Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 1 minutes ago

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 28 View Larger Image
  • Pengullyn - Cornwall - 982813 - photo 1
close

Pengullyn

Newlyn, Cornwall (Ref. 982813)

4.4

(20 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

20 Customer Reviews

  • "We’re very happy with the house, it is everything and more than we expected."

    It is very clean and it was lovely to have the cream tea before we went shopping for the first few days. We have had several rewarding days of walking and sightseeing. It’s a great location with lovely views in a beautiful area. (The only reason comfort didn’t get the highest score is purely personal: for us tall people the double bed was a bit small and we’re used to a dark bedroom and it’s very light. A second black garbage bag would have been convenient.)

    Reviewed by MarjonMay 2022

  • "Can't really say that "Pengullyn" had the wow factor, other reviewers have indicated this."

    It does, however, have virtually everything you're likely to need for a week or two in Cornwall, except egg cups. The most important thing for us was that the property has its own parking space. Which in Cornwall is a Godsend, given that we once had our legitimately parked car wrecked by a Cornish bin lorry. We were a little disappointed to find that the shower, reported has broken in August, had not been repaired. Needless to say showering proved rather challenging as a result. By the way, where was our cream tea that other previous visitors to "Pengullyn" arrived to find? Lol. Thank you for the milk nevertheless. A little tip. If you want to go into town and want to avoid the treacherous traffic on Chywoone Hill then turn right outside the side door, go down the short hill, turn right at the bottom and go through the covered arch. Immediately turn left and keep going. This will take you to the Strand and into town. A far safer route believe me! All in all we had a nice stay at "Pengullyn", and it provided a sound base to explore a beautiful part of our beloved Cornwall. Kernow Bys Vyken!

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you found the property well equipped with everything you were likely to need, along with being a sound base for your adventures. We apologise in relation to the shower issues you had which have since been completely fixed. The owner assures us there are a matching set of 6 egg cups available and cream teas are back on the menu this year! Thank you for your tip, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the West Country. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AndrewSep 2021

  • "Shower fell off wall whilst one of us in it."

    Reported it but no reply ...place is tired but clean Master bed uncomfortable Toilet an odd position that you have to sit side ways and toilet by the kitchen doesn't flush well Fridge no idea if it's closed so easy to leave open Also needs a warning re getting into town with the hill which is dangerous with the pavement issues so not good for families Also we paid nearly 2000 for the privilege of a weeks stay. Far too much for what we got Would have liked more touches like blanketing the living room , beach stuff like a bucket and spade etc

    Thank you for your feedback. we have spoken with the owner who has arranged to have the shower fixed, had we been made aware during your stay we would have been able to have rectified this for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PatriciaAug 2021

  • "I really enjoyed our stay here in June and would happily go back."

    Great location where you can walk down to the pebble beach in ten minutes. Shops close by and pubs / takeaways. Kitchen was well equipped and the double bed very comfy. Loved the big fridge/ freezer. No Netflix though so a few dvds would of been a nice touch.

    Reviewed by SusanJun 2021

  • "As mentioned by a few before this property is looking a bit tired and could do with freshening up."

    Cobwebs on light fittings, old dated furniture, stains on living room carpet covered up with an old tired rug.The kitchen has so much equipment in the cupboards there is no room for your food. It is though in a great location with a really good chippy and a good Chinese (cash only). We did enjoy our stay and best pub is Bath Inn 10 min walk towards penzance, Would we stay again ? Probably not but glad we visited and ticked it off

    Thank you very much for your review. We confirm the owner decided to follow your and the other guests suggestions and modernised the property during the winter. We also improved the housekeeping and maintenance team. The owner would be more than happy to host you again for more lovely holidays. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlanSep 2020

  • "On arrival it was very evident that the house had been well cleaned , making us feel safe re Covid."

    The cream tea was a very welcome gesture. I am pleased to say that we did not experience any problems with Wendy! We used the side door all the time, by the parking space, so she couldn't really see us come and go. Pengullyn is very well equipped, and has fantastic views over the harbour which is only a short walk away.

    Reviewed by JillianSep 2020

  • "The house was perfectly adequate for exploring the stunning Cornish coastline."

    It was a little tired but on the whole a good property for the family to relax at the end of a long day. Nice touch of all the necessities provided on arrival including scones, cream and jam; many thanks. We look forward to returning soon.

    Reviewed by GrantAug 2020

  • "An absolutely gorgeous cottage and holiday made extremely easy by Sykes."

    Reviewed by AlisonAug 2020

  • "The house is really well equipped - particularly the kitchen - can't think of anything that was not provided."

    Read that some people were concerned about the car parking but there are definitely two spaces as long as you don't have two estate cars - we had one estate and one saloon car and they both fitted - although backing down the alley is a bit tricky if you haven't got sensors. Spotlessly clean and lots of books to borrow if the weather is bad - good size TV. The curtains are all light coloured and this does mean you are woken early in the morning with the lovely Cornish sunlight - not a deal breaker but some blackout linings might be worth considering. Next door neighbour is a bit keen on keeping an eye on comings and goings - which did prove quite funny at times.

    Reviewed by AnneJul 2020

  • "Our second visit to this property and it was just as good as the first visit."

    Very clean well equipped and had everything we required. A very comfortable relaxing holiday . Would definitely recommend a visit.

    Reviewed by AnneSep 2019

  • "The big problem was parking."

    The on site was rather small for two cars and on a slope - cars were parked everywhere and family when visiting really had difficulty to find a spot

    Reviewed by HelenAug 2019

  • "Very nice location Nice house."

    Will go back

    Reviewed by JamieJul 2019

  • "Wifi restricted unable to use for social media/or for gaming so not suitable for ..."

    Wifi restricted unable to use for social media/or for gaming so not suitable for children, stains on floor in bathroom and kitchen, remote control for tv held together with tape also both arm chairs worn/damaged

    Reviewed by MichaelJul 2019

  • "Property close to all amenities and with fabulous views overlooking the harbour and St Michaels Mount."

    Perhaps the garden needed better maintained.

    Reviewed by BrianJun 2019

  • "Very comfortable property in a good location for restaurants, sightseeing and as a base for touring this part of Cornwall."

    Reviewed by AndrewJun 2019

  • "Very nice house and a great location albeit on a steep hill Very close to the pub and local amenities and the house was clean and tidy when we arrived."

    Would recommend

    Reviewed by RichardJun 2019

  • "Excellent location in Newlyn, affording access, on foot, to restaurants, pubs, store's, Warren's for pasties!"

    and the Escape Room. Lovely view over the roof tops of the harbour.

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2019

  • "Pengullyn was warm and welcoming with lots of little extras like some milk in the fridge, and games and jigsaw puzzle to keep us busy!"

    The house is very well equipped and the beds comfortable. The neighbours were kind and helpful, and Newlyn is an interesting and much loved fishing village, which I have known for 70 years.

    Reviewed by JaneApr 2019

  • "It was a brialliant place to stay really handy for all the local beaches shops just down the road a really good base I couldn't fault the cottage at all it was perfect would highly recommend and we hope to return next year ."

    Reviewed by TinaOct 2018

  • "Nice house."

    Ticks all boxes

    Reviewed by JamieJul 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x bunk room, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room with electric fire
  • Sitting room with electric fire.
  • Gas central heating with electric fires
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, 2 x TV with Freeview, WiFi, selection of books
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed garden to the front and rear, decked patio and furniture
  • One well-behaved dog welcome, £30 dog charge per week
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 2 mins walk.

The property

This beautiful cottage rests in an elevated position with views over the rooftops towards the harbour and coastline of Mount's Bay.

Families will appreciate the homely interior, which comprises of a well-equipped kitchen and a dining room featuring seating for six people.

In the evening, you can all relax and choose...

View on map

About the location

NEWLYN

Penzance 1.2 miles; Marazion 6.6 miles; St Ives 8.9 miles.

Nestled next to Penzance, and although still a quaint town in its own right, Newlyn is actually the third largest fishing port in England, and an important Port of Refuge for all seafaring craft. This Cornish town is clustered around the harbour, with its historic 800 year old quay (the Mayflower actually left for America from this quay, not Plymouth) curling around a few small boats on the western side. Famous for the Newlyn school of Art and Newlyn Copper, the Cornwall Coastal Path passes through the town, as does the level Mousehole to Marazion cycle path. An abundance of wildlife and flora can be enjoyed along both, with basking sharks, dolphins and grey seals often seen. The Cornish coast is renowned for surfing, and Penwith offers some splendid beaches on which to enjoy this sport as well as surf fishing for sea bass. Mounts Bay also offers a wealth of opportunity for watersports enthusiasts as well as giving visitors an opportunity to relax and unwind in beautiful surroundings.

View more holiday cottages in Newlyn

Region Information