Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 13 minutes ago

7 people have recently viewed this property

The Wagon Linney

Kilkhampton, Cornwall (Ref. 1033560)


(11 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 12

  • Bedrooms 6

  • Bathrooms 4

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Cot available
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Highchair available

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

11 Customer Reviews

  • "We had such a lovely time ."

    We where greeted when we arrived . The house was clean and tidy. The kids enjoyed the swings and sandpit very much. Will definitely be coming back .

    Reviewed by ChelseaJun 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay as a large family, it was lovely to all come together."

    The area was really calm and quiet which was lovely. The cottage accommodated our large group well. We were unsure about the garden as on the listing it never advised that it was separate from the cottage and as it was sectioned off but open through to other garden areas we were unsure if we were allowed on it all and having 2 dogs with us we worried they'd go onto the other cottages garden areas. I think stating that it's a shared garden would be helpful especially as we had 2 young children and 2 dogs with us. The kitchen was well equipped with everything that you could possibly need and more, which was really great. There was a funny smell in the kitchen which made us worry a bit but soon realised it was the boiler. The heating was off as it was either really hot or freezing cold. The water was the same in the ground floor shower either scalding hot or turned it a tiny bit to cool and it was freezing. The taps had little pressure so a bath was out as the water was cold before it got a few inches deep. We were going to bring these things up with the owners when they came by but unfortunately never got to meet them as they never came to introduce themselves or ask how we were getting on. An elderly gentleman had a lovely chat with me and advised he lived at the farm and asked if we'd met the owners but I advised we hadn't so he assumed we'd only arrived that day, we'd actually arrived the day before, so I assume this isn't the norm.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the location. As well as your own garden at the property, you do also have access to the shared grounds, which are also shared with the other properties on site. The boiler was serviced two days before your arrival. So, when the boiler came on, the smell you mention would have been a slight sooty smell, left over from the servicing. The heating is set on a timer. We have checked the water but have not been able to find a problem. However, we will have a look at it again. We are sorry that we didn’t get to meet you, as we were away when you arrived. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GemmaApr 2022

  • "We had a lovely warm welcome."

    The cottage was well equipped and in a beautiful location. We are a large family and the children really enjoyed the huge outdoor space to run around in. It was a great base from which to explore the local area.

    It was lovely to meet you and your family. It was a joy to see and hear them playing. We wish you all the best for the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BenjaminMar 2022

  • "Good broadband reception, parking and well equipped kitchen, a bit of a squeeze at the dining table."

    Could do with an outside light.

    Reviewed by BrianDec 2021

  • "We had a lovely holiday."

    Great location and nice spacious garden for the children.Wagon Linney was well equipped clean and comfortable. Very friendly family who made us very welcome and were always available. Beach nice when low tide. Rocks at high tide. Easy walk to the beach down hill. Steep walk back. Easy drive in the car along single track.

    Reviewed by MartinAug 2021

  • "Large garden ideal for families although unfortunatelyI lost a gold signet ring in the facilities."

    Reviewed by MarjorieJul 2021

  • "The house was well equipped, especially the kitchen."

    The rooms were a very good size and the place was lovely and warm. Parking for four cars was also good. The grounds were very good - our dogs loved the space to run and play ball. There were however a few negatives:- We were woken up in the middle of the night by the most horrendous noise which seemed to be caused by air in the water pipes. This happened again but fortunately in the day time when it didn't disturb anybody. Another, more minor issue was one of the toilets wouldn't flush. One of our party said their mattress was uncomfortable with what felt like a broken spring. I'm sure these issues are easily rectifiable. This might sound like a lot of criticism but it isn't meant to be as we really did enjoy our stay at the Wagon Linney!

    Thank you for you feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your holiday at The Wagon Linney and you had a lovely time. We confirm the toilet flush has been checked and now is working fine and the mattress had fresh topper added. We hope you will visit The Wagon Linney again the future for more wonderful memories. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GeoffMay 2021

  • "The best holiday ever, we have a wonderful weekend, the place is a part of ..."

    The best holiday ever, we have a wonderful weekend, the place is a part of heaven if you enjoy nature, the owners of the place super kind, I recommend the place

    Reviewed by GabrielaMay 2021

  • "Very nice place!"

    Very beautiful and peaceful. The owners are very friendly. We had issue with water but owners were very responsive and came straight away. We loved the house and loved the atmosphere. The ocean is 5 min drive. Really enjoyed the stay.

    Reviewed by AlonaApr 2021

  • "We have had a great stay at the Wagon Linney with a great walk down to the beach."

    The cottage itself was pleasant enough but internet speed was very poor and so was the water pressure. Facilities wise, very good but no Yorkshire Pudding tray and only 3 wine glasses so we had to buy our own. Owners were very helpful and very friendly so all in all a lovely holiday.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Wagon Linney. We are sorry to hear that you experienced issues with the internet speed, we do have Fibre Optic Superfast broadband installed at the property. It is possible that we could have assisted with these issues if you had let us know. The china cabinet contains a number of wine glasses, perhaps you overlooked this. Regarding the Yorkshire Pudding tray, we would happily have lent you one during your stay, but thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will purchase one for the property. It was good to meet you all and we would like to thank you for leaving the property so clean and tidy. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EmmaAug 2020

  • "We are not people to ever leave a review, however we don’t want other families to book this cottage without knowing what the facilities are really like as we feel the description and photos are misleading."

    We knew the cottage was on farm land, however we were of the understanding that the Wagon Linney was a detached cottage on farm land and the farm would be somewhere within the 10 acres of land. However, The wagon Linney is a terraced property along with several other holiday cottages that are within a converted farm building and the cows are kept extremely close therefore the smell is at times very strong and there were constantly many flies in the property which wasn’t very pleasant especially in the kitchen. The grounds are also divided up into garden areas for each property, so you do not have access to walk round the lands. The garden for wagon Linney is across a track and up some steps so you can’t be in your property and looking out at the children in the garden as it is completely separate. As you would expect in Cornwall that the wifi would not be great however we had days where we couldn’t get any WiFi at all until we drove out to a town. Unfortunately we also felt the actual property has been neglected and is in desperate need of some new furniture and flooring / decorating. All of the beds were extremely uncomfortable with springs poking out and the sofas must be very old with an unpleasant smell. The carpets look very old and worn too and you can see on the walls where someone has painted over mould to cover it up. There was also a constant damp smell and there is a washing machine however no tumble dryer therefore we did two washes which took days to dry and smelt very damp therefore had to wash everything again when we got home. Finally, the power in the showers was very weak which was also a shame. We felt we had to leave a review as we didn’t want other people to book and be as disappointed as we were.

    Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. We are sorry you felt that the marketing was misleading we try our best to make sure everything is up to date and reflects the property and facilities. The first photograph of the property clearly shows that the cottages are a group of terraced cottages and we do not state that the property is detached. Each property has its own garden as pictured on the website, the garden at The Wagon Linney has steps to it but can also be accessed from a gateway which is a level entrance. We do not feel that the property is in need of decoration and the facilities are in line with the property's grading. We have washing lines for the properties we do not advertise the properties with tumble drying facilities. We are sorry you had some other issues during your stay, we are disappointed that you did not let us know whilst you were there as we live on the premises and would have been more than happy to help. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SeanAug 2020

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Over two floors, 6 Bedrooms: 1 x ground floor double
  • 3 x double (2 x en-suite) 1 x twin, 1 x bunk bed
  • Bathroom with bath, handheld shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor bathroom with double shower cubicle, WC and basin
  • Sitting room with TV and comfy sofas
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Central heating, electric oven, fridge/freezer, toaster, kettle, dishwasher, microwave, washing machine, TV/DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Off-road parking for four cars
  • Lawned garden with furniture.Two well-behaved pets welcome, sorry no smoking
  • Note: There are a number of ponds at this property, children should be supervised
  • Note: This property has a 4pm arrival time
  • Note: Two well-behaved dogs are welcome at this property but as this is a working farm, dogs must be kept on a lead whilst in the grounds and it is essential that you clean up after your animals

The property

This handsome, detached stone barn conversion is part of the 200 acre Lee Barton Farm estate and is set within acres of private grounds.

A traditional stone barn, The Wagon Linney offers six spacious and well-presented bedrooms accessed via two separate staircases, offering flexible sleeping for one or two families.

You've a choice of four doubles (two with...

Note: There are a number of ponds at this property, children should be supervised. Note: This property has a 4pm arrival time. Note: Two well-behaved dogs are welcome at this property but as this is a working farm, dogs must be kept on a lead whilst in the grounds and it is essential that you clean up after your animals.

Lee Barton Farm

Amidst beautiful countryside, close to the North Cornwall coast is Lee Barton Farm. Family run for generations, you're assured of a warm welcome. Explore the 10 acres of woods and grounds or relax with a picnic around one of the pretty wildlife ponds. The National Trust's Duckpool, a remote beach with rock pools overlooked by cliffs is just 2 miles by road or can be reached via a picturesque walk leading from the farm. Nearby Bude has two further excellent sandy beaches and a good selection of cafes, pubs, shops and restaurants.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Bude 4 miles.

Kilkhampton is an historic Cornish village, 4 miles from the popular Victorian seaside resort of Bude, one of Cornwall’s premier holiday locations. With its old church, village shops and atmospheric village pubs, Kilkhampton is a lovely place to relax after a hard day exploring the stunning beaches and spectacular coastal scenery for which the area is famous. Bude’s beaches attract surfers from all over the country and when conditions are right you’d be hard pushed to find better surf. When the tide is out, miles of golden sand and hundreds of rock pools keep visitors occupied for hours. The South West Coast Path, and many other rights-of-way winding over the clifftops and through lush green fields looking out over the sea, make this area a haven for walkers and lovers of the open countryside. For those who prefer staying closer to home, a good shopping centre and a selection of pubs, two clubs and restaurants are on offer. Bude canal, a registered nature reserve, passes through the town, and rowing a boat along its calm waters or walking the towpath among the beautiful (and friendly) water fowl that live among the reeds is a great way to spend an hour or two. Within the area there are also 2 golf courses, an indoor swimming pool, bowling alley at the leisure centre. A perfect location for all that North Cornwall has to offer.

Region Information

Note: For the weeks of Christmas 2020 and New Year 2020, bookings must honour the changeover days of Tuesday 22nd December and Tuesday 29th December.

Note: If you intend to charge an electric car at the property, there will be a fee of £10 per day for this amenity

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it