Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 4 minutes ago

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 36 View Image Gallery
  • Mill - Cornwall - 959065 - photo 1
close

Mill

(Ref. 959065)

Nancegollan, nr Porthleven, Cornwall Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (18)
  • great (18)
  • mill (16)
  • location (14)
  • cottage (12)
  • our (11)

45 Customer Reviews

  • "Absolutely great property."

    Wonderful sitting room with a great sense of space. So warm that the wood burner was hardly used. ( November ). The whole property was ideal for us and we will be returning soon.

    Thanks Andrew glad you had a good stay ,look forward to your return ,see you soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Nov 2023

  • "Local pub advertised within 1."

    5 miles does not exist

    Sorry Neville ,yes our very near local pup at crowntown has recently closed and the nearest pub is now the st albyn arms at praze en beeble 1and a half miles away . I hope this did not inconvenience you too much Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neville4.1Oct 2023

  • "A lovely place to base ourselves."

    Plenty of space with good facilities. Jon and Carol were great hosts. The children loved being ‘on the farm’. We would definitely recommend and starting to plan our next visit already.

    Reviewed by Jane4.4Sep 2023

  • "Information on cottage at the time of booking was not accurate, it was not safe for children, a farm driveway in between house and garden, and tractor with a large spiked implement on the back was just out side the front of house, very unkempt garden area, and the house needed a deep clean."

    This could be a lovely place with some TLC Great location for visiting places and sight seeing. Disappointing

    I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the mill I am sorry about the tractor being close to the mill but august is the harvest month even though the weather was horrible we are a working farm so I had to move hay bales . My apologies if the garden was not up to scratch we are changing the gardens around at the moment, and the weather this august is making it hard for both guest and owner to enjoy the grounds . Our cleaning standard is usually quite high as you can see from ratings so remain a little confused as to why you rated as in need of a deep clean but point taken thanks we will keep an eye out as we are pet friendly and this can sometimes be an issue with dogs coming off the beaches assuming they are the culprits ,many thanks Jonathan Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine2.8Aug 2023

  • "A great place to stay being fairly central you are able to visit many places the ..."

    A great place to stay being fairly central you are able to visit many places the people who own the property are very nice and helpful hope to go back again

    Thanks for the review Martin ,glad you had a good stay hope to see you again one day ! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Jun 2023

  • "A magical place to stay!"

    We loved The Mill & can’t wait to return. Ideally located, heaps of space both inside & outside, we had a perfect week.

    Thanks Lisa,pleased to hear you had a happy time Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0May 2023

  • "We had a lovely week at The Mill."

    It was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. We couldn’t find anything at fault with it and would highly recommend it to others. Set in a quiet area with plenty of walks to explore, we were also allowed to feed the pigs on the farm too. It’s ideally located for exploring the area and local tourist attractions. The owners were friendly and helpful. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Your welcome Gillian ,thanks for the positive review Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian5.0Apr 2023

  • "We had a lovely week in your warm, cosy Mill."

    Ideal location with easy access to many locations. Hope to book again sometime, would recommend.

    Thank you very much Suzanne ,be glad to see you again one day , good to hear you had a good time Property Owner

    Reviewed by Suzanne5.0Mar 2023

  • "Very accomidating hosts, they had reccommendations of places to go locally and helped us find somewhere to camp afterwards."

    I would Highly reccomend.

    Thanks for the kind words Alex Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alex5.0Nov 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at the mill in Nancegollan."

    It was a lovely barn conversion with nice furnishings , very cosy and comfortable. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful . A much added bonus were the goats, pigs and alpacas , I myself loved to pop over each morning with my red bucket filled with goodies for them . We enjoyed being able to walk through the fields adjoining the farm with our dogs. As a general note for Sykes as a company , this was a complex of properties, and should be advertised when booking . Will hopefully be returning soon .

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We do mention that there are two other holiday cottages on site, and these are bookable through us to accommodate more guests if needed! Property Owner

    4.4Oct 2022

  • "A lovely comfortable, well equipped cottage."

    We did mention to the owner about a handle for the shower over the bath to aid the "more elderly" visitors, which he totally agreed with. Otherwise it was faultless and the owners were delightful and helpful. The animals in the fields were an added attraction. Lovely pubs and beaches nearby.

    Reviewed by Catherine4.7Sep 2022

  • "Very happy with the home, but the pillows for us was to soft."

    But that just us

    Reviewed by Daniel4.1Aug 2022

  • "The MOST fantastic holiday cottage."

    Absolutely perfect for families. Could not fault it at all. The owners are so lovely, chatted with the kids (and adults!) the garden is just fantastic, the house is stunning. Clean, spacious, well equipped. This was our second time here and we already want to come back again! Thank you for a great stay :-)

    Thank you very much Nikki ,glad that you had another great stay on my farm Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nikki5.0May 2022

  • "Great place for a big family to stay People are lovely and will always help if ..."

    Great place for a big family to stay People are lovely and will always help if asked Would highly recommend this place for a holiday in cornwall

    Reviewed by Philip5.0May 2022

  • "Lovely property has everything you need to have a great holiday ."

    (We went to our nieces wedding at Stennack Farm which was a fantastic day ! ) The Mill is a wonderfully converted barn , and perfectly positioned for visiting many places in West Cornwall

    Reviewed by Fay5.0Oct 2021

  • "Sadly we read a review from previous guests who had reported wasps/bees in the property Also the blockage of the sink in the family bathroom We noted that the owner had promised immediate attention to the sink This was not the case and just cleaning teeth was enough to fill the sink ."

    The owner told us on our arrival that there had been a problem with bees and we may see the odd one. In fact each day we had to deal with numerous bees/ wasps. As we had a dog in the party this was of great concern. Whilst the property was comfortable there were issues with drawer and wardrobe handles that stuck consistently just a little beeswax could have solved this. In the on suite shower the shower head was hanging off the wall and had to be screwed back in place We have stayed at other Sykes properties in Cornwall and always been very happy. We would not return to the Mill I’m afraid The surroundings on the farm we’re in a very neglected state .

    Thank you for your feedback. We apologise about the bees, they have been an ongoing issue this summer. We have taken professional advise on how to combat the issue but it has failed. They are now dormant and will be removed. We were not made aware of the sink at the time, had we known, we would have fixed the problem quickly and efficiently. Sorry about the issue with the wardrobes. They are good quality solid oak wardrobes but have been supplied with inferior handles that will be replaced. We will also have a look at the shower head but this was only replaced 6 weeks ago. The unkept surroundings also mentioned will be addressed too. Thanks again for your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maryrose3.4Oct 2021

  • "Lovely accommodation, spacious comfortable beds, good having bathroom next to 2nd bedroom, and toilet on first level was useful and the hosts are friendly and helpful, location excellent for traveling, around area."

    We would recommend this area and accomodation.

    Reviewed by Gail5.0Oct 2021

  • "SURROUNDING OUTDOOR AREAS NEEDS TIDYING UP, RATHER SCRUFFY."

    WASP NESTS ON 2 CORNERS OF THE BARN SO COULDN'T LEAVE WINDOWS OR BACK DOOR OPEN FOR FRESH AIR. THEY STILL GOT IN SOMEHOW ABOUT 20 A DAY RESULTING IN 1 PERSON GETTING STUNG TWICE. BATHROOM SINK SEMI BLOCKED. WOULD BE BETTER IF A PRIVATE ENCLOSED GARDEN WAS DESIGNATED TO EACH PROPERTY. WILL NOT RETURN

    Thank you very much for your feedback, we’re sad to read of your disappointment. We’ve been in contact with the owners concerning your comments who have advised us of the following, which we hope is useful to you and other guests. Firstly, it is honey bees rather than wasps. The owners tried to move the nest earlier in the summer, but sadly found that they cannot do so without killing them. They therefore decided to wait until they left of their own natural causes which they thought they had done. It looks as though they’ve returned however, so the owners will look to tackle this permanently. We don’t actually advertise an enclosed garden here, so one shouldn’t be expected. Nevertheless, improvements to the layout of the garden are in the pipeline to help make it more enclosed. Finally, thank you for letting us know about the washbasin which will be checked upon immediately. We’re very sad that you wouldn’t choose to return, happily the overwhelming majority of guests (as can be seen in the feedback) feel differently and we look forward to welcoming more visitors to ‘Mill’ over the coming weeks and months. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia2.5Sep 2021

  • "Wished we booked 2 weeks instead of 1!"

    Reviewed by Christian5.0Jul 2021

  • "The Mill is situated well for visiting the stunning areas of this part of Cornwall"

    Reviewed by Peter4.4Oct 2020

  • "Very nice quiet area,well situated for visiting lots of attractions."

    The upsidedown layout worked really well as gives good views of surrounding area.Would definitely stay there again.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Oct 2019

  • "This is a beautiful property in a great location - within striking distance of so many beautiful place so."

    We were made to feel extremely welcome, with a bottle of wine in the fridge and cream tea provided, and it is very well equipped with everything from washing tablets to cling film provided. They layout is great. The TV wasn’t working but the owner was on hand to try to sort it out. Absolutely no complaints - we will be back!

    Reviewed by Annette5.0Oct 2019

  • "The Mill, and Its host were very accommodating, the facilities were as described and in excellent order."

    We found The Mill's location good during our stay, making easy access to the North and South. We enjoyed our week finding it quiet and relaxing, would certainly recommend! Peter, Emma, Boys and Dogs

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Sep 2019

  • "Lovely place and the owner was really friendly, garden was unfortunately not enclosed for the dog but was still lovely."

    Definitely will recommend this to anyone that stays and will be booming again soon

    Reviewed by Adam4.4Sep 2019

  • "Just back from a stay at the Mill."

    3 nights out of 7 we had freezing cold water. Engineer was eventually called and sorted the problem. Paid £1500 for a week and was offered a measly £148 compensation as a ‘good Will gesture’ - would any of you actually pay £1350 for a house that has no hot water for half of your stay ???

    Reviewed by Danielle1.3Aug 2019

  • "The host, John, met us with a warm welcome and was really friendly and helpful."

    The accommodation at the Mill was beautifully designed for family living, well equipped and comfortable. Home from home. Also, the location was excellent for exploring the southern Cornish peninsula.

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Jul 2019

  • "Had a lovely family holiday staying at The Mill."

    Super accommodation, with quality facilities. Plenty of outside space and very quiet and peaceful. Great location for us as we enjoy visiting area from the Lizard in the South to Godrevy in the North. Would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jun 2019

  • "Super, clean, well appointed cottage in the exact location we needed."

    Our only disappointment is that we did not see any mention of the fact it was an 'upside down' house. This was lovely from the point of views and space but we brought with us a very old and less than mobile dog who had to be carried up and down the stairs several times a day. We might well have chosen elsewhere if we had realized the implications of the layout. Otherwise we would highly recommend The Mill to other holidaymakers.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.4May 2019

  • "The most amazing cottage."

    Everyone was so friendly with our children and made us feel very welcome. Very central. We had the best stay and have not stopped talking about how amazing the cottage was. We felt very at home.

    Reviewed by Nikki5.0May 2019

  • "Just got home from a week in the Mill."

    Lovely accommodation, and great garden areas for the children. The bottle of wine and cream tea waiting in the house on arrival was a lovely surprise! Fresh flowers in every room were a nice touch. Great location to visit lots of places, although we didn’t find the pub within walking distance!

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Apr 2019

  • "Very good holiday cottage with helpful, friendly owner."

    Cream tea and wine was a lovely surprise, and much appreciated. Garden and surroundings great for teenagers. Beautiful area.

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Mar 2019

  • "Add to the directions that using the postcode on the satnav does not take you to the right place"

    Reviewed by John4.4Mar 2019

  • "Fabulous cottage."

    The owners had thought of absolutely everything you might need and were also on hand to offer help if required.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Mar 2019

  • "The owners were very welcoming, kindly providing a cream tea, wine, bread and milk."

    The house was spacious, comfortable, cosy and very well equipped. It was very peaceful. We stayed two nights and it was a great base for us. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Ed5.0Mar 2019

  • "This is the third time we have been to The Mill and we will be booking again."

    The owner is particularly helpful and friendly, the accommodation is spacious and well presented and the situation is peaceful and great for local areas. Love it!

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Oct 2018

  • "Myself and my family had a lovely stay at The Mill."

    It was a lot more spacious than expected and had everything we needed. The owners and neighbours were so welcoming and friendly too. It was really nice to see the farm animals in the morning which I probably enjoyed more than the children! I also thought the location was close to a lot of places we wanted to visit which worked out great. We would recommend this to anyone with kids or without. Thanks so much for a great stay! X

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Aug 2018

  • "The cottage was thoughtfully equipped and very comfortable."

    Location was great for touring with superb local amenities. Rustic charm in abundance.

    Reviewed by Louisa5.0Aug 2018

  • "Wonderful location, easy access, fully equipped"

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Jun 2018

  • "We had a great time and The Mill holiday home was everything thing we wanted for ..."

    We had a great time and The Mill holiday home was everything thing we wanted for our week away with our two dogs We will be Booking again

    Reviewed by Mike5.0May 2018

  • "We had a lovely holiday and the cottage (a barn conversion) was done to a high standard , the welcome pack of goodies was one of the best I’ve had."

    The location made it easy to get to lots of places easily and the animal ‘neighbours’ were a joy to watch

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Apr 2018

  • "We had a great time andthe cottage was perfect for us."

    Reviewed by Mike5.0Mar 2018

  • "We had a fab time staying here cottage was fab and on a private farm so very ..."

    We had a fab time staying here cottage was fab and on a private farm so very peaceful just as we wanted, had a nice little welcome pack which was a lovely touch Highly recommend

    Reviewed by Samantha4.8Feb 2018

  • "The owners are fantastically welcoming, not just to us but also our dogs."

    They could not have done more to make us feel welcome. It’s a fantastic property. We would love to go back!

    Reviewed by Rosemary5.0Sep 2017

  • "Brilliant hosts"

    Reviewed by Julian5.0Sep 2017

  • "The location of the cottage was excellent."

    Our hosts we very friendly. Well worth every penny I paid The cottage was way above my expectations with all the white goods you have at home, would definitely book again.

    Reviewed by Ann4.8Sep 2017

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king size double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x super king double (zip/link to twin on request), 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living room with kitchen, sitting area and dining area and wood burner
  • Cloakroom with WC.
  • Oil central heating and wood burner
  • Electric cooker and hob, microwave, fridge, table top freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, Playstation 3, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and start pack for wood burner inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair on request
  • Off road parking for two cars
  • Garden and patio with garden furniture and BBQ
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Pub 1.5 miles Beach 3 miles
  • Note: To book for larger family groups there are two other holiday cottages on site, property IDs 985559 Edwin's View and 959671 Courtyard

The property

Superbly converted barn, which nestles among rich green fields, just four miles from Porthleven, one of Cornwall’s coastal hot spots.

This beautiful grade II listed barn is part of a pretty rural farmstead.

With reverse living the superb open plan living room and kitchen span the first floor with an incredible vaulted ceiling and wood burner creating a lovely homely feel.

The ground floor bedrooms offer flexibility with one with king size bed with en-suite shower room, one twin and one with a zip and link bed offering option of a 6' super king bed or a twin.

High quality furnishings, crisp linens and soft towels complete the picture.

Outside is a garden with patio as well as a larger garden area opposite which is great for children’s play.

Just over a mile away is a friendly relaxed pub with a good food menu, catering for all tastes.

Nearby Porthleven is the largest working harbour in Cornwall where boats land their daily catch and visitors can take a boat trip and try and catch their own.

There is a sandy beach and lots of fantastic restaurants - fast becoming a foodie mecca, bespoke shops, galleries, oh and ice cream to enjoy.

Follow the South West Coastal Path for amazing cliff top walks, fabulous scenery for happy memories.

Praa Sands just ten minutes away; a firm favourite with all age groups, the beach is home to a surf school and beach shop providing wetsuit and surfboard hire.

This is a tranquil location not far from the coast, villages and towns.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

PORTHLEVEN

Helston 3 miles; Penzance 10 miles; Hayle 11 miles; St. Ives 17 miles; Falmouth 17.5 miles.

Porthleven is one of south west Cornwall’s hidden, coastal gems, located near Helston, famous for it's annual Flora Dance Festival. Situated between Lizard Point and Land’s End, Porthleven retains the feel of a traditional Cornish fishing village, enjoying uninterrupted views of the Atlantic Ocean and the beautiful Cornish coastline. The iconic clock tower sits on the harbour entrance and the pubs, shops, cafés and restaurants cluster around the historic picturesque inner harbour, where there is plenty of boating and marine activity. With a warren of streets lined with classic Cornish, granite cottages, an extensive beach manned with lifeguards, the chance for alfresco dining in one of a number of well reviewed restaurants, and crabbing off the harbour, there are plenty of activities for the whole family to enjoy, all year round. Porthleven is building a reputation for eating out with a popular food festival established in the spring. Out of season, Porthleven has one of the best surf breaks in the country where you can sit down and get lost for hours watching the energetic surfers riding the waves. There are some fabulous hidden coves along this stretch of coastline, including Praa Sands, Poldhu Cove, and Rinsey, a magical setting for the more energetic. You may have even seen pictures of Porthleven on television, being one of the best spots in the UK for storm watching, with the crashing winter waves often being used as the backdrop to weather forecasts. Walkers will enjoy the South West Coast Path, adventuring west past Rinsey Head with spectacular views, or south across Loe Bar to Penrose Estate with it's National Trust cafe, and on to Gunwalloe Church Cove. Take a trip to the Isles of Scilly by boat or plane and marvel at the display of sub-tropical gardens at the stunning Tresco Abbey. The Eden Project near St. Austell offers an interesting day out. Porthleven is the ideal base for discovering the delights of west Cornwall and the Lizard Peninsula.

View more holiday cottages in Porthleven

Note: Please contact the owner before you stay if you wish to charge an electric vehicle at the property. Additional charges will apply.