Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Cuckoo's Cottage - Cornwall - 959493 - photo 1

Cuckoo's Cottage

(Ref. 959493)

Falmouth, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Off road parking
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (15)
  • cottage (15)
  • clean (15)
  • stay (13)
  • our (11)
  • location (10)

34 Customer Reviews

  • "We found Cuckoo’s Cottage very comfortable."

    We were very warm and cosy during a very wet and windy week! Everything was very neat and clean. We were pleased we had chosen to stay here - a lovely secluded spot. Thank you so much!

    Reviewed by Jeanne5.0Dec 2023

  • "Very enjoyable stay, very clean."

    The only things to improve would be sofa cushions & a coffee table, but recommend.

    Reviewed by Brian4.4Oct 2023

  • "The location was great, nice and quiet and good facilities on site."

    The setting was lovely, close to the town centre and a short walk to some local beaches. The house was as listed, but we just had a problem with a few of things: The rug and the curtains in the living room were covered in dog hairs. It seemed like it hadn’t even been vacuumed before our stay. When we tried to vacuum it ourselves (which we were not happy about having to do on our holiday) the vacuum was terrible, and we had to request a new bag from the onsite restaurant to give it another go. There was also a lot of dog hairs and debris between the sofa cushions, which was not nice to see. When we enquired though, the housekeeper did come out to vacuum the property again, but it was still not 100% clean. Not a good start to our holiday. There were only 2 toilet rolls in the house- there was 4 adults and 1 child staying there for a week- this was never going to be enough. When we enquired, we were given an extra 2 but even this was not enough, and we ended up having to purchase our own. It’s not on the listing that you have to bring your own toilet roll- so this needs to be addressed. There is no Wi-Fi, this was an inconvenience but not the end of the world. However, from a facilities point of view, there was a DVD player, but no DVDs. It did not state on the listing that there was a DVD player so obviously we didn’t bring any with us. The listing needs to be updated really. Or the property need me Wi-Fi. There is a smart tv so it seems pointless not to have Wi-Fi. The airer has been commented on in previous reviews, but this has not been removed from the property. it is broken and there are bits of sharp and rusty metal pointing out. This needs to be removed from the property as it is not safe or fit for purpose. There was no ‘welcome pack’ for us at the property, so we did not know the opening times or door codes for any of the facilities and had to enquire with the onsite restaurant, who were more than happy to help but rightly pointed out that it’s not their responsibility to give out this information. One last little thing- coat hangers. There are facilities to put away and hang clothes in the bedrooms which is great. But the coat hangers are all random. I just think a little finishing touch would be to get some matching coat hangers, so it doesn’t look all so put together. I hope this feedback will be addressed and relevant changes made to the property and listing.

    Great to hear you enjoyed the location and on site facilities at Cuckoo's Nest, we are however sorry to hear of the cleanliness issues you have raised. Following a visit from our quality assurance team and the positive comments since your stay we can confirm that all points have been addressed by the owner and his housekeeper. We do not advertise wifi but you will see from previous responses this is something the owner is looking into. As a self catering property we do only provide enough toiletries for the first couple of days. A welcome pack has now been put together, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Lastly coat hangers have also now been provided. Thank you once again for taking the time to complete your review following your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shannon4.1Sep 2023

  • "Very much enjoyed our holiday Sept2-9 at Cuckoo's Lodge."

    This cottage chosen because of availability, price & dog friendly has a good layout within, generally well equipped and very comfortable. Thank you for the complimentary milk,tea,coffee,sugar&biscuits;. However, we did have a few niggles which we would like to bring to attention:- a)No WiFi Connection. This was an inconvenience when needing to access internet for local information, plus as mobile signal was also weak & fickle internet access would have enabled us to use email facility to contact family more easily. b) Over sink light in 1st floor bathroom didn't work ? c) Allocated car parking space seemed narrow. d) Kitchen Equipment LACKED the following:- i) Can opener that actually/successfully worked - those supplied not easy to use! ii)Good supply of teaspoons and dessert spoons (knives&forks; were plentiful). iii) Small milk saucepan for use when only small quantity of food/liquid required heating not suited to microwave. iv) Average 2-4 cup sized teapot - one supplied = too big for small brew. Glad we took our own! v) Average 1-pint measuring jug , plastic or pyrex. Again, glad we took our own. vi) Food Tongs. vii) Bottle of Washing Up Liquid - Not everyone wants to use a dishwasher. viii) Henry hoover brush head seemed well worn; either needed good clean or replacing. Hope these observations are useful without seeming too critical! We will certainly consider returning for a holiday on the Pendra Loweth site through Sykes Cottages.

    We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Cuckoo's Nest. To clarify we do not advertise wifi here however it is something the owner is looking at providing possibly in the future. We have asked the housekeeper to check through the kitchen items and to ensure Henry the hoover is working as expected. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Edward4.4Sep 2023

  • "Firstly, positive comments."

    We had a great holiday, well placed for surrounding area, the site was well kept and had an electric charging port which was great. We ate in the restaurant on Tuesday and can highly recommend but you MUST book in advance as they get full quickly - we found this out on the Monday when we tried and they were full and weren’t able to facilitate a takeaway as they were so busy - which shows it’s excellent food! We had a relaxing holiday and would return however, When we arrived there was a terrible smell Of damp/mould. Found that this was coming from under the sink, mould was visible. I have taken photos. We tried to use the oven which when we opened the door (once it was hot) we realised it had t been cleaned for quite some time, the smell of burnt fat and the smoke coming out of it wasn’t pleasant - all windows had to be opened quickly. Not sure if smoke alarm worked as it didn’t set off. All the windows were very dirty (around the edges) in fact I would say the paintwork hasn’t been cleaned for a while! Again I have photos. The bathroom, around the bath, also needs some attention. Also there wasn’t any information on what do to with bedding etc at the end of the holiday - we would stay again as we had a good holiday.

    Thank you for providing a review following your stay. We are sorry to hear of the points you raise, had you contacted us during your stay we would have been more than happy to have visited the property to help resolve these. We are delighted to reassure yourself and future guests that the owner has sorted the issues that required attention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen3.1Aug 2023

  • "Kitchen Taps leaky,toaster was broken,laundry airer was broken,shower went cold after a while and with 5 adults not ideal,both toilets took an age to fill,no Wi-Fi not ideal however generally comfortable and fabulous location."

    Facilities on site very good.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback, following a visit from our quality assurance team recently we can confirm that all of the issues you mention have now been resolved. We do not advertise Cuckoo's Nest as having wifi although this is something we are trying to encourage the owner to install. So pleased to hear that despite the points mentioned you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Iain3.4Jul 2023

  • "Excellent stay no complaints except the keycode would not work so we had the receptions emergency key."

    Reviewed by Sharon4.7Jun 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay here with the family a great base for touring Cornwall."

    Great to have some milk, tea, coffee on our arrival and parking was just across from the front of the house. Only grumbles was not being able to work out how to turn off the heater in the front room and the hot water on a couple of occasions wasn’t working and needed a bath for our youngest. Also Wi-Fi would have been a god send here. There was only my husband who had a signal out of us all. Didn’t think it would have been an issue but will know for next time.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to explore Cornwall. The heaters can be turned down, to turn the heater off you need to switch it off at the wall. The hot water is via an immersion tank, there is also a boost button for the hot water. Sometimes not having Wi-Fi can be a blessing if people want to get away and switch off from things. We hope that this wouldn't deter you from returning and we would love to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rebecca3.8Apr 2023

  • "Really great stay thanks very much!"

    It was a delight to stay in a really well presented and maintained place. Being able to bring 2 dogs was really helpful. Good luck.

    Reviewed by Beverley5.0Feb 2023

  • "Absolutely lovely cottage, warm and clean and had everything we needed to make our stay pleasant."

    We did have to buy a DVD player from the local Asda to watch movies in the evenings due to the one in the cottage not compatible with the newer smart tv. The walk to Maenporth beach was delightful and mainly flat so highly recommend this too!

    Reviewed by Andrew4.1Dec 2022

  • "We were disappointed with how ill equipped Cuckoo’s cottage was compared to other s/c accommodation we have stayed in both at Pendra Loweth and elsewhere."

    These are some of the problems we found : No oven dishes (4 lids!) No dishes suitable for cooking in microwave Not many spoons No heating - then too hot No light bulb in lamp Dishwasher tablet release not working No mesh for grill pan - had to use oven shelf Draining spoon broken We still enjoyed our stay though!

    Hello, as soon as you reported the items to the office we went out and purchased a set of casserole dishes and a set of cutlery. We checked the heater, which was reset, if it was too hot I believe it could have been turned down. We also put a bulb in the table lamp. We will check on the dishwasher tablet release, the mesh for grill pan, and the draining spoon. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.1Oct 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage everything that we needed clean and tidy Maybe a little shop ..."

    Beautiful cottage everything that we needed clean and tidy Maybe a little shop there to get bits that we could buy there eg newspapers milk biscuits snacks

    Reviewed by Jamie5.0Oct 2022

  • "Thankyou so much for the pleasure of using your accomadation my daughter her ..."

    Thankyou so much for the pleasure of using your accomadation my daughter her boyfriend and myself enjoyed our break especially as it was a holiday which also included my daughter s graduation after her three year stay at Falmouth Once again an enjoyable break and a lovely home we also played monopoly every night the games were a bonus would love to stay again Mrs Bibby

    Reviewed by Eileen5.0Jul 2022

  • "Very nice, well equipped house in well kept complex."

    Convenient private parking opposite the front door. You have to go down a narrow lane to get there, but it is only about a third of a mile from the main road. Note to owner/Sykes: The house has a downstairs toilet which is not mentioned in the description.

    Reviewed by Terence5.0May 2022

  • "Spacious, spotlessly clean, powerful shower, comfortable beds, quality towels, ..."

    Spacious, spotlessly clean, powerful shower, comfortable beds, quality towels, good kitchen utensils, a coffee table would be useful, small, cold pool good for children, beautiful gardens, lovely area, family orientated, nice and quiet at night

    Reviewed by Eunice5.0Apr 2022

  • "A welcome pack with info regarding possible wifi connection and info on places to visit etc would be really helpful."

    While it was lovely to have a week with no wifi/internet signal, it proved a little frustrating at times when trying to make contact with friends/taxi firms.

    Reviewed by Kerry4.4Apr 2022

  • "Property was lovely."

    Very comfy and cosy. Only issue we had was not with the property but with another property who let their dogs off lead and didn't clean up their dog mess. But we were extremely pleased with the location and the cottage itself.

    Reviewed by Lorraine5.0Oct 2021

  • "The home was beautiful, clean and tidy on the surface but there was several items left by the previous guest including a box of cereal, clothing tags and a used face mask."

    The beds were also extremely soft and uncomfortable but that is more a personal preference.

    Reviewed by Joanna3.4Aug 2021

  • "On arrival we found the tv not working correctly, considering this was mentioned in the last 2 reviews I am unsure why it had not been replaced before our stay, however once speaking with Sykes it was replaced promptly."

    The accommodation was absolutely fine for us, however the cleanliness was not. The on-site bar charged around twice the price of a public house so would recommend finding a local pub. Facilities were still shut due to covid, so cannot comment on these.

    Reviewed by Dawn2.8Jul 2021

  • "Lovely cottage, however TV was faulty from day 1 and needs replacing."

    Also a full length mirror would have been nice and although I understood that there was no WiFi, because Pendra Loweth is a ‘dead zone’ WiFi would have been appreciated. Insufficient toilet paper was provided and a welcome pack with some local info would have been nice. Pendra Loweth is a lovely holiday complex and a great location for Falmouth and surrounding areas. Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and have booked for next year!

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I can confirm that the TV has now been replaced - thank you for bringing this to our attention. Wifi is not available at this cottage so this was not included on the listing. With self-catering properties a starter amount of basics such a toilet roll and washing up liquid might be provided but the expectation is that guests will purchase their own supplies thereafter. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay otherwise and a delighted to see you'll be returning next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola4.1Jun 2021

  • "The cottage was good but the tv had a line through it so hard to watch and the facilities were next to none on the Pendra Loweth site!"

    No shop, no signal, pool wasnt open and the pub wasnt serving food just snacks. Wasnt very good for kids as nothing near by to do at all. Had to travel far for shops and a meal out. No infornation in the cottage or the area. No wifi in cottage.

    Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cuckoo's Cottage. I can confirm that the TV has now been replaced. This property isn't listed with wifi. Unfortunately the on-site facilities have been affected by Covid restrictions and we have kept all affected customers up-to-date on this. We are sorry to hear this impacted your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha3.4Jun 2021

  • "We ordinarily stay near St Ives, and book direct with the place we stay, but struggled to book this year."

    We searched a few cottage sites, and Sykes had just what we wanted, we would 100% consider returning here in future. Absolutely fantastic! Could not fault anything. Spacious for the 5 of us (3 adults, 2 teens) and had everything we would need, and more. All linen and towels were spotless, beds already made for us, and in general, was clean, tidy and homely. The weather was glorious, around 20°C most days, but the house stayed cool and comfortable. Little touches, such as ensuring hand soap was provided by all sinks already, and even dishwasher tabs, meant that we could keep clean, tidy and safe given the current covid rules. The site itself was absolutely beautiful! So quiet and relaxing. Just perfect!

    Reviewed by Gareth5.0May 2021

  • "Some lovely people but also came across some rather ignorant individuals."

    Not having an enclosed garden made it more difficult with dogs. Beautiful park but due to location couldn't walk anywhere without going in the car first. An area where dogs can be off lead would be helpful. Holiday cottage was a great size for 5 of us and very clean, but I didn't enjoy frantically hoovering and cleaning before leaving in fear of being charged extra!

    Reviewed by Donna5.0May 2021

  • "Really pleased with booking and accommodation."

    Telephone and booking answered and taken efficiently. Very dissapointed the amount of time to get through to Sykes on the day of departure to report problem, that would have affected next occupant. Tried from 9.00 to 11.00 to report

    Reviewed by Mark5.0May 2021

  • "Excellent location with walks to Swanpool Beach, Maenport Beach, Gyllyngvase Beach and Falmouth from the door."

    Glendurgan and Trelissick Gardens very close by. Ideal for touring Falmouth, Penzance, Perranporth and Newquay areas. St Mawes ferry is good too. Lovely property which was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Just a bit of TLC needed - hot tap in cloakroom doesn't work, light above mirror in the main bathroom doesn't work and the dining chair seat pads need to be secured as they are loose. We only used the on-site clubhouse one evening, just for a drink. Staff were friendly and the food looked nice. Reception staff were helpful and friendly too.

    Reviewed by Lesley4.4Sep 2020

  • "We thought that we would have an enclosed garden for the baby and the dog."

    Unfortunatly when we got there the garden was all open plan. Apart from that it was a lovely cottage and we all enjoyed the break. The cottage was like home from home, comfortable and everything we could have wanted. The on site restuarant food was superb. We are vegans and the vegan mighty mountain meal was the best we ever tasted!! Thank you for a wonderful holidy that 3 generations and our dog,really enjoyed.

    Reviewed by Serina5.0Sep 2020

  • "The on site facilities were poor."

    Take away food limited and of poor quality and reception was not open. In the cottage, some of the furniture looked tired / worn and needed some attention and some light bulbs needed replacing. We would return to this place again based purely on location.

    Reviewed by Jayne3.8Aug 2020

  • "We booked Cuckoo’s Cottage (No."

    31) for four nights for a family consisting of four adults and two children. The location of the site was excellent as it is only a short drive (5 minutes) from a small beach (Swanpool) and only a little longer drive to Falmouth. The staff on site were very friendly but we didn’t try out the restaurant as there were so many lovely places to eat out in close proximity (driving). There is a children’s play area on site but the swimming pool was a very disappointing tiny size (not much bigger than the jacuzzi that was next to it). Parking for our two cars was no problem close to the house as we had an allocated space and there were about four unallocated spaces available in the same row. There is a recycling policy on site and bins were very accessible at a short distance. We had some lovely walks on site and in the area. However, it should be noted that there was no wi-fi and mobile signals were sporadic at best. Neither my son nor his wife could use their mobiles whilst on site. The main disappointment that we had was that there was no hot water in the house after about 6pm and we had to have one or two cold showers as a result. Also, due to the situation with the pandemic, there is a procedure written down for packing up laundry which says that it should all be placed in a laundry bag which is provided (no, it wasn’t). I think we would probably return to this site if we need to tour Cornwall again.

    Reviewed by Pete4.1Aug 2020

  • "The holiday home was lovely."

    ...well equipped, clean and complimentary tea and coffee (milk and biscuits too) which waa most welcome after a 6 hour drive .... a lovely quiet location, but the perfect base to visit many places in south west and east Cornwall... we had a lovely Christmas stay ... and pets are welcome, so our beloved dog had an amazing holiday too our only issue was that the first night was very cold as the heating didnt kick in until the following day .... this was our first booking through Sykes and we have since booked through Sykes again as we were impressed with this property

    Reviewed by Sarah3.8Dec 2019

  • "Perfect location to explore Cornwall ."

    the house had all you require with the exception of wi fi . clean comfortable . the site itself is perfect for children safe and secure . will definitely book again

    Reviewed by Karen4.4Aug 2019

  • "All the staff we encountered were brilliant: polite, friendly and helpful."

    The day we arrived there was a staffing mix up at the bar/café. A lady finally arrived and within 5 minutes she'd got everything sorted out - she was lovely. The beach is a short distance away - about 5 minutes in a car, 25 minutes walk along the road or 40 minutes using the footpath. We had a lovely time and the children (10 and 14) enjoyed the freedom of being able to use the games room.

    Reviewed by V4.4Aug 2019

  • "The kitchen was lacking some equipment we had expected - nor cafetiere, three Pyrex lids but no bowls to go with them."

    The innards of a lettuce shaker but no outside container (so un-usable). Further away from Falmouth than I had imagined in the listing

    Reviewed by Tim3.8Aug 2019

  • "We had a good break at Cuckoo's Cottage."

    On the plus side, the cottage was bright, clean and tidy, the living area was spacious, the holiday park was very quiet and the parking was more than adequate; the fudge, gingerbread, milk and tea/coffee we found on arrival was also a nice touch, and the shower was powerful. However, the kitchen needs a bit more equipment. We had to go out and buy some extra glasses ourselves so that we had enough. Previous comments about the sofa being uncomfortable are also true; we noticed that the back of one sofa had melted against the storage heater. We think both need replacing. Granted, the TV is small (about 19") but we weren't intending to spend the week watching movies, so that was not a problem. The downstairs loo was a godsend as I'd put my back out while packing the car the day we arrived! Out of season, there is not much to do around here - my daughter and son-in-law got temporarily stranded for want of a ferry while attempting a stretch of the SW Coast Path - and you won't get anywhere without a car. We painted pottery, sampled fish and chips and pottered around on the beaches most of the week!

    Reviewed by Graham4.1Feb 2019

  • "The cottage was in a tired state - missing light bulbs and blown light bulbs."

    Heating totally inadequate downstairs for winter visits Television size ridiculously small Settees uncomfortable

    Reviewed by Martin3.1Feb 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Over two floors
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x twin room (low beds)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, sitting area and dining area.
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, dishwasher
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Allocated off road parking for 1 car
  • Private patio with picnic bench
  • Pets welcome at £15 each per week
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Pub and restaurant 1 mile
  • Beach 1 mile
  • Note: Laundry facilities on site
  • Note: On-site facilities have seasonal opening times
  • Note: The shared splash/plunge pool is approximately 3 metres on either side with a 1.4 metre depth.It has a maximum capacity of 4 people at any one time
  • Note: Car charging points are available outside of the office next to the disabled car parking bay
  • Note: Twin beds are low
  • Note: Wifi is not available at this property.

The property

Cuckoo's Cottage is a spacious cottage in the Village of Gardens holiday site, a village of purpose built and privately owned self-catering holiday cottages at Pendra Loweth near Falmouth.

It is thoughtfully furnished, with a large open plan living space and French doors leading onto patio and shared gardens.

The well equipped kitchen has ample work area and there are three bedrooms, a twin and two doubles.

There is a patio and parking space in front of the house and visitor parking nearby.

You will find Cuckoo's Cottage on the south side of the Village, set along the stream which runs the length of the grounds.

Children can play Pooh Sticks on the ornate wooden bridge while you relax on your patio.

Access to the South West coast path from Maenporth or Swanpool.

Just a few minutes stroll to the central amenities, those who have not ventured to the beach may enjoy a dip in the Splash Pool, Jacuzzi or a work out in the Gym.

Guests wanting to enjoy a game of tennis are just a stone's throw away from the all-weather courts whilst.

Nearby Falmouth is home to the National Maritime Museum and visitors will enjoy an amble through the narrow streets lined with shops, galleries, restaurants and possibly a boat trip across the River Fal or up the Truro River.

North Helford and Falmouth are perhaps the quintessential Cornish visitor destinations; a mix of beach, creek and woodland serve some of the most interesting and historic villages and towns.

With onsite facilities including tennis courts, children's outdoor play area and an indoor plunge pool (seasonal opening hours), this is a great family destination.

View on map

About the location


Mabe 3 miles; Penryn 2 miles; Truro 11 miles.

Falmouth, with its magnificent natural harbour (the third largest in the world), winding streets and beaches, will keep you occupied for hours. The town's old harbour-side pubs, excellent shopping, art gallery and stunning National Maritime Museum simply complete the picture. Pendennis Castle, built by Henry VIII, is Falmouth's most popular attraction, sited on its own peninsula with superb panoramic sea views. Across from Falmouth harbour is the beautiful town of St Mawes, surrounded by the rocky coves, sandy beaches and lush green countryside of the Roseland Peninsula. Go there by car (15 miles) or take the passenger ferry from Falmouth (15 minutes). For nature lovers there is the Swanpool Nature Reserve, a lagoon and site of special scientific interest teeming with a variety of wildlife. There is also a golf course. Falmouth offers such a rich variety of landscape and attractions for people of all ages, it is sure to tempt you back time and again.

View more holiday cottages in Falmouth

Note: Check in time for this property is 4pm.
Note: Pets must be kept on leads when on the Pendra Loweth estate
Note: Sorry, no sign written vans or commercial vehicles are permitted at Pendra Loweth, Village of Gardens resort.
Note: Bookings for any other reason than holiday/leisure are not permitted on this site. This property cannot be used as private accommodation for work or business trips.
Note: On site laundry facilities
Note: Seasonal opening times apply to the bar, restaurant, pool and Jacuzzi. The season usually runs from the beginning of April to end of October annually. The gym, tennis courts and children’s play area are available year-round.
Note: The shared splash/plunge pool is approximately 3 metres on either side with a 1.4 metre depth. It has a maximum capacity of 4 people at any one time