- Electric vehicle charging
- Off road parking
- Ground floor accommodation
- Ground floor bedroom
- Garden / Patio
- Washing machine
Reviews & Ratings
78 Customer Reviews
"Great location loved the conservatory and lake would book again peaceful and relaxing"
"Second stay at Dragonfly, even better this time as we were familiar with location and amenities, Lodge spotless and well equipped, double bed extremely comfortable."
If you like peace and quiet this is the place to come.
"Excellent holiday home , beautiful peaceful surroundings , comfortable, everything supplied for your stay !"
Maybe one thing to upgrade too would be a well situated hot tub . Thanks for a great time !
"We had a lovely time, Everything we needed for a family holiday,"
"WOW we just loved this place the moment we walked through the front door!"
It has everything you need inside and more. This is the most tranquil holiday lodge we have visited to date. The views are stunning and it is the next best thing to our boating holidays on the Norfolk Broads. We most definitely will be back! Totally recommend this lodge if you want a break away from everyday life and love watching wildlife and stargazing (the Stars were just AMAZING). We practically lived in the Conservatory overlooking the lake. There are lots of places to visit nearby and the coast is only an hour's drive away. Also the electric charger for us was a big big bonus and it worked perfectly. A big THANK YOU to the owners for sharing such a beautiful place :)
"We had a lovely quiet, peaceful relaxing holiday (unfortunately for only 1 week) in the most beautiful setting, Lodge is very comfortable with everything you need."
We spent most of our time in the conservatory looking out for wildlife. Will visit again.
"2nd time of staying at Dragonfly lodge in Norfolk."
Has plenty of equipment in kitchen and a lovely quiet area totally away from it all in the countryside of Whinburgh but only 1 hour drive to coast. Plenty room for parking.
"2nd visit and thoroughly enjoyed it again!"
such a lovely place and wonderful wildlife, especially the swans that were so friendly!! liked the new benches, flower/herb beds and fencing. only downside is the fridge/freezer that needs defrosting or preferably replacing with a frost free unit. look forward to our 3rd visit : )
"The location is so peaceful, out of the way but still a short drive to the shops, a great place for a relaxing break!"
Plenty to do in the area although the roads do make traveling distances slower than we expected. The furnishing are good quality and it is so well equipped, every utensil, pan, etc. you could need is available if you decide to cook. The welcome pack was appreciated too! We will definitely return we had a fantastic week at the lodge.
"I almost don't want to recommend this property as it was so wonderful and relaxing it may get fully booked so we couldn't use it again ."
We have stayed at lots of places and this is our favourite place we've stayed at and will definitely stay again if its available when I can get time of work
"Lovely location, well maintained, EV charging was a specific requirement and worked well as did all the other fixtures."
Would happily stay here again.
"We have had a lovely cosy week at Dragonfly Lodge."
We saw many different species of wildlife whilst looking out onto the small lake. Our dogs have also had an amazing time while exploring the woodland. The cottage had everything for our needs and was extremely comfortable. We would have no hesitation of staying her again.
"Loved our stay excellent property."
"If I'm honest I would like to say it was one to avoid, far too noisy, over looked by all the neighbours, cold, etc etc."
Shhhush!! Don't let too many people know about this little gem, stuck in the middle of nowhere, with no WiFi ( bliss ), The property is well laid out, comfortable, cosy, everything you need is there, very thoughtful welcome pack even for the hound. constant noise from the neighbour!!.....either the birds, fish splashing about and other wildlife, no light pollution so the sky's at night are stunning, Would definitely hope to make a return visit to relax & unwind, with or without the rugrats!! Plenty to do within a short journey if you did need a change of scenery, but could never get bored of the one outside the windows or on terrace. Thanks for a great stay Alfie & Family
"Lovely setting ."
Views across the lake from the conservatory are stunning The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped Only thing missing is internet Will definitely be back
"The property is ideal, no need to fix something that is'nt broken."
"A beautiful well appointed cottage in the most delightful location imaginable."
Everything you could ever wish for!
"I really don’t want to say how good this place was as I want to keep it a secret…."
. However it was spot on nice and quiet. Great to feed the fish in a morning and sit out with a bbq and camp fire. We travelled out most days to different towns and was able to charge the car so made it great value. Plenty of equipment in the kitchen. Probably the freezer needs defrosting. Clean and tidy
"Lovely location though leaving drive can sometimes be a bit a daunting as your ..."
Lovely location though leaving drive can sometimes be a bit a daunting as your emerging into fast traffic on a bendy road so a bit unsighted,but doesn't detract from being in such a beautiful location and extremely peaceful Would thoroughly recommend
"First visit to Dragonfly Lodge."
It surpassed our expectations! Location, lake, woods, wildlife etc stunning. Well maintained path around the lake. Well equipped kitchen, dishwasher plus tablets, utility room with washing machine & dryer plus washing tablets. New recliner settee very comfortable. New outside patio furniture, could do with a parasol though! BBQ worked well but needs new cover. Toilet seat needs replacing. Flies a bit of a pest (to be expected in this environment) but soon sorted with fly spray provided. Tescos, Aldi etc nearby on road to Dereham. Thoughtful welcome pack provided. We had a lovely, relaxing week, look forward to returning as soon as we can. NB directions supplied by Sykes refer to Z- beds sign to look out for, it should be Z BENDS! as correctly stated by owners in their info email sent to us a few days before our departure. Mike - July 2022
"3rd time at this awesome property and it gets better every time!"
!! As we spent more time on the decking than going out and about, this was the most relaxing break we have had!!! It’s to long a list to mention all the wildlife that lives near the cottage or pays a visit occasionally!!! We will definitely be looking to have a 4th visit as soon as we can!!!!
"Perfect hideaway haven."
Peaceful and quiet great for chilled holiday. Everything you need in lodge. Nothing too much trouble for Valerie (owner) if anything wrong. Lovely welcome package. Although in country not far to travel Sheringham, Cromer etc. Loved the wildlife too.
"This is our 2nd time here, a lovely peaceful lodge, very relaxing watching the wildlife."
Everything you need is provided plus more. The owner is very approachable if there is an issue - we had a small issue and this was promptly sorted. A couple of items had been replaced since our first visit and the area of reeds around the lake had been tidied, the glass out on the veranda had been cleaned so easier to see the wildlife in the lake while relaxing on the veranda. All in all a fantastic place to visit, would highly recommend.
"I was very disappointed with the cleanliness of the property."
Outside the front porch appeared to have not been swept which meant you trod all the dirt in the lodge, same with the veranda over looking the lake. The conservatory furniture has stains on as well as short black dog hairs on and cobwebs hanging of the lights. When we went in to the bedroom there was a big clump of either hair or dirty fluff and the drawer underneath the cooker hadn’t been cleaned in ages. It was a shame as the lodge is a very tranquil place with visits from the geese and their babies as well as being situated in a beautiful setting. I do have photos of the dog hair, cobwebs, lump of hair and the dirty drawer under the cooker.
"The most beautiful place I have stayed very peaceful every thing you need ..."
The most beautiful place I have stayed very peaceful every thing you need didn’t want to leave it’s perfect place to rest
"We arrived Christmas eve for a 10 night stay which really wasn't long enough, our stay at Dragonfly Lodge was one of the most relaxing places we have stayed."
We stayed at the lodge most of our holiday only venturing out once to get food and twice to the beach Gorleston and Brancaster the rest of the days we spent walking round the lake and the little wooded area and feeding the fish and the birds (including swans) I had to contact the owner a couple of times as unfortunately the bathroom light didn't work (previous people failed to report it) and a few days in we had a problem with the shower all I can say is Valerie the owner couldn't have been more helpful and the problems were fixed asap (thank you Valerie) also a customer service adviser from Sykes also contacted me to make sure everything had been sorted all in all one of my favourite holiday cottages I have stayed and my 2 German Shepherds loved their walks around the lake and wood and watching the wildlife from the decking area.
"I really enjoyed my stay."
Especially meditating and sitting in the Very beautiful conservatory. Having the lake so close was very nice and the short nature walk around the pond is a lovely thing to offer. I was here during the winter but I could imagine in the summer having an open fire and grilling outside would be great. The place was very clean and facilities were excellent. Everything as listed with clear and friendly instructions. The two things which I didn’t enjoy were that the the lights in the bathroom didn’t work & theother was the heating system which is very noisy as it works on a fan system which can be heard in all areas of the house and could only be silenced temporarily by setting to Eco mode which dropped the temperature considerably. Setting to eco did not always work so I spent quite a lot of time during my stay trying to silence the heating. Apart from these inconveniences I would recommend to friends
"Our 3rd visit here and still love it ,great for your dog ."
Cottage still as it was from our first visit,think its now time for a new sofa ! dont think it owes you anything,nice and clean cottage,nice place to relax,the weather was really good for usLots of fish swimming upto deck area which was nice to see,Buzzards around lots also young swans , wildlife fab if you like that sort of thing ,which we do .Hope for a return visit at some point.
"The outside area of Decking and the Porch were not well maintained at all."
The glass to the decking was filthy and we had clean this before we felt comfortable sitting there and enjoying the views. The furniture had green moss and algae over it and the area was generally dusty and full of cobwebs. Inside was better. However one night I dropped something on floor and at side if bed/just under the bed area was stained and sticky. We did not feel it was COVID Clean. There was a huge problem with flies and we felt this had been ongoing for some time due to the inside of the conservatory where there were loads. I know controversial but we felt there should have been a trap set up or a means of dealing with this, like screen to doors or something. Inside glass again dusty and dirty and I have already passed you photos if this. We did not really use the area because of this, which was a shame especially in the evenings. We also found it a bit odd that the accommodation is for 4 people but there was only 1 sofa inside to sit 3. Whilst there was lovely furniture in conservatory we were unable to use it. Sofa had seen better days with splits in cushion and tape over this which didn’t look great.
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that her recent experience at Dragonfly Lodge didn’t meet your expectations. There are several points raised in her email and we will try and address them. We would like to explain that as owners, we are several hours from this site, and, like many other business we have been signicantly affected by the pandemic in a variety of ways. In one, not being able to visit the site during lockdowns, and suppliers and services not being able to provide there usual services, either by no longer being in business, or the supply chain restricting choices. Firstly, we are very disappointed to read that you didn’t feel like the lodge was COVID clean. Regarding the floor cleanliness, dusty internal glass and cobwebs, we have immediately addressed this matter with the cleaner. Unfortunately our outside glass area, which recently was scheduled to be cleaned by our regular contractor, had to be delayed as they cancelled the appointment. We are looking into switching our contractors immediately. We didn’t realise the outside area had algae developing, and will address this imminently. We hope you can appreciates, that being so rural, there are many environmental factors (trees, flowers and wildlife) that continually disperse into the area, which does make it challenging to keep spotless! We have been looking to replace the outside furniture with durable quality pieces this summer but regrettably the garden furniture industry outside has been significantly affected by the pandemic along with supply chain difficulties, meaning it has not been able to be replaced this summer as we would have liked to. We are very surprised to read that this area was covered with moss and dusty. Prior to your visit we had several workers on site removing Norfolk Reed in front of the conservatory of the lodge to enhance the view for guests to watch the wildlife and activities in the lake. We do apologise if this work left some debris on the balustrade / decking area and we will check any area for moss, thank you for letting us know. The sofa tear has happened this summer, most likely due to a guest pet erroneously being on the furniture, apologies for this. We have looked into replacing this asap, which we cannot do until the end of the season due to the bespoke nature of the sofa. Again, finding appropriate items in stock has been challenging. We did not know of the other two splits in the sofa however, and we will make this a priority to replace. A deep clean and a window cleaner have been arranged and the furniture will be replaced as soon as possible. We are deeply appreciative that you have brought these matters to our attention. The flies can occasionally be an issue in a rural area, screens are a good idea and we will look into this. For now however, we will purchase fly paper for any occasion they are needed and guests at their own discretion can utilise this. We do give our contact details out pre arrival and Sykes Cottage also have a dedicated helpline for guests and if we had known earlier in your stay could have helped with this immediately. We are sorry we were not given the opportunity to help you at the time. Property Owner
Quiet and tranquil. Well stocked cupboards (over and above what would be expected) What 3 words/postcode not quite accurate - follow written instructions. Thoughtful and well recieved welcome gifts as well. Stayed with our 5 year old and our old lab. Great place for wildlife, swans come right up to the balcony for feeding, great place to sit out and watch the bats at dusk. Comfortable beds and hot shower. Loved our stay here, wish it could have been longer.
"A beautiful place to stay, well equipped property, hope to stay again"
"Dragonfly Lodge is beautiful accommodation in an amazing setting."
The cottage itself is well equipped and very well maintained, and was clearly cleaned to a very high standard before our arrival. What makes this extra special is the location- the views across the water are fantastic, and the cottage has been designed to enhance this. There is an abundance of wildlife, and the provision of binoculars was greatly appreciated. While there we were treated to daily visits by the swans and moorhens, were able to observe an array of birds and were also lucky enough for a brief view of the otter.
"Stars were lost due to the following points; The local pub had closed Towel rail didn’t work, shower head needed descaling."
A panel in the screen on veranda was replaced with chipboard which really spoilt the view of the lake marginal. The one lovely warm evening when we could sit out was spoilt by a cement mixer unloading into dumper trucks to-ing & fro-ing for 2 hours by the lodge. No personal welcome by owners, living onsite. Individually, the points are trivial, but for a high end property which promotes the tranquillity of the area & view of lake, they mattered.
"We have stayed before and it is a lovely quiet place to stay."
Weather was good and this time of year there is so much wildlife.
"If you like peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings, this is the the place for you."
We spent a totally relaxing week making full use of the fantastic conservatory and outdoor areas, listening to bird song and watching the activity on the lake. The cottage is extremely well equipped, no need to bring anything apart from personal items. The beds are very comfortable. We visited several N.T properties, Felbrigg, Blickling and Oxburgh and enjoyed a lovely walk on the fabulous beach at Wells-next-the-sea. I certainly recommend Dragonfly Lodge.
"Wonderful surroundings, very peaceful and ideal for walking our dogs first thing in the morning."
"Its our second time at Dragonfly Lodge and we love it, so peaceful and wildlife is amazing, will definitely be going back."
Welcome pack is very nice too
"The sense of privacy and proximity to wildlife were particularly appealing to me"
"This lodge is fabulous The location the facilities the peace and quiet The ..."
This lodge is fabulous The location the facilities the peace and quiet The wildlife and the area was a dream Would advise anyone who is a nature lover and wildlife interests to go to this location at anytime of year First class
"Lovely cottage and location, already booked next years"
"A wonderful lodge in a magical location on the very edge of the lake."
Peaceful and full of wildlife, couldn’t be better.
"Well equipped and centrally located for exploring most of Norfolk."
A great place to stay plus thoughtful welcome pack
"It is a fabulous place to stay and enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside."
The lodge is comfortable and well equipped. It is generally well presented but there could be a bit more attention to the detail of cleaning of it for the next set of guests. Overall, however i would recommend it to others and would very much like to go back to stay again.
"The peace and quiet I looking at the wildlife who is beautiful I would definitely recommend this Lodge the only thing I would say it could do with Wi-Fi but besides that absolutely wonderful Mrs Iris Chilvers p."
S. and your staff are absolutely brilliant I will be coming back to you next year
"It is a wonderful holiday retreat ."
We realy injoyed the peace and quiet and the wild life was wonderful. The only thing that would be helpfull to first timers is that the sign at the entrance is not very clear and can be mist.
Stunning location. Everything we needed. So peaceful. Amazing wildlife
"Lovely property in a fabulous location."
Ideal for days out in and around Norfolk.Warm and cosy. But I didn't have a hoover- which I need with a hairy dog!!!
"The location is perfect for a quiet getaway holiday."
If you can't do without your phone and the Internet it's not for you though.
"We had a brilliant and very relaxing break at this wonderful cottage."
A real gem of a location, very private, quite and nothing to hear but sounds of wildlife. Would highly recommend this property and location to everyone wanting to get away from reality for a few days. Can not wait to go back.
"Beautiful peaceful lodge, clean and comfortable."
Stunning scenery and wildlife. Lovely welcome pack -thank you. Totally recharged our batteries and would come again. As per other reviews needs a new frying pan and baking trays and very poor mobile reception/internet access but nothing we wasn’t aware of.
"Lovely little lodge, particularly for those who want to get away from it all (we saw only one person the whole week we were there who walked by on the other side of the lake!"
). With a pair of swans gliding up and down all day on the lake, the geese and all the other wildlife it was extremely peaceful. The lodge is not 'high end living' and the bedrooms are very small, but it was very warm and cosy and well equipped and the conservatory very relaxing to chill out in. Superb welcome pack! Our dogs felt very calm there too and enjoyed the surrounding expanse of ground immensely. Due to the weather we couldn't take advantage of the outside decking/seating area but it must be lovely to do so in the summer months. Valerie couldn't have been more helpful with a query I had at the time of booking - many thanks.
"Dragonfly Lodge is in an excellent location."
Lakeside with swans moorhens and ducks. The Lodge was extremely comfortable especially the beds, lashings of hot water and plentiful supply of cutlery china etc (Could do with a new frying pan though and a larger chopping/bread board) The underfloor heating was lovely and cosy especially coming back at night at this time of year. N.B. Be prepared for a bumpy ride up the track to the cottage.
"Best holiday I have ever had and the dogs didn’t want to come home!"
The lakeside is absolutely beautiful and lovely to walk around, the lodge was perfect had everything you could need very cosy and warm. Ten stars, thank you so much and I can’t wait to come back.
"It was all lovely"
"The cottage and location are superb."
Absolutely nothing to moan about.
"We loved the accomadation as soon a we walked in we felt right at home of course ..."
We loved the accomadation as soon a we walked in we felt right at home of course the Wifi was not available but if you cannot do without your facebook emails and mobile phone then this is not for you but if you are looking for tranquility wildlife and comfort then this place cannot be beaten we have been going in holiday cottages for years and without a shadow of a doubt this is one of the best we have been in in this country
"We had a wonderful holiday, the property was fantastic."
It was in the middle of no-where and very peaceful. It was well equipped and had 4 different places to eat which was amazing considering it was a small property! The small lake was beautiful and watching the steam trains a few times throughout the week was very exciting for my son. I would thoroughly recommend the property itself. It is an hours drive to the nearest beach, (and the weather was better than expected so we went 3 times) but that was the only downside.
"No all was as expected contact was easy to Sykes when we had a question and ..."
No all was as expected contact was easy to Sykes when we had a question and holiday owners communication good too a great place to stay well equipped and very clean the welcome pack was a nice touch we have booked with Sykes before and may well do so again thanks
"It was a fabulous holiday destination - well placed for seeing a lot of Norfolk."
Very comfy, well stocked cottage. Would recommend to friends and family.
"Absolutely stunning lodge and setting."
..perfect to relax and watch the wildlife, the lodge has everything you need and more besides, the owners have gone all out and thought of everything you need for a holiday in the lodge, the lodge is in a perfect location to explore the surrounding areas...Holt, Cromer, Wells, Sheringham to name a few. Lovely to see and go on the Mid Norfolk Railway which runs alongside the lake in front of the lodge. I would love to visit again....
"Thanks again for a wonderful place to stay We really couldnt fault this place ..."
Thanks again for a wonderful place to stay We really couldnt fault this place and would recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing tranquil base for a holiday in the norfolk area that is quite central to all that norfolk has to offer
"First class cottage and location."
Didn’t want to go out and about!!!!
"Everything - location superb, accommodation so comfy and well equipped, wildlife on the doorstep, we even managed to get good weather."
Loved it loved it loved it!
"On arrival dragonfly lodge certainly has the wow factor and you are blown away by the setting,the wildlife and the peace and quiet."
.We were so taken with the surroundings of the lodge and the initial first appearance that it wasnt until we had settled in and started to use the appliances etc that we discovered just how disgustingly dirty the place was. The oven had not been cleaned in a very long time,(because of this we ate out every night instead of enjoying meals on the decking as we hoped!!) the microwave the same and the utensils, plates, cups, bowls etc had to be washed before use.The main bin was filthy and when we emptied it we had to put the black bag in the bin outside but we couldnt as they were overflowing and there was no room! we also found the recycling bins at top of lane to be full aswell. There were cobwebs everywhere and under the settee was thick with dust and dog hairs,I know the house takes dogs,and this is why we chose it so we could take our dog, but the hair was a different colour to ours!! after stripping beds on leaving I even found dog hair stuck to the mattress protector which is not a nice thing to find..(our dog was not in the bedroom) There were also issues in the bathroom which on first appearance looked fine but dont use the toilet brush! The previous people had actually run a finger along one of the paintings in the lounge area and left the dirt for others to see? And be warned there is no wardrobe in main bedroom just 4 coat hangers behind the door,as it was just the two of us we used the wardrobe in other bedroom but this must be a nuisance if there are more people staying? I would like to say we did enjoy our holiday, Norfolk is a lovely place and there are some great places to go but this house was a disgrace, I have taken photos which I cannot put on here which is a shame.. Overall the house is in a fabulous setting but in our opinion this distracts you from the cleanliness, I hope that after our complaint the house has been sorted out and had a very deep clean, which it so needs, and that you have a good time there...good luck!
Thank you Mrs Burt for your feedback from your recent stay at Dragonfly Lodge. We are very sorry that your experience fell short of expectation, however we are pleased that you have brought this matter to our attention. After your comments were received, we immediately addressed this issue with a deep clean and we expect the property to be sparkling clean on arrival for any future guests. Our cleaner visits the property every week, and in two years we have never experienced any problems before so we were very surprised by your comments, we will continue to maintain our property to give guests the best level of service.Our property is a converted smoke house and the main bedroom does provide shelving storage for clothes, with hooks. We are planning to renovate the bedroom to provide more clothes hanging area and storage soon. We would have loved the opportunity to rectify any issues you may have experienced should we have been informed during your booking.Thanks, Valerie Property Owner
"Dragonfly Lodge is in a stunning and quite unique location."
We loved everything about it; its isolated yet within easy reach of the Norfolk Broads and the North Norfolk coast and anyone who enjoys peace and quiet and nature couldn't fail to be impressed by it. We would have no hesitation in returning.
"We really enjoyed our stay and will recommend the location to our friends and family members."
"Superb location and ideal for the dogs"
"We had a wonderful time, very relaxing."
Lovely location. Lots of wildlife.
"Really was a pleasure to be able to walk straight out of the door into the wood/lake area with our dogs."
Fortunately the weather was very good.Also the property although in country side was only 10 minutes from all shops etc.
"The location was perfect."
Peaceful and relaxing.
"Dragonfly lodge , Whinburgh near Dereham ,Norfolk is an amazingly place , ..."
Dragonfly lodge , Whinburgh near Dereham ,Norfolk is an amazingly place , fantastic scenery , the lake right up to the property , went recently in November ,sitting in the conservatory was a dream looking out at the swan ,moorhens and other wild life , very peaceful place for a good holiday , everything you need inside the lodge too , would definitely go back and recommend Dragonfly lodge
"Excellent location with plenty going on around on the lake or railway to watch if not wanting to go out for a day."
Great central location for traveling around Norfolk.
"A delightful well appointed holiday home, set in peaceful surroundings overlooking a lake."
Lovely for those who appreciate peace and quiet, and excellent for nature lovers, many species of birds viewed at close quarters, and the chance to spot deer and even otters! The art of conversation is renewed here, with no Internet access, put away your smartphone for a week and enjoy! There are plenty of supermarkets a few miles down the road at dereham, and the cottage is ideally placed to tour Norfolk. A lovely week spent here.
"The lodge was in a wonderful location, it was well equipped and there was a great welcoming pack."
The owners emailed me really good directions beforehand and helped with other requests straight away. Great place to unwind.
"Excellent property and location."
Main living area might be a little cramped for 4 adults and maybe a gate on the patio would be good as this would be good in keeping both children and pets safe and to stop them wondering off. do not follow satnav as this got us as far as a dead end in Yaxham, FOLLOW the directions given by the owners.
"Cottage was fantastic!"
Central to most visitor locations. Facilities in the cottage were excellent - abundance of cooking utensils & crockery was much appreciated. Also the entertainment system was first class, with freeview recorder & Blu-Ray player and top-notch sound system (also DVDs and CDs for the cold / rainy days!). The location is nothing short of perfect and idyllic. Very quiet and picturesque with plenty of wildlife to watch. We saw the eponymous dragonflies - plus bats, owls, kingfisher, deer, rabbits and ducks. Our dogs loved the location and enjoyed lazing in the conservatory or on the decking and exploring around the lake. Whilst we appreciated the escape from modern life - as a potential upgrade, internet connectivity would be a massive bonus as the entire area (Norfolk!) is a mobile blackspot which can make searching for activities & places of interest and contacting them rather difficult.
"This was a beautiful, well presented, private location- we have come home totally relaxed."
We arrived to a welcome pack including a bottle of wine and essential provisions. Wholey recommend
- Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin (zip/link, can be king-size on request)
- Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
- Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
- Solar panels and Air-source heat pump central heating with underfloor heating
- Private water supply from a borehole, which is stringently tested and certified annually
- Electric oven, induction hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
- TV with Freeview, DVD, CD/radio, selection of books and games
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- Off road parking for 2 cars
- There is an electric car charging point available but please bring your own charging lead
- Enclosed decking with furniture and barbecue
- Private use of lawned area and shared waterside walks (map provided at property) Two well-behaved pets welcome, small welcome dog pack supplied, please bring a pet blanket, we do provide pet rollers for your use
- Please keep dogs supervised at all times
- Sorry, no smoking
- Shop 2.8 miles, pub 2.6 mile
- Note: There is unfenced open water surrounding the lodge, children and pets must be supervised at all times
- Note: There is to be no swimming or fishing in the lakes
- Note: There is a second private property on site, sections of land have been purposely allocated for guest's use and boundaries should be respected
- Note: Mobile reception can be intermittent
- Note: Dogs must be kept on leads in the garden due to avian flu being present, large lead will be provided
Dereham 3.8 miles.
Tucked away between the villages of Whinburgh and Garvestone is Dragonfly Lodge.
It is set in this tranquil, peaceful location surrounded by lakes and grassland.
This beautiful lodge on the water edge offers an ideal escape for couples, families, friends, and solo travellers alike.
Step into this lodge to the open plan living and kitchen area with beautiful views of the lake and grassland beyond.
There is a twin bedroom and a double bedroom with a shared bathroom facing the back of the property and to the front, with access via the living room, is a wonderful large sun room with rattan furniture, ideal for watching wildlife whatever the time of the year, or just enjoying a good book.
Doors from the sun room lead through to the private decked area stretching out to the water’s edge.
The decking is ideal for alfresco dining, nature watching or just relaxing and sunbathing during the warmer months.
When you can tear yourself away there is plenty to enjoy nearby, wonderful walking from your doorstep and cycling around country lanes, linking beautiful market towns and villages or hop in the car and visit historical, coastal and cultural places.
The Mid Norfolk Railway steam train often runs music and Fish and Chip events which is well worth trying.
On clear nights enjoy excellent stargazing and satellite watching.
With its central position in Norfolk, this attractive lodge lends itself perfectly for exploring the county if you can tear yourself away from its beautiful location.
Tucked away in woodland on an unmade road, you are hard pushed to remember that you have good access to so many places to visit nearby as you take the drive through the trees up to the lakes and arrive at your lakeside lodge.
The nearby market town of Dereham is well worth a visit with its excellent selection of shops, cafes and restaurants.
If you enjoy shopping and culture, don't miss the historical city of Norwich with extensive shopping, events, and historical sites to enjoy such as the cathedrals, castles and a vast selection of museums.
Take a drive up to the Norfolk coast and enjoy the vibrant seaside towns and fishing villages.
There are a number of nature reserves dotted around the county and fascinating stately homes, not to mention the Royal residence of Sandringham with its magnificent house and gardens to explore.
Dragonfly Lodge is a wonderful holiday home that will leave you wanting to return to East Anglia year after year.
Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.
About the location
Yaxham 1 mile; Dereham 3.8 miles, Hingham 5.4 miles.
This friendly and picturesque village has a beautiful church and provides a local pub which serves excellent Mexican food if you fancy a night off from cooking. There is also a park where you can take the dogs for a stroll and have a kick about with the children. The nearby village of Yaxham has a mill with a restaurant, a church, a local farm shop and be sure to visit Yaxham Waters which has a café and fully enclosed play area with animals for the children to feed. Dereham enjoys excellent local amenities, which include Bishop Bonner’s Cottage Museum, the magnificent 13th century church of St Nicholas, along with a wide selection of high street shops. On the edge of Dereham you can enjoy a journey on East Anglia’s longest heritage railway - the Mid Norfolk Railway, with steam and diesel trains to choose from. Just outside Dereham you can step back in time with a visit to Gressenhall Rural Life Museum and discover what traditional country life was like in Norfolk. A fantastic part of Norfolk to visit at any time of the year.
Please Note: Pets are welcome, but please clean up after your pet before you leave, we do supply pet bags and pet hair rollers for soft furnishings.
Please use the compostable bin provided.
Note: There is unfenced open water surrounding the lodge, children and pets must be supervised at all times. Note: There is to be no swimming or fishing in the lakes. Note: There is a second private property on site, sections of land have been purposely allocated for guest's use and boundaries should be respected. Note: Mobile reception can be intermittent. Please note: There is a £100 Good Housekeeping bond on this property
Please make sure the BBQ is out before leaving unattended.