Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Sofala

St Just, Cornwall (Ref. 991214)

4.5

Very good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

29 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a good time & enjoyed our stay, great location."

    Decor was a little tired & the main bed was very uncomfortable (personal preference).

    I'm sorry to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable as I have invested quite a lot in the mattresses. You are the first to call them uncomfortable but beds are a personal preference as you say Most people have commented on how comfortable they are. You cannot please all of the people all of the time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnnaApr 2022

  • "A lovely property, beautifully fitted out, just as described."

    Five of us had a lovely week there - amazing kitchen, so we were able to cook for ourselves as well as occasional eating out in the area. We've been in love with West Penwith for decades - this is the first time we've been with more than two or three of us, and it's probably the best we've stayed in, with lots of spaces for people to get away from each other when needed in a rather rainy April week. A few minor problems for my disabled husband - had to drop him off outside the gate because of the big step down from the car parking space; also the beds were a bit high for him (and a bit soft for both of us, but that's personal taste!). It's not fully accessible (we didn't need it to be) but, apart from those minor issues, it was fine for his needs as well as great for the whole gang. It's down a very narrow alley, so a bit tight for the car - we managed OK with our Renault Kadjar, which is bigger than most, but the parking sensors and rear camera were really useful there! Many thanks for a lovely week's holiday - some of us are already planning to come back one day!

    Reviewed by JanetApr 2022

  • "We loved our stay in this house, it had everything we needed, the property was lovely and warm, very comfortable and clean."

    The welcome pack was appreciated as we had a long drive. The location was perfect, it was lovely to be able to walk into the village in the evening.

    Reviewed by SandraFeb 2022

  • "I would just like to say this property was lovely and comfy it had more than ..."

    I would just like to say this property was lovely and comfy it had more than enough facilities I was very impressed also the bed was so nice I didn’t want to leave it the owner Steve had left us milk and a few other bits to get us started Which we appreciate and the cottage was all decorated for Xmas the towns people were really nice to pubs were great All in all we had a fantastic Xmas and new year in sofala and st just thank you

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback. It really helps and is greatly appreciated. So pleased you enjoyed your stay in St just and look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by IsabellaDec 2021

  • "This was our third visit to Sofola and as on previous visits the bungalow was ..."

    This was our third visit to Sofola and as on previous visits the bungalow was lovely It was warm and very comfortable My only criticism would be the state of the oven it didn’t appear to have been cleaned for some time Being able to wash and dry clothes was an added bonus (holiday was November)

    Thank you for providing your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at 'Sofala'. and thank you for bringing this to our attention, we have now spoken to housekeeping and steps have been taken to resolve this. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarlaOct 2021

  • "The property is in a lovely quiet spot and easy access to town."

    The second double bedroom wasn't cleaned properly as there was hair all over the bedside table. The garden could have done with some TLC grass cut and weeding. There was also an unusual musty smell in the property. That said the furniture was comfortable and it felt homely. Plenty of space and the garden was actually secure for our dogs.

    Reviewed by JoannaSep 2021

  • "We have had a wonderful two week holiday here, the accommodation is very well equipped, the beds are like sleeping on clouds and the lounge and conservatory chairs are really comfortable."

    The are is so quiet and peaceful even though you are only a short walk from the centre of town which has a very good selections of shops and places to eat and drink. St Just is close to other main towns in this area and there are plenty of walks and places to cycle to, all in this is a lovely place to spend a holiday be it for a couple of a large family.

    Reviewed by LindaAug 2021

  • "This spacious and comfortable bungalow was just what we needed for a relaxing two week holiday."

    We were three adults with 3 older teenagers. The bungalow was so spacious and gave us all our own space. My husband liked to read and drink tea in the conservatory in the morning and I liked to sit in the comfy leather chairs in the dinning room and read the paper. The kitchen and master bedroom are massive! The photos are deceptive, the rooms are much bigger than they look. The TV has Netflix, iPlayer and Rakuten apps on which was perfect for inevitable rainy Cornish days. As others have said the memory foam mattresses gave us all a wonderful nights sleep. It is a stones throw to town and has a secret gate to the large main free car park in St Just. There are comments about the parking and access. St Just is an old mining town, all the roads are narrow. If you can't park your car outside the bungalow then I would say you are not a very good driver. We had both our car and my son's parked on the driveway and next to the garage with no problem at all.

    Reviewed by BridgetJul 2021

  • "Sofala is in a small town and is perfectly situated for access to the local pubs and shops!"

    The house and garden is very dog secure, which was great. However, there was a very strong aroma of previous 4 legged guests, which as dog owners we are not used to. We also felt as a family of 6 who had paid over £1500 for 7 days, that some basics were sadly missing - incredibly, no salt and pepper!!! We completely understand Covid may have some impact, but really....? And surely 1 dishwasher tablet for the week is unnecessary! In general the kitchen was very poorly stocked, except for saucepans! The kitchen and bathrooms were lovely, the dining area was fine, but the lounge furniture was neither clean nor comfortable. All in all, we were disappointed with our accommodation, which wasn't as we had hoped given the price we had paid. We have used Sykes before and not found this previously, but we will look more closely next time.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. The owners try to ensure that everyone has the best holiday possible and this is reflected in the feedback. The price you paid for your stay, which was during one of the most popular weeks of the year works out at around £38 per night, per person which is very competitive. Self-catering properties may include a starter amount of washing up liquid, toilet roll and dishwasher tablets but the expectation is that you purchase your own supplies thereafter. Many extras such as salt and pepper have been removed from properties to reduce touch points and to improve covid safety. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TracyJul 2021

  • "The bungalow was lovely and comfy but a few useful things to let the owners know would be: - a mirror in the main bedroom which is lower than it is, it was too high on the wall to use it."

    - to have more than 2 toilet rolls left for us. - a few condiments like salt and pepper to be in the kitchen. We really loved the property and will book again, very comfy and the garden was nice and secure for our dogs. We also enjoyed being able to sit in the private secluded garden in the evening.

    Thank you for your feedback. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay Sofala. We have taken your comments on board. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NicolaJul 2021

  • "Excellent place when you have a nervous dog."

    Meant we could relax. St Just is such a friendly place as well.

    Reviewed by PaulJun 2021

  • "Sofala is a lovely property."

    The bungalow was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and the living room was light and cosy. The location is good - only a short walk into town and close to pubs, shops and the SW coast path.

    Reviewed by DeborahDec 2020

  • "A comfortable and homely bungalow with good space and facilities."

    A lovely, warm, place to come home to at the end of each day. A good location in walking distance to the centre which has good local amenities, including butchers, bakers, greengrocers, post office, cafes and pubs. Local specialities include cornish pasties and fish and chips! A good location also for exploring the region and its rugged coastline, great surfing beaches and picture-postcard fishing villages. Close to Penzance and St Ives for larger shops and services bur rural enough to get away from it all. We had a great time and can thoroughly recommend Sofala.

    Reviewed by DanOct 2020

  • "Our week away was everything we hoped it would be, Sofala was perfect, I have already recommended to friends and family, and we will definitely visit again."

    Reviewed by KerryOct 2020

  • "Lovely, cosy and spacious cottage."

    Everything we needed for a lovely family holiday. Thank you

    Reviewed by WendyAug 2020

  • "This is a great house!"

    In the heart of the village and close to all the Penwith walks, coves, beaches. The house is really spacious and lovely bathrooms and kitchen. It has everything you need, all quality bedding etc. We really enjoyed our stay and would definately book again.

    Reviewed by JackieAug 2020

  • "The cottage we stayed in was absolutely fantastic!"

    Very very clean and comfortable. Spacious bungalow for family of 6. The beds very incredibly comfortable, we are missing those already :) everything we needed was there, including dishwasher tablets, handsoaps, washing up liquid etc. Just couldn't recommend it enough. Location was perfect, close to the places we wanted to visit. We would definitely come back to the cottage even out of the season just for a family break. We have never were so sad to leave any place before. We are missing you Sofala!

    Reviewed by DariaJul 2020

  • "Other than the lockdown during the end half of the holiday, we couldn’t ask for more."

    Would definitely come back. Two small things that nothing can be done about. 1) no turning space; the road is narrow, so be prepared to reverse. 2) toilet is too close to the wall and sink to be able to sit comfortably and concentrate:-) Really is a lovely property Thank you

    Reviewed by MelvinMar 2020

  • "The accommodation was excellent."

    Well equipped, comfortable and within easy reach of local shops etc. Good fish and chip shop and bakery Well placed for coastal walks and visiting local attractions.

    Reviewed by AnthonyOct 2019

  • "The house was spacious clean and well equipped."

    The location was great for coastal walks without using the car. The contained garden with perfect for a dog. Offstreet parking for two cars was really appreciated. The owners came round quickly when we had a query about hot water which was quickly resolved. Downsides were that the ensuite room bed was uncomfortable, the duvets and pillows were very low quality so much so that my son’s repeatedly bunched up within its internal liner and had to be taken out straightened out and put back in again. Also the plumbing meant that whenever the toilet, shower or water in general were used in the ensuite room there was a loud noise in the double bedroom. This meant that the ensuite facilities could not be used when those in the double bedroom were asleep. We had a good holiday and would use the house again but we expected A reasonable level of bedding for the price we paid.

    The Owners are pleasde that you found Sofala clean and well-equipped. This is the first time anyone has mentioned any issues with the bedding, which they will check at the end of the season. The en suite bathroom will be revamped over winter and the owners will ask the plumber to ensure that any bathroom noise is minimised. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MartinAug 2019

  • "Sofala was located on the edge of a council estate, We experienced noise throughout the day and night which came mainly from the local scooter gang!"

    Access to the bungalow was very awkward which really needs to be mentioned in the advert, we have a new shape mini and although not saloon car sized found the drive up the long alley way to the property very tight, turning around was impossible so if you drove in front first you then had a difficult and lengthy reverse back out, We left our second car in a local car park as the parking didn't suit two vehicles. The bungalow decor was dated which wasn't necessarily a problem, however the kitchen was pretty worn out and needed fully cleaning before we felt it ok to use, the utensils were filthy, the work surfaces, kettle were sticky/grimy and the fridge was old, dented and rusty. If I'd paid £800 for this property i wouldn't consider raising a complaint but nearly £1200 is quite frankly a joke when compared to other property's in this price bracket, We holiday in Cornwall every year and this is the first time we've used Sykes cottages, I can't say we are very impressed.

    The property is accurately photographed on the website and matters of style will always be subjective. The local roads are typical of the locality and there is a turning circle at the end of the lane. There is also a free car park nearby. The fridge has recently been replaced. We are sorry that you found elements of your stay disappointing. Your feedback allows us to constantly improve our service. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RichardAug 2019

  • "It was a Great Holiday and we loved staying at the sofala"

    Reviewed by MarekJul 2019

  • "The location of the holiday home was exactly what I was looking for as I had my elderly parent's with me."

    The cottage was clean and spacious with a large kitchen with all the relevant appliances making it ideal for anyone who wanted a self catering holiday.The actual village of Saint Just where the cottage was in was a typically lovely Cornish village.The only problem we encountered was the narrow road that led down to the cottage itself, as we had a large vehicle which was difficult to traverse the narrow road off of South Place. Fortunately there was free parking nearby so we could avoid risking damage to the wing mirrors again after we broke one on our second attempt getting out of the cottage's parking space. Overall l really liked the place and had a nice week's break and must lastly mention the Commercial hotel in the market square where the food was excellent at very reasonable prices.

    Reviewed by TonyJul 2019

  • "Access by Car was not easy - down a narrow back street with high walls on either side, and a seven-point turn at the end of the cul-de-sac in a Skoda Octavia."

    Everything in the cottage that we needed, although we only found the DVD player in a cupboard towards the end of the week, Having said that, it was a very interesting week in a part of Cornwall that we didn't know - a drive to Lands End was all that we had previously done West of St Ives/Penzance. The mining history was fascinating from the Poldark era through to a working mine (Geevor) that only closed in the 1990's. The weather totally ignored the BBC forecasts, getting soaked on a dry day on the top at Cape Cornwall, and peeling off successive layers of clothing when the anticipated rain at the Minack Theatre turned into bright sunshine.

    Reviewed by JonathanJun 2019

  • "A very well appointed and comfortable cottage."

    Much larger than we thought plenty of space for 6/7 persons. We will be back. Good location for visits, walking and beach walks.Village has some great pubs and great food.

    Reviewed by IanMay 2019

  • "Sofala made a very good base to explore the most westerly part of Cornwall."

    The cottage was very cosy and local shops a short distance away. Very safe garden for the dogs. The weather was great too! Which always helps!

    Reviewed by TeresaApr 2019

  • "The cottage was very clean and warm when we arrived in March."

    It's within 5 minutes walk of the village centre which has a great bakers and butchers together with a Co-Op, Post Office and various other shops. We didn't need to shop anywhere else the whole week we were there. Oh, it's got a really good chippy as well. Great walks are available right from the cottage with Cot Valley less than 10 minutes away and the coast just a bit further. We walked to Cape Cornwall & Bottalack - very very blustery but fantastic. There are lots of great places to visit just a short drive away. We were particularly impressed by Trewidden Gardens with it's fantastic display of Camellias. We had a great week.

    Reviewed by SimonMar 2019

  • "This is a gorgeous bungalow with everything we needed."

    Steve made sure it was clean for an early arrival for us. It’s very close to the shops less then 5 min walk through the back gate. I loved the small touches as coffee tea milk and biscuits on arrival was great. It’s situated in the perfect place for exploring. Very quiet area. My son is special needs and don’t settle straight away in new surroundings. Well he settled as soon as we got in. Slept well. The only thing if I had to put a downer on it. Is getting in and out of the driveway if you have a big car you will struggle but don’t let this put you off as there is plenty off free parking over the back 2 min walk. I have a quashqi I got in and out . Easier to drive in reverse out up to turning point and come back. We’re definitely come back love the place very cosy thank you Steve from Ali kath and Alfie x

    Reviewed by AlisonFeb 2019

  • "Lovely, cosy cottage."

    Everything fine.

    Reviewed by ColinFeb 2019

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Single storey
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x super king with en-suite shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x king, 1 x twin
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with electric fire
  • Sun room
  • Electric heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine
  • TV, WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available
  • A baby bath can be provided on request
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • Enclosed garden with lawn and raised decking with seating area
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Shop and pub 0.2 miles, beach 4.1 miles

The property

Sofala is a delightful three-bedroom bungalow nestled within its own enclosed garden, in the Cornish town of St. Just.

Ideal for families, couples and friends, this cottage offers the perfect location for touring the Penwith Heritage Coast in Cornwall.

A warm welcome brings you into the dining room, where you can gather together for family mealtimes.

The lounge is light and airy, with an electric fire for cosy nights in the cooler months.

Curl up on the leather sofa and on a summer's day you can slide open the glass doors to the conservatory and enjoy a quiet read away from the group.

The kitchen is fully equipped and the shower room offers a modern walk-in shower.

In addition to this, one of the double bedrooms comes with an en-suite.

Outside, the enclosed garden offers a lawn, pretty flower beds in a riot of colour and an outdoor seating area enjoying an elevated position.

Sit out on a balmy afternoon as the sun washes over the exterior and chat about the day's events amongst friends - an idyllic situation!

St Just is bursting with historic reference, with several monuments to visit.

A short walk from the cottage will take you to pubs, shops and galleries to indulge of an afternoon.

The National Trust's Cape Cornwall is a haven for the avid walker, with many points of interest, including Brisons Rocks and Priest's Cove.

Follow the trail along the Tin Coast from Pendeen Lighthouse in the north, through the valley to Sennen Cove in the south, benefitting views across the Atlantic along the way!

Land's End is Britain’s most south-westerly point and one of the country’s most renowned landmarks.

Take in the beautiful coastal wildlife and remarkable views, making sure you stop off for a family picture at the famous signpost.

A charming getaway in a fabulous location.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

ST JUST

Penzance 7.2 miles; St Ives 12.9 miles.

St Just is the nearest town to Land’s End and is situated approximately eight miles west of Penzance. The town itself is an ancient settlement that has a strong mining history and there are several monuments and prehistoric antiquities to visit including the Bronze Age settlement at Cape Cornwall. St Just is ideally located for visitors to explore the far west of Cornwall as it is situated on the edge of the moors and close to the beautiful north coast. In the centre of the town is Plain-an-Gwarry, a theatre used for miracle plays in medieval times, and in more recent times for the Lafrowda Festival.

Region Information

Note: Last 100 yards up a narrow road to get to the property.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it