Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 25 View Image Gallery
  • Disgwylfa - Anglesey - 1088946 - photo 1


(Ref. 1088946)

Moelfre, Anglesey Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (17)
  • cottage (16)
  • location (13)
  • great (11)
  • garden (11)
  • no (11)

24 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely Cottage."

    This property is in a perfect location in the beautiful village of Moelfre. A prime position for exploring the stunning coastal pathways to Lligwy and beyond for amazing walks. We couldn't fault this cottage. It was clean, bright and light throughout. The kitchen is well stocked and we found the chairs, seating and beds very comfortable. The TV has a great reception with access to Netflicks and various other apps. The bathroom is a good size and the power shower is brilliant, set at just the right temperature so no fiddling about with controls. We did have several cool evenings but found the heating was fine for us. We used the log burner on the final night in the cottage. There is a lovely spacious back garden which is very private and completely secure which is a must for our dog. Overall one of the most comfortable and relaxing cottages we have visited in over 25 years of holidaying in Moelfre.

    Thanks for your review Lynne, so glad you (and your dog!) enjoyed the cottage and the local coastal walks, Esther Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynne5.0Jul 2024

  • "House was cold and damp on arrival so not very welcoming."

    Radiator at bottom of stairs didn’t work and others rusty. Owner’s remote control of heating meant house got cold and we had to buy an electric heater for the bedroom. Wood for log burner lasted one evening so had to buy several lots more locally. Microwave should be condemned with rusty inside and top of exterior - a health hazard so didn’t use. Sofa and chairs uncomfortable and had to put extra coverings over bedroom blinds to make it dark enough to sleep through sunrise.

    Thanks for your feedback, it's so disappointing that you didn't get in touch at the start of the week. As you say, the heating is controlled remotely and so had you let us know you were cold I could have turned it up straight away. Same with the microwave, if there was an issue we would happily have sorted it if we were just told. We have checked and can see there is a small area of rust in the back corner which we were unaware of and so a new microwave has been ordered. My number is in the info in the cottage, or Sykes are available to deal with any guest queries. Also disappointing that you were unhappy with the blinds, which are brand new venetian blinds just fitted before you came. All the best, Esther Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael2.5Jun 2024

  • "We are currently on our way home from a lovely stay."

    The house is very homely and we felt relaxed upon arrival. The location is great, there are some lovely walks along the coastline and some really lovely sandy beaches near by. We could have easily have stayed another week! We loved it, the only thing i would say is with young children - you may need to take a travel blackout blind as the blinds are not lined. But otherwise its a beautiful house and location :) thank you for having us!

    Hi Samantha, glad you had a nice holiday and enjoyed the beautiful anglesey coastline and the cottage, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, best wishes, Esther Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha Rose4.4May 2024

  • "This cottage is in a lovely position and has some lovely features but it needs a few tweaks."

    All the blinds were ikea ring blomma which are just daylight reducing blinds. At night ,with a light on inside, the whole room is lit up and from outside people can see everything , colours facial expressions etc not just shadows so there was no privacy and the main open plan room had a door with a smallish glass window which isn’t frosted and has no covering and so at night felt a bit exposed too.The online listing didn't mention that dogs couldn’t go upstairs and so one of us had to sleep downstairs each night as there was no stairgate and we have a nervous dog. Although there was a washing machine there was no line to dry clothes and a small clothes rack but no pegs. There was no blind in the kitchen , utility or bathroom . The bathroom window is frosted but we still felt uncomfortable if the light was on. There is a brick building in the garden that looks like a small house ,another reviewer had mentioned it and the owner had said it was a shed however it really looks like a house and we kept expecting someone to pop their head out which was a bit disconcerting especially as there was no blind in the kitchen which looked out at it . It has a lovely garden area, great light and space, is in a lovely position has been decorated in a lovely way. For us it was just the privacy aspect that let it down which can be easily rectified by an extra covering to pull over the existing blinds or new more substantial blinds .

    Thanks for your feedback John, I am glad you enjoyed the location and decor or of the cottage and the garden. To clarify, the building in the garden is a storage shed and is shown in the pictures, there is definitely no one there! As the cottage is on a very narrow road the only passers by are pedestrians or residents and its a very quiet street. We'll take on board your comments and appreciate you taking the time to feedback. Best wishes, Esther Just to let you know we have taken on board your comments and have now installed an outside clothes line and replaced the blinds at the front of the house with venetian blinds which improves the privacy. Thanks again for the feedback. Esther (June 2024) Property Owner

    Reviewed by John3.1May 2024

  • "Absolutely beautiful cottage in an adorable village."

    Easy to walk the coastal paths, fabulous views, neighbours very friendly. Lovely secure back garden and parking. Were totally enchanted by this home. It's a very old house so has it own quirky issues but the owner is very responsive and easy to contact. We can't wait to return .

    Thanks for your review Victoria, so pleased you enjoyed the cottage and had a good stay in Moelfre. We'd love to welcome you bank Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria5.0Apr 2024

  • "The cottage was perfect for our family - two adults and two older children."

    It is located in the heart of Moelfre, so you can be enjoying the gorgeous coastal views in minutes. The cottage was clean, warm and comfortable. The kitchen had all the necessary amenities, was well stocked with pots and pans, and was easy to make simple evening meals (not always a given!) Thank you to the lovely owners, who were able to accommodate us at short notice.

    Thanks for your review David, so pleased you enjoyed a nice half term break with your family! All the best, Esther Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Feb 2024

  • "We really enjoyed our stay in Disgwylfa."

    We’ve stayed here before but not since 2014, and it has been refurbished since then, which has improved it significantly. It is a great house for us as a family of four as there is enough space for us all and the enclosed back garden is perfect for our small dog to run around in. Thanks for a lovely stay; I’m sure we’ll be back again in the future.

    Thanks for your lovely feedback, and glad your dog enjoyed the garden! We'd be delighted to welcome you back, best wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elspeth4.7Jul 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in a beautiful location, would definitely recommend."

    Glad you enjoyed the cottage and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we really appreciate it. All the best Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Apr 2023

  • "Lovely property in an excellent position in village."

    Facilities were great and everything we needed for our stay. Moelfre itself is lovely and glad we chose this location over some other villages which were far less quaint. Plenty places to eat out or get takeaway. Overall a lovely village.

    Glad you enjoyed your holiday in Moelfre Tim, we agree it's a lovely place to stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tim4.7Apr 2023

  • "We loved our short stay at Disgwylfa."

    The property was clean, well maintained and catered for all of our needs (two adults, two children and two small dogs). There’s an enclosed garden to the rear of the property and good space for parking immediately out front. We were made aware of the narrow approach to the property and whilst it definitely felt tight on the first attempt, it is possible, indeed, I saw a van reverse down the road without issue. (Whilst I was there, a neighbour - a permanent resident - popped across to say hello and shared his technique for tackling it.). We’re already fans of Moelfre having been there several times before and we were really pleasantly surprised with the location of the cottage itself. It’s really in the heart of Moelfre with easy access to the coastal path (the walk up to Lligwy is stunning!) the beach is a stones throw away with a family / dog friendly pub over looking it. It only took me 7 minutes to walk to the fish and chip shop too. Finally, many thanks Esther for your messages checking that all was well. You’ve got a fantastic cottage, in a fantastic location - I really hope to be able to return again soon.

    So glad you enjoyed the cottage and the location Roman. We appreciate you taking the time to leave the feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon, Esther Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roman5.0Mar 2023

  • "It was a beautiful cottage in a lovely location and the owners were very helpful!"

    So pleased you had a lovely holiday Lesley! All the best, Esther Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Mar 2023

  • "We loved the cottage, it provided all we needed for a great family trip."

    The photos were a great way to see what we would find but the reality was even better, it was the perfect base for exploring the beautiful coastal path and near by beaches. We loved the village, RNLI seawatch and then further afield Beau Maris and Plas Newydd, but also having time and comfort to relax in the cottage.

    Glad you enjoyed Anglesey and the cottage Heather, thanks for your feedback. Best wishes, Esther Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark4.4Oct 2022

  • "Lovely cottage great having garden for dog although grass needed cutting."

    Dislikes: Were the stairs leading to bathroom and bedrooms. Also sofa was very uncomfortable luckily there were 2 soft chairs.

    Thanks for the feedback Geoffry. Best wishes, Esther Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geoffrey3.8Sep 2022

  • "Excellent stay, good location, very comfortable, modern would definitely consider staying again"

    Thank you Denise, we'd be delighted to welcome you back anytime and so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Disgwylfa, all the best, Esther Property Owner

    Reviewed by Denise5.0Aug 2022

  • "We had a marvelous stay."

    The weather was perfect. The location to the bay and facilities could not have been better. Moelfre is a great village with the pub, cafe' and village shop. The house itself is beautifully turned out and comfortable. We would love to come back even though the weather is unlikely to be as beautiful. The only thing we thought the house could do with is a back door mat and maybe a sun shade for hot days. Thank you for a amazing holiday.

    Thanks for the feedback Chris, glad the sun shone for you and you enjoyed your stay, Best wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chris4.4Aug 2022

  • "A beautiful cozy cottage that has been carefully modernised."

    We loved our stay here, the location is perfect for walks & pebble beach from your doorstep. It is extremely quiet. The cottage itself is light and spacious, it was immaculate and very comfy sofa and beds. Our daughter loved the sea view from her room. The kitchen is reasonably well equipped and utility space is a bounds. The bathroom is great with a lovely shower. The garden is nice and secure for dogs and children. Caution is required on the stairs, anyone with mobility problems may find them difficult. We would definitely stay here again.

    Thanks for your lovely feedback John, glad you and your family had a good time in Moelfre, we'd love to welcome you back anytime Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amy4.7Jul 2022

  • "This is a lovely cottage."

    We have really enjoyed our stay. In a great location for getting about to different beaches. Ann's Pantry and The Kimmel Arms very close by and have great food. The only problems we had were driving down the access road to the property it was very very narrow especially when you have an estate car. The carpet upstairs and the floor downstairs were not very clean. The garden at the back needs to be cut as it is quite long also needs a good weeding and tidy up. No baking trays in the kitchen as we had pizza one night but no trays to cook them on also no pizza cutter. It is lovely and quiet and the neighbours nice too.

    Hi Peter, good to hear you enjoyed your stay, appreciate your feedback, which we will take on board, thanks :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter4.7Jul 2022

  • "What a fabulous cottage in a lovely location!"

    The house has been decorated to a high standard and the walled garden is well maintained and private - Esther made us feel very welcome. My daughter and husband travelled from Austria and were stunned by the unspoilt coastal scenery just a few yards walk from the cottage- they also loved Snowdonia. We were all sorry to leave and hope to return in the future.

    Hi Deborah, so pleased you had a good week, and yes I have to agree, the coastal walks from Moelfre are stunning! We'd love to host you again in the future, best wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Jul 2022

  • "Horrible old sofa - so worn out you could feel metal bars through it - couldn’t see the TV from it."

    Horrible cheap old table and chairs. Horrible cheap stairwell, very much at odds with the quaintness of this beautiful cottage (are you allowed to do that planning wise) - just shoved in at minimal cost. We were cold one night but the radiators are externally controlled and none us wanted or knew how to build the fire. ‘We felt a … ‘Well they are only on holiday attitude’ I mean why would we need comfort and an aesthetically pleasing environment. A mess to deal with in the open utility room - a leak and a filthy mat that I had to dry out and clean. I told them I needed the place to be clean. The owner was very keen to know about the leak but not the other problems. There’s another sinister looking ‘house’ in the garden -we didn’t know who would turn up ? V small kitchen - no cupboard space. I told Sykes all this several times, they sent a ‘sorry you didn’t like it’ reply ? that’s it. Small but pretty enclosed back garden for our dog. Nice beds (no wardrobes) - they were clothes everywhere, but understandable because there was just no room. nice bathroom but broken extractor fan so the window had to be wide open all the time and the walls wiped down. One of the bedroom doors had to be pulled shut hard which woke us all up. JUST enough room for 2 cars. With some investment it could be nice and ‘possibly’ worth the money we paid, which was a lot. The weather was amazing so we didn’t stay in but the thought of 4 adults perched on 4 hard chairs, trying to see the TV for a week would put me off ever coming again. We booked somewhere else after returning home and the value for money is incredible inc free access to a heated swimming pool. I suppose we were paying for Angelsey which is undoubtedly gorgeous.

    Hi, Sorry to hear that the cottage was not to your liking, it is as seen in the pictures so it’s a shame that you didn’t like the size of the kitchen or some of the furnishings. The garden shed is also shown in the pictures, and I can assure you that there is nothing sinister about it, and no one has access to it. With regards to the TV, it is on a swingable bracket, and so you just need to pull it out and angle it and then you would be able to see if from the sofa. I’m sorry if that wasn’t obvious, we will make it clearer in the property guide for future guests. Yes, there is no wardrobe as such, but there is a rail to hang clothes in in the alcove (effectively a wardrobe with no doors) and a three drawer chest of drawers, which is usually enough for a holiday. I was unaware you required the heating turning up. It is set on a thermostat, however, as it says in the visitors book, if you has let us know we would have happily adjusted it. I am glad that you enjoyed Anglesey and all the best for your future holidays. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sheila2.8Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cottage which had everything we needed for our stay."

    Glad to hear you enjoyed the cottage Lynne, best wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynne4.4Jun 2022

  • "Lovely property, great location, would definitely go back."

    Glad to hear you had a good stay in Disgwylfa Chris, best wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Apr 2022

  • "The cottage was lovely unfortunately it had not been cleaned every were was dirty I was shocked to find dirty floors food in the sink ,toilet shower and sink were full of mess ,the beds still had the bedding on which were all marked with mess I bought a single fitted sheet for the bed ."

    So the friday was a day wasted the only thing I would say the cottage needs a tv aerial as could not watch the tv properly.

    Unfortunately, the cottage had not been cleaned before you arrived and we understand this is completely unacceptable and upsetting. This was due to a mix up between Sykes, the cleaner and a new email address, meaning the cleaner was not informed there was a guest arriving, and we have ensured this will not happen again. I am glad we were able to resolve the issue; the cleaner was able to come and clean for you, and we have more than compensated you for any costs you incurred. With the TV, it is a smart TV and therefore fully connected to all channels you will have at home (BBC, ITV, C4,C5 and any paid subscriptions you may have) but you need to log into the relevant channels (eg iPlayer etc). Sorry if this was not clear, we will update the instructions to make it clearer – so thank you for your feedback. So pleased you enjoyed the cottage, we notice you have booked again with us and look forward to welcoming you back in August. Best wishes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by A3.1Apr 2022

  • "Lovely cottage everything you could need."

    So pleased to hear you enjoyed the cottage, thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Apr 2022

  • "A wonderful property in a beautiful location, very well equipped, comfortable bed and the bonus of a secluded back garden too ."

    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely return .

    Thanks, glad you had a nice holiday! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Moira3.8Mar 2022

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Menai Holidays collection.
Over 700 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Living/dining room with woodburning stove
  • Electric central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine and dishwasher
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed rear garden with patio and lawn
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.3 miles, pub and beach 0.2 miles
  • Note: Access to the property is quite narrow, please bear this in mind when booking

The property

This delightful, detached cottage of Disgwylfa is located on Anglesey's east shore in Moelfre.

Disgwylfa is an excellent home-away-from-home for a family of four or two couples, and is conveniently located among Anglesey's seaside pleasures and near Eryri (Snowdonia) National Park.

When you get to the house, you'll be relieved to find off-road parking for two vehicles, making the unloading of your belongings hassle-free.

When you first walk into the house, you'll see a sophisticated living/dining area with a Smart TV to entertain you and a crackling woodburning fire filling the space with an orange glow in the winter.

Moving through the home, you'll discover a fully-equipped kitchen with attractive shaker-style cupboards housing a variety of equipment including a dishwasher, as well as a convenient utility with a freezer and washing machine, providing everything you need for a self-catered stay.

When it's time to retire for the night, head upstairs to two stylishly decorated bedrooms with iron bedframes, one of which is a double and the other a twin.

A lovely shower area rests nearby, with mosaic flooring and metro tiling on the walls, so you can prepare for an outing in style.

The private, lawned back garden is fenced off, so you may bring your pet along and give them a safe space to stretch their legs in.

The cottage is equipped with a Barbeque for a relaxed summer evening.

Disgwylfa is a short stones throw from the sea, and can be on the costal path in a minutes enjoying stunning views.

2 miles along the path to the west, or a short drive away, is Lligwy, where you will find a beautiful sandy beach.

To the south the coastal path leads to picturesque coastal village in Benllech (4 miles), with family friendly beach and access to the Strows Wen Golf Club and the St David's Leisure Club, which has a renowned spa.

Moelfre is not just a beachside community with its own pebble beach, a functional lifeboat station, and access to the ancient Old Fishermen's Cottage, but it also has all the necessary services, including the wonderful Kinmel Arms pub.

There is so much to see and do in the surrounding region, from Holy Island's to the rest of Anglesey's gorgeous villages and cities, as well as the mainland, where you can visit Bangor, Llandudno, Eryri (Snowdonia), and many other places.

Book a stay at Disgwylfa for a memorable, coastal break.

Note: £25 charge for second dog

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Lligwy 2 miles; Benllech 2.5 miles.

Situated on the beautiful east coast of Anglesey, Moelfre is a delightful seaside village, boasting little cottages, a picturesque port, a beach, fine views of Snowdonia, a working lifeboat, and two quality pubs/restaurants. Visit the hugely popular local Seawatch Centre, enjoy fishing or watching sea birds, seals and even dolphins, or discover wonderful cliff-top walks with stunning mountain views. The village has many historic links, the most recent being the site of the tragic Royal Charter shipwreck in 1859. There are stunning sandy beaches nearby, at Benllech and Lligwy, and the lovely Red Wharf Bay, with its miles of open sands and birdlife. A perfect location for travelling around this lovely island and throughout beautiful Eryri (Snowdonia).

View more holiday cottages in Moelfre

Note: £25 charge for second dog

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute
  • Christmas