Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

14 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 27 View Image Gallery
  • Away West - Cornwall - 959444 - photo 1
close

Away West

(Ref. 959444)

St Just, Cornwall Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (19)
  • well (16)
  • everything (15)
  • great (14)
  • comfortable (13)
  • away (13)

42 Customer Reviews

  • "A lovely house, situated perfect for walkers or a base to visit South of cornwall from lands end to lizard."

    . Would have given 5 stars, but the broken gates x3. Cracked floor tiles in the kitchen sharp on the feet. No individual bedside lights. Bed too low. Dim lighting on stairs and difficulty removing sink plugs in bathrooms. I realise this is a family house which has had a lot of footfall over the years.but sadly for two pensioners with a few mobility issues.it was not for us. But I would recommend to others if tiles in the kitchen were repaired and the gates.

    Thank you for your feedback. We wanted to let you know that the we will be fitting new tiles to replace cracked tiles in the kitchen and will attend to any problems with the gates, and will check lighting issues then. Also, the bed has been raised, and every bed has a bedside light. Sink plugs have been checked, and are all working fine. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra3.8Dec 2023

  • "Got everything you need from a Cornwall week away house."

    Have stayed before and knew what to expect and we weren’t disappointed

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Nov 2023

  • "Overall this is a lovely house - comfortable beds clean fresh linen and towels - off road parking (uncommon in St Just) ideally situated for a stroll into the square or walking to Cot Valley / Kenidjack/ Cape Cornwall - I reduced cleaning & maintenance score slightly as there are several broken floor tiles which could harm barefoot kids etc."

    The oven I didn’t use but the door seal is broken. However this is a spacious comfortable house with lots of crockery utensils and cutlery and good WiFi with smart TV - underfloor air source heating with thermostat in each room - 4 village pubs - cafes / takeaways / a large coop plus greengrocers and butchers and more just a 5 minute walk away - we had a lovely week.

    Thank you for your comments. We wanted to mention that we will be fitting new tiles to replace cracked tiles in the kitchen. Also, we have checked the oven door seal which we found to be intact and working. We are pleased to hear you had a lovely week. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter4.4Sep 2023

  • "Very comfortable and well set up."

    Very well placed for exploring all of West Cornwall with great walks on the doorstep. A small saucepan to make sauce or gravy would help with the other excellent cooking stuff. Jacky the caretaker was doing her job really well, communicating and fixing things. No instructions about recycling, not sure where Cornwall is on this but we felt bad to be putting recycling in the waste.

    Reviewed by Jane4.7Sep 2023

  • "Away West provides everything needed for a family holiday and we had a very good time there."

    We liked the spacious, well equipped kitchen. As we were staying with four adults we were happy about the two modern bathrooms. Only the matresses were too soft for our backs. St. Just is a good location for holidays in Cornwall: little shops, cafés and restaurants provided everything we needed. The stop of the Land´s End Coaster is about 5 minutes by foot from the holiday cottage. So we were very happy to explore this part of Cornwall without the car.

    Reviewed by Marita4.4Sep 2023

  • "Nice comfy beds, nice view of the sea."

    Got everything we needed.

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Sep 2023

  • "Great place to stay."

    Almost had everything you needed, the only thing missing was either tongs in the kitchen to use for the grill or any tongs for the barbecue The wipe board in the kitchen was informative but rather messy. Felt most of the information could have been put into the book regarding the property

    Reviewed by Karen4.7Sep 2023

  • "Lovely house - there were 5 of us and it was the perfect size."

    Recommendations - we really missed having somewhere to hang towels up when wet. A few door hooks would be a great help! Lovely arrival treats - thank you. Blackout blinds in the bedroom would be a bonus. St Just is a great village - wonderful walks on the doorstep and several places to eat and drink. Be prepared to drive a fair bit to visit other places. But it’s a great base and not horribly busy like other Cornish towns in the height of summer. House is only a 5 minute walk away. We have two bike/scooter mad boys. The skate park which is only two mins from the house was a big draw for us. It’s a brilliant facility right on the doorstep. Kids loved it!

    Reviewed by Gemma4.1Aug 2023

  • "Lovely I'd book again"

    Reviewed by Jason5.0Jul 2023

  • "We found the property clean and spacious."

    Right in the heart of Cornwall, St Just is a lovely little town only a 5 minute walk to shops and Pubs. Also from the door you can walk down to the sea and coastal walks. Great for dog walking etc. 20 minutes drive, from beaches, lands end, Penzance and Minack Theatre. A lovely home away from home.

    Reviewed by Scott4.7May 2023

  • "This was our 3rd stay at Away West as it is such a comfy, practical house with everything needed for a super holiday base."

    It feels like a home. The sliding settee is an issue but know it is due to be replaced. We will be back soon.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.7May 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay in St Just."

    Away West had an excellent shower, well equipped kitchen and modern tv and absolutely essential parking. In our opinion the house needs some TLC. Broken bedroom window,coffee table & kitchen chairs. Gates wouldn't keep closed. Hall lights were too dim. Found the low beds and big sofa uncomfortable (people have been saying the same for 2 years). Couldn't sleep as street lights everywhere. No blackout curtains. Cutlery cheap and well-worn and no sharp knife. Be aware that a car parks opposite the steep drive making it awkward to reverse out onto the road.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Due to the salty sea air, the window catches have rusted, so we have arranged for the window to be replaced. The kitchen chairs have been checked and are all okay. We will take a look at the coffee table and if needed will replace. The bulbs in all of the lights have been checked and where necessary have been replaced. A new sofa has been ordered and will be delivered mid June. We haven't had any previous comments regarding the street lights, it maybe that if you live in an area without street lights, it might be more noticeable to you. We will also check the cutlery and the knives when we are next at the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carole3.4Mar 2023

  • "Hi we had a great stay and would stay again The window in the main bedroom ..."

    Hi we had a great stay and would stay again The window in the main bedroom would not tilt mechanism needs looking at the sofas are not too great the one facing the TV the seat cushion keep creeping forward and need to be put back in place a lot Noisy from heater in cupboard in bedroom makes sleeping in that room an issue

    Reviewed by Stephen4.1Jan 2023

  • "Clean and spacious property with the added bonus of a large drive for parking."

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0Sep 2022

  • "Excellent property clean though of everything when you go to holiday house ..."

    Excellent property clean though of everything when you go to holiday house tea/coffee /toilet roll and the little things like towels on beds Thank you we had a wonderful time there

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2022

  • "Lovely clean house with lots of little extras."

    The only adverse comment I would make is regarding the larger of the two sofas in the sitting room it is so uncomfortable that we couldn’t sit on it. Otherwise everything was lovely.

    Reviewed by Julia4.7Aug 2022

  • "Lovely clean and tidy property, nice to see flowers ,chocolate biscuits and milk on arrival."

    It took a bit of manouvering to get two relatively small cars on to the steep driveway. The kitchen is very well equipped, would be nice if there were some pizza trays for the oven ,with three teenagers to feed .We found one of the sofas had issues with sliding seat covers which needed constant replacing ,one of us slid onto the floor .Over all we thoroughly enjoyed the holiday ,great location , local shops and so close to the coastal path. Really loved watching the sun go down over the local beaches.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Jul 2022

  • "Lovely house set in a great spot."

    Jacky was very helpful. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Jul 2022

  • "After having a bad previous experience booking through Sykes Cottages and not having an acknowledgment of my concerns for other guests I was pleasantly surprised with the accomodation."

    There were so many little extras which were so appreciated and the owners deserve the credit for renting out their property and giving guests a truly home from home. We have many friends in St. Just who I’m sure will put the word around about “Crinnis”

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Jun 2022

  • "Our second stay at Away West and loved it."

    It has everything we need. Cleanliness is first class and we feel totally relaxed and at home there. 10/10. The beds were super comfy although very low which might be an issue for some. The sofa is a challenge with the sliding cushions but we were fine with them. We will definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.7Jun 2022

  • "We had a very enjoyable stay in Away West, St Just."

    The property was well equipped, very spacious, clean and tidy. The beds were comfortable. The only negative for the interior would be the cushions on the couch. They do not stay put when sitting on them, which was quite annoying, but we were seldom in so not a major issue. The property has a driveway which, looking around the town, is unusual and so is a big bonus. It is within walking distance of the centre but is far enough out to be in a good position to walk to the coastal path. If I were to visit St Just again I would definitely consider re-booking.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jun 2022

  • "A home from home."

    Well equipped. The kitchen chairs would benefit from some cushions. Fantastic position to watch the sun setting. Jacky was very helpful when we had an issue with the heating.(Low batteries causing a continuous beep sound) So good to be able to park off road. Hope to return soon.

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Apr 2022

  • "Sofa was a bit tired cushions were slipping down all the time"

    Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback has been taken on board. The sofa is which is 10yrs old is also a pull out double bed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon4.4Oct 2021

  • "Great location with everything you need."

    Thanks to Jacky for making everything special

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Oct 2021

  • "Had the loveliest stay at a this very well equipped house and have booked again for next year"

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Oct 2021

  • "Great to have an enclosed garden for the dog and the location within walking distance of St Just Town Square was very convenient ."

    Everyone we spoke to was very friendly. On a downside , when we arrived we struggled to park due the width and gradient of the drive and then upon entry to the house we were disappointed with the cleanliness , especially with the additional Covid measures in place . The rug in the living room had crumbs all over it and when we moved it we found a sock underneath . One of the settees was so badly stained , we had to use our own throws to cover it before we felt comfortable sitting on it . This was a shame as the house itself was well equipped and in a good location for exploring the South West of Cornwall.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear the cleaning was not up to the normal high standards at Away West, we would have been happy to have tried to rectify any issues for you during your stay had we known. We have spoken with the owner who will discuss the points raised with their housekeeping team. We are pleased you otherwise enjoyed the house and location. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa2.5Jun 2021

  • "Fantastic holiday cottage perfect location and would definitely recommend"

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Jun 2021

  • "Lovely house in a fab position, walking distance to the shops in St Just and to the coast."

    We enjoyed walking to Cot Valley, Priest Cove, Cape Cornwall and Porth Ledden, all from our comfortable base. The house was well furnished and spacious. A great addition was the parking as many houses in St Just don't have this. Would love to return in the future.

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0Apr 2021

  • "A very comfortable and well equipped cottage within very easy reach of the centre of St Just."

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Oct 2020

  • "This property was comfy, clean and in a great location."

    We visit St Just a lot to catch up with friends and this house was one of the best we have stayed at. We have 2 larger dogs and it is difficult to find properties that allow us to bring them however, this property was perfect for them. Lots of space and a great back garden. We have booked for July and can't wait to get back.

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Mar 2020

  • "We had visited this property two years before so we knew what to expect."

    This time we brought four other adults and our dog with us which meant that the house was full. Everything worked out well and certainly met all of our needs. Jacky, the caretaker, was fantastic in organising a plumber when the downstairs toilet needed attention and the problem was sorted within a few hours. We will be back!

    Reviewed by Veronica5.0Oct 2019

  • "Away West is in an excellent location for exploring south west Cornwall."

    The house was comfortable and well equipped. There was also plenty to keep people occupied of the weather wasn’t good....books, jigsaws, games. The Smart TV was a pleasant surprise! The garden was secure for our border terrier although if you have a larger dog who is an escapee, the gate may not have proved a huge deterrent!

    Reviewed by Susan3.8Sep 2019

  • "A nice enough property."

    Everything inside that you would need on a break away from home. Beds were comfortable. Photographs really quite misleading. Driveway was somewhat difficult to negotiate if you plan on taking more than one vehicle, in reality nothing like the photographs provided. The house was not the cleanest on arrival. The back garden has no privacy and is ok for a dog as long as you stand outside with it. Not very secure. A few other irritations that meant that i was not sorry to leave when the week was up. Not on the same level as other properties I have stayed in via this site.

    The Owner regrets that the cleaning for your visit was not up to the more general 4/4 rating the property receives and will address this with his cleaner. The driveway can comfortably accommodate two medium cars although two large vehicles could be tricky. The garden is enclosed and was dog proof for a terrier but may not be so for a larger dog Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hayley3.4Aug 2019

  • "Just got back from a week at Away West."

    It was a lovely comfy house, with everything we needed. Perfectly situated on the edge of St Just, ideal for walks but near enough to shops and amenities. Will look to book this house again in the future.

    Reviewed by Vicki5.0May 2019

  • "The cottage was absolutely superb."

    Very well laid out, excellent facilities, very spacious and fantastic views from a couple of the bedrooms. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed in terms of utensils too, which with a 2-yr old was a godsend really. The driveway was a little tricky to negotiate on the first day, but perfectly fine after we worked out the best line of approach! All in all, a great holiday that was made all the more better with a fantastic and comfortable cottage that we could call our “home” for the week.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Apr 2019

  • "Away West is a great place to stay."

    For us it was an ideal base to walk the coastal foot path from St Ives to Penzance. There were views of the sea from the property. Away West was exceptionally well equipped, the owners had thought of just about everything. It was clean comfortable and spacious. Parking is at a premium in St Just but we had a parking space, all be it, a bit steep and on a corner so turning on to the road was not easy.

    Reviewed by Annette5.0Mar 2019

  • "Very spacious and warm house, with everything provided for a comfortable stay."

    Good off-road parking available which is at a premium in Just! Walking distance to the town with all its facilities. Would definitely stop at this house again.

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0Nov 2018

  • "The cottage states an enclosed garden but the gate is very low and even our very small dog could have hopped it."

    Also the cottage was intensely hot, even when heating was turned off. Ended up leaving on Monday.

    Reviewed by Daniel2.8Oct 2018

  • "Very comfortable and well equipped cottage in a great location, we were very there and had a wonderful holiday."

    Reviewed by Charlotte5.0Oct 2018

  • "Extremely well equipped accommodation."

    Underfloor heating and copious amounts of hot water. Induction hob, double oven, dishwasher, even a slow cooker! Very close to the centre of St. Just, but quiet and relaxing. Always difficult finding accommodation that will allow two dogs, but this property did. Many glorious walks starting from the front doorstep. Black out blinds for the bedrooms would be appreciated if the owners get the opportunity, but that's a personal preference. Milk in the fridge on arrival and tea/coffee/hot chocolate supplied complimentary. Extremely impressed. Many thanks, Simon & Jonathan, Bournemouth

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Oct 2018

  • "The picture you have of the garden is very misleading!"

    The garden is in fact overlooked by houses on all three sides ... your photo of the garden gives no indication of this, and nor is it mentioned in the description of the property.

    Reviewed by Rosa3.8Aug 2018

  • "Very nice house, very comfortable and clean would highly recommend."

    We’ve stayed in many houses in st just and this is by far the best one we’ve had

    Reviewed by Rache5.0Sep 2016

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Spacious entrance hall leading to dual aspect living room, light and bright kitchen/diner
  • Ground floor shower room with WC
  • First floor family bathroom and three bedrooms, two twin rooms and one double with 6ft bed.
  • Under floor heating, Electric Oven with hob, fridge/freezer tumble dryer, washing machine, TV, DVD, WiFi
  • Electricity inc in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Cot and high chair available
  • Free standing brick BBQ (please bring own charcoal)
  • Up to 2 pets welcome free of charge
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Note: Off-road parking space for 2 cars.

The property

Away West is a modern, detached two-storey holiday home, sitting on the edge of the most westerly town in England with breathtaking, far-reaching views over the mighty Atlantic Ocean.

The glorious sunsets seen from Away West are a spectacular sight.

You enter Away West by way of a spacious hallway and on into a light and bright sitting room with comfy sofas and a well equipped modern kitchen with dining area to the rear.

There is also a shower room with WC.

Up a narrow stairway there are three good sized bedrooms, two of which offer superb views, the master bedroom has a 6ft bed and the other bedrooms are both twins.

There is also a family bathroom with bath with shower over.

Outside and to the rear is a large enclosed paved garden, perfect for dining al fresco.

This contemporary detached house has a local beach less than a mile away whilst the stunning Sennen Cove is just 4 miles away where you can learn to surf, visit the lifeboat station or simply indulge in a favourite tipple at the 17th Century inn whilst overlooking the bay.

The whole area is a walker's paradise with the South West Coast Path and Picturesque Cape Cornwall on the doorstep.

It is well worth the steep climb to the top of the Cape to see the wonderful view of the Western Approaches.

Cape Cornwall also has a golf course and indoor swimming pool and at St Just in Penwith there are a range of local independent shops, pubs and cafes.

Further afield and well worth a visit are the Minack Theatre, Chysauster the remains of a Roman settlement and Geevor Tin Mine.

View on map

About the location

ST JUST

Penzance 7.2 miles; St Ives 12.9 miles.

St Just is the nearest town to Land’s End and is situated approximately eight miles west of Penzance. The town itself is an ancient settlement that has a strong mining history and there are several monuments and prehistoric antiquities to visit including the Bronze Age settlement at Cape Cornwall. St Just is ideally located for visitors to explore the far west of Cornwall as it is situated on the edge of the moors and close to the beautiful north coast. In the centre of the town is Plain-an-Gwarry, a theatre used for miracle plays in medieval times, and in more recent times for the Lafrowda Festival.

View more holiday cottages in St Just