a welcome pack when we arrived but it could be as the arrival time was con fusing we were told 12."

    00 am then 4.00 pm but other wise we enjoyed the stay

    Reviewed by AnthonySep 2020

  • "Lovely village of Cartmel."

    Enjoyed exploring southern Cumbria. Cottage living room and bedroom were wonderful but bathroom was very pokey and opened into the kitchen, the floor and skirting boards were dirty in the bathroom, kitchen and hall. Kitchen obviously built in the corridor of this old property was sufficient but there were no basics left and we had to buy everything.

    Reviewed by SusanAug 2020

  • "No parking - but we were told parking was free."

    That cost us £45. There was no hand soap, an empty washing up liquid bottle, and one toilet roll. Bulb had gone, and none to replace it with. The whole apartment was damp and musty. Mould in the bedroom, the bathroom. The kitchen smelt and felt unclean. On top of that, the kitchen was tiny and awkward, as was the bathroom. Furthermore the bedroom looked onto the road, and lights from cars (and then the bin men) lit up the bedroom. Horrible experience.

    Many thanks for your feedback and due to the error with the information you were given regarding the free parking, you have now been reimbursed for the costs that you incurred. We are sorry to hear that you feel the property was damp but can confirm that it isn't and we do feel the photos of the property show the size of the kitchen/bathroom clearly. Lastly we can confirm that the bedroom that looks out onto the road does have shutters and full length curtains. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TristramJan 2020

  • "After visiting last year we felt the place wasnt so clean this time round the hallway and damp smell wasn't great."

    The location was fine and served us well. Dont want to be too negative just honest.

    Reviewed by AndrewDec 2019

  • "We really enjoyed our three day break in Cartmel."

    The apartment living and bedroom areas were spacious and comfortable. The location in the middle of the village was good as it was close to pubs , shops, priory , walks. Parking may be a problem and expensive ( £10 per day??). The apartment did not have a parking permit during our stay.

    Thank you for your comments, 1 Tower House did have a parking pass but this facility until it was recently was withdrawn by the Race Course. All guest who booked prior to this facility being withdrawn were advised and alternative methods of parking were suggested. Parking is available on the roadside on a first come first served basis and the nearest public car park is approx 300 yards away. This is charged on a daily basis at £10 per day, but permits are available for longer stays with a discount and can be arranged on arrival at the Race Course itself. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BillNov 2019

  • "Location of the house was fantastic."

    Restaurants and coffee shops on your doorstep. Cottage was very comfortable a great size for 2 people. Will be going again.

    Reviewed by NigelOct 2019

  • "Perfect place to stay in cartmel"

    Reviewed by JohnJul 2019

  • "The apartment was comfortable and provided everything we needed for a pleasant few days."

    Our only gripe would be that as a rental that accepts dogs, we could not open the door and let him into an enclosed garden or yard in the mornings. As all dog owners are aware, it’s nice to let them out whilst you get a cuppa and wake up before having to get dressed and go out with them in a rush. Although the apartment had access to a shared yard, we were not allowed to use it.

    Reviewed by AmandaJun 2019

  • "Nope"

    Reviewed by JuneMar 2019

  • "The accommodation overall is very spacious and well furnished but I did not feel that it was clear that there is only a small eating area."

    Comments in the visitors book suggest a door mat and a larger kitchen bin and I would endorse these ideas. However the accommodation is still to be recommended - great location, and very comfortable. Booking with Sykes was not totally straightforward - initially it was not clear why I was quoted different prices after requesting to book and I had to call to clarify this. Also the information provided about accessing the property gave a number of the Windermere office for further enquiries but I was unable to make contact and had to call the general number. when visiting Windermere it appears that office has moved- so Sykes need to update the information.

    Reviewed by GloriaFeb 2019

  • "The property is very comfortable with a high standard of furnishing very clean throughout with good WiFi connection."

    Many thanks to the owner for providing excellent accommodation.

    Reviewed by EricJan 2019

  • "The apartment was almost regal, the lounge especially was so comfortable and relaxing, I could have stayed for months."

    4 pubs 2 minutes away and one 20 steps away, but no noise late at night. All in all, fabulous.

    Reviewed by StephenNov 2018

  • "Everything was as required"

    Reviewed by JohnNov 2018

  • "My wife I stayed here for 3 nights and honestly we couldn’t have asked for a better stay."

    The flat is absolutely gorgeous, immaculately clean and the furniture is really comfortable. Little touches like there being milk in the fridge and a bottle of wine on arrival were really welcome additions. Big comfy bed and the location is perfect to explore the great pubs, restaurants and attractions that Cartmel and Cumbria have to offer. Lovely place and really looking forward to returning.

    Reviewed by RhysOct 2018

  • "Being able to take our dog to this beautiful apartment was a bonus."

    As he has an aversion to wooden flooring it was brilliant that it was carpeted. We all felt very relaxed here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would definitely book this accommodation again.

    Reviewed by ClaireOct 2018

  • "The website lists a DVD player at the cottage but there isn't one and as we took a boxset to watch this was not good news."

    Reviewed by KeithMay 2018

Show more

The property

1 Tower House is an attractive, ground floor apartment on a charming street in the village of Cartmel.

This property is stylishly decorated to a very high standard and offers comfortable and spacious accommodation in the heart of Cumbria.

The sitting room is a generous size but also has a cosy feel with a good-size dining table and chairs.

There is an electric fire and a TV and the room is furnished and decorated very tastefully.

On to the master bedroom, which is a spacious super-king-size double with storage space and a charming dressing table.

There is a galley-style kitchen complete with a breakfast bar seating area that also includes an electric oven, plus a fridge/freezer.

The bathroom is a shower room which has modern furnishings, including a basin and WC.

Spend lazy summer afternoons wandering around the village, perusing its charming selection of shops and collection of fine pubs and excellent restaurants, including the pub called the Cavendish Arms and Michelin-starred restaurant L'Enclume and Rogan & Co all sitting right on your doorstep.

The village racecourse is not far from the cottage and seeing the racehorses coming and going adds to the charm of staying in this area.

This property is just 2 miles from Grange-over-Sands, where you can explore the popular town and its coast.

Just fifteen minutes away are the shores of Lake Windermere where you can pick up a steamer and cruise up the lake to Bowness-on-Windermere and the pretty village of Ambleside.

This is a great base to explore everything the Lake District has to offer.


  • All ground floor
  • One super king-size double bedroom
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast bar seating area
  • Sitting room with dining area and electric fire.
  • Gas central heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, Bluetooth speaker
  • Fuel and power in rent
  • Bed linen and towels included in rent
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Pub, shops and restaurants 1 min walk
  • Coast 2 miles
  • Roadside parking available on a first come, first serve basis.

View on map

About the location


Grange-over-Sands 2 miles; Bowness on Windermere 12 miles.

The historic, South Lakeland village of Cartmel is renowned as the prettiest village in the Lake District. The Priory Church, one of the finest ecclesiastical buildings in the north of England, remains the heart of the community with its gatehouse forming the entrance to the village. The village features pretty streamside walks, quaint cobbled streets littered with antique shops, a charming gift shop, welcoming, traditional pubs serving real ale, the nationally acclaimed, Michelin Star awarded L'Enclume restaurant, and the Cartmel Village shop, which sells the famous sticky toffee pudding. Take advantage of excellent walking opportunities amidst beautiful, unspoilt countryside, visit The National Hunt Racecourse, Campbell Legend Bluebird Exhibition, Lakeland Motor Museum and Holker Hall with its spectacular gardens, all of which are close by. The quiet seaside retreat of Grange-over-Sands, with its Edwardian buildings and mountain backdrop, is a mere 2 miles away, whilst Windermere, with its panoramic views over England's longest lake, is within a thirty minute drive. A superb holiday destination, at any time of year.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it