In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 58 View Image Gallery
  • Hillcrest House - Peak District & Derbyshire - 1121092 - photo 1


2nd Floor1st FloorGround Floor

Ground Floor



Hillcrest House

(Ref. 1121092)

Ashbourne, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 22 Guests

  • 10 Bedrooms

  • 9 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Sauna
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (17)
  • more (11)
  • hot tub (10)
  • hot (10)
  • stay (10)
  • all (10)

19 Customer Reviews

  • "Fantastic location & amazing views, property was well equipped to cater for large groups."

    We were celebrating family milestone birthdays & the property was great for all ages, good to have ground floor bedrooms. Good size bedrooms with really comfortable beds, & beautifully decorated. Large dining table - we catered & also had an outside caterer in who commented it was one of the best kitchens she had used! As dog owners garden is secure as neighbouring fields have sheep & cows. Hot tubs are well positioned with great views of Thorpe Cloud & sunset. Would highly recommend!

    Thank you, Ian. It really was a pleasure to have you and your family stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Jul 2024

  • "We loved our stay."

    Perfect for a big family break. All rooms lovely with amazing views. House very clean. House well equipped with everything we needed. (Could do with a 2nd toaster as the one there takes forever and with so many people for breakfast it took a while) but everything else so well equipped for large numbers. 2 dishwashers really handy. All rooms nicely spaced apart so didn’t feel on top of each other during stay. Massive dining table to seat everyone. Loved that there were a couple of different lounges/cosy areas so guests can spread out and not be all stuck in one space. Outdoor area beautiful- most amazing views. Sooo nice to have that view to wake up to. Little lambs right there and bunnies hopping around. Outdoors would benefit from a comfier sofa/rattan type set or loungers for sunny days/more seating if everyone wanted to sit outside at table. Also an outdoor light nearer the house/table would be great for sitting out. 2 Hot tubs and sauna fab. Beautiful setting. Owners were helpful and easy to contact with couple of queries we had re cleaning and someone came out to check/clean one of them out that seemed to not be quite right. We had a couple of children with us who absolutely loved their stay and all the space in the garden (small children need close supervision as house very close to the road - no issue but garden gates are like metal farm gates so small children could easily get through them onto road) Ashbourne only a 10 min drive away for cafes shops etc and lots of nice walks on your doorstep. We absolutely loved our stay so much and wouldn’t hesitate to return/recommend to those looking for a special break.

    Reviewed by Krystina5.0May 2024

  • "We had an amazing stay at Hillcrest house."

    It’s a fantastic property in a beautiful location. We were there to celebrate my partner’s 60th birthday with friends and family. Everyone loved it and nobody had a bad word to say about it. It was beautifully furnished and the beds were really comfortable. We were all sad to leave and would definitely go back to stay again.

    Thank you so much for the lovely words. It means the world to us, and we are so happy you had a wonderful celebration. We would absolutely love to welcome you back any time Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michele5.0Apr 2024

  • "This is a fantastic house in a wonderful position."

    We did, however, have major issues with the electrics on the site. When we arrived the house was warm, but after that the heating went off and we had to resort to sweaters etc. The instructions sent out by the owners stated that “the heating is controlled via an outside app …. Do let us know if you would prefer it warmer or cooler.” We messaged Laura Holden at 18.01 on Saturday to ask for some heat, and she replied at 21.24 telling us that the reference to an outside app was copied from another property. Laura then told us where the thermostats were in the house; one of them would not work because the knob was worn. Guests staying in the cottage and on the third floor of the main house were cold. A further disappointment was the hot tubs. We decided to use them on Saturday evening, but found that there was no power in the areas of the sauna and hot tubs. On investigation we found an outside consumer unit with an RCD that had operated. The cause appeared to be a fault on the hot tub nearer the sauna, so we had to leave that disconnected in order to restore the outside power. We.messaged Laura and she promised to contact a local electrician; she did this and he came on Sunday around 1 pm when we were out walking. These issues with the heating and the hot tubs were most unsatisfactory: we were only there for the weekend and we manifestly did not get full value. OTHER ISSUES: kitchen well equipped but needs some small sharp knives, one or more decent sized cafetières, water jugs, and plugs for the sink. The “Welcome Guide” needs careful revision: what it says about the heating and the Wi-Fi is inaccurate.

    I would like to apologise again for the inconvenience caused by the issues relating to the heating and hot tubs. It is always a huge disappointment to us when any stay is disrupted. As always, I endeavour to respond and resolve issues immediately. In this instance, unfortunately I was not able to respond to the text immediately as I was driving, but I did try to call. After we spoke we had thought that the issue had been resolved as we hadn't heard otherwise, so we were sorry to hear of a further issue. We were told about the electrical fault relating to the hot tub at 11 o' clock on the Sunday morning and had an electrician there an hour later to fix that. Thanks for the further feedback regarding the kitchen, it is really helpful and we have acted upon your points and upgraded and replaced the items mentioned. Please contact us to let us know if there were any issues relating to cleanliness as we didn't hear any feedback on that. We are extremely proud of our cleaning team and we would really like to know if there are issues that need ironing out as it's something that we've always scored very highly on. Thank you again for taking the time to pass on your feedback.  Laura Property Owner

    Reviewed by Veronica2.8Mar 2024

  • "Thank you for a wonderful stay."

    Laura went above abd beyond to ensure decorations were up for my daughter's 21st birthday and also deal with a couple of other requests. An amazing family stay. Thank you

    Thank you so much for the lovely review. I hope your daughter had a fabulous birthday. Please do get in touch if you’d like to return to any of your properties, you were fantastic guests! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Feb 2024

  • "When we arrived one part of the house was very cold not good when you have 3 small children as part of party we did manage to contact owner who talked us through thermosets and boiler and thankfully delivered some firewood the following day."

    There was no information how to use hot tub and sauna laminated instructions in the house would be good boiler should also be included . There were 14 adults plus 3 small children and we used the 4 bin bags and 4 dishwasher tablets provided and had to purchase more plus extra toilet roll not good given the amount we paid. The hot tub lid was broken on one of them. A small welcome pack would be good just basic bread salt/pepper milk eggs butter? The house is in a fantastic location and the beds were really comfy. Just a few things the owners need to address.

    Hi Emma, Thank you for booking with us, we appreciate the feedback. On the boiler- front I’m sorry that it had cut out but glad we could get it back up and running quickly, we always try to have the house warm for when the guests arrive. The hot tub lid is now fixed. It had taken a bit of a battering with all of the storms passing through but we were pleased to have it usable for your group (although point taken on the instructions, we will remedy that quickly) rather than having to confine you to the one tub. Regarding the bin bags our team usually leave a full roll out, so I can only apologise that this wasn’t the case for your group. We do have extra stocks of bin bags, toilet paper and dishwasher tablets in the house, so I’ll make a point to make them more readily available. Anyway, I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and we’d love to have you and your group back in the future and show you that we’ve taken all of your feedback on board. Thanks again! Nico Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma3.8Jan 2024

  • "We stayed for a week in early December and had a great time."

    The house was decorated for Christmas which was a lovely bonus. The location is amazing with views of Thorpe Cloud out the window and so many walks right on the doorstep. All the bedrooms are lovely and very spacious. It was a nice touch having robes, it made using the hot tubs a much nicer experience! Plus having 2 hot tubs is also a real bonus for a big group. We noticed one evening that the sauna wasn't working and let the owners know. First thing the next morning an engineer arrived and it was up and running. Really great service to get it sorted for us so quickly! Only thing I'd suggest is a few more large pans in the kitchen. We were a big group (19 adults) and love to cook, so maybe this isn't an issue for others but just thought I'd mention it! Didn't detract from a lovely stay though, we would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Jennie4.7Dec 2023

  • "We had a fabulous stay here as a group of friends with children and partners celebrating our 40th birthday."

    I arrived in the dark so it wasn't until the next morning that I woke up to the beautiful views. The house was wonderful - lots of little spaces for quiet time and chilling out as well as communal spaces for group catch ups. The local walks and pubs were wonderful. The kitchen was well stocked with lots of equipment. And everything was really clean and comfy. The jacuzzi and steam room had wonderful views. It was the perfect location for a special event with friends

    Reviewed by Lynne5.0Nov 2023

  • "Quite a few lightbulbs needed replacing, one room all the lights stopped working completely."

    One room had a shower that leaked into the room below and we couldn’t get the heating to work in half of the house when we arrived. Also couldn’t get basic TV channels, which isn’t the end of the world but some of the older members of our party would have liked that. Other than that the house was as described and very clean and comfortable. Just missing some of the basics you usually get even in more budget rentals, e.g. three ovens but no oven gloves, salt and pepper would have been handy, bin bags

    Hi Sally, thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that the heating wasn't working when you arrived, but glad that we could get a plumber over to you right away to get it working again. I've taken on board your feedback regarding the TV and provision of the basics and we'll rectify this right away so it's not an issue moving forward. We really enjoyed having you and hopefully you'll consider returning in the future! Thank you, Nico Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sally4.1Sep 2023

  • "The place is great for large groups."

    That’s the first thing. Two large fridges, 2 ovens and a microwave/oven in a large kitchen. So catering is easily done. The common spaces in the house are comfortable and nicely decorated. It has a charming country hotel feel. Outside is absolutely beautiful. Plenty of parking space. Stunning views. Great hikes on your doorstep. AND two hot tubs and a sauna. That’s a great facility. The cherry on top was the owner, Nico coming to welcome us when we arrived, being in contact throughout our stay to make sure everything was fine and seeing us off at the end. We loved our stay and will be back.

    Thank you so much, Martin. That really means a lot. You and your group were an absolute dream to host. It's certainly rare to have a group repair a dry stone wall! I'm very much looking forward to having you back! Property Owner

    Reviewed by M5.0Sep 2023

  • "Lovely house in a great location, perfect for a big family gathering."

    Well equipped, nice welcome pack on arrival. The owner could not have been more helpful. Highly recommended.

    Thank you so much Anna! Very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We'd love to have you back any time Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anna4.7Jul 2023

  • ""We stayed at Hillcrest House 17th - 21st July 2023 and the stay was amazing!"

    " A family holiday with 15 adults and 5 children aged 4 to 10 years. There was more than enough space to comfortably accommodate us all and not once did we feel like we were on top of each other! All bedrooms were spacious with their own bathroom and an extra shower downstairs. There were 3 lounges all beautifully furnished and decorated and the dining room table and chairs were enough for all of us. Highlights included the two hot tubs and the amazing views! The house is fully equipped with all mod cons to enjoy your stay. And the house was also close enough to some great walking paths. The children (and the adults) appreciated the Children's room as well with its own tv, games and books. Laura (the host) was very helpful with all messages regarding questions about the stay answered promptly. We will definitely be staying there again!

    Thank you so much for your kind words Faisal, it's made my Monday reading them! you were a pleasure to host, I'm so glad you all enjoyed yourselves, we hope to welcome you back soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Faisal5.0Jul 2023

  • "Beautiful house with everything you need."

    Owners lovely too, our weekend was just perfect!

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Jun 2023

  • "We spent a week at Hillcrest House."

    A family holiday with 10 adults 3 children age 2 to 6 years and 2 dogs. To say there was plenty of space is an understatement. All bedrooms had stunning views except one of the downstairs ones, which to make up for it had its own little private sitting room. On entering the property there was certainly a wow factor. All bedrooms were spacious with their own bathroom and an extra shower downstairs. There were 3 lounges all beautifully furnished and decorated and the dining room table and chairs were enough for 22 people. High chairs provided and travel cot available as requested. A nice little touch was the childrens room with its own tv, games and books. 2 Hot Tubs, spa and a bbq in the garden area. I cant fault anything about this property and could say so much more. It didnt disappoint. Also the owner Nicho was contactable and supportive throughout. Would I stay again? Most definetly

    Thank you very much, Dawn! We'd have you back any time!! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dawn5.0May 2023

  • "We stayed at hillcrest house 5-8th may 2023 and the stay was phenomenal!"

    Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts all messages regarding questions about our stay were answered promptly even advice on nice walks in the area and trust me there are so many! 20 of us stayed in the house and 2 children and there was more than enough space to comfortably accomodate us all and not once did we feel like we were on top of eachother! The veiws from the hot tubs are something i cant even explain just breath taking! Our group especially enjoyed the sauna and hot tubs after the walks up the hills. The house is like home from home fully equip to enjoy your stay! We will absolutely be returning in the future.

    Thank so much Abbie! It was so nice to host you! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Abbie5.0May 2023

  • "Fantastic house."

    Ideal for our group for a 60th birthday. Good location. Everyone really enjoyed. A printed welcome book would have been helpful for things like the WiFi password, what to do prior to departure etc.

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Apr 2023

  • "Overall ok but need to give some feedback on certain things to help the owner."

    Not elderly friendly, doors make lot of noises and were very heavy to open due to the door closures. Door stoppers(few were provided) did not do their job. Shower cubicles are too tiny in some rooms, nothing inside the shower cubicle to hold shower gel etc Radiators are not working properly. Heating should be checked. More comfortable sitting arrangement are required. Sofa not comfortable and friendly for family to watch telly. Proximity to road not seen in the picture. People walking by could peep inside. Lastly we were ready with all our stuff to check out however at 9am for outside hot tub cleaning people arrived. Another car arrived at 9.30am came in which I assume was the cleaner for inside cleaning who stood outside the main door looking inside the house at us. This was very uncomfortable as we were loading our stuff into the cars.

    Hi Priti, I’m really sorry for the early arrival of the changeover team, we never want for our guests to feel hurried at all, I will address with the team. Regarding the heavy doors, we don’t love having them either but the springs on the doors (and lack of door stops) are what we’ve been recommended for fire safety. As per your recommendation we’ll put shelves in to the smaller shower rooms. I thought the proximity to the road was rather clear from the first photo of our property, but we'll have a think if there's a way of emphasising it further for future guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Priti2.5Mar 2023

  • "Fantastic property we had the best stay with 14 adults and 8 kids ranging from 3 months to 10 years old."

    The location is walking distance to dovedale / stepping stones. The house is warm and comfortable and all of the bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms are great. The kitchen is fantastic lots of storage, ample cups, glasses plates etc and even plastic bowls plates and cutlery for the little ones. The owners were great and we literally had the best time and hope to come back!

    Thank you so much for your feedback Renna. It was a pleasure hosting you and your group! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Renna5.0Mar 2023

  • "Hillcrest House was absolutely fabulous."

    Well equipped, comfortable and luxurious. It is in a great location and the owner couldn’t have been more helpful at very short notice. The layout was great for our large family and the decor and resources were first class. Each and every bedroom was clean and stylish, and catered so well for the wide range of ages in our family. There is a lovely, ambient feel to the house and we had everything we needed.

    Thank you so much, Clare. It really was a pleasure to host you and your family. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare5.0Feb 2023

Show more Hide all


  • Over three floors
  • Ten bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x ground-floor king-size with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC and snug space with sofa bed and TV, 1 x ground-floor king-size with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 2 x king-size bedroom with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x king-size, 2 x second-floor king-size with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin, 1 x second-floor twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin, and WC
  • Second-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin, and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Living/dining room with woodburning stove
  • Snug
  • Sauna
  • Oil central heating
  • Electric double oven, induction hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, fridge, wine cooler, washing machine, tumble dryer, 2 x dishwasher
  • 2 x TVs, WiFi
  • BBQ
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for at least 10 cars
  • Enclosed rear garden with lawn, patio, furniture, 2 x hot tubs and sauna
  • Two well-behaved dog's welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 3.5 miles, pub 0.7 miles
  • Note: Sorry, no stag/hen parties or similar
  • Note: There are no stairgates available, please consider this when booking

The property

Ashbourne 4.2 miles.

Enjoy the countryside on your doorstep when staying at Hillcrest House, nestled in between rolling hills and in view of the limestone hill Thorpe Cloud, this spacious cottage lies on the southern edge of the Peak District in Thorpe.

A fantastic choice to host your family get-together, everyone will enjoy the spacious rooms as well as en-suite shower rooms in nearly all the bedrooms.

After a day of walking around the local peaks, come back to the woodburning stove in one corner of the sitting area and put your feet up in front of the fire, with plenty of sofas arranged to accommodate the whole party.

Put a family favourite film on, if everyone can agree on one, while a few of the group head into the kitchen to cook up a classic dish with the access to an electric double oven and other high-quality appliances.

When it's time to serve, send the word to gather around the splendid dining table for twenty-two guests and enjoy some quality time with your loved ones, while planning where your holiday will take you in the coming days.

The ground floor is home to one of the ten bedrooms, this one being a king-size with en-suite shower room and a sofa bed, suitable for four people or two with their own private snug area.

All the windows look out to gorgeous views of the surrounding countryside and heading upstairs will take you to another six bedrooms on the first floor, five king-size and one super-king-size, most with en-suite shower rooms attached.

The bedrooms are adorned with pretty décor and plenty of storage for your personal items.

Heading up to the second floor brings you to the final three bedrooms; a king-size with en-suite shower room and two twin rooms, as well as a games room.

On a summer's day you can head out to the garden, where there is plenty of room to spread out and enjoy some alfresco dining with a cold drink while the kids run around, take a long soak in a bubbling hot tub, or unwind in the sauna.

Discover walking routes accessible right from your doorstep, with popular walking haunts including Thorpe Cloud, Dovedale Stepping Stones and the water meadows of the River Dove.

Over in the larger town of Ashbourne you can find a wide range of restaurants, cafes, and family friendly pubs, as well as shopping and historic buildings.

An exciting day out for everyone is just a short car journey away at Alton Towers, one of the world's leading theme parks.

Whatever your reason for a visit to the Peaks, you will be glad you stayed at Hillcrest House; a unique property to return to year after year!

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £2000.

View on map

About the location


Matlock 15.7 miles; Bakewell 16.6 miles; Chatsworth 20.4 miles.

Lying at the southern end of the Peak District, Ashbourne is a perfect example of an English market town - market place with stalls, eccentric street plan, narrow cobbled alleys, coaching inns and almshouses. In its heyday in the 18th-century, the town was a fashionable social centre, and many fine Georgian buildings remain from this period. Today the town still has much to offer in terms of restaurants and inns and is regarded as something of a haven for antique hunters - but don’t expect a bargain! For those who prefer more outdoor pursuits, the Dove and Manifold Valleys are close by and for thrill seekers Alton Towers with its exciting collecting of rides and attractions is just a short drive away.

View more holiday cottages in Ashbourne

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas