Ending soon! Save up to 20% on August ’22 Holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 of 23 View Larger Image
  • Kerbenetty (Harbour Cottage) - Cornwall - 959589 - photo 1

Kerbenetty (Harbour Cottage)

Portloe, Cornwall (Ref. 959589)


Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

37 Customer Reviews

  • "This has to be one of the best cottages I’ve stayed in."

    We arrived to find a lovely lemon drizzle cake for us which we enjoyed with a cup of tea. The cottage was lovely and clean, spacious and had everything you need to make your stay more enjoyable. Beds were comfy, plenty of hot water and the towels were big and fluffy. Most days after the walking along Carne beach or hiking the coastal walks we would return to relax on the terrace, just taking in the amazing views. Each evening we ate outside, it was so nice we really didn’t want to go out to a resturant. I would definitely return again. This cottage definitely has the feel good factor.

    Reviewed by SharonJun 2022

  • "Amazing well equipped cottage."

    The garden is beautiful! We sat out everyday, adding extra jumpers as required! Would love to book next year!

    Reviewed by CarolMay 2022

  • "Wow. What a beautiful cottage."

    I have to say I was concerned about the previous reviews and as someone who has stayed in some stunning cottages in the past my concerns were totally unfounded. Amazing location with unrivalled views. Lovely eclectic furnishing and facilities totally sympathetic to the age and character of the cottage. Wi-Fi and TV all working absolutely fine. We absolutely loved it and will be back!!! Just Wow !!!! Parking is ….fun!!!!! However we do have a large car !

    Reviewed by DeborahApr 2022

  • "On the website it is quoted as “fuel & electricity incl” as the only fuel other than electricity is logs I was disgusted to find a note telling us not to touch the log pile & to find only 6 logs in the basket: that is misrepresentation."

    Since my visit 6 months ago the hinge on the loo seat is badly corroded as are the joints on the heated towel rail. I have photos should you want to see them! The windows rattle & a howling draught comes through them, especially the bathroom. The storage heater in the twin doesn’t work & the one in the double chucks a HUGE amount of uncontrollable heat out, it is a sauna! Lose a cupboard in the kitchen & put a slimline dishwasher in….. I was shocked & disgusted that on stripping the bed I found at least 3 large yellow/cream stains on the mattress protector… REALLY?? There is no emergency / info booklet for drs, etc or places to eat & their opening times. The pub was shut & the hotel doesn’t allow non-residents in for meals, they tolerate them for cream teas only!!!! Why oh why won’t the owner put in a wifi extender? This day & age most people need access to it 24/7, the main bedroom has no wifi at all…. For £200/night in March it is a rip off when all of the above is taken in to consideration.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. Fuel and Power are included in the rental charge, for the electric heating and electricity for lights etc plus a starter pack of logs for the wood burner. Additional logs can usually be purchased in nearby supermarkets or garages. The loo seat and towel rail will be checked this coming weekend. Regarding the windows, if there is a very bad on shore wind, the windows will rattle. However, all windows and doors are being replaced in the forthcoming weeks. The heaters in both bedrooms will be checked. Sometimes space is limited in a property and so not possible to provide both a dishwasher and washing machine. The stains on the mattress protectors will be discussed with the housekeeper. An information folder is provided in the property, this will be checked, in case it should have been mislaid. Unfortunately, there is nothing that can be done with regards to the pub being shut and the hotel not allowing non-residents in for meals. We decided not to extend wifi to the main bedroom. Had you made us aware of any issues during your stay we would have done our best to try and rectify them for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GeraldineMar 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay and it was lovely for our family to all be together for Christmas."

    The location of the property is stunning and we liked the area and how quiet it was . We were disappointed at how many cobwebs there were and felt a bit more effort could have been made with the cleanliness of the house.

    Reviewed by KarenDec 2021

  • "Simply a perfect location for a break away from it all."

    The powerful sea is right in front of you and it's mesmerizing. The cottage is cosy and clean and everything about it is delightful. Couldn't think of a nicer place for a holiday and even in winter it's stunning to be there. Felt refreshed and rejuvenated.

    Reviewed by HughDec 2021

  • "Wonderful place in a fantastic location, the only reason why I have not given top scores is due to the TV not working properly."

    There was only limited channels available and considering that this problem had been pointed out by the previous guest (in November, no exact date given Housekeepers book) I would have thought the problem could have been resolved before we arrived. Also considering that we were only booked in for a long weekend, the promised that the issue would be fixed in the next day or two was very unlikely and patronising. We do not mine paying extra for properties which provide I high level of facilities, location, etc but we do expect for everything to work. However, things happen but it is always best to be open and honest when they do, nobodies a fool, so don't treat people like they are. I simple apology would have been more appropriate and acceptable.

    Reviewed by DominicDec 2021

  • "Words can not begin to express how much I love Portloe and Kerbenetty Cottage."

    I want with my grown sons one of whom is autistic and responsible for picking the property as well as other family members and we all have had the greatest time and made memories that will last us all forever. I’ve rebooked for next year and can’t wait to return. You have the best location in Portloe and we love how you have made the house so welcoming and beautiful. No photo will ever be able to do the house or Portloe justice. For a whole glorious week my family and I had the time of our last lives. Thank you.

    Reviewed by MasallyOct 2021

  • "This is a lovely cottage, quirky, but the views from the patio are just outstanding!"

    Be aware, if you have trouble moving around that the layout of the cottage may pose you some difficulties, The Lugger hotel which was very close by was not catering for non residents, but good food can be found in The Ship Inn nearby. Fantastic Coastal walks straight out of the front door.

    Reviewed by AndrewSep 2021

  • "All good, everything we wanted"

    Reviewed by DeanAug 2021

  • "The cottage was beautiful."

    The view amazing. We had to leave after 4 days due to personal family reasons Hope to return to the area to continue the experience and would love it if we could book here again. The cottage was very clean and well equipped. Parking was an experience but we do have a large car. Once we had done it a few times we were pro’s. Parking is a premium in the village so certainly not complaining. Local pub was lovely and welcoming.

    Reviewed by JayneMay 2021

  • "Lovely cottage in wonderful position."

    The views from every window were amazing. Very difficult parking and getting out of the car. House is on 3 levels so not suitable for anyone who finds it difficult to negotiate steep stairs. Our elderly doggie found it impossible to climb up the stairs to get to the car so we walked him round every time. I think the description could have been more detailed and perhaps we would have found a different cottage. But overall could not fault it.

    Reviewed by BMay 2021

  • "Having reported that the tv did not work on our first day, I tried the suggested solution which did not work and got NO response from the team when I further emailed on the Monday."

    It would seem that this problem of a non functional tv at the cottage is long standing from the Housekeepers book and should have been sorted. It is not fair to let a property knowing the tv does not work when we are into dark nights!!

    We are sorry to hear that you had some difficulties with the television during your stay. The television has been checked and works fine. As explained, as there is a Freesat box, you need to ensure that the TV is on AV and not TV. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PhilippaOct 2020

  • "The iPod doc did not exist."

    We were told it was there previously and a USB cable was delivered. However the small stereo was so old that there was no USB port. So it is difficult to believe it ever existed. Plus the Bluetooth speaker was not in the cottage this meant we had no ability to play music. As theses were detailed on your website we feel this was a misrepresentation. The garage key security safe was very temperamental ( it took 5 times to unlock). As we were advised to leave the key in the safe for people to use the garage for laundry storage this was a worry. This made us nervous about using the garage access. The TV had a freesat box installed the day we arrived due to the previous people’s complaint. There was no instructions left and as there was a very specific set up required we had no TV until we were spoken to by the engineer on the Saturday. Overall the cottage was tired and not of the standard depicted by the pictures which was a shame as the location was lovely.

    Reviewed by SteveOct 2020

  • "It was a really enjoyable holiday in a lovely location."

    We felt the check-out time of 9am was quite early, but this didn't actually impact us at the time as the housekeeper was so kind in giving us extra time. The TV was still not working despite the previous review, and this was a minor set-back, but again the very helpful housekeeper is going to chase this issue.

    Reviewed by KatieOct 2020

  • "Tv didnt work - no signal Towel radiators could have been on to dry towels"

    Reviewed by DawnSep 2020

  • "Lovely cottage in idyllic setting."

    Reviewed by NigelOct 2019

  • "Even better than 3 years ago, when we stayed the first time."

    The cottage has been improved, especially the kitchen, and the old loungers outside have been replaced too so they are more comfortable. Everything was as we would have hoped and we have already booked the same week for 2020

    Reviewed by CatherineSep 2019

  • "Lovely cottage in an absolutely stunning location."

    Reviewed by LucyAug 2019

  • "Beautifully situated cottage, very comfortable not far from a dog and people friendly pub."

    Fantastic area with lots of stunning coves and beaches, parking very difficult for all but the smallest vehicle, we paid to park in the village car park and walk, it was easier and safer. Stairs very steep if your mobility is limited.

    Reviewed by SeanMar 2019

  • "Would book again if the price had not jumped up so much compared to the week we had."

    Reviewed by IanMar 2019

  • "Cottage was pretty much as described although more information on whether the garage is to be used or not would be helpful as there was nothing in the instructions that suggested whether we were allowed to park in there or not."

    Reviewed by LauraMar 2019

  • "Wonderful property."

    Ideal location for escaping the hustle and bustle of life. Cream tea on arrival was lovely and sitting out on the patio with a cup of tea and enjoying the tranquility of the surroundings was heaven.

    Reviewed by EmmaFeb 2019

  • "We could not have asked for more."

    Within touching distance of water in the cove that is Portloe the Cottage was close to perfect. Everything had been addressed to make our stay comfortable and welcoming including some scones to enjoy with that first cup of tea when we arrived. Cornwall in February surprised us with regards to the weather, warmer by a few degrees than at home in west Berkshire and so many plants in bloom. The owners have managed to make the Cottage more of a home than just a rental. Thankyou

    Reviewed by SteveFeb 2019

  • "Wonderful, right on the cliff location."

    Cottage is well equipped and comfortable. Be warned of narrow steep drive for parking and a number of internal steps, but this a great place for the able bodied to enjoy total peace off season and leave feeling revived.

    Reviewed by KatrinaFeb 2019

  • "Thanks for that wonderful accomodation and location,we came for a restful and frlaxing holiday and that IS just what we got."


    Reviewed by WilliamDec 2018

  • "Sykes customer services were very quick to sort out a few ‘hiccups’while we were there."

    Reviewed by GrahamNov 2018

  • "Re the question below - we are happy for you to publish this feedback but without our names."

    Kerbenetty is a wonderful cottage in an amazing setting.

    Reviewed by CliveNov 2018

  • "Wonderful location, lovely clean cottage with amazing views of the harbour and cliffs beyond."

    We were met with scones, jam, milk and clotted cream in the fridge which was very nice. Linens and towels were great quality and clean and bright white. The cottage is very nicely decorated in a beachy theme, the kitchen had all the necessary equipment as well as coffee, tea and sugar (some basic herbs/spices/olive oil would have been welcome as there is no shop within walking distance). No hair dryer was provided and the glass on the wood stove had to be cleaned before we could enjoy the fire. We really enjoyed sitting out on the terrace in the sunshine watching the waves and the seabirds and had lovely cliff walks each day. The beaches in the surrounding areas were wonderful and as we were there in the “off season”, our dog was able to enjoy them as well. We would caution anyone with small children or any mobility issues as this cottage is on a very steep cliff and there are very steep stairs inside and outside the cottage. Although we enjoyed our stay, our first night was a bit chilly as the electric heaters had not been on and it took until well into the following morning before we felt the cottage had warmed up sufficiently. There is no mobile service in this area so we were not able to contact the housekeeper but emailed Sykes for assistance, it took 24 hours for Sykes to respond and by that time my handy husband had figured out the heating and we had burned through all of the logs provided! Very surprising in view of Sykes reputation for customer service. A lovely place no matter what the weather!

    Reviewed by JoyceNov 2018

  • "Beautiful setting and lovely welcome cream tea and flowers, very Much appreciated - thank you."

    Close proximity to the local pub and lots of walks. A couple of points though - Need to include tea towels and oven gloves at the property Should be in the listing that the stairs are steep, uneven and open on one side - especially if a family with young children or elderly relatives arrive Should state that there are different floor levels/steps inside the property - this can be a bit of an issue for relatices who are slightly unsteady on their feet.

    Reviewed by LornaOct 2018

  • "What a cosy and delightful cottage."

    The sea views were fabulous. We enjoyed the scones and clotted cream and settled straight in to eat them . The weather was great for mid October and the sun shone regularly so we could sit and eat outside. We enjoyed walks with our dog straight onto the coastal path with spectacular views. What a lovely break from it all at home .

    Reviewed by AlexandraOct 2018

  • "Great property!"

    Reviewed by ClaireAug 2018

  • "This is the most amazing house, the views are so fantastic You can see and feel the sea all around, it's like being on a luxury ship The cottage looks beautiful inside and outside and."

    the terrace overlooking the sea is the ultimate holiday treat, this place is a nature lovers paradise Portloe is a haven of tranquility and felt so fresh even when the temperatures were soaring This is the place to go if you want perfect peace Listen to the waves lapping and drink in the calm relaxing and rejuvenating atmosphere The cream tea on our arrival was a lovely touch We immediately felt at home - such a gorgeous and homely house Sykes is a great agency, thank you for being so friendly helpful and efficient

    Reviewed by GeraldineJun 2018

  • "Beautiful location, the harbour view was fantastic."

    Well equipped and well appointed cottage. Portloe is a lovely little village with a great local pub, Veryan, Carne, and Tregony are all walkable and also have lovely pubs and lovely walks. Falmouth on the ferry from St Mawes £30, catch the train to St Ives from Truro £17.50 for family of four and both great days out. Mevagissey is a 30 min drive but well worth a visit. We went in February half term and had lovely weather but I imagine its even nicer in May with spring in the air.

    Reviewed by CarlFeb 2018

  • "This was our second stay at this cottage."

    A lovely retreat in a marvellous situation.

    Reviewed by RobertJan 2018

  • "We were a group of 6 adults and 2 dogs and we really enjoyed staying at this comfy perfectly positioned cottage."

    A warm welcome awaited us as we found a bouquet of flowers and a delicious cake on arrival. As clearly stated in the terms and conditions I paid a cleaning charge of £15 per dog which is standard on booking accomadation . As a suggestion for the future you might consider this- I understand the need for a deposit because not all guests would necessarily leave the cottage as clean as when they arrived. But on other holidays I have booked elsewhere they report back to say if any of the deposit would be refunded after your stay. I always take care of the property as I would my own home and leave it clean and prepared for the cleaner. We often get positive feedback from company we have rented. Obviously I do not expect this on this occasion because that is not in your terms. Another suggestion would be to provide more tea towels (we only had 2) and 1 spare set of laundry if there are 6 people renting. I hope this is taken as positive feedback because I would emphaise how much we truly enjoyed staying at such a comfortable cottage and would love to book it again. Thanks Carole.

    Reviewed by CAROLENov 2017

  • "We've been three times before so no surprises and have already booked for 2018."

    Reviewed by AmandaSep 2017

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Over two floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • 1 x double
  • 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Sitting room with wood burner, dining room, kitchen.
  • Electric heating with wood burning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Starter pack provided for the wood burner
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair provided
  • Off road parking for two cars (Please note - steep drive)
  • Garage for bike storage
  • Garden with patio, furniture and BBQ/Fire bowl
  • Two dogs welcome at £15 each per week
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Harbour beach 1 min walk
  • Pub 1 min walk
  • Note: the unique setting and position of this property mean that children should be supervised
  • Note: As a traditional Cornish cottage, this property has internal steps throughout and the stairs are steeper than those found in a more modern property
  • A handrail is fitted to one side.

The property

An adorable cottage with sensational coastal views in picturesque Portloe on the Roseland Peninsula.

Occupying prime position above the turquoise waters of the harbour, Kerbenetty (previously named Harbour Cottage) could hardly be closer to the sea.

Inside the charming cottage offers accommodation with a chic nautical feel and there are incredible sea views from every room.

On the ground floor is a snug stylish sitting room, separate dining room and a little kitchen (as a traditional Cornish cottage, ceilings are lower than modern homes).

All three first floor bedrooms are spacious and flooded with sunlight with an en-suite shower room to the master bedroom and a family bathroom.

Pretty fabrics and period pieces blend effortlessly throughout.

Few experiences are more pleasurable than sitting on the wide sun terrace that runs with width of the cottage and watching the activity of the harbour below, be it crashing with waves or still as a mill pond.

Children will love to play in the sheltered cove which has a small sandy beach and rock pools at low tide creating a natural playground for swimmers and snorkelers.

Portloe sits on the eastern side of the Roseland Peninsula; with a Mediterranean feel there are pretty coves, quiet sandy beaches and hidden creeks to explore.

Once a busy fishing port and smugglers haunt, the village is now a favourite with film and television producers.

Working fishing boats still depart daily to catch crab and lobster which are served at the upmarket Lugger Hotel (with restaurant and a spa) at the top of the slip, providing the perfect alternative to barbecuing on the terrace.

There is also a pub in the village offering good local fayre whilst basic provisions can be bought at the nearby Veryan Stores.

Kerbenetty offers the picture perfect coastal break by the sea.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Truro 12 miles; St. Austell 13 miles; Newquay 20 miles

Often described as 'the jewel in the crown of the Roseland Peninsula', and rightfully so. Portloe is a very pretty, picturesque coastal village well-known for its fishing and walking opportunities. It boasts a delightful harbour with 3 working boats that go out to catch crab and lobster. Portloe was the filming location for a number of different films and TV series in the 20th century including the comedy series 'Wild West', featuring Dawn French and Catherine Tate. It is a small village with not much in terms of amenities, however it does have a very highly-rated food pub as well as a the Lugger Hotel with similarly positive reviews. Portloe proves itself to be a fantastic base for exploring some of Cornwall's most beautiful places. Truro, St. Austell and Newquay are all within easy reach, all with a fantastic choice of amenities and things to do. All three are well worth the visit whilst you're in this part of the country.

Region Information

Note: the unique setting and position of this property mean that children should be supervised. Note: Check in time for this property is 4pm
Note: As a traditional Cornish cottage, this property has internal steps throughout and the stairs are steeper than those found in a more modern property. A handrail is fitted to one side.
Note: There is a £100 good housekeeping bond on booking this property.