Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

11 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 16 View Image Gallery
  • 16 Badgers Retreat - Yorkshire Dales - 979659 - photo 1
close
  • 16 Badgers Retreat - (Ref. 979659)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  

Photos

Video

16 Badgers Retreat

(Ref. 979659)

Richmond, Yorkshire Dales - South Show on map

4.8

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lodge (48)
  • hot tub (43)
  • hot (43)
  • tub (43)
  • lovely (41)
  • clean (37)

104 Customer Reviews

  • "Very well looked after Park."

    Very quiet and the standard of the interior was high. Comfortable bed and plenty of walks for the dog. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Jun 2024

  • "Very clean and comfortable."

    Great site . Good dog walking field. And a bonus hot tub . Would recomend for a very peaceful break

    Reviewed by John Edward4.7Jun 2024

  • "Clean and comfortable."

    Peaceful location

    Reviewed by Peter4.4Jun 2024

  • "Lovely place some little bits need cleaned and checked but overall fantastic I would definitely go again fantastic hosts"

    Reviewed by Alex3.8May 2024

  • "Had a great time at the lodge everthing you needed for a very comfortable stay."

    Badgers retreat was very peaceful perfect to unwind the hot tub was a bonus as well. We would definately recommend. The owner was very friendly also. Five star stay ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

    Thank you so much it was a pleasure having you stay look forward to seeing you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angie5.0May 2024

  • "Had a lovely stay, very clean and all amenities we needed."

    Host was very helpful and friendly . Will visit again in the future.

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Apr 2024

  • "We didn't stay even for the first night."

    We re-packed the car and left. This property is not as advertised. The level of finish is poor inside and out. The decking was tired and worn. The bathroom and toilet floors are carpeted - even around the toilet itself! (I know!) The oven shelf had some old, baked-on food on it. There was an usual smell throughout the property. I would not recommend it to anyone.

    Thank you for your feedback. The comments and scores you have given us are very out of character for the usual reviews we receive. We are sorry that you didnt stay at the property and left. We want all our customers to have an excellent stay and are on hand to be able to help with any concerns. Its very hard for us to help and resolve any issues when you have left the property and we do ask that customers allow us the chance to do this. The Sykes website is an accurate listing for 16 Badgers Retreat including the write up, photos and customer comments. We do have carpet in the bathrooms and this is shown on the photos. Its a personal preference for bathroom flooring and we can assure you that this is cleaned on changeover. We have had no complaints before about the oven or any smells and would have been able to check and rectify this if needed, had we known before you left Once again, thank you for your comments Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ken1.6Mar 2024

  • "Can't fault it, we had a lovely chilled out weekend."

    Clean and tidy, hot tub was a bonus thanks

    Reviewed by Carl5.0Mar 2024

  • "Great stay in this cosy and contemporary lodge."

    All the facilities you need for a short stay. I especially enjoyed the hot tub

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Mar 2024

  • "Great place, lovely little lodge in a great location."

    Superb for dogs and plenty of local places to visit. Highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Harrison5.0Feb 2024

  • "Lovely relaxing place, host was helpful and accommodation was perfect."

    Thank you

    Thank you for your kind comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Feb 2024

  • "Can not fault anything,the lodge was absolutely beautiful,really clean and tidy ..."

    Can not fault anything,the lodge was absolutely beautiful,really clean and tidy all mod cons wanted for nothing really modern,we will definitely be back at some point

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Nov 2023

  • "Beautiful holiday park and lodge- away from the hustle and bustle of towns but not too far away for you to venture into."

    When we arrived the lodge it was spotlessly clean and warm. It had everything you needed apart from no tea/coffee but that was soon rectified by a nip to the shop. The welcome book states the thermostat is in the hallway but I think the owners must have updated the boiler as I noticed a hive thermostat next to the sofa. We were unable to change the temperature of the lodge as it was pin protected. It was lovely and snug at night but by morning it was a little chilly- nothing a cup of tea couldn’t sort. The hot tub at the back of the lodge was an added bonus after walking and exploring all day.

    Thank you for your kind comments, tea and coffee are normally available I’ll speak with cleaners. I’ve had a new boiler and moved the thermostat so apologies for your confusion. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.7Nov 2023

  • "If you want peace and quiet and a place to chill, then Badgers Retreat is the place to go."

    The lodge was very clean, well equipped and very roomy. Kept to a high standard.The owner Gary lived next door, was always happy to help with any problems. It has to be one of the best places we have stayed. Will be returning sometime in the future

    Reviewed by Gilly5.0Oct 2023

  • "The property was very good clean comfortable and had everything you could need ..."

    The property was very good clean comfortable and had everything you could need very pleased with the lodge would definitely go again and have already recommended to friends

    Thank you for your kind comments, we do try hard to keep the standard up. Gary Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jacqueline5.0Oct 2023

  • "Thos is the second time we have stayed at badgers retreat."

    Number 6 and now number 16. This was our worst stay. The owner was really friendly and helpful, truly good natured. A number of cleanliness issues with the oven, microwave and crockery let it down. A number or flies were in and around the property which also let it down. Think this maybe due to some stagnant or dirty water issues around the outside of the property. The badgers retreat staff very unfriendly. Not even a good morning until prompted. Really poor impression given off by the site staff which let's the site down.

    Thanks for your constructive comments, as I’m next door I wish you had brought these issues to my attention so I could have rectified them. Really surprised at these comments as we never had anything like this before. Having spoke to you several times I thought you may have notified me of your concerns. Thanks Gary Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tina3.1Sep 2023

  • "We absolutely loved our stay at 16."

    The lodge itself was so comfortable and clean. The park was great too it was so relaxing and peaceful! Would highly recommend to anyone and will definitely return! Thank you!

    Thanks so much I do try hard to keep the standard high. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kelly5.0Sep 2023

  • "Well equipped good fixtures & fittings, good location which is tranquil and relaxing."

    Good rapport with owner Garry next door at no.17 very obliging and friendly,we would highly recommend this holiday chalet.Regards Mr & Mrs McFarlane Glasgow.

    Thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew3.8Sep 2023

  • "Great Host, very welcoming and catered for your every need."

    Highly recommend

    Reviewed by Kyle5.0Aug 2023

  • "We both had a lovely, relaxing stay."

    Thanks very much!

    Your more thank welcome. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Aug 2023

  • "A very quiet site which made it a very relaxing holiday."

    The lodge you wanted for nothing. The owner was very helpful and knowledgeable of the area even recommended a good fish and chip shop which we tried. A good holiday and we will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Jul 2023

  • "Very well equipped lodge."

    Resort very quiet but that’s how we like it. A bit out of the way and you have to travel quite a distance to go to places so definitely need a car. I would highly recommend this property

    Reviewed by Gwyneth5.0Jul 2023

  • "Had a week at Badgers Retreat with my lab, great place to stay, everything was perfect."

    The owner (Gary) is lovely, leaves you to yourself, but is also really helpful if you need anything. The location is also great, with dog fields right outside the back gates, as well as lots of walks/rivers/etc for the dogs nearby. Definitely be back!!

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Jun 2023

  • "The accommodation was really comfortable, spotlessly clean, fully equipped and located on a very quiet and well maintained site of about 50 similar holiday homes."

    The owner, Gary, was very helpful and friendly. The hot tub was very welcome as we enjoyed the really warm weather. Just a shame we had to go home. Would not hesitate to return. Can thoroughly recommend.

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2023

  • "Beautiful place to stay."

    Very peaceful and pretty. Lots of bird life to while away the time. Very nice accomodation with lots of crockery so only had to run the dishwasher a couple of times over the week.

    Reviewed by Irene5.0Jun 2023

  • "We spoke to the owner and told him we were very satisfied with the property and the comfort"

    Reviewed by David5.0May 2023

  • "A really nice place to stay, we loved it."

    The hot tub was probably the best part although it could really have done with a gazebo over it for the rain.

    Reviewed by Libby5.0Apr 2023

  • "This is an exceptionally comfortable property."

    Furnishings are high quality. Spotlessly clean throughout. Kitchen equipped more than most. Great shower. Hot tub was excellent. The site is very quiet and immaculate. Perfect place to relax and unwind.

    Thanks for you kind words. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0Apr 2023

  • "Excellent lodge cleanliness superb everything that we needed was there"

    Reviewed by Derek5.0Feb 2023

  • "We had a lovely holiday, the lodge was great and in a great location near shops and amenities"

    Reviewed by Kimberley5.0Jan 2023

  • "Nothing negative at all to say about this place it was absolutely fantastic ."

    . the hot tub was amazing which was an added bonus. Everything we needed was there from coffee machine to bath robes we cannot recommend this place enough.

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Nov 2022

  • "Amazing lodge, hot tub and scenery."

    Great if you want a break away to see local places or if you want a break away to just stay in the lodge. It’s so peaceful and didn’t hear a single person other than the owner when we said goodbye.

    Reviewed by Ryan5.0Nov 2022

  • "The lodge offered an oasis of peace and tranquillity with high levels of comfort in a stunning location."

    All of the facilities offered were of a high standard. The hot tub offered another level of relaxation. I cannot recommend enough and will be returning in the future

    Thank you thank you so much, I do try hard to keep it that way. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Heather5.0Sep 2022

  • "Lovely lodge!"

    Really nice and comfortable. Was a nice change to have a comfy sofa in one of these lodges, as ones we have stayed in before have had cheap and nasty 2 seaters with nothing in them. The 55” tv with Netflix is a nice touch for relaxing evenings in.

    Reviewed by Jason4.7Sep 2022

  • "The cabin was absolutely fantastic clean and Gary the owner was lovely and very ..."

    The cabin was absolutely fantastic clean and Gary the owner was lovely and very polite will definitely be going back very peaceful if that's what you're looking for and the hotub was nice too my rating all day would be excellent and would highly recommend it

    Reviewed by Gavin5.0Jul 2022

  • "Spent another week at this lodge."

    Great lodge with everything you need. Comfortable bed, Netflix, hot tub. Gary very helpful. Would recommend.

    Lovely to see you guys again, pleased you enjoyed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jul 2022

  • "If you just wanted to do nothing then this is the place."

    We wanted to go out and explore Yorkshire. It was several miles before you reached anywhere.

    Reviewed by Simone4.1Jun 2022

  • "A beautiful lodge in every way."

    Clean modern and welcoming.we would definitely recommend and revisit,perhaps staying longer next time !!

    Thank you for your positive feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Jun 2022

  • "Lovely site and surroundings."

    Owner was on site and very helpful.

    Please to hear all way as you expected. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kay5.0Jun 2022

  • "This was our second visit to 16 badgers retreat."

    The lodge has all the facilities and all creature comforts required for a great holiday very peaceful and relaxing gary the owner is very helpful and friendly

    Reviewed by William5.0Jun 2022

  • "Beautiful lodge in beautiful surroundings, lodge was spotless and had everything you needed."

    Hot tub was wonderful. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

    What can I say. Thank you so much hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gail5.0May 2022

  • "Very clean and hot tub fabulous will definitely come back."

    Ideal for a relaxing stay

    Thank you for those comments and your more than welcome back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Apr 2022

  • "We stayed 2 nights."

    It’s a really lovely cabin. We got in easy with no messing. Couldn’t fault anything. We had took clothes and toilet roll but all this was provided. We would definitely return to this cabin.

    Thank you so much Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bethany5.0Apr 2022

  • "We spent a week at this lodge."

    It was very relaxing with all facilities needed including comfortable bed, hot tub and Netflix and Prime. Gary was very helpful. Maybe a canopy over hot tub would help when it rains. Would recommend if you want a quiet holiday. We would certainly go back.

    Janet thank you for the kind words, we do try our best to make your trip enjoyable, love to see ya back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Apr 2022

  • "Had a lovely relaxing time cabin was lovely and clean everything that you could ..."

    Had a lovely relaxing time cabin was lovely and clean everything that you could need was there would definitely go again

    Thanks so much for ur feedback very much appreciated hopefully see u again We do work hard to keep up the standards Regards Gary Property Owner

    Reviewed by Veronica5.0Mar 2022

  • "Had a lovely relaxing week."

    Lodge was clean, comfortable and well equipped in a very peaceful location. Really good hot tub. Loved the highland cow wallpaper! Excellent for exploring the Yorkshire Dales and for the North Yorkshire Moors.

    Thank you so much Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Mar 2022

  • "The property was stunning - by far the best quality furnishings and highest level of cleanliness we have ever seen in a rental property."

    Thank you very much for your kind comments, it makes all the hard work worth it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carole5.0Mar 2022

  • "Fabulous Lodge, decor is lovely, excellent equipped kitchen and spotless clean ..."

    Fabulous Lodge, decor is lovely, excellent equipped kitchen and spotless clean throughout, enjoyed a peaceful relaxing week here and have already recommended to friends and family

    Thank you so much for your kind comments, we work hard to maintain this standard. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ann5.0Mar 2022

  • "Lovely place, helpful owner"

    Thank you very much for your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Dec 2021

  • "Was amazing would recommend to anyone enjoyed it so much Clean tidy Facilities was amazing can not wait to go back"

    Reviewed by Craig5.0Dec 2021

  • "Lovely property really nice and clean!"

    Really enjoyed our stay here! Gary was a great host and was so helpful with anything we needed.

    Thanks a million for your positive feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jasmine5.0Dec 2021

  • "Lovely facilities very rural spotlessly clean only complaint from partner she ..."

    Lovely facilities very rural spotlessly clean only complaint from partner she did not like the pillows but apart from this very enjoyable Thank You

    Thank you for your feed back, I’ve not had anyone comment on the pillows, I’ll definitely look at them. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.7Nov 2021

  • "Gary was an excellent host, sorting out a problem with the hot tub without any fuss."

    The lodge was everything that we had hoped it would be, clean and comfortable, if we could have booked a second week we would have done.

    Reviewed by Kimberley5.0Oct 2021

  • "The cabin was lovely and as described although there is a additional bedroom that is locked I have no idea why ."

    This place is advertised as holiday park but most cabins have live in tenants so it should be listed residential we was quite afraid of feeling like we was on holiday as we didn’t want to disturb the residents next door or have them report us to the warden ! The area was beautiful we watched lots of TV and chilled which was perfect. The hot tub was lovely / clean which we enjoyed every evening. The bed was comfy which is a bonus when your away from home . We celebrated our wedding anniversary and birthday while was was away and cooked a 3 course meal with the fully equipped kitchen. Lovely stay all in all x julie & paul x

    The only reason the bedroom is locked is that it’s used as a store room with all the cleaning products bedding etc. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.4Oct 2021

  • "A lovely lodge."

    Clean and well equipped. Hot tub fantastic. Would recommend it for a chilling out break. Would definitely book again.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Oct 2021

  • "Village Pub no longer open"

    Reviewed by Ernest5.0Sep 2021

  • "Badger retreat was fabulous!"

    The accommodation exceeded our expectations by far! It was quiet, well equipped, comfortable and just amazing! We will return!

    Reviewed by Faye5.0Aug 2021

  • "Most enjoyable holiday best lodge so far lovely surroundings everything you ..."

    Most enjoyable holiday best lodge so far lovely surroundings everything you needed was provided hot tub was fantastic enjoyed every minute thankyou Gary we will be back

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Aug 2021

  • "Just got back from a lovely quiet and relaxing holiday at 16 badgers retreat,the ..."

    Just got back from a lovely quiet and relaxing holiday at 16 badgers retreat,the lodge was well layed out and comfortable with everything you need for a wonderful stay the hot tub was brilliant would love to return some day

    Reviewed by William5.0Jul 2021

  • "Quiet and relaxing location."

    Help from next door if any issues. Very friendly

    Reviewed by Christine4.1Jul 2021

  • "Pleasantly surprised at how clean and spacious the lodge was."

    First time with a hot tub and it was very nice to relax after a long walk in the Yorkshire dales. In a very quite and peaceful location. Could be a draw back for some but Richmond was only a 10 minutes away via car.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Jun 2021

  • "The lodge was lovely and clean and had all the facilities required for a home from home experience the hot tub was an added bonus."

    Will definitely be back

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Jun 2021

  • "Lovely for a quiet break very friendly and informative and weather was kind to us."

    Reviewed by Dorothy5.0May 2021

  • "Well equipped lodge with most products provided eg dressing gowns and kitchen ..."

    Well equipped lodge with most products provided eg dressing gowns and kitchen equipment things I didn’t expect to be there was a pleasant surprise

    Reviewed by Jane5.0May 2021

  • "This log cabin was more like a small luxury house."

    It lacked for nothing. Fantastic facilities, lovely small site in a great rural location with the added bonus of town facilities nearby in Catterick Garrison which had supermarkets, pubs and even a cinema. Everything was close at hand if needed. Lovely spot, will definitely be staying again.

    Reviewed by Gary5.0Oct 2020

  • "Lovely quiet relaxed location."

    Amazing views. Amenities closeby. Spotless clean lodge. Plenty of essentials. Friendly staff on site.

    Reviewed by Brendan5.0Oct 2020

  • "We had a fabulous time The lodge was like a home from home ."

    Everything you needed was there The hot tub was amazing went in twice a day . We are thinking of returning for our anniversary Highly recommend it Lots of lovely local places to visit

    Reviewed by David5.0Oct 2020

  • "Our week at the lodge was better than we expected, we definitely didn't want to come home and will hopefully book again soon."

    The open plan living room was so spacious and had everything you could possibly need, and the TV with Sky was a great addition. The hot tub was amazing and the surrounding area was so peaceful, making a great way to end each day. The village pub is cash only and we recommend driving to Catterick, where you will find an ALDI and Tesco. There is loads to do within the area, Fountains Abbey and the highest pub in Britain are well worth a visit. All in all, a great holiday and would book again!

    Reviewed by Georgina5.0Sep 2020

  • "Amazing lodge in a beautiful area."

    This lodge has everything you could ever need. Enormous comfortable sofa, brilliantly kitted out kitchen, lovely decking area & furniture and a fabulous hot tub! I cannot find any negatives regarding this lodge and would definitely recommend to all my friends. Love the break that much that we are actually thinking of buying one. Will 100% return in the near future.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Aug 2020

  • "This lodge was absolutely gorgeous, it was exactly the same as the photos & exceeded expectations with how lovely it was."

    We went on 20th March 2020 for 2 days so even though everywhere was shut & we couldn’t go out, it was still a perfect little birthday break because of how nice the lodge was

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Mar 2020

  • "The lodge was the most comfortable and clean of all the self catering places we had been to."

    The fact that no dogs had been allowed in was great as my husband and myself have a dog allergy. The hot tub was great even though it was a bit of a walk from the lodge entrance . On the day we tried it the weather was dreadful ..

    Reviewed by Steven5.0Mar 2020

  • "Great nice quality place Had small problem with boiler fix same day owners ..."

    Great nice quality place Had small problem with boiler fix same day owners were great Definitely going again Great to relax in hot tub Thanks see you soon Stuart and karen (Fleetwood)

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Mar 2020

  • "My only suggestion for consideration would be direct access to the hot tub via a ..."

    My only suggestion for consideration would be direct access to the hot tub via a patio door but it didn't spoil our experience of the weekend

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jan 2020

  • "Location of the cottage was perfect It was really easy to collect keys and was ..."

    Location of the cottage was perfect It was really easy to collect keys and was completely independent and left to it Very clean and modern interior

    Reviewed by Nathan4.7Dec 2019

  • "The checkout times should also be specified or written down within the actual pack/handbook that you receive when you enter the property."

    We saw the owner who resides to the log cabin next to where we rented and he come round cleaning the jacuzzi which put us under pressure. We did not know until an hour had passed that we should have checked out at 10:00, this was an oversight and the owner, whilst courteous said that we should have checked the Sykes website. In order to ensure that everybody knows what the checkout time is, I would recommend that this is included within the handbook so that the welcome isnt outstayed; as I say we felt under pressure to leave but that was because we werent aware of the checkout time, so please take this on board, at a cost of circa £500 for 2 nights I do feel the communication could have been better and this slightly dampened our experience.

    Thank you for leaving feedback, the checkout time for Badgers retreat is clearly specified in the key collection details that are sent out before your stay, the 10AM departure gives us plenty of time to clean the property and hot tub ready for the next check in at 3PM, and falls in line with all Sykes properties. Going forward this information will also be available in the property incase guests miss this information in the key collection email. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adam3.8Dec 2019

  • "The only reason I gave a 9 and not a 10 was due there not being a roof /cover over the hot tub , we were adamant to get in so had to in the rain !"

    Would be a great extra for the them uncontrollable rainy days. WiFi was also really poor . Other than that we had a really lovely stay , very homely and the bed was soooo comfy :) would 100% recommend and would definitely stay again .

    Reviewed by Kelsey5.0Nov 2019

  • "The location of the cabin is perfect, so relaxing hearing nothing."

    Will be coming back to relax again soon.

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Nov 2019

  • "Ideal setting, very quiet."

    Site well maintained. Construction work opposite the lodge was the only blot on the landscape, therefore I would be reluctant to recommend it to family and friends until such work is completed.

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Sep 2019

  • "The lodge was brilliant, decorated to a very high standard, the hot tub was great also."

    The owner was a very friendly. The lodge was very clean. Lovely relaxing break

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Jul 2019

  • "It was such a lovely, peaceful holiday!"

    ! Can’t wait to rebook it next year!

    Reviewed by Danielle5.0Jul 2019

  • "Excellent accommodation."

    So peaceful and quiet. Within easy reach of a number of golf courses. We hope to return next year.

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Jun 2019

  • "Such a quiet peaceful place to enjoy, excellent if you want to just unwind perfect for older couples."

    Reviewed by Phil5.0Jun 2019

  • "What a lovely stay we had,everything we could of asked for,will definatly be back next year,would recommend to anyone"

    Reviewed by Rob5.0May 2019

  • "Loved the holiday and will be returning, everything was great normally I use ..."

    Loved the holiday and will be returning, everything was great normally I use elsewhere for booking lodges cuz I don’t normally rate Sykes cottages for hot tub holiday but when I saw this lodge Sykes really shocked me and will be booking the same one again very pleased

    Reviewed by Shane5.0Apr 2019

  • "The lodge was furnished to a very high standard everything we needed and more for our stay."

    The little touches like flip flops for the hot tub and other little touches made our stay that much more comfortable could have easily stayed here for the whole week. We will be back again but next time for a longer stay highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Briony5.0Apr 2019

  • "Absolutley great, very much a chilling break for both of us."

    The lodge was amazing loved every minute of it.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Apr 2019

  • "Had a lovely relaxing weekend break here!"

    It was very clean, homely had everything we needed! The hot tub was great!

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Mar 2019

  • "So quiet and so relaxed atmosphere"

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Feb 2019

  • "The whole cottage was perfect."

    We are already looking at when to book again ! Loved the little touches like flip flops for the hot tub, dish washer tablet and milk in the fridge. Cannot reccomend enough !

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Jan 2019

  • "A truly relaxing and bubbly few days under clear winter skies in a modern lodge that ticked all the boxes"

    Reviewed by Rob5.0Jan 2019

  • "Was a lovely stay very clean and modern would happily stay again !"

    Reviewed by Adam5.0Nov 2018

  • "Location was great, cottage was so clean and had everything we needed for our stay."

    The Hot tub was an added bonus too. Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Joanna5.0Nov 2018

  • "The accommodation was amazing - spotless and cosy."

    The hot tub experience added to the holiday - a lovely break

    Reviewed by Jacqui5.0Oct 2018

  • "CABIN WAS BRILLIANT , SPOTLESS AND HAD EVERYTHING YOU NEEDED INSIDE AND OUT WITH A GREAT HOT TUB/LOCATION WAS PEACEFUL JUST WHAT YOU NEED FOR A RELAXING FEW DAYS."

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Oct 2018

  • "Throughly enjoyed staying here."

    Lovely, quiet and relaxing surroundings. If I had to give a slight mark down it would only be not getting the hot tub for a weekend stay. Will definitely recommend and hope to visit in the future.

    Reviewed by Craig5.0Sep 2018

  • "We were absolutely delighted with the lodge."

    It was immaculate. It was so comfortable. Home from home. No expense had been spared on the lodges decor and furnishings etc. If I had have been snowed in for a week I would have been perfectly happy. Excellent x

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Sep 2018

  • "What a wonderful experience we have had!"

    Beautiful lodge, the place was very modern, ultra clean and the hot tub was divine!! Lovely quiet park, would be worth having a car as local facilities are quite far. But if you want to relax and unwind this is absolutely perfect for it!! The lodge has everything you need, we had a very enjoyable week exploring the dales, then unwinding in the bubbles!!

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Aug 2018

  • "We stayed in Badgers Retreat and it was a fab location central to anywhere you wanted to explore both locally and further afield too."

    The host Gary was a genuinely nice guy and had done an amazing job with every attention to detail in this cabin and the Hot Tub was a fantastic extra. Thanks for a fab stay at the beginning of August 2018

    Reviewed by Maureen5.0Aug 2018

  • "Great lodge, nice and relaxing."

    Hot tub was great. We enjoyed so much we have actually bought one of the lodges

    Reviewed by Heather5.0Jul 2018

  • "Lovely lodge, quiet, peaceful and relaxing."

    Lodge was spotlessy clean, spacious, and had everything you needed - even an hot-tub, which we used on a few occasions. Close to nearby villages and attractions. Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by Annette5.0Jul 2018

  • "Was not quite sure what to expect, but on arrival and going into the property - wow!"

    . Clean, top notch accommodation, great location, just great!

    Reviewed by David5.0Jul 2018

  • "A wonderful quiet and friendly site, the lodge has a really good position and the hot tub was well sited and an excellent facility."

    the furnishings were comfortable and high quality, it is well placed relatively near to Richmond and other points of interest. The only downside for us was the lack of anywhere to walk from the site itself. A car was necessary for all trips out. the weather made it s wonderful experience in all.

    Reviewed by Barbara4.4Jun 2018

  • "Lodge is in a lovely location, inside offers a spacious layout including a large couch, sky TV, dining table and fully kitted out kitchen."

    Bathroom & ensuite are lovely along with the bedroom (also has a TV). Outside has plenty of decking area with a 4 person seating area and private hottub. Lodge was fully cleaned and ready for us, detailed information was included in a folder within the lodge. However, had difficulty when arriving as barrier would not open. Had to ring someone to help us (told us to walk up to the lodge to get the barrier key). Also the hottub was not to a clean standard, hairs, flies and debris floating around - along with a strange smell and discoloured water. Kitchen provided everything needed, however random bits and pieces obviously left over by previous guests. In the bathroom the main shower head wasn’t in the best condition (spraying out the back) and in the en suite there was a loud squeaking sound when using the shower.

    Reviewed by Luke5.0Jun 2018

  • "Very nice lodge well presented and good facilities."

    Very clean and tidy on arrival. Nice location and friendly helpful locals. A very quiet peaceful place ideal for relaxing and close to Richmond. The only negatives the arrival instructions were a tad vague and struggled to enter the site as the gates were closed. No direct contact number and no lodge number on the address in email this would be helpful for future if added. WiFi should really be free with these kind of rates and the paid WiFi seemed to switch off over night.

    Reviewed by Adam4.7Jun 2018

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • Bathroom with a shower over bath, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area.
  • LPG central heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, under counter fridge, under counter freezer, dishwasher, 55" TV with Netflix and Prime, WiFi is available on the park
  • Free, on-site WiFi is available in the property (the speed of which can be intermittent dependent on usage)
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Ample off-road parking
  • Decking with furniture
  • Hot tub
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Pub 1 mile, shop 1.5 miles
  • Note: There are 4 steps up into the property
  • Note: Children are not permitted in the property
  • Note: Please be aware that the site rules for this property operate a 'strict quiet time' between the hours of 10pm and 8am
  • Please note that electric cars cannot be charged at this property
  • One well-behaved dog welcome @ £25 charge, all dogs must be kept downstairs, off the furniture and under no circumstances should dogs be left unattended in the property
  • No cats allowed, sorry

The property

Badgers Retreat, a stunning wooden lodge, sits on a peaceful complex, close to the fascinating market town of Richmond in North Yorkshire.

Boasting tasteful accommodation in an excellent location, this is a superb base for a relaxing countryside retreat.

Step up into the property and be greeted by a stunning open-plan living area.

The comfortable seating enjoys the company of a 55" TV; the layout also boasts a lovely dining table and a modern, well-equipped kitchen.

Next to this, you will find a beautifully tiled family bathroom which offers a peaceful spot to fully unwind in a soothing bubble bath.

Badgers Retreat plays host to one delightful bedroom,featuring a master double room boasting its own splendid en-suite.

When the sun comes out, wander out onto the decking surrounding this lodge, take your pick of two seating spots.

This attractive lodge sits on the outskirts of the fascinating market town of Richmond, a place showcasing a beautiful castle, a museum and a wealth of excellent activities and amenities to make the most of.

The magnificent Yorkshire Dales National Park is close by, dominated by its undulating dales and quaint villages.

The beautiful Market town of Leyburn is 5 miles away from the Lodge with a wide array of pubs and restaurants, and has marker every Friday.

Other popular tourist spots include Barndard Castle and Leyburn.

Badgers Retreat is a fabulous lodge in an ideal setting for a break in North Yorkshire.

The small market town of Masham famous for it's brewery's is 12 miles away, perfect for a lazy stroll, also once a month there is a farmer's market.

Middleham is only 15 minutes away which has a rich horse racing heritage.

Richard III castle 10 mins. Steeped in English history and regular re-enactments take place here.

Fun for every one.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

RICHMOND

Barnard Castle 10 miles; Leyburn 12 miles.

Situated at the entrance to Swaledale, the ancient market town of Richmond stands on a prominent hilltop site to the north of the River Swale. Its cobbled streets and narrow alleys or 'wynds' enshrine over nine centuries of busy history and unique character. The town grew up around its castle, a Norman fortress dating back to 1071, famously situated high above the river - indeed the name Richmond is derived from 'Riche-mont' meaning 'strong hill'. Today there are wonderful walks to be enjoyed such as the Castle Walk - a dramatic terrace walk beneath the castle walls - or alternatively walk alongside the River Swale where there are parks, safe paddling areas and small waterfalls to enjoy. Within the town, narrow streets and alleys radiate from the cobbled Market Place (which has a weekly market and monthly farmers’ market) and there are numerous shops, pubs and restaurants to enjoy. The town flourished in the 18th and 19th centuries and the resulting elegant Georgian architecture lines many of the old streets. The Georgian Theatre is one of the oldest surviving theatres in the country with visitors enjoying its regular productions all year round.

View more holiday cottages in Richmond

Note: There are 4 steps up into the property.

Note: Children are not permitted in the property.

Note: The Holiday Park requires your car registration no. prior to arrival; please disclose these details with the Owner

Please also note that electric cars cannot be charged at this property.

Note - One well behaved dog welcome at a cost of £25 and dogs must be kept downstairs and off the furniture.

No cats allowed, sorry.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas