Don’t miss our Summer Sale

Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outSave up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 of 22 View Larger Image
  • Sandy Cove - Cornwall - 1007004 - photo 1

Sandy Cove

Porthtowan, Cornwall (Ref. 1007004)



Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

11 Customer Reviews

  • "The flat was stylishly furnished and clean and comfortable."

    The location is perfect for exploring from and we can highly recommend both the Blue Bar and The Unicorn for food and drinks. A beautiful place that we hope to return to.

    Reviewed by SheralynFeb 2022

  • "We had such a lovely time at Sandy Cove."

    The proximity to the beach and Porthtowan was awesome, couldn't ask for a better location with young children. Afternoon tea in the fridge was an unexpected pick me up after a long day travelling. Thank you so much, we will return.

    Reviewed by SamanthaMay 2021

  • "After reading some of the other reviews we were a bit worried heading down to the property but every issue written about has been reterfied."

    This property is very well maintained as you walk in you get the feeling of home straightaway. Lovely king bed one of the reason we booked this property and town good sized singles. Great open living room with kitchen and incredible outdoor patio with sea view. Yes the garden next door is not in the best of shape but this didn't effect our holiday in anyway. We really liked the touch of scones and fresh milk on arrival after a long drive that was a great treat. Our only downside is that someone has already pipped us to this property same time next year. Will look to rebook in 2022 if we are quick enough.

    Reviewed by RaghavendraOct 2020

  • "Overall we had a good stay at the apartment, however, there are a couple of points which could be improved on."

    Upon booking we were informed check in wasn't until 6pm, and checkout would be 9am to allow for extra cleaning required due to covid. This effectively knocked two days off of our booking, which wouldn't have been as much of an issue if the cleaning had actually been done. Unfortunately it seemed the laundry/linen had been changed, but that was it. There were still dirty plates and trays in the cupboards and the floor was not clean at all, the outside area was not particularly well looked after either. One day when we returned to the the property, it appeared that whilst we were out someone had been into the property with no prior notification to ourselves, seemingly to go into a cleaning cupboard. We were quite shocked at this, especially due to covid restrictions and the fact that due to no communication around this visit, all of our personal items were left out. Otherwise the flat is in a great location and has everything you need for a self catered stay.

    Thank you for your feedback. We would like to point out that no-one entered the property while you were out, this is not possible as only the housekeeper and owners have a key and we would never visit without a guest’s express permission. There is no cleaning cupboard in the property, perhaps you are referring to the boiler cupboard? If not latched, the boiler cupboard will blow open when you open the front door. With regard to the cleaning, this is checked by us once the housekeeper has completed the changeover. We are disappointed that you did not contact us regarding this, we would have been happy to resolve any issues. As the property is near the beach, sand often blows in from the dunes, this is a feature of the natural environment in this area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RachaelOct 2020

  • "Shower was broken."

    Contacted the management company who stated they would come out to resolve but they did not. No running hot water to wash up with. Property had dirt/dust in places which clearly hadn't been cleaned, which was disappointing given COVID. The property is in a great location right on the beach, though the surrounding flats do appear delapidated. The property has been refurbished throughout looks great. Though we feel very disappointed by the break.

    Thank you for your feedback on your weekend break. We are sorry that the shower bracket broke, as it was a weekend it was difficult for us to arrange a repair during this short time. We understand that you were still able to shower, so hope it was not too inconvenient. The hot water system is absolutely fine, it seems that you may have inadvertently turned it off. We are sorry that you did not contact us regarding any cleanliness issues, our housekeeper would have been happy to attend. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AaronOct 2020

  • "We had a great time at sandy cove, despite the beach being red flagged for half the week due to the storms!"

    The front door key is very sticky and we struggled to get it in and out of the lock every time - might just need oiling? We were a bit disappointed that we had to wait until 6pm to check in due to a deep clean, yet when we did there was a dog bowl with mouldy green water in it outside and kitchen items with food on them as they hadn't been cleaned properly. The rest of the apartment was very comfortable and the furnishings nice and modern. Could have done with a hairdryer, it's the first place I've ever stayed that didn't have one! A lovely place though shame about the derelict flat next door. The proximity to the unicorn and play area were brilliant, we enjoyed lots of cocktails and playtime at the park.

    Reviewed by LeeAug 2020

  • "We were generally pleased with the standard of the accommodation but very disappointed by the condition of the block the flat was and the flats in the surrounding area."

    The flat next door on the ground floor was abandoned and in very poor condition and the garden overgrown. The Neighbours in the flat above were noisy and a large lorry parked next to the Sandy Cove flat’s parking space, which did not move throughout the visit and was difficult to manoeuvre past.

    Reviewed by PhilipOct 2019

  • "Lovely property that has a very welcoming, warm internal space."

    It has been fitted out very well and is clean and well looked after. The outside decking is good and the beach is less than a minute away. Really nice place to spend some time.

    Reviewed by BenSep 2019

  • "Very happy with this apartment."

    I can’t fault anything.the tv was super high definition OLED and was amazing. The sofa was amazing so was the bed and bedding. Just perfect. Bath perfect. No phone signal within a mile. But broadband great. Key in front door come out side ways. Washer dryer works great. Dishwasher would have been nice but the tap is brill. Fab place. Love having Netflix. Highly recommend.

    Reviewed by DanielSep 2019

  • "The apartment was excellent, stones throw away from the beech and pubs and shop."

    we had a wonderful time and would book this again.

    Reviewed by GrantAug 2019

  • "Great booking experience with a helpful operator and good information provided ahead of time."

    Nice enough apartment internally and as described. Shame there isn't a dishwasher and it felt like one could easily have been accommodated in the kitchen with all the storage space, but maybe that's a conscious decision? The building the apartment is in is dated and I'm guessing this is why there are no external images showing the front or rear of the property. You can't fault the location though, right next to the beach and a park, both of which our 4-year-old loved. Great entertainment options with the Google speaker and smart TV (with Netflix/Amazon already setup), which were ideal for some downtime. The apartment did feel clean with the possible exception of the kitchen. There was a dirty grill pan in the oven and the cupboards could have done with a wipe over. Small details but they make a difference. In the second bedroom, only the bottom bunk was made up and our daughter wanted to sleep on the top. It was difficult to swap them over and we felt both should have been prepared ahead of time. All of the cushions for the outdoor furniture were soaking wet when we arrived and despite bringing them inside straightaway, most of them didn't dry out until we were about to leave. The welcome scones in the fridge a definite plus :D Overall, I'd say it was 7.5/10 stay but could have been a 10 save for some of the above gripes.

    Thank you for taking the time to respond to our feedback request about your recent stay at Sandy Cove. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed about the property not having a dishwasher. We have spoken with the house cleaners and in future all of the beds will be made up not matter how many guests are staying. We are pleased to hear that despite the points raised you enjoyed your stay at Sandy Cove. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TomAug 2019

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • All-ground-floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x twin room
  • Bathroom with shower over bath, basin and WC
  • Open-plan sitting room with dining space and kitchen.
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven and induction hob, coffee maker, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Off road parking for one car
  • Surfboard storage inside (please note, surfboards not included)
  • Decked area to rear with charcoal BBQ
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Pub within 0.2 miles, shop within 0.1 miles

The property

Enjoying a wonderful position on the West Cornwall coastline, within the pretty village of Porthtowan, is this ground-floor apartment, Sandy Cove.

This brightly decorated accommodation has been designed with families, couples and surfers in mind, with bright, contemporary styling running throughout the property to ensure a wonderful base to retire to each evening.

Look forward to relaxing into your evening within the open-plan living room, where the French window filters in a cooling breeze during the summer months and floods the space with natural light to ensure a tranquil setting.

Pick up fresh local food from the shop and rustle up a delicious evening meal within the well-equipped kitchen before you settle down at the dining table to plan the days ahead over a home-cooked meal with your loved ones gathered around.

After dinner, sink into the L-shape sofa with a good book in hand or open up the doors to discover a decked area, where you can unwind with a glass of wine whilst soaking up the sea views and enjoying a spot of stargazing.

The interior is completed by two well-presented bedrooms, comprising of a double bedroom and a twin bedroom, both enjoying a refreshing interior design and ample space to house your personal belongings.

If you can tear yourself away from this superb accommodation, venture to the popular Blue Flag Beach, where you will also find a glorious beach which hosts a local surf school with surfboard and wet suit hire for all ages.

For those feeling active, there is the famous South West Coast Path which runs through the village, where you will be delighted by the breath-taking scenery and the glorious sands that await you.

Alternatively, head to the cosmopolitan location of Falmouth, where you will find a larger selection of amenities to suit all ages and tastes.

Sandy Cove is a wonderful location for exploring this part of Cornwall.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


St Agnes 4 miles; Portreath 4 miles; Truro 9 miles.

Porthtowan is a small village resting on west Cornwall’s beautiful coastline, renowned for its Blue Flag beach, which at low tide exposes almost a mile and a half of fine, golden sands. Fringed by impressive granite cliffs, the beach is a popular surfing venue and is lifeguarded during the summer, making it ideal for families. Porthtowan is part of the St Agnes designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, and there are some wonderful walks to be found, offering vivid scenery along the South West Coast Path, whether you choose to head east to St Agnes or west to Portreath. The towns of St Ives and Penzance, with their art galleries, restaurants and quaint harbours, are half an hour’s drive away, whilst Flambards Theme Park, The Cornish Seal Sanctuary in Gweek, and the Goonhilly Satellite Earth Station are just a few of the other diverse attractions scattered around this picturesque region. A great base for a varied family break.

View more holiday cottages in Porthtowan

Region Information

Please Note: refurbishing works being carried out in the adjacent unit

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas