In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Anglesey 48 minutes ago

Black Friday

On Winter & Spring holidays over £600.
Offer ends Monday 29th Nov , 23:59 (GMT).
 Full terms apply.

See terms & voucher code

Group 3 Created with Sketch.

5 people have recently viewed this property


Trearddur Bay, Anglesey (Ref. 20917)



Sykes rating


  • Icon/Feature/Hot Tub Hot tub
  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Open fire Open fire
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Highchair available
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/Games room Games Room
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

20 Customer Reviews

  • "The overall house experience was fantastic there was loads of space, many rooms which was great!"

    The house was clean and tidy. The views where amazing and the overall look of the house was stunning!

    Reviewed by YasminOct 2021

  • "The check-in and out times were restrictive BUT I was able to seek flexibility once I contacted the team Not until I rang re the above was I informed that I had paid for 3 nights and not 2, therefore check out time was far more flexible."

    The dishwasher did not work - a HUGE problem as I was cooking meals for 9 and then had to wash by hand! This took up enjoyment time from our holiday.

    Hi, thanks for your feedback and overall good scores for Minerva. The guest check in and check out times have been restrictive due to Covid, however I have been in communication with the cleaning company and we have agreed that standards will not be affected if check in goes back to 4pm and check out is 10am and this has been confirmed with Sykes. I can understand your frustration regarding the dishwasher, it’s only 5 years old and so did not expect it to break down. I know the handyman responded quickly and tried to fix it. However we ended up having to buy a new one which is now fitted and working. Many thanks, the Hodge family. x Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoSep 2021

  • "The property itself is lovely and beautiful location."

    Unfortunately the cleanliness was not as expected- dusty, oil fat in baking trays, dirty glasses and bowls, bathrooms were disgusting, dust and items left under furniture. Also both double beds were extremely uncomfortable especially the master, the mattress needs replacing 100%. The kitchen facilities- dishwasher didn't work, nothing organised in cupboards, all just everywhere and nowhere really to put a food shop, no masher and other broken utensils left in the filthy draw, baking trays falling apart, the house sleeps 13 yet fridge isn't big enough for that neither is the tiny broken bbq outside. We did enjoy our stay but property really does need a few improvements and cleaning to a higher standard

    I’m glad you enjoyed the property and its fantastic location and that you had a great holiday. I’m sorry to hear that the cleanliness was not up to standard. As part of your welcome, there is a handwritten note that reminds all guests that, if there are any concerns, immediate help is at hand. Minerva has a totally managed service and the support team are superb, so I am really sorry that you did not utilise this service as these issues could have been rectified straight away. The cleaning company and property manager are fully aware of your comments and a plan has been in place to ensure that these things will be thoroughly checked and sorted. Thank you also for mentioning about the dishwasher as I did issue a part refund through Sykes yesterday so hopefully you enjoy a nice family lunch or dinner out somewhere? Many thanks again, The Hodge family x Property Owner

    Reviewed by TaraSep 2021

  • "It's difficult for me to give accurate feedback, given personal health issues I was unable to attend on the holiday."

    My children and grandchildren however use the cottage and seem to be very pleased with the location, facilities and layout

    Reviewed by PaulJul 2021

  • "Superb location - views amazing."

    Lots of space for our large family. House well equipped and hot tub was fabulous. The management team were extremely helpful . The details said that towels were included , but they were not big enough or enough of them - so would encourage to take your own. Also from the details it suggests there was another shower . None of this detracted us from a fabulous stay.

    Reviewed by ClaireJul 2021

  • "Minerva is a beautiful house in a great setting."

    Trearddur Bay is a fabulous holiday spot for clean accessible beaches and easy access to South Stack and other great walks. Peaceful and restful. Let down by cleaning and preparation to a poor standard. We arrived to an outdoor waste bin that was full and couldn't be closed, cigarette butt's across the front garden, toilets dirty, chip fork in the bed, damp duvet cover, broken cafetiere, coffee machine not working, outside table had lolly stick stuck to it and waste in the chimenea. A great property well and truly let down by the service side of what you pay for, hard to recommend on this evidence when so many other great properties in this area, Minerva itself well worth renting but needs cleaning and preparing to much higher standard.

    Many thanks for your comments about how beautiful Minerva is and the setting. I am so sorry to hear about your experience with the standard of cleaning.Our primary goal is for our guests to have a brilliant time so if there is anything that we need to be aware of then we recommend that the guest contacts our property manager on arrival. This way it enables you to enjoy the rest of your stay and gives us an opportunity to put things right for you. The cleaning company we use are recommended by Sykes and is a 5 star rated company. The gardens are checked by the hot tub man twice weekly and the property manager checks the gardens and the house post cleaning. We use a local laundry company and have done for many years and we’ve never received any negative feedback. The outdoor waste bin gets emptied by a large waste disposal company twice monthly and should easily have had the capacity to cope with the waste that comes from 2 changeovers. Your comments have been shared with the relevant team members that supports the running of Minerva and we are grateful that you have taken the time to share them with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of the summer and that we can welcome you back to Minerva again soon. Many thanks. The Hodge family Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidJul 2021

  • "Loved the views and spaciousness of Minerva from the large windows at the back."

    It was extremely quiet although only 10 minute walk to the beach. A brilliant place to unwind and recharge batteries.

    Reviewed by JeanJun 2021

  • "It appears changes have been made to front area to make additional parking, which is great but meaning no enclosed garden."

    poor outdoor relaxation chairs.. bbq too small. other than this amazing. lack of bin bags and toilet roll poor effort given cost...

    Dear Mrs Burgess. Many thanks for your overall feedback of 81%, I’m pleased that you had a great holiday at Minerva and that you were especially pleased with the cleanliness - rating this area 4/4 overall. Many thanks for your additional comments. It is tricky with Treardurr Bay to offer guests more 'lounge like' outdoor furniture due to the nature of the weather, hence why we provide the wooden, longer lasting variety that will not get blown away or damaged. I will also feed back to the cleaning company around toilet rolls and bin bags. We provide our guests with a cupboard full of cleaning equipment, sprays, washing up liquid, tea towels etc and so I am sorry that not enough bin bags or toilet rolls were provided on this occasion. I am glad you had an amazing stay - I think we are all very grateful to be going away this summer! The Hodge family, owners. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KarenJun 2021

  • "We had a fantastic stay at minerva."

    House was amazing. Hot tub was a real bonus. House was equipped with all you need. Second bedroom, bed springs slightly exposed and bed was squeaky. Views were great, overall a wonderful stay.

    Hi Diane. Many thanks for your wonderful feedback. We are always thrilled to hear from our guests who have enjoyed their stay and all that Minerva has to offer. The hot tub is a consistent winner, especially with families. Thanks also for your feedback about the bed in the second bedroom. In the interim I have arranged for a 4 inch mattress quilted Silent Night topper to be fitted and will look to replace the mattress in time. Have a great summer and we hope to welcome you back to Minerva again soon. Many thanks, the Hodge family x Property Owner

    Reviewed by DianeMay 2021

  • "It was amazing we had a fantastic time it was beautiful the hot tub was an added bonus."

    Reviewed by SheenaApr 2021

  • "We all loved the place ,the space,the excellent views and close to the beach and ..."

    We all loved the place ,the space,the excellent views and close to the beach and shops, We enjoyed the hot tub and barbecue also the chiminea We recommend this place for a family holiday

    Reviewed by PeterOct 2020

  • "The Minerva is in need of some TLC and the cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired, especially in our present climate."

    We arrived on 25/9/20 and on the surface everything looked fine. But taking a closer look we were horrified ,all three toilets had urine stains in and on the toilet seats, the toilet in the main bathroom had some sort of black stuff at the back of the seat and all down the pan! The shower in the en-suite was mouldy and all the towel rails had certainly not been cleaned since the last holiday makers. Behind the bed in the en-suite room was disgusting it had months worth of dust and the actual bed frame was the same, my husband and I had to scrub it all first before we could sleep in it. There was also a very dirty and dust extension lead under the bed which had the lamp plugged into it. The kitchen units were all stained,so we had to clean them and the kitchen bin had debris in it from previous holiday makers. The baby highchair was dirty and full of stains. Lampshades and lights were thick with dust and to top it off the fan in the conservatory leaked when it rained so could not be used. It’s a shame because it could be a lovely property,the views and the location are absolutely stunning. Someone is letting someone down very badly and us as customers are most definitely being put in a vulnerable position especially with covid-19 out there.

    Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments and I am extremely sorry for the cleaning issues you have raised. The cleaning company we use are usually brilliant and utilise the time in between guests to ensure the property is cleaned thoroughly, the floors are steamed and is fully prepped ready to welcome our next guests. I am surprised by the photos and have been in lots of discussions with the cleaning company since being notified to ensure that this never happens again. I was happy to learn that the company responded to your comments at the time very quickly and spent time on Sunday rectifying the areas and doing everything to ensure you were happy for the rest of your time there. Moving forward, I will ensure that the cleaning company adopt their policy of management checking after every changeover, that a deeper cleaner will be done regularly and that these areas are checked after every clean. I appreciate your comments as they will enable us help us improve Minerva even further for our future guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Many thanks from the Hodge family. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JudithSep 2020

  • "I would first of all say the holiday in the property was very good on the negative side there were a few things that I was not happy about."

    First of all the couches all need changing and the balcony needs treating it looks very dry and in need of some TLC.The bar b q was very small and the welcome pack left a lot to be desired.My next observation was that parts of the road leading to the property is not very good I realise this is not your problem but it might put future customers off.Overall it was satisfactory but with a bit more TLC it could be a ten instead of an .8 .

    Many thanks for your thoughts on Minerva and for sharing them. Your feedback is valuable, especially in such hard times when it is difficult for me to keep a check on the property. It has been exceptionally busy and this has proven to be wearing on the lounge furniture. I am currently looking to update and replace the sofas you mention within the coming few months, however, they are still in good condition and are comfortable and I have had no other feedback to suggest that this isn't the case. Unfortunately, with regards to the road leading up to Minerva, I have no control over the state of this. However you will notice that we have re-graveled the large section of road directly in front of Minerva and also the hill leading away from the property in grey stone which improves the road significantly. The welcome pack contains tea bags, coffee, milk, sugar, bars brith, local cake, cleaning products, toilet rolls, towels and tea towels which is regarded as a good package by past guests and I am sorry that this didn't meet your satisfaction. I will take time to reconsider this and speak to future guests to find out their thoughts. I would really like to be able to welcome you back to Minerva at some point in the future as I am sure your stay there would be a fantastic one. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PaulSep 2020

  • "We had a wonderful 4 day stay at Minerva."

    2 dogs, 2 grandparents, 2 parents and 3 children aged 7, 9 & 11. The house is absolutely fabulous with an amazing view over the surrounding countryside and the bay. The children especially liked the games room and the hot tub! The location is great being just a short walk down the the beautiful beach. We will definitely return.

    Reviewed by SallyAug 2020

  • "Amazing house perfect for our trip to Angelsey."

    The kids loved the conservatory which had ample toys for all four of them at different ages. The kitchen had everything needed available and the dining room seated us all comfortably. On arrival a couple of cleaning issues that have been sorted out with Sykes Cottages. This did not affect our stay and I would definitely return to this property. Perfect location and accommodation.

    Reviewed by VickyAug 2020

  • "The house was in a fabulous location with fabulous views of the sea and open fields full of sheep and cows."

    The best bit about this house is the use of the hot tub which was amazing. There were an abundance of children’s toys and books, sky tv package with all channels, an Xbox and WiFi enabling us to log into Netflix. The description of the house does need updating on Sykes Cottages though, there is no utility room but we suspect that this is because the house now has a huge open plan kitchen, it also does not have a shower room, there is just the main bathroom, the en-suite and a separate WC. The information folder in the house mentions a speaker system but there was no speaker for us to use and there were no batteries in the remote controls in the conservatory so we had to purchase our own. There were also some light bulbs out, most notably the main light in the conservatory so it was very dark in here in the evening. Also we could not use the sky mini box in the conservatory it wasn’t working. There is a leak in the conservatory and due to the heavy rain we had one night rain was pouring in, the roof in the downstairs living room also needs repairing as there was a small leak here too. Despite these minor things we did have a wonderful stay and would consider staying here again if the things above had been rectified.

    Hi. Many thanks for your feedback on Minerva and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is always very helpful when we receive detailed feedback as, very often, areas like this gets missed due to the fact that we are not staying in the property. It is always our aim to give all guests a five star experience and I am sorry that there are some areas of your stay that could have been improved. Having said this, I am happy to report that I have already rectified a number of these items. Having spoken to Sykes this morning they are in the process of removing the utility room bullet point from the description as we are not sure why it was listed on there. Unfortunately the Harmon Karden speaker has disappointingly been taken from the property and so I have updated the guest welcome pack accordingly. I am sorry that you had to buy new batteries for the remote control in the playroom and that there were bulbs that were out as the cleaning company should check all controls and the lights. I have notified them of this and asked that they check everything after every clean. I have checked all lights and replaced the bulbs to those lamps that weren't working also bought a second table lamp in the playroom to improve the light source in there even further. The roof to Minerva was replaced end August and so I am surprised there was a leak. I am here at the moment and it's been raining for the last few days and there are currently no leaks, however, I have notified the cleaning company to keep a very close eye and will source a repair man if the leak appears again. We really do appreciate your feedback and hope that you will come and visit us again soon. Many thanks. George Property Owner

    Reviewed by LisaOct 2019

  • "What a beautiful house perfect location walking distance to the bay ."

    Everything you need for an amazing holiday would highly recommend .

    Reviewed by DianeSep 2019

  • "The cottage is in a beautiful location and I think if it was listed for a maximum of 9 people it would be great but it simply does not have room for the 13 people it states."

    The mattress on the sofa bed is really thin and very uncomfortable. The bathrooms are small and the outdoor space is limited so given we had children staying with us, it was very hard for them to find space to be. Overall I really feel that the cottage did not really deliver what we were expecting and would advise re-listing it for smaller parties.

    Hi, many thanks for your comments and feedback relating to Minerva, our holiday home in Trearddur Bay, Anglessey. The description provided by Sykes goes in to detail about the number of beds and bedrooms available to guests and includes the fact that there is a double bed pull out and adult camp bed for the extra 3 people staying. We are very sorry that you felt that the property wasn’t big enough for 13 people, however we often rent out Minerva to 13 guests and we have never received a complaint about its size before, including the size of the bathrooms. The photos on the website clearly show the bedrooms, the bathrooms and the outdoor space available for guests, however, if there is anything you think we can do to the photos to make this more clear, that would be great. We will also look in to improving the mattress on the double pull out bed and will look at perhaps providing a mattress topper or replacing the mattress all together? We are always looking for ways to improve Minerva as we often stay there ourselves and always appreciate feedback from our guests. Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RachelApr 2019

  • "Brilliant setting, lovely house."

    Kids and adults loved the hot tub! Brilliant way for. 3 generations of the family to spend quality time together.

    Reviewed by KatherineApr 2019

  • "This is a beautiful house with amazing views."

    Everything has been catered for. Didn't want to leave.

    Reviewed by AmandaDec 2018

Show more

The property

This wonderful detached bungalow rests in an elevated position on a raised rock cliff at the end of a country lane, looking out towards the calming countryside and sea waters.

Within walking distance of sandy beaches at Trearddur Bay, Minerva is perfect for all the family, a magnificent cottage to return to, providing the luxury of four bedrooms and three bathrooms.

The wow factor begins with the gallery dining area, and lower vaulted ceiling sitting room with its cosy woodburner and picture window.

Enjoy the scenery from the sumptuous living area, or the neighboring conservatory, better yet, the decked balcony is your own little haven to look out towards stunning views over Holyhead golf course, Holyhead mountain, farmland and out towards the sea.

You and your loved ones will be kept busy for hours considering the cottage also a smart TV with Netflix, and a Bluetooth sound system, not forgetting a spacious sun room/games room.

The bedrooms are situated on the ground floor, each beautifully presented and consisting of a variety styles including a family bunk bed option, and double beds, equally promising a peaceful night's sleep.

There is also an option to sleep a further three people on a high quality pull out double sofa bed, and an additional transportable adult camp bed, with a travel cot and high chair also available.

Watersports, sailing and windsurfing are the vibrant activities of the summer months, and golfers will appreciate the excellent Holyhead 18 hole links golf course.

It’s a great place for nature lovers with renowned birdwatching at the South Stack Lighthouse RSPB Reserve, whilst lots of rock pools and cliff top walks are just waiting to be explored.

There are shops, pubs and restaurants in Trearddur Bay itself and nearby Holyhead offers a wider range of amenities.

A fabulous cottage on the western shore of Holy Island.


  • Four bedrooms: 2 x double (one with en-suite shower, basin and WC), 1 x family room with 2 adult bunks, 1 x adult bunk room
  • Bathroom with bath, basin and WC. Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan sitting, kitchen and dining area with woodburner
  • WC with cloakroom area
  • Conservatory.
  • Gas ovens and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, coffee machine, drinks fridge and dishwasher
  • Huge selection of adult and childrens books, games, toys, kites, buckets and spades
  • Free WiFi, 2 flat screen TV's with full NOW TV package, Amazon games controller, X-box with controllers and video games. Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Off-road parking for 4 cars
  • Large, sheltered patio area with plenty of seating to the front, overlooking an enclosed cottage garden with hot tub
  • To the rear there is a sweeping outdoor balcony terrace with furniture and chiminea
  • Three well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1 mile
  • Beach 8 mins walk
  • Note: In the main bedroom, there is a hairdryer and curling tongs
  • Note: Lovely welcome pack provided on arrival
  • Note: Well-behaved dogs are allowed but prohibited from jumping on furniture and beds
  • Note: There is an option to sleep a further 3 people on a pull-out double sofa bed situated in the lounge, and a transportable adult camp bed
  • This property is suitable for families
  • Note: No Hen, Stag or similar
  • Note: Internal stair case with handrail, very young children may need to be accompanied by an adult
  • Note: No handrails on exterior steps, please take care

View on map

About the location


Holyhead 2 miles.

Trearddur Bay is situated on the western shore of Holy Island. It’s truly beautiful - a great sweep of low grassy coastline indented with rocky coves and fine sandy beaches (European Blue Flag). Watersports, bathing, sailing and windsurfing are the main activities in the summer months and golfers will enjoy the excellent Holyhead 18 hole links golf course. It’s a great place for nature lovers with renowned birdwatching at the South Stack Lighthouse RSPB Reserve and lots of rock pools and cliff top walks to explore. There are shops, pubs and restaurants in Trearddur Bay itself and nearby Holyhead offers a wider range of amenities, including a very good leisure centre, an interesting harbour front, a marina, the world’s second longest breakwater and exciting day trips to Dublin on the ferry. The Maritime Museum in Holyhead has an excellent cafe and the beautiful Holyhead Breakwater Country Park has walks for you to enjoy. Further afield there is the stunning Newborough with its excellent woodland and beach and Beaumaris with its town and castle. A great location with plenty to see and do!

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
close Black Friday. Save £50 on holidays over £600

On Winter & Spring holidays over £600

Offer ends Monday 29th Nov, 23:59 (GMT)

Full terms and conditions


Code has been copied!

Enter your code during checkout

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it