Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 17 View Image Gallery
  • Applestore - Cornwall - 959202 - photo 1
close

Applestore

(Ref. 959202)

Rock, Cornwall Show on map

4.3

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (19)
  • lovely (12)
  • clean (11)
  • stay (10)
  • location (9)
  • again (7)

26 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely place to stay, so much so that already booked for next year."

    Reviewed by Barrie5.0Sep 2023

  • "A lovely little cottage, ideal for the four of us for the week."

    A lovely, and well received welcome pack when we arrived, thank you! Lovely and clean and in an Ideal location for local beaches, A little tricky to find and I would just say directions could be clearer and mention specifics, to go past the B&B and turn into the yard where the ‘stop children’ sign is. We met a lovely local couple trying in the lane who suggested where the cottage was!

    Reviewed by Sarah3.8Jul 2023

  • "We really had a great time, everything we needed was right there."

    The shower worked perfectly with plenty of hot water, in fact the water had a good flow. There is one thing however which needs to be sorted out. It would be handy to have more instructions on how the tv works. Older people are not familiar with the technology so we found it hard to find things. However on the last day I found out about bbc I player, which I found after much messing around. The TV was only used sometimes , it was good however to do other things.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you had a nice stay. We will look at amending the instructions we provide for the TV. We hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eileen5.0Apr 2023

  • "Nice size for a family of four."

    Cottage was clean and tidy. The chairs were comfy in the lounge as I have back issues. Great location, peace and quiet and we know the area well so beaches and places to go on door step. No issues with shower as looks new ? Garden and shed welcome bonus. Would stay again as price is competitive and nice location with cottage cosy during the storm . Thanks, from the Walker family.

    Reviewed by Stuart4.4Apr 2023

  • "Extremely comfortable and cosy cottage."

    A very enjoyable stay and the welcome package was much appreciated

    Reviewed by Jeanette5.0Apr 2023

  • "The Applestore cottage was clean and comfortable,just the right size for 4 people."

    The cottage was not far from places of interest,(Port Issac,Padstowe etc,) also with in easy reach of some local pubs with good food. The only negative at the cottage was the low water pressure when having a shower,the water would either stop or get very cold. We enjoyed out stay at the cottage and would book it again.

    Reviewed by Jennifer3.8Oct 2022

  • "Fantastic stay at the Applestore."

    Brilliant location for exploring the best bits of Cornwall. Beautiful property, very clean and well appointed. Would recommend to anyone. The provision of bodyboards at the property was a really nice touch, as was the lovely welcome pack left for our arrival. We'd love to stay again when we're next in Cornwall.

    Reviewed by Connor5.0Sep 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in a great quiet location surrounded by countryside but less than a 10 minute drive to Rock."

    Few minutes to roads taking you to Padstow, Polzeath and Port Isaac. We experienced no noise or issues with the plumbing though the shower has a bit of a mind of its own. There are some weeds growing between the slabs but nothing that is going to hinder anyone. We would return if in the Rock area again.

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Aug 2022

  • "Nice cottage and, overall, we enjoyed our stay."

    Main problem is really dodgy plumbing! Hot water emerges as a dribble, so a bath takes ages to fill and the shower is pitiful. There is noise from the plumbing throughout the night - a constant low hum accompanied by what I can only describe as a "plopping" noise! As far as I could see there were no instructions about how to use the heating. Fortunately, we didn't need to, but if we had, we would have had to ask for information. Secondly, a dishwasher would be useful. Most people have them these days and being away on holiday and having to wash up by hand is not fun. And there are lots of cobwebs everywhere. A deep clean is required. Finally, some attention to weeding the patios and sweeping away debris outside would be good. A previous user had commented in the visitors' book - "has the gardener gone on strike?". That would appear to be the case.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Applestore, and would like to address some of your points. Plumbing at the property is in good working order, although the water pressure can be low at times, the electric shower works as it should. The noise you heard may have been the fridge freezer as it is a self defrost unit. We have central heating throughout, with a gas boiler - instructions can be found in a drawer at the property. We do not offer a dishwasher, but we do offer a washing machine. Finally, we have arranged for our gardener to cut back clear the garden around Applestore, when it is safe and possible to do so. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil4.1Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in a rural setting."

    An ideal “get away from it all” spot.

    Reviewed by Gail5.0May 2022

  • "Ideally located in a quiet spot."

    Everything we needed for a week away. 2 Friends joined us at the 11th hour and the owners provided us with more towels. Would certainly stay here again.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Sep 2021

  • "Great location - near Rock, Padstow and Polzeath."

    Reviewed by Reuben5.0Aug 2021

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Easy parking quiet area, away from crowds. Cottage is snug and comfortable. Little garden is beautiful. Easy 10 min drive to beaches. Shower could be better , but I’d book this again.

    Reviewed by Jenny3.8Jun 2021

  • "Cottage was lovely."

    In the advert states take dvd, we did! no DVD player. Had issues with sat nav. Took us to another area which locals did know of the cottage when we asked for directions. Ended ringing care taker to show us. Sat nav took us past it twice. Road too narrow to walk to and from the pub. Advert says its Rock but it's not.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. Please accept our apologies that you were not informed by Cornish Cottage Holidays that there was no longer a DVD player. We are sorry to hear that your Sat Nav could not locate the property, however we do provide guests with detailed directions prior to their holiday, which are correct. We do mention that Applestore is 'near' Rock in the property description. We are very pleased to hear that you liked the cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David3.1Jun 2021

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the cottage"

    Reviewed by charles5.0May 2021

  • "Lovely comfy cottage, a great base for exploring north Cornwall, but we also found Fowey on the south coast to be very accessible, just 45mins away."

    Bonus for us was that we used the shed (which had the body boards and bbq) to store our bikes during our stay, otherwise they would have been locked up in the garden and in the rain. Another nice surprise was that from the photos on the website it looks like there is a road running in front of the cottage where as in fact the cottage is in a very secluded and quiet location with just a couple of other cottage next to it and parking opposite. We would definitely try to come back to this cottage next time we come down to Cornwall.

    Reviewed by Anita3.8May 2021

  • "The living room furniture is a bit tired and worn out."

    Particularly the sofa which was uncomfortable. A couple of armchairs would be a good idea too as the two chairs that are there currently are again not comfortable to sit in for more than a few minutes . The bathroom whilst serviceable really needs updating too. That said though, overall the cottage was a lovely place to stay, very well equipped and clean with a very pretty, well kept outside area. We would definitely rent it again.

    Reviewed by Theresa3.8Oct 2020

  • "Beautiful cottage the directions could have been better."

    We arrived in the dark and had to ask for directions at a nearby farm. It would have been better if it said the cottage was actually located at Tregmorwand Mill. Otherwise it was perfect

    Reviewed by Michaela5.0Sep 2020

  • "Applestore is in a lovely peaceful location."

    The exterior building was beautiful, let down only by paving that had weeds growing everywhere (except by the front door) and a rather neglected garden at the rear. Inside, while very clean, looked tired and outdated. The seating is not the same as the photographs and not comfortable for 4 persons as advertised. Very old DIY shelving in the lounge looked more suited to a garden shed. The twin room which we stayed in on the first night, smelled musty and there were a number of carpet moths on the stair carpet. We were a little disappointed overall and left a couple of days early. With some judicious weeding, new carpet throughout, change the curtains to something of a higher quality, new shelving and 2 armchairs. I would be happy to return and pay a little more.

    We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of Applestore. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We have spoken with the owners who will ask their gardener to deal with this appropriately. They will also ask their housekeeper to check the property thoroughly. They have re-carpeted the property and put new curtains up fairly recently and replaced one armchair with a more comfortable chair. We are pleased that you enjoyed the peaceful location and hope you enjoyed your holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie3.1Aug 2020

  • "APPLE store was not very clean."

    Bedding and towels were musty and the property had many cobwebs. A dishwasher is a must.

    Reviewed by Richard2.8Jul 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage, peaceful and secluded but only a short drive to a main route to Port Isaac."

    The tea, coffee and bottle of wine was a lovely welcome. Would definitely go back

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Jun 2019

  • "Very clean & well equipped holiday cottage."

    Excellent base for touring & walking the area.

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Jun 2019

  • "Lovely quiet cottage - but close to the beautiful beaches of Cornwall."

    great location, great cottage thankyou

    Reviewed by Sharon4.7May 2019

  • "The cottage was cosy and comfortable - very clean and thoughtful touches."

    The position was very good - off the beaten track and close to lots of things to do. We liked having the outdoor space and I imagine this would be an excellent feature if you had small children.

    Reviewed by Sara-jane4.7Apr 2019

  • "Hello. I was very pleased with the property in terms of description, layout and location, although a light above the dining table would be good and I am not sure how you would sit 4 people round it!"

    The thing that really let the cottage down was its cleanliness. The downstairs cloakroom was awful with the amount of cobwebs and dust. Other rooms were also very dusty and not clean, I assume the cleaners are less than 5 feet tall so they were unable to reach some of the shelves. Also I strongly suggest that the extractor fan in the bathroom be cleaned as it is about to stop with all of the muck contained within it. I strongly advise your client to have a word with them or replace them as I would be most disappointed if they worked for me. Because of this I would never return to this property. At a cost of what is very close to approaching £1000.00 for 1 week I would expect some compensation as a good will gesture so I will be most interested in your reply. I do hope that our comments are past on to the owners as they really need to know our thoughts.

    Reviewed by Peter2.5Jul 2018

  • "We found the whole experience very satisfying."

    Fine range of properties to choose from and listing info and pictures clear and helpful. The cottage we choe proved to be excellent and we enjoyed full our 2 weeks there.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0May 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Over two floors
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Sitting room with dining area
  • Kitchen.
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge freezer, washing machine, WiFi, Sky FreeSat, stair gate
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed lawn and a patio with outdoor furniture and barbecue
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Beach 3 miles.

The property

A beautifully restored barn surrounded by countryside yet just a short drive from the beautiful long sandy beaches of the north Cornish coast, Applestore near Rock is a property with much character.

With original beams and exposed granite walls, this traditionally decorated and furnished home-from-home provides a most comfortable, peaceful sanctuary to return to after long days out and about.

On the ground floor, the cosy sitting room with multi-fuel burner leads straight into the country-style kitchen - and also has doors which open up on to a sunny south-facing patio, the perfect spot for a summer barbecue.

From the kitchen, another door leads out to an enclosed, lawned garden where children can play safely.

Upstairs are two comfortable bedrooms as well as a family bathroom.

The nearby village of Rock is a very desirable and popular holiday destination, and is known for its excellent windsurfing and sailing conditions as well as a long stretch of sand at low tide.

The much-loved harbour town of Padstow sits just across the estuary, and has quite a reputation for good food - thanks in part to the likes of Rick Stein and Paul Ainsworth, both of whom have restaurants there.

Walk in ITV’s Doc Martin’s shoes with a visit to the characteristically Cornish fishing village of Port Isaac, just a short drive away – or get on your bike and enjoy a day out on the traffic-free Camel Trail which follows the estuary from Wadebridge in to Padstow.

Approximately 3 miles to the renowned surfing beach of Polzeath.

Within easy reach of the Cornish coastal path.

There is a well established sailing and water skiing school in Rock.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

PADSTOW

Harlyn 2.9 miles; Constantine Bay 4.2 miles; Polzeath 15.6 miles.

Padstow is situated at the head of the Camel Cycle Trail and is a fantastic base for exploring the South West Coastal Path which opens up routes to beautiful Cornish countryside. This delightful fishing port is surrounded by sandy beaches and offers many opportunities to taste the locally sourced produce in celebrity owned establishments. Padstow has something for everyone with watersports, walking, cycling and fishing, you can even take a trip on a local fisherman’s boat! The excellent surfing beaches of Harlyn and Constantine are ideal for safe family fun, and Constantine Bay is also home to a golf course, just a few miles away, while a passenger ferry across the river from Padstow to Rock takes you to the beach at Daymer Bay. Just around the corner toward Pentire Head is the surfing paradise at Polzeath, and when the beach no longer calls, there’s a golf course nearby, several stately homes and gardens to visit. The fabulous Eden Project is just over twenty miles away.

View more holiday cottages in Padstow