Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 29 View Image Gallery
  • South Stables - House Of Dun - Scottish Lowlands - 1060506 - photo 1
close

South Stables - House Of Dun

(Ref. 1060506)

Montrose, Perthshire, Angus & Fife Show on map

4.8

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • staff (23)
  • helpful (14)
  • house (13)
  • dun (11)
  • friendly (11)
  • property (10)

28 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a relaxing lovely time."

    Location excellent, very quiet and dark. The staff were very helpful as well.

    Reviewed by Carole5.0Mar 2024

  • "... a perfect place / perfect location - friendly and extrem helpful staff - ideal to discover the area from Stonehaven to Dundee"

    ... The forest and Park gives Dog a perfect place too. The only but`s : The stair is an old steep stair with 20 steps - nice to see but not always to climb. Inside you find everything you need from perfect heating to Power Shower - only the fridge with feezing compartment is convenient for a single household but not for a four person accommodation However - a week here at House of Dun is more than recommended. When the house is closed you have all on your own

    Reviewed by Gabriele Tirsch4.4Nov 2023

  • "The South Stables is in a wonderful position and able to enjoy the beautiful National Trust for Scotland property The House of Dun."

    Beautiful beaches of Lunan Bay and St Cyrus are close by, a mere 30 miles to Dundee and if you come when the geese are flying over to Montrose Basin it is truly magical. The staff at the House of Dun are friendly and helpful, with suggestions for other places to visit. The House of Dun is fascinating to visit and the enjoyable tours by the knowledgeable’William’ should not be missed. We love going there and the only criticism for us is that since letting changed to be made through Sykes we can no longer book on a Friday to Friday which we preferred for travelling.

    Thank you for your lovely comments about South Stables and the House of Dun. We set the change over day 3 years ago as that is easier for the team to schedule the cleaning of the 2 apartments and the other areas of the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Oct 2023

  • "This is a great property."

    The furnishings and decoration are excellent. The location next to the house of Dun is great. The property is within reach of many local attractions all within half and hour: two great beaches St Cyrus and Lunan, towns such as Arbroath and Montrose and Glen Esk and glen Doll. I would highly recommend. P.s. The staff are also great. Minor downsides: small fridge so think about buying some frozen foods for the ice box. Great washer but no dryer, so you have to use the wooden clothes racks.

    Thank you so much for your feedback, we have noted your comments about the kitchen equipment. We are lucky - we have great staff at NTS! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Harold4.4Jul 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay in South Stables, the accommodation was excellent, very clean, well equipped and maintained."

    The staff were very helpful, and went out of their way to assist us. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at the House of Dun.

    Thank you very much for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the NTS. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jim5.0Jul 2023

  • "The location, on site NT staff and the cottage itself were as great as when we last stayed 10 years ago."

    What has altered is Sykes management. The site promised a DVD player and we took lots of our favourites and there wasn't one. We are now at Crathes cottage and the same applies, though this 2nd property doesn't have Netflix either. The kitchen was very poorly stocked, we had to buy a baking tin and a measuring jug but many other basics were missing. At Crathes we have already had to buy kitchen scissors, the settee has a leg missing and is propped up by books and the bathroom mirror almost fell of the wall when we turned on the light. The NT used to leave milk and a nice welcome tray with fresh flowers. Sykes clearly don't.

    The NTS thank you very much for the feedback. We really do appreciate all the comments we receive and to confirm NTS still manage the cottages. We have checked the entry for South Stables and it doesn’t list a DVD player. However, East Lodge mistakenly has a DVD player listed and we have asked for the web entry to be amended. East Lodge doesn't have wifi at the moment but we are hoping in the near future that we will be able to provide wifi. The Holidays dept at NTS have asked for an update about the sofa and the kitchen inventory from the team Crathes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janice3.4Jul 2023

  • "Magical surroundings with a view from the second bedroom across the Montrose basin."

    Views from the other windows show the house plus the small avenue of trees which lead to the courtyard and the stables apartment. The apartment itself was furnished to very high standards and spotless. All the staff or volunteers were incredibly friendly, helpful and enthusiastic about their property. An abiding memory is that of sitting on the terrace overlooking the Montrose basin and having the whole grounds to ourselves after the visitors had left. The formal gardens are immaculate. A property not to miss and we would hope to return to again.

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Jun 2023

  • "House of Dun staff were friendly and helpful making the whole stay even more enjoyable."

    Lots to do locally and on the estate itself (green walk was beautiful and kids enjoyed the complimentary house tour).

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Apr 2023

  • "The property was very luxurious and had everything that we needed."

    On our doorstep were the walks around the forests and gardens, we couldn't believe how beautiful the area was. Our stay was made more special by the staff that would do everything to make our stay a pleasant as possible. They were very helpful and were more than happy (and went out of their way) to give their expert knowledge of the grand house, gardens and history of the family. We would thoroughly recommend a stay at the House of Dun, and also the National Trust for Scotland properties.

    Reviewed by James5.0Mar 2023

  • "Nice property but it should have been stated that it was an ISOLATED property."

    Not suitable for certain people. Very noisy central heating system and a TINY fridge. Barely adequate crockery, 8 of each item rather than 4 would not have broken the bank and would have been far more appropriate. I imagine it would be lovely in the summer.

    Thank you for your feedback and the team at House of Dun receive a copy of your feedback to note your comments about the crockery and heating. We have rechecked the listing on the Sykes website and it accurately describes the apartment, its location within the National Trust estate and the distance to various towns are noted. The map on the listing is also accurate so we are not sure what else we can do to show where the property is. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Iona3.4Jan 2023

  • "This property was beautifully decorated and very comfortable."

    The surrounding estate provided many enjoyable walks. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Thank you very much for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to the National Trust for Scotland. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Dec 2022

  • "We had a wonderful 3 nights in the apartment."

    It was spotless and the national trust staff were all very nice. We took our Cockapoo Teddy into the tearoom and he was fussed over and given treats. We definitely hope to be back .

    Thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elaine5.0Nov 2022

  • "Just love it here."

    Flat is warm and comfortable, comfy bed ! Fridge is a wee bit wee ;-) no room for my beer! Wife kept putting food in it ! Grounds are amazing, and the NTS staff are fantastic! Already booked for next year !

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Nov 2022

  • "Beautiful estate, grounds are stunning."

    The staff of the National Trust are amazing! Everyone is so friendly, helpful and kind. Can’t wait to return.

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Oct 2022

  • "The property is lovely - we have stayed several times and love the position of the flat."

    The team at the House of Dun are welcoming and helpful and we have enjoyed seeing how the link with the collections from the Angus Folk Museum has developed so successfully. When we first came across the property we booked it directly through the National Trust of Scotland and the rental was Friday to Friday which we preferred. We want to return but have found trying to book on line tonight impossible. We have a code for a discount of £40 that is not recognised, we do not require insurance through Sykes and when phoning there is no message to say when the phone lines are open. It has been very frustrating wanting to book for next year and unable to do so. Ironic that there is a booking fee of £45 but not a helpline if something goes wrong with the system.

    Many thanks for your feedback about the apartment. We have passed on your comments re trying to rebook with Sykes to their reservations team. They will call you to assist with your booking. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Oct 2022

  • "We loved South Stables."

    There was exactly the right mix modern facilities and “old fashioned” comfort and charm. We savoured the peace and beauty of the location, enhanced by the coming and going of 20,000 Pink Footed Geese on the adjacent Montrose Basin - a superb spectacle! And the National Trust staff could not have been more friendly and helpful; they made us feel really welcome. We look forward to our next trip.

    Reviewed by Fiona4.7Oct 2022

  • "We really loved staying in the stables."

    The flat was perfect and was much more stylish inside than the photos suggested. The staff at the House of Dun were very helpful and friendly. We loved having the grounds to ourselves in the evening. The kitchen was well equipped with good quality pans, knives and crockery. My only suggestion is that the cooking equipment would be improved by the addition of some ovenproof dishes so that the oven and microwave could be used as well as the hob.

    Thank you very much for the very postive comments, lovely to read you enjoyed yourself. We have asked the team to recheck the kitchen inventory at the next opportunity. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Aug 2022

  • "Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay, lovely staff, very clean cottage, beautifully furnished, we loved being able to explore the estate after closing time and our dog very much appreciated her welcome pack."

    A very tiny negative was, there could do with some more cooking dishes/trays, but we couldn't fault our stay otherwise. Thank you to all the team.

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Jul 2022

  • "Our second stay in the South Stables, again excellent & the National Trust staff were very welcoming and kind."

    Thank you. Rosemary

    Thank you very much for your feedback, it is lovely to read that you have stayed with us twice now and we hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rosemary5.0Jul 2022

  • "The property is far nicer than the pictures on the listing show."

    It might be worthwhile to update your images. Only slight quibbles were both bedrooms have two single beds rather than one double bed and one with singles. Also not easy for 4 people to sit down to eat together. There was only three in our party and we just about squeezed in round the table. Otherwise the Stables were excellent and we really enjoyed our stay

    Many thanks for your feedback about your stay at House of Dun. The photos were taken by the Property Consultant and it is a difficult building to get the best angle but we are going to have more photos taken after May. The kitchen cupboards are going to get a refresh. Thank you for your comment about the single beds, we now have a kit to make the bed into a super king. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lloyd5.0Apr 2022

  • "A wonderful gem."

    ..located on an NTS estate. You feel like living in a Museum. Perfect location, truly amazing walks from the doorstep. Also, you are within reach of all the attractions that Region has to offer. We will gladly return. (One little thing: the fridge needs to be a size bigger;-))

    Many thanks for your feedback, it is a great location, especially good for bird watchers, walkers etc. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carsten4.7Apr 2022

  • "We had a great weekend here."

    The staff on the premises were friendly and very welcoming! Gave us great tips for walks and beaches etc. The flat was spotless, warm and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful! Pity there’s 2 single beds in both bedrooms? Don’t know why they didn’t opt for a double or even a Kingsize in the lovely and bright bigger bedroom? Not a criticism, only an observation because we’re already booked to go back ! Can’t wait !

    Thank you for your feedback, great to hear that you enjoyed the area and the apartment. We have purchased a kit that converts the bed to a King sized bed when it is needed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan4.7Mar 2022

  • "We had a most enjoyable week at South Stables."

    The House of Dun is in a spectacular setting and the NTS staff were really friendly and welcoming. There is a huge estate with extensive walks which we enjoyed with our dog, and the NTS land extends to the Montrose Basis nature reserve where there are several wildlife hides for birdwatching. The area has lots to see and do and we particularly enjoyed visits to Dunotter Castle at Stonehaven, and the fascinating and vibrant city of Dundee where we would highly recommend the Discovery and the Verdant Works Jute Museum. The cottage itself was warm and cosy and beautifully decorated having been freshly renovated. Slightly too beautiful - it was carpeted throughout with a pale beige carpet which was not ideal for a dog-friendly property on a muddy estate! The staff we spoke to were aware of this and said they had received similar feedback from other guests, so I imagine that the carpet in the entrance hall at least will be changed to something a bit more practical (which no doubt the housekeeper will be very thankful for!). There was also a problem with the shower which had been newly fitted and did not seem to have been set up properly so was not very warm, which was not a big issue to us but a hot shower would have been nice given the cold weather. We reported this and the staff were very apologetic and said they would get it fixed for future guests. Finally the kitchen could have done with some more cooking dishes for the microwave and oven, and some basic supplies such as salt & pepper, clingfilm & foil etc that are often provided in holiday properties. These were only tiny issues which did not impact our enjoyment of the holiday at all and we would thoroughly recommend South Stables as a lovely place to stay and an ideal base for exploring the area.

    Thank you for your feedback, the property has been refurbished and maybe a beige carpet wasn't the wisest choice. We will monitor the condition. We will also be encouraging the teams at our properties to look at the kitchen inventory. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracy4.4Feb 2022

  • "Excellent short stay."

    Quiet but beautiful location. Accommodation was spotless and tastefully decorated. Shower nice and powerful as hot water came direct from the new (ish) condensing boiler. Good selection of games. We particularly liked the NTS game (can it be purchased by the public?). Met two members of staff briefly who were warm and friendly. Will recommend to friends.

    Thank you for your positive feedback, it is great to read that you enjoyed South Stables. It has just had new carpets, new sofa, curtains and various electrical equipment. We look forward to welcoming you again at the NTS. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James5.0Dec 2021

  • "The cottage was clean, well presented and very warm - very important in mid December."

    The NTS staff we met were very helpful and pleasant. In particular, the lady who gave us a tour of the House of Dun itself. It was a very interesting tour and an unexpected and lovely bonus. Thank you

    Many thanks for your feedback, great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will ensure that the team are made aware of your comments. Great to read that they offered excellent customer care. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eileen4.7Dec 2021

  • "This cosy comfortable cottage is ideal for a break."

    Staff at Dun House also very helpful and informative, planning to return again soon - we loved it!

    Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Dec 2021

  • "This is a true little gem!"

    Rooms were lovely and spacious. Kitchen was large and had everything needed. The grounds of the house were beautiful. All the staff we spoke to were incredibly friendly and helpful. Spot on!

    Reviewed by Sonia5.0Sep 2021

  • "South Stables was a great base for exploring the area."

    The location is very peaceful, yet during the day there are several NTS staff around so you don’t feel isolated. The grounds are beautiful and great to walk around. The cottage is very traditional and has everything you need. It felt really homely and cosy inside. We arrived in the evening, it was dark and a bit drizzly, The were no signs to the stables and the place was deserted. The written directions we were perfect, but some additional signage to the stables up the main drive (maybe only put out when expecting visitors) would have been useful.

    Reviewed by Diana5.0Aug 2021

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • First floor apartment
  • Two multi-level twin bedrooms
  • One bed can be either a twin or a double bed
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, dishwasher
  • TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available
  • Parking available in offroad public car park
  • Access to House of Dun's formal gardens and grounds
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 3.2 miles, pub 3.3 miles
  • Holiday guests have access to the estate grounds outside of the regular opening hours
  • The charging of electric vehicles is not permitted
  • The opening times, visitor facilities and entry prices of all National Trust for Scotland properties and attractions can be viewed on their website here

The property

A beautiful base from which to explore the delights of Montrose, South Stables can be found resting in the former stable block of the National Trust for Scotland’s House of Dun.

A historic first floor apartment, exuding character and charm throughout an eclectic mix of classic and contemporary features, this property is beautifully refurbished and offers a memorable retreat for four to this enchanting area of Scotland.

Venture across the sandstone courtyard and up the stone steps to find two welcoming twin bedrooms, both elegant with classic furnishings throughout, offering a lovely resting space for each guest.

Settle in for a quiet evening in the living/dining room, setting up the table to host your lovingly prepared meals, or choose to use this space as a games area before unwinding into your evening in the plush seating area.

Homemade meals can be prepared with ease in the kitchen, which is equipped with all the necessary appliances, along with the addition of a washing machine and dishwasher.

At the end of each evening, retire to one of the twin rooms, decorated with pretty furnishings and offering lots of storage space for your belongings.

Step into the spacious walk-in shower for an invigorating morning rinse, using this space to freshen before an action-packed day of adventure.

Explore the surrounding gardens and estate with your canine companions, where you'll find magical woodlands, rare wildlife, and a welcoming café within the grounds.

Relish a trip of a lifetime at the outstanding South Stables apartment.

This property can also be booked alongside Ref. 1060505, together sleeping up to eight guests.

EPC Rating: Band E

Short-term Holiday Let Licence No: AN-01050-F

House Of Dun Apartments

Discover two enchanting first-floor apartments set in an open sandstone courtyard within the grounds of the exquisite House of Dun, a National Trust for Scotland jewel boasting Baroque extravagance and plenty of natural delights awaiting to be discovered. Originally built in the 18th-century to accommodate the grooms who would have kept the Laird's horses in pristine condition, North and South Stables now offer a group of eight a historic base from which to explore this marvellous corner of Scotland. The House of Dun itself is an elegant Georgian mansion, designed and built in 1743 for David Erskine, the 13th Laird of Dun, hosting intricate ornate plasterwork by Joseph Enzer, a 19th-century 'boot bath' in Mrs Erskine's dressing room and a newly refurbished courtyard housing the Angus Folk Collection. Spend an entire day choosing between a plethora of woodland walks around the property or visiting the Den of Dun at the top of the estate, with the chance to uncover some ghostly tales along the way. Alternatively, take a complimentary tour of the house, or visit the woodland play area where children explore and don’t forget to indulge in a coffee and cake in the café. The town of Montrose is just a short journey away, home to a vibrant atmosphere amidst fantastic shopping facilities, local pubs, delicious restaurants and a beautiful Blue Flag beach for a day on the coast. The Montrose Basin Nature Reserve is a must-visit attraction for nature and animal lovers, home to habitats for unique wildlife including oystercatchers, eiders and pink-footed geese, as well as exotic plant life. Discover the local dog hero of Montrose at the Bamse statue near the harbour, representing a heroic Norwegian St Bernard dog who served during World War II, or travel further afield to the exciting nearby towns of Arbroath, Brechin, and Kirriemuir. Alternatively, venture over to the outstanding Cairngorms National Park for a day of adventure among the picturesque Scottish landscapes. Find even more delights of the National Trust for Scotland just a scenic car journey away, including J M Barrie’s birthplace in Kirriemuir where you will find a typical weaver’s house which was one home to the world-famous creator of Peter Pan, home to the washhouse where the inspiration for the Wendy house in Peter Pan was also born alongside original costumes and a jungle-themed garden, while Barry Mill in Barry village is also well-worth exploring for its rare example of Scotland’s industrial heritage hosting a working water-powered corn mill as well as offering scenic walks along the Barry Burn making a lovely spot for a leisurely stroll amidst the wildflowers and the soothing sounds of the flowing waters. Discover an array of wonders at the House of Dun Cottages

View on map

About the location

MONTROSE

Brechin 8.6 miles; Arbroath 12.9 miles; Kirriemuir 23.9 miles

Montrose is a bustling Scottish town and former royal burgh nestled in the county of Angus, found in the middle of North and South Esk rivers. The coastal town is home to its very own 3-mile-long beach, awarded to a Blue Flag standard due to its eco credentials, as well as activities including Traill Pavilion and Seafront Splash!, an arcade, children's playground, café and an ice-cream parlour. Historic architecture surrounds the town centre, boasting the Montrose Museum, Bamse landmark, and the widest High Street in Scotland, as well as a range of retail shopping, fine dining, local pubs, and the famous Montrose Basin Wildlife Reserve. The county of Angus hosts a wealth of charming towns and villages such as Arbroath, the largest town in the county, Brechin cathedral city, and Kirriemuir, known as the 'gateway to the glens' to name a few! Montrose is an ideal holiday destination for a class, picturesque seaside adventure.

Note: Access via external staircase approx 18 stairs.
Note: 5 stairs lead to second twin room and shower room.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas