In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Snowdrop - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 946463 - photo 1


(Ref. 946463)

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North York Moors & Coast Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (18)
  • lodge (17)
  • only (16)
  • clean (15)
  • saltburn (14)
  • comfortable (14)

53 Customer Reviews

  • "Location was stunning - lodge was clean and welcoming."

    Would definitely stay again. Would have liked to be able to walk down to Saltburn through wooded valley but paths seemed too treacherous. A pity the hotel is not open to non residents. Large stores for supply short drive away - very useful. Really beautiful country estate.

    Reviewed by Gillian3.8May 2024

  • "Really good base to stay in."

    Accurate description and generally well kitted out in the kitchen. Just lacking a spatula and wooden spoons if I was going to be picky! Brilliant to have the laundry room, particularly as we used wetsuits so good to have somewhere outside the main living area to hang them!

    So pleased you enjoyed your stay including the surf, we dont supply wooden spoons but there should have been a spatula - we will get houskeeping to check it out and replace. Hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amy4.4Apr 2024

  • "We had a enjoyable and relaxing stay."

    We will use stay at one of your cottages again in the future.

    Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Some of our Lodges are only avalable to be booked direct with ourselves. Property Owner

    Reviewed by A3.8Sep 2023

  • "First class accommodation Nice view's and surrounding Great wood land walk Nice to see wildlife up close"

    We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Rushpool Holiday Homes and enjoyed the walks in our own woods / grounds that surround the neighbouring hotel Hope to see you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Jul 2023

  • "On arrival we found the cabin warm, comfortable and a nice welcome pack."

    The setting was quiet, peaceful but only a few minutes away from the nearest town that had all the shops and different restaurants we needed and not too far away other places of interest, a pleasant distraction was the friendly peacocks that enjoyed being fed.

    Reviewed by Leslie4.7Oct 2022

  • "Very comfortable lodge in a lovely quiet and peaceful setting."

    Everything was spotlessly clean. We had an excellent holiday thank you. Just one gripe - I know it was made very clear that this property had no dining table but we did find the swivel chairs and breakfast bar difficult. Perhaps a small fold away table and chairs could be placed under the window??

    We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Snowdrop Lodge. Perhaps a stay in one of the other Lodges next time if you prefer a Dining Table - there is only Lavender and Snowdrop which dont have one. Thank you again for your review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ann5.0Jul 2022

  • "Excellent property and location very close to all amenities whilst still being ..."

    Excellent property and location very close to all amenities whilst still being in a rural location with excellent walks available in the woods loved the wildlife and the peacocks would certainly recommend

    Thank you so much for your lovely review - the peacocks really appreciate it Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Jul 2022

  • "Lovely surprise welcome hamper & treats for dog Lodge clean well equipped, ample seating area, ideal separate utility area."

    Rooms comfortable spacious, great shower Beautiful grounds a hidden gem Lovely relaxing time certainly be back Only downfall no gate patio area to stop child/pet running out cooker hood very dusty, food left in cupboard

    Thank you for your review and would love to welcome you back. Our apologies re the cooker hood and cupboard we will speak to our housekeeping management company regarding this. We are currently looking to possibly adapting the metal fences to include gates as Bugle and Lavender balconies have proved popular. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Jul 2022

  • "These holiday homes are in a lovely peaceful setting, yet close enough to amenities but you do need to drive or use a taxi as the nearby roads don't have footpaths."

    It is an ideal base if you want to visit the north Yorkshire coast or the moors. My only gripe is that when we returned home I received an email saying I would be charged for damage we had caused, after querying this I was then told that the owners had closed the case down. As far as we can recall we did not cause any damage, but me and my wife are still feeling very anxious after the accusation. But I would still recommend Rushpool holiday homes for a break away. Ken

    We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. When housekeeping entered the Lodge the noticed you had not taken the linen off the beds etc as is required - there was vomit on one of the single beds, bed base and up the wall - we contacted Sykes in case the extent of the vomit had penetrated the mattress and what redress we had. We agreed with Sykes not to charge any costs as the damage did not extend more than extra time deep cleaning, we were unaware Sykes had already contacted you prior to our investigations being completed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kenneth3.8Jun 2022

  • "The lodge was very comfortable and spotlessly clean."

    Everything you could wish for. It was a 5 minute drive to the beach and only 3 minutes to supermarkets. Very relaxing break.

    We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - it is a pleasure to receive lovely feedback on all the hardwork we do to ensure you enjoy your time at this special little place. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynda5.0Jun 2022

  • "A lovely quiet spot but with good links to Saltburn by the Sea."

    The cottage was well-equipped with Netflix provided and the elderberry wine was welcome. My husband is disabled and he had no problems navigating the property. I would definitely consider booking the property again in the future. Thank you for a lovely break, complete with peacocks.

    Us and the peacocks would love to see you again - thank you for your lovely review Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0May 2022

  • "If it is a cabin for 4 should have seating at the table for 4 not 2"

    Reviewed by Bryan3.8Apr 2022

  • "The lodge is nice, in secluded grounds and all of the basics are to be had."

    We enjoyed our stay, the weather was kind and everyone was friendly. On the last day the hearing failed but the maintenance man came out quickly and sorted the problem out. A squirrel had gnawed through a pipe! There were only a few minor issues. (Listed below), we would definitely come back. 1. There is no path through the woods into Saltburn, instead you have to walk down a busy road for 15 minutes with no pavements. 2. The Wi-fi was a bit hit and miss and BBC channels on TV were unwatchable. 3. The lighting in the lodge was quite dim.

    Reviewed by Steve4.1Oct 2021

  • "A well positioned, well maintained, clean property with plenty of room."

    It suited our needs perfectly and is by far the best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in. Saltburn offered all we needed with a lovely beach and country park even a brass band playing on the bandstand. A most enjoyable holiday we shall certainly return at some point. Booking procedure and all communications were excellent.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Sep 2021

  • "Everything regarding the lodge was very good."

    Only thing I would say would be the music noise coming from the hotel in the evenings after the weddings was a bit annoying going on to past midnight. we had this on the saturday and sunday.

    We can only apologise for the noise but it is out of our control and they work to a "local council led limit regarding noise levels" However the lodges on the far side of the park may be better suited as they are quieter. Hope it didn't spoil stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Antony4.7Sep 2021

  • "The cabin was not clean behind beds cobwebs and spiders; rubbish under beds; mattresses poor quality may as well have slept on floor."

    clearly had not been cleaned. Noise from wedding in hall loud til almost 2a.m. So access not good for disabled people specially if using wheelchairs. Being a disabled person disappointed as no facilities other than walks on grounds which were on some steep areas of grounds.

    Thank you for your feedback though we were surprised to read your comments.The comfort of mattresses can be subjective but we can reassure you that the mattresses are of the highest quality, however had you contacted us during your stay we would have been very happy to have tried to help. The property is not described as suitable for guests with limited mobility, if you have specific requirements the Reservations Team at Sykes would have been happy to advise you of the suitability of the property. We do apologise if you were disturbed by the wedding party at the nearby hotel, unfortunately this is beyond our control. As the property is located in ancient woodland, though the lodges are thoroughly cleaned between guests, spiders can enter the lodges and new webs created but again, had we been made aware of any issues we would have been more than happy to assist. We do hope the above points noted didn't spoil your weeks stay at Saltburn. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marion1.6Sep 2021

  • "A very peaceful location not too far from the promenade at Saltburn."

    Snowdrop is advertised as being for 4 persons but there is no dining table and only 2 stools at the breakfast bar. Kitchen utensils were in short supply Overall a very enjoyable experience for 2 people

    Thank you for your review - Snowdrop is a very popular lodge as it is primarily available for 2 adults and 2 children - hence the 2 single beds and we found that most guests preferred to eat in the lounge whilst watching TV . If there were any utensils we had not thought of you should have given us a ring and we could have tried to accommodate you but we are glad it did not take from your enjoyment of the Lodge and the peace and quiet of the surrounding woodlands Property Owner

    Reviewed by Muriel4.1Aug 2021

  • "There is mould in the shower on the tiles and the rug in the main bedroom needs a good deep cleaning - but apart from that a lovely little lodge - great location - a lovely well thought out welcome basket."

    Kitchen was very clean. A lovely little break. Would stay again. Thank you

    Reviewed by Katherine4.1Aug 2021

  • "The Lodge was very clean and comfortable and well equipped."

    The surroundings were beautiful and just right for a peaceful stay. We really appreciated the Welcome Pack. Especially the bottle of Elderberry Wine! Thank you.

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Jul 2021

  • "We had a lovely holiday at Snowdrop but just found the beds very uncomfortable."

    Reviewed by Victoria3.8Jun 2021

  • "Clean, comfortable and very well equipped accommodation in a lovely location."

    The welcome pack was a lovely touch and appreciated. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely look to book again.

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0May 2021

  • "Only three faults - bed not v comfortable, poor lighting in kitchen, and wifi could be better."

    Reviewed by Steven4.4May 2021

  • "The lodge itself was amazing, the area around was ideal."

    The only small details that slightly bothered me was wear and tear in the lodge. One of the stools has a broken handle one of the chairs springs are gone with a small tear on it. And the last was while the lodge was clean you could see dust in the corners and around the edges. Even a pair of socks from previous people.

    Reviewed by William4.1Apr 2021

  • "We would very highly recommend the lodge we stayed in and the location."

    This was an absolutely stunning setting in a quiet peaceful location with stunning wooded pathways for dog walking and general relaxing strolls. The Lodge was warm and welcoming and had every amenity needed to make a wonderful comfortable stay. The furnishings and beds were super comfortable and clean. and the outside patio area idyllic for sharing a morning coffee or evening wine and chatting. The only reservation is bring an internet booster along as the wifi is rather slow, cellphone reception is great, just wifi for laptops etc is limited if say you had to do an hour two working during your stay you might struggle with the wifi speed. But that is a minor niggle, and the benefits hugely outweigh that small issue. The easy minute or two drive from the lodge to Saltburn by the Sea brings you to the beach and the pier and a wonderful collection of sea view restaurants, pubs and chip shops or to the magnificemt clifftop walks on the Cleveland way giving just stunning views over the bay. As you can see we are besotted and are missing it now we are home. We just have to visit again !

    Reviewed by P5.0Apr 2021

  • "Comfortable well located lodge."

    Lovely peaceful setting. The separate laundry drying room was very useful. Staff on site were really helpful and went the extra mile to sort ‘patchy wi if’ and provided a booster within 5 mins. We are regulars in Saltburn so will use the lodges again and recommend to family.

    Reviewed by Philippa4.4Mar 2020

  • "The property was in a lovely quiet setting, very clean with a well equipped kitchen."

    The double bed matress was not very comfy nor the sofa in the lounge. You can walk through the woods to the town during the day. It would not be suitable at night as it is not lit. Our accomodation slept 4 but only had 2 chairs at the breakfast bar to sit at when eating so it needed a dining table and chairs. Eating your evening meal on your lap is not very practicle.

    Reviewed by Anna4.4Jan 2020

  • "When we arrived it was so cold only 13degrees it took about 8hrs to get warm."

    The kitchen only had 2 mugs which I felt very inadequate also I feel the kitchen was poorly equipped for cooking meals only 1 waste bag and only 1dishcloth and tea towel. On the plus side the grounds were beautiful and easy to get round

    Reviewed by Kathleen4.7Dec 2019

  • "Warm comfortable and clean,The cabin was larger than expected, would certainly recommend."

    Stayed there for a wedding occasion which took out all the hassle of getting to the venue on the day..

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Nov 2019

  • "We found the chalet a very good base, well appointed and warm, and the setting is wonderful."

    With the chalets being pet friendly, a small enclosed patio or garden would be really helpful especially with younger dogs. The bedrooms are a very good size (we only needed one of two) and for us, it would have been better to have had a larger living/kitchen area and smaller bedrooms. Overall though, very good accommodation.

    Reviewed by Neil4.4Oct 2019

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed the cottage, it was beautiful and the grounds were so nicely kept it was a pleasure to walk round."

    The place of Saltburn was just lovely old Victorian seaside town and a beautiful park, all in all had a lovely week, weather helped too

    Reviewed by Veronica Lynne4.7Sep 2019

  • "No everything was fine."

    Reviewed by Ann5.0Aug 2019

  • "The only criticism I could have is that the patio area wasn't gated so to keep the dog on a lead when sat out."

    Reviewed by Eric5.0Jul 2019

  • "Very comfortable and quiet, easy access to Saltburn."

    My wife had a need to see a doctor and directions to get this help was provided by the Hotel staff and the problem was solved.

    Reviewed by Keith5.0Jun 2019

  • "Very nice and quiet."

    Lovely grounds. We left a day and night earlier as we were informed, at very short notice, less than 3 hours, that there was going to be a prom night and cars would be parked near us as the car parks get full and if we needed to get out to go anywhere we would have to leave by 5.30. Nothing was mentioned at check in. As my wife suffers from severe anxiety and is fearful in crowded places where there is a lot of people, we felt we had little choice but to cut our holiday short. It was the gardener who told us and said it happens every year.

    Reviewed by Paul2.8Jun 2019

  • "Nice quiet surroundings which is set in woodland with some good walks for both yourself and a dog."

    Friendly helpful staff at the hotel. You are left alone to your own devices when you are there. Saltburn-by-the-sea beach is only 5 mins down the road. There is a Sainsbury’s store at the top of the hill an Saltburn.

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Apr 2019

  • "Nice warm cabin with all facilities."

    Lounge seating could have been more comfortable but perfectly adequate. Reception staff helpful. WiFi poor and intermittant but this could have been due to our particular cabin location but all Freeview channels available on the TV.

    Reviewed by Roger4.7Apr 2019

  • "Very comfortable,warm and welcoming- a lovely touch with the welcome bottle of wine !"

    The staff were very friendly. The chalet was modern throughout and well equipped . The separate laundry area / room was a must when on a mainly walking / beach holiday. I shall return

    Reviewed by Shona4.7Mar 2019

  • "Fabulous setting would definitely recommend and return"

    Reviewed by Hazel4.7Mar 2019

  • "Location is superb with the lodge being situated with an elevated view of the beautifuly maintained grounds of Rushpool Hall, which in itself is an impressive building."

    An area for approx 10 lodges is set aside. Very relaxing with the occasional peacock or partridge walking past whilst your having breakfast. The lodge is to a very good standard with 2 bedrooms, a kitchen, lounge & a shower/toilet room. We particularly like the shower being hot and powerful. Additionally we had a slabbed sitting out area to relax in. A great location for hill or beach walks. Nearby Saltburn is a charming coastal town that can be accessed in 5 mins. No hesitation in recommending these lodges for a relaxing get away. We'll be back

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Feb 2019

  • "We arrived late on Friday night due to traffic, but the reception desk staff made us very welcome and we were really impressed with the quality of the lodge( snowdrop ) that we stayed in."

    The grounds and walks to beach are so pretty and relaxing we only wish we had booked a longer stay ! We really appreciated the high standard of fittings and decor in the lodge and hope to return again. Thanks Terry & Helen.

    Reviewed by Terry5.0Oct 2018

  • "Had a lovely surprise on arriving there was a bottle of elderberry wine for us ..."

    Had a lovely surprise on arriving there was a bottle of elderberry wine for us and treats for our dog really lovely cottage in beautiful grounds lots of walks recomend visit to saltburn on the sea

    Reviewed by Valerie4.4Oct 2018

  • "Fantastic cottage fantastic location"

    Reviewed by Yvonne5.0Aug 2018

  • "Fabulous woodland location and lovely lodge."

    Unfortunately the walk to Saltburn was much longer than advertised (now via road and through field and back into woods) as the route via Rushpool Hall had been washed away last year. They intend to remedy this next year. Easy routes to all surrounding areas by car and the cliff top walks were amazing!!

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Jul 2018

  • "Had a great time in a lovely location"

    Reviewed by John4.7Jun 2018

  • "Snowdrop lodge was okay and set in the grounds of Rushpool hall with lovely walks on the doorstep."

    However the easy chairs and settee were very uncomfortable and the double bed was in the same category. We had to go out and buy a baking tray because the one supplied was not fit for purpose. The cutlery was cheap and nasty, the Wi-fi worked intermittently. Very disappointed.

    Reviewed by Kenneth2.5Jun 2018

  • "The lodge was lovely but bed and lounge furniture needs replacing also WiFi was almost on excitststant"

    Reviewed by Kenneth3.1May 2018

  • "WiFi range could be better"

    Reviewed by Ian4.7May 2018

  • "Loved our stay in Snowdrop, already booked another week."

    The cabin was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Both us and our dog enjoyed the woodland walk in the grounds of Rushpool Hall and the peacocks made the stay even more special.

    Reviewed by Jayne5.0Apr 2018

  • "A very frosty reception at the hotel to pick up the cottage keys."

    Greeted with a surly "hotel bar out of bounds", "hotel restaurant out of bounds" and "parts of the grounds out of bounds". Now, I know we didn't book a hotel stay, but surely a "welcome" would have been nice followed by " oh, by the way, we have a function this weekend, so unfortunately......." The cottage was very cold on arrival - 2nd week in November and heating not on in preparation for our arrival. The state of some of the crockery and kitchen utensils was awful. I have a picture of the oven tray if you like - disgusting! Glass-ware and cutlery far from clean - not what I would have expected. The sofa in Snowdrop was most uncomfortable and should be replaced. Advertised broadband/wifi was very sketchy to say the least. Not usable most of the time and had to resort to data-roaming.

    Reviewed by Edward1.9Nov 2017

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our week The grounds were outstanding."

    Loved saltburn .Every comfort in the cabin

    Reviewed by M5.0Sep 2017

  • "Additional to the facilities I do think there could have been: 1."

    A small wall mirror in the living room and/or bedroom. (kneeling down to look through the wardrobe door mirror was not ideal!) 2. A clock in the kitchen. 3. A small vacuum cleaner?

    Reviewed by Keith5.0Sep 2017

  • "We enjoyed the place."

    The lodge was excellent in terms of quality and comfort. We have already booked again for later this year.

    Reviewed by Jack5.0Feb 2017

  • "Wi Fi is non existent old fashioned dial up in the hall but apart from that loved it"

    Reviewed by Wendy4.8Feb 2017

Show more Hide all


  • All ground floor
  • One double bedroom and 1 twin room
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen and sitting area
  • Utility.
  • 1 oven of type: electric
  • Hobs
  • Microwave
  • Freezer
  • Fridge
  • Fridge Freezer
  • Washing Machine
  • Washer Dryer
  • TV
  • Wi-Fi included
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen inc. in rent
  • Permit Parking for two cars (residential)
  • Gardens
  • Pets allowed
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • 5 minute drive to the nearest supermarket
  • Pub within 0.7 miles
  • Please note: there is no dining room at the property and no dining table
  • Please note: Rushpool Hall is a private residence and not open to the public
  • Please note: The owner only accepts a minimum of a 3 night stay
  • Please note: This property sleeps 2 adults and 2 children
  • Electric vehicles must not be charged up via the Lodge sockets, there is a charging station located less than 1/2 mile away
  • Please note: As of 14-09-2022 we will no longer be able to accept a Sunday check in day, any booking that is booked after this date that checks in on a Sunday will be subject to cancellation
  • Please note: This property does not allow for any booking to be made 72 hours prior to arrival, any booking that is booked after this date that checks in on a Sunday will be subject to cancellation.

The property

An attractive log cabin set in peaceful parkland on a small complex.

There is a spacious open plan living area, perfect for families and two comfortable bedrooms.

The private patio is a tranquil setting, where guests can sit and relax and enjoy a quiet monent.

It offers contemporary furnishings and a well-equipped kitchen.

Outside, there are beautiful views from its elevated position.

Note: this property can be booked with Ref. 13015, 24296, 24297, 1000352, 1000353, 1000354, together sleeping up to 18 people.

Rushpool Holiday Lodges

These attractive lodges are situated on a small complex, in the magnificent grounds of Rushpool Estate, in the picturesque valley of Saltburn-by-the-Sea. Set in an elevated position to take in the breath-taking views, the lodges offer first class accommodation for those wanting a tranquil environment, but with easy access to the many attractions in the area. Each lodge has been stylishly furnished and decorated, providing a luxurious feel, with contemporary kitchens and bathrooms. The open-plan living areas are contemporary and warming and each lodge has a private patio, where you can sit, relax and enjoy the wildlife. Guests have access to fifty acres of parkland and ancient woodland, where peacocks roam free and many varieties of birds can be spotted. There are independent shops, tea rooms and restaurants in this delightful, unspoilt coastal resort, where time seems to have stood still! Further down the coast lie the pretty villages of Staithes and Runswick Bay, where the fishermen’s cottages tumble down towards the sea, whilst the popular bustling town of Whitby lies a little further and is well worth visiting, with its famous Abbey and renowned fish and chips. With the spectacular North York Moors to explore and the beautiful and dramatic coastline to discover, you will want to return again and again.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Redcar 5 miles; Guisborough 5 miles; Staithes 9 miles; Whitby 19 miles.

The Victorian seaside resort of Saltburn-by-the-Sea is well named owing to the sweeping sandy beaches and spectacular coastline of glacial boulder clays. Located at the northern tip of the North York Moors, this small town has an elegant charm about it with a dramatic steep curving roadway which leads from the town centre to the beach. With its long pier and unique cliff lift, this pretty seaside resort appeals to people of all ages wishing to combine the coast with the moors. The refurbished town centre has excellent amenities with a variety of independent shops, tea rooms and restaurants. Enjoy the wide vistas from the elevated promenade or visit the Valley Gardens for a relaxing stroll.

27/09/2022 - Owner CANNOT accept bookings within 3 days of departure until further notice.

Please Note - The owner only accepts a minimum of a 3 night stay.

Please note - a second dog can potentially be agreed if confirmed with Sykes and the Owner first. Please call the office before booking if you require a second dog. Type of dog would need to be queried.

Dogs MUST be on a lead in the lodge park / woods at all times to protect the other animals and wildlife

Please note - Rushpool Hall is a private residence and not open to the public.

Please note: This property sleeps 2 adults and 2 children.

Electric vehicles must not be charged up via the Lodge sockets, there is a charging station located less than 1/2 mile away.

Customers must inquire before bringing cats.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas