Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 27 View Image Gallery
  • Bwthyn Taid a Nain - Anglesey - 1092000 - photo 1

Bwthyn Taid a Nain

(Ref. 1092000)

Trefdraeth near Newborough, Anglesey Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • stay (5)
  • cottage (5)
  • need (4)
  • location (4)
  • everything (3)
  • garden (3)

8 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a great stay at the cottage."

    Everything you need and in a great location to explore nearby beaches and forests. Clean, cosy and fully equipped. We will be back!

    We’re so glad you had a lovely stay. You’re welcome back any time! Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Mar 2024

  • "We had a wonderful week at your cottage it is in a beautiful place and the ..."

    We had a wonderful week at your cottage it is in a beautiful place and the neighbours were very friendly and the garden was lovely they is everything you need Thank you for a wonderful week

    Thank you for the lovely feedback. We’re very glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barbara4.4Mar 2024

  • "Need the centre heating on in the evening."

    Otherwise a lovely holiday

    Thanks for your feedback. We’re glad to hear you had a lovely stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Oct 2023

  • "We have just returned from wonderful week!"

    What a welcoming cottage.. so comfortable, outstanding facilities & such attention to detail! A huge ‘ thank you’ to the owners

    Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback, we’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian E5.0Sep 2023

  • "The accommodation is as listed and exactly what we had been looking for."

    Great location for getting around. On arrival and initial inspection everything appeared clean and tidy. Kitchen and bathroom to an acceptable standard. However it soon became apparent this could not be said for the rest of the cottage. It had been necessary for us to fix the two single beds into a double ad this had not been carried out as requested prior to our stay. On joining the beds we were shocked how dirty the space was around and under the beds. Even finding an old earring and dirty flipflop. I would suggest there were months of dirt and dust around this area and could not believe this is how the owners and cleaning company think this is acceptable. I felt this needed to be cleaned before I could sleep in the room. Indeed we felt the need to clean floors in main lounge and both bedrooms. We did complain to Sykes and after sending some photos they did arrange for cleaning company to visit to address some of our concerns. They arrived within two days of raising concerns which we felt was reasonable. They arrived when we were out and attended to only a few of areas highlighted. We also asked them to check the drain in shower as this did not appear to be draining properly. Which they say they did. We did not get back to them again, preferring to get on with holiday. We didn’t plan on cooking too much during stay. Find it difficult to understand cleanliness of the accommodation has not come up in previous reviews. Always felt feet were dirty as soon as washed and needed to be brushed before getting into bed! This would not stop me coming back to this property in future but only be prepared to get dustpan and brush out! Lovely having a hot tub and this had been one of the main reasons for booking this property. Would definitely be adding this to criteria for future bookings. Garden was tidy and nice private space to relax in and enjoy leisure time and alfresco dining. Good Wi-Fi connection and steaming channels on tv so didn’t miss favourite shows. Also Siri available which gave us a laugh. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you need and then some. Good clean fridge freezer, oven and hob and dishwasher. Washing machine and other cleaning equipment and laundry needs available, although we didn’t use them. Liked the little touch of torches in bedroom draws to find your way around in the dark. Overall would recommend this accommodation and consider returning in future. Sykes were quick to respond to our concerns.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear about the problems you encountered. Sykes contacted us on Saturday evening and we asked the cleaners to come out as soon as possible, which was the following morning. We are very disappointed to hear that they didn’t rectify things to your satisfaction. We will be speaking to our cleaning company as a matter of urgency to find out what has gone wrong and to ensure that this does not happen again. This is not something we find acceptable and we are taking it very seriously. We want all our guests to have the best possible experience and we are very sorry this wasn’t the case for you. Thank you for saying you would return . We’d be delighted to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola3.4Sep 2023

  • "We are very disappointed of this stay because we've booked it for hot tub which wasn't working."

    Very bad communication with the agency. We have received not correct information about hot tub being repaired but it was not a true. We have to fight for the refund which is very low. We waste time, the money and we were stressed. The owner doesn't show any interest to solve the issue. Sakes Cottages attitude is not professional. We will never use your service and we won't recommend to people. Very stressful experience.

    We are very sorry to hear this. We would like to assure you that both we, as owners, and our hot tub maintenance company have been working very hard to try and resolve the technical issues with the hot tub as quickly as possible. As we were so concerned, we asked Sykes to notify all guests in advance of their stay and offer guests a reduced rate as we recognise the inconvenience and disappointment this will have caused. We wanted this to be dealt with in advance so as to minimise disruption and give guests the opportunity to cancel. We will be discussing the communication issues you’ve referenced with Sykes as this is not the experience we want our guests to have. Latest update: all issues with the hot tub are resolved. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dorota2.2Aug 2023

  • "Bwthyn Taid a Nain was a really nice place to stay."

    Location was brilliant next to Newborough Forest and cycle route.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again at Bwthyn Taid a Nain. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catrin5.0Aug 2023

  • "Our stay was spoiled by a problem at check in as the previous occupants had lost their car keys and consequently we were unable to gain access to unload the car easily as their car was in the way."

    They had to wait for their son to bring a set of keys for them and were waiting on the front bench until 6 pm. We felt we had to offer them a drink and they needed to use the toilet. Consequently we felt our privacy was invaded as we would have liked to use the hot tub but due to the couple and dog still being there at the property felt unable or relaxed enough to enjoy the excellent facilities provided until they had gone away. Hence we felt that we were unable to enjoy the first day and In fact lost a day of our holiday . Excellent location, the equipment provided was spot on and new the garden was excellent for both us and our dog but a beautiful garden needed weeding and tending to to show off its real beauty. The front door handle is loose and needs attending to. A pity about the arrival as it spoiled what was a perfect cottage in a perfect location.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback. We’re really pleased to hear the positive things you said about the cottage. We have arranged more regular maintenance of the garden following your comments, thanks for letting us know. We hope to see you back at Bwthyn Taid a Nain in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Jun 2023

Show more Hide all


  • Single-storey
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x double (zip/link, can be twin on request)
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Dining/sun room
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, slimline dishwasher, coffee machine
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available on request
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Front enclosed garden with lawn
  • Rear, enclosed multi-level garden with lawn, patio, hot tub and furniture
  • Two small well-behaved dogs or one large dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2 miles, pub 0.6 miles
  • Please note: There is a strict no noise policy between 8pm - 8am
  • Please do not use the Hot-Tub between 8pm - 8am.

The property

Newborough (Niwbwrch) 2.8 miles.

Bwthyn Taid a Nain is a delightful, mid-terrace cottage settled in Trefdraeth near Newborough, Anglesey.

This pet-friendly cottage sits next to the scenic Malltraeth Viaduct with views across the countryside to Snowdonia, whilst offering families or couples ground-floor living, a woodburning stove, well-equipped kitchen and utility, and a private garden with a hot tub for a relaxing getaway.

Be welcomed into the sitting room with sofas and a Smart TV to unwind after the day's adventures, whilst the homely kitchen is just next door to whip up home-cooked meals.

You can gather your loved ones around the table in the dining/sunroom or alfresco in the rear enclosed garden, complete with plenty of lawn space, outdoor seating, and the benefit of a hot tub; it's also enclosed for pets and children to play safely.

After long walks along Anglesey's coast, throw your walking gear into the utility's washing machine, freshen up in the contemporary shower room, and retire to one of two bedrooms, a double or a zip/link twin to suit a variety of groups.

From your doorstep, there are plenty of walks and cycle paths to explore, whilst Malltraeth is home to the Riverside Arts and Crafts Cafe, Tafarn Y Joiners pub, and Malltraeth Sands nature reserve.

Newborough offers a superb day out exploring the ancient ruins of Llys Rhosyr, Newborough National Nature Reserve and Forest, and Traeth Llanddwyn, a spectacular sandy beach where you can walk the coastal path to the ruins of Eglwys Santes Dwynwen.

Further along the coast, you'll find Traeth Mawr, Rhosneigr, and the town of Holyhead where the Ucheldre Centre, Holyhead Maritime Museum, and Breakwater Country Park for birdwatching and fishing (Parc Gwledig Morglawdd Caergybi) all await.

Bwthyn Taid a Nain is also within easy reach of the Menai Bridge where you'll find the cathedral city of Bangor, the National Trust Penrhyn Castle & Garden, and the royal town of Caernarfon, home to the impressive, 13th-century Caernarfon Castle World Heritage Site.

Escape the hustle and bustle at Bwthyn Taid a Nain for a memorable staycation with your loved ones.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location


Bangor 9 miles.

The small village of Newborough (Welsh spelling: Niwbwrch) lies on the edge of forests and dunes at the south west corner of Anglesey. Close by is Llanddwyn Bay, renowned as one of the finest beaches in Britain, ideal for swimming, canoeing, beachcombing and birdwatching or just relaxing! Behind the beach, the 1500 acre sand dune system of Newborough Warren is home to skylarks, meadow pipits and oyster catchers as well as toads and lizards and is protected as a National Nature Reserve. The Tan y Foel horse riding centre is within 3 miles of the village centre and Anglesey Sea Zoo, Foel Farm and the Anglesey Sea Salt are only a short drive away and make a fun day out for the whole family. Nearby Aberffraw is the home of the Anglesey racing track and will offer an exciting day.

View more holiday cottages in Newborough

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas