Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 32 View Image Gallery
  • Felin - Anglesey - 992139 - photo 1
close

Felin

(Ref. 992139)

Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, Anglesey Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 12 Guests

  • 6 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (17)
  • house (16)
  • property (14)
  • great (13)
  • well (13)
  • family (11)

30 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely house and location"

    Reviewed by Keith4.7Oct 2023

  • "Delightful house in a wonderful setting."

    It suited are needs and more, e.g space, recreation, comfort, informality. Charles and Mimi made us feel very welcome.

    Reviewed by Desmond5.0Oct 2023

  • "We had a wonderful week in Felin the whole family enjoyed their stay."

    The only suggested comment that was made was that the lower ground floor was slightly damp but because the weather was so hot were able to put the bedding out in the sunshine to air. It is a beautiful property in a fabulous location.

    Reviewed by Gail4.7Sep 2023

  • "A fantastic holiday in a fantastic house, everything is amazing about this beautiful house, we as a family enjoyed every minute, the grandchildren loved the spacious house, & having the menia straights as your back garden for crabbing & beautiful views whilst relaxing with a glass of wine & bbq what more could anyone want, house well equipped, clean & brilliant location, we loved it sooooo much it's booked for next year, just one very tiny point the TV was missing from one of the room's when advertised, not a problem just the grandchildren wanted that room for their sitting room & console."

    To sum up our holiday stay at felin on Anglesey WOW!!!!!

    Reviewed by Patricia4.7Aug 2023

  • "An amazing place."

    Perfect for two families and 3 pets for making memories. Ideal location for exploring and doing nothing. The view was incredible.

    Reviewed by Catharine5.0Jun 2023

  • "Perfect place to stay for a family reunion of 12!"

    Lovely old mill in a beautiful position with wonderful views across to Snowdonia. Property as described and well equipped. Large open plan living area and kitchen.

    Reviewed by Ann4.7Jun 2023

  • "Beautiful house and stunning location, very comfortable and well equipped."

    Reviewed by Jayne5.0Apr 2023

  • "Property as described stunning location with easy access to nearby beaches, supermarkets and into Wales."

    Large rooms although could be quite noisy due to most of the rooms having floorboards and obviously open plan. House well equipped for a large group. The oven and microwave are dated and didn’t always function.

    Reviewed by Celia3.1Apr 2023

  • "Hi we really enjoyed the stay, the location is great."

    As a family we always go away for the New Year, we’ve stayed in over 15 properties. Im not one for complaining, I’ll just offer an honest assessment of my stay. In comparison to others we’ve stayed in, the property was dirty. The fridge in the utility room had gone off milk in it and smelled. Our bedding was damp, the kids bedroom upstairs bedding wasn’t changed. It had someone else’s hair on the pillow. First aid kit was out of date, dishwasher and washing machine doors were broken. Rooms are damp, with mould spores on the walls. TV is poor quality, batteries flat in the remote. We had to plug in a laptop to watch Netflix. Outdoor lighting isn’t great. Being totally honest, it didn’t feel like it’s been cleaned properly for a long time. Could be made allot nicer and more welcoming for customers. It’s not a cheap holiday, so you’d expect the basics to be allot better. It needs upgrading if you’re wanting to charge a premium for it. Thanks

    Thank you for your feedback. We're very sorry to hear you had issues with Felin during your stay. We're disappointed that you didn't raise these with us upon arrival as we would have done all we could to address your problems for you. We're sorry for missing the milk in the smaller second fridge! We appreciate this will not have been pleasant, but this was a rare oversight on the changeover before you entered and I assure you we take a very thorough approach to cleaning the property which is reflected in our other reviews. There is also no evidence of mould spores in the property following our inspection, although in keeping with the old stone the property is built with, the walls do retain more moisture than a standard brick build. Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do about this as the property is listed and this adds to the charm an old unique cottage. We thank you for your comments as we are continually looking for feedback on how we can provide the best experience for our customers and will keep these in mind when considering changes in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Duncan3.1Dec 2022

  • "GREAT HOUSE AND SURROUNDINGS IDEAL FOR A FAMILY OR LARGE GROUP OF FRIENDS."

    YOU WILL NOT GET BETTER VIEWS ANYWHERE. WE HOPE TO RETURN IN THE FUTURE. THANKS FOR A GREAT STAY

    Reviewed by Christopher4.7Sep 2022

  • "Cottage was lovely, very clean, well equipped, very comfortable."

    Amazing place to stay. Fantastic views. Owners extremely helpful.

    Reviewed by Ange5.0Aug 2022

  • "We all had a marvellous holiday, beautiful house very well equipped and clean."

    Would have given straight 10s, but no bbq.

    Reviewed by Alastair4.7Aug 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Felin, the house was well equipped, the kids loved the table tennis table and we all had lovely comfy beds."

    The welcome biscuits and fizz were a lovely touch and appreciated by us all. It's a great base for exploring Anglesey and the many beautiful beaches near by.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Jul 2022

  • "We loved the huge living space at Hen Felin."

    The kitchen was excellent and well-stocked with glasses, cutlery, crockery etc and the dining table was a great place to share big family meals. The location was superb, and we loved just watching the tides ebb and flow, and seeing how the birds responded to the changes. Mimi and Charles were welcoming and helpful hosts. Car parking was great too, as was access to the outdoor space. There were a few quirks to the property, like light switches in unusual places but we got used to these. Overall, a wonderful week, and we'd certainly recommend this property to others.

    Reviewed by Wendy4.4Jul 2022

  • "An amazing property in a Superb location."

    It had everything we needed for our stay. Perfect in fact Thank you

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Mar 2022

  • "We always love coming to stay at Felin, the house is fabulous."

    The WiFi is not good but we don't find that a problem as we like the off grid experience. It would be nice to have some kind of sound bar or Bluetooth speaker. We usually bring our own but forgot. As ever a sublime stay and we are looking forward to our next visit.

    Good idea about the Bluetooth speaker. Will do. Mimi Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Mar 2022

  • "Fantastic property!"

    We were a group of 10 looking for last minute availability and were so lucky! Fantastic location, huge sociable spaces, well equipped kitchen and a table tennis table! Large Bedrooms, many with lovely views of the Menai Straits. Huge thanks to Charles & Mimi!

    Reviewed by Nuala5.0Dec 2021

  • "Great property lots of space for chilling and entertaining"

    Reviewed by Pauline4.4Nov 2021

  • "Stunning location, excellent property and facilities, catered for our extended family extremely well."

    Polite and helpful host Charles. Will definitely book again and bring my Boat next time!

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Nov 2021

  • "Mimi and Charles were charming and gave us some useful information about the 14th century mill, it’s history, and the facilities."

    The welcome pack was one of the best we’d ever had. The property was huge and easily accommodated 8 of us. The bedding, and beds are top quality and assured a great nights sleep, although “one up, all up” seems to be the default position due to the click/latch doors and creaky floorboards! The living room is spacious and has big comfy sofas, in which to relax the evening away. The kitchen was well appointed and marvellously stocked with everything needed to cook for up to 12 hungry residents. A great deal of thought had obviously gone into that, any many other aspects of our stay. Some minor criticisms were the lighting throughout Felin, which are disjointed and quite dated, however a complete electrical refit would be an extortionate expense, so we put it down to the age of this grand old lady. The massive marble table was more than big enough for a full house, however the cushion pads on the dining chairs were flaking and looked somewhat shabby, but that could be easily remedied. The outside space is delightful, the side, walled patio overlooking the mini-harbour and the Menai Straits is enchanting. There was a private car park for the property, directly across from Felin, and as there was very little traffic down the long unmade track, it felt very secure. All in all, a beautiful property in a staggering location, ideally placed for the North Wales mainland and the amazing island of Anglesey.

    Reviewed by Alan4.7Sep 2021

  • "Great house and great location."

    As a group of 8 adults it was more than big enough to handle all of us. The equipment level was excellent with plenty of eevrything you need for meals / drinks etc. We used the house as base to explore the ISland as well as visit Portmerion and a days hiking up Snowden which was only half an hour away. We eevn managed a small ping pong tournament!

    Reviewed by Chris4.7Sep 2021

  • "The house met expectations however lots of cob webs everywhere."

    Especially inside light fittings. Everything else was great.

    Reviewed by Gavin3.1Aug 2021

  • "The owners were on hand at arrival and made us very welcome."

    We were a family group of 7 people and the house was perfect for our holiday in Anglessey with spectacular views of the Menai straights. Just one thing - wooden floors and lots of steps so be careful if you have any elderly persons in your group. Would we go again - Definitely.

    Reviewed by Tony5.0Jun 2021

  • "We were lucky to meet the charming and very helpful owners on arrival."

    They guided us through the quirks of the old mill. The house is perfect for a family holiday with plenty of scope for children, social spaces outside and inside for all and good cooking facilities for a hungry hoard. The local Co-Op, a couple of minutes away, supplied most of our needs and Bangor, just over the bridge, has more exotic food stores. There is plenty of private parking next to a safe grassed area with a high wall, ideal for football practice. We brought a small dinghy which needed warping up and down the drying harbour to remain accessible at all states of the tide. Local walks along the straits have plenty to explore and access to the rest of the island is easy. A great holiday. One mystery remained at the end. A couple of lights we couldn't switch off despite the numerous switches.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Aug 2020

  • "After the late cancellation of our previous booking (less than 24 hours notice from Sykes) we scrambled to find a suitable replacement."

    This property is lovely and in an excellent location.

    Reviewed by David4.7Feb 2020

  • "We had a great time in this lovely spacious building and enjoyed walks along the waterside - and good weather."

    Our Golden Wedding Family celebration was in a perfect setting central to many activities. Our hostess was quick to get back to us to help after we spent some time searching for a cot. Sadly we couldn't find bedding for it after we were told where to find the cot. The helpful list could have included this info! There was no recycling guidance and bags to put this in.

    Reviewed by Ann4.7Jul 2019

  • "Contacting the owners re a issue was not possible BBQ was far below the ..."

    Contacting the owners re a issue was not possible BBQ was far below the standard of the property and with no equipments Literature about the properties equipment was poor and no instructions for washing machine It would have been useful to know there was a travel cot,as we had a baby Apart from the above,a Great property in a Great location

    Reviewed by Michael4.4Jul 2019

  • "A fantastic experience from start to finish."

    A straight forward booking process with good communication throughout. The house is beautiful and in a perfect setting - ideal for exploring Anglesey and Snowdonia. We had plenty of space for a family of 11 including a baby. In addition we had an excitable Labrador on his first holiday so it was great to be in such a dog friendly location. The house is well equipped and extremely comfortable, we all slept very well. Overall a wonderful break - we all wish we could have stayed for longer. Can’t wait to visit North Wales again to continue exploring!

    Reviewed by Lorna4.7May 2019

  • "We had a brilliant time at the property and the view was fabulous."

    Just a couple of negatives: the main oven door didn't close properly and lighting in the kitchen was not great.

    Reviewed by Sian3.8May 2019

  • "Yr Hen Felin is an ideal property catering for a large group of people of all ages and abilities."

    It is very clean and well equipped and the owners live nearby should there be any problems during your stay. For anyone with mobility problems the large bedroom and en suite on the ground floor provides excellent accessibility to the hub of the house. There is also very adequate car parking directly opposite the property. The location of the house is fantastic with views of Snowdonia and on the waters edge of the Menai Straits. There are many good walks starting from the house and lots of places to visit nearby. A local taxi firm takes away the need for one or more of the party having to drive. All eleven of us with ages ranging from 6-70 years old had a brilliant holiday and we would certainly recommend this property.

    Reviewed by Kenneth5.0Apr 2019

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Six bedrooms: 1 x ground floor king-size double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x first floor king-size, 1 x first floor twin, 1 x lower ground floor single (with trundle bed), 2 x lower ground floor king-size
  • Lower ground floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC, Lower ground floor bathroom with bath, basin and WC
  • First floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast bar. Lounge/diner
  • First floor games room.
  • Central heating with wood burning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for fire inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • There is a parking area opposite the house for several cars and further parking is also available if required
  • An enclosed courtyard area accessed from the ground floor with patio furniture
  • The front of the house has a slipway and mooring, lawn and graveled areas with garden furniture
  • 2 well behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 2 miles
  • Note: As with many of our rural properties, access is by a track, which can be rough in places
  • Note: This is a converted mill and there are many steps and some drops so parents of very young children should ensure they are supervised at all times
  • Note: Under occupancy offer applies to 3 bedrooms on the ground and top floor,the bedrooms on the middle floor will be closed off
  • Note: This property will do a discounted rate with fewer people, please contact our reservations team.

The property

This old slate mill is a Grade II listed property situated down a quiet lane, near the wonders of Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, with breath-taking views over the Menai Straits.

Invite the family, or join friends in this remarkable retreat, situated over three floors with six bedrooms to suit every guest.

From the country cottage kitchen to the wonderful open-plan living area, the layout is enchanting, also home to a woodburning stove and a dining table for up to 12 people.

The double height, galleried ceiling exposes beams above, whilst one of the galleries even features a small library, as well as a games room so you can all get together for a game of table tennis.

The seating area has extra large, comfy sofas and chairs, your own characterful room to relax in after an adventure filled afternoon.

When it comes to a good night's sleep, choose from a variety of sleeping arrangements, to include a sleigh bed and a twin room on the upper level, a single room with a trundle bed on the lower ground floor and two additional king-size bedrooms.

Wake up to your very own small tea station, ideal for that early morning or late night cuppa!.

Effectively, a master suite rests on the ground floor providing ample storage, a walk-in shower room, and views that welcome in the natural scenery.

You can also get ready at ease with the retreat comprising two bathrooms and a shower room.

The enclosed courtyard can be accessed from the ground floor, which boasts patio furniture.

The front of the house has a slipway and mooring, backed by lawned and gravelled areas with garden furniture.

A short walk past the octagonal Toll House, towards Menai Bridge, will bring you to the Marquis of Anglesey statue and column, which, for a small fee, you can climb the 115 steps to the top for views of the countryside and coastline.

With several good pubs with restaurants, craft and gift shops and cafes, plus the beautiful Anglesey coastline within walking distance, this is a tranquil, traffic free destination to base your holiday.

View on map

About the location

LLANFAIRPWLLGWYNGYLL

Menai Bridge 2 miles; Beaumaris 6 miles.

Affectionately known by the locals as Llanfair PG, the Anglesey village of Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrnd robwllllantysiliogogogoch, also known by its shortened name of Llanfairpwllgwyngyll has the longest place name in Europe. It was artificially named back in 1860 as a publicity stunt for the railway station and translates from Welsh as "St Mary's church in the hollow of the white hazel near to the fierce whirlpool and the church of St Tysilio of the red cave". Situated close to the Menai Straits, just off the Britannia Bridge, Llanfair PG has much to offer families. After having your photo taken next to the village nameplate at the railway station, head into the popular visitors centre for local tourist information. A short walk past the octagonal Toll House, towards Menai Bridge, will bring you to the Marquis of Anglesey statue and column which, for a small fee, you can climb the 115 steps to the top for superb views of the countryside and coastline. Nelson’s Monument can be easily reached on the banks of the Menai Straits, passing St Mary’s Church on the way. With several good pubs with restaurants, craft and gift shops and cafes, plus the beautiful Anglesey coastline within walking distance, there is plenty to entertain you all year round.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas