Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 34 View Image Gallery
  • Blue Seas - Cornwall - 976468 - photo 1
close

Blue Seas

(Ref. 976468)

St Mawes, Cornwall Show on map

4.4

Sykes rating

  • 7 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (15)
  • garden (13)
  • views (10)
  • all (8)
  • location (7)
  • cottage (7)

21 Customer Reviews

  • "Were so disappointed with the cottage the only good point was the location and the weather, Uncomfortable furniture, Electrical cables everywhere."

    Rusty white goods the general of decay and the need for updating, we have paid good money for this property and it did not up to standard,

    Reviewed by Julie Denise1.6Jun 2024

  • "Amazing location and lovely garden otherwise very disappointing all around ."

    Both interior and exterior shabby , grubby , lacking maintenance and looks uncared for generally. Decor and contents 50 years out of date , poor bathrooms and the stated wet room is awful with a faulty floor that leaves a puddle in the corner that lasted all week also puzzling as to why a loo plunger decorated another corner !! Very disappointing that Sykes would list this and at such a large rate as well.

    Thank you very much for feedback, I take all comments very seriously and will arrange an immediate deep clean. Blue Seas is advertised as a 3 Tick property; it is not a new property and this is clear to see in the photographs on the website. I am sorry it did not meet expectations, if any photographs are misleading I will have them removed. The bungalow was totally redecorated last winter and a new shower installed in the upstairs ensuite, if you are able to provide more information as to why that bathroom is poor I can take corrective action. Some of the furnishings are mid century original Ercol with new covers so they are fifty years old. The utility room shower is intended for pets and after beach use. If the disabled wet room does not drain easily, a squeegee is provide to give the floor a quick wipe after use. It's a shame you didn't contact us during your stay; I would certainly have arranged our housekeeping team to visit. My housekeeper did call round as a courtesy to check that all was well but unfortunately you were out. I will call future guests early on in their stay to try and avoid any future disappointment. The pricing reflects the fabulous location and the fact that the property sleeps seven, so I understand this may seem expensive for a small party. Our feedback in the main is generally positive and I would urge anyone considering Blue Seas to read through the comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linzy2.5Jun 2024

  • "Amazing view, spacious property with plenty of parking, and a magnificent (and secure!"

    ) garden. We really enjoyed our stay and would happily return. Lovely walks nearby and the chance to take the regular ferry across to Falmouth for shopping trips. A half hour drive from Truro.

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0Mar 2023

  • "Thank you for a lovely stay, the property was excellent and we loved that it was some homely and relaxed."

    The garden and views were amazing.

    Reviewed by Tara5.0Jul 2022

  • "This property is all about the garden and the view, both of which are stunning."

    Lucky for us, because my husband developed mobility problems so spent time at the cottage whilst the rest of us went out and about. The decor is tired, but there is a lovely feel to the place. Ideally, the kitchen utensils etc and downstairs shower need some attention. The place is roomy and more than enough room for the 6 of us. We just loved the location and the views and would come back again (with our own tin opener!!)

    Reviewed by Sarah3.4May 2022

  • "The beds were extremely comfy, the travel cot seemed to be almost new, the chairs were comfortable."

    Everything we needed for the week was provided. My only negative comment was for the shower head in the downstairs bathroom. It was far too heavy for the holder so consequently it would not stay in place which made life difficult especially being disabled! Oh for a lovely garden like this one, the dogs were in absolute heaven and didn’t want to leave. I was really envious, and will find it hard returning to my little plot. Thank you for the wonderful stay in a lovely house and surroundings, and the beautiful view

    Thank you for great feedback..we will sort the shower head Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Apr 2022

  • "Lovely cottage could do with a little up dating but apart from that a super ..."

    Lovely cottage could do with a little up dating but apart from that a super holiday lovely grounds beautiful views very comfortable and would defo recommend we had a super time xxx

    Reviewed by Donna5.0Mar 2022

  • "Fantastic garden for the dogs - They loved it."

    Cottage is very old and needs a refurb but it was clean and tidy. Good location Thank you - We had a good week

    Reviewed by Sally5.0Feb 2022

  • "The owner was brilliant with leaving helpful tips and advice and lovely welcome letter etc made us all feel very comfortable."

    Beautiful cottage and grounds. I immediately booked again and have recommended to my friends. Never have I had such an excellent welcome and stay. thank you so much xxx

    Reviewed by R5.0Dec 2021

  • "The cottage was everything we could hope for, a little tired, but comfortable, clean with amazing views and everything we needed."

    I spent one full day there with the dogs whilst the others went to Falmouth on the ferry and it was lovely and peaceful, I just felt as though I was at home. We had to contact the Owner regarding a problem we had, he responded really quickly and was so understanding and helpful. Fabulous stay and we all have come away quite sad because we enjoyed our stay so much. Would definitely recommend Blue Seas for a holiday.

    Reviewed by Gary4.7Jul 2021

  • "Great place to stay, family and Dogs enjoyed the place and st maws."

    Neil the owner made sure through a call and text we where ok. Sam the owners Manager and the Gardener all did the same. Lovely place to chill.

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0May 2021

  • "Thank you for your helpfulness in getting us booked in."

    Much appreciated.We had a lovely holiday. Thank you again

    Reviewed by Quentin4.7May 2021

  • "The location of Blue Seas is perfect!"

    Overlooking St Mawes bay it is just a short walk from restaurants, pubs and local amenities, and ideally situated for exploring the Roseland peninsula. With a lovely large garden (which is fully enclosed) to enjoy and appreciate the beautiful views. This spacious bungalow is comfortable, warm, homely and well equipped with everything you need for a long or short stay. There is also plenty of off-road parking for several cars. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (postponed from May due to Covid) and hope to return again soon. Thank you Neil for all your help and support.

    Reviewed by Kathryn4.4Oct 2020

  • "The huge garden was a great asset with small children and a dog."

    It was secure and had shaded areas.

    Reviewed by Louis5.0Aug 2020

  • "Lovely location, nice house, modern and working appliances, convenient setting in bungalow style and especially for dog lovers pure PARADiSE!"

    completely fenced in beautiful garden incl.trees with tasty apples, lots of space, lovely views, perfect!

    Reviewed by Rosemarie4.4Oct 2019

  • "Blue Seas is a beautiful property in a fabulous location."

    The cottage is spacious, clean and airy with good facilities and ample room for large families. The gardens are spacious, well kept and extremely relaxing with lovely views over St Mawes Harbour . All in all this property really made our holiday a success from start to finish.

    Reviewed by Phil5.0Aug 2019

  • "VERY DISAPPOINTED with the place, though the views were excellent, pity everything else was not represented acutely in the description."

    Left early as on day 4 we were woken up early by the window cleaner washing the windows (that had no nets on) whilst my daughter and wife were sleeping for him to have a good stare at. If you are disabled and in a wheel chair forget it, the only good thing is the wet room. Not sure where the 3 level are as it is 2 levels unless it has an underground bunker that we did not find, and we could not find 3 bathrooms either, that may also be in the underground bunker. We did find a shower cubical at the end of the utility room and a small cupboard for a toilet, however I was unable to get through the kitchen door to see for myself as my wheelchair did not fit through the doors. If you want to visit anywhere you needed to add 35/40 mins to every journey as you are 15 miles from the main body of Cornwall down country lanes, so no chance for any takeaways or deliveries, are a no no. The walk to the harbour is more than a challenge you would need to be very fit as the quick way is like a 1 in 2 gradient not a hope in hell of pushing a wheelchair up even my electric buggy could not do it. The longer way is a 1 in 4 and even my 3 fit mid 20’s kids where struggling and a good 15/20 walk all up hill. To cap it all off the sofas and chairs were so low to the floor that you needed help to get up and very old too. Did have a nice recliner there so me and the wife jousted to see who would win. Not the cleanest of places I must say but well equipped, beds, linen and towels all good and a nice welcome pack as well. If you are looking for remote quiet and peaceful place and do not want to do anything and eat in everyday , this fits the bill, unfortunately the next door neighbour was having work done which was very noise and annoying. Nice coop shop but all the others are well expensive even the cafes are ridiculously over priced as they know you cannot go anywhere else as this is all there is for 15 miles.

    Thank you for your comments, we're glad to hear there are some things you liked about Blue Seas, but disappointed that overall it didn't turn out to be the right place for you. We'd like to clarify for future guests that there are indeed 3 bathrooms - the ground floor wet room, the shower in the utility room and the en suite shower-room. The owner has taken considerable care to ensure this property is suitable for wheelchair users (see previous reviews), including providing a ramp which enables wheelchair access throughout the ground floor. We would always advise if booking a property for this reason, that you discuss your personal requirements with us prior to booking to ensure it meets your needs. We understand in this case you may also have been using a mobility scooter, which we agree would not be appropriate in this property. We agree that the property is on 2 levels (rather than 3) and have updated our description accordingly - thank you for letting us know. The owners were very sorry to hear you were disturbed by the window cleaner and spoke to him about this - he has apologised for worrying you, he believed he had your permission prior to commencing his cleaning. The owners would also like us to let you know that they have ordered replacement sofas. We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, however we are satisfied that property matches our description and is an excellent place for visitors to enjoy a holiday. We would recommend in future that you speak with a member of our team who has personally visited a property prior to booking to help ensure you pick the right property for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Leroy1.9May 2019

  • "Excellent property with great facilities for our visit with three dogs and an elderly relative."

    Friendly owner on hand too. Recommended.

    Reviewed by Jon5.0Mar 2019

  • "Good to have a wheelchair accessible venue available and something which should be promoted more."

    Blue Skies is easy to find, well appointed with a large garden and plenty of parking - and lovely views. We were made very welcome and even though it was winter, the bungalow was warm with the opportunity to have an open fire. We will definitely return.

    Reviewed by Amanda4.7Jan 2019

  • "Just back from a lovely holiday at Blue Seas, the views from the bungalow are much better than the website photos show, and we enjoyed looking over the harbour whilst drinking our morning tea."

    Plenty of room inside and out for the 3 adults, 2 children and 2 dogs and the children and dogs especially enjoyed the garden which is very large and pretty well fenced. The owner is very helpful and easy to contact if necessary. We were lucky to be there for the St Mawes fireworks display and we were able to watch it cosy and warm from the bungalow. You can walk into the village in 5/10mins, although there is a very steep part on the way back up! The village has most basics, but if you need a bit more we also had a food delivery from Sainsburys in Truro.

    Reviewed by Amy4.7Oct 2018

  • "Bin collection is a bit complex!"

    ! But that's not the cottage's fault, nor St Mawes council. Just following Eurorules...

    Reviewed by Michael5.0May 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday

Summary

  • Over two floors
  • Four bedrooms, three ground floor 1 x double, 1 x twin with basin (third single bed available for alternative sleeping), 1 x single
  • 1 x first floor king size double bedroom with en suite shower-room
  • Sitting room with open fire and dining area, second sitting room with sea glimpses and doors to verandah
  • Galley-style kitchen, utility room with shower cubicle and separate WC
  • Ground floor wet-room with shower, basin and WC.
  • Electric radiators with wood burner
  • Microwave, fridge, freezer, tumble dryer, washing machine, dishwasher, Smart TV with Netflix, WiFi, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available on request
  • Off road parking for four cars
  • Enclosed garden with barbecue
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome fee charged
  • Sorry no smoking.

The property

Blue Seas is situated on the hillside above St Mawes, a spacious, detached, dormer bungalow on two levels, with wonderful views across the Percuil river and sea beyond.

Just right for families.

Step up to front door, ramp.

The living-dining room has a wood burner and leads to a second living room with views to Summers beach and the village below and doors to the verandah.

The simple, practical galley-style kitchen has a utility room and a door leading outside.

There are three bedrooms on the ground floor, a king-size double with TV, a single and a twin and a family shower-room.

There are large, gently sloping enclosed lawns with garden furniture and BBQ for children and dogs to run and play, sheltered by pines and looking to St Anthony Head.

There is also a useful outdoor area for rinsing sand and storing sailing and swimming gear.

This is a simple seaside holiday home in a brilliant area for beaches and the beautiful Roseland Peninsula.

Ten minute walk down to restaurants, shops, harbour and beaches but return may take longer!

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

ST MAWES

Falmouth 16 miles via car ferry, 3 miles via passenger ferry; Truro 10.5 miles via car ferry, 18 miles by road.

St Mawes is a small fishing village situated on the Roseland Peninsula, part of Cornwall’s Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and is surrounded by rocky coves, sandy beaches and lush countryside and has a notable historic castle guarding the entrance to the River Fal. The village is a haven for boating and yachting with many events and functions taking place and of course the local produce is outstanding, with local pubs and restaurants serving delicious seafood dishes throughout the year. Nearby there are plenty of activities to keep the whole family busy including walks, watersports and boat trips. Across from the harbour is the town of Falmouth, with its magnificent natural harbour (the third largest in the world), winding streets and beaches, the amenities will keep you occupied for hours. The town's old harbour-side pubs, excellent shopping, art gallery and stunning National Maritime Museum simply complete the picture. Pendennis Castle, built by Henry VIII, is Falmouth's most popular attraction, sited on its own peninsula with superb panoramic sea views.

Note: Twin bedroom has a third single bed available for alternative sleeping.
Note: This property may be suitable for those with restricted mobility, please call for further information
Note: Please discuss car charging with the owner as this is not included in the rental.
Note : Short breaks are a minimum of 3 nights only

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute