Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Gorwel in the last 24 hours

1 of 52 View Image Gallery
  • Gorwel - Anglesey - 1016032 - photo 1


(Ref. 1016032)

Moelfre, Anglesey Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 10 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (22)
  • lovely (22)
  • family (19)
  • our (17)
  • gorwel (17)
  • all (14)

41 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a fantastic stay at Gorwel."

    It is a wonderful house with lots of space for a get together with friends. It is an easy walk into Moelfre where you can access the coastal path (which is very muddy in parts after so much rain Nov 23) the local pub, cafe, chippy and lifeboat station. There is plenty of kitchen equipment and we made use of the games beneath the TV too. The views are stunning, especially from the big bedrooms. The cattle grid at the far end of the track from the house meant our Labrador needed to jump over the wall because the side gate was overgrown and was challenging to move but that’s not the responsibility of the property. Thanks so much for sharing your lovely house we had a fantastic time.

    Thanks so much for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the house and nearby Moelfre. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anita5.0Nov 2023

  • "Although only a short break in October, we had a lovely time."

    Gorwel was as described - masses of room, warm and spotlessly clean. Only a five minute drive to Moelfre, and a fraction more to Benllech with its restaurants and Tesco. Lovely beaches all around and Beaumaris is not to be missed. All in all, a first class break. Thank you!

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased you had a lovely break. Best wishes Lauren Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Oct 2023

  • "Gorwel is a lovely house and is perfectly for the coast."

    Sadly silly things let the house down for example there was no toilet paper. This would have been fine had we known we would have brought our own and although the description said there would be kindle, wood and matches none could be found. There was always plenty of hot water which was excellent. Unfortunately the top floor bath leaked and was unuseable. I understand that towards the end of the season bowls and cups will have 'disappeared' but there seemed to be no attempt at replacing them. Consequently there was a mismash of bowls and not enough for 10 people, same with cups. The blinds in top floor bed room are faulty. We did contact the owner about access as the front door couldnt be opened but there was no reply. Eventually we managed to open the very stiff door. Overall we had a good holiday but we could have done without these niggly things. Lyn

    Many thanks for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear that although you liked the house you felt there were lots of small issues. Had you advised of the lack of toilet paper and logs I would absolutely have arranged for our housekeeper to pop over and sort this for you. Having sent a welcome email to you, as I do with all guests, it is a such a shame that you didn't feel you could contact me via email to advise of these issues. With regards to the bath no one else has mentioned a leak but I will certainly ask our housekeeper to look into this for me. The same with the blind issue that you mentioned. With regards to the front door, I assume that you were able to overcome this issue as it is the only way to get into the property. Sadly I have no record of you getting in touch regarding this either. In relation to your reference to miss matched crockery and there not being enough for 10 people, this is certainly not an issue that has been raised before. I am sorry if you didn't feel that there was sufficient plates etc but we do try extremely hard to ensure our guests have everything they need. Best wishes Lauren Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynda2.8Oct 2023

  • "We had an amazing time."

    The house is huge and gave us so much space. The decor is lovely and the bedrooms were all decorated to a high standard with really comfy beds. Great views and location. Loved it

    Thanks so much for your lovely feedback - we are so pleased you had a lovely time and enjoyed the house Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Oct 2023

  • "We’ve had a brilliant week , the house was just perfect for a three generational family holiday …plenty of parking , a big garden and all the facilities of home ."

    It was beautiful and clean when we arrived . I’d def recommend it 100%. It’s situated within a very short drive of lovely beaches and lots of other things to do ..

    Thanks so much for your fabulous feedback, we are so pleased you liked the house. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Aug 2023

  • "We had a wonderful time staying at Gorwel."

    We were a large family group age ranges from 6 to 74 and it accommodated all our needs. Plenty of living space for everyone and a lovely kids room tucked away for when they wake up early. Kitchen facilities were perfect for big family meals and lots of large well appointed bathrooms. The cottage is in a great location surrounded by frills and wildlife yet close to all amenities and a good base to explore Anglesey. We all loved the extensive grounds, especially the kids and dogs. Would highly recommend and will certainly be visiting again.

    What gorgeous feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed Gorwel. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Lauren and Gareth Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sara5.0Jun 2023

  • "A superb, generously sized, property in an excellent, secluded location."

    Was lovely waking up and having a coffee in the garden watching the sheep each morning.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed Gorwel. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin4.7May 2023

  • "The bottom of the twin oven doesn't appear to be working."

    There were no recycling facilities. Overall the accommodation was excellent.

    Thank you for your feedback. We will have a look at the twin oven. Our apologies for any inconvenience this caused. The large red bin outside the property is for all waste. It is divided up for recycling by our refuse collection service. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shelagh5.0Apr 2023

  • "Just enjoyed a most enjoyable week at Gorwel."

    4 generations on this family holiday and the property was ideal. Plenty of comfy seating when we all were together and private areas if quiet time needed to do a little IT work. Bathrooms and kitchen 10/10 Good location for touring Anglesey and north Wales. Beaches nearby. Fully recommend for large family holidays.

    What wonderful feedback, thanks so much. We are so pleased you enjoyed the house. Best wishes Lauren and Gareth Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pauline5.0Apr 2023

  • "We were delighted with the property."

    It is so spacious and child friendly. There were 4 children - 3, 5,10 and 12. The garden was terrific and enjoyed for Easter Egg hunt and football! As we had a few days of poor weather the inside space was much enjoyed. The children’s room was a great asset. A great holiday house!

    We are so pleased you enjoyed the house and that it was a great setting for an Easter egg hunt! Property Owner

    Reviewed by James5.0Apr 2023

  • "A lovely property with plenty of space for our family holiday with three generations."

    The playroom was very popular with both the youngsters, as an adult free space and with the adults, as it gave them child free space! Ideally situated to explore both Anglesey and parts of North Wales -would definitely recommend.

    Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Aug 2022

  • "We have spent a lovely fun week at Gorwel."

    The main purpose of our family get-together was to celebrate Papa’s 80th birthday & to revisit some of our favourite haunts on Paradise Island (that’s what we’ve always called it)! The spacious, well-equipped accommodation & surrounding garden provided a perfect, relaxed setting for us all. All the information about the property was clear & accurate. The owners allowed us to bring our own barbecue which proved to be very useful.

    We are so pleased that you enjoyed Gorwel :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Aug 2022

  • "Gorwel was an amazing property the cleanliness of the house upon arrival was excellent 5 star."

    The kitchen and pantry area was first class and was definitely used. We used the garden every night for bbqs and games. We took our own bbq. Bedrooms spacious and beds extremely comfortable. Bathrooms choice of bath and shower which was a winner. The only fault I could find was no hosepipe to swill the wetsuits but there was an outside tap. Other than that I would definitely recommend Gorwel. We will be returning thank you.

    Thanks so much, so pleased you got lots of use of the garden in this fabulous weather. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Lauren and Gareth Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Aug 2022

  • "Had a very enjoyable family holiday at Gorwel."

    Our ages ranged from 3 to 70, covering 3 generations. Everything we needed was provided and toaster that tripped out the electric was replaced the next day. Couldn’t fault the accommodation and plenty of space for everyone. No shortage of hot water and excellent choice of tv options in the living room. Children (and adults) enjoyed playing badminton and boules on the grass outside. The red squirrel visitor was a joy to see everyday. Would definitely consider going to Gorwel again.

    So pleased you enjoyed your holiday. Best wishes Lauren and Gareth Property Owner

    Reviewed by V J5.0Jul 2022

  • "Gorwel is a gem of a place which was perfect for our multigenerational group celebrating a family birthday."

    The location is wonderful - it feels secluded and quiet yet is minutes from facilities and has a sea view. (sitting in the main bedroom with morning coffee was a treat!) There was ample space, more than the description suggests with 2 'secret' indoor sitting areas as well as an enormous and comfortable main lounge, not to mention the playroom which sadly we didn't really need though younger visitors would love. The bedrooms were bright and modern with very comfortable beds and great bedding. The many bathrooms were clearly newly done to a high standard, fantastic powerful showers. The kitchen set up is brilliant and it was really easy to cater for a large group, we especially loved the large table. Outdoors the huge garden has a more rustic and wild feel and is fantastic for watching birds, rabbits and even red squirrels. As per the description, care must be taken as it has a number of steps and is uneven in places, we were vigilant about the older members of our party and would say that younger children would need supervision too. There is a large table but no BBQ though the owner was happy for us to take our own after contacting them via the website. The owners were very quick to respond and sorted out access to the EV charger at my convenience which was a real bonus feature. I would love to return to Gorwel again.

    Thanks so much for your lovely comments. Best wishes Lauren Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet4.7Jul 2022

  • "Our annual family holiday this year was to Gorwel, 10 of us ranging in age from 85 to 3 years old."

    All of us agreed it was one of the best places we have stayed in. Lovely big house in a quiet location with plenty of room for everyone, everything we needed in the kitchen and very clean thanks to the great housekeeper. Huge garden with plenty of seating. The children enjoyed the slide, particularly when we bought a paddling pool for them to slide in to as we had lovely weather. Great location with lots of lovely places to visit. If you like donuts then Monuts is the place to visit, there's also the windmill etc to see there.

    Thanks so much for your lovely feedback. We hope to welcome you to Gorwel again soon. We love the Monuts too Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Jul 2022

  • "We had a great family catchup at Gorwel."

    The house was very comfortable, with plenty of room for 8 adults, twin infants and our dog. The kitchen was well equip for our big evening meal and dinner table chat. The lounge had plenty of room for us all to have a comfortable film night. The twins were too young for the play room but it was a great space for them to have a chill down before bedtime. Thanks again Lauren for your quick response to our query. We will definitely be booking again soon.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased that you like the house and hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Lauren Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jun 2022

  • "Wow!!!"

    ! Absolutely amazing place - spacious yet cosy, has everything you need, immaculate and clean, cannot fault anything about this beautiful cottage. We had the most wonderful stay here, perfect location too. We cannot wait to stay again. Thank you so much. Highly recommended.

    Wow! Thank you so much, what gorgeous feedback. We are so pleased you loved the house. We look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Natalie5.0Apr 2022

  • "Have not long returned from a lovely stay at this gorgeous house, family of 8 to celebrate a milestone birthday, everything was perfect from the facilities to the fab welcome pack, 2 toddlers in our party who had a lovely time in the playroom!"

    Would not hesitate to recommend and will definitely be back!

    We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Many thanks for your kind words about the house. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elaine5.0Jan 2022

  • "Perfect location for relaxing and spending time with the family."

    The house was really well equipped with plenty of room, ideal for our furbaby as well. What would take it to the next level - a hot tub. Would stay again

    Thank you so much for your great feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Dec 2021

  • "The cottage was excellent and comfortable the games room was a bonus the ..."

    The cottage was excellent and comfortable the games room was a bonus the children loved it,the garden was lovely for this time of year and the kids loved running around it thank you for sharing this wonderful cottage

    What lovely feedback, thanks so much. We are so pleased you loved the garden and playroom. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nick4.4Nov 2021

  • "Fabulous house and location thoroughly enjoyed our stay."

    So pleased you liked the house and location. Thanks so much for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jenny3.8Nov 2021

  • "The cottage was well presented and clean,the outside space was amazing."

    we appreciated the welcome pack on arrival. we had a lovely comfortable stay ,it accomodated our family over the weekend we arrived and then was quiet and peacefull for the remainder of our stay. very clear instructions prior to our stay on how to get to the cottage will definantely stay again.

    Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Oct 2021

  • "The house is in a lovely location and has ample parking and good outdoor space."

    Moelfre has great walks, pub and food options within a 1-2 mile radius. The house cleanliness was below par and not too our standards and we had an issue with the downstairs bedrooms with regards to damp and it disrupted our holiday. Upstairs the view from the main bedroom is wonderful and the bed was very comfortable and the big tub in the bathroom was lovely. We felt the cottage was overpriced based on our experience of many other properties in the area. The Sykes complaint process was slow and felt short of expectations. We understand the owner has since addressed some of our concerns.

    Mrs Davies, many thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear that you liked the master bedroom and the large bath in one of the three bathrooms. With regards to your complaints we are sorry to hear that you did not have the stay you had hoped for. As you are of course aware, you contacted me at around 10.30 pm on the Saturday after you arrived on the Friday advising that you were having problems with the heating. I responded within ten minutes and advised that you might need to adjust the thermostat (as set out in the welcome pack). You contacted me again later that night to advise that the heating was now working fine and had been effected by someone having put the thermostat in a cupboard. I then contacted you again on the Monday to ensure that everything was still ok and you advised that it was now all sorted. Had you advised of any other problems at this point I would have dealt with them as quickly as I did with the heating issue. With regards to the alleged over pricing of the house I can only disagree, I believe that Gorwel is extremely competitively priced when compared to other properties in Anglesey. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kerry2.8Aug 2021

  • "I phoned the week before arrival to check the bed layout."

    They were all wrong so after a long journey we had to phone round to get them changed also there were some cleaning issues

    Many thanks for your feedback. As you are aware, although you had notified your booking agent of your requirements for the beds they had not notified me (the owner) or our housekeeping team and so when your arrived unfortunately the beds were not as you had wanted. Thankfully we were able to sort this and get the beds to your liking within just an hour or so of you notifying us of the problem. With regards to cleanliness, a couple of hours after the beds had been sorted for you, a member of your party advised that she was not satisfied with the cleanliness of one of the showers and the kitchen floor, although she did accept that the floors had been cleaned prior to your arrival as they were still wet on your arrival. To ensure you were as happy as possible with your stay at Gorwel we arranged for cleaners to come back to the house the next morning to deal with any issues you had and it was confirmed to me that your party was happy with everything once the cleaners had been. So, although we accept that there were a couple of issues on your arrival at the house, we believe that we dealt with them as quickly and fully as we possibly could and with as little inconvenience to you as possible. I very much hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne4.1Aug 2021

  • "We got 2 fines of £60 from Llygwy carpark - only being there for 45 mins and after 6."

    00 pm ! It would be helpful to put this information in the visitors information pack re pay n display

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Jul 2021

  • "Gorwel is a lovely family house that was brilliant for our daughter's first family holiday."

    There was plenty of space and great facilities, plenty of utensils etc in the kitchen and the house was ideal, very spacious with nice communal areas, it didn't feel like you were on top of each other at all. The garden is nice and the big paddock at the back is great for letting the dog (and kids) run about! The only drawbacks were that there was a power cut one day and the internet didn't work for first 5 days of our stay and so we couldn't use the smart TV etc. However the owner was very communicative and helpful and I understand that in both cases it was out of their hands and was due to external factors, they also offered to compensate us for the inconvenience. All in all we had a great stay, the location is brilliant with lots of nice walks and beaches nearby, a great family holiday venue and hopefully we'll be back to stay again.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Jun 2021

  • "Large cottage in a beautiful area."

    Lots of space inside and out. Very comfortable.

    Reviewed by Carole4.7Jun 2021

  • "We had an amazing stay at Gorwel."

    Excellent location and to top it off the weather was glorious! The house was lovely and spacious and well presented. All of the family enjoyed their time, particularly the little ones in the never ending ground! We’d definitely return for another stay in the future.

    Reviewed by Hannah5.0Jun 2021

  • "Had a fabulous time in Gorwel beautiful clean, comfortable house with loads of space for a large number of people."

    The garden is beautiful fantastic for bird watching & squirrels. The little wood area and paddock brilliant for the kids . Central to nice areas in angelsey Moefre & Benllech. Would definitely go again.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0May 2021

  • "Very spacious and well equipped."

    Nice grounds. Comfortable. Only minor criticism - we were cold in the master bedroom on the first night and had to move rooms

    Reviewed by C4.7Oct 2020

  • "Gorwel is a beautiful family home , with a great garden and stunning views of Moelfre ."

    It was the perfect place for three generations to celebrate my 60 th birthday. The house has everything you need to enjoy a family get together, a lovely big kitchen /dining area , spacious bedrooms, plenty of showers and bathrooms , a play room for little ones and a lovely sitting room to relax and unwind . A very well designed house with tasteful features.We all had a fabulous time and the welcome package was a lovely touch . Would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Oct 2020

  • "Beautiful house in a fantastic quiet area with minutes drive away from some of the best beaches on Anglesey"

    Reviewed by Madge4.7Oct 2020

  • "Lovely house, very comfy and clean."

    The property would be improved by having a secure garden fenced in all the way around. For a coronavirus break the remote setting was perfect though, Thank you.

    Reviewed by Adam4.7Sep 2020

  • "A beautiful Home from Home in a beautiful location with beautiful rustic garden and attached medow which we all loved especially Ruby our 11 month old Labrador."

    The house exceeded our expectations and all the family had an absolutely brilliant long weekend, a surprise 30th Birthday celebration and an even more of a suprise engagement party. We will definitely look to return to Gorwel in the future.

    Reviewed by Alan4.7Sep 2020

  • "We enjoyed a family holiday at this lovely property suitable for mixed age ranges including groundfloor accommodation for elderly, facilities for baby and dog."

    The property is just off the road which makes it peaceful and feels more remote, but it was easy to explore Anglesey. We did have a small issue but the owner responded and resolved very promptly. Given the current conditions we prepared picnics for the day and catered in at night, so used Asda delivery and local shops. There is a large paddock at the back with fantastic sea views, this was great for the Badminton and Boules tournaments!! Thanks for letting us use your lovely property.

    Reviewed by Judith4.7Sep 2020

  • "Lovely house & natural gardens."

    Very quiet setting Great having a play room for smaller kids.

    Reviewed by Lorraine4.4Aug 2020

  • "We had a fantastic holiday at Gorwel!"

    The owner could not have been more helpful and the house was lovely!

    Reviewed by Thomas5.0Aug 2020

  • "Gorwell was spacious well equipped base for family group to enjoy Anglesey."

    Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Jul 2020

  • "We are Just packing up to leave your beautiful piece of heaven!"

    ! Thank you so much for allowing us to enjoy the most fabulous family Christmas in such an idyllic place. Thanks again, we do hope to come again ! Kind regards Jo

    Mrs GrovesDec 2019

  • "Excellent weekend in a lovely house"

    Reviewed by Ann5.0Sep 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Menai Holidays collection.
Over 700 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Five bedrooms: 3 x super king-size (zip/link, can be made into twins on request), 1 x ground-floor twin (zip/link, can be made into a super king-sized on request).1 x ground floor twin, Ground-floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, WC and towel rail
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Bathroom with bath and separate shower, basin and WC
  • First-floor basin and WC
  • Ground-floor cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Open-plan kitchen and dining area
  • Sitting room
  • Utility room
  • Playroom
  • Oil central heating
  • Triple electric oven and electric hob, microwave, large American style fridge freezer in the utility room and fridge freezer in the kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, and 2 x 50' curved Smart Ultra HD TVs signed into Amazon video with over 200 films and TV shows, suitable for all ages plus Google movies and Netflix and Freeview in sitting room
  • WiFi throughout with 3 additional wireless access points
  • Fuel and power included
  • Bed linen and towels provided
  • Highchair and travel cot available
  • Off-road parking for at least 7 cars
  • Garden with lawned area, wooded area and seating
  • One well behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1.2 miles
  • Pub and restaurants 1.2 miles
  • Note: The master bedroom is split-level, internal steps are present.

The property

Found along a quiet track off the road to Moelfre is Gorwel, a marvellous country house, with spacious rooms and ample garden space, close by to the east coast of Anglesey.

Perfectly suited for an annual family get-together with its five bedrooms, you will enjoy catching up and spending time with your loved ones, surrounded by the idyllic scenery.

With windows overlooking the extensive garden, the kitchen area is bright and open, and you'll enjoy preparing a meal to serve on the farmhouse-style dining table seating all ten, perfect for some quality family time.

The sitting room has three large sofas and a Smart TV, so after a long day of fun on the beach, kick back and stream a new release or maybe an old favourite.

Benefiting from two ground-floor twin rooms and a large bathroom, this is ideal for ground floor living for those who need it, and there is also a helpful utility room which is home to all the appliances, and separate WC and basin.

Upstairs, there are another three bedrooms, two being super king-size for added luxury, one of the bedrooms has a small sofa bed just outside, suitable for two small children, you will need to bring your own linen for the sofa bed.

Two bathrooms and another separate WC and basin, along with a children's play room complete with Smart TV, books, games and a selection of toys for those rainy days indoors.

The large garden is perfect for the children to play in while you relax on the seating on a warm summer day, while you plan the rest of the week's activities.

The village of Moelfre offers lots to see and do with the main attraction being the long sandy beach, which will make you forget you're in North Wales with the bright blue sea and skies, you'd think you were in the South of France!

Get out in the sea and enjoy some watersports like canoeing, kayaking, or even water-skiing, or if you like calmer activities this is a popular area for all kinds of anglers, especially with is being a former fishing village with a long maritime history.

Isolated from the main village and roads, but close enough to be in easy reach of the coast, Gorwel will be a peaceful haven for you and your family.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £300.

View on map

About the location


Lligwy 2 miles; Benllech 2.5 miles.

Situated on the beautiful east coast of Anglesey, Moelfre is a delightful seaside village, boasting little cottages, a picturesque port, a beach, fine views of Snowdonia, a working lifeboat, and two quality pubs/restaurants. Visit the hugely popular local Seawatch Centre, enjoy fishing or watching sea birds, seals and even dolphins, or discover wonderful cliff-top walks with stunning mountain views. The village has many historic links, the most recent being the site of the tragic Royal Charter shipwreck in 1859. There are stunning sandy beaches nearby, at Benllech and Lligwy, and the lovely Red Wharf Bay, with its miles of open sands and birdlife. A perfect location for travelling around this lovely island and throughout beautiful Snowdonia.

View more holiday cottages in Moelfre

Note: This house requests a Good Housekeeping Bond of £300
Note: There are numerous split-levels in the house, please be mindful of the internal steps.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas