In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 25 View Image Gallery
  • Fairleigh Whitby - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 993572 - photo 1

Fairleigh Whitby

(Ref. 993572)

Whitby, North York Moors & Coast Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • parking (20)
  • property (16)
  • car (15)
  • house (15)
  • room (14)
  • great (13)

33 Customer Reviews

  • "Beautiful house in a great location."

    Very large property so plenty of space to relax. Good location near to Whitby centre. Good to have designated parking spot. Accommodation had everything you could possibly need. Very comfortable beds and we all had a great stay-thank you

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Apr 2024

  • "Beautiful house with everything you need."

    For a much needed weekend away we decided to book this beautiful place. A great location, with just a 10 minute walk to the beach and the heart of Whitby, Prospect Hill was just what we were looking for. As soon as we entered the house, it was clear it had everything we wished for. Four beautiful large bedrooms, three of which has en-suites, the main bathroom was a place of relaxation and was clearly designed for just that. Although the house has been beautifully modernised in the bathroom and en-suites, original features in the heart of the house were kept which gave us a homely relaxing feeling that we look for. The large dining room and living room was great for us all to get together and have that family time we enjoy the most.. The owners of the house had also kindly put the heating on for us arriving given our stay was in winter it was certainly appreciated! We was apprehensive at first on what to expect given previous negative reviews on problems previous guests had discovered however these problems had clearly been taken on board by the owners and rectified. The only regret was that we didn't book the house for longer. All in all it is a warm and cosy house that felt like home, we will certainly be booking this house again.

    Reviewed by Ria5.0Jan 2024

  • "Generally speaking the property is nice and spacious with 3 out of 4 rooms being en-suite and a great big family bathroom."

    But I think more care needs to be taken with making sure it’s cleaned properly and everything should function as it should. Lots of dust on one of the head boards and behind bed, cobwebs clearly visible in a few places, only one tv out of the 3 bedrooms work and that was due to me having to take one HDMI cable from my tv to put in another room. Some remotes not working or not having batteries at all. Both extractor fans not working in front bedroom toilet, also two clocks not working, A lack of hand soap. We had four kids in our party and a few Christmas decorations would have been nice but nothing. All this could be put right for a few pounds, and when we are spending over a £1,000 for four night we’d expect a bit more. Disappointing as nothing majorly wrong but all the small things added up.

    Reviewed by Peter3.8Dec 2023

  • "As we entered the property everything appeared satisfactory, but as the weekend continued, there were issues that involved health and safety to various degrees."

    Quite a few issues were minor but then as the time spent at the property they became major. The issues didn't affect my family but we were of an age that could manage with the situations. We feel that the owners should inspect the property more frequently in order to sort out the necessary maintenance problems instead of leaving it to the cleaners who obviously don't know what they are doing.

    Reviewed by Dinah2.5Sep 2023

  • "Maintenance required, curtains hanging off."

    En-suite door handle loose,no recycling bins,no instructions for upstairs TVs,Windows need cleaning, sofas a bit worn out, parking extremely tight, everything else fine.

    Reviewed by Colin3.1Sep 2023

  • "Able to book 5 days notice as let down by another property,was able to fit our X trail on parking area but very difficult to manoeuvre this pleased neighbour as she clearly doesnt want people parking on property so her guests can park their cars easier, so parked at college no problem due to hassle getting car in and out but well aware of this from previous reviews."

    Location good 10 min walk to town.comfy sofas in lounge though stated 2 yrs ago in reviews curtain hanging down not on hook,still hanging down not been fixed , unable to open lounge window when hot, fan would be nice, cant leave doors open as took dogs. Front patio could do with being made as a decent outside area to sit, a fence round for privacy andenclosed so dogs can come out, would stop people looking at you when they are waiting at lights, sat on my camping chair as bench broken and other seat dodgie, but only sat out couple times as not nice area to sit, could really enhance property investing in making a nice outdoor space, a fence, nice seating, plants, instead got weeds and b+b lady next door flooding it when i was out there watering her grapes! kitchen nice but we didn't cook, but no washing up liquid, dish cloth etc or cleaning stuff to wipe surfaces, no cleaning stuff on bathroom to clean after use sometimes, find this stuff is usually standard in rental properties. Slept in back 1st floor bedroom as front bedroom couldn't open window at night, and very light from street, very quiet in back room, bed comfy, only 5 coat hangers in room so hung my stuff in other room, 1st morning opened curtains and bracket came off wall holding curtain pole, 1 long screw and 1 very short screw holding it in, short screw not adequate, found phone numbers taped to a cupboard, phoned cleaning company number out of service, thought well phone owners rather than sykes, left voicemail stating issue details etc, had no response the whole time there! So hubby being very handy brought screws, screwdriver etc and fixed it himself rather than change rooms for 2nd floor,left note with inadequate screw.could do with an information folder rather than bits taped to wall.glad didn't pay full price as late booking, as not worth the full whack,have stayed in several properties over the years every year, things expected as standard are lacking here, hope this is taken as constructive criticism, could be a cracking holiday let if outside sorted to nice space, info folder, curtains hung in front room etc all things raised over a couple of years.that said, nicely decorated,comfy, a good few facilities in property.Would I stay again, probably not as like to sit out with morning coffee, like to have windows open, like response from owners when you phone them with a problem ( I double checked number), could be good, shame bits lacking

    Reviewed by Louise3.1Sep 2023

  • "Well situated holiday home, ideal for walks into Whitby and a short drive to Runswick Bay, Saltwick bay, Sandsend and many waterfalls."

    Spacious house with four double bedrooms, three have ensuite. Parking available for one car around the back of property. My 14 year old son enjoyed having the third floor to himself. Perfect for less than social teenagers! The main bathroom offers a wonderful modern bath and power shower. The house is situated on a busy road but this did not detract from our overall experience. A cosy home with everything you need. Special thanks to the owners for putting us up as a late booking. Sykes cancelled our original booking 30 mins prior to checking in! Total debacle. Especially when we had been on the road for 6 hours with two children in the car (toddler and teen) . Luckily the owners of Fairleigh saved the day or else we would have been driving back home.

    Reviewed by Patricia4.1Aug 2023

  • "Great property and location unfortunately the decorating needs abit of TLC especially the curtains in front room were coming down n difficult to pull the yellow walls look awful where someone tried to touch up with the wrong colour paint, kitchen tap needs looking at constantly dripping,needed more clear instructions on how to work appliances and heating we had to have cold showers as no hot water on first day couldn’t find any folder with helpful tips in?"

    hi sorry about that, we decorated it all in january, and put a new tap in the kitchen. the heating and hot water are controlled by the hive which is on the wall in the hallway Property Owner

    Reviewed by Denise3.1Dec 2022

  • "We have just returned from a 4 night stay and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here."

    We were a party of 3 different households and so the house had loads of room for us all. It was clean, tidy and very well presented. Kitchen was great and had everything we needed. All bedrooms are nicely decorated and fitted out. My only suggested improvement would be that some of the beds could do with a thicker mattress topper, as they were a little lumpy. We knew there was only one parking space when we booked, it says for a “small car”, however we parked medium size (Astra) with no problems. And we had budgeted to park the other 2 in a long stay car park at a cost of £9 a day each. We did ask the lovely lady next door if we could bring the other 2 larger cars up to unload and pack up, to which she was more than happy for us to do so. Not much outside space (only at the front), this didn’t bother us has we were out most of the day. It is on a busy main road with 3 way traffic lights, however once in the property, we could not hear any noise whatsoever. All in all, a very pleasant stay. And we will definitely book again.

    Reviewed by Val4.1Aug 2022

  • "This is a well equipped house including dishwasher, washing machine and dryer which is great for families."

    Great number of glasses, cups and plates etc. location is good allowing walk to town but the house is direct next to traffic lights on busiest junction so quite noisy. Also. 1 very small parking space to rear with tight manoeuvring and local college signed as free parking but then shirty notes left on your car by them? They advised they were putting a barrier up to stop parking. Not sure where you would park. In parts property needing a refresh like some windows were literally falling apart. Having said all this we had a great holiday and we’d stay here again if parking was sorted

    Reviewed by Philip4.1Jul 2022

  • "To advertise a parking space is inaccurate or at best misleading."

    I know Whitby well and parking is at a premium so a space sounded ideal. Previous reviews mentioned scraping their cars and it only being possible in a small car so we were forewarned. Access to the space just to drop off luggage is down a concealed back alley and relies on the goodwill of the owners of the next door guest house. The house itself is lovely and well appointed but details of access need to be clearly explained before arrival.

    Reviewed by Sue4.4Oct 2021

  • "Overall we had a great stay all of the bedrooms and bathrooms were lovely, clean with comfy beds."

    The kitchen was good but the living and dining room were a bit tired looking, we noticed slug trails on the living room carpet. There were a few items lacking no dishcloths, hand soap washing up liquid or batteries in the remote controls. We would have expected these as standard. We couldn’t find any property information on how appliances, heating etc work and also for places of interest, restaurants etc. We had 3 cars and in the property there was a notice that it was ok to park in the school car park. However we were told by the school caretaker that this was by not ok and he said they were planning to install a barrier. He did however let us park there for the rest of our stay. The parking spot at the property is tiny and awkward to get into but it can be done with some careful manoeuvring. We noticed on rightmove the property was for sale.

    Reviewed by Liz4.1Oct 2021

  • "The house was very clean with all the facilities you could wish for,it is a short walk to the town centre supermarkets are quite close , the only thing to be aware of is parking at the back of the house is very tight and really only suitable for a small car but you can park nearby."

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Aug 2021

  • "The house had an unusually well appointed kitchen with knives that were actually sharp!"

    We really enjoyed having the 4 bathrooms and lots of sofa space to watch TV (great WiFi by the way). The slight downsides were the strong smell of dog in the sitting room and a few small repairs that needed doing.

    Reviewed by Victoria4.7Aug 2021

  • "Good overall - comfortable stay."

    Several lamps broken - bulbs needed? Some curtains not properly hung. Slug / snail trails in living room each morning. Outdoor not emptied frequently enough - overflowing. Could have been cleaner although hand wash at each sink was positive.

    Reviewed by Jenny3.4Aug 2021

  • "We found the parking at the rear of property very limited and awkward to manoeuvre in and out."

    In the kitchen we found that the crockery and glasses were of a poor selection for a party of our size. There was no dust pan and brush available for general cleaning throughout our tenancy. In the lounge every morning snail trails were very evident possible deep clean is required. In bedroom 3 2nd floor behind the sofa bed previous occupants had left a pair of gents underpants this had not been obviously cleaned behind by cleaners we did not touch them to remove them so they could still be there. Linen and towels were of a good standard.

    Reviewed by Anthony Colin4.4Jul 2021

  • "Great accommodation for a family holiday."

    The bedrooms are spacious and all bar one are en-suite which is a big bonus. The family bathroom is beautiful so no hardship for the other bedroom user! Kitchen has everything you need including dishwasher. Dining room has space for everyone and the sitting room is nice and comfy. House was nice and clean, and no issues with the parking as we had noted that it was a small space. If you have a large car you will struggle so better to park round the corner! Needed to contact the owner who was really helpful.

    Reviewed by Eleanor5.0Jul 2021

  • "The house was lovely, well equipped except for only 4 forks between 6 people!"

    !! The outside was the let down! It says patio /garden! The small aria is at the front on a junction of the main road into Whitby with a foot high wall so no privacy at all!! With 2 broken benches to sit on!! A bit of investment to the outside would make a big difference. We also was taking 2 small dogs but luckily decided against it after reading reviews! Thank goodness we did, it would have been a nightmare as it is open to the road. Seems like a lot of complaints but really enjoyed our holiday as the inside was lovely and comfortable but because of outside probably wouldn't go again.

    Reviewed by Susan4.1Jun 2021

  • "Booked our break at the ‘Fairleigh’ after a previous break was cancelled and we had an absolutely fantastic time."

    The house was beautifully decorated and furnished to a high standard whilst also keeping the character of the house. The kitchen was great and every item you can imagine you will need whilst cooking in the kitchen was there which was great! The Fairleigh has a washer and dryer which is a great added extra for bigger family’s and longer stays! The house was immaculately clean throughout which is reassuring during the current pandemic we are living in. The house is set out over 3 floors. First floor consists of a large living room with 2 large sofas and a single chair. They is a dining room with a large table with 8 and then the large kitchen with utilities room and downstairs WC. Second floor has a beautiful family bathroom ( the bath is as amazing as it looks on the photos) with the master room having an en-suite plus another spacious double bedroom. The third floor has 2 more spacious bedrooms with double beds (both with en-suite bathrooms) plus a pull out double bed in the front bedroom. We had a wonderful stay and the accommodation was perfectly located for walking and site seeing. Their is private parking to the rear of the property for one car and more parking only a short 2 minute walk away. We had a contactless arrival collecting the keys from the key safe located at the front of the property. We stayed here in April just as the weather was still cold and I must say the house was nice and cosy with the heating on to say it was a big house it got warm fast and stayed warm! We will definitely stay here again! 5*

    Reviewed by Daniel5.0Apr 2021

  • "Fantastic place Just one problem is."

    Parking But won’t stop us returning

    Reviewed by Ken5.0Sep 2020

  • "Very expensive for what you got."

    Failed to say it’s on a main road!! Dining room table not big enough to accommodate 8 adults comfortably sat around it. Not enough seating in lounge for 8 adults without someone sitting on a footstool or on the floor. Not sufficiently clean from last occupants, bits left from a party celebration. Very disappointing, especially in the times we’re living in!!!

    Reviewed by Philip2.5Sep 2020

  • "We had a lovely time in Whitby however the parking was abit of a problem, my car got scratched from a pipe that sticks out on the back of the house."

    The green bin was full and hadn't been put out to be emptied that morning so nowhere to put our rubbish. Out of date food had been left in kitchen cupboards and found other items in bedroom drawers....wasn't cleaned to a high standard.

    Reviewed by Sally3.1Aug 2020

  • "We had a lovely stay at this beautiful house, the showers were fantastic, beds comfy and the proximity to Whitby harbour and town were brilliant."

    The only small down side for us as a family with a dog was that the description includes an enclosed garden, and the small patio at the front of the house with not gate or fencing cannot in any way meet that criteria of being enclosed or a garden. Also, for the size of house parking is a huge issue, we couldn’t park in the space allocated, there is a car park about 200m up the road which served us well, but would have liked to have known that before arrival. All in all we had a really lovely stay, we loved the house and location but would have been less disappointed if we had known about the lack of garden and parking.

    Thank you for your feedback. As per our website there is no mention of an enclosed garden. We have reviewed your feedback and taken comments on board. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley4.4Jul 2020

  • "The cottage is beautiful, really clean, facilities were brilliant, great location."

    None of the TV’s could get any signal, and I Had read a review about this previous to going but this was still the case. The neighbours each side caused us a few issues. One was quite aggressive as I was stood waiting for my husband to reverse the car down the narrow path; totally unnecessary.

    Reviewed by Alexandra5.0Feb 2020

  • "The accommodation was as described."

    I would like to comment on the fact there is really limited parking and there is no real room to turn a car around, meaning we had to park further up the road, which although we felt it would be safe it is quite a trek with cases etc. The TV in the man room kept losing signal, sometimes worked, and sometimes did not. We found this quite frustrating.

    Reviewed by Simon4.1Dec 2019

  • "Unfortunately our original holiday property was cancelled due to burst pipes on the morning of our departure."

    Sykes did their utmost to find us a similar Property to accomodate our family of 7. Obviously we were devastated as we were all packed and ready for our journey. As it turned out, the property Fairleigh in Whitby Was beautiful. Very spacious and spotlessly clean. We have a holiday in Whitby every year and never considered this house due to being on main road but we can honestly say you barely hear the traffic at all. We enjoyed our stay there so much we will book this lovely house for next year. The only suggestion to help a large family would be a large oven dish.

    Reviewed by Shirley4.7Dec 2019

  • "Lovely sitting room."

    Kitchen equipment could be better, and checked! Not very useful to find the tin opener is broken at 9pm! Dining room not big enough for a property which sleeps 8. Put some locks on the communal bathroom and wc!

    Thank you for your feedback. No previous feedback on tin opener but this will be checked and replaced if broken. There are 8 chairs around the dining room table. There is also a large 2 seater sofa for plenty of seating space in the dining room. Each bedroom has their dedicated bathroom. However, locks to will be added to the bathroom doors. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John3.4Nov 2019

  • "Difficult parking but school carpark more than made up dor this not far from town centre and extremely quiet and cosy."

    Even with the traffic outside on junction you felt very unaware of this. The perfect small town getaway. Will certainly make a return trip.

    Reviewed by Sally4.7Nov 2019

  • "Brilliant property."

    Just right for us. We are holidaying with our English family, so it was perfect for 3 couples and a 17;year old. Being from Australia we found the tv in the living room hard to work as we didn’t have a password etc for the on demand. Maybe it would be good to set up an account for the house. Otherwise the facilities were brilliant. The ice in the freezer was a welcome surprise when we went to mix our G & Ts! Parking was a bit tricky. Thank you so much for a great stay.

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0Oct 2019

  • "What a lovely place."

    . clean, tidy, modern & homely. We couldn’t pick one fault, best place we’ve stayed in Whitby so far

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Sep 2019

  • "It really is a fabulous place for a group of friends to meet up, parking is quite difficult around the property but a friendly local told us that there was a car park that we could use very close by at the school."

    Reviewed by John5.0Aug 2019

  • "Without doubt this was 5 star facilities within the property, we were delighted wilh our stay, one of the best we ever booked."

    One negative was only parking for one car, we had 3cars between 8 of us so maybe some adivice on alternative parking would be helpful. Would like to thing that we would visit again.

    Reviewed by Ron5.0May 2019

  • "Beautiful location fantastic accommodation and really spacious for 2 families ..."

    Beautiful location fantastic accommodation and really spacious for 2 families really great clean accommodation just outside town and really quiet despite on junction couldn’t hear any traffic at all Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Apr 2019

Show more Hide all


  • Over three floors
  • Four bedrooms with Sky TVs: 1 x first floor king-size with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x first floor king-size, 2 x second floor king-size with en-suite shower rooms with shower, basin and WC
  • First floor bathroom with freestanding bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Utility
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room with electric fire and Sky TV
  • Sitting room with electric fire and Sky TV.
  • Gas central heating, electric fire
  • Electric double oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, tumble dryer, Sky TVs with Sky cinema
  • DVD player, a selection of books, games and DVDs and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking to rear for one small to medium car
  • Alternative parking available 200m from the property
  • Patio to front with furniture
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 10 mins walk
  • Note: Property now has Sky Multiroom
  • Please note: No dogs must be left in the house alone.

The property

Fairleigh is an impressive period semi-detached property, well located close to the centre of Whitby.

Ideally located for touring the North York Moors National Park and the Heritage Coast, it is perfect for a superb family holiday, being just a short stroll to the centre of this popular seaside resort.

Set over three floors, it has been beautifully and tastefully renovated to a high standard, whilst retaining many original features and traditional charm.

The ground floor features a modern well-equipped kitchen and a separate dining room with a large wall-mounted TV, where families can gather and enjoy a home-cooked meal.

The spacious and comfortable sitting room has a warming electric fireplace with a wooden mantle piece and a large bay window throwing in plenty of light.

Also handy cloakroom and utility just through the kitchen, where the dishwasher and the washing machine and the tumble dryer are as well as being able to hang your coats and all your shoes and boots here too and then shut the door on them so they are not in use, then a toilet and basin in the boiler room beyond completes the ground floor.

The four spacious bedrooms, all with wall-mounted TVs are set over the two upper floors, three of them with en-suite shower rooms and one with an additional sofa bed, offering flexibility in sleeping arrangements.

Two of the bedrooms have far reaching views to the distant hills.

The contemporary family bathroom is situated on the half landing and has a lovely deep freestanding bath and a walk-in shower.

At the front of the house is an patio, while there is off-road parking for one car at the back, a rare find in Whitby.

A ten-minute walk down Prospect Hill brings you into the hustle and bustle of this historic town, with its narrow streets and alleyways to explore, the cobbled market square and abundance of independent shops.

Partake in a scrumptious afternoon tea in the numerous quaint tea rooms, enjoy cocktails overlooking the harbour and not to be missed are the renowned fish and chips.

Whitby boasts safe sandy beaches, coastal cruises and an attractive harbour.

Climb the 199 steps up to the famous Whitby Abbey, where you can join the Cleveland Way for an invigorating cliff top walk, sure to blow the cobwebs away.

For the more adventurous, book an evening ghost walk, sure to be a big hit with everyone!

With the stunning scenery of the moors to explore and the rugged coastline to discover, this charming property makes a wonderful base for families and friends throughout the year.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Robin Hood's Bay 5.5 miles; Scarborough 19.3 miles; Pickering 23 miles; Guisborough 21.5 miles.

The seaside town and port of Whitby lies at the mouth of the River Esk in the Scarborough district of North Yorkshire. Ideally situated for exploring this beautiful part of Yorkshire, the local area hosts an array of activities so you can be sure to get the best out of both the countryside and the coast. From the nearby North York Moors to its Blue Flag beaches, there's something here for everyone. Amongst its many attractions, Whitby holds a charming atmosphere, home to winding streets and hidden alleys, where you can find a wide selection of eateries and shops scattered amongst them. Take a trip to the picturesque harbour and lighthouse to watch the sun set or get involved in some whale watching or a coastal cruise to watch the creatures up close. Climb the famous 199 steps to the Whitby Abbey to immerse yourself with history, or visit the Captain Cook Memorial Museum presenting historical and ethnographic exhibition about Cook himself. Close to the Robin Hood's Bay, rich in heritage, wonders and scenic spots, and in easy reach of the bustling towns of Scarborough and Middlesbrough, Whitby is a prime location for exploring all of the delights that Yorkshire has to offer.

View more holiday cottages in Whitby

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas