Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • Fern Hill Cottage - Anglesey - 1043827 - photo 1

Fern Hill Cottage

(Ref. 1043827)

Newborough, Anglesey Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • great (11)
  • property (10)
  • no (10)
  • comfortable (9)
  • bathroom (8)
  • location (8)

22 Customer Reviews

  • "This is the third time we have used this property."

    Everything you could need is provided. Excellent location for visiting all of Anglesey but especially Newborough which we love.

    Hi Francis thank you for your lovely review..it was our pleasure to welcome you back to our lovely Fernhill cottage. we hope to see you again soon thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Frances5.0Mar 2024

  • "Not used to log burners so took us a few tries to get the fire going but cottage was clean and comfortable."

    Kitchen had plenty of cutlery and crockery. Sufficient cooking equipment. Ideally placed for walking but I was unable to take advantage. On a bus route which we used half of the week visiting Valley/ Menai Bridge/Llangefni/Beaumaris but could have stopped off in other villages as used the Anybus ticket. Chippy was excellent and good value for money definitely recommend

    Thank you for your your lovely feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay rain or shine ... Thank you also for highlighting the bus routes and connections avaliable on our doorstep.. which is very good you would not necessarily need a car to visit other parts of Anglesey look forward to seeing you all next year regards kev@fernhillcottage Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kathleen5.0Nov 2023

  • "Had a great week despite a huge storm."

    Property had a great feel, warm and comfortable lacking in nothing.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback . We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and felt safe and cosy during the storm . We hope see you again soon Regards Kev@Fernhill cottage Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steven5.0Sep 2023

  • "Nice compact cottage in a very convenient location."

    Close to the village general store, nice pub that serves food,licensed cafe and chip shop.Well equipped property with all the usual facilities you would expect.Added bonus is the onsite parking,although there is a good local bus service available. Electric heating and a wood burning fire(we didn`t have the need to use) are included. Comfortable beds and lounge furniture.Only little niggles were the bendy kitchen utensils, lack of colander and no information on the refuse collection.(Don`t let these deter you from booking) The guest guide in the cottage needs updating as well. All round a nice little cottage in a great location with all the facilities. I would definitely book again. Thank you.

    We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Fernhill cottage. We strive to make it a pleasant and enjoyable stay. We listen to all feedback and will look into the points you have raised... Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback of your stay we look forward to seeing you soon. Regards kev@fernhillcottage Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Sep 2023

  • "We had a great stay at your bungalow, 3 old friends meeting up for a week,it's a wonderful location and the place was well equipped, moreso than most (as we visit the island 2 or 3 times a year),will definitely consider booking again."

    Thank you for staying with us , and we are so delighted that you were more than happy with with the facilitates , and the location of Fernhill cottage , we look forward to seeing you soon . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eifion4.7Sep 2023

  • "Very happy with this lovely little bungalow."

    Very clean and well equipped. Comfortable bed. Conservatory very handy space to sit and read as well as to eat. Very close to lovely walks in Newborough forest. Handy village shop for essentials with great opening hours.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback - I'm so glad that liked our Holiday Home :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Jul 2023

  • "What a lovely spot, quiet and very peaceful."

    Great for walking to forest and beach. Hand soaps for kitchen and bathroom nice touch. Kitchen provided Everything we needed, no shortage of glasses!!! Conservatory lovely area for relaxing, so quiet. Would love to return, the area is beautiful.

    I'm so glad that you had a lovely holiday. Thank you for your lovely feedback. kev Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tina4.1Jul 2023

  • "We felt the property was "tired" and needed some attention paid to detail."

    Examples being :- no plug in kitchen sink, no dishwasher tablets, poor hot water in bathroom sink, anti-slip strips loose in shower, pathetically small shower mat, inadequate sized bath towels, broken toilet plunger, no welcome pack of tea bags & milk, no visitor book, The bed was extremely comfortable and the kitchen worked well. We would not rush to book again.

    Thank you for your feedback. In regards to the property being 'tired' we feel this word is a totally unfair way to describe the property as it is pristine clean and fresh. There are two plugs supplied in the kitchen for the sink, they are kept on the window sill in front of the sink in clear view ! The toilet plunger was in working order following the previous guests departure. With The hot water in the kitchen sink, the supply comes from the same unit as the bathroom, both take time to warm up but do supply hot water with adequate flow. We will be removing the anti slip strips in the shower due to too much pressure on certain areas of the strips which means they don't serve their purpose as they should. They will now be replaced with non-slip shower mats . The shower mats and towels within the property are of standard sizes. Since lockdown we do not supply a welcome pack - there is no mention of a welcome pack being provided on the booking information. There is a visitors book it is on the shelf under the TV . Perhaps you missed it . We apologies that you didn't feel the property was for you - but we will take your comments on board. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Donald3.1Jun 2023

  • "Beautiful, spacious bungalow, very clean, everything you need for a perfect break away, everywhere within close proximity."

    Would recommend to anyone.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. i'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Fernhill cottage Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barbara5.0Jun 2023

  • "As we love Anglesea, we spend most of our days visiting different beaches and ..."

    As we love Anglesea, we spend most of our days visiting different beaches and finding new places to eat and drink and trying to entertain a 12 and 9 year olds, Fern hill cottage was about right for us as we mainly have breakfast where we are staying ,out for most of the day then maybe return in the evening for a boardgame and relaxation

    Thank you for your lovely feedback and gift , What lovely thought that was to leave . I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and i hope to see you again soon . Regards Kev Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0May 2023

  • ""

    Reviewed by Thomas3.4May 2023

  • "We enjoyed our holiday and are grateful to the owners in allowing our assistance dog to stay, but have a couple of items that need attention."

    I would suggest that electrical appliances are regularly tested, after an incident with the wall heater in the bathroom, which could have had serious consequences. Also, there is a patch of rising damp in the entrance hall which is making a damp feeling to the front bedroom.

    i'm glad that you enjoyed your stay , I can assure you that all electrical appliances are regularly checked and tested , Anything that is found to be suspect is removed and replaced . We have investigated the area you mention and can find no rising damp . Thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dawn4.7Mar 2023

  • "Lovely bungalow for two but would be difficult with four people."

    Sink much too small in the bathroom. Had problem with toilet which was sorted temporarily, however by the time we were leaving the property the toilet was backing up again. Everything otherwise ok.

    Thank you very much for leaving feedback following your stay at Fern Hill Cottage. The majority of bookings do in fact contain parties of 4 at the cottage , and they seem to find it perfectly comfortable for a group of that size. We were glad to be able to help swiftly and resolve the issue with the loo as soon as we were made aware of the problem and we can confirm , that it has been attended to by a professional and repaired. We are pleased you were happy in all other respects with the cottage, which the owner is very proud of, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra4.4Sep 2022

  • "Quiet cottage in great location."

    Able to walk to Newborough beach along local footpaths and forest - 45 minute walk from cottage and cycle along road about 1 mile to reach forest cycle paths ( along A4080, so maybe not suitable for younger children) . Clean, tidy and comfortable. Would maybe benefit from outdoor storage for bikes. Enjoyed our holiday here.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Jul 2022

  • "We have had much better for the money (even during the staycation boom), this place was disappointing given the price."

    The positive, a great location for walkers and cyclists like ourselves with the forest nearby and the cycle path up to Llangefni down the road. One word of caution, a lot of the local footpaths from the village are overgrown and poorly signed especially around farmhouses. Once you do get into the forest the tracks are excellent. As for the property itself it is harder to be so positive, though the kitchen is good and well equipped and the wifi worked well. Aside from that, it wasn’t very comfortable and it was cramped (big furniture in small rooms), as we were three adults, two households sharing. The walk-in shower was OK but lacked power, and the rest of the bathroom was poor, a tiny cloakroom sink under a cabinet and a loo that was difficult to flush. You had to run the hot tap at a trickle for hot water. I noticed a previous review mentioned no lock on the bathroom. Still the same and was very awkward. There was a lack of storage (we came with bikes, walking equipment and beach chairs etc.) which added to the cramped feeling. The garden lacked any plants at all, just grass and a pallet type fence. If you walked past on the road, you had a clear view of the garden through the fence, so we didn’t feel private. It was also very noisy, by a main road. One night the waterboard dug up the road outside and we were kept awake by pneumatic drills through the whole of the night! The neighbour was having a patio installed, as well as the noise our cars were white with dust. Whilst hopefully one offs, they just reinforced our view that we were very lucky to have a fantastic week weatherwise and therefore spent little time in the bungalow. At the price we paid we would not return; return bookings are what makes a business like this easy.

    Thank you for taking the time to write some feedback. I'm sorry that you found some aspects of the property unsatisfactory. We have taken your points into consideration, unfortunately some of these are out of control. As the local council maintains the local footpaths across private land and Welsh Water maintenance and emergency work to mains pipes occasionally occurs everywhere, we can only apologise on their behalf for the disruption. We hope to have represented the property as accurately as possible with the web listing description and map. The 'Hit and Miss' 5ft fence enclosing the lawned garden is a purpose-built design so as to withstand the strong winds which can prevail in the area, as well as providing a very private garden area for the property. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, as we endeavour to provide a comfortable experience for both our new and many return guests here at Fern Hill. We are glad you were able to enjoy everything the local area had to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tim2.5Jun 2022

  • "Great location, about 2 miles scenic walk to Newborough beach and Ynys Llanddwyn (island) which is a must visit once you've checked the tide times."

    You can also drive down but the car park charges. The cottage is located on the edge of the village. There's lots of new furniture and fresh decoration. Everything that you need in the kitchen. Good size main bedroom, second bedroom a bit tight for space. Wardrobes would be nice. The shower is a good size, slightly under powered compared to what I'm used to, but it does the job. The toilet seat doesn't seem to be made for the toilet, and toilet paper can take a few flushes to dispose of. I'd replace the toilet. The bathroom sink is very small and difficult to use to clean your teeth or shave. Great fresh clean conservatory, patio furniture seemed old and we had to clean before use. Garden is a good size but needs some plants, but you don't go there to sit in the garden all day. Lounge and TV okay, good enough internet connection. The driveway is a bit tricky at first. The local pub, White Lion, is okay. The food is really bar snacks though like scampi & chips, chicken nuggets & chips, chilli & rice etc. Prices reasonable and a nice courtyard outside to sit in with an aviary. Better places to eat are a drive away, but check our Gaerwen Arms and Oystercatcher. Visit the transport museum a mile walk away, and drive to Plas Newydd for a good day out. Plenty more to see and do around Angelsey.

    Reviewed by Steve4.4May 2022

  • "Lovely accommodation close to Newborough Forrest."

    Had everything we needed, the appliances were were all great, good communication with the owners. Enjoyed our stay!

    Reviewed by Valerie4.7Mar 2022

  • "Overall the bungalow is extremely comfortable and cosy and great if you are happy to drive for days out, but over priced compared to others we have stayed in with a view and access to a beach or walk."

    We have stayed in a range of self catering accommodation and there are a few areas that could improve in this one to demand such a high price. The towels need to be larger, bath sheets not towels as small and could be better quality. Kitchen cooking utensils a bit flimsy would be better if metal. Bathroom mirror too high for use for shaving and most people. The mares tail in the garden made it look untidy but great area for outdoor eating if sunny. Lastly the details in the information about the bungalow says there is a path behind the property but the path is actually impossible to find and follow. That was a factor in choosing this location and unfortunately not useable so should not be used in the information about the property.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are really sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. This is a much-loved cottage, and the owners are always anxious for guests to love it as much as they do. The owners will look into your feedback and remedy any issues necessary. With regards to the path behind the property to the woods and beach, it is there and used frequently, but it is not managed by the owners and nature does occasionally take its toll! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lou4.4Aug 2021

  • "Oh yes indeed."

    We arrived to find fridge/freezer not working - freezer not at all. Having taken food for the week we were not impressed. A very disappointing start to a much anticipated and needed break. I spent over 3/4 hours on the Saturday morning on my mobile trying to contact Sykes & Menai Cottages and the owner's mobile with no success. Two or three times I was held on the phone for over 20/25 minutes, only to be cut off unceremoniously. Eventually found an email from the owner from the Friday afternoon when we were travelling, asking us to call him, so he was fully aware of the problem (we had been too tired and fed-up on the Friday evening to bother with setting up WIFI. To cut a long sorry, story short - owner managed to find a replacement and came on the Sunday morning to install. This mean we lost at least a day or our week and had to either eat up food in a different order to intended and also had to throw away a lot of spoiled food. We had one email on the Saturday evening from Sykes, saying they understood from the owner the issue had been sorted, but nothing afterwards. This is not what I would have expected from a company of this size and alleged repute. We have been home now for 10 days and nothing except this feedback request. I had waited to fill in this questionnaire in the hope we would hear, but nothing. I had hoped we might have been offered some compensation for the stress and upset this caused us, plus the loss of at least a day of our holiday, but nothing. Even a proper apology would have been something! It is apparently the first season this property has been let out and it showed. Lots of irritating things missing, which I can't be bothered to list, but the main one was no lock on the bathroom door. Annoying as a couple, but would potentially have been embarrassing if two couples or even adult children there as well. The property was clean on the surface, but didn't bear wider inspection - like dust and crumbs under rugs, beds, etc., and behind doors. Garden furniture was filthy and windows hadn't been cleaned for a long time. We had to return on the Friday to retrieve a camera I had left on charge. Cleaners were there and had indeed found it and some perfume, so marks for that, but neither of them were wearing any kind of PPE. This was our first booking with Sykes and I am bitterly disappointed at their lack of concern towards us. When making the booking, etc., everything was fine, but after this experience and at this time, I will not be recommending them or using again. This was one of the most expensive properties (due to staycations no doubt), we have stayed in over many years and the worst.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to send feedback to us, we appreciate it. I am sorry to hear that you had a problem with the fridge freezer during your stay, please be assured that the owner only became aware of the problem on the changeover day, and it was replaced with a brand-new freezer within 24 hours. The owner had informed you that it would not be necessary for you to remain at the cottage, and he could replace it while you were out and about enjoying your holiday. It is a shame you didn't bring up any of the other issues you had with the owner while you were there, we would have been happy to rectify any issues for you straight away. Please also be assured that the housekeepers are complying with all covid regulations which are in place for their protection as well as yours. All your comments have been taken on board and will be investigated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane2.5Jul 2021

  • "Property is in a great location for walking and getting around Anglesey."

    Reviewed by John5.0May 2021

  • "We had a very comfortable stay at Fern Hill Cottage which was homely and well-equipped."

    A bonus for us was to be able to walk directly down to Newborough Forest from the public footpath running alongside the property.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Apr 2021

  • "A very enjoyable stay would stay again if in this area"

    Reviewed by Stephen3.8Sep 2020

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Menai Holidays collection.
Over 700 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • All-ground-floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x double
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Conservatory/dining room
  • Woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, TV
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking
  • Rear garden with lawn area and patio area with table and chairs
  • Sorry, no smoking allowed
  • Shop and pub 0.4 miles

The property

Nestled on the south-west corner of Anglesey in the pretty village of Newborough is this semi-detached property, Fern Hill Cottage.

This splendid retreat has been designed to offer couples, friends or families a chance to explore this wonderful part of Wales, home to a plethora of stunning beaches, excellent walks and charming historical landmarks.

Enter into the warmth of the cottage and head into the spacious sitting area, where a wood burning stove exudes a sense of character and offers a gentle warmth during a winter’s evening.

Joining the space is a well-equipped kitchen, where the designated chef of the group can make use of the electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer and dishwasher.

Once your meals are ready, gather your loved ones within the light-filled conservatory to relish in some quality time together as you tuck into a delicious meal.

Completing the interior are the two bedrooms, comprising of a king-size bedroom and a double bedroom, each one designed with a refreshing ambiance, making great sleeping spots to return to at the end of an action-packed day.

During a balmy afternoon, table and chairs situated within the garden offer an alternative dining arrangement, also a great spot for popping open a bottle of wine to enjoy as the sun sets.

From the doorstep of the cottage, you can choose to walk into the pretty village, home to a traditional pub for that well-deserved pint after a long walk and a shop for picking up any ingredients required for a home-cooked meal.

From here, you are also stone’s throw away from the glorious Newborough Beach, which is flanked by the enchanting Newborough forest, making a great spot for walking.

Once you reach the sandy beach, be greeted by the stunning view of the mountains of Snowdonia and the Llyn Peninsula before you try your hand at a number of watersport or walk towards the beautiful Llanddwyn Island.

Keen walkers can look forward to strolling along section 9 Anglesey Coastal Path, which starts from Llyn Rhos Du and ends at Aberffraw, promising even more breath-taking scenery.

Other attractions within the area includes the National Trust site of Plas Newyd and the wonderful Sea Zoo, both promising excellent days out for a family of all ages.

Alternatively, travel further afield to Holyhead, where you can hop on board a ferry to spend the day in Ireland, or admire the views from the Menai Strait or head to the Eryri (Snowdonia) National Park, home to a plethora of hikes and other outdoor activities.

With so much to see and do, secure your stay at Fern Hill Cottage for a memorable holiday with loved ones.

Note: Property does not have an electric car charging point, guests are not permitted to charge cars from the property's electric supply.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Bangor 9 miles.

The small village of Newborough (Welsh spelling: Niwbwrch) lies on the edge of forests and dunes at the south west corner of Anglesey. Close by is Llanddwyn Bay, renowned as one of the finest beaches in Britain, ideal for swimming, canoeing, beachcombing and birdwatching or just relaxing! Behind the beach, the 1500 acre sand dune system of Newborough Warren is home to skylarks, meadow pipits and oyster catchers as well as toads and lizards and is protected as a National Nature Reserve. The Tan y Foel horse riding centre is within 3 miles of the village centre and Anglesey Sea Zoo, Foel Farm and the Anglesey Sea Salt are only a short drive away and make a fun day out for the whole family. Nearby Aberffraw is the home of the Anglesey racing track and will offer an exciting day.

View more holiday cottages in Newborough

Note: Property does not have an electric car charging point, guests are not permitted to charge cars from the property's electric supply.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute