Secure your Spring 2022 holiday today for just £50

Available on selected breaks taking place between 1st April - 31st May 2022*

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
  • Seascape - (Ref. 15995)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

Seascape

Amble-by-the-Sea, Northumberland (Ref. 15995)

4.9

Outstanding

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Open fire Open fire
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/Sky TV Sky TV
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews

25 Customer Reviews

  • "Fabulous cottage with an amazing view."

    Will be booking again!

    Reviewed by MandyJul 2021

  • "We loved this cottage."

    It was in the perfect location opposite the sea so we could walk our dogs on the beach. It was spacious, homely and had everything we needed.

    Reviewed by DianeJun 2021

  • "• Lovely cottage, clean dog friendly and in a fantastic situation for all amenities."

    Had a lovely week exploring my north east childhood and able to walk miles in any direction from the cottage. Great eateries nearby too. Our only niggle would be that there was nowhere to dry our clothes when we got drenched in a heavy rain shower. A tumble dryer/ Toairing space only thing missing from an otherwise very well equipped accommodation.

    Reviewed by AndyMay 2021

  • "Felt at home the minute we walked into the property."

    So many places to visit. Fabulous beaches along this coastline especially Almouth and Bamburgh. Spent a very comfortable week at this property, had everything we needed. Would certainly stay again if in the area.

    Reviewed by TomMay 2021

  • "Fab cottage."

    Great location. 1 minute from a park, 90 seconds from the beach and loads of dog walks straight from the door. Facilities were all great in the house. Will look to book again.

    Reviewed by LauraApr 2021

  • "Seascape is a comfortable, spacious, well-equipped holiday home in a pleasant quiet area with direct access to the sea and the coastal path."

    It really felt like a home from home, with nice furnishings and pictures and views of the sea and Coquet Island. Plenty of free parking made life very easy there, as did the open grass and the beach where we could walk our dogs right from the house. One toilet between six people required good communications, but otherwise there was plenty of space for everyone. I liked that the kitchen had lots of crockery and pots and pans etc, although on one rainy day when I thought I’d bake a cake, I couldn’t find any baking tins. My biggest issue was the oven which took an age to heat up (it’s very big!) and didn’t seem to have much temperature control. But these were very minor issues, and overall we loved the house which was perfect for us and our dogs. We had a really lovely holiday. Amble is a delightful place, a proper unspoilt seaside town with fantastic walks, beaches, rock pools and jetties.

    Reviewed by HarrietAug 2020

  • "A very enjoyable holiday in a comfortable, well equipped cottage near the sea."

    Reviewed by JaneAug 2020

  • "It was ok. Bit tired and needs an update."

    Some crockery and glasses didn’t come clean. Dishwasher and washer dirty and not great. Towels old and tired.

    Thank you for your comments. We have arranged for the property to be deep cleaned since your stay and the towels have been replaced. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KatyFeb 2020

  • "Great location."

    Well equipped property. Owner provider extra logs for wood burner.

    Reviewed by MalcolmFeb 2020

  • "The standard of accommodation is high and we have always had a good deal from Sykes Cottages."

    Reviewed by JonNov 2019

  • "This is the third time we have stayed at Seascape so it obviously suits us very well."

    Reviewed by NeilSep 2019

  • "The house was in a lovely position, with views of the sea and lighthouse."

    There was a fantastic children's play area less than a minute away which was a bonus having a 5 year old grandchild with us. The house was light a "tardis", much bigger than it looked from the outside. It was well equipped and within 5 minute walk of the harbour and town. Would definitely book this accommodation again.

    Reviewed by LouiseAug 2019

  • "There is no downstairs cloakroom which wasn’t an issue but description needs upgrading."

    Lovely house and location - think it may be the friendliest place - everyone we met was friendly

    Many thanks for your feedback, the property does have the advertised cloakroom, this was originally a toilet which is now been converted and has the required space for boots/trainers and coats with the relevant hanging space. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlisonJun 2019

  • "Enjoyed our week."

    Nice, convenient location. Parking outside. Good sized cottage for the five of us and a dog. Warm and cosy, lovely bathroom. Well equipped. Would recommend. The only negative is there is building work going on next door and the banging, drilling etc starts at 8am in a morning, which we did not appreciate.

    Many thanks for your feedback, this was unfortunately works that were beyond our control as this was neighbouring property Property Owner

    Reviewed by SueMay 2019

  • "The holiday house was extremely comfortable and was in an excellent position."

    The house was very clean and comfortable, it was lovely to have a log burner. We would definitely book this accommodation again.

    Reviewed by LinseyMar 2019

  • "The property no longer has a downstairs toilet even though it was still advertised as such when we booked."

    This was problematic at times for 5 of us. The pillows on the beds were heavily stained and flat as pancakes, and the mattress on the double bed in the main front bedroom was MASSIVELY uncomfortable, resulting in a poor week's sleep, and aching backs for two of us. Also, privacy was an issue as none of the windows had any kind of nets or voile, and the bathroom window needs a roller blind. The bathroom could also benefit from some hooks to hang clothes whilst bathing, and a shelf or end table next to the roll-top bath, as there is nowhere to put any toiletries.

    Thank you for your comments. With regards to the toilet, you should have received an email to inform you of the change prior to your stay. There were six new pillowcases left at the property before your stay, some of which were still in unopened packaging as spares. We are sorry you found the mattress uncomfortable, unfortunately it is difficult to cater to all tastes. We purposely do not put voiles or blinds at the windows as shown in the photographs, as it would be a shame for guests to miss the views. We take on board your comments about the hooks in the bathroom and thank you for your suggestion, there are four glass shelves adjacent to the shower. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JayneFeb 2019

  • "On arrival at Seascape we were met by a blocked toilet, a leaking sink, an upstairs tap with lime scale so thick two of us cut our fingers simply turning on the tap!"

    The washing machine also emptied across the floor when used! The plumbing issues were known to the owner who failed to make sure the work was completed before our arrival. The Sykes representative also failed to return a call with an updated time for the plumber to call. No plumber came at all during our stay! We only had one toilet despite booking a property with two as it’s an important facility for us! Extremely disappointed!

    Thank you for your recent feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had these issues at the property. We understand this has been resolved and the plumber arrived at the property during your stay.. We apologise that you were not contacted again during your stay. Our understanding was that the matter was resolved as you made no further contact. Once again, We apologise for any inconvenience caused. Kind regards, Sykes Property Owner

    Reviewed by AmandaAug 2018

  • "Such a lovely cozy cottage and the location is perfect."

    You can see the sea from all the bedrooms, so every day you know you're on holiday as soon as you wake up! Seascape helped ensure that we all enjoyed a wonderful week away in glorious Northumberland. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by NicolaJun 2018

  • "Beaches around Amble are lovely and dog friendly"

    Reviewed by PaulaJun 2018

  • "Lovely stay in perfect location for walking our dog and exploring the area."

    House version well equipped and comfortable.

    Reviewed by FionaJun 2018

  • "Nice Cottage and good location, a little too cluttered with bric a brac, lounge quite dated now and a lot smaller than pictures show, beds comfortable, bathroom lovely and kitchen was good."

    Shops and pubs within a few minutes walk as was the beach which our dogs loved.

    Reviewed by DebbieMay 2018

  • "Only disappointment was thick dog hair on lounge carpet."

    At first I thought cleaners had been remiss, but on trying out the vacuum for myself, I realised it was very poor. I left a note to that effect and assume the owner will repair or replace it. I'm happy to publish positive feedback but would like the owner to have the opportunity to rectify the issue about the vacuum.

    Reviewed by SueMay 2018

  • "Loved the location and the accomodation, will go again."

    Reviewed by KarenMay 2018

  • "Seascape is a lovely roomy cottage overlooking the sea."

    It is very cosy, with a wood burning stove, lovely big kitchen diner, with everything you need for eating in and it's pet friendly too!. Amble is a lovely friendly fishing village with lots of nice places to dine out near by. The beaches along that coast are fabulous. The dogs loved it! Will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by BarbaraMar 2018

  • "We enjoyed our stay and would definitely visit again."

    Reviewed by ClaireJan 2018

Show more

The property

A terraced cottage with views of the sea in the bustling port of Amble.

Well presented throughout and close to many shops, pubs and restaurants, making it the perfect base for friends or families wishing to explore Northumberland.

The front door leads into a spacious hallway which has a downstairs cloakroom for hanging coat and drying boots.

To the right there is a sitting room with deep comfortable sofas and a woodburning stove, a lovely place to curl up if the weather turns chilly with sea views over Croquet Island and lighthouse.

The ground floor kitchen/diner is bright and spacious and has a range cooker which will delight even the fussiest of chefs.

The large table and chairs are excellent for family get-togethers for that special meal or simply to plan the next day’s exciting activities.

There are three bedrooms to the first floor, the master has Sky TV plus sea views, and the bathroom provides a delightful retreat for those tired limbs; take your pick, soak away the hours in the freestanding roll-top bath or wash away your cares in the large enclosed shower.

To the rear there is a small enclosed yard, perfect for letting dogs out safely or just sitting and catching a few Northumbrian sunrays.

The jostling centre of Amble is just a few minutes walk and has some of the best restaurants the area has to offer.

Seascape has a large grassed area to the front leading to the sea, and there is a child’s play area with water features, the beach and coastal path beyond.

With many delightful destinations all within a short drive take your pick of Northumberland's beautiful Heritage Coast, Craster and Alnmouth, or perhaps spend a day in the popular market town of Alnwick with its imposing castle and famous gardens.

Seascape is the perfect spot at any time of year.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with freestanding roll-top bath with hand-held shower, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Range cooker with electric oven and 5-ring gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with basic Sky with full HD sports,(sky multi room available in the master bedroom) surround sound, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and CDs and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking on first come, first served basis
  • Enclosed yard with table and chairs
  • Please note: no cot and highchair available, welcome to bring your own if needed
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop, pub and restaurants 5 mins walk
  • Beach 1 min
  • Note: Owner may accept more than 2 dogs at £25.00 per extra dog but this needs to be agreed at booking, please contact Sykes to arrange this

View on map

About the location

AMBLE

Warkworth 1 mile; Alnmouth 4 miles.

The bustling little seaport of Amble is situated at the mouth of the River Coquet and is an ideal place for exploring Northumberland. Historically a centre for boatbuilding, Amble offers a marina, a harbour, sandy beaches and coastal walks to the bird sanctuary at Hauxley and country park at Druridge Bay. Large fishing boats moor along the harbour wall and land a variety of fish, prawns, crabs and lobsters. There is a fish centre on the side of the harbour that is now primarily a shell fish hatchery to re-stock levels of lobster and other shell fish, this sells local fish and is open to the public. A mile south of Amble is Coquet Island, an RSPB reserve with a large population of terns, puffins and eider ducks and boat trips around the island can be arranged. The pretty coastal villages of Alnmouth and Craster and numerous superb beaches are only a short drive away, whilst picturesque Warkworth with its castle, charming Alnwick with its castle and award-winning gardens, and the National Trust’s Wallington Hall and Cragside are all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Amble

Region Information

Note: Owner may accept more than 2 dogs at £25.00 per extra dog but this needs to be agreed at booking, please contact Sykes to arrange this.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it