Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Scottish Highlands 20 minutes ago

1 of 27 View Image Gallery
  • Corranbuie - Scottish Highlands - 1021296 - photo 1


(Ref. 1021296)

Corranbuie near Tarbert, Argyll & The Isles Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (18)
  • location (14)
  • great (12)
  • comfortable (11)
  • need (11)
  • lovely (11)

30 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Corranbuie for 7 nights in February, the cottage is comfortable and clean but the main wow factor has to be the loch at the bottom of the garden, what a gem!"

    Even in February my husband and I sat out for hours watching the tide coming in and going out, an ever changing landscape, no need for TV! The abundance of birds around the cottage and out in the loch was great to experience too. We will definitely be back!

    Reviewed by Lindsey4.1Feb 2024

  • "Spent A very enjoyable week here ."

    The cottage is a lovely situation with wonderful views from the windows and garden . Very well appointed and equipped with everything one could need. The host very attentive and courteous. Would love to visit again in the summer.

    Thank you for the feedback Robert. We would love to have you back in the summer! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Nov 2023

  • "Corranbuie was an absolute gem of a find !"

    The setting is stunning, house clean and comfy cozy ,a lovely little welcome pack on arrival and the owners very helpful ,anything we needed just a text or call away. Would definitely recommend! Tarbert very picturesque, people all very friendly in town , all in all a lovely week away with family and fury friends. Also a highlight for me was the baby highland cow in the field opposite

    Hello Carolyn, Thank you so much, and thank you for the lovely pictures you shared with us. Hope to see you back one day. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carolyn5.0Sep 2023

  • "An enjoyable stay at this base in the beautiful Kintyre peninsula."

    Ideal for visiting the inlets and harbours in the region .. and the scenic Tarbert fishing village 5 minutes by car. The owners welcoming touch with a bottle of wine and milk and cake was much appreciated after a 4 hr drive. Having breakfast viewing the lovely Loch Tarbert was an added bonus. Would recommend this property and it’s large garden .

    Thank you for the feedback Patrick. We hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patrick5.0Aug 2023

  • "Wonderful location!"

    Comfortable cottage perhaps in need of a little tlc, and patio would benefit from a shaded area ie a large umbrella as it was very hot when we were there, but on the whole a wonderful , peaceful holiday, would not hesitate to book again

    Thank you very much for the feedback. Corranbuie is an old house so is in regular need of tlc, which we normally carry out during quiet periods. We try to make sure everything is ship shape during changeovers but if anything was lacking we do apologise. The weather was surprisingly hot during your stay, something that is not the norm for Tarbert! We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue4.7Jun 2023

  • "Need to get hot water tap in kitchen properly sorted."

    Stay otherwise was wonderful. Views stunning. Wonderful wildlife. Welcome treats were nice gesture too.

    Thanks for the kind review. Kitchen taps have been replaced. Sorry you had to put up with poor flow - our plumber is also a fireman and that week there were several grass fires around the village. We hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joan4.7Jun 2023

  • "Enjoyable week."

    View amazing from the dining room. Location ideal for walking and lovely beaches for walking the dog. Owner very helpful.

    Thank you very much for the kind feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracy4.4Feb 2023

  • "The Corranbuie was a wonderful cottage set in amazing surroundings,we loved the deers,and the birds…particularly the little robin that was a frequent visitor!"

    We have already booked for later in the year.

    Thank you very much for the kind feedback Helen. We are glad that Corranbuie impressed you. We have many repeat guests but the gap between your first and second visits will be the shortest. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Dec 2022

  • "Property was very good,location was fantastic."

    We had brilliant weather which obviously helps. It was great for the dog as well. All in all a great few days.

    Thank you very much for the kind feedback. Glad weather was with you; that's one thing we can't guarantee :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Harvey4.7Aug 2022

  • "While the location was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed canoeing and paddle boarding from the garden, the facilities in the house were seriously below the standard we would expect for the price we paid per week."

    There was no hot water in the kitchen. While there is a working dishwasher, we were a family group who ate in so we had saucepans etc to wash but had to boil kettles- not expected in 2022. A power point in the kitchen was not working. There was nowhere to hang wet coats, wetsuits etc outdoors and nothing dried indoors as the house is damp. The ‘patio’ or sitting area was derelict looking - it is seriously unloved and completely out of keeping with the wonderful situation. Having said all that, we had a great week but would not recommend the house to friends.

    Thank you for the feedback. The kitchen tap was just an airlock and it would have been annoying. But, you had my mobile number and clear instructions to contact me 24hrs a day if you had any problems or questions. Had you done so our handyman, who lives 2 minutes away, would have resolved this straightaway. I do apologise about the patio - it is getting a makeover this month. Regarding wet gear, there is an outbuilding next to the garage which guests use for this purpose. Anyhow, we are installing a covered porch and a separate hut in the wooded part of the garden later this month, both of which will have facilities for hanging wet outdoor gear. Thank you once again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diana2.2Jul 2022

  • "Minor things ."

    ...... Cleanliness on arrival could have been better. Basic thing like ensuring there was enough bowls, we only could find 5 so meant constantly having to wash them to ensure there was clean ones when required. Also struggled to find any cleaning clothes for doing dishes.

    Thank you for the review. We will take extra care with the cleans. The previous guests did inform us of some broken crockery and 8 new bowls will be there on 15/7/22. Cleaning clothes were in one of the kitchen drawers but we will leave them out in future. Thank you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angus3.4Jul 2022

  • "It's such a beautiful place and we had great adventures."

    The cottage was perfect for my kids and 95 year old Dad as he was able to use bottom floor, we were upstairs. We loved the dining room for breakfasts. The only thing I'd say is... if you spent a little more time making the bit around the stone table a bit prettier... it would make the cottage exceptional, maybe not as affordable. Really beautiful time we had, maybe last holiday with my dad so was a memorable place to stay. I'll come back one day. Ps venture tours boat tours at crinan Harbour was sooo good.

    Thank you and we are glad you had a nice break in Corranbuie with your father. The patio area is getting a makeover late August, as well as a new hut near the water's edge for the rainy days. Best wishes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Jun 2022

  • "We had a fabulous week in this lovely homely cottage."

    The weather was amazing for March and therefore we were able to make the most of the beautiful location. The cottage is sitting right on the loch(literally at the bottom of the garden) and the views are spectacular with an abundance of wildlife including deer who visit regularly. The cottage itself is warm, cosy and comfortable with everything you need provided. We fully intend to book again asap. we feel we found an absolute gem. Owner was great

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Mar 2022

  • "A beautiful cottage in a truly beautiful location!"

    If you’re looking for a remote, calm, time-out break, then this is just perfect. The property owner was very accommodating for us and very helpful. We will definitely be returning in the near future!

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Feb 2022

  • "11 - 18 February 2022 Sue, Kevin, Celia and Ted."

    My wife and I, my sister and her husband have just spent a very enjoyable week here at Corranbuie, where everything we needed was provided. We were attending a surprise 50th Birthday Party for our daughter at West Loch Hotel, Tarbert where we had an excellent meal, followed a couple of days later by an equally excellent Breakfast/Brunch at The Gather, Tarbert. Unfortunately the weather has not been great (it is February after all), but the scenery has been fabulous. It has been so relaxing just sitting and watching the weather change as it swept across the loch and the scenery beyond. Thank you for sharing your cottage. We are all OAPs but I’m sure a younger family with energetic children would really enjoy everything this place has to offer. The Fishers & Nuttalls, (Scotland & Yorkshire)

    Reviewed by Brian Kevin4.7Feb 2022

  • "Beautiful property in a idyllic setting the views are amazing and hosts made themselves available to us if any problems not that were any ."

    ..highly recommend.

    Thank you for the lovely feedback Kathryn. We hope to welcome you back one day. Many thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kathryn5.0Dec 2021

  • "Wonderful home in stunning location, house warm and comfortable with everything ..."

    Wonderful home in stunning location, house warm and comfortable with everything you need, ideal location for exploring the area and lovely woodland walks across the road, thank you so much for a wonderful holiday

    Thank you for the kind review Dennis. We are glad Corranbuie impressed you and your family. Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dennis5.0Dec 2021

  • "Fantastic comfortable and spacious holiday cottage."

    Great views, very peaceful and an easy drive to the nearest village for supplies. Wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend.

    Thank you so much Lesley. We hope to see you back one day. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Nov 2021

  • "What a magical place."

    I booked this 12 months ago and had really been looking forward to it and it didn't disappoint. Useful and friendly communication from the owner prior to arrival. Easy access to the cottage which we found to be very clean, very welcoming and comfortable. The situation of the cottage is just stunning, you see a different view every time you look across the loch, and I cant believe it could be anymore beautiful than in the Autumn. We didn't leave the peninsula for the whole week, with the Kintyre Way nearby, forest walks and the wonderful little Tarbert 9 hole golf course, we were fully occupied, coming home to the cottage in the evening having bought fire supplies form the hardware store in Tarbert and food from the well stocked co-op to cook in the cosy but functional kitchen at Corranbuie. We also had a wonderful meal at the Starfish restaurant in Tarbert which I would strongly recommend. As previous reviews have commented, if you are looking for a perfect, modern (grey) house with mod cons then Corranbuie probably isn't for you. if you are looking for cosy, comfortable, welcoming and with a view to die for, then Corranbuie is perfect. I have to mention the road, it is deceptively busy and Corranbuie is on a bend but, there is a viewing mirror on the other side of the road which you must use when exiting, alternatively, one person can stand on the opposite drive/road and see you out. It wasn't a problem once we got the hang of it. The road does generate some noise which you can hear in the master bedroom, but it was very manageable. I loved Corranbuie and would happily recommend it.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Oct 2021

  • "We had a very restful stay at Corranbuie."

    The cottage is very cosy with an excellent heating system, a wonderful multifuel stove and a superb tumble dryer ( much needed as it rained the whole time we were away) A convenient location for visiting Inverary, Lochgilphead, Crinan, Kilmartin, Skipness and Tayinloan for the Gigha Ferry. Oban and Campeltown make good trips too. Our dog loved the freedom. We ate out a lot and found many excellent local eateries which were dog friendly. We would definitely come back.

    Reviewed by Gillian4.4Oct 2021

  • "Unfortunately this was the most disappointing holiday."

    The house was filthy. Dead flies on the windowsill, thick cobwebs that had clearly been there for years, springs almost through the mattresses on upstairs beds, wallpaper that was rippled with dampness at front door, black spores in bathroom that had been wiped over and made it worse, thick dust on mantelpiece in snug hall area, mushroom growing in toilet, thick mould on windows when you open them. No basin. No washing cloths. The absolute worst thing was the access to the property from the road was deadly. It’s on a horrendous bend and on our day of departure there was a near miss. Thankfully everyone was ok. I visited here 25 years ago. The furniture is the same except the sofa and wardrobes. Lino Flooring is the same in hallway, snug hall and kitchen and dining area. Same dining table and all scratches. Old tired cooker too. I thought it was a nice touch to leave us a little welcome pack with cake wine and coffee tea and milk. Until we looked at the date on the milk which was 2 weeks out of date. :( We returned here as it was our first holiday as a couple all those years ago. However it’s had nothing done in all those years apart from new windows (which as I say are filthy when you open them) and the access to the property must be fixed. I was glad to leave and felt lucky we got away from the property without a smash. Beware if you have a dog as it’s not enclosed garden and onto a very busy road. The view was still as lovely if you go to the shore however trees are being allowed to grow randomly and now starting to block view from cottage. It is a very tired cottage. Extremely Disappointed is an understatement !

    I contacted the guest three days before checking in by text and by email to let them know they can contact me any time of the day should they have any questions or problems. They made no attempt to do so. Any issues with cleaning could have been dealt with in a matter of hours. There is a complaint about a lack of basin and wash cloths. Very few people use these nowadays. Also, there is a dishwasher for guests' use anyway. All mattresses were purchased December 2019, but we are happy to replace them whenever necessary - again a simple phone call would have led to mattresses being delivered the next day. The road - it is a very long and windy road with hundreds of similar properties including holiday lets and hotels along its length, all the way down to Campbeltown. Many motorists do speed. There is a mirror opposite to help drivers emerging from our driveway. There are also signs warning of a hidden entrance. The guest seems to have a questionable memory from their visit 25 years ago! The furniture, except antique items made of solid wood, are not the same. The dining table is solid wood and being a natural material it will scratch if mistreated. We sand and polish regularly, with the last job on it done on 17/5/2021 - I am happy to supply before and after photos. Floors in the hallway, kitchen and dining area used to be grey. These were replaced on 18 &19/5/2021. Even the colour is different. I am once again happy to provide before and after pictures along with receipts from the flooring company. Floor in the snug is solid wood. This was sanded and cleaned during February this year when the house was closed due to lockdown. The cooker is an older model but works perfectly fine. Every other white good in the kitchen and utility area was replaced this spring. Milk - the housekeeper did admit to not checking dates on milk sachets. We are sorry. But the guest failed to mention that we also provide fresh milk that was left in the fridge, along with cake, eggs, tea, coffee and wine. The garden - Corranbuie lies in about 4.5 acres of grounds and is bordered by a burn, the loch, a road and woods. So it is not an enclosed garden and we never claim it to be. The openness is, infact, one of the attractions! 'Random trees' - They are not random. They are part of the appeal of our property. Roe deer visit us most days and I have so many pictures of them among the trees. Many bird watchers come here to admire the birds perched on them. There is a bench by the shoreline if one wishes to look at the loch and nothing else. Once again, the guest had our mobile number and email address along with express instructions from us to contact us at any time if they have any questions or problems. They failed to do so, instead resorting to some strange and inaccurate comparison to a visit 25 years ago when this property would have been owned by someone else. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adrienne1.3Oct 2021

  • "The view from the cottage outstanding,it really is a special place."

    Cottage delightful,warm and cosy,but in real need of a refurb,definitely bathroom and kitchen,apparently this is being done soon. But all the negative things could’nt take away the “magic” of Corranbuie,we would love to return when some refurb.has been done. Our dog Wilf was in 7th heaven.Thank you for a great holiday.

    Reviewed by Richard3.8Oct 2021

  • "As the reviews say the location is stunning - watching West Tarbert Loch is a break in itself- the cottage is comfortable,warm and has everything you need for a lovely get away."

    You can explore Kintyre with its views and beaches, Knapdale, Kilmartin Glen (fascinating sites) and Loch Awe. We were fortunate in avoiding the midges as the weather was changeable but had good meals and trips despite the lockdown. Highly recommended for a straightforward cottage break especially with a dog - ours had such a great time

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Jun 2021

  • "The photographs on your site do not do this cottage or its location justice."

    It is absolutely stunning. We had the most amazing holiday and enjoyed swimming in the loch and so did our 2 dogs.

    Reviewed by Ciaran5.0May 2021

  • "Absolutely stunning location and comfortable house."

    Unfortunately the road has become very busy ,the bedrooms were on the road side,ear plugs are required!!!

    Reviewed by Anji4.4May 2021

  • "The cottage was well equipped, comfortable and very cosy, the location was outstanding, would definetely recommend for a family holiday."

    Just to let you know the owners were very friendly and helpful!

    Reviewed by Nicholas4.7Sep 2020

  • "We stayed as a family of 6, 4 adults and 2 teenagers."

    The house was extremely comfortable and well equipped. We all slept very well in the beds. The sitting room at the back of the house was a lovely spot to chill out in the evening curled up with the lamps on and the throws over us. The garden here is the jewel of the crown with such an incredible, ever changing view! We enjoyed gazing out most mornings from the dining room whilst eating our breakfast. We would have liked to sit outside more but regrettably in August the midgies were out in serious force and we couldn’t cope with the bites. The village of Tarbert is nice and I would highly recommend you book a meal at The Anchorage Bistro we had a gorgeous meal there one night. Shell beach in Tarbert is worth the walk to discover the beautiful beach made up entirely of shells and the water is crystal clear. We did some wild swimming in the loch from the bottom of the garden but also really enjoyed a morning paddle boarding which we arranged through Dave at Kayak Mijak literally 5 minutes from the house. Reasonable prices, wet suits included and a fabulous way to explore the loch and admire the house from the water. We did day trips to Arran and Gigha too. The house is an excellent base for visiting a number of other islands also. We enjoyed an afternoon out to Tayvallich around 45 minutes drive away. It’s a beautiful bay with a stunning restaurant called The Tayvallich inn. There’s also a beach right near there too which is lovely. This house is a comfortable setting, away from the hustle and bustle of normal life with the most beautiful views. The owner Ara was extremely helpful when we spoke to him over the phone with a couple of questions and most accommodating. We wouldn’t hesitate in recommending this property. The only thing I would say is you need to be prepared to travel most days to explore the area of Kintyre and beyond as there isn’t a great deal to do in walking distance.

    Reviewed by Carly4.7Aug 2020

  • "Please read full review; Corranbuie I absolutely love this cottage and would actually live here!"

    Overall 4/5 I have thought long and hard about how to rate this cottage as it is a place that would only suit some people and a certain type of holiday goers. So to make sure this is the right place for you, please read my opinion on this cottage. The cottage itself is only about 3/5, and sadly this is because there are damp problems especially by the bathrooms, the lower walls were very wet and even some mould by the plug socket, understandably it’s a very old property and this is a difficult problem to sort out. Other little bits that maybe easier to sort are things like ill fitted Lino in the kitchen, cracked glass in pictures, broken seal on the shower door, broken fire pit, the painted wallpaper does need another coat, the drain was blocked so when I ran the tap in the kitchen it flooded the flagged area by the stone table, there was quite a lot of rubbish scattered in the trees, Lino, crates, rope, old wheel off a go cart, broken glass jar (stuff to be aware of with kiddies) ... silly little bits that I noticed but didn’t actually bother me but it may bother others. (Also the fence between the grounds and road isn’t very good so keep an eye on dogs.) With a bit of tweaking this could be a stunning place. However the dining room, living rooms and bedrooms are all lovely, lots of space and well equipped. As for the outside/grounds and location- 5/5 it is exceptional! Corranbuie is a special place, love the stone table outside, the garden is stunning with ample room for all activities, we set up a badminton net, slack line and a rope swing, it was a magical place for the kids and dogs to explore and as for loch, how absolutely amazing is it to wander down to waters edge first thing, I have never before paddled in the sea with a brew in my hand! We took wetsuits and dinghies and rowed over to the island, had a picnic there and toasted marshmallows on a fire. There is plenty to do in this area and we will be back to explore more. Summary; if you are looking for a luxury show type home to spend all your time indoors, not a great choice but if you’re looking for a cosy practical cottage as somewhere to adventure and explore from, then it’s perfect.

    Reviewed by Josephine4.1Aug 2020

  • "Amazing position"

    Reviewed by Jo5.0Aug 2020

  • "If you're looking for 5* luxury then Corranbuie might not be for you."

    But if you want an unpretentious, comfortable cottage where you can make yourself totally at home for an active family holiday, it's brilliant. There was ample space for a family of 5 (including 3 teenage boys) and the cottage was well equipped. Location is great, with direct access to the loch for canoes, paddleboards and so on. It's private and peaceful but you're not totally off the grid - a good balance. Tarbert has all you really need (it's a nice walk over the tops) and you have the Islay and Gigha ferries really nearby too for a bit of island hopping. We had contact with the owners at one point and they were charming and helpful. All in all, a great spot for an active but relaxing week away.

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Jul 2020

Show more Hide all


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor double, 1 x double and 1 x twin
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove and extra sofa bed for additional sleeping room for two.
  • Central heating, woodburning stove and open fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Travel Cot available
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Ample off-road parking
  • Lawn and patio with furniture
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub within 2.4 miles
  • Please note: This property has a Good Housekeeping Bond of £125
  • Please note: Bookings must begin on a Friday.

The property

Tarbert 2.3 miles.

In a secluded and scenic spot of Scotland, Corranbuie promises an idyllic escape for you and your loved ones from which to explore the natural beauty of Tarbert and beyond.

Resting on the loch-side, this detached white-washed cottage is ideal for a family or group of friends seeking a tranquil retreat.

Inside, you will find a scatter of traditionally-styled rooms inviting you in to unwind; the snug can be found first, boasting an open fire to snuggle up in front of with a good book selected from one of the rooms in the property, this area is perfect for some quiet time in between adventures.

Move through past the utility area and into the kitchen, a modest spot, this room is still sure to be the heart of the house where you can prepare a tasty treat for your loved one to be enjoyed together in the dining room before spreading out for an evening of board games, with the backdrop of the loch bringing a welcoming bright and airy setting to the room.

Settle down in the sitting room with the warmth of the woodburning stove creating a homely aura as you sink into the sofas and flick on the television.

At the end of your days, the three well-presented bedrooms are perfect for catching up on your rest, featuring a ground-floor double, a further double and a twin room, you can find each of these rooms providing a simple but stylish interior, as well as ample storage space for your personal belongings.

Outside you can find a wide range of fun for you and your canine companions; go wild swimming in the loch, or simply sit back and watch the boats collect the mussels soaking up on the shore, or for a day out enriched with natural beauty, explore the woodlands before heading back inside for an evening of family time.

The local area of Corranbuie is extremely idyllic, with nearby Tarbert offering all the essentials of a local shop and pub, as well as boasting historic castle ruins and even its own art gallery.

Take a trip over to the Isle of Arran for a day out full of scenic adventure, or simply stay at Corranbuie and soak in your surroundings from your own fantastic holiday home; you'll be sure to want to return!

EPC Rating: Band F

EPC Rating: Band F

Short-term Holiday Let Licence No: AB-12345-C

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £125.

View on map

About the location


Lochgilphead 14 miles.

Built around an inlet on Loch Fyne, Tarbert has long been both a harbour and a key strategic point in the history of Scotland's rugged West Coast. Tarbert once required three castles to protect it, and the ruins of one of these can still be visited today. Built around the natural harbour, fishing and sailing continue to play an important part in the life of the village. There are many annual events to interest all tastes including the sailing regatta on Loch Fyne, seafood and music festivals. The 87 mile Kintyre Way stretches from Tarbert to the south of the Kintyre Peninsula, and offers walking for all levels and with ferry connections to Islay and Arran, there is simply no better location to relax and explore this rugged and picturesque part of Scotland.

Please note: This property has a Good Housekeeping Bond of £125.
Please note: Bookings must begin on a Friday.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute