Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 16 View Image Gallery
  • Chy-An-Var - Cornwall - 1080372 - photo 1
close

Floorplans

1st FloorGround Floor

Ground Floor

Photos

Floorplans

Chy-An-Var

(Ref. 1080372)

Polzeath, Cornwall Show on map

4.3

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 10 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (9)
  • bathroom (7)
  • our (5)
  • house (5)
  • good (5)
  • kitchen (5)

14 Customer Reviews

  • "This property, for the price, is disappointing."

    It is tired, dated and poorly maintained. New bathrooms were appreciated, but the sitting room is basic, bare, brown! and old fashioned. The kitchen needs an overhaul - drawer fascia’s falling off, damaged cupboard doors, ill-fittting dishwasher, dirty and sticky Lino floor. Extremely stingy on kitchen goods for a holiday home - no mop or bucket, an old and disintegrating squeegy mop, one dishcloth and a horrible old kitchen brush for cleaning pots and pans. No basics of cleaning products supplied for bathrooms, toilets or the kitchen. No spare toilet rolls. No salt, pepper - basic cooking ingredients that we have been lucky enough to have in other rental properties. Kitchen table shabby and chairs cheaply reupholstered and stained. The bedrooms overlooking the beach could do with black out blinds, which are already supplied in the bedrooms at the back of the house. Mat inside kitchen door is torn. Outside needs a good weed and clean up.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by these issues. Your comments have been passed on to the team here at John Bray Cornish Holidays and to the owner and we are now asking our maintenance and housekeeping teams to rectify what they can. In regards to toilet roll, salt/pepper etc. We host self catering holidays so these are not supplied. We hope you still managed to enjoy your visit despite these issues and would love to welcome you back to North Cornwall in the future. - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Annabel2.5Jul 2024

  • "Every thing good."

    Thankyou so much for your kind words. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adil4.7Jan 2024

  • "We had a lovely stay at Chy-An-Var over New Years Eve."

    It was exactly what we needed for our group of 10, plenty of space, comfy beds and a great location - being able to walk down to the beach in minutes and drive to a large supermarket within 20 or so. The welcome pack was greatly appreciated, and we did have an issue with one of the windows (due to some crazy winds!), but Graham (the owner’s maintenance man!) was able to help and secure a short term solution for the rest of our stay, which is all that we could have asked for.

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay over the new year and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emily5.0Dec 2023

  • "We have stayed many times."

    Lovely house

    Thank you, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Della5.0Oct 2023

  • "We have been many times before and had another great stay."

    The welcome pack was nice and the bathroom upgrades were great also. We would like to book again.

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the property once more and liked the upgrades. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angeline5.0Oct 2023

  • "Our stay was amazing, there were no problems at all."

    Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jan5.0Sep 2023

  • "No non slip mats were provided in the two bathrooms."

    On request I was told they would arrive the next day but they were not delivered at all. Drainage from both showers was poor. There were no larger saucepans for catering for 8 people. We had good contact with the agents who appeared to be as helpful as possible and negotiated for a later departure on the last day. Thanks for that.

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. We're very sorry that you had to experience these issues during your visit but thank you for your patience and understanding whilst we tried to sort them for you. There was internal miscommunication regarding the bathmats and that is why these were never delivered. Your comments have been passed on to the team here at John Bray Cornish Holidays. We hope to welcome you back to north Cornwall in the future. - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kathy3.8Sep 2023

  • "It exceeded our expectations as we had not rented a holiday cottage in the UK before."

    We would like to sign up for next year please...

    Thank you for your lovely comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. John Bray Cornish Holiday on behalf of the owners Property Owner

    Reviewed by Guy5.0Aug 2023

  • "We had a wonderful week at Chy-An-Var."

    The views, location, and facilities were great. The bathrooms, kitchen and general areas have all been updated. Would definitely return.

    Thank you letting us know you had such a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed the property, its location and views so much. We hope you choose to book with John Bray Cornish Holidays again as we would love to welcome you back to Cornwall in the very near future Property Owner

    Reviewed by William5.0May 2023

  • "Both bathrooms need total refurbishment, one shower for a property sleeping ten is totally inadequate."

    Cleanliness of cooking utensils poor, with rice on sieve and cabbage on colander! Pyrex greasy. Oil boiler smelly, and stopped working after four days - looked in need of replacement. Brays were quick to send engineer for quick fix, but boiler still not properly sorted when left ( early ). Had to sweep moss fallen from roof off entrance path to avoid trailing into house. Would not rebook.

    Reviewed by Anthony2.8Feb 2023

  • "We had a fabulous week at Chy- an-Var."

    The cottage was comfortable, roomy, had a nice garden for the children to play in, stunning views and in a fantastic location for the beach, coastal path and village. The kitchen was well equipped, but the oven temperature settings were rubbed off, making cooking guess work. The property was well furnished and in good/reasonable condition, but could benefit from some modernisation. The upstairs bathroom would benefit from a shower and smaller bath.

    Thanks so much for your feedback. Delighted you had a great time. The oven and the hob have been replaced now. Plan is to re-work the upstairs bathroom ready for next summer.... look out for a second shower! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian4.1Aug 2022

  • "We have stayed at Chy an Var for the 3 years."

    We only come back due to location. This year we arrived and the garden was a mess, there were broken chairs out at the front, the garden furniture/umbrella was broken, the slates still loose on the terrace and dangerous. The kitchen gets worse each year, one of the hob rings did not work, the fridge door does not close properly and had been turned off before we arrived and we only noticed 24 hrs later. The rent has gone up and we will not take again as just not worth it. One proper bathroom between 10 is not good enough with a rusty towel rail. The bathroom upstairs is useless - there needs to be another shower. The owners need to spend some money on the house now as it’s turning into a student house.

    Thank you for your feedback - I am sorry that there were multiple issues when you stayed. The hob (and the oven) have been replaced now and there are plans to re-fit both bathrooms including introducing a shower upstairs. The fridge is sorted too!- property Owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charles2.2Jul 2022

  • "We have just had our seventh or eighth holiday in Chy-An-Var and absolutely love it."

    It is not flashy by New Polzeath standards, but it is extremely comfortable, well equipped, thoroughly maintained and very welcoming. Highly recommended.

    Thanks so much - it's a delight that you keep on returning. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robin5.0Apr 2022

  • "This is our 6th stay here now and it’s just perfect for us."

    My husband can surf every day and I can go for amazing walks or runs. Then there’s so many lovely places to visit nearby too like Boscastle or Tintagel. The views from the house are spectacular too and it just a nice comfortable house to stay for 2 weeks. Lovely places to eat nearby as well - cracking crab and Nathan kitchen are some of our favourites.

    Thank you for your lovely feed back.We are delighted you had a comfortable and pleasant holiday stay in Chy-An -Var, It will be a pleasure to have you with us again in the future.- John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Sep 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the John Bray Cornish Holidays collection.
John Bray Cornish Holidays offers some of the best located self catering cottages and holiday homes in North Cornwall’s loveliest locations including Rock and Daymer Bay, on the Camel Estuary, and Polzeath and Port Isaac on the Atlantic coast.

Summary

  • Four bedrooms: 1 x ground floor superking (can be changed to twin upon request), 1 x ground floor twin, 1 x ground floor bunk beds x 2, 1 x first floor double.Ground floor family bathroom with bath and shower over, basin and WC
  • First floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor WC with basin
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • First floor sitting room.
  • Bed linen and towels are inc. in rent
  • Oil central heating
  • Electric integrated oven and ceramic hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher
  • TV, DVD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and Power inc. in rent
  • Private parking for 3 cars
  • EV charging point
  • Garage with table tennis
  • Wetsuit store and rinse with outside shower
  • Lawned garden with patio, patio furniture and BBQ
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking

The property

Situated in the seaside village of New Polzeath on the North Cornwall coast is this contemporary holiday home. This reverse level property provides high quality accommodation for large families and friends to explore. On the ground floor is a well-equipped, bright and airy kitchen with dining area leading out onto the sunny terrace perfect for your morning coffee.

There are Three spacious ground-floor bedrooms, 1 x superking ( Can be altered to twin on request) 1 x twin and a bunk bedroom with 2 sets available sharing a large family bathroom and a separate WC.

On the first floor is a generous sitting area looking out to sea.

A double bedroom and a bathroom are also on the first floor. Outside is a beautiful lawned garden with sun terrace and patio furniture perfect for those wanting to dine alfresco. New Polzeath is a stone throw away from the popular seaside resort of Polzeath, a haven for a variety of water-based activities.

With fantastic coastal paths why not explore this wonderful corner of North Cornwall on foot and see the dramatic coastline on offer.

Polzeath has plenty of shops, restaurants and cafes. Wadebridge is the nearest town just a 7.3 mile drive, here you have an array of shops, pubs, cafes and restaurants to choose from.

Explore the Camel trail from here with bike hire available or simply take a stroll along and enjoy the pleasing views. Chy-An-Var is the ideal base for families and friends looking to explore North Cornwall.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

POLZEATH

Wadebridge 7.5 miles; Padstow 16 miles.

The seaside village of Polzeath boasts a sandy beach, which is bordered by rock pools and is acclaimed to be one of the best surfing beaches in the country. Polzeath itself has a number of small shops, cafes and restaurants, and the South West Coast Path, a 630-mile route, runs through the village. Just over seven miles away is the popular market town of Wadebridge, which is set alongside the River Camel and offers an array of shops, pubs and restaurants, as well as North Cornwall's only family-owned cinema. There’s wonderful countryside in the area, with the renowned Camel Trail passing through the town, and the nearby town of Padstow, with its harbour, pastel-washed medieval houses and celebrated restaurants is well worth exploring. Within driving distance is the UK surfing capital of Newquay, with over 11 miles of golden sandy beaches. Polzeath is an excellent base for exploring this part of Cornwall.

View more holiday cottages in Polzeath