4.5★ 3 Guests 2 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms Pets Yes Features Off road parking Ground floor bedroom Open fire Garden / Patio Cot available Highchair available Washing machine Dishwasher Broadband / WiFi Reviews & Ratings Accuracy of the listing Cleanliness Comfort Facilities and Maintenance Search All reviews stay (18) all (18) lovely (18) our (15) location (15) great (14) 50 Customer Reviews "Great location & everything you need it’s provided." We really enjoyed our stay & hopefully returning in the future. Would like to thank the owners for providing milk, tea, coffee, sugar, jam, cream & scones really nice touch after a 6hr drive to get there. Reviewed by Andrew5.0★Nov 2023 "Very nice little cottage With nice views under floor Heating was amazing The ..." Very nice little cottage With nice views under floor Heating was amazing The beds were very comfortable I wasn’t too keen on the curtain on the second bedroom and I couldn’t get the log burner door to shut properly as I think the catch was bent apart from that a very enjoyable stay Reviewed by Carlton4.4★Oct 2023 "94W5S-23-EN This place was filthy!" Upon arrival we found a dusty dirty pair of boxer shorts under the sofa! And that was just for starters! Under the bed was an inch thick in dust! Cobwebs spiders and flies in abundance! No kindle for the log burner! Induction hob didn’t work and took 3 days to sort! Sykes are well aware and there’s a full report supposedly being prepared? The curtained off room was just exactly that!! Tv signal was terrible and unwatchable! So glad to be home where it’s clean and comfortable! Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you had problems when you arrived and after you have been in contact with us during your stay and the housekeeping team came back to Hay Loft to carry out a re clean. The kindling and log are not provided until the colder months but the housekeeping team brought some to the property following your request. The property also has underfloor heating that can be controlled by the guests. The induction hob has a child safety system and the instructions are provided in the property. Property Owner Reviewed by Jenny1.3★Sep 2023 "Very satisfied with The Hayloft, very comfortable and well equipped." Reviewed by Stephanie5.0★Sep 2023 "Not worth at all what we paid." Pictures of the Hay Loft on the ad on Sykes are out dated. Could not use the heated towel rail in the small bedroom en suite as it kept tripping the electric! Underfloor heating took hours to kick in if at all! Only one bag of kindle for the wood burner, which lasted one night! More should be provided for the cost. Second bedroom is not a bedroom it's a bed pushed up against a wall in a dark room behind a curtain! It should not be advertised as two bedrooms. No privacy, felt completely overlooked, need window coverings in dining area windows are bare and when it fell dark my young daughter was frightened, the window coverings that were provided in the living quarter windows and doors were flimsy pieces of material that didn't fit! No privacy whatsoever! Not suitable for young children, stairs extremely dangerous, slippy wooden floor, my daughter nearly fell on numerous occasions. Stair gate kept dropping off! Showers soaked the floors as the shower curtain was useless and the round shower had no curtain at all. WiFi kept dropping, tv didn't work half the time. Entrance to driveway needs looking at as its too high and scratched our car. Information folder needs updating half of the information is out of date, shire horse farm closed etc.... Cleanliness was poor very dusty and the bathroom floors were filthy. Need warnings about the tiny local lanes, we nearly got stuck up one by the Hay Loft and again scratched our car on a wall. Sorry will not return. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. A property visit is scheduled for this week, at which time, all photos will be checked and confirmed. A new element has been placed in the heated towel rail, and full underfloor heating instructions can be found in the property. As previously mentioned, kindling is provided in the colder months. There are several stairs in the property that are hardwood, so please take care. The stairgate is removable if not required. The TV has since been replaced with a brand-new TV, along with new full- fibre connection for Wi-fi. The information booklet in the property has since been updated. On a final note, when driving country lanes, try to expect the unexpected and use plenty of due care and attention, particularly when cornering narrow sections as many visitors will be aware the roads in the southwest with its characterful byways can be narrow, winding backcountry lanes, banked by thick hedgerows. Property Owner Reviewed by Anna2.5★Aug 2023 "Absolutely adored our stay at the Hayloft." We felt so at home and didn't want to leave! Situated on a quiet country lane. Great base for exploring with loads of beaches, towns and sights all within a 30 min drive. Lovely little secure garden for our big dog (wouldn't be secure for smaller doggies). The cottage had everything we needed for a relaxing stay. Don't be put off by the curtain separating the 2nd bedroom. My 23 year old son joined us and had plenty of privacy and his own bathroom so it was ideal. Lots of memories made of a wonderful holiday. I'd highly recommend a stay here and would definitely go back. Reviewed by Gill5.0★Jul 2023 "Comfortable accommodation, well equipped with a good outside space for our dog, thank you!" Reviewed by Shaun4.1★Jun 2023 "We had an amazing time at the Hay Loft!" it was clean, bright and homely with everything we needed for our weeks stay. The location was perfect for our needs with being central to all the popular places St Ives, Newquay and Penzance but just far enough to come back relax away from the everything. We will definitely come back again can't rate it high enough!!!! Reviewed by Nick5.0★Jun 2023 "Great location not to far from shops an supermarkets, lovely if you have a dog plenty of walks around the property, the property has everything an more to make your stay a great one, it has a upside down concept which makes the views beautiful, very well maintained inside an out, very clean, hope to return very soon." Reviewed by Lisa5.0★May 2023 "Very nice barn enjoyed our stay, comfy and cosy, would stay there again, we did ..." Very nice barn enjoyed our stay, comfy and cosy, would stay there again, we did ring your number about the cooker but nobody came back to us but we did lucky enough sort it lovely showers very relaxing week away central of the ara were we wanted to be shame about the weather, but still had a lovely time our little dog loved the garden just had to watch nr the gate as she could of got under it but all round very good Reviewed by Lisa4.7★Mar 2023 "Just a couple of small improvements: - greater guidance and materials for the wood burner." We had to get matches/ paper etc and really only enough wood for one nights worth. This was a feature that appealed to us when booking! - clearer instructions about where to put the waste bin and recycling. We had to bag up and leave outside the property when leaving. We were surprised by the information pack suggesting we needed to ‘leave the property as we found it’. Of course, within reason, but sure a deep clean happens before each stay! - welcome pack could have a bit more detail/ maps of walks etc about local areas to visit. We did find the pack very very useful and planned our days around it! Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you had a nice stay and enjoyed The Hayloft. The property provides a starter pack for the wood burner and there are matches but they are kept separate for safety. The recycling instructions are located near the sink and there are additional information in the welcome pack. We hope you will visit again in the future for more lovely holidays Property Owner Reviewed by James4.7★Feb 2023 "Amazing place to stay , very cost and central to everything we wanted to do ." Reviewed by Hannah5.0★Dec 2022 "This was my third time staying at the Hay Loft, so I knew what to expect." The welcome cream tea is a lovely touch, and was thoroughly enjoyed. Wi-Fi is a bit sketchy (almost non-existent tbh) but if that doesn’t bother you, then it shouldn’t be a problem. The cottage is lovely, well-appointed and to a high standard - facilities, furnishing, bed linen etc. The only thing I felt that let it down slightly and were out of keeping with everything else were the towels - small, thin and scratchy, I was wishing I’d taken my own along. Reviewed by Jacqueline4.4★Nov 2022 "The House was rather dusty, I did E-Mail twice about a wasp Nest in the garden." They (Sykes) told me that someone would come and remove the Nest, Nobody came….. Reviewed by John3.1★Oct 2022 "Not sure if we were just unlucky as so many good reviews but we were left very disappointed with this property." On first arrival it looked lovely a great location, presentable, good parking etc. However upon entering firstly the highchair we requested to use was black in dust and even had a bodily hair on it! Grim! On our second night a compliance (poss heated towel rail/tv) kept blowing the trip in the house just as we were cooking dinner. So we text/called the emergency no. And left 3 messages. We had no cooker and an hangry toddler to feed… 4 days later the lady replied to us when we were home! Luckily my partner was able to eventually get the electric going again but it was less than ideal and very stressful. The property is advertised as suitable for a small family do not book if you have small children the stairs are very steep and have no gate at the bottom which as they lead into the single “bedroom” with no door it is very unsuitable for little curious feet that was a nightmare in itself. The list could go on at having no underfloor heating, child lock- the catch not working on cleaning cupboard, fridge door broken, wasp nest in garden making it in useable for child, mouldy/smelly shower. The icing on the cake was the window cleaner turning up just as we were having lunch which is great but felt very invasive when this could have been done during turnaround time. The photos of the property on the Sykes website are outdated and do not show a true representation of the interior of this property for example there is a lot more furniture such as multiple drawers that make it less than safe with a young family. The photos could also show the second bedroom layout far better than they currently do as a bed with a curtain across the room doesn’t really constitute a single bedroom and had we known the issue with the stairs leading into this room we would have not booked it at all. Overall a good property but not suitable for a young children and needs a few pounds spent to up the standards. Thank you for your feedback. We can confirm that the Hob at the Hay Loft is brand new, and in good working order, along with the underfloor heating. Instructions for both can be found in the welcome folder at the property. We have taken note of your comments and we will be looking into these in the coming month. Property Owner Reviewed by Kathryn2.5★Oct 2022 "Excellent , really lovely place to stay ." Reviewed by Robert5.0★Oct 2022 "Lovely little cottage and centrally located for all attractions in Cornwall." Comfortable, clean and well equipped. The hob didn't work, which we reported on arrival and notice the previous guests had reported. It would have been nice have it fixed as we were there for 2 weeks. Also, pet friendly with rules on arrival is a bit misleading. To have a secure fenced off garden and then ask owners to walk down a dark, un-paved, single track road is unreasonable. However, lovely place to stay for a couple and will recommend to friends and family. Thank you. Reviewed by Helene4.7★Sep 2022 "Lovely stay at the hay loft." Very clean on arrival, all facilities were available. We enjoyed our stay with good access to beaches and restaurants/ pubs. Second time staying at the hayloft and again not disappointed. Thank you. Reviewed by Charlotte4.7★Aug 2022 "Lovely property in a great location." Really comfortable beds and great shower facilities. Lots of personal touches, books to read, scones and flowers. Retuned home very rested. Nice and close to a number of beautiful beaches and attractions. Thank you Reviewed by Anne5.0★Aug 2022 "The Hay loft is a very nice, very quiet central base for exploring." Would recommend a good sat nav for navigating through the narrow lanes. Ours took us a different route every day. Our first venture in Cornwall and we will certainly be back. Reviewed by Desmond5.0★Jul 2022 "Excellent accommodation very high spec loved it" Reviewed by John5.0★Jul 2022 "Lovely clean, very well equipped, comfortable beds, great showers, only found the stairs a problem as my husband & I are both 71 & they are very steep & had to watch our every step for fear of falling, also could have done with some comfortable outdoor seating as there was only wooden table & benches otherwise a most enjoyable stay." Reviewed by Marjorie4.4★Jun 2022 "We thoroughly enjoyed our break here." Very central for both coasts. The only thing we would recommend is at this time of year it is worth putting the heating on before people arrive, it smelt a bit damp, the cottage took a good day with the log burner going and the under floor heating on before we turned it totally down. Also there were no recycle bags anywhere so it all ended up being put in a bin, where someone else had done the same. Thank you for a lovely week. Reviewed by Marylyn3.8★Mar 2022 "Very nice cottage,lovely and clean no problems with wifi, but the cottage could benefit with a dvd player." set in a lovely quiet location and perfect for visiting plenty of places all close by. the beds were very comfortable and would definetly recommend this cottage Reviewed by Chris3.8★Feb 2022 "Quiet. A great location for accessing many of the S/W sites." Pleasant rural surroundings. Car parking was excellent as was the garden and the views from the Hay Loft. Reviewed by Alvan4.7★Sep 2021 "This is not a 2 bedroom property." A day bed under the stairs with a curtain separating it from a hallway does not constitute a bedroom. Especially for a teenage girl. The pictures advertising the property make it seem larger than it is. The front room is cramped, the sofa and chair is uncomfortable. The WiFi is from the main farm house on an extension and drops out repeatedly. It wasn’t possible to reprogrammed the TV with the new wireless network. There is not enough storage in the property for a family. Especially as one of the wardrobes is used to house the cleaning items. This is a nice property but it doesn’t offer value for money. Especially having spent the previous week in Falmouth in a sought after waterside location for £500 less. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we are sorry to hear the property didn't meet your expectations: as you can see from previous reviews other guests have been really happy with the accommodation (which is as described on the listing). The owners have recently made improvements to the broadband and the TV appears to be working as it should. Property Owner Reviewed by Jamie2.2★Aug 2021 "We had a lovely stay and was blessed with great weather." Only real issue was that the internet was very poor. Which only really effected us with the rare times we watched TV as we was only able to connect to Netflix and BBC iPlayer once. Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear you you enjoyed your stay. Wifi speeds can sometimes be less efficient in rural areas. Since your stay, the owners have taken steps to improve the broadband offering at Hayloft. Property Owner Reviewed by Stephen2.8★Jun 2021 "The only thing we can say is the sofa was uncomfortable and the Wi-Fi was a nightmare but these things didn’t ruin our holiday Lovely welcome coffee, tea, scones etc when we arrived." Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you liked Hay Loft and had a nice holiday. The housekeeping team will check the sofa to ensure there are no issues. With regard to the Wi-Fi, the bad weather of that week caused some issues but it is now back to normal speed. We hope you will visit Hay Loft again for more lovely holidays Property Owner Reviewed by Stephen4.7★May 2021 "The Hayloft is an excellent place to to stay and is perfectly placed for visiting all the Cornish attractions." It's only a few minutes off the A30 and is not difficult to find. A lovely rural setting yet only some 30 minutes from St Ives and Falmouth. The facilities are very good and we had a great holiday. Reviewed by John5.0★May 2021 "This cottage was a perfect retreat, tucked away from everybody but still close to all the major spots to visit like Falmouth, Penzance and Hayle." We would certainly recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a cosy, unique getaway Reviewed by Graham4.7★May 2021 "We can understand the need for cleanliness with Covid, but we were unable to book in until 4." 30pm then told we had to be out by 9.00am rather than 10.00am. This did have a detrimental effect on the holiday as you lost a a day, as you had to pack and clean the day before to be out on time. I would also like to say with all that extra time the property was actually very dusty which did surprise me. Thank you for taking the time to send in your comments regarding your recent stay. It is currently necessary to change the times by an hour each end the holiday, due to the current situation. We are disappointed to hear that you found some dust in the property, I can assure you that had you let us know during your stay, we would have taken action at the time. Once again thank you for your comments and we do hope you will book with us in the future. Property Owner Reviewed by Tracy4.4★Sep 2020 "Nice property and exactly how we thought it would be, and we would possibly stay there again for the right price." The only negatives we could say is that the Hay loft wasn’t cleaned to a good enough standard given all the Covid concerns and how they wanted us out by 9 am instead of 10am.The toilet wasn’t clean enough with a very loose and broken toilet seat and quite a lot of dust around the place.It was also probably slightly too far out from the A30 although the location gave us opportunity to see other parts of Cornwall we had not seen before. Good property but with a little more work it could be a very good property Reviewed by Jon3.8★Aug 2020 "Very helpful phone contact Kerrie." Able to answer a question we had. Overall just Brilliant! Reviewed by Alfred5.0★Nov 2019 "We are extremely happy to have stayed at the Hay Loft." Everything was great. Beautifully and tastefully finished to a high standard. Very clean, lovely country setting, great location for visiting lots of different places. Excellent, informative communication from Sykes as well. Great company to use. Thank you. Reviewed by Sam5.0★Oct 2019 "Couldn’t fault really." Couple of pointers-spare bulbs would of been good, as the one under the sink had blown. Also wasn’t clear about The Netflix-as we didn’t understand a account is required Reviewed by Lorraine4.7★Oct 2019 "Excellent location, quick and easy access to the parts of Cornwall we wished to visit." All the facilities at the Hay Loft were superb. Reviewed by Karl5.0★Sep 2019 "Lovely accommodation." Location is good for get away from it all!! Reviewed by John4.4★Jun 2019 "We were so happy with everything such a welcoming home from home." Such a peaceful fantastic break. We really enjoyed family time at the hay loft Thank you :) Reviewed by Claire5.0★Apr 2019 "We were thrilled with how welcoming, comfortable and well-appointed the cottage was." The milk in the fridge, the cream tea (scones, jam and cream), the availability of tea and coffee and even a jar of dog biscuits were particularly appreciated after a long drive. The quiet, rural location really suited us and the proximity of local lanes in which to walk the dog in the morning couldn’t be faulted. Having our own enclosed garden space was also a godsend. We all enjoyed a wonderful week at the Hayloft, going out for walks and spending time on the local beautiful beaches (Godrevy was our favourite), before relaxing on an evening - the WiFi in the cottage was also fast enough for us to stream Netflix. Thank you for a wonderful stay - we’ve already booked to return next year! Reviewed by Jacqueline5.0★Mar 2019 "We had an amazing time - everything was fantastic on arrival and the ..." We had an amazing time - everything was fantastic on arrival and the accommodation was in a great location with short drives to some beautiful beaches Reviewed by Hayley5.0★Oct 2018 "The television did not work having sound only, after reporting this it took until the Thursday (5 days)of our holiday to be replaced." The only other issue was there was no wood/logs supplied for the log burning stove which we assumed would be when the advert stated fuel supplied. There was also no bin for the building and only found out toward the end of our holiday that it was moved (due to storm Callum) to the adjacent property to stop it blowing away. These were only slight negatives and we loved our stay at the Hayloft and would recommend it to others. Reviewed by Dale4.7★Oct 2018 "Fantastic accommodation." So snug with the underfloor heating. Clean, cosy and comfortable. Reviewed by Robert5.0★Aug 2018 "Great accommodation in a great location" Reviewed by Robert5.0★Aug 2018 "It was so peaceful & relaxing." The quietness was deafening!!! Perfect for recharging after working hard all year!!! It was just very hard to find in the pitch black as we didn't arrive til midnight!! But well worth it. The cottage was absolutely beautiful & very comfortable. We will definitely stop here again. Reviewed by Susan5.0★Jul 2018 "Very nice stay." Reviewed by Ben5.0★Jul 2018 "Great system for booking easy to contact and very prompt at responding excellent service" Reviewed by Jane5.0★Jun 2018 "Just a couple of minor things." Wifi was unavailable on the first couple of days (probably due to the master router not being switched on) but cleared with strong access on the Monday. The access is rather steep and due to the main parking area being gravelled, is difficult not to get some wheel-spin especially with front-wheeled drive cars. Other than that; a thoroughly enjoyable week with easy access to both North and South coasts. Reviewed by Diane5.0★Jun 2018 "Great property." Gorgeous and Well maintained. All facilities we could need. However the drive has a slight incline so when going up it loads of the gravel is thrown up against the car. Maybe need a new drive or gentler slope. Apart from that. Fantastic Reviewed by Andrew5.0★May 2018 "We were very pleased with the Hayloft." Cream tea and flowers on arrival and milk in the fridge. What a lovely welcome. Very clean and everything you need for a holiday. The on-suite showers were fantastic. Fun watching the crows building their nest in the old barn. Bit dodgy getting the car out of the drive, you need help guiding the car out, a tight fit for a big car and a busy lane at times. Plenty to see and do in the area. Reviewed by Margaret5.0★Apr 2018 "Apart from a few minor items which we put a note of in the house keeping book the accommodation was really good." Very pleased , thanks. Reviewed by John5.0★Jul 2017 There are no reviews featuring this term Show all reviews Show more This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection. Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday. Summary Reverse level accommodation Two bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite shower room with basin and WC 1 x single with en-suite shower room with basin and WC First floor kitchen with dining area Sitting area with wood burning stove. Underfloor central heating Electric oven and hob Fridge, washer/dryer, dishwasher, Nespresso coffee maker Smart TV WiFi Selection of books and games Fuel and power inc. in rent Bed linen and towels inc. in rent Cot and Highchair available Off road parking for one car Lawned and gravel gardens One dog welcome Sorry no smoking Shop 4 miles Pub 3 miles, sea less than 10 miles Note: Max 3 adults Note: The single bedroom is closed off by a curtain not a solid door Note: Directly outside the property there is a large drop down to the gravelled courtyard; although this is fenced, children should be supervised The property A cosy barn conversion with reverse level accommodation, exposed beams, wood burner stove, feature stone walls sits within a countryside setting. High level accommodation ideal for a couple or a small family. Ground floor accommodation consists of one double bedroom with en-suite shower room and one single bedroom with en-suite shower room. The first floor is a stylish sitting area with wood burner stove and well equipped kitchen / dining room with Velux windows. Flooring is a mixture of slate and wood throughout. Outside the garden is a mix of gravel and lawn with a drop on one side (fenced in). Positioned roadside in a small hamlet there are glorious surroundings providing a tranquil place to truly get away from it all. Situated just 6 miles from Portreath where you will find a sandy beach and harbour town. Don your walking boots and pack a picnic; abundant wildlife and rolling countryside awaits you. A walk from the cottage will lead you on to The Great Flat Lode, a 12 km circular trail in the heart of the historic mining district. Equidistant from both the South and North coasts, amazing beaches await you in either direction. Sandy Porthtowan and Portreath on the North coast are popular with surfers and sunbathers alike whilst Falmouth beaches on the South Coast are all within 30 minutes' drive. Gwithian Sands offers some of the nicest coastal walks, superb surfing, seal watching and arguably the best beach café. Paying a visit to iconic St Ives is a must to enjoy browsing the many boutiques and art galleries, including the famous Tate Gallery. Stop for some refreshments at one of the many cafés and restaurants located around the pretty harbour. Fabulous Falmouth, also home to The National Maritime Museum, is within easy reach. For a different day out why not visit the quieter waters of the picturesque Restronguet Creek and take the opportunity to stop for some lunch at the well-known waterside Pandora Inn at Mylor Bridge. The Hayloft is bursting with country chic charm throughout and offers a blissful rural escape at any time of the year. Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100. View on map About the location CAMBORNE Portreath 4.4 miles; Hayle 6.8 miles. Camborne lies in the heart of a former mining community and was well known for its “Queen of Cornish Mines" - the Dolcoath copper and tin mine, the deepest in Cornwall. Today, Camborne is home to Heartlands, a community space covering 19 acres and scattered with remnants of the mining industry, providing a free space for visitors to explore the heritage of Cornwall, browse art and craft projects, stroll through the gardens and sit and share a picnic or enjoy lunch at the Red River Café. From Camborne centre you can follow an interesting town trail, or spend the afternoon in the museum before visiting the array of shops and pubs. A short drive from Camborne brings you to a wealth of sandy Cornish beaches including Portreath, Gwithian and Porthtowan. Camborne is ideal for exploring Land’s End, the Lizard Peninsula, Truro and the Eden Project, which are all easily accessible by car, ideal for a day trip. Note: no smoking. Note: Check in time for this property is 4.30pm.