Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Wales 2 minutes ago

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 19 View Image Gallery
  • Preswylfa Apartment - North Wales - 999158 - photo 1
close

Preswylfa Apartment

(Ref. 999158)

Caernarfon, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map

4.8

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • apartment (21)
  • lovely (17)
  • great (15)
  • welcome (14)
  • stay (14)
  • comfortable (14)

38 Customer Reviews

  • "Great location."

    Everything had been thought of flowers, welcome pack, games etc. Very clean & comfortable. Couldn't fault it

    Thank you for your positive feedback. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Nov 2023

  • "We have just had mostly a lovely stay, the apartment was lovely, everything we needed and in a fabulous location."

    There was a good welcome pack including bread and milk which was a nice touch, and the owners came round with extra dishwasher tablets. We would love to come back, but we did have some major issues with the noise from upstairs, we seemed to have two separate parties of people stay in the week, the first were fine but the second was a group of lads and it seemed like they were partying everynight, at times it felt like they were going to come through the ceiling. Most places don't allow group bookings, so was a bit of a shock to us. It was a shame, as it did put us off coming back.

    Thank You so much for taking the time to make a review. We do rely on feedback to make sure we are constantly able to improve. We are very pleased you did enjoy your stay and appreciated the welcome packs (we do try our best). We are sorry to hear you had some issues with noise coming from upstairs. As we have recently had sound proofing added to the property and fortunately, not had an issue regarding this nature before. As the property is an apartment ,we sadly cannot guarantee that noise doesn't travel in between the other apartment or the adjoining property. We do appreciate you found the noise level unacceptable but we do doubt they had been partying as the group upstairs have stayed with us on a number of occasions prior (without complaint) and are working professionals, that leave the property early to go on site. Most likely they were just enjoying their evening unwinding and got carried away with there chatter. We would have been more than happy to contact these guests, to ask them to be more mindful ,if we had been made aware of the situation. We hope that this does not deter you from visiting our property more, as we would love the opportunity to host you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle3.8Nov 2023

  • "A VERY CLEAN UNIT."

    EVERYTHING YOU WOULD NEED AT THIS PROPERTY.HOWEVER THERE WERE SOME PROBLEMS REGARDING LEEKING WATER COMEING THROUGH THE LIGHT BULBS ON OUR SECOND DAY OF OUR STAY IN ALL OF THE BEDROOMS CUTTING ALL THE LIGHTS OUT IN THE BEDROOMS,THIS PROBLEM WAS SORTED OUT ON THE 4TH DAY OF OUR STAY>THE OWNER DID SORT IT ALL OUT IN THE END AND DONE A GOOD JOB ,HOWEVER THEY HAVE NOT COME BACK TO ME YET REGARDING SOME KIND OF REFUND,

    Thank you for your feedback and I apologise for the problem that occurred during your stay. I would, however, like to clarify the position. We had torrential rain and high winds on Saturday night, and you did suffer from water ingress, through the ceiling light, in your bedroom, which you reported to us on Sunday morning. I immediately reported this to our handyman and also our cleaner. Upon their inspection, it was found that you did not have ceiling lights in both bedrooms but all the remainingelectrics were w orking. A leak from the upstairs terrace was ruled out, as the leak in your bedroom was underneath the upstairs boiler room. You were provided with a change of bedding. An emergency appointment was made with British Gas for the following morning and you were kept informed. The engineer from British Gas, informed us, that the boiler, which is less than 2 years old, was working correctly, without leaks but that with this style of boiler, often in bad weather, there is water ingress down the flue and this has been reported previously by other customers. He recommended we speak directly to British Gas about this design fault. This we are doing. I then called in the electrician to check the apartment was safe, and for all the electrics to be put back on. He arrived the following morning. He fitted a new emergency lighting unit, which was retaining water, and checked all electrics. Everything was now fixed. You were updated along each stage. Regarding a refund, you did not discuss this with us. We responded quickly to the problem and it was fixed during your stay. You were informed of every stage and the problem was not due to lack of maintenance on our part. Thank you once again we hope you enjoyed your stay for the most part. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter4.1Sep 2023

  • "We were happy with the accommodation, it ticked all the boxes."

    Lovely view over the Menai strate.

    Thank you for your positive comments. Glad you liked the view over tthe Menai. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Jul 2023

  • "Wanted for nothing whilst staying in this apartment."

    Well positioned to enjoy the views of the Menai straits, loads of parking, handy for the local supermarkets and just a short walk to the centre of Caernarfon. Owners were very friendly and helpful and left loads of welcoming Goodies and a few handy essentials too which was very much appreciated, thank you. I will definitely be booking again when my fishing forays take me back to the area.

    Thank you for your positive comments. The apartment is so well situated near to town , yet very quiet in a residentail area. Looking forward to seing you again on your return visit. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samuel5.0Apr 2023

  • "Lovely apartment, couldn't wish for more."

    Such a lovely welcome with bread, butter, milk and cake left for us. The kitchen is so well equipped. So enjoyed 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms. Really comfortable and so centrally located. We've stayed in the house before and would recommend both. Thank you Preswylfa! The Davis family.

    Thank you for your positive feedback. It is always gratefying to know the welcome pack is appreciated and that you find the apartment comfortable. Thank you for your rcommendation to future guests on th e house and the apartment. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Mar 2023

  • "Apartment was a home from home."

    .. great views from the conservatory and the Deck. A short walk to the centre of Caernarfon. We really appreciated the added extras supplied to us by the host. Clean and comfortable so I would have no problem recommending this place to others. Thanks to the hosts x✌️

    Thank you for appreciating our lovely home and your recommendation for future guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin4.7Feb 2023

  • "The property was very nicely set out, well resourced everything you needed nice large smart TV and the bed was very comfortable."

    Preswylfa Apartments was ideally located within walking distance of Caernarfon and walking/biking route within 500m. The only issue we had was, noise from the apartment above, the noise was worse in the end bedroom and bathroom, it went on until early hours of the morning with people talking and sounds of footsteps. I did message the owner but got no response as the owner did say in the literature about the apartment being well sound proofed.

    Thank you for your positive feedback on the apartment and its good location in walking distance to the centre of Caernarfon. Regarding the noise from the house above; the apartment has been sound proofed to local council standards and this is the first complaint about noise in the last two years. In the house above was a 3 generational family who were meeting up to celebrate the New Year. I personally feel noise after midnight is acceptable at this time of year. Regarding no response from ourselves. We had been called to the Isle of Man on a family matter and the e mail from our guest was not receivd until some days after he had left the apartment. I did respond ,on receipt of his e mail. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin3.4Dec 2022

  • "The property is beautifully sited and easily accessed from the A55, the Felinheli Flyover and the direct road into Caernarfon."

    The convenience of a large, well known supermarket and service station is brilliant as well as the easy access to the diverse and lovely shops around Caernarfon itself. The property is very comfortable and was warm and welcoming when we arrived which was much appreciated. The various local delicacies left in the kitchen were much enjoyed. As we were staying for 4 weeks - we were between house moves - it was a real treat to be able to relax in the Apartment and yet play with the dog in the garden. There was plenty of information available about visiting local and national treasures and it would be wonderful if more detailed provision of local dog walking/play areas, as well as play areas for children, could be included too. The kitchen was well equipped and instructions were very useful - thank you. I did advise the Cleaning Crew that the on/off switch on the oven seemed to be prone to non functioning when switching off - perhaps there is a knack to that. It was wonderful to be able to launder and dry clothes - thank you for this facility - a massive help. The utility room was well endowed with implements etc for looking after oneself including a vacuum cleaner which I did not want to use on the wooden floors and would have preferred to use a long handle broom. The weather was balmy and calm for most of the time that we were in residence but this last week of ice and freeze has illustrated that it might be prudent to have some gritting salt for the long sloping garden path down to the lower road and another for the sloping path and steep steps up to the top road. A couple of friends came over to have tea - and to check out the apartment - and they loved it - both wanting contact details so that they can refer their visiting family and friends to the location. All in all, thank you for a lovely, comfy, warm, easily accessed apartment which helped to make my 4 week stay very relaxing - especially as I was also recovery from bronchitis too! A great sojourn!

    Thank you for your positive feedback. I hope you have settled well into your new home. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Dec 2022

  • "A very enjoyable stay here, very convenient for shops and short walk to marina and castle."

    The property was clean and had all you would need to make your stay pleasant. View from veranda over to Anglesey very photogenic. I would recommend this apartment to anybody.

    Thank you for your kind remarks about our apartment. It is in a very quiet but convenient spot for our town. Thank you for your recommendation for future guests. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Aug 2022

  • "Great apartment, clean and comfortable, fab location in a gorgeous little town right on the doorstep of some lovely beaches and activities."

    Couldn’t have asked for more

    Thank you fo your positive feedback. It is always a pleasure to know the apartment is appreciated, and yes we do live in a super location. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chevaunne5.0Aug 2022

  • "Really nice place exactly as advertised, Great views , walk into town could be ..."

    Really nice place exactly as advertised, Great views , walk into town could be a problem for anyone with mobility issues but plenty of parking, Welcome pack really appreciated, and enjoyed, Would recommend and rebook,

    Thank you for your kins comments. So good to know the welcome pack is appreciated. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Jul 2022

  • "Everything we could of wished for and more."

    We really enjoyed our stay, thank you.

    Thank you for your kind comments . So glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Heather5.0May 2022

  • "Well located, lovely views, literally everything provided, we will definately be back"

    Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dave5.0May 2022

  • "A lovely pristine apartment in a beautiful setting."

    We appreciated the welcome pack and all the useful information about the local area. Would definetely recommend.

    Thank you for your kind comments. It's good to know the welcome pack is appreciated and also that you find the information we leave useful. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0May 2022

  • "A really lovely accommodation to stay in."

    The extras, which are not mentioned on the details, were a very nice surprise. A nice loaf, milk, cake, butter, bottle of wine, more than a fully equipped kitchen, great views and nice to have the decking to catch the last of the usual shine going down over Angelsey. Brilliant location with just a 10 - 15 minute walk to Caernarfon centre, the Menai straights coastal path, Morrison’s just down the road. The accommodation is on a hill, not a long walk but can be, I imagine hard for some. Plenty of on road parking and great location to access places to visit in North Wales.

    Thank you for your positive comments. We are so glad you enjoyed our family home. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Apr 2022

  • "A wonderful stay, thank you."

    Such a friendly, welcoming and considerate host.

    Thank you for your kind comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Mar 2022

  • "We were extremely pleased with our experience."

    The home was a perfect fit for us (and our dog), with great facilities and an excellent back garden to enjoy and watch the sunset. The hosts were wonderful - contacting us just prior to arrival with sets of useful information and stopping by to introduce themselves and offer any assistance we may need. We would definitely stay again!

    Thank you for your kind, positive comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joel5.0Aug 2021

  • "Great place to stay, very clean and well equipped."

    Anne was a great host and called me the day before to ask if we had any questions about her apartment and was really helpful. She also kindly provided milk, bread, butter, biscuits, chocolates, barabrith and wine which was such a lovely surprise. The views over the Menai Straits from the apartment were beautiful and easy walking distance to the harbour, town and castle. We had a wonderful time and would definitely stay there again.

    Thank you for your kind, positive comments and we look forward to your return stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Jul 2021

  • "Lovely spot overlooking the Strait."

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Jun 2021

  • "Very comfortable apartment for an easy break in a good location with views."

    Pet friendly and with unexpected welcoming touches courtesy of the owners who also supplied useful additional information about the area and apartment as needed. Would recommend.

    Reviewed by Suzanne5.0Mar 2021

  • "We are just back from a fantastic week in caenarfon."

    We were very lucky with the weather, five days of glorious sunshine. everyday we say in the conservatory the views over the Menai strait were amazing.The appartment was home from home, very clean and comfortable.The town and Morrison's were walking distance, plenty of dog walks, Thank you to the owners for the lovely goodies and flowers. We will definitely recommend you to family and friends.

    Reviewed by Marianne5.0Sep 2020

  • "The apartment was very clean and well cared for."

    The owners had put some personal touches which added to our exceptional stay e.g an essential pack with basic food which included bread, milk, butter, cake, flowers on the dining table, and a bottle of wine to enjoy in the conservatory whilst watching the world go by which was exactly what we needed. Can’t recommend this apartment enough as we had a wonderful stay.

    Reviewed by John5.0Sep 2020

  • "We had a great time in this apartment."

    It's really clean and beautifully furnished. Our favourite place was the conservatory with views over the Menai Strait. A big thank you to Mary and Andy for the welcome pack and also for the list of places to visit. We loved Criccieth and Trefor Beach. There are so many places of interest to visit in this area. A week just isn't enough.

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Jul 2020

  • "The owners of the apartment are lovely people and were helpful and thoughtful,making our stay special."

    As we needed to cook at the apartment due to coronavirus,a few more kitchen items and utensils could be provided e.g. potato masher and a grater.Casserole with lid that fits.

    Thank you for your lovely comments. We are grateful for you to point out the missing items as they have now been replaced. We hope to see you again in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shirley4.1Jul 2020

  • "The apartment was ideally situated with a great view of the straits."

    It was cosy and very clean. The welcome pack was such a treat. We will definitely go back next year and would highly recommend it to family and friends.

    Reviewed by Jeanette5.0Mar 2020

  • "Very spacious apartment with everything you would need for a comfortable stay ."

    Great views from the conservatory.

    Reviewed by John5.0Nov 2019

  • "Absolutely lovely apartment and facilities."

    In the main bedroom there was a slight musty smell, could be something to do with ventilation perhaps. On the whole a fantastic place to relax in situated in a convenient and quiet part of the town.

    Reviewed by John5.0Nov 2019

  • "The owners were very pleasant and helpful."

    We appreciated the welcome pack. Overall a comfortable stay, which we would recommend to others.

    Reviewed by John3.8Sep 2019

  • "Was at the apartment for a short break, great welcome pack, and a quick visit by Mary to make sure all was ok, a great personal touch."

    Apartment was fantastic with everything you could wish for including fresh flowers! Spent most of my time in the conservatory looking across the Menai Strait to Anglesey. Would thoroughly recommend to others

    Reviewed by Tom5.0Sep 2019

  • "We had a lovely warm welcome from the owners together with a lovely selection of Welsh goodies."

    The apartment was spotless and the beds were extremely comfortable. We were very lucky with the weather and had a bit of a September heatwave. It was lovely to sit on the decking and watch the sunset over the Menai Straits. The view will be even better next year as the owners advise that they have permission to cut back the huge conifer in next door’s garden. We both love Caernarfon and Preswylfa apartment is situated very conveniently for a quick walk down to Morrison’s for groceries. It is a pleasant walk into the main part of Caernarfon with its selection of independent shops, restaurants and cafes and of course the magnificent castle. You must sit outside The Anglesey Arms and watch the sunset. Lovely spot to watch all the seabirds wading for food once the tide goes out. We will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Gwenan5.0Sep 2019

  • "The apartment was very comfortable and ideally placed for walking access to Caenarfon and to a suitable path alongside the Menai Strait for walking the dog."

    A little tip for unloading luggage is that you can park on England Road South that is above the property that saves lugging the cases up a steep path.

    Reviewed by Gillian5.0Aug 2019

  • "Loved the fact Mary rang us before hand to discuss our requirements including getting some essential groceries (milk, bread, juice, even wine) for our arrival especially liked the Welsh touch of a bara brith and Welsh cakes."

    Mary left her mobile for us and we contacted her by text to ask for tourist info and advice on the local area. Just little friendly touches that made us feel really welcome.

    Reviewed by Mark4.1Aug 2019

  • "We had a great time here."

    It is only a 10 min walk in to the town centre and also a great base to explore North Wales. The apartment was clean and comfortable and had more than enough space for the three of us. The host met us there on the 1st day as well as providing bread and milk for us when we got there. We would defiantly stay there again

    Reviewed by Matthew5.0Aug 2019

  • "All in all great base, great accommodation, and warm welcome from owners."

    The accommodation was of a high standard, we had a lovely welcome and a welsh welcome pack , we particularly loved the conservatory and the view across the Menai straits. It was a relativly easy walk to the town centre and a great central point for exloring North Wales. If you have difficulty in walking the garden path is quite steep but do not let that put you off it is worth it. plenty of good walks nearby for the dog, we walked through the town across the bridge by the castle and found a lovely park with great views.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Jun 2019

  • "Only thing about this place was there was no iron or no hairdryer."

    Thank you for your comments. We hope you enjoyed your stay. The property isn't listed with a iron or hairdryer. We hope to welcome you back in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel4.1Jun 2019

  • "It was a good place for accessing Snowdonia, the north coast and Angelsey, with easy journeys in all directions."

    Great views from the property over the Menai straits. Lovely welcome pack. Very comfortable quiet and easy access to a shop for daily purchases.

    Reviewed by Jo5.0May 2019

  • "The house was lovely and the location was perfect!"

    The hosts were so lovely and welcomming and the welcome pack was such a lovely touch! Would highly recommend this house.

    Reviewed by Charlee5.0Apr 2019

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All ground floor: Two bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC, 1 x double with en-suite shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with electric stove and dining area
  • Conservatory.
  • Gas central heating and electric fire
  • Gas cooker and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washing machine, tumble dryer
  • Smart TV with Freeview, Wifi, small selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available
  • Roadside parking on a first come, first served basis
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Private decked seating area with furniture and shared use of garden with upper apartment
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and Pub 300 yards
  • Morrisons 5 mins walk
  • Caernarfon town centre and Castle 10 mins walk
  • Note: Property is elevated from road and is accessed up a sloping garden path and some steps
  • Note: Although all ground floor, due to the access, this property isn't suitable for wheelchair users or anyone with mobility issues
  • Note: Children must be supervised at all times whilst on the decked seating area and in the garden
  • Note: Both beds are accessed from one side only
  • Note: The property sleeps 4 not including a babe in arms
  • Note: Dog must be kept on a lead in the garden as it is shared with the neighbouring property
  • Please note this property has a good housekeeping bond of £150

The property

Occupying the lower ground floor of a semi detached Victorian property near the town centre of Caernarfon, North Wales, this pleasant self-catering coastal apartment is located in an elevated position and enjoys views extending over the rooftops towards the Menai Strait and countryside beyond.

The apartment offers comfortable, clean and practical accommodation, and is nicely styled to provide an ideal base for couples, friends or a small family.

Enter through the conservatory which provides seating and a wonderful vantage point from which to relax and enjoy the lovely views.

The sitting room is light and bright with comfy seating and a dining area for that leisurely breakfast to set you up for the day ahead.

The kitchen is compact but well-equipped and provides everything you will need during your stay.

The two bedrooms are comfortable, and both rooms boast double beds and en-suite facilities.

Outside, a lovely decked area offers a nice place to sit and enjoy the views, with a chilled glass of something in the evening or an early morning cuppa.

Just a short walk away from the apartment is the majestic Caernarfon Castle, well worth a visit, and the harbour is a great place for many locals and holidaymakers wishing to spend the day angling or crabbing.

If you're looking for a meal out why not take a 5 minute stroll away from the property to the Celtic Royal Hotel, which offers an array of wonderful meals.

The Welsh Highland & Ffestiniog steam railway has a station here and is well worth putting a day to one side to travel the two hours, through some breathtaking scenery to the harbour town of Porthmadog; a shorter trip takes you to Beddgelert, where you can visit the grave of Gelert, the faithful hound of legend.

Within fifteen minutes’ drive you will find the foothills of Snowdonia, from here you can access footpaths to the very summit of Mount Snowdon, or a mountain railway offers the chance to travel in comfort from nearby Llanberis.

Anglesey is a short distance away and the Menai Strait provides a variety of water activities from RIB rides to dinghy sailing.

This self-catering apartment is ideal as a base for exploring the area all year round.

This property can be booked with Property ID: 999158 to sleep 14 guests.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

CAERNARFON

Llanberis 8 miles; Bangor 9 miles.

Caernarfon (county town of Gwynedd) has much historic and cultural importance in North Wales. It is a popular tourist spot with its impressive 13th Century castle, well preserved town walls and delightful water front. During the season there are guided tours of the castle and special events including historic pageants. There is also a station for the Welsh Highland Railway, which passes through dramatic scenery, the village of Beddgelert and onto Porthmadog. Fishing trips are available from the harbour and another attraction within walking distance of the town centre is Segontium, a Roman fort and museum, housing many important finds. Caernarfon offers a wide selection of shops and places to eat and is close to the lovely beaches of the Isle of Anglesey and the Lleyn Peninsula as well as the mountains and rivers of Snowdonia, including the renowned mountaineering town of Llanberis at the foot of Mount Snowdon.

View more holiday cottages in Caernarfon

Please note this property has a good housekeeping bond of £150

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas