In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 38 View Image Gallery
  • The Old Robin Hood - Peak District & Derbyshire - 2564 - photo 1

The Old Robin Hood

(Ref. 2564)

Holmesfield near Bakewell, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 15 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • great (18)
  • our (17)
  • family (15)
  • perfect (14)
  • stay (13)
  • all (13)

43 Customer Reviews

  • "Thanks for a fabulous weekend away, for family to celebrate my parents’ Golden Wedding Anniversary."

    It was just perfect! Everything was as described…and the delicious cake left for our arrival was a lovely touch. The kitchen was very well-equipped and the beds very comfy. The sunsets from the lawn were beautiful and helped us capture some wonderful photos. Highly recommended! Thanks again x

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Jul 2024

  • "We've recently visited for my fiancé's 30th birthday."

    It was a lovely break, allowing everyone to be in the same place at the same time. There are lots of pubs a couple of minutes drive away & about 15 minutes walk. The only 2 things I can think of as an improvement would be; • back garden being fully fenced off rather than the wired fence. • bath mat to prevent it getting slippy after a shower Other than that the experience was lovely and the views are fantastic.

    Reviewed by Jade4.7Jun 2024

  • "Large living/social area with brilliant views."

    Large kitchen. The sofas in the lounge need replacing. Lots of bedrooms for large parties. Small en-suite needs updating. Most of our large party complained about beds being uncomfortable.

    Thank you for your feedback, it is always helpful. It’s the first time we’ve been told the beds are uncomfortable, in fact it’s usually the opposite. However we will review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jan3.4May 2024

  • "Amazing stay."

    Truly fantastic hosts. A beautiful location. Thank you for an amazing stay

    Reviewed by Kelly5.0May 2024

  • "Excellent property for our stay."

    Met all our needs. Lovely location.

    Reviewed by Garry5.0Mar 2024

  • "Stunning views, beautiful location."

    Responsive and understanding hosts. Perfect for an extended family getaway or larger group. Perfect for many local attractions.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Aug 2023

  • "The place was amazing view from cottage was fabulous I would love to go again"

    Reviewed by Poonam3.1Aug 2023

  • "We had a great stay at the house with our family group of 10 aged 20 to 86 years."

    The two downstairs bedrooms with bathroom were perfect for our golden oldies, as were the 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms upstairs for the rest of the group. There were steps between areas as expected in an old property and they all coped well. The whole house was clean and comfortable, and the kitchen well equipped. The views were amazing especially at sunset. It gave us a great base to quickly and easily drive about (into Sheffield for graduation day, collect & return one of our family from Chesterfield train station and enjoy visiting Bakewell & Chatsworth House on other days).

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Old Robin Hood and the graduation get together was a success. Please come again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne-marie5.0Jul 2023

  • "Great property for large groups very spacious plenty of games 8 to play if ..."

    Great property for large groups very spacious plenty of games 8 to play if raining, the only downfall was it was not wheelchair freindly, but did not spoil our weekend we managed we had loads of fun and laughter, host left cakes for our arrival nice touch

    Thanks for your kind feedback. As there are various levels downstairs in this 400+ year old property we purposely don’t advertise it as wheelchair friendly. I’m glad it didn’t spoil your weekend. I will check and make sure we clearly state there are a few small steps up to living room. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Jun 2023

  • "What a beautiful house … this was a 4 generations holiday & enjoyed by all x so many facilities at the house … pool table hottub games room surrounded by lovely countryside ."

    . fantastic walks and pubs x would recommend Thr Angel just up the road .., we had a fantastic holiday … Thank you for the birthday cake too … lovely gesture

    Reviewed by Elaine5.0May 2023

  • "Could not recommend this house highly enough."

    We had three households all together to celebrate our parents 50th anniversary and it’s a perfect property to have done that in. The downstairs bedrooms and bathroom were great for the older people in the group and the gaming area was perfect for all the teenagers. The kitchen is the best equipped one I’ve seen and the living room area is bigger than needed to sit us all together in an evening. The owner’s daughter was incredibly kind and attentive following a group member having a fall, she could not have been more helpful. We will definitely be returning and making the most of the stunning views and the hot tub.

    Reviewed by Kate5.0Mar 2023

  • "We had a fantastic stay at the Old Robin Hood!"

    It is a lovely property in a nice setting and had everything we needed. It was prefect for our group of 8 adults, 5 kids and two dogs. Would definitely recommend!

    Reviewed by Lucy5.0Mar 2023

  • "This was a fabulous holiday property as my brother and sister in law came over from Australia wanting to see many people over a short period and this place provided plenty of accommodation for family and friends to met up."

    Very spacious, clean bright and airy, well maintained A beautiful location We would most definitely return for another Reunion

    Thank you all for such a lovely review. Sorry we didn’t meet, but our contact on What’s App was good! Please come back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caron5.0Oct 2022

  • "Just back from an amazing week at the old Robin Hood."

    Family of 15 spanning 70 years down to 2 years old and everybody loved it. Views are beautiful. Cottage well equipped with everything needed. Don’t really need to go far with the hot tub, pool table, games etc but lots of beautiful spots within 10 min drive. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Look forward to coming back in the future.

    Reviewed by Michelle4.7Aug 2022

  • "Great venue for a family holiday across 3 generations including a 7 and 18 month old."

    Perfect for exploring the area with lots of walks and places of interest within a half hour drive. The host couldn't have been more welcoming and communication was easy. Really enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend to others

    Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to our holiday home. We work hard to ensure our guests have a great experience and we love to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay. Please do come again and thanks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2022

  • "A beautiful farmhouse with stunning scenery ."

    ., plenty of walks & so close to Chatsworth Baslow & Bakewell althought the house was so well equipped with hottub pool table/ table football & board games you wouldnt have to go far if you didnt want to We were a family of 4 generations & we all loved The Old Robin Hood & cant wait to rebook … we had a fantastic holiday

    Thank you for your kind comments. It is great when groups get together with families in the house.. we feel it is such a perfect house for all generations to be able to spread themselves out without stepping over each other! We would be delighted to welcome you all back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elaine5.0Mar 2022

  • "We had a fabulous weekend and you were so accommodating for us."

    The house was incredible and gave us plenty of space to relax and play games. It was perfect for a hen do. The log burner was a must and was put to good use! We will definitely be back for future hen do’s or family events. Again, thank you so much!

    Reviewed by Lorna4.7Dec 2021

  • "Absolutely perfect for a reunion with 5 under 5s!"

    Previous feedback says the house was cold but we didn't find this at all, the ensuite bedroom was the coldest but never dropped below 19 degrees at the end of November. We enjoyed putting the fire on but it wasn't necessary. The kitchen was well appointed and the lounge room is perfect for socialising. Communication with owner also easy. The house is well located with lots of pubs nearby and only 15 mins from Chatsworth house.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you had a great time. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Olivia5.0Nov 2021

  • "The house is great, and provides what it says it does, the owner is responsive and helpful, but it is in a very windy location, and the windows don’t all seal so there is a constant draft through the house, this would be ok but the house is heated via a ground source heat pump which the owner controls, but it doesn’t disperse the heat evenly."

    The kitchen, games area and downstairs bedrooms are lovely and warm, but the upstairs bedrooms and lounge are cold. Every day we woke up cold in the upstairs bedrooms. The lounge was cold too. We were provided with a log starter pack which consists of a few logs and some kindling. But in order to keep the lounge warm (bearing in mind this is the room we as a family collectively spent the most time in an evening together) required the fire to be the source of heat for the room. Considering the price of staying in the house, if the heating is inadequate in that room then the wood should be provided, or at least it should be clearly flagged that you will additionally have to buy your own wood. We spent £62 on wood for the week. The point is that we shouldn’t have to pay for wood to stay warm, this should be part of the cost of the let! I did raise the fact that we were cold but was then told that the temperature was reading 22degrees so we shouldn’t be cold. We left it as we didn’t want an argument over how cold we were etc. The fact is iwe wouldn’t have been said we were cold if we weren’t! We were given another starter pack but that only lasted an hour. The crockery and glasses were inadequate, there are not enough bowels glasses etc for everyone in the house, you have to wash them up before everyone could eat breakfast The main shower upstairs leaks as there is no seal between the shower glass and the bath. There is no way to dry the towels as there are no radiators as it is ground source heated Our experience was that the house is nice but I would only visit in the summer and it requires more maintenance. The house is fine but the basics let it down. The owner needs to take full responsibility for providing adequate heat and enough wood to stay warm

    Thank you for your feedback. We constantly check our property and maintain it. The washing machine is a dryer too, so if visitors need to dry things you can use this. When you told us about the seal, we arranged to get it fixed. We don't offer to provide wood as we aren't always around and couldn't be relied on to be able to deliver it. Our cleaners are instructured to leave 2 bags, kindling and firelighters. I will take on your feedback and leave some more. We installed a new fire this year, and considerable expense - we purchased the fire that gives the highest level of heat. We do regular checks on all of our kitchen equipment, we are sorry that you were not satisfied. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon4.1Oct 2021

  • "Fencing not secure for small dogs"

    Reviewed by Richard4.1Jun 2021

  • "Great place to stay."

    Views and house relaxing. Very close to villages and attractions and also easily accessible to sheffield if you want a city visit.

    Reviewed by Ailsa5.0May 2021

  • "The Old Robin Hood is ideally placed to explore the Peak District from."

    It is spacious, comfortable, clean with good facilities and the owners could not have been more helpful.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Sep 2020

  • "Lounge/dining area much bigger than seem to appear in photos."

    Downstairs areas ie bedrooms, hall/games area, kitchen get too hot, whereas lounge is much cooler. But it was an exceptionally chilly, wet and windy week. Our family of 6 adults, 4 children and 1 dog had a great time, in a really spacious, clean house. Kitchen very well kitted out, we lacked nothing!

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Feb 2020

  • "The facilities were amazing."

    Lots of games for adults and children on rainy days and the jacuzzi was a great hit with all the family. Very clean with all modern amenities and plenty of bathrooms. Owner very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0Feb 2020

  • "From start to finish it was the perfect weekend away."

    The cottage is absolutely stunning and very comfortable. The under floor heating and the open fire made it so cosy. All 11 of us really enjoyed every minute. The owners did a brilliant job trimming the cottage up for Christmas at our request. Thankyou- we shall definitely be back!!

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Nov 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely."

    Would have been useful to know the 150 deposit that's to be paid to owner at the start of booking so I could factor that in when collecting payments xx

    Reviewed by Victoria5.0Nov 2019

  • "Great place for a big family."

    The owners catered for two babies with cots and high chairs and made sure we had everything we needed. Lovely sociable sitting room and dinning area. Hot tub was really good after long walks. Great location with good places to visit and eat at nearby.

    Reviewed by Ada5.0Sep 2019

  • "Had a fabulous time, would definately stay there again, there was 12 if us and plenty of beds to choose from for the kids to sleep in, great that there was a pool table too."

    Kitchen is well equipt for the 12 of us. If we had any problems, Aoife sorted them straight away. Thank you, we may be back

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Jul 2019

  • "Cottage was really clean and the underfloor heating was marvellous."

    Reviewed by Janet5.0May 2019

  • "Great place for family and friends to enjoy time together."

    Reviewed by Terence4.4Apr 2019

  • "Location to visit surrounding area."

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Apr 2019

  • "Me and 7 other of my friends have just got back from a fantastic weekend at the ..."

    Me and 7 other of my friends have just got back from a fantastic weekend at the old Robin Hood cottage in Holmesfield 22/03/19 till 24/3/19 ,what can’t I say about this place it is a most beautiful cottage with every amentity and facility you can possibly need the owner Aoife is the loveliest lady and can not do enough for you while you are there but she is never intrusive, the property is in beautiful surroundings , down the road is two great pubs one that does food and they have lovely friendly staff who make you feel very welcome, the cottage is very close to any interesting places , I could not recommend this highly enough , we are booking for next year without a doubt

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Mar 2019

  • "We booked the Old Robin Hood to cater for a 40th birthday party."

    Aoife met us on arrival and made sure we were comfortable throughout our stay (without ever being intrusive). She made sure we had enough water in the hot tub (and that it was hot enough), that we were warm enough and had enough logs for the fire. The kitchen was large, well equipped and organised and made a perfect social point for our party. The main living area had very comfortable sofas and chairs, and a fantastic wood burning fire. The bedrooms were clean, and beds comfortable. The hot tub was fantastic, and a perfect place to relax. It's easy to get to, there are many local pubs, the local shops and supermarket are nearby, and its the perfect place to stay if you intend to head out into the Peak District (with Stannage Edge and Higger Tor just a stones throw away). In summary, I would recommend this place to anyone with a decent sized group of people, and would love to stay there again someday.

    Reviewed by Jonathan5.0Feb 2019

  • "The cottage was exceptional and beyond our expectations."

    There was ample room for the 11 of us that stayed. The hot tub was a brilliant facility. The only aspects of feedback I would give are that, in winter there is probably a need for a door mat into the living room for people coming in from the hot tub. We made the floor quite slippy coming in and out. Also a few people in the group commented on the hardness of the pillows on the beds. But aside from this it was an amazing experience and Aoife was on hand to make sure everything was perfect

    Reviewed by Rachael4.7Nov 2018

  • "Great accommodation for a large group, would recommend!"

    Reviewed by Ben5.0Oct 2018

  • "The house was perfect for two families getting away to the Peak District."

    Good location to many attractions and villages. The layout and number of bedrooms/bathrooms made it a perfect stay for two individual families, meaning we had our own space and bathroom options. The hot tub and games room was a great addition, entertaining the kids and adults when Home. The owner was always quick to help with anything we needed and ensured the hot tub was always filled up. Thank you, we had a fantstic stay. The Old Robin Hood was beautiful.

    Reviewed by Jovan4.4Aug 2018

  • "The online photos do not do it justice, The Old Robin Hood is a stunning property in a perfect location with amazing views."

    Great walks from the doorstep and lovely local pubs a 15 minute walk away. Ideal for large groups, plenty of space and the hot tub is an added bonus!

    Reviewed by Luke4.7Aug 2018

  • "Great place for family get togethers or parties."

    Set in beautiful surroundings. Would definitely go back

    Reviewed by Liz4.7Jun 2018

  • "Old Robin Hood was an absolutely perfect setting for our weekend, it was such a beautiful home and very comfortable and very clean."

    Aoife was so helpful throughout the booking process and during our stay and very easy to communicate with.

    Reviewed by Rose5.0Jun 2018

  • "We thought the house was really lovely, and the Pool table, all the indoor and outdoor games and hot tub were very much enjoyed by the family."

    My only very minor grumble was that the instuctions for the very modern cooker were hidden amongst the very comprehensive pile of walks books for the area, so it took a long time to find them, thus delaying the cooking of the lasagna for our evening meal!. I will send the owner an e-mail of thanks, and mention this very minor point. Also, the bedding and towels which were provided were sparkling clean, and a pleasure to use. All in all, a wonderful place to stay.

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Mar 2018

  • "The Old Robin Hood was lovely."

    We were a large group and it was perfect for us. The kitchen was very well equipped and the lounge /dining room comfortable. The hot tub was a great bonus. The owner was very helpful and responsive. Some lovely walks from the cottage and easy to get to stanage edge and other places of interest. Tesco deliver here. All in all a lovely break.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Feb 2018

  • "Cold. Cold."

    Cold. On arrival the information in the house told us the main room is cold due to high ceiling and not to adjust heating as it takes a couple of days to get up to temperature. Sadly we were sitting round in coats and gloves all week. Log fire very hard to light as wouldn't draw (does chimney need sweeping?). If we had known in advance we could have brought portable heaters/extra jumpers/hats etc from home. Sister in law with broken collar bone had to go home early as cold made it ache so much. I appreciate the weather was particularly cold during our stay, but as the information on arrival made it clear the owners were aware of the issues, it wouldn't have been difficult for them to warn us to come equipped.

    Reviewed by Gillian3.1Feb 2018

  • "The large kitchen is well stocked and the downstairs is very warm with the underfloor heating."

    The lounge and dining area was great, there was enough sofas and chairs for everyone to be seated at once around the fire. We especially liked that the dining table was in the lounge so that we could all be together in one room whether sat munching on cheese and crackers enjoying the fabulous view out of the large window, or sat eating chestnuts in front of the log fire. The only downside is that there isn't an outside tap to keep topping up the hot tub !!!!

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Oct 2017

Show more Hide all


  • Five bedrooms: 1 x king-size double with pull-out single bed, 1 x ground floor king-size double with pull-out single bed, 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin with two pull-out single beds, 1 x ground floor twin with pull-out single bed
  • Bathroom with roll-top bath, basin and WC
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast bar
  • Sitting room with dining area and woodburning stove
  • Games room with pool table and table football.
  • Geothermal underfloor heating throughout with woodburning stove
  • Electric range cooker, microwave, fridge, fridge/freezer in games room, washer/dryer, dishwasher, Smart TV with Freeview, DVD, Bluetooth speaker, WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburner inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair
  • Ample off road parking
  • Bike storage
  • Lawned garden with patio, gravelled area, hot tub, furniture and BBQ
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome, to be kept in the kitchen or games room only
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 3 miles, pubs 1 mile
  • Note: Property next to a B road, some road noise can be heard when outside
  • Note: There’s two steps up to sitting room and a further two steps up to the dining area, as well as steps in the garden
  • There is a £200 Good Housekeeping bond to be paid directly to the owner
  • During Summer school holidays the property only accepts full week bookings

The property

Holmesfield 0.7 miles.

A stunning, 17th century Grade II listed detached house with a hot tub, on the outskirts of the village of Holmesfield, within driving distance of the Spa town of Buxton and only ten miles from Sheffield.

A former coaching inn, this wonderful property has been lovingly refurbished, boasting underfloor heating, a fabulous hot tub, beautiful beamed ceilings and modern fixtures and fittings, providing a truly outstanding holiday home.

This is an ideal base for families, friends, birthday or anniversary celebrations and stag/hen parties.

The first room you enter into is the games room with a pool table and table football, where many in your party can enjoy a competitive game or two during a rainy afternoon.

From here is the delightful kitchen with a breakfast bar, granite work surfaces and a Belfast sink and which has everything you need to cook lovely home-made meals.

These meals can then be enjoyed around the dining table from where wonderful countryside views can be admired.

Within the same room as the dining table is a cosy sitting area with a warming woodburning stove set in a stone fireplace, beautiful exposed beams and patio doors that open out onto the garden and hot tub.

Completing the ground floor are two comfortable bedrooms, a king-size double with a feature fireplace and a twin.

On the first floor are three further bedrooms, including another king-size double and a double with the convenience of an en-suite, together with a modern bathroom with roll-top bath.

The lawned garden invites you to enjoy a spot of alfresco dining on the patio after which you can relax in the bubbles of the hot tub before retiring to the bedrooms for a good night’s sleep.

The property offers breathtaking rural views and wonderful walks can be enjoyed from the doorstep.

Within reach are many attractions and places to visit, including the excellent Chatsworth House, Bakewell or Sheffield with its shops, pubs and nightlife.

A superb and stylish holiday home.

Note: This property has a refundable Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Chatsworth House 6 miles; Bakewell 10 miles.

Holmesfield is a small village situated on a high peak between Bakewell and Sheffield, on the very edge of the Peak District National Park, and with commanding views of the Cordwell Valley. Surrounded by undulating countryside and deep valleys, the village is made up of a group of traditional old houses, interesting manors, a village hall and the parish church of St Swithins, built in 1826. There are many local amenities; the area boasts eight pubs and a number of fine restaurants, and is ideally located for exploring this interesting and beautiful area. Nearby, the impressive Damflask, Agden, Dale Dike and Ladybower dams make for an interesting afternoon's ramble, while the attractive village of Hathersage is also within easy reach, thought to be the inspiration for Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre and home to a selection of shops, pubs and inviting eateries, and a lovely outdoor lido. There are many stately homes to visit including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Hardwick Hall to mention just a few, whilst the historic and ever popular town of Bakewell along with the lively city of Sheffield are both within a short drive. An ideal location whatever the time of year.

During Summer school holidays the property only accepts full week bookings
There is a £200 Good Housekeeping bond to be paid directly to the owner.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute