Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

13 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 26 View Image Gallery
  • 3 Croftside - Scottish Highlands - 1055412 - photo 1

3 Croftside

(Ref. 1055412)

Aviemore, Northern Highlands & Cairngorms National Park Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (19)
  • stay (16)
  • property (15)
  • house (14)
  • our (14)
  • location (12)

36 Customer Reviews

  • "House was lovely clean and comfortable, pictures actually don’t do it justice, everything had been thought of that you could need for self catering."

    Stayed in Aviemore the other year in a bungalow closer to town centre it was double the price of this and nothing was supplied. Location and views outstanding, lovely views of the mountains and just a few min walk down the main road to the centre, the fact it snowed Christmas Day just made our stay even more magical…..we just loved everything about our week here thank you!

    Thank you for your positive feedback. So pleased it snowed for Christmas, and you had a great holiday. We hope you are able to return in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Francesca5.0Dec 2023

  • "This is the 3rd time in less than 2 years that I have booked and stayed at this property with my family which I think is a recommendation in itself."

    To be more specific, it is a very comfortable modern house in a lovely location with everything you need for a family of 6. If I'm lucky enough to be visiting Aviemore again I will have no hesitation in booking 3 Croftside.

    So pleased you returned to 3 Croftsde again. We are continually making improvements. Looking forward to your next visit. Property Owner

    Reviewed by William4.7Nov 2023

  • "Lovely house and great location."

    Very well maintained and clean accommodation. Wouldn’t hesitate to visit again

    Thank you for your feedback. Delighted you enjoyed staying in our house. We hope you return to 3 Croftside again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Oct 2023

  • "We loved our 3 night stay."

    The house was very spacious and warm. Lovely little welcome basket. Close enough to walk down to the main area of the town. We would recommend this house to others and would definitely rebook this if we decide to come back to Avis more in the future

    Thank you for your kind comments. Delighted you enjoyed our house so much. Aviemore is a great place to visit with lots to do. We hope you return soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0Sep 2023

  • "Excellent property and in a really good location."

    Someone forgot to make-up the upstairs double bed!

    Thank you for your feedback. Very sorry about the bed, had you called to inform us it had not been done the cleaner would have been sent back to rectify. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret4.1Sep 2023

  • "Such a beautiful and well-equipped holiday home, with thoughtful touches such as welcome basket (thank you!"

    ) with wine and snacks, paper napkins, key holder, kids' games, large flat-screen TV, every kitchen implement we may need including electric mixer and dishwasher... Washing machine and dryer were much appreciated. Highly recommended for families.

    Thank you for your kind comments. Great to hear your family liked our house so much. Hope you are able to return soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carolyn5.0Aug 2023

  • "Dirty underwear in the drawers, not cleaned at all since previously occupied, shower door hanging off, two door handles hanging off, people left medication, which was still in the drawers, dishwasher full, rubbish not emptied and kettle not working."

    Couches were very uncomfortable also. Almost £1,000 for two nights here, total rip off.

    Unfortunately on the day of your arrival the cleaner failed miserably in her duties, when the cleaning company was alerted to your complaint she was dismissed immediately. You made no effort to call on the day of your arrival and as such we were given no chance to rectify. Instead you sent an email to a no reply address and called on the Monday once you had left. If you fail to report a problem at the time nothing can be done to resolve the issue. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth1.3Aug 2023

  • "A very good stay and very satisfied with the accommodation."

    Well situated and easy to find, 5 mins drive Aviemore shops etc. One point to note is that the property is close to a main road. Therefore, anyone who is a light sleeper may be affected. And on a minor point, the heating temperature was a tad warm (22 deg C); digital thermostat control (Salus type) to lower the temperature (as per advice in the info booklet) seemed to be locked - couldn't do it although an easy ploy was to open some windows when in the house. However, one shouldn't need to do that.

    Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. Glad you had a very good stay and enjoyed your time in Aviemore. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Jul 2023

  • "Absolutely loved our stay at 3 Croftside!"

    Booked to stay a week and wished we had booked longer. We will definitely be back as it was a perfect holiday home for our family of 4 and our wee pooch!! So spacious, modern, clean and comfortable with everything and that bit more we could have wanted/needed. The owners had generously left a gift package of wine and goodies too which we weren't expecting at all but thoroughly appreciated and enjoyed!! Hoping to be back soon!!! Thanks for having us 3 Croftside!

    Thank you for your feedback and lovely comments. Absolutely delighted you enjoyed our house so much and had such a great holiday in Aviemore, it’s a great place with so much to do. We look forward to you returning soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kirsteen5.0Jul 2023

  • "Great holiday home,modern, clean, well equipped, great location our dog loved the garden, we had a great week and would have happily stayed another week."

    Thank you. Delighted you had a great week in Aviemore. We hope you are able to return in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amy5.0Jun 2023

  • "Excellent in every respect."

    Thank you for your lovely comment. Great to hear. Delighted you enjoyed our house so much. We hope you may return in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Trevor5.0Jun 2023

  • "We loved this property and couldn't have wished for better."

    The owners have an eye for quality and have taken care to ensure that visitors enjoy a first class stay. Thank you for the welcome pack. (A tiny point - after a full days journey, we would have loved a small carton of milk to make a cup of tea on arrival.) We definitely intend to return.

    Thank you for your lovely comments. We try to ensure everyone has an enjoyable stay at 3 Croftside. Delighted you had a great time in Aviemore and we look forward to you returning to our house soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pauline5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely property, handy for all amenities with a secure garden."

    Well equipped and maintained. This is our 2nd visit to this property and it has had work done since our last visit.

    Thank you for your return visit and lovely comments. We are glad you enjoy our house and appreciated the upgrades we have made. Property Owner

    Reviewed by J R L5.0Apr 2023

  • "We stayed at this property previously in March 2022 and if you look back at my review then you will see it was very positive and in fact we loved the property."

    The property is still excellent in most ways but one thing did spoil our stay this time. The property seems to have had its patio doors and windows replaced since our last stay. Last year the double patio doors and 2 windows either side had blinds fitted but this year there were no blinds fitted. There is a public footpath a matter of a few yards in front of the patio windows plus a main road at the side of the property and we had the feeling, especially in the evenings, of living in a gold fish bowl. Last year in the evenings, perhaps in bad weather, or simply relaxing with our family having a meal or watching TV it was nice to pull down the blinds and relax in privacy - we didn't feel we had that privacy this time.

    Thank you for your comments. We went to great expense and renewed all the windows in the house the week before you arrived. Unfortunately the only blinds that we could not rehang were the patio door ones. We have had them measured and new blinds are being fitted on the 27th March. We are continually trying to improve the property. Sorry you felt it spoiled your stay this time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by William3.8Mar 2023

  • "The feedback is in relation to dealing with the hot water issues at the property, due to issues with the boiler and prior tenants changing settings to the hot water which were not checked prior to our arrival and caused issues for the second half of our holiday."

    Thank you for reporting. You advised on Thursday evening, departure was on Saturday. We acted promptly and plumber was called out. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nick3.1Feb 2023

  • "This was the best property i have rented in 18 years of coming up to Aviemore , clean tidy , well maintained and warm and cosy."

    amazing , thank you

    Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our house so much. That’s amazing the best in 18 years of visiting. We hope you will return Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Jan 2023

  • "This property is everything the listing said."

    The owner had kindly decorated it as we stayed over Christmas and included nice touches like hand soaps in each toilet and a welcome hamper. We would definitely stay here again.

    Delighted to hear you enjoyed our house and had a great Christmas holiday. We hope you return in the future. Thank you for your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Melanie5.0Dec 2022

  • "Lovely and very comfortable all a very high standard and good instructions/info sheets."

    A very pleasant stay only the road noise even through night despite a bypass round.

    Thank you for your comments, it is great to hear you found our house so comfortable. We hope you are able to return sometime. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alyson5.0Oct 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay in Aviemore, the house was as per the listing and loads of space for a family of four."

    Three bathrooms and big bedrooms meant less arguments and the open plan living, kitchen and dining area was great for a holiday stay. Property itself was very warm with a bonus of underfloor heating. A double garage is a bonus for storage of bikes. Location is great with Aviemore town centre (plus the pubs) only a ten minute walk away. It's next to the main road so some traffic noise outside but we didn't notice inside with the windows closed for the cold autumn nights. We'd happily come back.

    Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, both the in our house and Aviemore. Hope you are able to return sometime in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian4.4Oct 2022

  • "We loved the property."

    So comfortable and clean. It was spacious and well equipped. Plenty of space to keep our walking stuff. We liked the location too - close to the town but quiet. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were clean and with decent showers. We would definitely stay again

    Thank you for your kind comments. Delighted you liked our house so much. We look forward to you returning in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Oct 2022

  • "All six of us were very pleased with the property, only point is that the Refuse ..."

    All six of us were very pleased with the property, only point is that the Refuse and Food waste collection time and day could be easier to understand

    Thank you for your comments. Delighted you all enjoyed our house. We will try and make instructions for refuse etc easier to understand. Bins are collected fortnightly by a private company, food waste weekly. The company take the bins down Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clive5.0Sep 2022

  • "Beautiful comfortable clean and well equipped property."

    We really enjoyed our stay and will be looking to return next year.

    Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed our house and had a great time in Aviemore. We look forward to you returning. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Malcolm5.0Sep 2022

  • "Wow, what a lovely place to stay."

    We stopped for a week - 2 adults, 2 teens in July. The house is perfect, with clean comfy beds, plenty of towels provided, and 3 bathrooms meant everyone could wash in peace! Plenty of hot water too. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you'd need. Aviemore is a great base too, we had lots of fun at the forest adventure park, the animal world and of course a wee stroll up a mountain! I remember reading a few comments about road noise, yes there was a bit, but nothing to worry about - its not london traffic! Couldn't hear it when windows were closed, and bedrooms are quiet. Really happy with our stay, and we're missing it already!

    Thank you for your lovely comments. We are really happy you had a great stay in Aviemore, and enjoyed the house so much. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jo5.0Jul 2022

  • "We had a great stay a lovely house the only thing wrong is need to upgrade tv to a better system it cuts out all the time with no signal and there is no dvd so if your trying to chill in the evening it’s not good."

    We put the bins out on the days in the welcome pack but they never lifted them so don’t know what’s going on there. The house was was lovely, well stocked we would definitely be back in the future. Aviemore is a lovely place to go for a good chill.

    Than you for your review. We are very pleased you had a great stay. We are sorry to hear that the television signal was unreliable and would have happily addressed this for you if you had made us aware during the time of your stay. We do hope to see you again in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Georgina4.7May 2022

  • "A lovely well maintained property."

    The owner appears to have responded to previous comments about equipment etc. There is as others have mentioned some road noise but it is hardly noticeable after a good day on the mountains. Very handy for a well stocked Coop 3 mins walk away.

    Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matthew4.7Apr 2022

  • "My family and I loved this property."

    My wife and I are in our mid 70's and we were in Aviemore celebrating our 53rd wedding anniversary and were joined by 2 of our grandchildren and one other who had never visited the Scottish Highlands. We've been regular visitors to Aviemore since the 1980's and love the whole area. We all found 3 Croftside to be perfect for us. I ALWAYS read the reviews of properties I'm interested in and did so with this property so knew what to expect but we can honestly say we felt we would be hard pressed to find a nicer property which so perfectly met our needs. The property is spacious, clean and very comfortable and provided everything we needed. To sum up we would have no hesitation in booking 3 Croftside again.

    Happy 53 rd Anniversary. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at 3 Croftside and so pleased it was all you expected for such an occasion. We hope you will return soon. Thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by William5.0Mar 2022

  • "Perfect location in Aviemore, that you can walk in to the shops, cafes and pubs with ease."

    The cottage was amazing, clean throughout and as the description said. Would definitely stay here again.

    We are really happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your positive comments. We Look forward to you returning to 3 Croftside. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Feb 2022

  • "We were 2 families, grandparents , parents and 2 children plus dog."

    House was spacious enough for us all. Beds really comfy and house warm with underfloor heating and enclosed back garden. Dog walks for miles just across the road. Both granddaughters were delighted to find lots of toys. Only suggestions for improvements would be an airer because not all clothes can be tumble dried, a TV in one of main bedrooms wld be a great extra and a larger frying pan! Would definitely return.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay. We have taken on board some of your suggestions and will put a clothes airer and a bigger frying pan in the cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James4.7Feb 2022

  • "We stayed in 3 Croftside just after Christmas, for our family of 5 was just perfect (two adults, ten years old boy and four years old twin boys)."

    The house is very spacious, comfortable and modern, makes you feel like you are in home. Location - brilliant, with lots to do around, also great choice of shop’s and places to eat. We happily would be back in future.

    Reviewed by Atanaska5.0Dec 2021

  • "The house is lovely but could do with a few extras e."

    G. more plates and kitchen utensils, shower caddy or shelf to keep soap/toiletries and the mattress and pillows are not very comfortable. Would also benefit from welcome letter explaining the heating/ hot water etc. The house also gets a lot of road noise which did disturb our sleep quite a bit which was a shame as it does detract a bit from a relaxing holiday.

    Reviewed by James3.4Oct 2021

  • "The house on paper was exactly what we were looking for unfortunately it came up well short."

    Positives: Location in the Cairngorms is excellent, bedrooms comfortable and was nice to sleep in in-between the trucks going past. Good on-suites to the bedrooms, showers are nice and powerful. Negatives: The road noise outside it dreadful, trucks and cars go past the house morning, noon and night, one after another with the combination of the railway only slightly further on its not a peaceful night sleep. Aviemore has two access roads to the A9 anyone going north goes past the house. Downstairs each room only has a single ceiling light which has a Edison bulb with copper shade, it may look nice but its very dark and the light emitted is very orange. To do any cooking at night you have to move the 2 LED lounge lamps in the kitchen so you can see what you are doing. The carpet was not attached to its carpet runner at the top of the stairs and it slipped as I going down the stairs and I landed on my backside; not a great start to the holiday! The house was cold when we arrived, manually turning the heating on in the garage brought the boiler to life but no heat. Each room has its own thermostat we turned these up high and still no heat. In the end despite travelling 550 miles to get there we decided to go and get some fire wood and matches for the lounge wood burner as none is provided. This helped but is also broke. The air closer vent to slow the burning down doesn't seem to do anything so we get a roaring fire going very quickly but it burns through the wood within minutes. In the end we decided to leave early, very disappointing.

    "Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at 3 Croftside. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, the map shown in description clearly shows the location of the property which has great links to the surrounding area. We are also sorry to hear about the issue with the carpet, I can confirm this was fixed the very same day that we were notified. 3 Croftside does have underfloor heating which can take a while to heat up, when we spoke to you about this you mentioned that you had to turn off the heating as you were too warm, we do have the woodburner serviced on a regular basis. Once again, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy our property, as much as our other guests, however, we hope you enjoyed Aviemore as much as we do." Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil3.8Oct 2021

  • "Had a great week in Aviemore - thank you!"

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Aug 2021

  • "The house itself is spacious and a good location for walking to the shops for a browse."

    Regarding comments about the road noise, the noise from the adjacent main road can be heard from upstairs & downstairs bedrooms, but it didn't bother us. The one thing I had to go and buy was a hairdryer as there wasn't one provided. A tip for the cleaners - take out the sponge filters from the hoover and wash through every month or so to stop the hoover from smelling dirty. Peg on the washing line and dry before replacing and using the hoover again. In the information pack it just states refuse collected on Wednesday. Had to look on The Highlands Council web site to see whether it was for general waste or recycling. Found it was general waste during our stay, so placed bin out on night before and it wasn't collected. The bin was already half full of waste from previous renters. We contacted the council to make them aware that it hadn't been collected. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would hope to return again sometime in the future.

    Thank you for your feedback on 3 Croftside. We do apologize over the issues you had with the bin collection and sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Our bins are emptied by a private company on a fortnightly basis. The hoover is left for guests to use should they require it. I have asked my cleaners just to check the filters for future guests. Glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to our property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.1Aug 2021

  • "Cottage had a really great set up and was in an excellent location."

    Reviewed by Jonathan5.0Jul 2021

  • "All was wonderful especially the cooking facilities as most of the restaurants were closed."

    We ate well and comfortably in the house and garden. Lots of walks and wonderful scenery. Only one drawback. The upstairs bedroom faced on to a busy road which was quite noisy. So no long lie ins!!

    Reviewed by Ray4.7Jul 2021

  • "We had a wonderful stay, it was ideally located and had everything we could possible need."

    Would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Jun 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size bedroom with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin bedroom with en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x ground-floor king-size bedroom
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • External utility.
  • Oil central heating with underfloor heating and woodburning stove
  • Electric oven, ceramic hob, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent, this does not include wood for the woodburning stove, this can be purchased locally
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for two cars, roadside parking for one car
  • Secure garage storage
  • Front garden with lawn area and patio area
  • Rear enclosed garden with BBQ and lawn area
  • Two pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking allowed
  • Shop and pub 0.4 miles.

The property

Set amidst the dramatic landscapes of the Cairngorms National Park is this large, detached holiday accommodation, 3 Croftside, set within striking distance of all the amenities of the popular town of Aviemore.

Enjoying a sought-after position within the Scottish Highlands, this cottage is perfect for families, avid ramblers, adventure seekers and those alike to call home, as the diverse landscapes of rolling hills, endearing woodlands and flowing rivers rest just moments away.

Upon entering the property, be greeted by the spacious vestibule, where you can store any muddy boots and rain coats before winding your way into the open-plan living room, where you can look forward to enjoying the company of your loved ones.

The large French doors are a striking element to this space, allowing a seamless integration of the outside in, whilst the woodburning stove takes centre stage and is awaiting to be lit during a crisp winter’s eve to fill the room with a gentle warmth and set a tranquil ambiance.

Flick on the huge flat screen TV as you cosy up on the plush seating arrangement before regroup with your loved ones at the formal dining table to enjoy an evening of board games and delighting in a local takeaway or a home-cooked dish.

Completing the space is the kitchen suite, featuring inky blue units topped with sleek white worktops and all the modern touches and integrated appliances one might expect from a self-catering accommodation.

Slip through the door to discover the utility, a space that works in synergy within the kitchen, housing laundry equipment and ample space to keep the kitchen clutter free for the chef of the group, whilst they rustle up family-favourite dishes.

Completing the ground floor is a further king-size bedroom, a spacious spot complete with good wardrobe storage and is served by a sleek ground-floor bathroom, ideal for grandparents or those who find stairs a little challenging.

The master suite can be found on the first floor, where a plush duvet and quality linens drape across the sumptuous king-size bed, ensuring that sleep comes easy, whilst the third and final bedroom boasts a twin bedroom, complete with its own en-suite shower room.

At 3 Croftside, the garden has been designed as an extension of the house itself, boasting a large enclosed lawn area where the children and canine companion are free to play, whilst you light up the barbecue to enjoy a spot of alfresco dining during a balmy summer evening.

Better acquaint yourself with your surroundings further as you walk into the centre of Aviemore, where you will be spoilt for choice by the selection of takeaways, pubs and restaurants that await you, as well as the historical landmark of Aviemore Ring Cairn and Stone Circle, dating back to 2400 BCE to delve into the town’s fascinating past.

Whilst here, an afternoon can be spent on a journey along the Strathspey Steam Railway, a scenic 10-mile ride taking you through breath-taking countryside, with the option of afternoon tea for a truly unique experience.

Promising to be another wonderful day out for the entire group is Rothiemurchus Highland Estate, with a 13th century castle to explore, as well as a number of outdoor activities including clay shooting, quad bike adventures, fishing, pony trekking and a tree zone challenge, there is certainly something for everyone here!

Keen walkers will be delighted by the Craigellachie Nature Reserve, where you can explore through the birch woodland, open glades and tree-fringed lochs, with four walking trails to choose from, whilst thrill-seekers can try their hand at winter skiing on the Cairngorms and Lecht ski centre.

Families can look forward to a day out at the nearby wildlife park in Kincraig, whilst the Landmark Activity Centre in Carrbridge will entertain children with its water slides, climbing wall and wide selection of rides.

With so much to see and do, bring your loved ones to 3 Croftside for a fun-filled holiday.

EPC Rating: Band D

EPC Rating: Band D

Short-term Holiday Let Licence No: HI-70291-F

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Inverness 30 miles.

Situated in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and in the Cairngorms National Park, Aviemore is an ideal holiday location. The area offers good fishing, superb walking in the surrounding hills and woodland, and golfing on the many fine courses in the area. There is also sailing, riding and birdwatching, with rare species to be found including Ospreys and Capercaillie. You will find Aviemore an ideal base for touring the Highlands and nearby Grampians. The landscape is dotted with historic castles and tempting distilleries, while the region is known to millions as the setting for the popular TV series 'Monarch of the Glen'. Enjoy fishing on the majestic River Spey all summer, and winter skiing on the Cairngorms and Lecht ski centres, appealing to thrill-seekers and novices alike. There's a swimming pool and championship golf course, and with a wide choice of restaurants, bars and hotels in the town, many with live entertainment throughout the season, you may find yourself having a "Highland Fling"!

View more holiday cottages in Aviemore

Fuel and power inc in rent, this does not include wood for the woodburning stove, this can be purchased locally.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas