4.0★ Sykes rating 5 Guests 3 Bedrooms 1 Bathroom Pets Yes Features Off road parking Open fire Garden / Patio Cot available Highchair available Pub/shop < 1 mile Washing machine Dishwasher Broadband / WiFi Reviews & Ratings Accuracy of the listing Cleanliness Comfort Facilities and Maintenance Search All reviews cottage (25) no (17) lovely (15) well (11) great (10) clean (10) 33 Customer Reviews "A lovely cozy cottage , my second visit this year." Well equipped kitchen , comfortable beds, cozy lounge. Will definitely book again It was lovely to host you again. Kind regards Property Owner Reviewed by Jane4.7★Nov 2023 "Lovely stay although a bit scared when shutting some of the windows need ..." Lovely stay although a bit scared when shutting some of the windows need attention didn't spoil a great week with great weather will be back x Kevin, Rachel, Sky+Bramble Hello all, I am really glad you had a nice time! The windows are on the regular maintainance list as they are wooden, but please let us know what was wrong with the windows. The sash windows are original wooden ones, were they a problem perhaps? We would love to see you again. Property Owner Reviewed by Kevin4.7★Sep 2023 "The patio/garden needs a bit of tlc!" Weeds were two foot tall. Reviewed by Jane2.5★Aug 2023 "The most money we have paid for a Sykes holiday cottage, yet the most overrated and dissatisfying." Granted it’s a 200 year old mining cottage so its going to have its quirks and features which are to be expected and part of the high price we are paying for, However; The first thing that hits you as you walk through the door is the smell, you start to think it’s the damp, or then maybe the fire place but then when you realise how filthy the place is when it dawns on you the smell is probably that of damp dogs that have come back from the beach and run around the house, The floor is so dirty that we ended up walking around the house in shoes as to keep our feet an socks clean; combine this with a damp mop left by the back door the smell is one that won’t budge! – Keeping in mind we weren’t allowed access the property until post 2pm due to a clean, we had to clean the floors, wipe sauce of the kitchen cupboards and then felt obliged to clean the cupboards before putting our food in, along with cleaning and emptying the washing machine before we used. Past here given we paid for a stay at peak holiday season the features extend into rotten windows with big holes in the wood that won’t open – The web site doesn’t show this!, the garden plants are outdone by weeds that tower over the back window. It’s the first Sykes cottage we have stayed in that whilst offers a washing machine doesn’t offer a tumble dryer or basket; probably adding to the damp smell where people dry their clothes. I was beyond disappointed to state of the paintwork around the house, given the tins of paint are under the stairs you’d expect for peak holiday season for maybe a quick touch up on damaged areas; I’ve stayed in cleaner tents! Our frustration boiled to a point on the first evening when we tried to bath our 3 small children, but couldn’t because the bath plug was broken; Yes we could have called the owner out, but do we need this when we are on holiday and equally don’t want the stress of someone in the house with our personal belongings. My assumption is the owners don’t have children, yes they were kind enough to leave a step in the bathroom for young ones to reach the sink, but a 3 legged milk stool resulted in several falls and tears from the resulted head butt into the sink. It was the further small things that were disappointing: - We know its self-catering, and Cornish tea and coffee was laid out with salt and pepper pots that were empty! - The broom for cleaning might has well be Triggers from Only Fools and Horses; The head is rusty and snapped so has been in this state for some time - Not all bulbs worked in the house Reviewed by William1.3★Aug 2023 "We had a great stay." The property is in a lovely area, close to amenities. There was lots of space for the family and dogs. It was very comfortable and well equipped. It's decor was my taste and the neighbours were very friendly. Would definitely book here again of we visit this area again. Thanks for your lovely comments! We do listen to all helpful feedback and just in case, we have a really useful maintainance book for minor things that don't need addressing in your week. We hope to see you again soon! Property Owner Reviewed by Rebecca4.7★Jul 2023 "This could be a really good place with many quirky features." The bedding and towels were crisp and clean. Sadly it is let down by it's cleanliness. The windows are rotting and dirty with cobwebs on the inside of all of them. There was a lot of dust and fluff on the floor, the cleaners were obviously use to dealing with round houses and didn't have to bother with corners. I do have pictures to prove this. Thank you for your lovely comments about our place. Certainly the original wooden windows are a regular maintainance item. I am sorry to hear about your experience of the cleanliness. We have a great cleaning company and we do discuss feedback with them. I'm sorry about how it changed your experience in your week. Certainly if there is something substandard I am sure if you let us know, then the company would rectify it during your stay next time rather than leave you feeling let down. We do hope you would like to stay again knowing this. Kind regards Property Owner Reviewed by Paul2.2★Jun 2023 "Tbe floors were dirty and there was a lot of dust in the bannisters The cooker knobs were greasy and the garden messy." New mattress needed Thank you for your feedback about our place. We have a great cleaning company and we do discuss feedback with them. I'm sorry about how it changed your experience in your week. Certainly if there is something substandard I am sure if you let us know, then the company would rectify it during your stay next time rather than leave you feeling let down. We do hope you would like to stay again knowing this. Property Owner Reviewed by Joanna2.8★May 2023 "Lovely cottage in a great location, shame we only had a week here." What a lovely thing to say. We look forwards you seeing you again sometime. Kind regards Property Owner Reviewed by John5.0★May 2023 "Lovely cottage, amazing relaxing holiday in a home away from home." Thank you for your kind feedback. We do enjoy reading it and hope you might some again sometime. Kind regards Property Owner Reviewed by Gary5.0★May 2023 "Chy Lowen was absolutely beautiful and we had the best holiday whilst staying at the cottage." It was really clean on arrival with little extra touches of daffodils. Plus milk, tea/coffee biscuits which was a nice touch after a long journey down. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you could need to cook, and just everything was beautifully designed - we loved it from the moment we walked in. The beds were super comfy and the most gorgeous feather down duvets. Location wise it was so peaceful, there was a stream running alongside so listening to that and the birds sing in the morning was a big change from our normal reality. And whilst slightly away from the harbour there is an old tram line which you can walk down to the harbour away from the road which makes it so easy. Bridge was a very locals place, everyone knew everyone and they were all so friendly. We went to the pub across the road which was a proper local pub but we were made to feel so welcome. Almost like a home from home! The roads around were easy to drive and to get onto the A30 to be able to explore other areas easily. We also took our two dogs with us, who loved the cottage and garden, and everywhere about was so dog friendly so they had the best time also! We would absolutely recommend for you to stay- and we’ll also be back! Thank you for sharing your wonderful cottage with us! A very lovely thing to read. We love it here are glad to share it with you. Kind regards Property Owner Reviewed by Chrissie5.0★Mar 2023 "An enjoyable week at this lovely cottage." Plenty of local walks and a fabulous beach . Local pub very welcoming and a great bakery and cafe in Portreath. Will be returning in November Thanks for your kind feedback. We look forwards to seeing you again. Kind regards Property Owner Reviewed by Jane5.0★Jan 2023 "Our second stay at Chy Lowen ." We recommend this cottage as it is clean well equipped and a great base for exploring the local area. The addition of a smart TV is a bonus for those ' rainy , duvet days' ..along with the great little wood burning stove..well used this time ( January - very wet and cold ) !! I can imagine that the garden is a real little sun trap in the summer and private ( if you do not fancy a trip to the beach ) . Highly recommended and looking forward to a third stay at Chy Lowen very soon .. A lovely description of our place during a chilly January too! Though TV is not everyone's focus on a Cornish holiday near the coast, it definately has its place to get some rest and recuperation and avoiding some of the Cornish weather! We look forwards to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Property Owner Reviewed by Anthony5.0★Jan 2023 "Chy Lowen is a lovely cottage and very central for sightseeing." Reviewed by Sarah2.8★Dec 2022 "Chy Lowen was a lovely cozy cottage ." Loved the wood-burning stove ( well used by me ! ) and general feel of the cottage. Ideally situated for exploring local areas . Clean , tidy and beautiful presented . I have re booked a week in 2023 already !!! Reviewed by Anthony4.7★Dec 2022 "The property was exactly as listed and just what we wanted." Yes, the stairs are a little steeper than most but certainly not as bad as some previous reviews had led us to believe. The bedrooms are a little small too but the beds are incredibly comfortable and a great night's sleep was had by all. The bathroom is huge and could possibly have benefited from a separate shower and bath as it was a little tricky getting into the bath to use the shower but there was a mass of hot water and everything worked. The kitchen was very well equipped (with the exception of a bottle opener - but we sorted that very quickly with a £1 one from St Ives!) and the lounge was very comfortable. The wood burner was amazing and certainly heated the whole of the downstairs beautifully. We did have a bit of an issue with the TV reception but the owners were very quick to respond. Unfortunately, it was the weather so not much that could be done. The internet was excellent and we therefore ended up watching Netflix instead. The stairgate did come off its bottom fixing quite a lot but was very easy to reattach. You must find the old tram line which was a beautiful walk down to the beach at Portreath and the bakery at the end of the line does a fantastic Cornish pasty (gluten free options also available!). We would highly recommend the house. Reviewed by Helen4.4★Oct 2022 "A lovely little cottage overall only thing being the cleaning could be done more thoroughly." Thank you for your lovely comments about our place! I am sorry to hear about your experience of the cleanliness, and am glad that it didn't affect your experience too much. We have a great cleaning company and we do discuss feedback with them. Certainly if there is something substandard I am sure if you let us know that the company would rectify it during your stay next time rather than leave you feeling let down. We hope to see you again soon Kind regards Property Owner Reviewed by Jennifer4.7★Oct 2022 "Lovely cottage in nice area." Friendly village pub across the road. Stairs a little tight, persons with mobility issues would struggle, but understand it's an old cottage. Would definitely recommend. Dear Wayne, Thanks for your great feedback. We would love to see you again soon. Kind regards Rhys Property Owner Reviewed by Wayne5.0★Sep 2022 "Nice cottage but not location." Cleaning poor, dirty floors, in lounge under sofa and rug, dusty, just looked grubby everywhere. Rubbish and food not taken away from previous guest's. Looked like a rubbish tip at back of property. Very disappointing. Reviewed by Angela2.8★Aug 2022 "Lovely cottage and very comfortable ." Only downfall was lounge area where you can see where the dust had been removed and what was left eg behind tv and around the log basket and under coffee table(dog lost his toy) other than that Lovely Dear Karen, We do often find our happiest customers don't find the time to feed back on the website, so thank you in doing so. We agree that we have recently noticed some issues with the performance of the cleaning company, as your example there shouldn't be any left over objects from previous guests! After some work with the company since you stayed, we expect the future cleanliness to be great again. We typically find the company we use to have excellent standards. Their team say they would only gladly come to correct something that they have missed. I hope that reassures you and we hope to see you again soon :) Kind regards Rhys Property Owner Reviewed by Karen4.4★Aug 2022 "Okay we will." Don’t really want to speak tomorrow as we’ll be out but will text now. Outside gate very difficult to shut properly, Stair gate broken- fallen off the wall, Garden furniture terribly unsafe, Toilet roll holder falling off the wall, Radiator in the hall remains on all the time in the hall, Windows upstairs unsafe as open at the bottom Extremely steep stairs - unsuitable for anyone with mobility issues Bath/shower similarly not very accessible Building work going on behind the house, Some form of sun shade in the garden would be expected, Outside tap in an useable position, meaning the mat gets drenched, Washing machine broke mid cycle Dear Ms Brayson, Thank you for taking the time to provide the feedback. We did have the opportunity to communicate during your week but I regret that it was not as successful as we hoped. We have carefully addressed all the issues that you have raised and do not believe there will be an issue for future guests apart from the staircase. In particular, the washing machine that you reported broken has been replaced, though as we advise all our guests (as per Sykes policy) we ask that you report any issues to us so that we can address them, both for you and subsequent guests. Your comments on the staircase were noted. The stairs were custom rebuilt to fit the cottage by a professional joiner during its recent renovation. They are as wide and gentle as can be fitted to a property of this age, style and size. Also the photos of the property do accurately reflect the nature of these stairs and I am sorry if this didn’t’ come across when you decided to stay with us. Sincerely Rhys Property Owner Reviewed by Suzanne2.2★Jul 2022 "Pleasant weeks stay." Cottage was acceptable with a few minor issues such as TV reception on Terrestrial Channels intermittent especially as Wimbledon was on. Wi-fi excellent so able to watch Netflix and Prime It was lovely to have you stay with us! Thank you too for being patient with the TV reception. After the engineer completed their visit they believe that the TV reception fixed for good. Property Owner Reviewed by Christopher4.1★Jun 2022 "The cottage was very sweet, and an ideal location for exploring South Cornwall." We realise it's an old property and they do get dusty, however in places it looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a very long time with inches of dust. It needs a deep clean. The bench in the garden is unsafe, I went to sit on it and it moves from side to side, it's an accident waiting to happen. The side and back of the property outside is like a junk yard, with building materials and rubbish laying around, and parking area is overgrown. The property wasn't dog friendly, almost felt like they weren't welcome and finally I think the stairs should be mentioned as not for the less mobile very narrow and steep, if we had taken my father he would not have been able to climb them . Also a mop and bucket would be a good idea to clean floor for wet paws Dear Ms White, Thank you for taking the time to provide the feedback. If the cleanliness was very concerning to you we would have preferred you had mentioned it to us at the time, our cleaning team have really good standards and would have gladly come to correct anything that has been missed. Your comments on the staircase were noted. The stairs were custom rebuilt to fit the cottage by a professional joiner, including lighting and a full banister during its recent renovation. Indeed the steps are as wide and gentle as can be fitted to a property of this age, style and size. Of course, we recognise that people with different abilities cannot tackle all types of access but we aimed for the photos and general style of the property do accurately reflect the nature of these stairs. I am sorry if this didn’t’ come across when you decided to stay with us. Sincerely Rhys Property Owner Reviewed by Tina2.2★May 2022 "Cottage very clean and tidy and well maintained." Due to its locality phone signal can be erratic as was the TV reception but the Wi fi is first rate so some of these problems can be overcome by using it. Had to contact the owner with a small problem which he dealt with rapidly and with no problem. Nicely situated for touring this particular area of Cornwall. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We appreciate the feedback about the TV reception. We have been struggling to discover the source of the problem and finally we think the engineers have just last week solved it! We are glad to hear you had a nice week. Property Owner Reviewed by Clive4.1★May 2022 "Absolutely wonderful property!" It had everything we needed, it was cosy and spacious and the most perfect seaside cottage. Just a quick drive from the beach and only 10 minute drive to the supermarkets. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the rooms spacious and it truly felt like a home away from home. Couldn't have booked better accommodation! We appreciate your lovely feedback. We do love to share where we live with people! Property Owner Reviewed by Naomi5.0★Apr 2022 "Had a wonderful few days, cottage was great" It was a true pleasure to have you stay! Property Owner Reviewed by Samantha5.0★Mar 2022 "Hi We arrived at the cottage on Saturday and were met by one of the owners who delayed our check in slightly due to the fact he had to replace a toilet seat broken by the previous occupants, not a problem." After he had left and we took occupancy we found several cleanliness issues not up to the standard expected, mainly the kitchen but also aspects of the lounge and bathroom. My wife before we could put anything away had to clean the fridge freezer, microwave, cutlery drawer, toaster and bread bin, which still had bread rolls in from the previous guests. The bathroom still had residue of toothpaste around the sinks and tumbler. Also the floor needed to be washed. Most disappointingly was the amount of dog excrement left in the garden by lazy dog owners, my daughter in law to be, when she first arrived had to pick up in excess of 30 bags of poop! All the faults listed should have been checked prior to our arrival and unfortunately took the edge off of our enjoyment of the lovely cottage.We have photos if required and look forward to any response . Thank you for your feedback. Certainly we can see that you feel strongly about your comments and we have taken it very seriously. As a result we have undertaken a complete overhaul of the garden since your visit. You will find a newly rendered wall with extra height and some shading shrubs towards some of the edges. There is a layered sandstone paving area, with a stocked logshed during the colder periods (nets can be bought from us as needed). We hope this means that it is much easier now spot any dog mess and we hope this will help our guests look after their animals as I am sure they mean to. Managing cleaning expectations for all of our guests is a near impossible task in a 200 year old stone cottage. Though we do our best. Cleaning issues guests raise appear sporadically and we struggle to identify the cause of the concern on many occasions unfortunately. We employ a reputable cleaning company who provide us with regular photographic evidence of their performance and we perform spot checks also. We are reassured by many of our guests' experiences too however. We regret if the standard dropped from where we are used to during your stay, in the future please let us know if it has and we would be happy to arrange another visit from the cleaning company during your stay. Property Owner Reviewed by Robert2.8★Feb 2022 "It was our first experience with the Sykes cottages and I will highly recommend." Cottage was absolutely adorable with everything we need for the Christmas period. Lovely cosy comfortable beds and bedrooms. Plenty of space for 5 of us and the doggie. Garden a bit small but fair enough. Short distance to the beach of Portreath, like 5 min drive and if you willing to have a walk after a nice party there is also nice footpath to take you there .Will highly recommend Chy Lowen as it's a lovely place to relax.Best wishes to the owners and big thanx for allowing us to stay at your beautiful cottage. We are thrilled to have had you stay. Please come again! Since you stayed we have improved the outside area too. We hope you like it. Kind regards Rhys Property Owner Reviewed by Magdalena4.7★Dec 2021 "Chy Lowen is a gorgeous place." We stayed at the cottage for a week with our son and two young grandchildren (aged 5 and 2). The property is attractively furnished, very comfortable and spacious. The kitchen was well equipped for all our needs and there is off-road parking. It's in a great location, very close to the coast-to-coast path and only a short walk to Portreath. Although a car is essential, there is a bus stop right outside for the 47 from Portreath to Truro via Redruth, if you want a day out without the car, and the Bridge Inn is just across the road. It was lovely to have you stay. We are glad you found the tramway path! It is a lovely walk and cycle to Portreath. A nice day out can be had travelling to the Devoran pub and back on bikes. No dramatic hills but lovely (mostly) carless riding. Highly recommended! Property Owner Reviewed by Chris5.0★Nov 2021 "The cottage is in a very good location, ideal for exploring serval local beaches and villages." Nice distance to explore St ives and Newquay. Form thw cottage it's a nice little walk down to porthreath which is not over crowded with holiday makers and has everything you need. The cottage it self is cosy, very comfortable beds and has everything you need. The owners are welcoming and are happy to help. Would be very happy to visit again. We appreciate you lovely comments. It sounds as if you found some of the lovely aspects of Chy Lowen during your stay. I think it was a warm week for you. Perhaps on colder days you can experience the Clearview woodburner, its our favourite! Also, we are always looking to improve and hope you would like the changes made to the garden should you come to visit again. Property Owner Reviewed by Leanne5.0★Aug 2021 "Had to complain to Sykes for lack of cleanliness and adhering to COVID 19 protocols." Reviewed by Mark2.8★Aug 2021 "Chy Lowen is a lovely cottage and is in a lovely position." The decor of the cottage was lovely (with a few quirky things thrown in), it was very clean and we very much enjoyed our stay. However, just a few niggly little issues that the owners should take on board to ensure that future guests are completely satisfied. The TV does not have terrestrial channels or Freeview. During the whole duration of our stay we were only able to access BBC iPlayer and no other channels. Admittedly Netflix and Amazon Prime channels were available but they are of no interest to us. There were no operating instructions for a number of the items in the property, namely the TV, washing machine, oven etc. Certain utensils were missing, namely bottle opener, baking tray (or at least the one provided did not fit the over as it was too large), oven gloves etc. There was only one black bag provided and yet we were asked to put the rubbish out mid week for collection. There were no dish washing tablets ever though there was an instruction to wash the crockery/utensils in the dishwasher before leaving. Lastly, the info pack advised that towels were to be provided at the property - there were no kitchen towels or tea towels provided, hence we had to buy same from the local Tesco. Only small things, but nevertheless annoying. But if these issues were remedied, I would certainly be happy to return. Thank you for this feedback. Sorry for the late reply too. We now have proper TV reception! The other smart TV apps are also available too of course. Our cleaner had not noticed those items missing and thanks to your feedback they were. We appreciate it. We do hope to have you stay with us again soon. Let us know if you like the renovated garden area. It should make the space much more accessible to enjoy. Kind regards Rhys Property Owner Reviewed by Gareth4.4★Jul 2021 "Holiday was great and house was fantastic." Thank you! A pleasure to have you with us. Property Owner Reviewed by Stuart4.4★Jul 2021 "We had a lovely stay at this charming little cottage." It was in a brilliant location, there was a pub directly opposite and it had pretty much everything we needed for our stay. A posh coffee machine was also provided! It was decorated lovely throughout and all the furnishings were really fitting with this 250 year old cottage. We absolutely loved the features in the kitchen and the original floor was so nice! We really enjoyed our stay and the host was really helpful and recommended a few places for Sunday lunch. It required a little extra attention cleaning wise. There were quite a few cobwebs around the cottage especially in the fireplace, we found a couple items that weren’t ours such as a bath toy and a pair of swim shorts but apart from that it was clean and tidy. The kitchen had everything we needed and even had a dishwasher which was really good! Although a TV wasn’t advertised in the listing I could see a TV in the photo however it didn’t have any normal TV channels which was a bit disappointing as we spent our evenings in the cottage. While they did provide Netflix & Amazon Prime it would have been nice to have normal TV to as it was during the Euros. We had a great time at CHY LOWEN, location was brill not to far from anything and we travelled all around Cornwall without spending hours in the car. Thank you for your comments. We have had a long battle with the TV reception in our valley but the engineers seem to have found a solution at last. I am sorry about the cobwebs. They should be addressed weekly by the cleaning team but certain times of the year produce them very quickly. In the future, if you seen an issue with the cleaning if you let us know we can arrange another visit from the cleaning company. Property Owner Reviewed by Vicky4.4★Jun 2021 There are no reviews featuring this term Show all reviews Show more Hide all Summary Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x single Bathroom with roll-top bath, shower over, hand-held shower, double basin and WC Cloakroom with basin and WC Kitchen/diner Utility Sitting room with woodburning stove Gas central heating with woodburning stove Belling 8 hob range cooker and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, TV and WiFi Fuel and power inc. in rent Bed linen and towels inc. in rent Travel cot, highchair and stairgate available Off-road parking for two cars, additional roadside park available Enclosed garden with furniture Two well-behaved dogs welcome Sorry, no smoking Shop 0.9 miles, pub 0.1 miles Beach 1.3 miles Note: Dogs not allowed on the chairs Dogs are not allowed upstairs. Please note: The steps within the property are steep The property Portreath 1.2 miles. Resting just over a mile from the sandy beaches of Portreath is this end-of-terrace granite cottage, Chy Lowen. This homely abode boasts a traditional interior, providing welcoming accommodation for families and couples to call home for a while. Step into the sitting room and you’ll immediately sense the character of the cottage through the Clearview wood effect tile floorboards, exposed granite walls and ceiling beams, along with an alluring woodburning stove which is sure to be used during the winter months. Continue through the country style kitchen/diner, here you can sit at the dining table with a feast to delight in cooked up on the impressive range cooker and hob, toasting to a long-awaited Cornish getaway. Climb the wooden staircase to reach the bedrooms, offering two double doubles and a single room, finished with stylish touches and harmonious colour palettes, along with traditional sash windows from which the surrounding countryside can be admired. The quality of this cottage is enhanced further within the bathroom, dominated by the freestanding roll-top bath with a rainfall shower and hand-held attachment, along with a his and hers marble wash basin, it’s a lovely place to prepare yourself for the day. Take a moment to relax within the enclosed garden; sit at the table and chairs for some alfresco dining in between activities, while your canine companion stretches their legs in the sunshine. If you can tear yourself away from this charming spot, cross the road to reach The Bridge Inn, a traditional country pub or go along the old tramway lined with trees that runs alongside to the Portreath Arms and is perfect if you fancy a night off from cooking. The surrounding area offers great cycling opportunities, store your bike up on the bike rack in the utility room, and then take them out along The Mineral Tramway Trail Cycle Path, suitable for those with limited mobility, just a short distance away, trailing to Portreath or up to the Tehidy Country Park. For a fun day out with the kids visit the Rouge Theatre at Tehidy Woods for enchanting celebrations of the seasons as they come and go. This peaceful woodland is now managed as a national park and this tranquil area can be explored with its own cafe and picnic area and can be reached 5 different ways so no walk needs to be the same. Head south along the road the property sits on to Paynters Lane End where the local favourite Robartes Arms sits, perfect for a traditional country meal or to really get involved it offers live music and quiz nights. Portreath is a small yet vibrant resort with a choice of shops, traditional pubs, cafes and restaurants, as well as a sandy beach which is popular with experienced surfers for its ‘vortex’ surf break. Absorb the beauty of the area with a stroll along the South West Coast Path or if you fancy seeing more of Cornwall then the fishing harbour town of St Ives and the city of Truro host a superb selection of amenities and a perfect for a day out. At the end of each fun-filled day, return to the comfort and warmth of Chy Lowen. Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £500. View on map About the location PORTREATH Truro 14 miles St Ives 15 miles With its sheltered harbour, beautiful Portreath was, in the 1800s, a hive of activity and industry as a major tin-exporting port. Today, the village attracts visitors from around the world with its wild and rugged coastline. High cliffs, secluded coves and sandy, surf-washed beaches typify the area while all around are reminders of the area's rich industrial heritage. Portreath offers a small fishing harbour, shops, a number of pubs, three cafés and a Chinese restaurant, while its safe, sheltered sandy beach is a popular attraction. For a great day out, visit the cathedral city of Truro with its cobbled streets, shopping centre, theatre, museum and great restaurants, just 14 miles away, or travel a few miles along the coast and follow the vast expanse of sandy beach, which leads down to Hayle and on to St Ives. A delightful holiday location.