In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Primrose Cottage - Lake District - 926823 - photo 1

Primrose Cottage

(Ref. 926823)

Aldingham, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (42)
  • hot (29)
  • hot tub (26)
  • tub (26)
  • lovely (21)
  • bath (18)

59 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely cottage, very clean and comfortable."

    Had everything I needed. Really loved the hot tub, would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Julie4.4Jun 2024

  • "The cottage was spotless, the beds large and comfortable, the finishing touche was the hot tub , we all had a fab time a credit to the owner of Sykes cottages."

    Will definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Stewart5.0May 2024

  • "Overall the cottage was lovely, a few minor wear and tear faults but nothing that impacted our stay."

    The cottage Had everything we needed. Location was beautiful and plenty to do for all ages in the area. Comfortable to stay in with 3 children. Spare bedding could have been provided to enable us to split the bed in the bedroom. We didn't realise that this bed could have been split until we were leaving. That would have solved a few bedtime arguments with the children if this was stated somewhere. The hot tub was broken throughout our stay and not repaired before we left. This is one of the main reasons we booked this cottage so not being able to use it was very disappointing. New mattress, duvet and protector needed in main bedroom. Very stained and blood on them, thankfully I only saw this when stripping the beds as requested when leaving. Also, there was an overwhelming amount of slugs in the back garden. I know this can't be helped with the fields and weather etc but efforts could be made to try and repel them to try and reduce the number of them.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth3.4Oct 2023

  • "Lovely cottage and very comfortable."

    We had a great week. One of the reasons I picked the cottage was the bath, I love my baths and it looked very inviting. Unfortunately the water pressure isn't very good so I couldn't have a lovely full bath as it took to long.

    Reviewed by Philip4.7Oct 2023

  • "Overall the cottage was amazing!"

    Comfortable, great facilities and good location. Only downfall was we were without hot water for 2 days which put a downer on our stay as we were then unable to use the hot tub and had cold showers. Other than that it was lovely.

    Reviewed by Jade4.1Oct 2023

  • "Absolutely loved the place."

    Beautiful outside and in. Would recommend to anyone and would love to come back again

    Reviewed by Justine5.0Sep 2023

  • "Lovely property, contains everything that you need."

    Will be back.

    Reviewed by Annette5.0Sep 2023

  • "Beautiful accommodation in a lovely area."

    Everything we needed for a relaxing break. The cottage is situated next to minor road, so some traffic noise is inevitable. However, this was the only slight negative. Otherwise I couldn't fault the property, or location at all.

    Reviewed by Kenneth5.0Sep 2023

  • "We enjoyed a 3 night stay at primrose cottage, and will be recommending to all our loved ones!"

    Whether you’re looking for a nice chilled getaway or an adventurous packed one this cottage accommodates to both. We had a lovely stay in this cottage, chilling in the hot tub, taking a walk along the coast which is only a 10/15 minute scenic route. Had a day out at the zoo, and another day on lake Windermere. The property has everything you would need, from iron/iron board, to all the kitchen essentials. All 4 of us will be returning at some point and are overjoyed with our stay! Primrose cottage will hold a special place in our hearts x

    Reviewed by Ellis5.0Jul 2023

  • "A beautiful cottage."

    It was very clean and well maintained. Great location, in a quiet spot but only a short distance to the shops. The only thing i would say is I think it should be stated on here that there is a camera overlooking the back garden and hot tub, I completely understand it being there but as someone who is self conscious I try and book places that are private so it did make me slightly uncomfortable.

    Reviewed by Lois4.7May 2023

  • "Overall a very well located house, with very comfortable beds."

    Spacious living room and kitchen area. Really enjoyed using the hot tub as well. However there were a few things that require improvement to be called a 5* cottage, such as: - very loud creaking floorboards that wake up the other bedroom - only 1 toilet roll per bathroom, insufficient for 7 days stay between two people - only one towel per person for 7 days (this is for hot tub and shower usage) - no salt or pepper provided - insufficient dishwasher tablets - tv's in the bedroom are quite old and in one case at a very strange angle (very high)

    Reviewed by Nilisha4.1Apr 2023

  • "Absolutely brilliant facilities."

    Only thing I would recommend are more towel hooks in the bathrooms!

    Reviewed by Priya5.0Mar 2023

  • "Excellent stay very comfortable"

    Reviewed by Barry4.7Feb 2023

  • "Had a wonderful relaxing time with the family."

    The cottage was very clean and presented beautifully. Hot tub and bathrooms were amazing. Only issue dishwasher didn't work and sofa was very uncomfortable. Would definitely go back! The views are lovely and for tte velux bedroom windows.

    Reviewed by Victoria4.7Oct 2022

  • "Clean and impressively modern with very comfortable beds."

    But lacking in some basics, e.g. bath mat, hand soap and kitchen items - T strainer, colander, red wine glasses, limited cutlery. 3 piece suite very uncomfortable and heating difficult to control. Loose door handle in bathroom.

    Reviewed by Steve3.8Sep 2022

  • "We needed to repair the inside handle of one bathroom door and also a wardrobe handle, also the wooden bed hadn’t been dusted."

    Without this I would have given 5 stars. An excellent property in a perfect location, loved the velux windows/balconies and the hot tub. A full sized colander would have been helpful and spare batteries for the remote control as the TV was unresponsive. The information in the property was extremely valuable and we did add a couple more brochures collected along the way.

    Reviewed by Hazel4.4Sep 2022

  • "The cottages have been done very well, they are comfortable and clean."

    Kitchen could have more cookware. Views are stunning and the garden is lovely to sit in.

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Sep 2022

  • "The cottage was beautifully finished."

    We would have liked some wooden spoons and a larger colander/strainer. There was a really miniature one in the cupboard. The bedrooms were very hot so essential to keep blinds down in daytime to stay shaded. Loved the hot tub.

    Reviewed by Beverley4.4Jul 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Primrose cottage very clean & comfortable hot tub was a great bonus would like to return sometime in the future."

    Reviewed by Martin5.0May 2022

  • "Lovrr we lu property, big out of the way but we new it would be, would ..."

    Lovrr we lu property, big out of the way but we new it would be, would definitely recommend a trip to ulverston wildlife park

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Nov 2021

  • "My partner and I stopped at Primrose for a four night break mid November and loved every minute."

    The hot tub was amazing, we went in it every night. The whole place was lovely, we brought our own logs for the fire as advised. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you will need (only one wine glass though but plenty of prosecco glasses). Amazing views and very quiet. My only problem was (from a ladies point of view) there wasn't a dressing table to do my make up/hair at, but there was a full length mirror and stool and I utilised the other spare bedroom bedside table. Would recommend Primrose to anyone, a lovely break and cannot wait to come back. Thank you ever so much, Mandy

    Reviewed by Robert4.7Nov 2021

  • "On our 5 night stay we had no hot water, heating and the hottub wasn’t working for 3 nights."

    (Owner thankfully refunded us 3 nights) Kitchen isn’t well equipped at all so would recommend bringing half your kitchen with you. Once the heating and hot water was working we really enjoyed our stay, Ulverston Town is 12mins drive away and short walk to the beach.

    Reviewed by Victoria2.5Oct 2021

  • "The cottage is beautiful."

    I’ve stayed in a lot of cottages but this one is one of the best. The hot tub is the best We have had. Will be 100% booking again

    Reviewed by Danny5.0Oct 2021

  • "Primrose cottage is well appointed and the hot tub is fabulous."

    However, the whole cottage was very warm, the bedrooms uncomfortably so, that we didn’t sleep very well. This is possibly due to one wall of each bedroom being entirely glazed. Opening the windows allowed flying insects in and also road noise. Similarly downstairs, opening doors allowed flying insects and road noise in to the lounge. Nice touches in the cottage were motion sensor operated lights for the kitchen and bathrooms.

    Reviewed by Bob3.1Sep 2021

  • "Hot water in shower & bath was not very hot."

    Not enough room to squeeze through the beds & door to enter room. Beds could be pushed along a bit. Back garden could have been improves by a seating area & flower pots. Fabulous cottage & views.

    Reviewed by Donna5.0Aug 2021

  • "Absolutely brilliant!"

    Couldn't have asked for more. Beautiful views, amazing hot tub, the windows in the bedroom open up like a balcony. Amazing, can't wait to revisit. The meditation centre 5 minutes up down coast road is a MUST visit, too.

    Reviewed by Daniel5.0Jun 2021

  • "The bed was so comfy."

    During summer it will be great if to have air conditioning

    Reviewed by Sandra4.7Jun 2021

  • "We loved the location and views."

    The cottage had everything we needed and the hot tub was an added luxury

    Reviewed by Paula5.0Jun 2021

  • "We absolutely loved our 2 night stay in the cottage!"

    The cottage was gorgeous and was so clean. Thank you so much.

    Reviewed by Catrina5.0Feb 2020

  • "The connecting door to the adjacent cottage allows for all sounds, voices and cooking smells to come through."

    We did not feel any sense of privacy and would have left the cottage early but fortunately there were no guests there Monday to Thursday evening. We complained by email but had no response from you.

    Reviewed by Andrej4.7Jan 2020

  • "It was outstanding absolutely beautiful Kids loved the hot tub Amazing Christmas"

    Reviewed by Nelson5.0Dec 2019

  • "We had a 7 day pre-Christmas holiday at Primrose cottage, which was a miserable mistake!"

    First the good parts and there were some:- Nicely decorated and furnished Cottage. Beautiful bedrooms with comfy beds and bathrooms had good showers and baths with plenty of hot water. The hot tub was excellent, privately located and well maintained. Now the not so good…. 1) Every plate and cup we went to use had food debris on them and all pans were covered in grease. 2) The bedroom light glowed all night even though it was switched off, this issue was first feedback in May but is still not fixed. 3) The road past the cottages has a very high level of speeding traffic night and day and you take a real risk when you pull out onto the road. 4) Finally our main concern was the complete lack of heating upstairs and minimal heating downstairs. After several phone messages to the owner who constantly failed to return our calls or keep us updated. We met the heating engineers on their initial visit they were there for an hour and checked the bio boiler and the heating in the other cottages and said that they were really hot and could not understand why Primrose was not working the same. They turned up the pump speed but that did not improve the heating and they stated that there must be a blockage. We phoned the owner and who said that the engineers would be back the next day at 9:00 we stayed in until 10:30 but no one came. We phoned again that evening as the heating was still not working and the owner said the engineers had been out but she did not know what they had done and would find out, she never came back to us and that is when we contacted Sykes for help. Unfortunately Sykes were of no help and the heating was not fixed during our 7 day stay. We had a cold week there and had to keep the log fire on every evening just to keep a reasonable level of warmth downstairs, upstairs was freezing. This is not what we expected after reading reviews on Sykes website and our issue was not resolved. So be aware; Sykes have no Customer servise, they represent the owners not us customers, they did not resolve our issue and offered us a £40 voucher as compensation, which we had already received from our original booking. The owner denied that the heating was not working and all Sykes said was take it up with the Owner!

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read that you were both disappointed with ours and the owners response to your complaint. The owners were contacted and they advised that they did attend the property on more than one occasion to try and assist you. We did also try and help when you contacted us but understand the resolution offered wasn't to your satisfaction, this was a gesture from us as the owner felt they had done all they could. The road is shown on the listing and there have been no other negative comments regarding this. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert1.6Dec 2019

  • "Primrose Cottage has been very tastefully renovated."

    The kitchen is well-co-ordinated with everything that you could need and the bedrooms are superb with very comfortable beds and huge Velux windows to take in the lovely views across Morecambe Bay. The only negative things I can say is that, when I booked the cottage, there was no mention in the listing of the 2 walk-in showers in the ensuites. I even contacted one of your advisors and she told me that there definitely weren't any walk-in showers and that there were only hand-held showers. I nearly didn't book the cottage because of this. Also, one of the walk-in showers put a lot of water onto the bathroom floor and the extractor fan in that bathroom wasn't working either.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Oct 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage finished to a high standard ,just a few little niggles ,right seal on dishwasher kept coming off so leaked now and again ,heater mirror in our bathroom never went off and our hot tub leaked and dropped 4 /6 inches everyday and the strip and of lights around the bath kept falling down but having said all this it was a beautiful cottage ."

    Reviewed by Sally3.8Sep 2019

  • "There were a few lights in one of the bathrooms not working."

    Other than that had a great time and would come back again.

    Reviewed by Karen4.7Aug 2019

  • "Excellent standard."

    It was much better than we were expecting and set in a beautiful location. We did have to travel 30 or 40 mins to get to the heart of the lake district but we were very happy with our comfortable surroundings. The cleanliness of the cottage was excellent and it is extremely well equipped. It had the added bonus of having 2 x almost identical double rooms both with their own en suite bathroom so perfect for 2 couples sharing. The beach is a short walk across a field opposite the cottages. The town of Ulverston is just a short drive away and has a lovely supermarket called Booths which we hadn't heard of before being from down South but it stocked lots of local products. The only things we did find was that the 10am check out was a little earlier than we would have liked but understand it would take time to prepare the whole area for new guests.

    Reviewed by Mike5.0Jun 2019

  • "I had booked this lovely looking cottage as a surprise for my girlfriend, a two night break with no responsibilities."

    We arrived just after 3 on a damp and drizzly Friday afternoon, we were met with the most modern but picturesque news cottages. The reaction on both of ours faces said it all. The retrieval of keys from the key safe was very easy following a simple text from the owner. We entered into the living with utter amazement! Simply home from home! Lovely big sofa and two huge arm chairs. A brilliant kitchen, fully equipped. Even a bottle opener! The bedrooms phenomenal! Views through the velux balcony windows is a brilliant touch of class. I think the bed is one of the comfiest I have ever slept in. The whole renovation is listed in a little pictogram in the living room and it really shows that nothing was spared when they created these homes. Absolutely blown away, couldn’t have been comfier. I really don’t need to say too much about the Hot Tub! But that was a nice added bonus. More pictures needed on the listing to show the beautiful walk in showers which was a welcome surprise, the baths never even got run. Thank you again, we will definitely be coming back.

    Reviewed by Thomas5.0Jun 2019

  • "We had an absolutely lovely stay, the cottage was beautiful, the location is perfect and in general the area was nice too, I would definitely recommend this cottage, it's worth it!"

    Reviewed by Sophie5.0May 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage with high class decor can highly recommend."

    Many thanks

    Reviewed by Mark5.0May 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage, extremely well maintained."

    we had a lovely relaxed weekend.

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0May 2019

  • "It was a lovelt cottage in a lovely location our only complaint was the lighting when we turned out our reading light the big ceiling light came on only dimmed but it stayed on all night and I like to sleep in pitcpitch black ."

    Reviewed by Audrey4.7May 2019

  • "The cottage is lovely and we enjoyed the hot tub and log fire."

    It's close enough to head out to Windermere and we also enjoyed the local area. The beds are huge and really comfy and the owner was very helpful with all of our questions.

    Reviewed by Carolyn5.0Apr 2019

  • "The cottage was beautiful well equipped and the cleanliness was second to none ..."

    The cottage was beautiful well equipped and the cleanliness was second to none overall a very nice experience and we will definitely be booking again it's a 10 out of 10 from the Nixon family from bury

    Reviewed by David5.0Mar 2019

  • "The hot tub and the log burner were a bonus"

    Reviewed by P3.8Mar 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely."

    The pictures on the website accurately showed what the cottage was like. It was great to have 2 super-king beds with ensuite. The beds were really comfy and we all slept well in them. We lit the fire too despite it not being cold. The hot tub was another great feature. It would have been nice to have a slightly later check out.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Feb 2019

  • "Honestly do not no where to start , weekend away wirb my business partner and our husbands."

    cottage was absolutely beyond what we expected , amazing! Under floor heating wouldn't come on but Gillian was amazing, 3 large bags of wood dropped off for the fire and work men on it pronto couldn't have been more hands on , apologetic and helpful ! We are booking to come back in May with our children and hopefully get both cottages ! With out busy businessnd 3 children each we wanted to really enjoy our time and birthday and I tell you they didn't fail to deliver! You will not a million percent be disappointed if you trust and book here ! Xx

    Reviewed by Jade5.0Feb 2019

  • "The cottage was simply beautiful."

    Fixtures fittings and furnishings all first rate and finished to perfection. Very clean and well presented. Great location for exploring the coast and south Lakes.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Jan 2019

  • "Lovely little cottage in a quiet area perfect for relaxing after days out walking or exploring mountains."

    In perfect location for easy access to shops and restaurants in Barrow, the Indian there was superb. House was very warm with underfloor heating, sometimes too hot! However the hot-tub had an issue throughout the week being around 34 degrees maximum instead of the 40 degrees it was capable of. Contact with owner was good and service engineer was sent which didn't seem to fully remedy the issue, however towards the back end of our stay it reached around 37 degrees - if we was there for only a few days we would have been disappointed. Overall enjoyed the stay thoroughly and would recommend to others!

    Reviewed by William4.7Oct 2018

  • "Cottage was good."

    No hair dryer, handle falling off wardrobe. No toiletries in bathroom. Tea, coffee etc but no milk. Apart from that it was good.

    Reviewed by Julie4.4Oct 2018

  • "We found the booking process very straightforward and in particular were most impressed by the quality, presentation and standard of cleanliness of the cottage on arrival."

    It was very well appointed and we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, and will undoubtedly be back in the future. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Sep 2018

  • "This cottage was amazing and will definitely be coming back again."

    Reviewed by Aaron5.0Mar 2018

  • "Had a fabulous 3 night break."

    Really peaceful & relaxing, the cottage was perfect & will definitely be booking again soon

    Reviewed by Elaine5.0Jan 2018

  • "We emailed to ask if tea towels, washing up liquid, toilet roll, j cloths and washing up sponge included and we were just sent a one sentence answer ‘No to all of the above’!"

    I was a bit annoyed and ended up buying all these things. However when we arrived they were all there and I was pleasantly surprised. However I would expect these things to be included. One more thing to be aware of is that the local Tesco in Barrow in Furness does not deliver to this address. Overall we enjoyed stay especially the hot tub.

    Reviewed by Maaria4.4Dec 2017

  • "A lovely cottage in the Lake District."

    Had everything we needed and was very comfortable. The log burner and hot tub were two ideal additions to the cottage which were both used every night. The only issue was the showers upstairs - there was no door to the shower and made the bathroom floor very wet, however this was solved by simply placing a towel around the shower to keep the water in, other than that it was perfect.

    Reviewed by Rob4.6Nov 2017

  • "Fantastic Primrose Cottage had all the amenities and more than we were expecting."

    Total luxury but with a homely feeling. Will definitely look to book this property again.

    Reviewed by Stella5.0Jan 2017

  • "Hi we had a very relaxed holiday at primrose cottage ."

    Was very high standard and all we could have asked for ,weather was very cold on the monday in hot tub so only used for wee while but still enjoyed ourselves thx again x

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Nov 2016

  • "As soon as we walked in this cottage we were pleased my girls loved it they ate age 13 & 9 it was clean, comfortable and above our expectations."

    It was home from home. I will book again. We went for peace & tranquility & we got it! We didnt want to go home. The only thing I would say is take a mirror there was mirrors in the bathrooms, quality ones but not to dry your hair in with a plug, theres a plug in the hall were you can put your own mirror other that everythings fab!!

    Reviewed by Vicky5.0Oct 2016

  • "There was a drain problem in on of the ensuites."

    They weren't blocked they just smelled really horrid everytime we went into the bathroom. Other than thay it was perfect.

    Reviewed by Samantha4.8Aug 2016

  • "The cottage was fantastic,very clean and modern."

    Everything you need to feel at home.

    Reviewed by Robert4.8Aug 2016

Show more Hide all


  • Two bedrooms: 2 x super king-size double with TV’s and en-suite bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove.
  • Underfloor heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, 3 x TVs with Freeview, DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel, power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair on request
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Patio area with hot tub
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 6 miles
  • Note: There are 11 steps leading from the car park to the cottage
  • Note: There are internal doors joining this property with Bluebell Cottage and both parties have to unlock each door to gain access
  • If the properties are booked separately, the doors will remain locked to ensure privacy
  • Note: There is a public footpath directly opposite leading to the sea/beach
  • Please note you will need to bring your own fuel for the stove
  • Note: This property can not facilitate a Sunday arrival

The property

This is a fantastic mid-terrace cottage, with spacious accommodation which has been designed to ensure your stay is perfect.

The ground floor has a contemporary kitchen, a dining room and a cosy sitting room with woodburning stove with doors leading out to a private patio.

Upstairs there are two bedrooms designed to capture the mesmerising view, both with en-suite bathrooms.

This cottage can connect with Bluebell Ref. 916664 to accommodate 8 guests, making it ideal for two families who wish to be close to each other, but with their own privacy.

Note: This cottage can be booked with Refs 916664, 926823 and 926824, together they sleep 12.

Seaview Cottages

Ulverston 6 miles. Idyllically situated on the Furness Peninsula, with stunning views across to Morecambe Bay, this cosy group of four luxury holiday cottages sit in rolling countryside, close to the vibrant town of Ulverston. The cottages are close to the villages of Baycliff and Bardsea and the Manjushi Buddhist Temple and are conveniently placed to explore the beautiful Lake District National Park. Offering welcoming accommodation, these delightful cottages provide an excellent base for couples, families and friends to explore all the Lake District National Park has to offer. With each cottage catching a glimpse of the coast across fields, these superb cottages have been elegantly designed with every comfort in mind. Each has been finished to an exceptionally high standard including underfloor heating, with two of the cottages have cosy woodburning stoves, and two offing feature baths. Carefully positioned in enclosed grounds, each luxury cottage also comes with a private patio and hot tub, the perfect place to relax after a busy day exploring. The popular Cumbrian market town of Ulverston is just 15 minutes’ drive away and has a host of interesting shops and restaurants to explore, plus an interesting mix of entertainment at the Coronation Hall. Coniston Water, the third largest lake in the Lake District, is 15 miles away, where you can jump aboard the Steam Gondola for a gentle cruise or explore the surrounding fells and woods. The Furness Peninsula offers breathtaking sunsets and is an area rich in natural flora and fauna, a great place to enjoy a bracing walk. Why not walk over to Baycliff and enjoy a drink and snack at the inn? At the end of the day, these delightful cottages with hot tubs will be waiting to welcome you back. A superb place to stay at any time of the year.

View on map

About the location


Ulverston 5 miles.

On the coast looking across to Morecambe Bay is the small village of Aldingham, said to have once been a mile long but, as legend says, many of the early cottages were washed away by storms and tidal waves. Aldingham had the reputation of being a smugglers’ village, with brandy from France and tobacco from America supposedly hidden in the church crypt. The village is close to the spectacular Furness Abbey, and the ancient market town of Ulverston is just 5 miles away, and still has an authentic feel and community spirit. The town boasts a street market every Thursday and Saturday and many festivals throughout the year, including an amazing lantern procession in September and a superb Dickensian weekend on the last weekend of November. It is also the birthplace of Stan Laurel and home to the only Laurel and Hardy museum in the world! With all the attractions of the Lake District National Park and the sandy beaches and good birdwatching of the Furness coast close by, this quiet and peaceful area has plenty to offer!

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute