In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Wales 1 minutes ago

9 people have recently viewed this property

Bwthyn y Mor

Borth-y-Gest near Porthmadog, North Wales & Snowdonia (Ref. 1007285)

4.1

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Highchair available
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

21 Customer Reviews

  • "First time staying here and what a lovely property in a perfect location, tucked away in the beautiful Borth-Y-Gest with easy access to the beach and coastal walks and near by Porthmadog."

    Lovely property to stay in to celebrate New Years eve with friends, warm, welcoming and comfortable for six of us to stay together for a few days. Well equipped kitchen, very clean property, with comfortable couches and beds, bedding was supplied and of a good standard. We will definitely be back to stay again!

    Reviewed by NicholaDec 2021

  • "Had a fabulous week at Bwthyn Y Mor."

    It had everything I needed with a well equipped kitchen , good wi fi, which enabled me to work for the first 2 days and the addition of the smart TV fabulous for a couple of rainy nights including storm Barra. The only thing missing was a torch/ candles as the village had a power cut during the storm but hardly a normal occurrence ! I wanted a weeks relaxing with my dog and the accommodation and Borth Y Gest delivered.

    Reviewed by EleanorDec 2021

  • "Unfortunately, whilst this property was adequate for our needs the general standard of maintenance we expect from Menai Property holidays below the standard expected."

    e.g. the paintwork required upgrading throughout. Bathroom floorboards need attention as there appears to have been a leak which has also badly stained the landing carpets. The ceiling in the kitchen needs a repair The sofa covers in the living room are very grubby and need cleaning. The carton of milk left in the fridge for us was out of date.

    Thank you for your feedback and we’re sorry that the cottage didn’t meet your expectations. Unfortunately we were unable to travel (due to covid travel restrictions) after October 2020 until April 2021 to do planned winter maintenance. Since re-opening in April 2021 we have been fully booked with insufficient time between lets to address what you have mentioned. We are planning to refurbish accordingly during the quieter winter months. As you have mentioned, we did have a leak, the visual effects of which are fairly minor and hopefully didn’t detract from the enjoyment of your holiday. We apologise regarding the milk error, there must have been an older carton at the back of the storage cupboard that we missed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChristineOct 2021

  • "Overall the property is very tired and desperate need of repainting throughout."

    .carpets need changing and bathroom floor. Main bed creeks everytime you move...overal not up to our expections... We still enjoyed our holiday as borth y gest is beautiful and lots to see and do

    Thank you for your feedback and we’re sorry that the cottage didn’t meet your expectations. Unfortunately we were unable to travel (due to covid travel restrictions) after October 2020 until April 2021 to do planned winter maintenance. Since re-opening in April 2021 we have been fully booked with insufficient time between lets to address what you have mentioned. We are planning to refurbish accordingly during the quieter winter months. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TraceySep 2021

  • "Great cottage location, we've found everything we needed."

    Beautiful place and lovely people. Would love to come back.

    Reviewed by MariaMay 2021

  • "We had a lovely holiday in Bwthyn y Mor."

    The house is very comfortable and the area is very quiet. Despite the fact there is no fenced in garden you can still sit outside in a seating area. This backs onto a very pleasant grassed area where we saw squirrels and lots of different birds - we even had 2 ducks calling at the house every evening waiting to be fed! Borth-Y-Gest is a lovely place to stay with walks from the doorstep and is within easy reach of everywhere you would want to visit. I would definitely recommend it.

    Reviewed by JenniferMay 2021

  • "A delightful cottage in a most delightful location."

    Most courteous communications from owner.

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2021

  • "The terraced home is good size, nice kitchen and sitting area, and good touch to have all channels on TV including Netflix films."

    Just a very short walk to beautiful bay area with walks to beaches. Beautiful areas all within 20 miles or so. Garden needs some attention as it is very open to playing field and other properties. Owner has already said he is looking at this area for upgrade. GS - Wells, Somerset

    Reviewed by GeoffApr 2021

  • "Everyone we met were very friendly and all took notice of the social distancing."

    There is a really good Bistro 2 minutes away on the seafront which served excellent takeaways, from 9 am breakfast through lunch to evening dinners. Beautiful coastal walking.

    Reviewed by JeanOct 2020

  • "We had a lovely time at the cottage, found everything we needed."

    It is a shame they have had to put ornaments, books, leaflets, etc away, but it didn't spoil our enjoyment. The cottage is in a lovely quiet position within the pretty village. There are many lovely surrounding walks from just outside the doorstep. There are two cafe / bistros in the village both doing takeaways - which were very nice. Lovely holiday, thank you .

    Reviewed by DeeSep 2020

  • "Lovely house in a great place, especially if you like walking as the coastal path is just round the corner."

    Very clean and well maintained, comfortable sofas and beds. Super part of Wales to visit, would recommend this accommodation

    Reviewed by BevSep 2020

  • "Had a lovely time staying in Bwthyn y Mor at Borth y Gest."

    The accommodation had everything we needed. Had a few queries, contacted the owner who answered them quickly. I was glad that we stayed in Borth y Gest rather than Porthmadog....it was very busy there. However there were some nice shops in Porthmadog...good to see a number of independent shops rather than the usual. Its a great place to stay for touring the area. I didn't want to cook in the the evening so had a takeaway each evening form the Bistro, 1 minute walk away. Altogether a lovely holiday.

    Reviewed by ShelaghSep 2020

  • "It was an excellent base for us although rather small."

    The little bedroom was just big enough for the bunk beds but the children managed. The area is beautiful, so close to the sea and a 20 minute walk into Porthmadog. We loved it.

    Reviewed by ChristineAug 2020

  • "Great location, loved beautiful Borth y Gest and it's views."

    Great for walks directly from the property, inland and coastal. Property on the surface tidy and clean, could have done with a deep clean. First impressions in doorway needed a lick of paint and other areas ie bathroom.

    Reviewed by HelenJul 2020

  • "We had a lovely time in this cottage."

    It's perfect for walking the dog and has everything for a great holiday. Very comfortable accommodation and the tea, coffee, milk and biscuits were very welcome on our arrival and a lovely touch

    Reviewed by IslaOct 2019

  • "I felt that the accommodation was a bit grubby."

    The floors, especially in the shower room, did not seem to have been cleaned. There was dust on all the skirting boards, and on the wall hangings. The shower room would benefit from a few additional items. A bigger mirror with a shelf below for toiletries over the sink, some tiling at the back of the sink, and an extractor fan to combat the condensation problem. Also, a hairdryer would be a useful item in the bedroom. Having said all that, we did enjoy our holiday. The location was perfect for access to the coastal walks and beaches.

    Due to this we have changed our cleaners from 5th October to ensure that this doesn’t happen again Property Owner

    Reviewed by JeanSep 2019

  • "We most enjoyed finding a lovely beautiful beach that we had in 60 years never found."

    The owners had recommended it. It was also a very peaceful house for me to have solitude, but with easy access to beach and town without a car. Thank you

    Reviewed by AmandaAug 2019

  • "This was our third visit to the property and it was just as lovely as ever."

    It is pretty, comfortable, in a wonderful location and has everything we need. Judging from the visitors' book, lots of other guests return year after year, so it is clearly a popular home, and justifiedly so. We're looking forward to coming again soon.

    Reviewed by ClaireAug 2019

  • "An enjoyable first visit to Borth y Gest in a comfortable holiday property."

    Everything ran smoothly. The property was comfortable, and liked the quirky seaside theme decor. It was clean and well equipped, with comfortable beds. Appreciated the large bath towels, which were big enough to wrap yourself in after a shower - so often not the cast in hotels and holiday lets. Only a very short level walk to the sea, about 2 minutes, and think this should be mentioned in the particulars to encourage booking.

    Reviewed by GeraldineMay 2019

  • "Lovely location , house everything you need so close to the beach , lovely walks with the dog !"

    ! Black rock sands a must on a nice day , would defiantly go again ..

    Reviewed by GeoffreyMay 2019

  • "Everyone in our party were impressed with the comfort & cleanliness of the property."

    It is ideally situated for walking & the kids ( and us ) loved the nearby beaches.

    Reviewed by AnthonyApr 2019

Show more

This property is part of the Menai Holidays collection.
Over 400 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

The property

Bwthyn y Mor is a lovely coastal-themed holiday cottage, decorated in muted, relaxing colours to aid you in a relaxing break.

It has a sunny south-facing garden and overlooks a pretty village green in the popular seaside village of Borth y Gest on the Llyn Peninsula.

Within walking distance are several beautiful sandy coves leading to the glorious and well known Black Rock Sands beach.

Visitors to Borth y Gest return time and time again.

It has a pretty bay and a popular bistro and tea shop, both with stunning views.

There is also somewhere to buy your morning paper and milk.

A two-minute drive or a ten-minute walk will take you to Porthmadog, which has a great selection of shops, restaurants, bars and a supermarket to stock up on your holiday essentials.

This is a great location from which to visit Snowdonia, Portmeirion and the Welsh Highland Railway - or, for something a little different, go llama trekking in Morfa Bychan!

Ideal for a family, this is a welcoming house in a popular holiday hotspot.

We're sure it will book quickly, so don't delay!

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x bunk
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Sitting room SMART TV & electric flame-effect stove.
  • Gas central heating with electric flame-effect stove
  • Double electric oven with induction hob, microwave integrated fridge/freezer, integrated washer/dryer, integrated dishwasher, SMART TV, DVD, CD player, iPod dock, WIFI, selection of games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen inc. in rent
  • Towels are not provided at this time
  • Travel cot (no linen) and highchair
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Garden with patio and furniture overlooking communal green
  • Two well-behaved dog welcome, first dog included, second dog at £20 per week
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1.2 miles
  • 1 Minute flat walk to the sea
  • Restaurant and cafe 0.25 miles and actual pub 1.1 miles
  • Note: The garden is not enclosed and rolls directly onto the communal green.

View on map

About the location

BORTH-Y-GEST

Porthmadog 1.2 miles; Criccieth 6 miles.

Borth-y-Gest is a quiet Welsh seaside village of mainly Victorian houses retaining much charm and character. Located by the mouth of the River Glaslyn, and a short drive away from the Italian styled village of Portmeirion, this pretty Welsh village has stunning panoramic views over the sands and estuary to the historic Harlech Castle and the Snowdonia National Park beyond. This North Wales village has two bistros and a coffee lounge all located on the front overlooking the bay and all with dog-friendly outdoor seating areas; perfect places to while away the hours watching the comings and goings of the local boatmen. Borth-y-Gest, with its sheltered coves and sandy beaches, has walking in abundance; why not head up Moel-y-Gest or take a wander over the headland to the famous Black Rock Sands, or go a little further afield where the vast Snowdonia National Park awaits? For a day out you can take a trip on the famous Ffestiniog Steam Railway and Welsh Highland Railway from Porthmadog, only a 15 minutes' walk away, or for those with younger children why not visit the shorter but more child-focussed Welsh Highland Heritage Railway? For a day trip the entire Llyn Peninsula calls. With Anglesey within reach and the whole North Wales coast with the Wales Coast Path to be explored, Borth-y-Gest has it all: a quiet bolt hole but conveniently located for ease of access to this stunning area, a must at any time of the year.

Region Information

Note: The Garden is not enclosed and rolls directly onto the communal green

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it