In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

10 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 11 View Image Gallery
  • Beck Steps - Lake District - 1041575 - photo 1

Beck Steps

(Ref. 1041575)

Chapel Stile, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (24)
  • no (15)
  • location (12)
  • lovely (12)
  • door (11)
  • back (10)

31 Customer Reviews

  • "Wonderful cottage."

    So homely. One of the nicest cottages we’ve ever stayed in

    Reviewed by Steven5.0May 2024

  • "Lovely cottage, clean, comfortable and equipped with everything you need."

    Perfect location for local pubs and walking/hiking directly out of the front door.

    Dear Adrian P, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Beck Steps, that you found the cottage comfortable, clean and well equipped. as well as a perfect location. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adrian5.0May 2024

  • "Overall, brilliant."

    Just a couple of things: 1. the bath tap needs securing. It's loose so very hard to make work. 2. The big towel rail doesn't seem to work. Also, no freezer compartment, so couldn't make ice for the after climb G&T or keep things as cold as possible for the journey home. So small things really. Location brilliant, warm, comfortable and clean.... just very easy

    Thank you for letting us know about these items. 1) we have plans to replace the tap, currently delayed by family illness. Unfortunately, it can't be adjusted, our plumber has tried. For others reading this, turn it confidently, although loose, it does respond. I'm so sorry you found it problematic. 2) The towel rail is now on again. it had been turned off. I'm sorry you couldn't turn it on. The electronic control can be a bit tricky (for me). 3) It sounds as if you didn't find the free-standing, mini freezer which is in the coats cupboard. There should always be a good supply of ice. I'm sorry you missed the usual lovely tinkle in your G&T. I'm pleased you found other things 'brilliant', clean and comfortable. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon4.7Apr 2024

  • "Beautiful location and a very comfortable cottage with everything we needed."

    Would happily stay again.

    Hi Steven G, We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Beck Steps and found the cottage very comfortable with everything you needed. That's just what we like to hear. Hope you will have an opportunity to stay again in the future. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steven5.0Apr 2024

  • "My second time visiting, same week as last weather and weather."

    ...stunning blue skies and fluffy snow was like a week in Austria. Cottage was as delightful as before, the homely touches are what makes it a pleasure to stay at. Nicely centrally located, didn't have to use the car all week, great walks for all abilities from door step which also pass lovely pubs to seek refuge from the cold or rain! Highly recommend all pubs in the area, however if you can a visit to The Old Stamp House restaurant is a third time and just as good as the first. Would recommend booking a taxi there and back. For variety will stay in another next year but will be back again!

    Dear Ian B, We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Beck Steps, and like the homely touches. (I'm glad the change of name wasn't too confusing.) I've only been to The Stamp House once, so a timely reminder. As you say, local pubs are a must, too. Best, Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Jan 2024

  • "Lovely cosy cottage in a secluded but accessible beautiful location."

    Well equipped and we had a lovely stay in the Langdale valley walking with our dogs. Only minor criticism is the step in the bathroom could do with marking out with visible tape as it’s easy to fall down it when stepping backwards from the sink. We had fantastic weather and a great holiday. Will definitely book again!

    Dear Mr T, thank you for expressing your happiness with Beck Steps cottage and your stay in the Langdale Valley. I'm so pleased you enjoyed it and rated the cottage so highly. We recognise that there are a number of steps in the cottage which can be tricky for those who are unfamiliar with the layout. We have some plans to address the step in the bathroom but have had to put these on hold for now due to family illness. It is our intention to action as soon as possible. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Edward5.0Nov 2023

  • "A little more coal or wood please enough for an evening"

    Thank you for your feedback. We take all comments on board. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian5.0Nov 2023

  • "Very happy with my stay at Beck Steps."

    Cottage has everything you need, apart from a few coat hooks to hang wet coats, but that aside it is perfect. The couches and bed are all very comfortable, the kitchen has everything you could possibly need and I love the induction hob! Walks for both me and my two dogs were easy to access straight from the cottage door, and the side steps up to the fell which could be accessed from the back door meant life was made easier for me for early and late dog walks. All in all a wonderful stay in a warm and cosy cottage, would love to return one day.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Sep 2023

  • "Delightful cottage in a picturesque village."

    Cottage equipped with all essentials needed during our break. Tea, coffee, condiments, cleaning products etc. Kitchen had everything needed to prepare and cook meals. The coop located in the village centre was also handy if required. Decor welcoming and warm. Bedrooms light and airy, beds extremely comfortable with the addition of shutters that were conducive to a good nights sleep. There was a little damp in the bathroom with paint peeling on the ceiling that could benefit from a little attention, yet did not affect our stay at all. Accessing the wifi could be described more clearly in instructions and refer to hub. Would recommend and hopeful to return during the winter months when we can light the fire!

    Dear Mrs O, Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased that you had a lovely stay. We have had some maintenance work done on the bathroom this week and fixed the ceiling over the shower. We will aim to provide better information re logging onto the WIFI. I hope you will return and enjoy the wood (and coal) burner during winter months. All good wishes, Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire4.7Jun 2023

  • "My husband and I have stayed in this cottage before, it's beautifully located and really lovely."

    Very clean and cosy. The reasons I've not given it full marks are: - this time we were a party of 4 adults, arriving in 2 cars. I emailed prior to arrival to ask what to do about parking as the house only has one space. I was told, abruptly, that only one space was available and I could park the second car on the road in the village or look out for signs for a car park. Evidently, the colleague who said this has never been to Chapel Stile. The the road (one road, not plural) is a windy lane so parking on it us not ideal as you're then in the way. Chapel Stile is a tiny village - there are no car parks. Even the local pub doesn't have a car park. Local knowledge is key in these situations. - the macerator in the house is extremely loud, especially in the back bedroom. It prevented sleep for our party which is more than disappointing, since we purchased the cottage as a place to sleep and sleep is a basic need. This needs looking at but I would also like to request appropriate compensation. How do I go about this, please?

    Dear Elizabeth E, I'm pleased you enjoyed your first stay in the cottage and chose to come back for a second visit. I'm so sorry that you had some difficulties this time, first the parking question and second noise during the night. I hope your party managed to park both of your cars without difficulty. There is space to park a second car safely on the road through the village, a little way down the road. l'm sorry that you felt your enquiry about this was not responded to well. I will ask the agency to add information to the website on where to park a second car. The noise that you heard is from the electric water pump which comes on when water is drawn. It drives water through the filter and UV system to ensure the water in the cottage is of high quality. I am sorry it disturbed you. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth3.4May 2023

  • "An excellent location for a charming homely cottage."

    Stunning views and a homely welcome await. The situation was perfect I parked up and didn't use the car until it was time to head home. Great walks of all abilities straight from the doorstep....back door if you fancy dropping over to Grasmere. Looking forward to revisiting.

    Dear Ian B, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. As you say, it is beautifully situated and there is no need to use the car throughout the whole stay as there are walks in many directions from the door. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Jan 2023

  • "This is our second visit to this cottage and once again we thoroughly enjoyed our time there."

    Our only gripe is that we booked for a week which normally means 7 days. We arrived on the 22nd Dec (after 4pm as instructed) and left on the 27th Dec before 10am as instructed. This only gave us 4 full days !!. Which given the distance we travelled, I am not sure we would repeat the visit. Finally, the Wi-Fi did not work. Every time you entered the password a message came back as being incorrect!

    Dear Mr C, I'm very sorry to hear about your difficulty accessing the wifi. My husband was at the cottage the following week and the wi-fi was working normally. Nobody has reported password difficulties before. I wonder whether possibly you had a zero/capital O error or something similar? I'm also very sorry that you had a very short visit and didn't realise the number of days on booking. We can often be flexible if a request is made. (We do take part-week bookings, so there is no guarantee that each booking is for 7 days.) I hope you enjoyed your visit, despite the downsides, and will come again. All good wishes, Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anton4.1Dec 2022

  • "Beautiful, traditional cottage."

    Tastfully decorated. Warm and cosy with breathtaking views. All amenities for a comfortable stay. Walks straight from the door, you really don't need to use a car for your stay. Village store, cafe, pubs, cocktail bar all within walking distance. A really lovely cottage. I highly recommend Honeypot cottage, it is fabulous.

    Dear Elke V, Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm so pleased that you found the cottage warm and cosy, and that you enjoyed the views and so many of the local amenities. Your positive endorsement is much appreciated. Best wishes, Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elke5.0Nov 2022

  • "Lovely cosy warm cottage in a lovely location with good quality furnishings, great bathroom and well equipped kitchen ."

    Beds very comfortable. Plentiful walks from the front door .

    Dear Valerie K, Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed staying in the cottage and found the location good for walks from the front door. It's really helpful to hear what aspects of the cottage you valued and found comfortable. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Valerie5.0Nov 2022

  • "We had a lovely time, 2 dogs, myself and my 80 year old mum."

    We did a walk at Elterwater, ate at wainwrights and Chester’s by the water, both we would recommend. The little coop caters for everything. The stairs to the bedrooms are steep and the bathroom downstairs could be awkward for those with mobility issues, however we found it fine. The fire was easy to operate but follow instructions if you have not used one before. The views are beautiful and we would have liked to have stayed longer. Possibly a little welcome drink or biscuits, to add that special touch. Will be back

    Dear Emma S, Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the cottage. I'm so pleased you and your mum had an enjoyable time, enjoying the views, local walks, and some of the welcoming and wonderful places to eat. I will make it clearer in the cottage description that it may not be suitable for people with mobility issues, as you are right, the stairs are steep and there is a step inside the bathroom. I will also see what we can do to arrange for welcome packs for future visitors. I'm so pleased you feel you'd like to return. Best wishes, Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Oct 2022

  • "Have just returned from a fabulous week at Honeypot Cottage and what a beautiful cottage it is!"

    Love how it has been decorated and had everything we needed. We usually stay at Langdale for this week but rented the cottage as we now have a dog - although you would not know it was dog friendly (that's a positive!). The only things that could perhaps be mentioned are 1) there is a step in the kitchen and another up to the back door and one in the bathroom. Not a problem for us but could be for others. 2) There is also no back garden just a lovely open shared garden in front of all the cottages with amazing views of the Pikes from the far end. 3) Worth noting the freezer isn't very big. We had an Asda delivery but luckily hadn't ordered much frozen food. We did have to ask another cottage to move their car from our spot once but otherwise parking was fine. We would definitely stay here again and can only dream of owning such a gorgeous cottage. Thank you x

    Dear Helen RB, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Langdale Valley with your dog and found that Honeypot Cottage worked well for you. It's always rewarding to hear what people have valued, and to know that you really like how the cottage has been decorated. Thank you for your feedback. I will ask for an adjustment to the description to note the freezer size, and the steps inside the cottage. You did just the right thing, as someone else had parked in the no1 parking place. It is definitely reserved for our visitors. I'm sorry you had to ask someone to move. Best wishes, Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Aug 2022

  • "On arrival a used towel was found hanging on the bedroom door hook, there was also a cardigan in the wardrobe which I presume belonged to the previous occupant."

    The two vacuum cleaners were full of dust, fluff and hairs and had obviously not been emptied for some time. The kitchen units and table had crumbs on them which I had to clean prior to using. I feel the general level of cleanliness was below what I expected especially given the price I paid. On the whole this is a very pleasant well equipped cottage that would benefit from more thorough cleaning.

    Dear Mrs KP, Thank you for your feedback. I'm very sorry that the cleaning of the cottage was not up to scratch. I will speak to the cleaner and the agency to find out what went wrong on this occasion. I'm pleased that in other respects you found the cottage pleasant and well equipped. Cleaning is so important Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kathryn3.4Jul 2022

  • "Wonderfully equipped cottage in perfect unspoilt location for walking with shop and pub a short stroll away."

    Dear Mrs JS, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. I'm pleased you found it well equipped and loved the location. It is wonderful to be in such a rural place and to have a great shop and lovely pub close by. No need to use the car. Mary Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane4.7May 2022

  • "Beautiful property in a great location."

    We only used the car once in the week, as there were so many walks to do from the cottage. Would love to come back soon.

    Dear Mrs SG, I'm so pleased you found the cottage beautiful and in a great location. As you say, there are many walks directly from the door, to Grasmere, Ambleside, Little Langdale or Coniston, and up into the Langdale fells, along the Cumbria Way and even to the Skafell range. I hope you do come back! Mary Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue3.8Apr 2022

  • "This was a lovely property and we loved the location and the decor."

    The views from the property are outstanding. However the first two days were completely overshadowed by the lack of customer care from Sykes. Upon arriving at the property we found another inhabitant, the property had been double booked. Sykes we’re quite unsympathetic and cancelled our booking, this was upsetting. Thankfully the inhabitant (who had been staying there) of the property took pity on us and let us have the property and moved out. The second day we spent organising cleaners. We finally settled in to the property after this but then checked out as we were only staying for 3 nights. I’m still trying to get through to Sykes to discuss this.

    Dear Alyson, Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for my late response. I am sorry that you feel that Sykes have been unresponsive & unsympathetic. I can assure you, the local team were working hard to resolve the (most unusual) problem. As I believe you know, the cottage was occupied by visitors who in all innocence arrived a week earlier than booked. Unfortunately, this was not known until your arrival day. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alyson3.8Apr 2022

  • "It’s a very beautiful little cottage we had a lovely stay would defiantly stay again, and the views where amazing."

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm so pleased you have a lovely stay, Sarah. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Nov 2021

  • "A very relaxing week."

    Lovely cottage in a great location for lots of walking.

    I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine4.7Oct 2021

  • "The cottage was much smaller than expected, it really is only big enough for 2 adults."

    Finding places to dry wet gear was difficult and moving around inside was like playing “musical chairs”. It would have been better if the back door key were not on a chain so that when wet you could enter into the cottage from the kitchen rather than straight into the living room. The cottage was cosy and warm and well equipped; the bathroom is downstairs which we didn’t notice at the time of booking, we probably wouldn’t have booked it if we had been aware. The towels smelt musty and we had to wash them all before using and the cottage could do with a deep clean.

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you found the cottage too small. I am changing the description to make the size clearer. It's amazing that whole families used to live in these cottages as their full-time home. I will act on your great suggestion (at New Year) to provide more backdoor keys so that people can come in that way in boots when wet. I have spoken to the cleaner about towels; done deep clean. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lucy2.8Oct 2021

  • "Clearer instruction manuals needed, pillows were very flat."

    Would have liked outdoor seating to enjoy the lovely views.

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that the instruction manuals needed updating. Now updated. The pillows have also been changed. There are folding chairs in the under-stairs cupboard. Unfortunately, there is not enough space for a wooden bench outside our front window. We would love that too. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.4Sep 2021

  • "Great cottage in fabulous location."

    The day before we left, many of the cottages ran out of water and when we left our pressure was extremely low and most probably ran out later that day. May be worth telling guests that water comes from a natural source that may dry up!

    Hi Mrs Spencer, I'm sorry you ran short of water. There was a serious drought this summer. The natural mineral water supply for the cottage comes from the fellside before being filtered and UV treated. I am amending the website info to explain that, occasionally, the supply may be limited. Also, action is being taken to explore options for increasing the size of the holding tank. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola4.1Jul 2021

  • "We had a great time."

    Fab place for walkers with great views from the front of the cottage.

    Hi Mrs Cox, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage, and your holiday. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Jun 2021

  • "We were disappointed at how difficult it was to contact you with a couple of problems."

    The info provided by the owner in most cases was handwritten, altered & also totally out of date.

    Dear Mrs Thomas, I am sorry that you had difficulties contacting the letting agents during your stay, and that the information folder was out of date. We have now updated the information for visitors in the folder. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alexina3.1Jun 2021

  • "Honeypot cottage is in an idyllic setting with fells front and back, at the edge of the village but only 10 minutes walk to the shops and pub."

    The cottage was clean, warm and had everything we needed. There was always parking available on site. It would have been useful to know that there was no phone signal. This wasn't a problem for us but could be for some visitors. The TV reception could be a bit hit and miss and a new remote is needed as the lettering on the keys is totally worn making it difficult to know sometimes what to press. The dvd and cd player were fine. We had a wonderful week and loved the sheep and lambs regularly at the front door and on the lawn!

    Dear Ms Kingsford, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage, finding it clean, warm and in a beautiful setting. We are very pleased when visitors enjoy their holiday. There is a dedicated parking place, and I'm pleased there was no problem accessing it. We have now replaced the TV & remote, and are updating web info re lack of mobile signal / suggesting use of WhatsApp. Thank you so much. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0May 2021

  • "Parking wasn't available, house was generally dirty and unhygienic with covid measures not followed, bed covered didn't fit and mattress protector was soiled, food on ‘washed’ cutlery, glasses and plates, paint was peeling and heavily damaged."

    Dear Ms Rose, I'm so sorry you experienced difficulties during your stay. There is a dedicated parking space for each cottage. We have now had the bays & numbers for each cottage marked in fresh paint, so this should keep access for our cottage clear. I am sorry that cleaning and housekeeping let us down. I have taken this up with the agency. We have also redecorated. Thank you for your feedback. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laura1.6Apr 2021

  • "The cottage itself was very nice."

    The service from lake lovers however was slow, it was particularly difficult to speak to anyone. I had asked in September about whether or not the cottage would be decorated for over stay, which was over Christmas, however I didn’t get a response until 2 days before the start of our holiday.

    Dear Mr Ahmed, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. However, I am sorry you experienced a delay in getting a response from the letting agent regarding the provision of Christmas decorations. There may have been some uncertainty because of Covid restrictions and advice, but your enquiry should have been acknowledged promptly. I hope in the end you were able to celebrate in comfort. Mary N Property Owner

    Reviewed by Zaheer5.0Dec 2020

  • "The property location was brilliant, both for numerous walks from the door and for travelling further afield."

    The view from the front of the cottage is stunning at any time of the day. In addition having a local shop only a few minutes stroll away which sells pretty much everything was a real bonus

    Mrs GoodmanSep 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x double
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with wood and coal burning stove
  • Electric radiators with a multi-fuel stove which burns both wood and coal
  • Electric oven and induction hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer
  • Smart TV, DVD player, Sony Player, WiFi and Pure radios
  • Electricity included in rent (visitor to provide solid fuel for stove)
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car (There is one reserved car parking place, for Beck Steps, at Lingmoor View marked 1 just off the road)
  • Additional, on-road parking can be found 200 metres towards the centre of the village
  • Shared lawned garden
  • Shop 0.4 miles, pub 0.5 miles
  • Note: Limited mobile phone signal
  • Note: At times of a drought, the water supply for the cottage may be limited
  • Note: There is a small freezer in the cupboard under the stairs
  • Note: Check-in is from 4pm, check-out by 10am
  • Note: there are three small steps inside this traditional Lakeland cottage, two in the kitchen and one in bathroom, and one low doorway.

The property

Beck Steps cottage is the gable end of the row that forms Lingmoor View, next to the steps up to the open fellside.

You can hear the beck from the steps, but can you locate it?

The cottages were built in the 1860s, for local slate miners and are steeped in history.

They lie at the edge of Chapel Stile, a quiet village with a handy shop and a lovely country pub, with mangificant views to Lingmoor Fell, opposite, and to the Langdale Pikes, from the front field. Once inside Beck Steps you’ll fully appreciate the traditional character and meticulous restoration including the superb fell views, original slate floor, Herdwick wool carpet, and woodburning stove.

The kitchen / dining room is perfectly formed and finished with granite, sure to inspire some budding chefs, while the traditional sitting room is where you can spend your down time.

Upstairs to the romantic king-size bedroom with its French antique bed, traditional window shutters and an amazing view of the surrounding mountains.

The second bedroom is also beautifully furnished with a double bed.

The bathroom, situated on the ground-floor, offers a bath with a shower over.

There is a small coat and boot cupboard under the stairs, also housing garden chairs and a freezer.

The garden is a large shared open lawn with views to the Langdale Pikes, occasionally visited by Herwick sheep.

There is direct access onto the fell behind the cottage, and the back door into the kitchen is ideal when returning in boots and outdoor wear.

This fabulous self-catering holiday cottage in Chapel Stile is a rare treat for walkers and lovers of natural beauty.

It is in the heart of the stunning Langdale Valley, and the woodland alongside is home to native wildlife; look out for blue tits, coal tits, great tits, nuthatches, spotted woodpeckers and red squirrel on the bird feeder.

There is no need to use the car all week as there are plenty of walks from the door: head down the valley to Elterwater, Skelwith Bridge, Loughrigg Fell, and over Redbank to Grasmere, with its celebrated gingerbread and the Wordsworth Museum; up the valley to Dungeon Ghyll and the Langdale Pikes, Bowfell and Blea Tarn; across the valley to the Lingmoor Fell, Little Langdale, Weatherlam and Coniston.

The back path into the village of Chapel Stile passes through the old slate quarry, where the quarrymen, for whom the Lingmoor View cottages were built, once worked.

Whether you are into leisurely strolls, skimming stones, spotting wild flowers or day-long hikes, you will be spoilt for choice.

With all this walking, you are sure to build up an appetite; on your adventures, discover the Three Shires pub in Little Langdale or follow the valley down as far as Skelwith Bridge, stopping for fabulous vegetarian pizza and wonderful cakes at Chesters by the River.

Elterwater is home to The Brittannia Inn, great for beer and food, and Lanty Slee, a wine and cocktail bar serving great sharing plates.

The sister pub, Lanty Slee Langdale, further up the valley has a more extensive menu including lovely curries and pies, and even more wonderful views from the outdoor tables.

Chapel Stile is home to a Co-op shop where you can pick up the essentials, plus the Wainwright’s Inn, a cosy pub which hosts a weekly quiz night.

As you explore further afield, Ambleside is only four miles away and offers sophisticated shops, acclaimed Lake District restaurants, plenty of choice for an evening out and tempting delis for stocking up the kitchen.

From Ambleside at Waterhead Pier, you can take a steamer cruise on Lake Windermere to visit Bowness or Lakeside - two other popular Lake District holiday destinations.

There’s plenty to look forward to during a break at Beck Steps.

Note: The natural mineral water supply for the cottage comes from the fellside before being filtered and UV treated. At times of severe drought, the supply may be limited. Action is being taken to increase the size of the holding tank.

Mobile phone signal at the cottage can be intermittent. Messages and calls can be made using WhatsApp, once connected to the cottage wifi.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Ambleside and Grasmere 4.5 miles; Bowness-on-Windermere 9.5 miles.

A delightful, rural village nestled right in the heart of the beautiful Lake District National Park. Chapel Stile is an excellent hidden gem, set at the bottom of a stunning valley, flanked on one side by the River Brathay, surrounded by incredible scenery and filled with wonderful slate and stone buildings. The village offers a traditional church from the mid 1800's as well as a café, a pub and a village shop that has stood for well over 100 years. Chapel Stile is a great base for exploring this National Park, with easy access to a number of sights and fells worth visiting. You must go to the lovely neighbouring village of Elterwater and stand on the Skelwith Bridge and simply take in the views. Nearby are the fantastic Lake District towns of Ambleside and Kendal are withing a short driving distance, offering excellent views, buildings and so much to do. For you outdoors people, make sure you visit Bowness-on-Windermere, with its incredible lake activities and so much to do; it's perfect for families.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas