Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Astrantia Cottage - Cornwall - 986933 - photo 1

Astrantia Cottage

(Ref. 986933)

Lostwithiel, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (27)
  • lovely (19)
  • our (13)
  • parking (12)
  • stay (11)
  • location (11)

35 Customer Reviews

  • "We loved our stay at Astrantia Cottage."

    It's full of character and feels more like a home than just a holiday let. Lostwithiel is a delightful little town and it was a treat to be able to walk there within just a few minutes from the cottage. We really didn't mind parking in the nearby free car park, in some ways it added to the charm of the place. We had a slight issue with the DVD player but the family who live close by were super helpful and solved it quickly for us. Thank you. The cottage is very well equipped and is obviously well loved by the owners. We'll definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Robin5.0Oct 2023

  • "We had a wonderful stay at Astrantia Cottage and the facilities were excellent."

    It was our first proper holiday with our 10 month old son, meaning evenings out were off the agenda. The fully equipped kitchen meant we could cook a nice meal and enjoy each evening in a more relaxed manner. Lostwithiel is a lovely place and a perfect location from which to enjoy the local sites. We were aware of the parking restraints before leaving but actually found it to be fine and got parked on Kings Street almost every day. (It is tight though) The only comment we would make was regarding the WiFi. According to the error messages we received, it appeared too old to work on an Apple device and neither of us managed to get connected once during our stay. This meant that our baby monitor would not work which proved a little limiting. Many thanks for a wonderful stay. Tom, Katherine & Dylan

    Reviewed by Tom5.0Sep 2023

  • "What a lovely cottage."

    And so well kitted out. Furniture and utensils very good - more kitchen equipment than I have at home! The narrow street is a bit scarey - you have to reverse up. I’m glad I lived in a busy town street for 20 years parking practise. The patio doors from the kitchen have no curtains or blinds and we found that a bit worrying when it got dark as the cottage is up an alleyway. But we would thoroughly recommend Astrantia, it was a great stay, thank you. It’s obviously much loved by the owners.

    Reviewed by Pamela5.0Sep 2023

  • "Beautiful cottage and excellent location for visiting popular tourist spots around."

    We would definitely visit again.

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Aug 2023

  • "We loved the cottage!"

    Only the wet weather made it difficult.

    Reviewed by Bianca4.1Jul 2023

  • "Beautiful homely cottage."

    So many extra little touches that made all the difference. Excellent location for travelling around Cornwall. Plus good facilities locally within walking distance. Would love to return and will definitely recommend. Thank You

    Reviewed by Dawn5.0Sep 2022

  • "Lovely cottage and nice place to stay the only thing we were concerned about was the rubbish situation- but once we had said it was removed and all ok."

    The only other thing was the parking - if you have mobility problems this cottage would be difficult to gain access to.

    Reviewed by Donna3.8Aug 2022

  • "Astrantia Cottage is a wonderful cottage with a pretty garden, tucked away in a quiet hidden corner of the town."

    Its a perfect spot, just two minutes from town or beautiful walks through the woods. We had an amazing few days, exploring Cornwall from a handy central location.

    Reviewed by Francves4.1Jul 2022

  • "Lovely cottage with everything we needed."

    Great location with lots of things around to do. Baby gate and high chair were provided so that was super. Lots of extra bits in the cottage and kitchen had all of the cooking equipment you would need. Beds were really comfy. Nice little garden out the front of cottage. Felt very homely and we really enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Emma4.7Jul 2022

  • "We loved Astrantia Cottage."

    Light and bright and comfortable. Everything that you might need was there really. Lovely to walk into the town in two minutes. Very pleasant pub on the door step. Also a very good moving off point for any where you want to visit. Having two bathrooms was excellent too! OS maps and books and games under the window seat were really useful as well. The cottage is deceptively spacious and made for a very pleasant stay. The garden and deck spaces were well used by us all. Really nice having breakfast in the morning quiet.We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Carol L4.7May 2022

  • "We enjoyed our holiday in Lostwithiel, the cottage is spacious and convenient for local shops and a good base for touring the area, lots to see and do."

    The downstairs is nicely decorated, the living room is lovely and cosy with a generous supply of fuel provided for the fire. The kitchen was well equipped and plenty of room to put boots, coats etc in utility room. However the shower room is quite dark as no window and could do with additional lighting. The upstairs has good size bedrooms but are quite basic, there are issues with damp which are particularly bad in the second bedroom and bathroom, with paint peeling off the walls. We ventilated the cottage as much as we could but feel the damp needs to be addressed and unfair for guests to sleep in damp rooms. The cottage was quite clean but several light bulbs not working on arrival which we replaced. The cottage is located at the top of a small lane and is very quiet so slept well, the only downside to the location is the parking which is bit awkward when unloading/loading.

    Thank you for your feedback. The damp issue stems from having old stone walls, that are cold, causing condensation. The only way to 100% resolve this is by improving insulation of the wall which we will finish in feb'22, thereby preventing any future occurance. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracey3.8Nov 2021

  • "Spacious, comfortable and clean."

    The kitchen and living room are lovely. Upstairs needs some TLC as it feels quite tired and basic. Damps is a problem and the second bedroom and bathroom had black mould growing on the walls by the time we left despite us opening the windows as much as possible. I was a bit surprised that the owner asked people to put money in an honesty jar every time they used the washing machine as that is usually included in the overall price.

    Thank you for feedback. The moisture problem was mainly black mould due to condensation, we are sorry if you were affected by it. We have treated and repainted the walls and will be vigilant for recurrence. We agree the use of the washing machine should be included and we now only ask for some cash in case of any breakage, but this is of course voluntary. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marisa3.8Oct 2021

  • "The property was quite spacious which was a welcome surprise compared to many holiday homes."

    If I were looking for a property in this area again I would not hesitate to try and book this cottage. Unloading and loading was a bit tricky (reversing down the street) but the community car park was safe and not too far away.

    Reviewed by Rosemary5.0Sep 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay at the cottage."

    It was home from home. A decent size and had everything we needed. It was a little difficult unloading car as you can’t park by the house and the street is very narrow but we managed it. The village was lovely, but some of the food outlets were a little rude and unwelcoming.

    Reviewed by Sarah3.8Aug 2021

  • "This was a large house in a lovely village."

    They have thought of everything! Everywhere was clean and tidy and lots of towels for all guests. We parked at the end of the road and always got a spot so wasn’t an issue. The only negative is that bedroom 2 was very damp and mould coming down the wall. I’m sure they will get this sorted and it didn’t affect our stay for a week.

    Reviewed by Maria5.0Aug 2021

  • "Lostwithiel is a beautiful village and on first glimpse the cottage seemed to be idyllic."

    It's a lovely old house, rustic with lots of character and came equipped with everything we needed for a weeks stay. However as the week progressed and the unpredictable cornish weather took hold we sadly became aware that the house has quite a significant damp problem in the small double bedroom and bathroom. By the end of the week the bedroom was covered in black mould and we chose to cut our stay short as also by this point my husband had developed a rather nasty case of sinusitis. Upon relaying our concerns about the property to Sykes we found them less than helpful. They apparently can't investigate the property without multiple complaints. The response from the owners was even more patronising and alluded to the damp problem being our fault as we had not ventilated the property enough.... this is despite us constantly having the windows open and having lived in a period property ourselves (we are well accustomed to the challenges of damp in old houses however when the damp is quite clearly coming from the roof and poorly maintained gutters no amount of window opening will sadly fix it!) Would I recommend Astrantia cottage to others? Absolutely should the owners and Sykes address the damp problem and give the property the TLC it deserves. Unfortunately in it's current state I would encourage people to give it a wide berth.

    Reviewed by Lauren2.8Aug 2021

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Felt secluded and safe as off any roads.

    Reviewed by Louisa4.4Jul 2021

  • "Astrantia cottage and Loswithiel village were both the perfect base for our holiday."

    Both offered all the facilities you could ask for. It should be noted that you can't drive up to the cottage which makes it peaceful. We had lots of help to carry bags but might be trickier if you were disabled or with young children.

    Reviewed by Kate5.0Jul 2021

  • "Cottage was great, very clean and a beautiful garden!"

    It is very difficult to park nearby, which we found was a struggle with our small children (age 2 & 4).

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Jun 2021

  • "We liked the house a lot because it has very nice and attractive living space."

    It is also in a very quiet location.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2021

  • "Good location to visit areas of interest."

    House is very comfortable and well equipped. Downside, there is no parking. The free parking at the town community hall is 300 yds. No problem for us but could be difficult unloading,loading for others.

    Reviewed by Alison4.1Apr 2021

  • "Excellent cottage."

    Very comfortable.Everything you could need in it. Obviously cleaned well before our arrival. Lostwithiel is an ideal spot for sightseeing Cornwall, walking, cycling and just generally relaxing

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Sep 2020

  • "We had a fantastic time at Astrantia cottage."

    It was neat and clean and very comfortable. Our only query was that the parking was a bit further away than we had thought. Perhaps the description could be amended a little to avoid disappoinment for those less mobile and less inclined to walk up the hill from the car park which is the other side of the main road.

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Aug 2020

  • "Absolutely beautiful cottage with outstanding facilities."

    Lostwithiel is a beautiful village and overall great base to explore Cornwall, only downfall was limited parking outside the cottage and having a disabled member of family with mobility issues caused an inconvenience. Would however highly recommend this cottage to anybody it was exceptionally beautiful

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Aug 2020

  • "House was lovely and perfectly functional."

    The community centre parking says ‘no overnight parking’ but as there were other cars parked, we did too as nowhere closer available. Cleanliness could have been better. Main areas were perfectly clean but there were cobwebs and behind furniture dusty. Grass needed cutting too. Watch out for check out time as says 10am in booking but cleaners were there at 9. Minor things though as it was a lovely house and Lostwithiel was nice. The local Royal Oak and the Chinese were good for food. We had a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Angela4.7Aug 2020

  • "Lovely quiet cottage in relaxed friendly town."

    We've been staying in Lostwithiel for many years as family live there and this was one of the nicest stays, even with Covid around! Cottage was fully equipped with all a family could need and very comfortable. Lovely garden with great Blackberries.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Jul 2020

  • "The car park is much further away than the 50 yards stated in the information."

    A mirror in the 2nd double bedroom would be nice. We loved the cottage, it had everything we needed for a relaxing week away.

    Reviewed by Tess4.7Nov 2019

  • "Listing is very inaccurate regarding parking."

    There are not 3 roadside parking spaces and the free parking is a rather long way away and all downhill from the cottage. When the weather is bad, it is a very long trudge up the hill. The cottage has a bad problem with flies - we had numerous ones everyday in the bathroom and the front bedroom. Listing also says ‘fuel and power included’ no fuel for fire was left and there are not sufficient tools for the log burner - just a shovel. Otherwise, the cottage itself is lovely, and the beds are extremely comfortable. Loved the Cornishware crockery in the kitchen. Bath is great, but does not have a shower above it as listed.

    Reviewed by Michael3.1Nov 2019

  • "A lovely cottage with all amenities and home comforts set in a beautiful town ."

    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there

    Reviewed by Tracy5.0Sep 2019

  • "Fantastic house just Ideal for a family holiday plenty of room and great facilities and in a great location."

    All issues on arrival dealt with quickly and with no fuss. Would definitely recommend this house.

    Reviewed by Andrew4.4Aug 2019

  • "We enjoyed spending the week st this lovely cottage."

    Lostwithiel is a great small town with lots of eating places and a good Co-op and provides a good central base for exploring both the south and north coasts of Cornwall. The only thing we could fault , and very minor in that it didn’t bother us, was that on the listing I believe was stated a shower over the bath, there isn’t . We would definitely recommend this cottage and would be delighted to return.

    Reviewed by Karen4.1Aug 2019

  • "The house had everything you could need for a week away."

    It was located within a few minutes walking distance of pubs, restaurants and a co-op shop. Lostwithiel is a lovely town and a great base for touring the area.

    Reviewed by Joan5.0Jun 2019

  • "A very nice house in an ideal location for our family's holiday, we all loved it and had a great time!"

    Reviewed by Andy5.0May 2019

  • "Astrantia is a lovely cottage style property in a quiet location with some really good places to eat locally (the Globe is especially good)."

    It has everything you could need from a self catering accommodation, it is well set out, comfortable and really beautifully styled. There is ample parking close by so not having its own parking was not a problem but it is a good walk up hill back to the cottage.

    Reviewed by Janette4.7Apr 2019

  • "Lovely cottage and everything you needed was there."

    Only drawback was parking but this was stated in the description. The walk and the uphill experience helped to wear off those cream teas though!Would definitely recommend cottage.

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Apr 2019

Show more Hide all


  • Over two floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king -size double, 1 x double, 1 x 2’6” bunk beds
  • Bathroom with bath, shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting Room with wood burner
  • Dining Room with feature Rayburn
  • Utility
  • Ground floor Shower Room with shower, basin and WC
  • Note: The bed in bedroom 2 can only be accessed from one side.
  • Gas central heating and wood burner
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
  • TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot, highchair and stair gate available on request
  • Selection of books, games and DVD’s
  • Limited road side parking spaces available or Free parking in town car park approx 200 yards distance from cottage
  • Enclosed front garden with patio, decked area and lawn, garden dining furniture, benches and parasol
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Beach 6 miles, Pub and shops within 2 mins walk
  • Please note - this property is suitable for a maximum of 4 adults and 2 children

The property

Tucked away in a quiet lane in the heart of Lostwithiel, Astrantia Cottage is a beautifully styled and presented detached cottage.

Spacious and welcoming, the interior is a fusion of contemporary and characterful charm.

The sitting room is a serene haven of comfy sofa and chairs and natural hues for pure relaxation, especially during the cooler months when the wood burner is roaring and creating a cosy den.

Gather in the separate dining room with feature Rayburn for foody feasts or get creative in the smart kitchen with all the mod cons.

The shower room is conveniently placed on the ground floor.

The first floor is inviting with three delectable bedrooms for all the family needs and a pristine bathroom.

The attractive garden extends the living space with options to sit and read on one of the benches or blue-sky dine around the garden table with parasol.

Enclosed and safe, the lawn is for children to play, or kick back and enjoy the peace with a Cornish ale!

Lostwithiel, a small town at the head of the estuary of River Fowey makes a fabulous base for exploring central Cornwall, with both coasts, countryside and moors within easy reach.

Visit Restormel Castle, Boconnoc deer park or the pretty tidal creek village of Lerryn.

Picnic aside Lostwithiel bridge or venture to the impressive biodomes of famous Eden Project.

Fowey is just over 7 miles away, with harbour and picturesque waterscapes – hire a boat or eat in one of the waterside eateries.

Charismatic Charlestown with Tall Ships and Poldark fame has galleries and gift shops for browsing.

After fun in the sea and sand at Par beach, or surfing the white water at Newquay, we guaranteed family, friends and couples will adore their return to Astrantia Cottage.

View on map

About the location


Bodmin 5.5 miles; Fowey 7 miles.

A delightfully peaceful country town, nestling in the Fowey river valley amid the woods and fields that characterise the area. Renowned as a centre for the antiques trade, there are several shops and dealers in the town, as well as a fine collection of country pubs, restaurants and a thriving farmer’s market. Lanhydrock House (NT) and gardens is just 3 miles away, while the fabulous Boconnoc House, Eden Project, shipwreck museum and tall ships harbour at Charlestown, and the picturesque fishing villages of Mevagissey, Fowey and Padstow, with the famous Rick Stein restaurants, are all within easy driving distance. The tumbling Atlantic surf, long sandy beaches and dramatic coastline of the north coast, including at the renowned Newquay, make for great days out and there is also chance to enjoy river canoeing, biking, hiking and leisurely walks in this lovely area. The friendly locals also have ongoing activities, such as the raft race, the famous tug of war, Carnival week and seagull outboard motor races. The river Fowey runs from the town on its 8 mile journey through the fields and wooded valleys to the gentler southern coast, a natural paradise for those who love the sea. Centrally placed, with much to do and see in the immediate area, Lostwithiel is the perfect choice for those seeking a break away from the hectic pace of the tourist resorts.

View more holiday cottages in Lostwithiel

Please note - this property is suitable for a maximum of 4 adults and 2 children