Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 2 minutes ago

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Bolitho's Retreat - Cornwall - 966252 - photo 1

Bolitho's Retreat

(Ref. 966252)

Helford, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (17)
  • lovely (17)
  • stay (15)
  • comfortable (14)
  • clean (11)
  • bed (11)

39 Customer Reviews

  • "We went for the second two weeks in January 24."

    Looked for a place with gas central heating (controllable and clean, as opposed to wood burners or storage heaters), a good price and location. We were not disappointed. The property was warm when we arrived. The whole property was bright spacious and clean. The bedroom upstairs was large with a big comfortable bed. The open plan downstairs was perfect with a good TV. The shower was excellent. The property had everything we needed. We are in our 70's and there was no problem with the stairs. Nice quiet location from which to access all of west Cornwall, north and south.. Good for a summer or winter visit..

    Reviewed by Derrick5.0Jan 2024

  • "Lovely remote property, despite a very wet and windy week the central heating kept the cottage nice and snug."

    Well equipped and comfortable. great view from the bedroom windows. Would have liked a TV in the bedroom but that is just our preference. Quite close to Helford village if you don,t mind the narrow lanes.

    Reviewed by Colin4.7Oct 2023

  • "A wonderful setting and cosy building, really peaceful and relaxing."

    Reviewed by Walter5.0Sep 2023

  • "Lovely light and airy bolthole for a couple - even the steep stairs were manageable despite some lack of mobility."

    If there'd been a spare bin liner we would have happily put rubbish out sooner too!

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Aug 2023

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Bolitho’s."

    This is our second time. Beautiful area, great accommodation & would thoroughly recommend. Great to see the Prince of Wales in Newtown now open with great food & very close to Bolitho’s !

    Reviewed by Nicholas4.4Jun 2023

  • "Lovely cottage quiet & comfortable with a pub within walking distance with great food ."

    We had a very enjoyable holiday .

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Jun 2023

  • "Beautiful cottage."

    The bed was so comfortable and the whole place was cosy, which was perfect for hunkering down from storm Noah, which swept through while we were there! Thank you Scot for the eggs which I forgot to replace. We would definitely come back.

    Reviewed by Geoffrey5.0Apr 2023

  • "Excellent base for a single person or couple to explore the surrounding area."

    Now the prince of wales pub has re-opened you’ve even got a village pub within walking distance again. Simple shower room, well equipped kitchen and a comfy bed. It’s all you need to come home to after a day out. This area truly is the most beautiful in England!!!

    We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments. We are also pleased that the Prince of Wales pub has reopened, after an extended community funding effort! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adrian5.0Dec 2022

  • "Bolitho's Retreat is an ideal cottage for a short autumn stay."

    We would love to return one day. Gerry Flynn

    We really appreciate your feedback and would be very pleased to welcome you back one day. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gerald5.0Oct 2022

  • "A lovely little cottage."

    However storage space for clothes etc was a bit limited & the very steep stairs was a problem with the w/c being downstairs. Outside space could do with being a bit larger to. But Bolithos retreat is a great base to explore the lizard & the surrounding county side, coves, towns & walks.

    Thank you for your comments, we have tried to emphasise the steepness of the stairs within our property description and the photographs. It is not possible to enlarge the outside area due to the boundary wall, however the owners have made great use of the space that is available. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vince4.4Sep 2022

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bolitho’s."

    A lovely retreat in a great location. We would definitely come again, which is the best compliment of all.

    We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicholas4.7Sep 2022

  • "It was a fantastic little house with everything we needed for 5 days."

    Very cosy, comfortable and in a lovely quiet area. Ideal for exploring south of Cornwall. I think you should mention the very remote setting/country roads and the definite need for a car if exploring.

    Thanks for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased that the Retreat suited you so well. Yes, the area is super tranquil and a car is definitely essential if you want to explore far - although we have had a few keen walkers stay in the past! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katy5.0Aug 2022

  • "The only problem was the deep clean side of things, looks good on the surface but if you look closer there are some areas that need a deep clean other than that it was a fantastic stay."


    Hello, we are surprised to hear this as cleanliness issues have never been raised in feedback before. We hope this did not impact upon your stay too much. Best wishes, The Cornish Cottage Holidays Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon4.1Jul 2022

  • "This is a lovely nook to get away from the hustle and bustle and enjoy the silence of the breathtaking Cornwall countryside."

    With off-road parking, it's clean, comfortable, and has a kitchen with all the essentials, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we were even left a lovely welcome gift of local apple juice and shortbread biscuits. Located near many land marks and down the road from the best pasties in existence, we will definitely be returning

    We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the pasties from Gear Farm. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Natalie5.0Jul 2022

  • "Bolithos Retreat was perfect for my stay."

    It was easy to find, with good parking in a quiet location, but within easy reach of the many beautiful places to visit on and around the Lizard area. Perfect for my dog too, with a secure outside area and safe walks around the village. The accommodation was very clean and bright with everything you need. I couldn't have asked for more. I loved it and would go back.

    Reviewed by Pete5.0May 2022

  • "We had a very enjoyable stay at Bolitho's Retreat which is ideally situated on the Lizard peninsula."

    Our only reservations were that the stairs to the bedroom upstairs were very steep and with my wife and myself both being in our 70s, nocturnal visits to the bathroom downstairs were rather daunting! We had a real mix of weather when we were there and we used the television much more than I guess would be normal and the tv was rather old with indifferent sound quality and without iPlayer. Other than those minor reservations, we had a really enjoyable stay.

    Reviewed by Trevor4.4May 2022

  • "A great little rural property that could benefit from an update for example, some of the bathroom fixings."

    It was unfortunate but the weather was horrendous (rain, thunder etc) - the downside of the pitched roof with value windows in the bedroom was the lack of soundproofing and glazing. The welcome tea and shortbread tray was a nice touch. The bathroom is downstairs and shower only. The kitchen well equipped. We didn't see the owners however, we didn't arrive until late and was out each day. The access and key collection was easy. Would happily stay again.

    Reviewed by Michelle4.7Jan 2022

  • "Just what we were looking for!"

    Well presented and clean. No complaints at all.

    Reviewed by Marcus5.0Oct 2021

  • "Good Location, environment, cosy cottage, nice people in the village, all facilities were available except diswasher."

    Was expecting diswasher as a default. Have to spend time cleaning on top of the schedule. Love to stay here again.

    Reviewed by Swaminathan4.4Sep 2021

  • "This is a lovely place, it is very rural so we found a need to drive each day which was not an issue for us."

    It was clean, well maintained and comfortable. The listing mentioned a pub but unfortunately it has closed so if you want a ‘local’ you will need either a taxi or designated driver. I would recommend this place though as it was lovely.

    Thank you for your feedback and for bringing our attention to this. We have now updated the website accordingly. We hope you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.4Sep 2021

  • "Lovely secluded spot."

    Close to everything but a shame the pub has closed since our last visit.

    Reviewed by Bev4.7Sep 2021

  • "For two people, the cottage is functional, cosy and proved a good base for seeing the area, with good off road car parking."

    The bed is comfortable and the kitchen had a good selection of crockery and cutlery. The welcome tray was also a very nice touch. We believe the cottage would benefit having clear instructions being left, for example what to do with recycling and linen. The main downside was the check in and check out times. We appreciate that in the current climate more time may be required to conduct a thorough clean between stays, however we found a check out by 9am was very early (too early) and it would benefit future guests if this was extended to 10am or preferably 11am, still leaving considerable time as you can’t check in before 6pm on arrival. It’s a shame that the local pub has closed as this would have helped improve our stay by giving options closer to home and in walking distance. We are also conscious that we were lucky that schools weren’t in during our stay as the cottage backs onto a playing field, during term times this could impact privacy due to noise (although we did not have this experience).

    Reviewed by Daniel3.8Aug 2021

  • "Unfortunately there was no WiFi but apart from that it was perfect"

    Reviewed by Carol4.7Jul 2021

  • "Lovely place!"

    Easy access to all destinations, stairs very steep no good for elderly but Lovely stay Bed very comfortable

    Reviewed by Louise4.7Jul 2021

  • "Very nice Cottage ,nicely decorated but we found it too out of the way!"

    The stairs were too steep for us and we are really fit for our age so i don't think it suitable for older people! We were given little or no information when we arrived but that maybe due to the Covid situation. We did not find the sofa comfortable and in the bad weather that we had,it was not comfortable enough to stay indoors! I am sure younger people would find it fine !

    Reviewed by Ted3.4May 2021

  • "Couldn't find a hairdrier, searched everywhere, luckily I always take a small travel hairdrier."

    Always lashings of hot water and the cottage itself was warm and cosy which we needed as the weather was very cold wet and windy. The patio area was lovely we never unfortunately got to use it due to the weather.

    Reviewed by Lynda4.4May 2021

  • "I wrote you an email yesterday and included photographs of dirty drainer and stained washing up bowl."

    Sealant black and not sealed in front of sink. Sent photo of that too. Very strong damp musty smell from ALL kitchen cupboards. Washed all the crockery and cutlery every time before using. Such a shame as it’s a lovely cottage. Clean n very comfortable bed. Sure these things can be put right.

    Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback, we take this very seriously. We have spoken with our cleaner and we will change the washing up bowl, replace the small patch of sealant behind the sink that you have pointed out and also look into why there is a slight smell of damp in the cupboards over the winter. Damp is a perennial problem in Cornwall, but not normally an issue in the Retreat. We are committed to maintaining the very high standards and it is good to see that also reflected in your feedback. This is normally very much appreciated by our guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by T3.8Oct 2020

  • "A delightful holiday home, well appointed and situated in a very peaceful village."

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Sep 2020

  • "Bolitho's Retreat is like Dr Who's TARDIS - it looks small but the space inside is so well planned that it feels spacious."

    Very comfortable.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Sep 2020

  • "We had a wonderful stay, lots of walks nearby as well as plenty of towns to visit, just a small distance in the car."

    The accommodation is set in a quiet rural village that is just beautiful, much different to the usual caravan holidays that we’ve had in Cornwall and much better! I’ll absolutely be using Sykes Holiday Cottages again. The accommodation itself is very charming and full of character, the owners live next door so are easy to contact should you need them, that being said, you don’t feel as though they’re keeping tabs on you. All in all we had a really lovely stay and we can’t wait to visit again!

    Reviewed by Katie4.1Aug 2020

  • "Really enjoyed staying at the cottage it was fantastic"

    Reviewed by DR5.0Jul 2020

  • "The cottage is lovely, clean and cosy, the only problem we had was the microwave but it didn't spoil our stay and we would recommend the cottage."

    Reviewed by Sue4.7Jun 2019

  • "Loved the relaxed get away."

    The property was clean and tidy , had all the facilities required for every day use. Great Location to visit surrounding area and local attractions. The Landlord was very ameniable, we felt comfortable and will definitely return and recommend.

    Reviewed by Ela5.0Apr 2019

  • "The cottage itself was good - what was described."

    It was comfortable and well equipped. The only disappointment was that the shower did not have particularly hot water, indeed luke warm at best. The owner was told of the situation, however did not seem overly interested and did absolutely nothing about it.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to comment, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed Bolitho's Retreat. We're sorry you had issues with the shower temperature. Since your stay, a plumber has visited the property and the temperature issues have been rectified. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Trevor4.1Feb 2019

  • "We had a really lovely short break in a beautiful cottage."

    Thank you

    Reviewed by Kim5.0Oct 2018

  • "Second year running I’ve booked my Cornish holiday through Sykes."

    Very easy and friendly to deal with, both via the app/online and over the phone. ‘Bolitho’s Retreat’ was a lovely 1 bed getaway; very well appointed, and maintained. It was clear the owners had gone an extra step in fitting the rental out with touches to make it feel like a home. Very quite location, 10 mins walk to a pub with excellent food and the location gave easy access to the Lizard, West Cornwall and the Falmouth areas Only thing missing, and this is purely personal, was WiFi. We had no phone signal in the cottage and this would have aided us in staying in contact with family. As I said, purely personal as I know a lot of folk like to ‘getaway’ when on Holliday. Thanks to the owners Scott and Vicky who we met on arrival - a great stay

    Reviewed by Dave5.0Aug 2018

  • "The cottage was in a quiet village and was central to the coastal beaches."

    There was a pub about a ten minute walk from the cottage and a shop ten minute drive in next village. Footpaths handy for dog walking and there were dog friendly beaches within a twenty minute drive. The cottage was well equipped and pleasantly decorated.

    Reviewed by Judith5.0Jun 2018

  • "Great place to stay, great location."

    Would definitely recommend this place to stay to anyone

    Reviewed by Beverley5.0May 2018

  • "Would highly recommend this cottage."

    Scott was lovely and helpful. The place itself was clean, peaceful and had everything you needed. Great base for exploring Cornwall. Would definitely book again.

    Reviewed by Debbie4.7May 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Over two floors: One bedroom: 1 x king-size double
  • Ground floor shower room with basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, washing machine, fridge/freezer, TV, DVD, WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot, stair-gate and highchair available
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed decked patio area with furniture
  • One pet welcome
  • Dog bed provided
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Shop 3 miles
  • Please note: stairs in the property are steep, please take extra care.

The property

This transformed former sail loft provides a romantic getaway in the small village of St Martin, three miles from Helford.

This detached stone built cottage is surrounded by picturesque countryside.

The cushions, curtains, rugs, ornaments and artwork create a festival of colour and interest against the neutral decor and heavy classic furniture.

A stylish retreat for two, the ground floor is open plan with living area, kitchen and dining area.

The shower room is conveniently placed on the ground floor.

Stairs lead you to a sumptuous and spacious bedroom oozing restfulness.

The enclosed decked patio is a glorious spot to sit and relax with a book or board game provided at the cottage.

There is off-road parking for one car.

Surrounded by creekside woodlands this cottage has easy access to scenic footpaths, riverside taverns, tranquil beaches and hidden creeks along the beautiful Helford River.

Maritime Falmouth resort, the cathedral city of Truro and the hidden coves and beaches of the Lizard Peninsula are all within a short drive offering adventure and fun.

Take to the water on the passenger ferry (operates 1st Apr-31st Oct) to explore the sub-tropical gardens at Trebah and Glendurgan, the pretty fishing village of Durgan or the famed Frenchman's Creek.

Perfectly located to enjoy a romantic rendezvous and explore Cornwall, Bolitho's Retreat is a wonderful retreat to return to after memorable days out.

View on map

About the location


Porthleven 3 miles; Falmouth 12 miles; Penzance 14 miles.

Helston lies at the western gateway to the Lizard Peninsula, a large area of downland fringed by a beautiful and spectacular coastline. Helston is a pleasant busy market town famous for it's Flora Day Festival and the many stories and legends about the "Furry Dance" are told in the fascinating Helston Folk Museum. Nestled in a tranquil setting is the National Seal Sanctuary on the Helford River, where there is plenty of entertainment watching seals play and feed. If it is thrill rides that excites you, then Flambards theme park will keep you amused all day and also has excellent living history experiences. Further afield is the harbour town of Falmouth to the east and Land's End to the west. Helston is a wonderful holiday destination offering plenty of attractions for the whole family. By car reach numerous outstanding beaches, including Porthleven Beach, Praa Sands Beach, and Gunwalloe Church Cove Beach, with Loe Bar offering a dog-friendly landscape, along with the chance to join the stunning Cornish coastal path.

Note: Babes in arms welcome.
Note: steep stairs to first floor.
Note: WiFi speed is good for browsing but slow for stream
Note: Charging of electric vehicles is possible though a conventional 3 pin plug extension lead and the payment of an additional charge to be agreed in advance with the owners

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas