4.3★ 6 Guests 3 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms Pets Yes Features Hot tub Swimming pool Off road parking Ground floor bedroom Garden / Patio Cot available Highchair available Pub/shop < 1 mile Washing machine Dishwasher Games Room Broadband / WiFi Reviews & Ratings Accuracy of the listing Cleanliness Comfort Facilities and Maintenance Search All reviews hot (16) lovely (15) lodge (13) tub (12) hot tub (12) clean (8) 31 Customer Reviews "All very good as expected Unfortunately no hot water at taps in bathroom en suit or kitchen." However all showers good and kettle working. We are so sorry to hear this as we only recently had a new boiler put in! There is an emergency contact mobile number in the property and it’s such a shame you didn’t take the time to contact our housekeeping team and they would Have come out immediately to resolve the issue for you. Property Owner Reviewed by Jonathan4.4★Aug 2023 "Location and on site facilities, as well as the site staff, were all lovely." The lodge was very nice, albeit a bit chilly downstairs and could do with some more baking trays in the kitchen. The thing that let it down was the housekeeping/maintenance company. The bedding and towels were of poor quality with holes/frays in. They should not be used. The hot tub was low in water and you could tell had not been cleaned properly. The overflow pipe above the kitchen window leaked and dripped the whole stay. We contacted the company by email, as phone signal at the site is very limited, about some of these points, but had no response. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. At no point did you contact housekeeping to raise these issues and get the housekeeping team to change bedding or towels. No email has been received by us or the team. You make no mention of the welcome pack, provided free of charge with Prosecco and other items. The hot tub must be emptied between guests and it is checked every day with a reading of ph balance etc. We have checked the records and see it was emptied and checked daily. The provision of baking equipment is not a requirement in our properties but we do our best to go well above the requirements of our 4 rating. You can always check to see what is provided in the list on the CCH website . It’s a shame you didn’t contact housekeeping who are on site every day and get your concerns raised. The overflow pipe only runs when the new mixer tap is used on the hot only and this is now resolved. Property Owner Reviewed by Kirsty3.1★Jul 2023 "There was just a few small issues I found." The double bed was not comfy at all, was far too soft and wobbly and I couldn't sleep on it neither could my kids. We all ended up sleeping in single beds. There was a slight tear in the top left side of the double bed sheet. The blue information book could do with being updated as there's no use of grey fobs to access swimming or the gym. The balcony could do with being dusted every now and then to get rid of cobwebs for those who don't like spiders. Other than that the lodge was lovely and we have a lovely time. Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and had a lovely time. We will check the info folder. Beds are always very personal taste and it’s a new sprung mattress that many have asked where purchased as they want to buy one! The balcony can be swept one day and have cobwebs the next… the beauty of being in the countryside surrounded by nature! Property Owner Reviewed by Amie3.1★Jun 2023 "The lodge was perfect." Had everything we needed and the hot tub was amazing. Lovely clean and comfortable home from home. Site was quiet and clean. The pool, sauna and gym were easy to book and nice. Will definitely return. Thanks for a lovely holiday. Styring family. Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner Reviewed by Marie5.0★Oct 2022 "Had a great holiday here all as expected, clean, lovely hot tub, quiet area, great bar/resturant and friendly staff towards us and the dogs." Hopefully will return in the new year for another week of relaxation with the dogs. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you and your dog family were welcomed. We work hard to make no 48 a home from home. Look forward to seeing you back next year. Property Owner Reviewed by Jody5.0★Oct 2022 "We did love the property." Very well equipped kitchen very good. Furnished beautifully. But HotTub was not good and only half the jets worked, the chemicals were far to high. Unable to use after a breathing problem. Out side Area top and bottom needed cleaning bottle tops left around hot tub. Cigarette ends left on path at entrance. The lodge did smell we bought air fresh to help. Hoover needed cleaning and new filters which would of helpd. bathroom floors not clean black mould in shower. Nice touch with the scones and cream. But they were stale and cream had mould on. Dogs loved there treatd. loved the Views and the peaceful Area. Club house good food good and very friendly. Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We are pleased that you liked the property. We pride ourselves on our superior levels of cleanliness and all the extra free gifts we leave for our guests. There is NO black mould in the bathroom and never has been! It is steam cleaned at regular intervals and the property is throughly cleaned between guests. I have checked it myself and no such issue is present. In regards the complementary cream tea, this is purchased fresh and left in the fridge on the morning of guests arrival. It cannot have been stale and the Cream was in date and fresh. At no time have you contacted our housekeeping team who are there for you 24/7 nor CCH to raise any issues. These could have been addressed immediately rather than you putting unsupported negative comments on this forum. We appreciate we all have different tastes and experiences but your comments are totally unsupported by all our other guests comments and our own spot checks. the hover in the property is for guests use and is not the professional ones used by our housekeeping teams on changeover. In relation for the Hot Tub it appears you are not familiar with their use and did not read the very detailed instructions provided in the information pack. This is a legal requirement of guests so that they understand it’s use . Every jet is separately adjustable when you’re in the hot tub, so all are working fine and are checked every week. We use Bromine in our Hot Tub as it is much kinder to the environment than Chlorine. If you had read the Hot Tub information sheet then you will have known to lift the lid for a short while prior to using it. This allows any excess scent to dissipate. The longer the lid is left down then the longer gasses have to be held under the lid. This is so important and ALL our guests are advised to read the guidelines. Property Owner Reviewed by Marie2.8★Sep 2022 "Don’t like the toilets downstairs" Thank you for taking the time to give some feedback. The property is advertised as an upside down house to have the lounge upstairs to enjoy the views. We hope you enjoyed the Hot Tub, the welcome pack and all the little extras we provided. Property Owner Reviewed by Julie3.4★Sep 2022 "Property lovely, no major issues, coffee machine needs to say lift then pull out ..." Property lovely, no major issues, coffee machine needs to say lift then pull out water tank, didn't work that out till the last day Thank you for taking the time to give some feedback. There is a little sign on the back of the coffee machine that explains how to use it and the manual is is also in the welcome folder. We hope you enjoyed your holiday, the Hot Tub, welcome pack and all the other little extras. Property Owner Reviewed by Caroline4.1★Sep 2022 "The property is not suitable for people with even moderate walking difficulties." It is accessed by very steep slopes and we would never have booked this had we realised. We were also emailed documentation which advised us that there were 2 parking spaces at the lodge but this was not true. I contacted the owners when we struggled to park and we were advised that there was no designated parking by the lodge - this was very disappointing. I would not recommend this lodge as it is sited only with the very able bodied in mind and this is not highlighted in any of the documentation. This was our first holiday since 2019 and we were very disappointed - so much so, we only stayed 4 nights. The cleanliness of the property inside the lodge was good. We did contact the owners a number of times with various issues and they were very quick to respond, which was helpful. This is the first time I’ve used Sykes Cottages and due to this experience I would not recommend to friends. More honesty with customers is required. I’m happy for this review to be published but the owners may prefer it is not. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. At no time did you contact us as the property owners. I believe you spoke to our housekeeping team. If you had contacted either us or Sykes prior to your holiday we would have reserved a parking place close the property. It was a very busy time when you stayed so parking close to the property is not always possible. The photo clearly shows there are a few steps up to the property and all the properties are called Valley Lodges because we are in the valley. The slope you refer to is the short walk up to the Pub on site. Many people with limited mobility drive up for meals to save walking. We have many limited mobility guests who return year after year. We would suggest in future to contact the booking agency to ascertain information specific to your needs. The housekeeping team have said you enjoyed the property & hot tub and the free welcome pack. We hope you find something for your very specific needs in the future. We’re pleased that our housekeeping teamwere helpful . Property Owner Reviewed by Joanne2.8★Aug 2022 "The lodge was better than we hoped and the facilities on the park were brilliant." It was so peaceful there, and the pools.werent too busy. Would definitely recommend and we plan to go back. Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review of our property. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay and all extras we provide for our Guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Property Owner Reviewed by Rhian5.0★Jun 2022 "Loved our stay." We didn't have enough towels though and went to the office but they said they didn't deal with other cottages, we spoke to someone on the phone but no towels came, no big problem. The worst part was the hot water pressure in the kitchen. To have a full bowl of hot water takes a lifetime, had to boil water to wash a small amount of dishes which you wouldn't put the dishwasher on for. One of our party is a plummer and he said it wasn't right even though explanation was given it should have been much better than it was. We used this as a base and went out every day, and came home to the hottub every day which was very good and a good temperature. Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We hope you enjoyed the free welcome pack and bottle of Prosecco we left for you? The hot water pressure is a problem on site as we have our own water bore holes. We have done our best to provide the best we can and there is a new dishwasher for guests use. Bedding and towels are also provided free of charge two per guest. Extra are available via our housekeeping team at a small extra cost. We have also provided a new washer drier to enable guests to wash their own. As we are a self catering property. We hope you remembered to bring your own personal towels for the hot tub as this is often the towel issue as guests are asked not to use the hotel quality towels for the hot tub. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back agian. Property Owner Reviewed by Elisa4.4★Jun 2022 "We had an enjoyable stay and the chalet was very homely and welcoming goodies very much appreciated thanks !" When we arrived there was a very strong smell of dogs and there were alot of dog hairs on the blankets in the lounge area which wasn't ideal for a family with no dogs and a crawling baby. The hot tub was relaxing but motor was noisy particularly noticed in the bedrooms at night. Nice park facilities and friendly staff, would return. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are really surprised you said there was a doggy smell as we were in the property ourselves the week before and there was no smell at all, the property was left empty for a few days before your arrival as we did a full chemical deep clean and ozone treatment throughout the house . The throws that are left near the sofas are specifically for dog owners to use to protect the leather sofas from scratches. They are NOT for general blanket use. This is explained in the Information folder. The Hot Tub noise is the same for us all, we have one at home and if you’re not used to them then they can appear a bit noisy as the pump and filtration has to run to keep the Hot Tub clean and legally safe for guests use. We were pleased you enjoyed the free welcome Pack including Prosecco & the cream tea. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Property Owner Reviewed by Rachel3.8★Apr 2022 "Lovely place, very well maintained and cared for, and dog friendly." Nice welcome pack on arrival. Very clean throughout and kitchen is well stocked with coffee machine, washing machine/dryer, dishwasher etc. Would recommend to others and like to come back ourselves. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really pleased that you found the property well maintained. We pride ourselves in providing those little extras that make your holiday special. We look forward to seeing you again for another visit. Property Owner Reviewed by Jane5.0★Feb 2022 "The property was well equipped." We did have an issue with the hot water that did not get resolved. The site was very steep and access to the properties involved using steps, during the hours of darkness it was difficult to see the sleeping policeman and the steps were a hazard. The information folder was very useful and we used a couple of the walks recommended which we really enjoyed. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry that there was a problem with the hot water from the kitchen tap, unfortunately the issue was not reported to us by the previous guests, until they had left. Our housekeeping team visited you as soon as we were aware and attempted to call out a plumber. You said you were happy as you had 2 electric showers and a dishwasher. Unfortunately as it was over the BH it was impossible to contact a plumber (believe me we did try!) There is lighting on the roads, but is kept to a minimum for guests to enjoy the tranquility of the location. We are glad you found the information folder helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back agian. Property Owner Reviewed by Brian4.4★Dec 2021 "Lovely holiday with my family, there were 2 children aged 4 and 4 adults." I would recommend to family and friends. Due to the season a lot of places were not open for the children, would return during another season., so we had to travel further than planned but this did not effect the holiday. with staying the 6 nights the hot tub wasn't checked to our knowledge to ensure it was clean for us to use. two of the single beds were not comfortable for the adults as they were spring. all parties enjoyed the holiday :) Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. We are glad that you and your family had a lovely holiday. The hot tub is emptied, sanitised and refilled after each booking. Daily checks of the hot tub are carried out by a trained and qualified person and these are done either first thing in the morning or at time when guests have gone out, so as to minimise disruption. There is also a self dispensing chlorine floating unit which provides slow release chlorine into the water between the daily checks. The hot tub is also regularly serviced. As we all know beds are a matter of preference and so may differ to the ones you are used to at home. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and would love to welcome you back. Property Owner Reviewed by Angel3.8★Oct 2021 "The lodge was lovely and spacious." Only things I can complain about are we had to buy baking trays and the frying pans need replacing. Downstairs did smell of damp probably because of the hot tub use. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit. We do provide a range of cooking and baking items, we are sorry one didn't meet your specific requirements. Cookware is checked and replaced as necessary. If there is ever a smell of dampness it is usually due to the extensive fogging that takes place between guests visits to comply with Covid advice and to ensure the property is sanitised for each new guest. Opening the doors and windows are recommended upon arrival detailed on the fogging information sheet. We are glad you found the lodge "lovely & spacious". We hope you enjoyed the complimentary bottle of prosecco and the cream tea Property Owner Reviewed by Julia3.1★Sep 2021 "A lovely restful week." Cottage facilities were excellent. The on-site facilities also great and location was brilliant. We were able to explore the area without worry about crowds, will definitely return. Reviewed by Hannah5.0★Aug 2021 "Great accom." Our only concern was the fact that the hot tub was located on the lower balcony which didn’t allow for any privacy as this was over looked directly from the next door lodge. Some kind of screening would have been nice ( ie: bamboo screen or some kind of foliage etc) Reviewed by David5.0★Jul 2021 "Lovely lodge which catered for all our needs, including great wifi!" The onsite facilities were good but of course we had to book the swimming sessions due to covid regulations. Great base location for exploring Devon and Cornwall. Reviewed by Naomi5.0★Jul 2021 "THE COTTAGE WAS DAMP AND THE HEATING NEVER WORKED LONG ENOUGH TO DRY THE BEDROOMS OUT AND LIVING AREA ." IT SMELT OF DOGS REALLY BAD .OVERALL NOT IMPRESSED . Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. The heating at Valley Lodge 48 is thermostatically controlled and can be adjusted by customers. The property is thoroughly cleaned, fogged and aired after each booking departs: the housekeepers are readily available to guests and are on site each day, if customers have any concerns. It is unusual to see such feedback for Valley Lodge 48. As you can see previous reviews have been really positive and there are many guests who choose to return each year. Property Owner Reviewed by William2.2★Jul 2021 "Wonderful setting and we welcomed with goodies on arrival, Prosecco, milk, Scones including jam and clotted cream, biscuits and they even treated the dogs to dog biscuits too!" It was a lovely break away our first time away after the pandemic! We have even booked to return Christmas 2021! Reviewed by Lisa5.0★May 2021 "Welcome pack for us and the dog." Heating on low. Facilities and cleanliness outstanding beautiful and well maintained Reviewed by Tina5.0★Oct 2020 "The directions were not helpful!" ! We initially went left as instructed but found ourselves in a development of residents. On realising our error we headed for the main reception area where a lovely couple helped us find our way - we would NEVER have found our lodge in the darkness; maybe some better directions to particular lodges? Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback following your recent stay at Valley Lodge 48. We were sorry to hear you did not find the directions helpful, we have checked them with the owner who has confirmed they are accurate, we are pleased to hear, however reception were able to assist you. Property Owner Reviewed by Alison5.0★Jan 2020 "The table set up for a cream tea when we arrived was a really nice touch." Thank You. Reviewed by Sean5.0★Oct 2019 "Well appointed cottage with everything needed for a family holiday." Very peaceful and quiet location. Hot tub was very cleani and most relaxing. Reviewed by Adam4.7★Sep 2019 "Overall a good holiday." The property had everything we needed and had more than we had expected. Very clean and the problem with the hot tub was 'put right' immediately. Thank you Reviewed by Mavis4.7★Jul 2019 "Welcome pack of cream tea, sparkly wine & more, including a welcome pack for the dogs, was very much appreciated and was a great start to our holiday." Being able to take our little dogs with us is important, as they're very much part of our family and it would break our hearts not to have them with us. The lodge was clean, modern and comfortable, the hot tub was most welcome to come back to following our days out exploring, amazing Cornwall. The holiday park had everything to make our stay memorable, including the gym for our daughter. Would visit again. Reviewed by William5.0★Jul 2019 "Lovely lodge & welcome pack with scones & Prosecco." Great that it’s dog friendly - fantastic amenities in lodge & the park itself was great with swimming pools etc to keep the kids entertained. Reviewed by Katie4.1★Jun 2019 "We had a fantastic stay, the lodge was beautiful, well stocked and very cozy." We enjoyed staying in the beautiful area and the two dogs loved it as well. My three children didn’t want to leave. Plenty of room, storage and plenty of things to do. The park staff were lovely. The hot tub was amazing. We had enough fridge and freezer space and a good washing machine/dryer. The only two minor downsides were the mattress of the double bed was very uncomfortable and we didn’t sleep well at all. The other was the swimming pool female changing rooms were not big enough for us, they were always full. We chose to dress on the side of the pool, which was fine but thought we should mention it. Reviewed by Claire-marie4.1★Feb 2019 "Fantastic cottage, very clean, high standard interior, lovely welcome package." Will definitely visit again. Reviewed by Rebecca5.0★Sep 2018 "Only negatives were the hot water tap in kitchen trickled but cold was fine." Broadband rarely worked but we put this down to being in the countryside. Overall though a very enjoyable stay. Reviewed by Thomas4.4★Jul 2018 There are no reviews featuring this term Show all reviews Show more This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection. Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday. Summary Three ground floor bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite shower over bath, basin and WC and access to decked balcony with furniture and hot tub, 2 x twin (1 twin with 2'6" beds) Shower room with basin and WC First floor open-plan kitchen, dining and sitting area Electric heating Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, TV, DVD, selection of books, games and DVDs Fuel and power inc. in rent Bed linen and towels inc. in rent Highchair, travel cot and stairgate available on request Off-road parking for two cars Decking with furniture and hot tub, first floor decked balcony with furniture Two well-behaved dogs welcome (no other pets accepted) Sorry, no smoking On-site shop and pub 10 minute walk Welcome pack on arrival including Cornish Cream Tea during the summer months Note: This property has a private water supply which is tested regularly Note: Seasonal opening times may apply to all facilities Note: Outdoor pool is open from mid May - mid September (weather dependent) The property Resting on the peaceful, yet excellently appointed Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort is this homely, well-appointed detached two-storey lodge, in a quiet area of the site. With perfectly comfortable accommodation for six guests and a range of superb facilities on-site, this well-located property is ideal for families seeking a fun-packed break together, or groups of friends, or couples wishing to enjoy the beautiful location, Hot Tub and lots of lovely places to visit in a peaceful location with beautiful views of the countryside. This is also a popular location for walkers outside of the main holiday season, with easy access to Dartmoor only 10 mins away by Car or Bus. Just a short walk from the on-site leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, bar, shop and reception are the Valley Lodges. During the school holidays there is a busy programme of entertainment plus sporting activities (seasonal, subject to availability, extra charges apply) including archery, rock climbing, canoeing and abseiling. The property benefits from reverse-level accommodation, with the bedrooms and two bathrooms set comfortably on the ground floor. The two twin bedrooms are beautifully decorated suitable for adults or children, while they share access to a pristine shower room. The master double room boasts its own all white en-suite bathroom, with Bath, electric shower, toilet, and hand basin.The Master has the added luxury of patio doors leading to a wonderful little decking with a luxurious hot tub to enjoy with a glass of bubbly. As you take the stairs to the first floor, you will come across a welcoming open-plan living room with TV, DVD, and Bluetooth Sound bar. A large Dinning Table seating up to 8 people entices you to sit for long meals catching up with friends and family. The calming neutral decor and ample snug seating make this the perfect spot to sit back and put your feet up, with a number of books, games and DVDs on hand to keep you busy when you're not out on an adventure. The kitchen is fully equipped with smart appliances, including a Dishwasher and a Washer Dryer. From here, step out onto a fabulous decked balcony, where you can sit under the sun and enjoy a delicious alfresco meal with 2 two seater Rattan Sofas and 2 Rattan Easy Chairs.A large Glass Patio Table and 6 comfortable chairs with Large Umbrella.All lit by solar lighting in the evening. The superb Honicombe Manor Holiday Park is a fantastic place to base your break, with the essentials of a shop and a bar as well as a number of things to do including both indoor and outdoor pools, a games room, a gym, tennis courts and more, you could easily spend your holiday without leaving this marvellous complex. Admirers of natural beauty do not have far to travel to get their fix, as the glorious Tamar Valley AONB is a short distance away, packed with fascinating attractions, astounding scenery and characterful little villages including quaint Calstock. Dartmoor is also a short drive away with beautiful walks easily accessible by Car or Bus.Large supermarkets are easy to find in Tavistock, Callington & Liskeard and they all deliver to your holiday home. Nearby Gunnislake offers an assortment of charming shops and eateries, while also being home to the Tamar Valley Steam Railway and a main line rail link to Plymouth. An enticing lodge in a tremendous Cornwall location. Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200. View on map About the location CALLINGTON Tavistock 9 miles; Launceston 11.5 miles; Plymouth 14.6 miles. Callington is a Cornish market town, rich in mining heritage and overlooked by Kit Hill, the highest point in the area, donated to the people of Cornwall by Prince Charles to celebrate the birth of Prince William. From the top of Kit Hill there are fabulous views across south-east Cornwall as far as Plymouth Sound. Callington is set in the heart of the Tamar Valley, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, and offers a good selection of shops, inns and cafes, as well as being the home of Ginsters Cornish pasties. A few miles away, the quaint village of Calstock clings to the steep banks of the river Tamar and is dominated by the splendid Calstock Railway Viaduct, a giant 11-arched stone construction supporting one of Britain’s most picturesque branch lines running through the Tamar Valley. Other interesting places along the river are Cotehele, a beautiful historic house and gardens owned by the National Trust with a small quay and inn, and Morwhellam Quay, a theme park that staged a living history production for the BBC and where visitors can explore the rich mining heritage and watch blacksmiths, potters and craftsmen at work. The pannier market town of Tavistock is only nine miles from Callington and is well worth a visit on your way to a day’s walk on Dartmoor. A splendid base to explore south Cornwall and West Devon. View more holiday cottages in Callington Note: A booking system is in operation for the swimming pools & gym. Bookings are accepted once you are onsite via reception.Note: The basic games room is open 9am to 8pm daily, charges apply for some games.Note: The pub and all facilities are closed on Christmas day.Note: Mini convenience store is open 9am - 5pm daily.Note: Tennis courts are open from Easter until October half term.Note: Outdoor pool is open from mid May - mid September (weather dependent).Note: The property is not owned or operated by the holiday park so any issues with it need to be directed to Sykes or the property housekeeper.Note: Holiday park restrictions prevent workers/contractors staying on site.Note: Dogs are welcome, however breeds listed under the Dangerous Dogs Act 1991 are not permitted.Note: This property has a private water supply which is tested regularly.Note: Site Gym and Pool Rules - No under 16's permitted to use the gym. Pool - under 16's must be accompanied by an adult, two children max per adult. Under 8's/Non-swimmers should always be accompanied by a competent adult in the pool. No balls except beach balls. There are no lifeguards on duty.